Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

120 reviews
Post a review

Friendly and Fun Luau

Reviewed by: a-chan, 2019/11/04

Chief's Luau was such a fun experience. The chief was such a funny person and made me laugh the entire time during the luau. The show was very intriguing, the Chief likes to have the audience take part in the show which made the experience personal. The weather was great the day I went so there was no rain at all which helped make the experience more enjoyable. The food was okay it wasn't something extraordinary but it was still good. My favorite part of the luau was when the chief had a special segment where he recognizes couples on their honeymoon and couples who have been married for a long time. The chief also helped someone propose to his love. He really acknowledges family and makes sure that everyone has a good time while they are at the luau. I would definitely recommend this luau to families and couples. 

  • complementary mai tai

  • amazing fire show

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My third time at the Luau and they never fail to impress me!

Reviewed by: Ms.Ems, 2019/10/21

My third time at the Luau and they never fail to impress me!
Family is very important to me, values, and life lessons, and every time I see their show, I always feel inspired and this time, I decided to bring my husband with me so he can experience the same. Chief's life story is so touching, and I love how he shares it with the guests. As always, Chief is very entertaining from the beginning to end, always full of laughers! The Polynesian Show, and the fire knife dance, superb!! Incomparable! Aaahhhmazing!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a Luau!

Reviewed by: JFM, 2019/07/09

I took my daughter and her family to this Luau and I am so glad we bought the Royal package. It was great. We were right in front and the dancing was great and the Fire dancing was fantastic. I also liked the fact the they involved you in different activities. Food was great also. I liked the fact they will stay and take pictures with you at the end with your own camera. Overall I would definitely recommend this Luau to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Food and Fun with Ohana

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/04/10

From the greeters to the servers to the Chief himself, everyone treated us like we were a part of the family. It felt like a big family reunion.
The food was delicious, and even if you're vegetarian or vegan like me, there are plenty of options! I had a mountain of food on my plate and didn't leave hungry.
The entertainment was my favorite part. Talented hula and warrior dancers performed traditional dances from various regions of Polynesia. So it was both entertaining and educational. I highly recommend this luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Chief

Reviewed by: Jt & lt., 2019/02/06

We have been to many Luau 's and Chiefs was by far the best.My husband tried making fire and dancing on the stage and i came home with a beautiful hand made bag and a bunch of flowers We had so much fun from begining to end.Loved it,and so much fun on the bus going and coming home with Princess Saou.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Dakota Dude , 2018/11/18

A great experience. The traditional music, food, atmosphere were all fantastic. Our guide Pua was exceptional. Filled us full of knowledge, most of all she was polite, courteous, personable, and very interactive.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING LUAU!!!!

Reviewed by: Havana, 2018/10/11

Awesome show! Went to another luau a few years ago at the Polynesian Culture Ctr and was bored! But this show was 100% better and this show flows.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thanks for a great evening!

Reviewed by: Paul from KC, 2018/10/11

My wife and I had a great time at your show well worth the evening

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love the new venue at Wet 'n Wild

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/05

This was my second time at Chief's Luau and I got say... i love the new location. The new venue is so beautiful. Chief Sielu is the best luau host in Hawaii, he is funny, entertaining and for sure he is what makes this luau so special. The dancers and the musicians are really good and the fire-knife dance is breath taking. The food is delicious and the buffet has a lot of variety. It was a lovely evening and I recommend this luau to everyone, specially families and couples.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome show!

Reviewed by: Pablo, 2018/03/22

From the bus ride (Bow was a great and informative guide) to the food to the great show that was put on, it was an awesome time. Never a dull moment. The staff went about and beyond to make sure we had a great time. I would definitely recommend this luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

not sure if we would go back

Reviewed by: Viv , 2018/03/10

show was awesome
meal was not the best
we included transportation from Waikiki..ambassador did no entertainment on the bus

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilarious and spectacular luau show

Reviewed by: Mr.Anonymous, 2017/12/21

I love Chief Sielu's wit, and his personality really comes out throughout the show. You can really tell he enjoys hosting the luau and loves all his guests. They also have a lot of fire knife dancers (and world champions, at that) making their fire dances probably the most impressive ones out there.

The food is good and there's a cash bar (you get a few free drink tickets based on which package you book). The only problem with this luau is that it's so far away from Waikiki and starts right after rush hour, so you might want to leave earlier (perhaps at 3pm) to beat the traffic. Alternatively you could just spend the day in Kapolei at wet n wild or Coral Crater. Parking is $5 at wet n wild.

  • everyone gets a fire knife!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bus Transportation

Reviewed by: Christy S. Fuller, 2017/12/01

Everything was great except our bus got us there after all the activities were just about over. They really didn’t plan on traffic and one of our stops had two handicap individuals that you could clearly see they weren’t prepared for. However once at the show very pleased.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chefs luau

Reviewed by: Christina , 2017/11/22

The best and funny emotional altogether...loved the show all of us did. Food was great missed this type since we came here...couldn't get enough would have exploded....lol....will come back again....first time here and looking forward to our next return.
Thank you a great evening money well spent.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun & unique experience

Reviewed by: David Boyle, 2017/11/11

A fun and unique experience. Big Cheif was a loveable entertaining character. The flame exerbition was incredible

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Night

Reviewed by: Jack & Diane, 2017/10/05

We took our son to the show for his birthday and truly enjoyed every minute. I would recommend this show over any of the other Luaus we have been too. The staff was very entertaining and actually seemed to enjoy themselves. We will go again if we get a chance to return to Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is a MUST.....had a fantastic evening

Reviewed by: Linda S., 2017/08/06

Had an enjoyable and unforgettable evening, beautiful entertainers...will definitely come again!
Had an awesome & knowledgeable tour guide on the bus...way to go "K"

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience at Chief Luau

Reviewed by: Oahu Donna, 2017/06/23

Best luau that I have been to. My family, including my teenage son, we all agreed it was the best time of our 8 day vacation. The Chief was funny and you felt like you were part of his family, All the performers, including the Chief were terrific and talented and so friendly .
Buffet was very good, the backdrop of the beautiful shore and ocean waves and the sunset was just too beautiful to describe.
This is the luau to go to!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park Hawaii

Reviewed by: Bella, 2017/06/12

We had an amazing time. It was more then what we expected. From the tour bus to the food and great entertainment we never stopped smiling or laughing. I would recommend this to family and friends. My husband and I have been to a Luau before and this was the first time for our boys who are 13 & 11. They loved ever minute of it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Greg Jones , 2017/06/04

What a great experience. The buss was right on time. The driver was funny and knowledgeable. She talked about the island as we drove to the Sea Life center. The Laura was very well organized, the setting was amazing. Made you feel like you were miles from anywhere. The show and culture was perfect. The fire dancers were my favorite. Food! Wow, very well done. I highly recommend this Laura. We were not disappointed, I actually figured these thing are touristy and would not have much Culture in the program. Not this one. It's great I thought.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time

Reviewed by: David N, 2017/04/19

We had a great experience at the Luau even though we had a lot of rain. Don't worry, they provided ponchos for everyone, which helped keep us warm too. My son loved the fire dancers and the food was good too. The chief who narrated the show was hilarious.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best decision I made all week!

Reviewed by: Janice J, 2017/04/09

So entertaining and full of interesting facts about the Polynesians and their surrounding cultures.
The dancing and singing was beautiful and the food was amazing.
The Chief was hilarious and really made our anniversary night extra special and gave me flowers!

  • Kukui Nut Lei greeting

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous!!

Reviewed by: Deb, 2017/04/09

The experience was so much more than we expected. Loved the humor of the bus guide, the staff at the luau and the Chief. Could not have asked for more fun under the stars with a beautiful scenic backdrop.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chiefs Luau was wonderful in so many ways!

Reviewed by: Chris , 2017/03/15

The food was very good, the entertainment showcased many island cultures, and the extra activities were fun. Thank you for this wonderful insight into the island cultures. The fire dancers were amazing!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Star, 2017/02/28

It was so much fun! Told everyone we came into contact with about it!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yummy food Funny Chief

Reviewed by: MTK, 2017/01/30

Had so much fun at this show and the good was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT LUAU!

Reviewed by: Debs, 2017/01/21

Saw the chief in 1985 at PCC. Loved his wit & charm then. So glad he has come so far. Still as great as ever. Was touched by the couples dancing & Make a Wish kids. Would recommend this smaller luau to everyone!!
Thank you, Chief!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2017/01/17

We were told that going to Hawaii we had to go to a luau and we were not disappointed at all! The staff at chiefs luau were absolutely amazing, the food was fantastic but the overall experience is something we'll never forget. Thank you so much for a one of a kind and magical experience. I don't have enough good things to say, just do it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value and great location

Reviewed by: Roc & Nats, 2017/01/02

This was a must do activity and was made excellent by our host "Cousin Bo" who was informative and entertaining. The event itself was fantastic, the show was very professional and the story of the Pacific islands well executed. The fire dance at the end was visually stunning and well worth it. Location was beautiful and the trip there was pretty too. The activities and food were probably not my ideal, but we would absolutely recommend going for the actual performance. We booked the royal experience. The chief is a real comedian and the evening was good fun all round.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sealife Park

Reviewed by: Sandra, Sydney , 2016/12/05

We have been to Hawaii a couple of times and have been to most if the luaus, but we think the Chiefs Luau has been the best one by far. The food and drinks were very good and the location is very beautiful. The Chief was very funny and the whole show was very entertaining- great hula dancers and exeptional fire dancers. If you are staying on Oahu, do yourselves a favour and go see the Chiefs Luau - you won't be disappointed.

  • Sorry. Only photo i took before the show started.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories