Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.76 4.76 / 5

Reviews

204 reviews
Post a review

Best Luau evet

Reviewed by: Tammy Gaiter , 2022/08/02

The chefs Luau was the best one we have ever attended. Great seats, awesome atmosphere, wonderful food all topped off with a history lesson on Hawaiis culture. Then they threw in a little comedy and it was over the top. Grandkids loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Diane A., 2022/07/29

Awesome! Greatest experience. One of the highlights of our trip Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good show but could be better...

Reviewed by: Heidi, 2022/07/29

The show was good. The host is very entertaining. Food is as usual, nothing spectular. Upon arrival, only adult received drink tickets which the description did not indicate kids and youth don't get ticket for drink. With the price, the kids deserve soda tickets. It will be better if there are more pre-show activities, such as more photo backdrops and more lighting.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Show

Reviewed by: Lydia, 2022/07/21

We had a really great time. From our bus host to the main event. Cousin Tao was our bus host and she made the 45 minute bus ride fly by. She educated us on the culture the tattoos and made us laugh. She talked about pearl harbour, the climate of the island, as well as some of her native language.

We enjoyed the food. The pork was flavorful, chicken was good. Like anyone, I stayed away from what I knew I wouldn't like. Drinks were ok, but we aren't big drinkers to begin with. The main show amazing. Chief was very entertaining. The dancers were authentic. They tell a story and explain each islands culture, while entertaining you. The finale was great with multiple fire knife world champions. I highly recommend this luau! Yeah it's not on the beach, but so what! I learned about the culture, and had great food.
Also at the end of the night we ended up with two drunk strays. Cousin Tao, even though she didn't have to. She could've just said sorry you aren't on the roster and made them get off the bus. She
Called her boss, asked him to come back to bring them back to Waikiki. I thought that was super nice of her. If you want a genuine luau experience go to Chiefs luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time once we arrived

Reviewed by: R Gaspar, 2022/07/18

Our arranged bus was 20 min late, but part of the blame was a nearby hit and run (so traffic staggered around the police and paramedics). This caused us to miss most of the pre-show. Can't really fault anyone for that - just wished we had experienced it.
They no longer separate parties by table, so no more actual COVID separation (on paper/signs, they ask people to wear masks when away from their tables, but hardly anyone did so and no one enforced it).
Food was great. Buffet style, both sides of 2 rows of tables. Pick what you want, go back as much as you want. Lines were quick.
Performance was awesome. I wasn't aware that they had world champion fire dancers in the troupe. I personally loved the stories and explanations of each dance.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience1!!

Reviewed by: Matt, 2022/07/14

Overall an amazing experience from the start! Just walking in everybody is already a joker. The performances were captivating and incredible to watch. Not to mention the food that went with it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Brittney , 2022/07/08

Awesome experience. The people are so friendly. We’d enjoyed all the stories and the surroundings. It was all organized very well and you can tell, Chiefs family spend a lot of time on all. Can’t wait to experience this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Luau!

Reviewed by: Cindy , 2022/07/08

My entire family attend Chief's Luau and it was wonderful from top to bottom. They provided a huge amount of good food and moved people through the line quickly. Chief Sielu was delightfully funny, wise, heartfelt and shared his culture in such a beautiful way. All of the musicians, dancers and fire/knife dancers were absolutely amazing. All the performers showed such a passion and love of their culture. I would highly recommend this luau for anyone wanting to learn more about Polynesian culture.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good show/food, Odd location

Reviewed by: Megan, 2022/07/04

Pros:
Great show. Very entertaining for all ages. The fire dancing was amazing. Chief was funny and a joy to watch. The food was better than I expected with how many people they were feeding. They ran out of some of the items and for it being an all you can eat, they closed the lines down quickly after everyone had a serving. The food lines also moved quickly.

Cons:
The location. It is inside the wet n wild water park which definitely takes away from it being authentic. Some of the tables has shade but many didnt. They have you get there at 5 but thinks dont really start until closer to 545 so you are just sitting there roasting and burning. I expected more activities to do woth the family but there werent any to do at all except look at 2 booths of trinkets. You also have to use the wet b wild bathrooms and they were so so dirty and smelly.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome event

Reviewed by: Casey , 2022/07/03

Very educational, great food and amazing entertainment

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief’s Luau

Reviewed by: The Sager’s , 2022/07/02

This show was outstanding. It surpassed all of our expectations. The talent and skills were evident and the energy level was high throughout the night. On the needing improvement side of things, the lines to get drinks were unbelievably long and very slow. The food was average at best but they were feeding 1000 people.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief luau

Reviewed by: Mita, 2022/06/26

Wonderful family affair
Just wish they had guest interaction not just couples

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

They didn’t call you Chief for nothing

Reviewed by: Midweek , 2022/06/21

This is not your regular Luau event that you go to. My husband and I were celebrating our 5th year wedding anniversary and it’s his first trip after 35 years. I was surprised to know that I was not only watching or going to a luau but also going to a comedy show. Chief was amazingly great! His delivery was superb and did not seem rehearsed but was very natural. The staff (i feel bad that I didn’t get his name :( but he was great) took care of a mishap that happened and was very professional. Everyone was so great and I will definitely go back and tell my friends to make sure to see Chiefs Luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Performance

Reviewed by: Cheryl Ray Martin , 2022/06/18

This Luau is a must! It is so entertaining. The Chief’s story is so heartfelt, the performance is awesome and the food is amazing! I am so glad we chose this Luau to attend. Definitely one of a kind performance!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Event

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/06/18

If you have limited time in Hawaii, this is a MUST DO! The atmosphere is amazing, the hosts truly make you feel like family! Delicious food & drinks-A perfect blend of laughter, history, and talented performers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful family entertainment.

Reviewed by: Vickers & Family, 2022/06/16

We have been to others, but this one was the best ever! It was unforgettable
Nonstop entertainment with lots of variety, engaging the audience as well.
The basket weaving, coconut and fire demonstrations were great. Such a variety of food, drink and hula dancing, war dances, and lest anyone could forget, the fire dances ! We loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience with the family

Reviewed by: Christine , 2022/06/15

Such a nice time with the kids. They enjoyed the dancers the most and they really had skilled and amazing dancers. The Chief is entertaining and kind and just joyful. I enjoyed him hosting. The food is also very good and the kids tried everything. I think they did so well with the buses and the set up and the service. Its memorable. It’s a very large gathering and I’m amazed at how well they handled so many people.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Mar, 2022/06/12

Such an amazing experience!!! Absolutely loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great entertainment, fire dancing was awesome!

Reviewed by: V and B, 2022/06/11

I thought the chief and group was wonderful but venue was weird. Wet n wild???? Would be better on a ocean front setting. My first husband/wife dance was on stage and will always be remembered.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience and definitely worth the money.

Reviewed by: Theo, 2022/06/07

There were quite a few Luau options to choose from. After some searching, we decided to give Chief's Luau a try. It's good that they have pickup options and we don't have to drive. The pickup, drop-off, and check-in were smooth.
It was a cloudy evening with some sprinkles, but we were prepared.
Food was all-you-can-eat style, with them serving you at the station. Food varieties was limited compared with Polynesian Culture Center, but the quality was good. They even gave us 2 drink tickets for each person. That's enough for the night.
The dancing and the fire knife show were very entertaining, and the jokes too.
All in all, a pleasant evening spent on the island of Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Phenomenal Experience

Reviewed by: Jacqueline , 2022/06/01

My travel agent assisted us in choosing this Luau in Honolulu and let me tell you Chief's Luau does not disappoint. My family was very impressed with the entire experience and talked about it even the next day. I would highly suggest this Luau to anyone wanting an authentic experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Ross J, 2022/06/01

100% must do when visiting Oahu. Although it is a little ways from Waikiki, the experience is worth the time. It was very informative and entertaining. Food was fair as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome show

Reviewed by: Jan, 2022/05/23

This Luau was an awesome experience. The best part of the show was learning some insight on the culture and watching all of the amazing dances and fire show. The chief was super funny and entertaining! The food was good but the portions are huge so make sure you come with a big appetite! every Luau experience we tried getting into was fully booked out for a couple of months and I had purchased this showing same day which was a plus for us!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oh my squash! It was amazing!

Reviewed by: Llwdavis , 2022/05/18

We had Chief’s recommended to us by friends. Oh my squash! It was the best. Presented as very authentic. Food was actually very good. Great tour host, Cousin Tao and great driver. The show was everything but hookie! Authentic and impressive is how each dancer and performers presented. Well worth the royal package to sit so close to front and have a driver. Much respect Chief and team !

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing luau!

Reviewed by: Jasmine, 2022/05/17

He made the crowd feel very included and had us laughing the whole time. The food was great, the scenery was beautiful. The fire show was unreal. I feel like the royal package was so worth it. The maitais were amazing and we even got drinks in pineapples. The photos came out beautiful and we even got leis and handmade headbands. So worth every penny!

  • Pineapple maitai and lei

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Laua

Reviewed by: Beal, 2022/05/15

Bus was late, missed beginning. Paid for V.I.P. and nothing was V.I.P. Show was good what we could see. Crowded seating. Food ok, pork was very salty. Pineapple drink was $30 and didn't except the tickets given to us for it. Wouldn't take cash for pictures, only card. $30 for picture.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous!

Reviewed by: Karen & Claire, 2022/05/08

Great time! The luau was fantastic. Highly recommend. The “goodies” you get were great too. The food was ok but you’re not there for the food! But the food was fine. I enjoyed it. But the actual luau was fantastic. Well worth It!! A definite must see!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Kathleen Vera, 2022/05/03

This was so worth the money! The show itself was worth the ticket. Food was great too. Having a taste of everything was good so you know what you like and don't. I sprung for the pick up and drop off which was great so I didn't have to worry about being just a teenie tiny bit tipsy. :) The dancers were fantastic and it was obvious everyone was enjoying themselves. Would definitely go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good show, good food

Reviewed by: Bert, 2022/04/30

Great entertainment, good food, great hospitality. Showed Polynesian culture
Nice and relaxing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow Wow Wow!

Reviewed by: Kizzy Parker, 2022/04/17

What a wonderful experience for the whole family! I felt like family while we were there. The Chief was great! The fire dancers were great! The women dancers were great! Food was great! I loved the story telling and the teachings about Polynesian culture. I would do this experience again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories