Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

219 reviews
Post a review

Fantastic-Awesome-Impressive !!!! Top Recommended Luau..

Reviewed by: MomoBme, 2022/09/23

The Luau show is Stupendous especially on stage. All daces are wonderful. Not too long and short enough to go with the story of the past.

-All show - perfect!
- Food - just ok

Overall, relaxing atmosphere and very much enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The show the remarkable!!!

Reviewed by: Contreras Family, 2022/09/20

Fun, lots of laughter, romantic, entertaining, and worth every royal dollar. The best Luau in the entire island. I recommended to go their your first night

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely time

Reviewed by: Cevallos, 2022/09/09

Súper recommended, the Chief is a naturally funny person in a very sane way. He talked about family and tge importance of it, also shared some info about different Polynesian Islands. ❤️

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau in Honolulu

Reviewed by: Jenna B, 2022/09/09

The experience from the beginning to the end was immaculate. The food was great! The show was hilarious and very entertaining! The lei they greet you with is beautiful and handmade just for you! The Mai Tai? GREAT! 10/10 recommend going and seeing Chief’s Luau if you are looking into doing a luau. You and whoever you’re with will love it!

  • Pineapple Drink 10/10

  • Pig Roast

  • Couples pictures in front of the waterfall!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unless you pay for the front seats you cannot see anything.

Reviewed by: Dee, 2022/09/06

I sat towards the center tables to the left. I couldnt see anything because the performers sit too low on the stage. Also many people in the front seats (as if they already not happy enough with their view) would stand up and block our view. I missed the fire show. :(

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kind of disappointed…

Reviewed by: Mandy, 2022/08/27

The show was overall good, especially the fire dance at the end. And the chief is quite talented because he needs to run the show, tell jokes and play drums.

Anyway,
This luau is inside the water park, and we use the restroom inside the water park which is a 5 minutes away from the luau place. Before the sun goes down, it’s very hot and sweaty. And we don’t have much space while seating. The experience was not pleasant.

Also, after everyone takes a picture and ready to seat down, they give u a cup of mai tai and takes one of the drink tickets. Don’t take that Mai Tai drink right away, just go to the bar section for the drinks.

And there are one thing I can’t figure it out, before the buffet starts, they showed us a roast pig and said this is gonna be one of the main course tonight. And everyone go line up for the buffet, the only dish pork-related is the pull pork which has nothing to do with the roast pig for sure. And they didn’t cut the roast pig in front of everyone. It looks like the roast pig is one of the actor for the luau.

For the price we are paying, we expect more.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Save your money

Reviewed by: Tonette, 2022/08/20

The pre-show activities ? None of those happened.
I was really looking forward to experience their culture but NO. When we got there, we were welcomed (speech and all that) then lined up for food and drinks then the show started.

I paid for a VIP royal package expecting my experience will be smooth… The only distinction between VIP and non VIP is the table arrangement and priority line for food but doesn’t apply if you wanna get drinks… which was very inconvenient.

Bottom line, I didn’t get my money’s worth.

Hope this helps.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Luau

Reviewed by: Conchitia Leeis, 2022/08/20

Our party of 11 truly enjoyed this Luau! The Chief Luau offers fun, entertainment,information and good food!! The performers were top notch and so much fun to watch!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This Luau was amazing !!!!

Reviewed by: Ivy, 2022/08/19

I absolutely loved this Luau. The Chief was so funny and enjoyable. I highly recommend going to see Chief's Luau. This was my first Luau so I don't have anything to compare it to but I doubt it gets much better than this.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An Experience Everyone Deserves

Reviewed by: Deanna, 2022/08/19

So much fun, so much culture and so much delicious food! My boyfriend and I left such happier people - well fed and high spirited. Everyone needs to experience the Chief's Luau. We can't wait to come back and enjoy it again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best Luau.

Reviewed by: Portia , 2022/08/13

Amazing . The food was awesome along with the music and vibe

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must seen show

Reviewed by: Kiki, 2022/08/09

The food is ok, the show is extraordinary! Totally worth it!
I’ll purchase again when revisiting Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEST LUAU EVER!

Reviewed by: Vanessa, 2022/08/09

This was an amazing experience definitely a must see show the chief was so funny and the dancer were really good, will definitely recommend to other! The show was very organized and the food was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing !!

Reviewed by: Ari , 2022/08/06

Such an amazing experience! I definitely would go again

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Melinda Kennedy, 2022/08/06

My daughter and I had a wonderful time at chief’s luau. The Chief was so funny and they all put on a great show! You could really feel the warmth of his personality shining through his speech and his humor made everything great. Tons of fire dancing, singing, story telling, and more dancing all around. Great food and great people to share the experience with. Felt like you were still in paradise. Definitely recommend purchasing close up seats and the lei package so you can get the full experience. Especially if it’s your first time in Hawaii. Totally worth every penny.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau evet

Reviewed by: Tammy Gaiter , 2022/08/02

The chefs Luau was the best one we have ever attended. Great seats, awesome atmosphere, wonderful food all topped off with a history lesson on Hawaiis culture. Then they threw in a little comedy and it was over the top. Grandkids loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Diane A., 2022/07/29

Awesome! Greatest experience. One of the highlights of our trip Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good show but could be better...

Reviewed by: Heidi, 2022/07/29

The show was good. The host is very entertaining. Food is as usual, nothing spectular. Upon arrival, only adult received drink tickets which the description did not indicate kids and youth don't get ticket for drink. With the price, the kids deserve soda tickets. It will be better if there are more pre-show activities, such as more photo backdrops and more lighting.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Show

Reviewed by: Lydia, 2022/07/21

We had a really great time. From our bus host to the main event. Cousin Tao was our bus host and she made the 45 minute bus ride fly by. She educated us on the culture the tattoos and made us laugh. She talked about pearl harbour, the climate of the island, as well as some of her native language.

We enjoyed the food. The pork was flavorful, chicken was good. Like anyone, I stayed away from what I knew I wouldn't like. Drinks were ok, but we aren't big drinkers to begin with. The main show amazing. Chief was very entertaining. The dancers were authentic. They tell a story and explain each islands culture, while entertaining you. The finale was great with multiple fire knife world champions. I highly recommend this luau! Yeah it's not on the beach, but so what! I learned about the culture, and had great food.
Also at the end of the night we ended up with two drunk strays. Cousin Tao, even though she didn't have to. She could've just said sorry you aren't on the roster and made them get off the bus. She
Called her boss, asked him to come back to bring them back to Waikiki. I thought that was super nice of her. If you want a genuine luau experience go to Chiefs luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time once we arrived

Reviewed by: R Gaspar, 2022/07/18

Our arranged bus was 20 min late, but part of the blame was a nearby hit and run (so traffic staggered around the police and paramedics). This caused us to miss most of the pre-show. Can't really fault anyone for that - just wished we had experienced it.
They no longer separate parties by table, so no more actual COVID separation (on paper/signs, they ask people to wear masks when away from their tables, but hardly anyone did so and no one enforced it).
Food was great. Buffet style, both sides of 2 rows of tables. Pick what you want, go back as much as you want. Lines were quick.
Performance was awesome. I wasn't aware that they had world champion fire dancers in the troupe. I personally loved the stories and explanations of each dance.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience1!!

Reviewed by: Matt, 2022/07/14

Overall an amazing experience from the start! Just walking in everybody is already a joker. The performances were captivating and incredible to watch. Not to mention the food that went with it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Brittney , 2022/07/08

Awesome experience. The people are so friendly. We’d enjoyed all the stories and the surroundings. It was all organized very well and you can tell, Chiefs family spend a lot of time on all. Can’t wait to experience this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Luau!

Reviewed by: Cindy , 2022/07/08

My entire family attend Chief's Luau and it was wonderful from top to bottom. They provided a huge amount of good food and moved people through the line quickly. Chief Sielu was delightfully funny, wise, heartfelt and shared his culture in such a beautiful way. All of the musicians, dancers and fire/knife dancers were absolutely amazing. All the performers showed such a passion and love of their culture. I would highly recommend this luau for anyone wanting to learn more about Polynesian culture.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good show/food, Odd location

Reviewed by: Megan, 2022/07/04

Pros:
Great show. Very entertaining for all ages. The fire dancing was amazing. Chief was funny and a joy to watch. The food was better than I expected with how many people they were feeding. They ran out of some of the items and for it being an all you can eat, they closed the lines down quickly after everyone had a serving. The food lines also moved quickly.

Cons:
The location. It is inside the wet n wild water park which definitely takes away from it being authentic. Some of the tables has shade but many didnt. They have you get there at 5 but thinks dont really start until closer to 545 so you are just sitting there roasting and burning. I expected more activities to do woth the family but there werent any to do at all except look at 2 booths of trinkets. You also have to use the wet b wild bathrooms and they were so so dirty and smelly.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome event

Reviewed by: Casey , 2022/07/03

Very educational, great food and amazing entertainment

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief’s Luau

Reviewed by: The Sager’s , 2022/07/02

This show was outstanding. It surpassed all of our expectations. The talent and skills were evident and the energy level was high throughout the night. On the needing improvement side of things, the lines to get drinks were unbelievably long and very slow. The food was average at best but they were feeding 1000 people.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief luau

Reviewed by: Mita, 2022/06/26

Wonderful family affair
Just wish they had guest interaction not just couples

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

They didn’t call you Chief for nothing

Reviewed by: Midweek , 2022/06/21

This is not your regular Luau event that you go to. My husband and I were celebrating our 5th year wedding anniversary and it’s his first trip after 35 years. I was surprised to know that I was not only watching or going to a luau but also going to a comedy show. Chief was amazingly great! His delivery was superb and did not seem rehearsed but was very natural. The staff (i feel bad that I didn’t get his name :( but he was great) took care of a mishap that happened and was very professional. Everyone was so great and I will definitely go back and tell my friends to make sure to see Chiefs Luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Performance

Reviewed by: Cheryl Ray Martin , 2022/06/18

This Luau is a must! It is so entertaining. The Chief’s story is so heartfelt, the performance is awesome and the food is amazing! I am so glad we chose this Luau to attend. Definitely one of a kind performance!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Event

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/06/18

If you have limited time in Hawaii, this is a MUST DO! The atmosphere is amazing, the hosts truly make you feel like family! Delicious food & drinks-A perfect blend of laughter, history, and talented performers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories