This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Fire Knife Dancing

Awesome show!

Reviewed by: Pablo, 2018/03/22

From the bus ride (Bow was a great and informative guide) to the food to the great show that was put on, it was an awesome time. Never a dull moment. The staff went about and beyond to make sure we had a great time. I would definitely recommend this luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

not sure if we would go back

Reviewed by: Viv , 2018/03/10

show was awesome
meal was not the best
we included transportation from Waikiki..ambassador did no entertainment on the bus


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilarious and spectacular luau show

Reviewed by: Mr.Anonymous, 2017/12/21

I love Chief Sielu's wit, and his personality really comes out throughout the show. You can really tell he enjoys hosting the luau and loves all his guests. They also have a lot of fire knife dancers (and world champions, at that) making their fire dances probably the most impressive ones out there.

The food is good and there's a cash bar (you get a few free drink tickets based on which package you book). The only problem with this luau is that it's so far away from Waikiki and starts right after rush hour, so you might want to leave earlier (perhaps at 3pm) to beat the traffic. Alternatively you could just spend the day in Kapolei at wet n wild or Coral Crater. Parking is $5 at wet n wild.


  • everyone gets a fire knife!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bus Transportation

Reviewed by: Christy S. Fuller, 2017/12/01

Everything was great except our bus got us there after all the activities were just about over. They really didn’t plan on traffic and one of our stops had two handicap individuals that you could clearly see they weren’t prepared for. However once at the show very pleased.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chefs luau

Reviewed by: Christina , 2017/11/22

The best and funny emotional altogether...loved the show all of us did. Food was great missed this type since we came here...couldn't get enough would have exploded....lol....will come back again....first time here and looking forward to our next return.
Thank you a great evening money well spent.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun & unique experience

Reviewed by: David Boyle, 2017/11/11

A fun and unique experience. Big Cheif was a loveable entertaining character. The flame exerbition was incredible



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Night

Reviewed by: Jack & Diane, 2017/10/05

We took our son to the show for his birthday and truly enjoyed every minute. I would recommend this show over any of the other Luaus we have been too. The staff was very entertaining and actually seemed to enjoy themselves. We will go again if we get a chance to return to Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is a MUST.....had a fantastic evening

Reviewed by: Linda S., 2017/08/06

Had an enjoyable and unforgettable evening, beautiful entertainers...will definitely come again!
Had an awesome & knowledgeable tour guide on the bus...way to go "K"

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience at Chief Luau

Reviewed by: Oahu Donna, 2017/06/23

Best luau that I have been to. My family, including my teenage son, we all agreed it was the best time of our 8 day vacation. The Chief was funny and you felt like you were part of his family, All the performers, including the Chief were terrific and talented and so friendly .
Buffet was very good, the backdrop of the beautiful shore and ocean waves and the sunset was just too beautiful to describe.
This is the luau to go to!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park Hawaii

Reviewed by: Bella, 2017/06/12

We had an amazing time. It was more then what we expected. From the tour bus to the food and great entertainment we never stopped smiling or laughing. I would recommend this to family and friends. My husband and I have been to a Luau before and this was the first time for our boys who are 13 & 11. They loved ever minute of it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Greg Jones , 2017/06/04

What a great experience. The buss was right on time. The driver was funny and knowledgeable. She talked about the island as we drove to the Sea Life center. The Laura was very well organized, the setting was amazing. Made you feel like you were miles from anywhere. The show and culture was perfect. The fire dancers were my favorite. Food! Wow, very well done. I highly recommend this Laura. We were not disappointed, I actually figured these thing are touristy and would not have much Culture in the program. Not this one. It's great I thought.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time

Reviewed by: David N, 2017/04/19

We had a great experience at the Luau even though we had a lot of rain. Don't worry, they provided ponchos for everyone, which helped keep us warm too. My son loved the fire dancers and the food was good too. The chief who narrated the show was hilarious.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best decision I made all week!

Reviewed by: Janice J, 2017/04/09

So entertaining and full of interesting facts about the Polynesians and their surrounding cultures.
The dancing and singing was beautiful and the food was amazing.
The Chief was hilarious and really made our anniversary night extra special and gave me flowers!


  • Kukui Nut Lei greeting


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous!!

Reviewed by: Deb, 2017/04/09

The experience was so much more than we expected. Loved the humor of the bus guide, the staff at the luau and the Chief. Could not have asked for more fun under the stars with a beautiful scenic backdrop.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chiefs Luau was wonderful in so many ways!

Reviewed by: Chris , 2017/03/15

The food was very good, the entertainment showcased many island cultures, and the extra activities were fun. Thank you for this wonderful insight into the island cultures. The fire dancers were amazing!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Star, 2017/02/28

It was so much fun! Told everyone we came into contact with about it!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yummy food Funny Chief

Reviewed by: MTK, 2017/01/30

Had so much fun at this show and the good was great!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT LUAU!

Reviewed by: Debs, 2017/01/21

Saw the chief in 1985 at PCC. Loved his wit & charm then. So glad he has come so far. Still as great as ever. Was touched by the couples dancing & Make a Wish kids. Would recommend this smaller luau to everyone!!
Thank you, Chief!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2017/01/17

We were told that going to Hawaii we had to go to a luau and we were not disappointed at all! The staff at chiefs luau were absolutely amazing, the food was fantastic but the overall experience is something we'll never forget. Thank you so much for a one of a kind and magical experience. I don't have enough good things to say, just do it!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value and great location

Reviewed by: Roc & Nats, 2017/01/02

This was a must do activity and was made excellent by our host "Cousin Bo" who was informative and entertaining. The event itself was fantastic, the show was very professional and the story of the Pacific islands well executed. The fire dance at the end was visually stunning and well worth it. Location was beautiful and the trip there was pretty too. The activities and food were probably not my ideal, but we would absolutely recommend going for the actual performance. We booked the royal experience. The chief is a real comedian and the evening was good fun all round.







Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sealife Park

Reviewed by: Sandra, Sydney , 2016/12/05

We have been to Hawaii a couple of times and have been to most if the luaus, but we think the Chiefs Luau has been the best one by far. The food and drinks were very good and the location is very beautiful. The Chief was very funny and the whole show was very entertaining- great hula dancers and exeptional fire dancers. If you are staying on Oahu, do yourselves a favour and go see the Chiefs Luau - you won't be disappointed.


  • Sorry. Only photo i took before the show started.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Show but poorly represented

Reviewed by: Jennifer & Jim, 2016/11/27

The "Royal Package" is described as follows;
"Enjoy front seating and receive a fresh Flower Lei, a mai tai greeting and three standard drinks, a souvenir t-shirt, pork tasting fresh from the imu, poi and lomi lomi salmon sampling, and be first (1st) in line for the dinner buffet. Before the show, go on a short guided tour of three exhibits at Sea Life Park. Get up close with turtles and dolphins before you get to meet the Chief!"

We did receive our front row seating, mai tai greeting, 3 drinks each, t-shirt, & were first in line for the buffet. The Pork tasting, poi and lomi lomi salmon sampling was made available to all attendees at the Luau and there was no tour. We specifically bought this package for the tour and to be "up close with dolphins & sea turtles". We were held at the entrance until they called for "purple bands", aka royal package ticket holders. We were then led down the hill past a turtle pond and directly into the luau area while receiving our choice of flower or nut leis.

Once inside we received a complimentary mai tai and took a quick picture with the chief and a young lady. Realizing during the show that our picture was with the chief and that is when we "met" him. I would not call this "meeting the chief". The inclusions in this package are very misrepresented and should be updated to avoid disappointment to other guests.

The show itself is the BEST! The entertainers, the story, & the audience involvement is top notch. On our next trip we will be visiting this luau again but will rethink which package we purchase and will investigate options directly through Sea Life Park to avoid future disappointment and to ensure we will actually get what we are paying for.

**The show was definitely worth 5 stars but the misrepresentation of the package made us give this package 2 stars. **

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. Your feedback has been shared with the activity provider to better serve future guests. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not having the most updated information on our website, we will make sure to fix the page contents. Our Customer Support team will contact you by e-mail shortly.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

. Chiefs luau

Reviewed by: Charity, 2016/10/13

What an amazing place wonderful food great people the show was outstanding the chief was great what do this over and over again

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING

Reviewed by: Rudy, 2016/10/12

I AM SO AMAZED AND DELIGHTED WITH MY FIRST LUAU EXPERIENCE, I LOVE IT.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great...

Reviewed by: Adriana, 2016/09/08

The show was funny and entertaining. The pre-games were fun. We even got a special dance since it was our honeymoon.. 2nd day. The drinks could have been better..the bartender was a bit sloppy..just stick to the mai tais

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

chief's luau

Reviewed by: Debra Jones, 2016/08/09

My sister and I wanna say thank you all at big chief's luau. First luau ever and we had a blast. So glad I had chosen Big Chief's. By far the best even though I'd had never been to another. The family oriented feeling you received you felt as if you had known them longer then you had. The food and entertainment was awesome. Not to mention the lesson in life to learn from . Teaching cultures and hawaii traditions was special. much love to the crew at Big chief's for making us feel so welcome. I would recommend to anyone I know. Even the bus tour guides was top stars.
Aloha
From Kansas
Love and peace

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply amazing!

Reviewed by: Daniel Haquet, 2016/07/14

We stayed in Oahu for our 10yr anniversary and this was attended the night of our very anniversary and all I can say is that the Luau was amazing. When everyone celebrating and anniversary was asked to go on stage, given flowers, torches came out and they shut off the lights and had the couples dance under the stars, it made our night. We could not have asked for a better experience. We had a great time, the staff was amazing and the event was more awesome than I could have ever anticipated. Highly recommend.


  • The backdrop was amazing!


  • The chief was such a character a genuinly awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun experience

Reviewed by: Michelle , 2016/07/06

We chose the Royal package, it was alot of fun sitting up close and getting to eat first! There were lots of activities to do before dinner and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The alcoholic drinks are very "light", drink your free ones but save your money on the others. Buy some of the hand made jewelry instead!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Cinthia , 2016/06/27

It was amazing definitely a must see show the culture was amazing and great to see

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: vegas, 2016/06/12

We had an amazing time. Would recommend to anyone. Fun for all ages


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Oahu Categories