Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.71 4.71 / 5

Reviews

135 reviews
Post a review

Entertaining

Reviewed by: Lynna Ampe, 2021/04/11

I would have given Chief’s Luau a Great, because the entertainment was the best. Thee food ok. How ever I took our two boys 15 and 16. Paid adult prices. Was told by Veltra, that they could have a virgin Mai tai or coke, sprite, etc.. however they would not give the guys drinks unless I paid extra for them.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horrible Experience

Reviewed by: Amy J, 2021/04/06

We paid for the “Royal Package “. We were served cold food, asked multiple staff members to please take our drink order. They would nod and walk away. We were there for an hour and a half and never had a server come to our table.
The only person to come by was trying to sell us a $30 picture and Chief Luau apparel.
We were so upset we finally walked out never seeing the show.
Also this luau is in the middle of a water park.
This was our first time to Hawaii and I picked this Luau because it had good reviews. It was something I was really looking forward to. Such a huge disappointment I DO NOT RECOMMEND this Luau!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: Brittni , 2021/03/27

We have done the Ka Moana luau this was sooo awesome! Food was good, service was great, and the show was so awesome and engaging! 100% would recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time even through the rain!

Reviewed by: Mainland Friends, 2021/02/18

My girlfriend and I just recently attended the luau on Valentine’s Day. We were welcomed in and sent straight to our table which was set up very nicely. The show was absolutely amazing even though I feel it was a little short. It started raining pretty heavily and although we appreciated the ponchos it does seem that tents should have been built to avoid what the forecast predicted. This made it really difficult for us to enjoy our food because everything was soaked. All in all the food was decent. We did however have to wait 15 to 20 minutes for someone to notice our on the table signifier for a waitress or bartender to serve us. Fortunately it did work out in our favor as by the time our food and drinks arrived the rain had settled. The chief was extremely funny and we have an experience that we plan to take back to the mainland and talk about for years to come. If you do happen to go to the luau make sure you check the weather because I guarantee you would enjoy it more with clear skies. To the event, I was strongly suggest that pop-up tents are invested in so that customers can truly enjoy the night as expected regardless of the weather.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding entertainment and food!!!!!

Reviewed by: Michael A G., 2020/03/09

It was a totally Hawaiian experience from the entertainment to the delicious food!
Just an authentic feel with great music all entwined with guest participation and fun!
And through it all we even learned a lot about the culture and people of the islands!
I highly recommend to anyone planning a trip to Hawaii because the Chief’s Luau is a must see!
My wife and I will never forget it.
Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

They took care of my friend in a wheelchair very well

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2020/02/13

All the young men took very good care of my friend in a wheelchair. they made her feel welcomed. The dancers were grate and the food was fun (they could have done better on the desert). the food line went fast.
The bathrooms could have been a little better.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Package - Definitely worth the extra money

Reviewed by: Jacky Daniels, 2019/12/16

My boyfriend and I went to Chiefs Luau and it was such a fun night. We are so happy we chose the Royal Package because we were in the very first row, got 3 complimentary drinks, and were first in line for the buffet. The food was really good, my favorite was the kalua pork and poi. The "chief" was hilarious and very talented. This show had performances/dances of cultures from all over Polynesia so it was really cool to see all of their differences. It was very engaging and family-oriented, the fire-knife performance was my favorite. One thing to note is to bring bug-spray! There were mosquitoes since the luau is located at a waterpark. I would highly recommend Chief's luau to anyone!

  • Imu pig (delicious)

  • Complimentary leis and make-your-own leaf headpiece

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best, best time!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2019/11/18

This is my third Luau that I have been to so far and this one is by far my favorite! The crew is so nice and attentive and I loved how Chief Sielu is so family oriented. He made several points to bring guests on stage and include them in the show and they even had a special moment for two children through the Make A Wish Foundation that were there which was so sweet!
You are entertained all night long whether it's by the dancing, the Chief's jokes or the amazing fire dancers. I would also highly recommend the Royal package, we had great seats up front and were one of the first in line for the buffet.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an amazing Luau!!!

Reviewed by: Emi P. , 2019/11/15

I went with the Royal experience with my husband and 2 year old son. It was the first time Luau as a family. We absolutely loved it!!! The chief was very funny, and the show had a lot of audience engagements when the chief and his crews welcome audience up on the stage for dance and couple anniversaries. Food was very good and of course, the Mai Tai was amazingly tasty! Also, the activities before the show were really fun!!! My 2 year old son loved watching dances especially the last fire dance! He did not blink at all! I would totally recommend to everyone who has not experienced Luau but also to who wants more family oriented Luau experience.

Thank you, Chief and the crews for amazing Luau experience!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friendly and Fun Luau

Reviewed by: a-chan, 2019/11/04

Chief's Luau was such a fun experience. The chief was such a funny person and made me laugh the entire time during the luau. The show was very intriguing, the Chief likes to have the audience take part in the show which made the experience personal. The weather was great the day I went so there was no rain at all which helped make the experience more enjoyable. The food was okay it wasn't something extraordinary but it was still good. My favorite part of the luau was when the chief had a special segment where he recognizes couples on their honeymoon and couples who have been married for a long time. The chief also helped someone propose to his love. He really acknowledges family and makes sure that everyone has a good time while they are at the luau. I would definitely recommend this luau to families and couples. 

  • complementary mai tai

  • amazing fire show

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My third time at the Luau and they never fail to impress me!

Reviewed by: Ms.Ems, 2019/10/21

My third time at the Luau and they never fail to impress me!
Family is very important to me, values, and life lessons, and every time I see their show, I always feel inspired and this time, I decided to bring my husband with me so he can experience the same. Chief's life story is so touching, and I love how he shares it with the guests. As always, Chief is very entertaining from the beginning to end, always full of laughers! The Polynesian Show, and the fire knife dance, superb!! Incomparable! Aaahhhmazing!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a Luau!

Reviewed by: JFM, 2019/07/09

I took my daughter and her family to this Luau and I am so glad we bought the Royal package. It was great. We were right in front and the dancing was great and the Fire dancing was fantastic. I also liked the fact the they involved you in different activities. Food was great also. I liked the fact they will stay and take pictures with you at the end with your own camera. Overall I would definitely recommend this Luau to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Food and Fun with Ohana

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/04/10

From the greeters to the servers to the Chief himself, everyone treated us like we were a part of the family. It felt like a big family reunion.
The food was delicious, and even if you're vegetarian or vegan like me, there are plenty of options! I had a mountain of food on my plate and didn't leave hungry.
The entertainment was my favorite part. Talented hula and warrior dancers performed traditional dances from various regions of Polynesia. So it was both entertaining and educational. I highly recommend this luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Chief

Reviewed by: Jt & lt., 2019/02/06

We have been to many Luau 's and Chiefs was by far the best.My husband tried making fire and dancing on the stage and i came home with a beautiful hand made bag and a bunch of flowers We had so much fun from begining to end.Loved it,and so much fun on the bus going and coming home with Princess Saou.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Dakota Dude , 2018/11/18

A great experience. The traditional music, food, atmosphere were all fantastic. Our guide Pua was exceptional. Filled us full of knowledge, most of all she was polite, courteous, personable, and very interactive.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING LUAU!!!!

Reviewed by: Havana, 2018/10/11

Awesome show! Went to another luau a few years ago at the Polynesian Culture Ctr and was bored! But this show was 100% better and this show flows.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thanks for a great evening!

Reviewed by: Paul from KC, 2018/10/11

My wife and I had a great time at your show well worth the evening

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love the new venue at Wet 'n Wild

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/05

This was my second time at Chief's Luau and I got say... i love the new location. The new venue is so beautiful. Chief Sielu is the best luau host in Hawaii, he is funny, entertaining and for sure he is what makes this luau so special. The dancers and the musicians are really good and the fire-knife dance is breath taking. The food is delicious and the buffet has a lot of variety. It was a lovely evening and I recommend this luau to everyone, specially families and couples.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome show!

Reviewed by: Pablo, 2018/03/22

From the bus ride (Bow was a great and informative guide) to the food to the great show that was put on, it was an awesome time. Never a dull moment. The staff went about and beyond to make sure we had a great time. I would definitely recommend this luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

not sure if we would go back

Reviewed by: Viv , 2018/03/10

show was awesome
meal was not the best
we included transportation from Waikiki..ambassador did no entertainment on the bus

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilarious and spectacular luau show

Reviewed by: Mr.Anonymous, 2017/12/21

I love Chief Sielu's wit, and his personality really comes out throughout the show. You can really tell he enjoys hosting the luau and loves all his guests. They also have a lot of fire knife dancers (and world champions, at that) making their fire dances probably the most impressive ones out there.

The food is good and there's a cash bar (you get a few free drink tickets based on which package you book). The only problem with this luau is that it's so far away from Waikiki and starts right after rush hour, so you might want to leave earlier (perhaps at 3pm) to beat the traffic. Alternatively you could just spend the day in Kapolei at wet n wild or Coral Crater. Parking is $5 at wet n wild.

  • everyone gets a fire knife!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bus Transportation

Reviewed by: Christy S. Fuller, 2017/12/01

Everything was great except our bus got us there after all the activities were just about over. They really didn’t plan on traffic and one of our stops had two handicap individuals that you could clearly see they weren’t prepared for. However once at the show very pleased.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chefs luau

Reviewed by: Christina , 2017/11/22

The best and funny emotional altogether...loved the show all of us did. Food was great missed this type since we came here...couldn't get enough would have exploded....lol....will come back again....first time here and looking forward to our next return.
Thank you a great evening money well spent.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun & unique experience

Reviewed by: David Boyle, 2017/11/11

A fun and unique experience. Big Cheif was a loveable entertaining character. The flame exerbition was incredible

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Night

Reviewed by: Jack & Diane, 2017/10/05

We took our son to the show for his birthday and truly enjoyed every minute. I would recommend this show over any of the other Luaus we have been too. The staff was very entertaining and actually seemed to enjoy themselves. We will go again if we get a chance to return to Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is a MUST.....had a fantastic evening

Reviewed by: Linda S., 2017/08/06

Had an enjoyable and unforgettable evening, beautiful entertainers...will definitely come again!
Had an awesome & knowledgeable tour guide on the bus...way to go "K"

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience at Chief Luau

Reviewed by: Oahu Donna, 2017/06/23

Best luau that I have been to. My family, including my teenage son, we all agreed it was the best time of our 8 day vacation. The Chief was funny and you felt like you were part of his family, All the performers, including the Chief were terrific and talented and so friendly .
Buffet was very good, the backdrop of the beautiful shore and ocean waves and the sunset was just too beautiful to describe.
This is the luau to go to!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park Hawaii

Reviewed by: Bella, 2017/06/12

We had an amazing time. It was more then what we expected. From the tour bus to the food and great entertainment we never stopped smiling or laughing. I would recommend this to family and friends. My husband and I have been to a Luau before and this was the first time for our boys who are 13 & 11. They loved ever minute of it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Greg Jones , 2017/06/04

What a great experience. The buss was right on time. The driver was funny and knowledgeable. She talked about the island as we drove to the Sea Life center. The Laura was very well organized, the setting was amazing. Made you feel like you were miles from anywhere. The show and culture was perfect. The fire dancers were my favorite. Food! Wow, very well done. I highly recommend this Laura. We were not disappointed, I actually figured these thing are touristy and would not have much Culture in the program. Not this one. It's great I thought.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time

Reviewed by: David N, 2017/04/19

We had a great experience at the Luau even though we had a lot of rain. Don't worry, they provided ponchos for everyone, which helped keep us warm too. My son loved the fire dancers and the food was good too. The chief who narrated the show was hilarious.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories