This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Cruises, Sailing & Boat Tours in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.70 4.70 / 5

Reviews

4892 reviews

Aqua Adventures Maui Molokini Crater Snorkeling Tour & Snuba Diving Cruise

Absolutely amazing! A must do activity while in Maui!

Reviewed by: Spencer, 2014/05/05

Beautiful, magnificent, spectacular, and extraordinary. Just a few words that come to mind when talking about my experience with this activity. I knew that while I was on Maui, that I wanted to go scuba diving. Unfortunately, you have to be certified to go scuba diving. So, I did the next best thing. I went on a snorkel/snuba diving adventure. Not only was the experience breathe taking, but the instructors, captain, film crew, and the rest of the staff was so courteous and knowledgeable. Any questions, comments, or concerns you have they are more than willing to go above and beyond your expectations to make you feel comfortable. Well worth every penny I spent on this activity. Anyone who is thinking about going snorkeling, should check out this company. They have amazing customer service which is hard to find. The snuba adventure is unlike anything I've ever tried. You get the opportunity to swim up close and personal with all kinds of sea life. Highly recommend spending the extra money to go snuba diving.


  • Picture I took under water with a sea turtle.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Best Experience Ever!

Reviewed by: Brian, 2015/12/30

This was our first time going to Maui with the family and we wanted to choose the activities that would leave a great impact on all of us. And boy did we do the right choice. Doing this activity was the best experience ever! The staff was very friendly and informed us regarding safety issues, then we had our continental breakfast. On our way to the first snorkeling spot we had the chance to see some whales and that was a plus. Once we arrived to the right spot we snorkeled for about 45-55 minutes where we all had a chance to see a baby turtle swimming among us (super cute by the way). After that we continued to our second snorkeling place and it was there where we encountered more turtles and fishes. Being able to see the ocean life from a different perspective is amazing. Once we concluded our snorkeling we went back to the boat and had some delicious burgers and hotdogs BBQed for us by the staff. It was just amazing! I encourage you to do the Maui to Lanai - Dolphin Watch & Snorkel BBQ Lunch Cruise.


  • Ready to discover underwater wonders =)

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hobie Catamaran Snorkel Sail at Kaneohe Bay Sandbar

Kev's a legend

Reviewed by: Nathan and Nina, 2018/05/15

Couldn't have asked for a more perfect day. An intimate experience that we found much better than the larger groups on other tours.
The amount of time was just right to enjoy it and not be exhausted.
Everyone that was a part of the day was so friendly and more than helpful, from the guy who picked us up/dropped us off to the lovely ladys who cooked and served the delicious lunch afterwards.
We were blessed with a great day and the marine life put on a great show from turtles to fish...that's the only thing that can't be guaranteed but with our guide Kevin's attention to safety and knowledge of the area the day would have been enjoyable and informative nonetheless.
Sailing to the sandbar is a wonderful way to head to an encounter with nature.
Everyone enjoys what they do and it's obvious it's not just a job which makes all the difference...and I believe it's not for profit too and all for the conservation of the area or something of the like which make it's all the more special.
Thanks again

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Nathan and Nina,
Thank you so much for the kind words, and for taking the time to leave us such an amazing review. That really makes a big difference for us, and we appreciate it very much. I'm so happy to hear it sounds like you had a great experience with us. And you are correct. Our operation is not-for-profit. We are Kama'aina Kids, a local not-for-profit childcare organization that manages He'eia State Park. So, the proceeds from our activities directly fund He'eia State Park and contribute to Kama'aina Kids' mission of providing quality childcare programs and community resources throughout Hawaii. On behalf of Kevin, and everybody else here at He'eia State Park and Kama'aina Kids, we can't thank you enough for joining us, and for taking the time to leave such amazing feedback. And hope to see you again next time!

Andy

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maitai Catamaran Waikiki Tradewind Sailing Cruise

Just the best, and a bargain too!

Reviewed by: Devin Nordson, 2016/06/29

Maita'i Catamaran is an easy cheap way to enjoy a short sail off the coast of Waikiki. Their location is walkable from just about anywhere in Waikiki (which is only about 1.5 miles from east to west), and my family did a quick 90 minute sail. They allow 0-3 year olds on for free, so for my wife and son and I it was a real bargain.

Most boating trips pad your cost by including free booze (which can make you seasick, or might have disappointingly little effect if you are from higher altitudes), so I was glad to see it sold a la carte here (quite cheaply).

Crew was friendly and approachable, and we got to be on a boat in paradise. They use their motor to get to and from shore efficiently, but most of the time the motor is off and they are just sailing, which is ideal. We saw a dolphin and 2 sea turtles too.

I just feel bad that between making sure my 3-year old got off safely and remembering all of our things I totally forgot to tip them. Hopefully this review will help. Book them now!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2016/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Snorkel Cruise with Turtles Sightings Guaranteed!

Book now!

Reviewed by: Kristen10220, 2014/08/23

First let me say that this cruise, the crew, and the food and drinks are all amazing, and that you should not hesitate in booking! I was looking for something fun for my husband and I to do for our 3 year anniversary, and I'm glad we picked this. Going through the process of actually ordering the tickets was a bit of a pain. We live here, but the website kept asking about our flights and hotel, so that was a bit annoying. But, we finally got our voucher for the sail and it was confirmed very quickly. The company even called a few times to make sure we were all set. When we got onboard the crew was fantastic and started serving up the drinks and food immediately. Woohoo! The water was absolutely beautiful, and I got to see some marine life that I haven't seen before in my 4 years as a Hawai'i resident. The crew was also very good about making sure we were safe at all times, which made us feel like we were in good hands. All in all, it was a great experience and we would happily pay to go again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Napali Coast Sightseeing & Snorkel Sail by Holo Holo Charters

Great Day!

Reviewed by: Gregg, 2014/12/23

We just finished an outstanding Naplai Coast catamaran/snorkel tour with Holo-Holo tours. What a day! The weather was perfect as was the staff and boat. Our crew of Captain Kelly, Matt, and Wade were friendly, personal, and knowledgeable. They briefed us before we departed on everything we needed to know- from safety and motion sickness to snorkeling to whales and dolphins. Then we departed on a terrific 50’ catamaran that, despite being filled to the maximum with 38 people, never felt crowded. We began with a 45 minute snorkeling stop, followed by brief stops to watch pods of dolphins and whales. Then it was on to the magnificent Naplai Coast, where our crew fielded questions and made us feel at home on their boat. This was followed by a great lunch with terrific service and unlimited food and beverages. They took us alongside caves and inlets, always made sure we were comfortable and had something to eat or drink, and clearly enjoyed their work. I will book my future tours with Holo-Holo.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Gregg,
Thank you for the great review! We are glad that you had a good time with us & that we were able to share some of Kauai with you.

Aloha Nui Loa,
-The Crew at Holo Holo Charters

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ko Olina Ocean Adventures Catamaran Snorkel with Wild Dolphins Tour

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2011/10/22

I was lucky to have a great crew! Captain Marc and Steve were awesome and funny guys, thank you for having a great trip! We also had been happy seeing the dolphins right away and didn´t have to search for them! The snorkeling was great, especially for first timer, because Marc took his time to explain everything and make people feeling comfortable in the water. They also explain how to behave in the waters with turtles and dolphins around you - so, please listen to them!! It is exhausting having people bumping into you, because they swim - what you should not do....well, some people don´t listen and don´t watch their environment!
Oh, and don´t imagine yourself actually swimming and playing with dolphins! you wanna do that, go to sea life (what I am not recommending - those poor doplphins!!) It´s wild animals - you are able to observe them and their behavior, swimming beneath you - that was awesome!
After the trip, we had a nice lunch with burgers of your choice (pork, chicken, veggi

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Napali Coast Sightseeing & Snorkel Sail by Holo Holo Charters

Great, exciting adventure

Reviewed by: Helen&Bob, 2016/08/18

We had a wonderful time on the morning snorkel /sail with Holo Holo. They are a great company--we've done this trip 3 times before with different operators, and they were great! I strongly suggest that you take Dramamine before sailing, and also take some with you. Several people got sea sick--the crew is amazing and very kind with those who are queasy. None of our family got sick--4 adults and 3 children, but we all took the motion sickness pills before embarking. The food for breakfast and lunch was plentiful and good--the drinks were flowing freely, and the crew was solicitous to every whim! They were really great with watching for safety in every way. The Na Pali Coast was breathtakingly beautiful (and I've seen it 4 times before--it never gets old!) Our captain took us very close, while crew gave us background history and information that was perfect in keeping us entertained. All in all a perfect day in every way! Thanks to Captain and Crew for making our family trip a big hit!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Great time

Reviewed by: Henry Le, 2015/05/03

Upon arrival at the harbor the Malabo boat appeared a bit small for the size of the group. However once we boarded there was plenty of room to sit inside as well as the option to chill on deck or even sunbathe. The staff was very friendly and funny, and were very knowledgable about the islands. We were very fortunate to have been able to spot a few whales in the water during the cruise even though whale season had just ended. The catered food was served buffet style and included teriyaki chicken, pasta salad, beef and broccoli, tofu wraps, and delicious egg rolls! The free drink vouchers included alcoholic drinks and their mai tais were super good!! They give the option of purchasing a large souvenir cup for $8 which you may use your free drink ticket to refill rather than the small plastic cups. The overall cruise lasted for approximately 2 hours, with the sun setting right as we were headed back to the harbor. Overall a great experience, especially for the price. Definitely worth it!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pride of Maui Molokini & Turtle Town Snorkeling Tour (from Maalaea Harbor)

Great Way to Begin Snorkeling in Maui

Reviewed by: rachgabe, 2017/04/06

The Pride of Maui Molokini Snorkel Cruise was a great snorkel package. There were two snorkel locations, provided meal, drinks, miscellaneous items available to use or rent (see below), and the information from the optional 5-minute class gave some useful tips for the subsequent snorkeling we later did on our own on our trip.

The waters by Molokini were so clear, it was unbelievable how far through the water you can see. Turtle Town waters were less clear than Molokini but had more varied sea life. Whales were breaching along our path to the crater.

I wasn't expecting much from the barbecue but it was surprisingly tasty and filling. They offered neoprene suits to rent. A variety of underwater camera and camera accessories could be rented. Waist floatation and noodles were available for use. Environmentally-friendly sunscreen was also provided. There was a life guard nearby who would let you know when a turtle was in the area at Turtle Town. The slide on the boat was also fun.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Watching Cruise & Snorkel Sailing Tour with Ko Olina Ocean Adventures

Ko Olina Snuba Sail

Reviewed by: Reena, 2013/07/25

Our group of 17 took the afternoon sail. The crew wants to have as much fun as their guests so they do their best to create a memorable experience. One meal, snacks, non-alcoholic drinks and complete snorkel gear is included in the cost.

There are two locations where swimming among sea turtles is likely. For $5 you can get a quart size of fish food and it is suggested to feed the fish at the last location. Divers don't mind diving to the bottom and up close to the marine life with your waterproof camera to get some amazing shots - just ask them. A photographer comes along to capture all the beautiful moments both on board and underwater. A dvd of 500+ photos of your trip for $65 is worth it.

Served during the last snorkling location, our family style lunch of kalua pork and teriyaki chicken sliders with all the trimmings was plentiful and satisfying. Alocholic drinks are $4.

Great first-time deep sea snorkling experience. Would definitely go again with these guys! Mahalo!

Comments from activity operators

Thanks for joining our newer product- the Catamaran Snorkel and Sail- we love the stylish snorkeling experience we can offer on this tour and that the boat can accommodate both food and a bar. We also offer a mini dive called SNUBA on this trip. On your next trip out, we'd love to show your group. Thanks again for joining us. We look forward to your return visit!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pride of Maui Molokini & Turtle Town Snorkeling Tour (from Maalaea Harbor)

Fantastic Tour!

Reviewed by: Island Explorer, 2013/05/30

My friends and I went on this tour because we heard really great reviews from other vacationers, and we are so happy that we went with Pride of Maui. When we first got to the boat to check-in, there was coffee set and breakfast waiting for us the moment we stepped on the boat. The crew on board were really interactive with all the guests, getting to know us and making sure we had a great time on board. Snorkeling at Molokini was incredible! The water was crystal clear and we saw tons of fish. After Molokini, we had a BBQ lunch that was grilled on board and delicious! It was a full tour but luckily there was tons of open seating on the top deck, which was awesome. I also chose to SNUBA and that was AMAZING! Reed, was a great SNUBA instructor and made you feel super comfortable in the water. Harold was the videographer who also put together a fantastic video and photos that you can purchase at the end of the trip as well. I am so happy we went on this tour and I will remember it forever!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

The best way to end a 2nd honeymoon

Reviewed by: Kimokepi, 2012/09/19

We have done just about everything on this island, which is our favorite island. We had our honeymoon here 10 years ago, and decided to return to the island to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and we renewed our wedding vows as well. The "perfect" 2nd honeymoon didn't start off too great with another activity that I had planned for my husband and that nameless for now company I will not say, really was horrific. They harrassed us everyday trying to make it up to us; which killed a lot of the mood. Regardless, this sunset dinner cruise happened on our last night on the island and it was the BEST ending to a not-so-"perfect" 2nd honeymoon. The staff was amazing, the food unbelievable, the trip AWESOME!!!! We were even one of the lucky ones that were invited to have dinner with Capt. Dave at the helm. I would definately return for Captain Dave, Tony, Paul, Andrea and I appologize I can't remember the last guy. They were great!! They all made you feel like family, so welcoming. My

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small Group Turtle Town & Molokini Snorkel Cruise (from Maalaea Harbor)

Swimming with the Turtles

Reviewed by: Shelli & Jason, 2012/09/19

We had a wonderful time with the crew of Aloha Blue on our snorkel cruise. Breakfast was continental with a lovely spread of fruit, pastries and breads. Juice, iced tea, coffee and water were also available.

We were taken to two snorkel spots and had an hour in each location. The time went by much too quickly! Joe, crew member, was in the water with us the entire time to point out sites and ensure everyone's safety. We were also provided with swim noodles (take advantage of those!!) to help swim against the current.

The second spot is known as "Turtle Town" and there are ample opportunities to spot sea turtles. It is great fun looking at the beautiful underwater world of Hawaii and seeing the sea life. Though we only saw one turtle it was worth the experience!

Lunch was cold cut sandwiches, which was disappointing as the tour information specified a BBQ lunch. The food was very good despite the misinformation.

There is also the opportunity to deep sea fish on the cr

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

HIGHLIGHT OF MY TRIP

Reviewed by: TCheesman, 2012/09/11

When I first started planning my Hawaii trip, this was the NUMBER 1 adventure I wanted to do. How often do you get to say... 'yeah, I swam with sharks'. Now amount of words can describe how amazing, thrill seeking, over the top this adventure was...but I'm going to try. I first want to commend the staff of Hawaii Activities. For the first time in 11 years, the boat broke down the day i was suppose to go. Just my luck But the staff worked their magic and reschedule me and I was able to full-fill the highlight of my trip. It was SOOO unbelievably easy too because they make all the accommodations for you. Once at the boat site, you jump on and set off. I would recommend the earliest time available. The earlier, the smoother the waves FYI. So once out there, you are just in awe. There are sharks. AND you are about to get in a cage surrounded by them! I was so scared but this is something I knew I had to do. So i sucked it up and the moment you put your head under the water.... you are stun

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Watching Cruise & Snorkel Sailing Tour with Ko Olina Ocean Adventures

Had a great time...

Reviewed by: MrsL, 2012/08/22

Ko Olina is a gorgeous area, very picturesque with manicured grounds and on the early morning tour it's just lovely to drive through here with the sun shining. First thing I was really impressed with was the Catamaran, it's very large and luxurious, I couldn't wait to get aboard! They make you take your shoes off before boarding and they store them for you until you return, you can tell this keeps the vessel from wear and tear... it was lovely inside.
Seeing the Dolphins was amazing - they do get close, the boat wasn't moving and they would come quite close to us, we didn't have to follow them. A few were jumping out of the water less than 100 yards away, such a great experience.
The staff were polite, knowledgeable and helpful - they would offer to grab you a drink - you didn't have to ask, which was really nice for a change. On the first snorkeling outing, we all had to wear life vests. I'm a pretty confident swimmer but this was nice, I could actually really relax and enjoy the

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Cruise with Dinner & Cocktails by Holo Holo Charters

Kauai Sunset Cruise - Na Pali

Reviewed by: Peggy - World Traveler, 2012/08/06

This was one to remember.

We had a ball. The coast line scenery was breathtaking, just wonderful. Remarkable side of Kauai that you can not see any other way as there are no coastal roads on that side of the island. When you go on this trip you will see why.

This one I would recommend for sure.

Planning for this trip - you will want, flip flops (because you won't wear them on the boat so something light you can take off and leave in their storage locker), camera, sunglasses, and ready for a fun time. The boat is a catamaran and built perfect for this. The Captain and crew were awesome.

They serve dinner as per the tour and its a nice but very informal meal, sit where you can. So, if you are expecting 4 or 5 star and want to sit down and eat on china this you will not get that. But its fine food - teenagers loved it so you get the idea. They have a bar so just watch how much you drink becuase the ride can and does get bouncy.

Great guide. Very informative

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Tiger's Waikiki Daytime and Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise

Let's Go Fishing!

Reviewed by: Ms. Fishingwoman, 2012/07/19

This was my very first fishing experience and I shared it with my 12 year old son. We don't know anything about fishing, fishing poles, reels, bobbers, bait..nadda! This activity claims it's easy for beginners and it was. Only problem I had was the check in process, the guy in the kiosk seemed very irritated and closed the window right before a customer came up to his kiosk to ask a question. The guy in the kiosk didn't want to talk to anyone either and we had to pass our vouchers through the little opening in the window that he did leave open. Once checked in he told us to head to the Sashimi boat. On the boat the deckhand named Evan was grilling our burgers and hotdogs YUM! But the portion was very small, more like a snack. We were given half a burger, half a hot dog, small scoop of rice with chilli, and 1 pineapple.. but REMEMBER!!!.. the small food portion, irritated kiosk person isn't the reason we did the tour.. we wanted to do some fishing!

When we got to our first fishing sp

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Explorer Ocean Rafting Snorkel Tour (from Kikiaola Harbor)

Weather can be a variable

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/17

I was generous with my stars considering our unseasonably bad weather day on the seas. This was certainly not any fault of the team, but be mindful that weather can play a factor in the enjoyment. Biggest negatives of the weather:
choppy seas prevent some of the potential exploration
cloudy skies prevents the sun from heating you up as you get wet/cold from splashing water

We're pretty adventurous and rugged so the weather only notched down the enjoyment 1 level, but one person got sea sick on our trip and I am sure their enjoyment was a ZERO.

Weather aside, a great way to see the wonders of the Napali Coast and of course do some snorkeling. My wife was a first time snorkeler and she had a great time swimming with the fish and TURTLEs. Sadly no dolphins during the dive but we saw some on the boat trip.

If you've done a tour of the coast, this is not the best time spent for snorkeling, but a great combination tour and snorkeling adventure...so good value for your precious

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Princess Sunset Cocktail Dinner Cruise & Royal Lahaina Luau Combo

Sunset Dinner Cruise & Luau

Reviewed by: Dye, 2012/07/09

This combo package was excellent quality and value! We were set to sail on a Monday evening. The island was experiencing high winds the previous day with no end in sight. The activities company gave a courteous call asking if we would like to reschedule for later in the week. After assuring me the cruise would safely sail as planned that evening, whether we rescheduled or not, we declined the reschedule. The servers, captain and entertainment seemed happy to be doing their jobs which made our experience that much more pleasurable. The entertainment was Jimmy Buffet-ish with a touch of Hawaiian. He recognized birthdays, anniversaries etc and several folks joined him on the dance floor. The dinner was AMAZING! I am not a huge fish eater... but the macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi was to die for! We were seated with some Newlyweds from the midwest whose company was very enjoyable. I think sometimes people are a bit uncomfortable dining with strangers. However, the crew made everyone feel a

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel Adventure & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour

Thank you!

Reviewed by: Miss. Aussie, 2012/03/29

WOW! From the moment we arrived at the pier (we drove as we had a toddler with us) Jenner was playful and set a great mood. Everyone was excited for a day on the water, even though the weather didn't look too great. The Sandbar was fantastic, it's a unique experience being in the middle of the ocean, walking around. My husband had NEVER snorkeled before and found it hard to put the experience into words; he saw fish he'd only ever seen in documentaries and he was fascinated by the colours and the way they would swim around him... he's now officially addicted. Lunch was really good; well organised, quick and tasty. Our little one kinda freaked out on the boat and the staff were great with cheering him up. Jenner played his guitar while we ate and I've never felt more relaxed and like I was "in Hawaii". We saw turtles, the coral reef we moved to after the sand bar was unbelievable - the marine life is abundant and a hot cocoa at the end of a day snorkeling in cooler water was a perfect e

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Adventures Maui Molokini Crater Snorkeling Tour & Snuba Diving Cruise

Magical Day

Reviewed by: Kelly, 2012/01/16

Our family of 4 enjoyed this trip so much! We had a bit of trouble finding the boat (not the marina) due to construction and limited parking, but once we walked on board, it was fun and relaxing. The people are terrific and you can tell they love their jobs being on that boat-very friendly and entertaining. Breakfast muffins, bagels, fruit and coffee were available as the boat took us out to Molokini (about 30 mins.) and an enormous whale leaped right in front of the boat! There were many more to be seen that day but it want an exciting start. Molokini was not overrated! Underwater Discovery Channel complete with tons of colorful fish, strange anemones and even a purple jelly fish. It was so beautiful against the wall of the crater. I swam back to the boat quickly to buy the $25, reusable underwater camera because it was so magical. The pix came out great! My 7 year old was nervous at first b/c she'd never snorkled, but the crew worked with her 1-on-1, made her laugh, gave her a noodle

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Four Winds Molokini Snorkel Tour on Glass Bottom Boat (from Maalaea Harbor)

WOW! So much FUN!

Reviewed by: Mrs. Montague, 2012/01/11

My husband and I recently went on the afternoon snorkeling cruise on the Four Winds and it was fantastic! The price was spot on and we felt it was the best value for our money of any activity we did. The cruise was very safe and very fun too. We went during January and we got the added perk of seeing the humpback whales. It was such a great added bonus that we didn't have to take a whale watching cruise in addition. The crew was so friendly and embraced the laid back Hawaiian attitude. The Captain was very knowledgeable about the whales and gave us lots of information while we were watching them. The wet suit add on (for $5) was also a good thing to get as it helped me not to be quite so cold in the water. The optional lunch for $7 was also a decent quality as you could choose from chicken, burgers, hot dogs, or bar-b-que as well as chips. The complementary sodas, beer and wine were also pretty nice. They also had a hose with a shower nozzle on board so you could rinse off af

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Princess Sunset Cocktail Dinner Cruise & Royal Lahaina Luau Combo

Dinner Cruise combo Luau

Reviewed by: Ray & Gerry of Central NY, 2012/01/03

Unfortunately you can't always have perfect weather; there was no sunset to view. But the food was good, the ride was smooth and the couple we shared our table with were very friendly; on their honeymoon from Belgium. Our only complaint is the way the guests are loaded onto the boat. When you embark instead of climbing topside you are led all the way around the bow only to come back where you boarded, then you're allowed on top. A nice walk unless you're DISABLED! The staff I complained to said it was my fault for not telling them I have trouble walking. Other than that, the rest of the staff was great, and I soon forgot any troubles. The Luau was good but the food lines were too long; that was a problem for those of us at the back. It was difficult to eat in the dark, when the entertainment started and the lights were turned off. My wife felt the dancers were only up for a short while and should've performed longer. Rain was forecast (it didn't) and maybe they were rushing to beat th

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Watching Cruise & Snorkel Sailing Tour with Ko Olina Ocean Adventures

Excellent experience, well run

Reviewed by: Thomas, 2011/12/31

This was an excellent half-day experience. We went out on a large, spacious catamaran with a crew of 4, and in the course of 2 guided snorkling drops we had multiple sightings of dolphin, saw a giant turtle moving along the sea floor and another (or possibly the same one) pausing to breathe at the surface, and encountered countless colorful (and near-fearless) fish. We saw coral, too, with coral arches (our guide dived down and swam under one) and a "coral garden" area.

After the second dive we were given hot BBQ sandwiches and mixed fruit, with a choice of chicken or pork sandwhiches. There was plenty of room for everyone to find a spot in the sun (when it shone), and cabin shelter when we felt chilly.

The crew were friendly, safety-conscious, and proactive in large and small ways. Everyone was encouraged to wear a lifejacket for the first snorkel drop, and there were 2 crew members in the water with us, one as a guide and one to stay with the first-timers (he brought a surfboar

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spirit of Aloha Waikiki Sunset Cocktail Cruise (from Hilton Pier)

Great Sunset Sailing Cruise!!!

Reviewed by: Gentry, 2011/10/18

Booked this sailing sunset cruise for myself and my beautiful wife. We have done sailing sunset cruises before in Mexico so knew what to expect and initial indications were this would be pretty standard fare for what we've experienced. However, the desire was to be able to appreciate a couple hours sailing while appreciating a beautiful sunset. We weren't looking for anything grandiose. But, we were impressed by the all male staff not being over-the-top on trying to "cheese" up the cruise but were good to let the experience of the sunset be the excitement for the guests. However, about 40 minutes into the cruise the captain asked loudly if we wanted to see dolphins. He immediately swung the boat toward a school of Hawaiian Spinner Dolphins and we were fortunate to spend the next 10-15 minutes sailing along with them playing all around the boat including swimming and playing in the wake at the bow of the boat. There was a school of 50+ dolphins all around us. What an amazing exper

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ko Olina Ocean Adventures Catamaran Snorkel with Wild Dolphins Tour

Conqured my fear of Sea animals

Reviewed by: Ms. Rosie, 2011/05/31

Ko Olina Ocean adventures actually placed me on the wrong activity.. I wanted to be lazy, lay around on their catamaran, enjoy the sun , do some leisure snorkeling and drink Instead I was placed on a small ocean raft but I had a great dolphin swim adventure.

We started off checking in, which was actually pretty fast. Waited around for about 25 minutes until everyone was checked in and got on the boat (NO SLIPPERS ALLOWED), this is a barefeet type of activity, they ask that you leave your slippers on the dock.

First snorkeling site is just your normal site, this allows whoever is not familiar with snorkeling to get familiar. My sister and I actually drifted off because we had our head in the water the entire time, and we did not realize how far we drifted away form the boat. Luckily, the crew consists of awesome swimmers and they jumped in to pull us back to the boat. :-)

2nd and 3rd site was our Dolphin Drops, the boat is still moving and you slide off the boat into the wat

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kealakekua Bay Snorkel & Ocean Rafting Sea Cave Expedition (from Keauhou Bay)

Sea Quest Snorkeling Tour

Reviewed by: Tina Thatcher, 2011/04/05

This was BY FAR the best tour we took - even better than the helicopter tour of the volcano!

We enjoyed the smaller boat - only 12 people on our tour (from teens to seniors) plus Captain Steve and the Drew crew. Other boats seemed to have hundreds on board, although they may have had better facilities. Kayaks can damage the coral, and they aren't as mobile as the boat - no whale searching or cave exploring.

First, Hawaii Activities actually called us to check that we were going to be there on time and asked if we had any questions. Then, we checked in, signed waivers, and were assigned to our boat. It was all very organized and ran very smoothly.

Steve and Drew were very knowledgeable and patient with first timers. They served a wonderful snack (fresh pineapple and other fruits, chips, cookies, etc), and the snorkeling (two spots) was wonderful. They even had a book to help us identify what we had seen.

The icing on the cake was that two whales decided to grace us w

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Swim Cruise Excursion & 2-Stop Snorkel Ocean Rafting Adventure

Highlight of our Oahu Vacation!

Reviewed by: cathy, 2011/03/11

We booked this tour after reading about it on a web site. We asked our kids do you want to go to amusemant park setting and touch dolphins, OR swim with them in the ocean, and the results was unanimous The wild ones in the ocean! They picked us up at our hotel and took us to the boat, they were very friendly and punctual. The staff on the boat were beyond awesome. They were fun and explained everything and paid special attention to our 9 year old who was a little scared to go out in the big ocean. Pete sense her fear, and took control and jumped in the water with her and she had the best seat in the house on his back swimming with dolphins! He even brough her up a sea urchin to delight her while she was eating lunch! We had pretty rough water but the captain on the boat did a great job, very obvious he knew exactly what to do in in rough ocean. They bbq'd burgers for lunch with purple colored hamburger buns wheich totally delighted our daughter! They entertained us afterward

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

What a great experience

Reviewed by: Roxanne Ziola, 2011/02/15

First things first...make sure you take care of any seasickness issues, even if you have never sailed, take all precautions, you don't want to be ill and miss out on any of this!!
Our tour got rerouted due to weather acting up on the north part of the shore, so we toured the south side...WOW, I am amazed that they don't do that more often!!
We were able to see directly under the yacht, because of the trampolines, and we were probably 3 feet over all of the dolphins that were swimming with us. We were able to see 3 different dolphin speices (I remember the spinners and the large bottle nose) we then got to see countless whales and their babies, really close. The skips were very knowledgeable and so was the captain. They all did a really good job of the meal and making sure we always had some sort of beverage in our hand!! I felt like royalty! When I go back I will do the same cruise, in hopes that the northern shore will be toured, and then I can compare, but really I feel that t

Rating:
Attended as: Families
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]