Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.72 4.72 / 5

Reviews

156 reviews
Post a review

Best Luau

Reviewed by: Tasha, 2021/11/30

My family and I enjoyed the performance very much. It was a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Food and GREAT show

Reviewed by: Ed From PHX, 2021/10/26

Went as 2 couples to the show and it was a blast. We got two free Mai Tai's each and they were good, not watered down. The show was AWESOME, it told a lot of history and the Chief was quite funny. The fire spinning was great and very cool. They have a few world champions doing the show.

It is buffet style, and they have two different lines when you go to the buffet. There is a Pick your own food, and a server prepared plate. The server prepared they give you a little of each things. You can go back later and get more of what you want. The Pick your own food is slow and it will take time, but the other line is very very quick.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chiefs Luau, great family event!

Reviewed by: Birsa, 2021/10/15

This luau was nothing short of awesome! The chief is awesome and so hilarious. Food was pretty delightful too! Would certainly recommend to a friend who is heading to Oahu!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely recommend for the best experience luau

Reviewed by: Matt soto, 2021/10/05

That was an amazing luau! Definitely will have to do it again! The food was delicious and the performances were awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief is the coolest!

Reviewed by: Natalie P. , 2021/09/22

Doing things during COVID-19 can be a real pain in the butt, but the organizers for Chief’s Luau made it very easy. This show is awesome! The Chief is so funny & warm, & you can tell he’s a good guy. The food was delicious, but I wish that some things were a little warmer, like the noodles & the sweet potato bread. I recommend going through the customization line, since you can just tell them you don’t want the fish or the chicken or whatever. The show was fun & entertaining & I think it’s worth every dollar I paid! I would totally see it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Nikki J, 2021/09/05

It was out first time at a Luau & we had a wonderful time. It was such a great experience, the food was amazing & everyone was so friendly. We weren’t sure about it being at a water park but once you’re seated, you would never know it was a theme park. Definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding best part of the trip

Reviewed by: Alexis , 2021/08/28

The food was delicious and I loved all the performances and how friendly everyone was kept me interested the whole time the drinks were really good too can’t wait to come back!!

  • My son loved the show

  • Beautiful performance

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too commercialized

Reviewed by: NIka, 2021/08/15

The Polynesian Cultural Center offers way better authentic experience.. The Chief’s Luau is made like for tourists who have no clue about the Polynesian culture. Costumes, music, show - all too disappointing. The only two good elements are fire dance and hula. Food was very disappointing too. And the guide on the bus had very little knowledge about the history of Hawaii, unfortunately felt like money waisted. Unlike so many wonderful activities in Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau was Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Sunshine A., 2021/08/11

My family really enjoyed Chief's Luau. The staff was very attentive and helpful and the show was awesome! We really enjoyed our experience and would go back again when we visit Honolulu in the future.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief Luau’s Polynesian Show

Reviewed by: CLA, 2021/08/07

The show was very entertaining. We loved it especially our kids. The food was excellent as well. We can’t wait to be back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Vanessa Z , 2021/07/30

The chief stole the show, wish he had more show time.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: SAI, 2021/07/24

Great show, it was entertaining. Drinks are easy to access. The food could have been better though.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun for the whole family!

Reviewed by: Rema Mio, 2021/07/20

Our family had an amazing time! Chief and all of the staff were so friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious, drinks were great and the entertainment was unforgettable. Thank you for having us :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Completed our trip perfectly

Reviewed by: Sylvia R, 2021/07/17

We purchased our luau through Hawaii activities. Website was super easy to navigate! Since is was a 3rd party reservation I did confirm with the venue just to be safe! The luau was amazing! Food was delicious! Transportation was easy to locate and on time. Our host was great! Highly recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FIRE, food & show!

Reviewed by: Mariam, 2021/07/14

Overall, great show! The food was delicious and hearty portions. The show was so good - lots of Polynesian dancing and fire-knife dancing. Chief Sielu was a great host and HILARIOUS!!

Would recommend trying to get the Royal (VIP) seating for better seating for the show! I booked Paradise (General) because the Royal was already sold out for the date that I was available.

  • Took so many photos!

  • Had a blast at the luau

  • So much food!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Luau!!

Reviewed by: Leandra Mora, 2021/07/03

This was our first Luau. My family and I had such an amazing time! Awesome to learn about the history and culture. The show was amazing, it was such a great time. Highly recommend!! It was great! Felt the love! Food was delicious! Thank you for an amazing time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun, lively and interactive show.

Reviewed by: Amanda, 2021/06/23

The food was pretty good. Much better than a couple other luau’s that I have been to in the area. They offered a plate with a little of everything or you could go through the line and pick only what you wanted. They had pulled pork, fried chicken, fried fish, salad, rice, asian noodles, cooked taro root, rolls and for dessert white cake with white frosting and pineapple chunks. They offered individually packaged condiments of ranch dressing, Tabasco sauce, ketchup, soy sauce, butter, as well as small cups of poi and pico de gallo.

We had the royal package and had great seats. The seating was set up in tables of 4. My husband sat side by side and another couple sat on the other side of the table. We had another table of 4 right next to us. The Covid seating restrictions have been relaxed significantly as of June 21st when we went.

The royal package benefits that the paradise didn’t get is drink service at the tables (paradise have to walk to bar), 3 free drinks, fresh orchid lei (paradise get nut lei), closer seating to stage, first to go to buffet.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief’s Luau

Reviewed by: R. Kinder, 2021/06/22

Outstanding show with tons of energy. Well worth the money to see it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding Luau

Reviewed by: Nicole T, 2021/05/30

Such a well thought out organized and creative luau. I’ve been to other luau’s on the island, but this one is hands down the best. The Chief was so entertaining and the shows were amazing! I was also able to take terrific photos! Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great luau !!!

Reviewed by: Tracy Webster, 2021/05/27

Chiefs luau was so entertaining. Chief was hilarious and the dancers were amazing. We loved the atmosphere and staff was so friendly. I recommend this as a MUST go to event. Food was really good. We were so glad we picked this luau and would definitely go to again. Thank you all for a wonderful experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply amazing!

Reviewed by: Mike , 2021/05/21

A MUST DO event whenever visiting, great food, learned so much, and the fire show at the end is INCREDIBLE. I would not want to miss this

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Entertaining

Reviewed by: Lynna Ampe, 2021/04/11

I would have given Chief’s Luau a Great, because the entertainment was the best. Thee food ok. How ever I took our two boys 15 and 16. Paid adult prices. Was told by Veltra, that they could have a virgin Mai tai or coke, sprite, etc.. however they would not give the guys drinks unless I paid extra for them.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horrible Experience

Reviewed by: Amy J, 2021/04/06

We paid for the “Royal Package “. We were served cold food, asked multiple staff members to please take our drink order. They would nod and walk away. We were there for an hour and a half and never had a server come to our table.
The only person to come by was trying to sell us a $30 picture and Chief Luau apparel.
We were so upset we finally walked out never seeing the show.
Also this luau is in the middle of a water park.
This was our first time to Hawaii and I picked this Luau because it had good reviews. It was something I was really looking forward to. Such a huge disappointment I DO NOT RECOMMEND this Luau!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: Brittni , 2021/03/27

We have done the Ka Moana luau this was sooo awesome! Food was good, service was great, and the show was so awesome and engaging! 100% would recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time even through the rain!

Reviewed by: Mainland Friends, 2021/02/18

My girlfriend and I just recently attended the luau on Valentine’s Day. We were welcomed in and sent straight to our table which was set up very nicely. The show was absolutely amazing even though I feel it was a little short. It started raining pretty heavily and although we appreciated the ponchos it does seem that tents should have been built to avoid what the forecast predicted. This made it really difficult for us to enjoy our food because everything was soaked. All in all the food was decent. We did however have to wait 15 to 20 minutes for someone to notice our on the table signifier for a waitress or bartender to serve us. Fortunately it did work out in our favor as by the time our food and drinks arrived the rain had settled. The chief was extremely funny and we have an experience that we plan to take back to the mainland and talk about for years to come. If you do happen to go to the luau make sure you check the weather because I guarantee you would enjoy it more with clear skies. To the event, I was strongly suggest that pop-up tents are invested in so that customers can truly enjoy the night as expected regardless of the weather.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding entertainment and food!!!!!

Reviewed by: Michael A G., 2020/03/09

It was a totally Hawaiian experience from the entertainment to the delicious food!
Just an authentic feel with great music all entwined with guest participation and fun!
And through it all we even learned a lot about the culture and people of the islands!
I highly recommend to anyone planning a trip to Hawaii because the Chief’s Luau is a must see!
My wife and I will never forget it.
Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

They took care of my friend in a wheelchair very well

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2020/02/13

All the young men took very good care of my friend in a wheelchair. they made her feel welcomed. The dancers were grate and the food was fun (they could have done better on the desert). the food line went fast.
The bathrooms could have been a little better.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Package - Definitely worth the extra money

Reviewed by: Jacky Daniels, 2019/12/16

My boyfriend and I went to Chiefs Luau and it was such a fun night. We are so happy we chose the Royal Package because we were in the very first row, got 3 complimentary drinks, and were first in line for the buffet. The food was really good, my favorite was the kalua pork and poi. The "chief" was hilarious and very talented. This show had performances/dances of cultures from all over Polynesia so it was really cool to see all of their differences. It was very engaging and family-oriented, the fire-knife performance was my favorite. One thing to note is to bring bug-spray! There were mosquitoes since the luau is located at a waterpark. I would highly recommend Chief's luau to anyone!

  • Imu pig (delicious)

  • Complimentary leis and make-your-own leaf headpiece

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best, best time!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2019/11/18

This is my third Luau that I have been to so far and this one is by far my favorite! The crew is so nice and attentive and I loved how Chief Sielu is so family oriented. He made several points to bring guests on stage and include them in the show and they even had a special moment for two children through the Make A Wish Foundation that were there which was so sweet!
You are entertained all night long whether it's by the dancing, the Chief's jokes or the amazing fire dancers. I would also highly recommend the Royal package, we had great seats up front and were one of the first in line for the buffet.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an amazing Luau!!!

Reviewed by: Emi P. , 2019/11/15

I went with the Royal experience with my husband and 2 year old son. It was the first time Luau as a family. We absolutely loved it!!! The chief was very funny, and the show had a lot of audience engagements when the chief and his crews welcome audience up on the stage for dance and couple anniversaries. Food was very good and of course, the Mai Tai was amazingly tasty! Also, the activities before the show were really fun!!! My 2 year old son loved watching dances especially the last fire dance! He did not blink at all! I would totally recommend to everyone who has not experienced Luau but also to who wants more family oriented Luau experience.

Thank you, Chief and the crews for amazing Luau experience!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories