Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.74 4.74 / 5

Reviews

234 reviews
Post a review

It’s a great time!

Reviewed by: Cam, 2023/01/27

My first experience at Chief’s Luau 9 months ago was great, so when my family decided on attending a luau during this trip to Oahu, I thought Chief’s Luau would be a great choice. With pure luck, we were sat at the same table as the last time and it was front and center seating. Any closer, our eyebrows probably would of burned off by the fire show. In addition to the great seating, we loved Chief’s jokes, the dancers all performed amazingly, and the staff were all really nice. I would definitely recommend to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overrated

Reviewed by: Elmo, 2023/01/14

Somewhat expensive for what it offers. As others mentioned it is funny at times, but nothing spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Superp Luau!

Reviewed by: Ernesto , 2022/12/23

Excellent performances and Hospitality by the Chief and Family! Loved the excitement and enthusiasm! Buffet was delicious. Souvenirs and photo options were so affordable. Will be bringing my Family back again soon! ALOHA CHIEF AND CREW!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: GregS, 2022/12/10

I have attended this luau on more than one occasion. The food is good, the entertainment is great. Wonderful fire show!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

luau

Reviewed by: kim, 2022/12/07

the food was really good, we had such a great time loved every show, but our favorite was the fire one, definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

MUST SEE

Reviewed by: The Haneys, 2022/11/23

I highly recommend this! Really funny, informative and truly amazing talent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tons of Fun!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

Great Evening with a large community! The show was a blast

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Evening

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

My family had a blast, the kids got to get involved which was great

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Premium Seating

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

The premium seating was awesome for the value. Food is excellent, show was amazng.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Eddie, 2022/11/14

We attended the Chief's Luau and had a great time. The meal was very good, and the show was outstanding. The chief himself was very entertaining and funny.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Night!

Reviewed by: Cheri, 2022/10/28

Chief was an incredible host. He was genuine, funny and awesome. The show was spectacular. I was blown away by the talent. The fire show was breathtaking. We were so touched by the recognition of anniversaries. The flowers were a beautiful touch. I highly recommend the Chief Luau. No trip to Hawaii will be complete with a visit to see the Chief! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow factor!

Reviewed by: Shelby, 2022/10/26

Super fun experience! The show was by far the most entertaining show we experienced during our stay in Oahu. The dancing was beautiful and the fire dancing was jaw dropping! We attended during our honeymoon and we were made to feel unbelievable special despite countless honeymooners and anniversaries attending as well. The only reason I did not award 5 stars is because the food was pretty mediocre. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't great either. The drinks however, were delicious so that makes up for it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun First Time Family Activity

Reviewed by: Michelle Thompson, 2022/10/24

I brought my family to the luau since it was our first time to Hawaii. The dancers, musicians and fire knife dancers were very impressive. The food was abundant and pretty good. The weather cooperated, and it was a lovely evening.
Compared to other luau experiences I looked at, this one was affordable. However, I didn’t feel like the food was as good as it could have been. The chicken was good—but it was dark meat. The pork was tender but had little flavor. The dessert was cake with a few pieces of pineapple next to it. Pretty expensive for dinner and entertainment.
It was nice that two drink tickets for beer, wine or Mai Tais were included with each ticket and free water and juice were available to all.
It was fun that the cast came out afterwards so people could have their pictures taken with them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Evening

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/10/12

The staff is really friendly! This luau made my families night :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic-Awesome-Impressive !!!! Top Recommended Luau..

Reviewed by: MomoBme, 2022/09/23

The Luau show is Stupendous especially on stage. All daces are wonderful. Not too long and short enough to go with the story of the past.

-All show - perfect!
- Food - just ok

Overall, relaxing atmosphere and very much enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The show the remarkable!!!

Reviewed by: Contreras Family, 2022/09/20

Fun, lots of laughter, romantic, entertaining, and worth every royal dollar. The best Luau in the entire island. I recommended to go their your first night

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely time

Reviewed by: Cevallos, 2022/09/09

Súper recommended, the Chief is a naturally funny person in a very sane way. He talked about family and tge importance of it, also shared some info about different Polynesian Islands. ❤️

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau in Honolulu

Reviewed by: Jenna B, 2022/09/09

The experience from the beginning to the end was immaculate. The food was great! The show was hilarious and very entertaining! The lei they greet you with is beautiful and handmade just for you! The Mai Tai? GREAT! 10/10 recommend going and seeing Chief’s Luau if you are looking into doing a luau. You and whoever you’re with will love it!

  • Pineapple Drink 10/10

  • Pig Roast

  • Couples pictures in front of the waterfall!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unless you pay for the front seats you cannot see anything.

Reviewed by: Dee, 2022/09/06

I sat towards the center tables to the left. I couldnt see anything because the performers sit too low on the stage. Also many people in the front seats (as if they already not happy enough with their view) would stand up and block our view. I missed the fire show. :(

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kind of disappointed…

Reviewed by: Mandy, 2022/08/27

The show was overall good, especially the fire dance at the end. And the chief is quite talented because he needs to run the show, tell jokes and play drums.

Anyway,
This luau is inside the water park, and we use the restroom inside the water park which is a 5 minutes away from the luau place. Before the sun goes down, it’s very hot and sweaty. And we don’t have much space while seating. The experience was not pleasant.

Also, after everyone takes a picture and ready to seat down, they give u a cup of mai tai and takes one of the drink tickets. Don’t take that Mai Tai drink right away, just go to the bar section for the drinks.

And there are one thing I can’t figure it out, before the buffet starts, they showed us a roast pig and said this is gonna be one of the main course tonight. And everyone go line up for the buffet, the only dish pork-related is the pull pork which has nothing to do with the roast pig for sure. And they didn’t cut the roast pig in front of everyone. It looks like the roast pig is one of the actor for the luau.

For the price we are paying, we expect more.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Save your money

Reviewed by: Tonette, 2022/08/20

The pre-show activities ? None of those happened.
I was really looking forward to experience their culture but NO. When we got there, we were welcomed (speech and all that) then lined up for food and drinks then the show started.

I paid for a VIP royal package expecting my experience will be smooth… The only distinction between VIP and non VIP is the table arrangement and priority line for food but doesn’t apply if you wanna get drinks… which was very inconvenient.

Bottom line, I didn’t get my money’s worth.

Hope this helps.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Luau

Reviewed by: Conchitia Leeis, 2022/08/20

Our party of 11 truly enjoyed this Luau! The Chief Luau offers fun, entertainment,information and good food!! The performers were top notch and so much fun to watch!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This Luau was amazing !!!!

Reviewed by: Ivy, 2022/08/19

I absolutely loved this Luau. The Chief was so funny and enjoyable. I highly recommend going to see Chief's Luau. This was my first Luau so I don't have anything to compare it to but I doubt it gets much better than this.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An Experience Everyone Deserves

Reviewed by: Deanna, 2022/08/19

So much fun, so much culture and so much delicious food! My boyfriend and I left such happier people - well fed and high spirited. Everyone needs to experience the Chief's Luau. We can't wait to come back and enjoy it again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best Luau.

Reviewed by: Portia , 2022/08/13

Amazing . The food was awesome along with the music and vibe

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must seen show

Reviewed by: Kiki, 2022/08/09

The food is ok, the show is extraordinary! Totally worth it!
I’ll purchase again when revisiting Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEST LUAU EVER!

Reviewed by: Vanessa, 2022/08/09

This was an amazing experience definitely a must see show the chief was so funny and the dancer were really good, will definitely recommend to other! The show was very organized and the food was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing !!

Reviewed by: Ari , 2022/08/06

Such an amazing experience! I definitely would go again

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Melinda Kennedy, 2022/08/06

My daughter and I had a wonderful time at chief’s luau. The Chief was so funny and they all put on a great show! You could really feel the warmth of his personality shining through his speech and his humor made everything great. Tons of fire dancing, singing, story telling, and more dancing all around. Great food and great people to share the experience with. Felt like you were still in paradise. Definitely recommend purchasing close up seats and the lei package so you can get the full experience. Especially if it’s your first time in Hawaii. Totally worth every penny.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau evet

Reviewed by: Tammy Gaiter , 2022/08/02

The chefs Luau was the best one we have ever attended. Great seats, awesome atmosphere, wonderful food all topped off with a history lesson on Hawaiis culture. Then they threw in a little comedy and it was over the top. Grandkids loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories