Hawaii Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour with Kauai Backcountry reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

To participate in any of our on island activities, all travelers arriving to Hawaii must complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine, and the most up-to-date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Hawaii Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour with Kauai Backcountry

Overall Rating

4.83 4.83 / 5

Reviews

190 reviews
Post a review

Tons of fun!

Reviewed by: Rkn1, 2020/04/04

We wear a bit Leary of scheduling this excursion- but had heard great things about it- it was a cold overcast morning and we thought that would be miserable but we had a great time! Great tour guides kept us entertained and having fun- felt super safe the entire time and glad we booked it! Nice lunch at the end and fun scenic ride on the way in and back out. We’ll be back with the family for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing and Memorable Experience!!

Reviewed by: Julie, 2020/03/21

What a fun and unique experience! We had a great time and our guide made the adventure even more memorable! Would definitely recommend this to everyone wanting to try something new and different!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Can't wait to take the rest of my family!

Reviewed by: Bobbi, 2020/03/21

We had such a blast! I was a little worried that it was just going to be a float in water from point A to B. But boy was I wrong! We had the beat guide Jonny! He was so much fun and knowledgeable about the island. Going through the tunnels were more amazing than I thought and never once did we feel claustrophobic. Next time we go we are taking the rest of our kids so they will get to experience this

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Cheryl Koleski, 2020/02/23

Though thought it would be nice if the road to tubing was fixed. Very uncomfortable ride

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tubing experience!

Reviewed by: Craig, 2020/02/22

Wonderful family adventure. Tour guide on the bus was friendly and entertaining, and the guides were knowledgeable and courteous (they took great care of our five- and eight-year-old children in the tubes on the water so they felt safe and comfortable while my wife and older children could enjoy the adventure). Highly recommended. Kudos to the operators of this business.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved tubing!

Reviewed by: sandy, 2020/02/18

Wanted to go back right away! Great tour, super fun and excellent tubing! Brought our 6 yr old daughter and she loved it too. Would definitely go again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paradise on a Tube

Reviewed by: DBL, 2020/02/04

I do this event annually in Kaua'i.. Great , safe family fun.
Water, at its deepest, is 3 feet. The staff is wonderful. The best experience, in my opinion, is tubing in paradise on a rainy day! Oh. My. God! The BEST experience EVER !. Don't pass up this experience. ........ place this on your " must do "
list. Young children ( > =6, life jackets provided) and older adults ( > 60, if you can stand alone and walk 20 yards unassisted ) friendly! Hope to see you there!
Bring aqua socks or enclosed water shoes or they will be provide for a fee. Go Pro also available to be rented.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Refreshing fun in the sun

Reviewed by: Brooke myers , 2020/01/28

Chelsea was a great guide! Super funny and down to earth. She definitely made the whole trip a great experience. The water was refreshing and the tubing was amazing. Great for all ages and will definitely to do it again next visit. Thank you Chelsea and crew!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a great time!

Reviewed by: Sue, 2020/01/25

We enjoyed this trip and had a good time. Our leader, Marcus, was very informative and had a great sense of humor. I would recommend it to anyone-it's a one of a kind experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Better than I imagined.

Reviewed by: Ginny, 2020/01/11

Our guides were wonderful. They put us at ease. And had our safety and comfort in mind at all times. (Bonus points for the ukelele) The tour and history lesson on the way to the site as well as on our return was fascinating as well.
An adventure we will never forget.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun!

Reviewed by: Fran Deck, 2020/01/11

Our family had so much fun and our guides were awesome...Thanks for everything!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely worth doing!!

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2019/12/13

This was so much fun!! So glad we booked this experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Times in Kauai

Reviewed by: Craig Cullen, 2019/12/04

This is one Adventure we do every time we come to Kauai we have the best time everybody should do it. One of the best parts is when you go into the tunnel and they turn off all the lights and it's so dark you can't even see your hand in front of your face

  • On top of the mountain.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun times with family

Reviewed by: JRJ, 2019/11/30

This was a pleasant day with family. Guides were awesome and informative. Would do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN from beginning to end, so glad we did it!

Reviewed by: Kim in PA , 2019/11/09

It was a torrential rain storm when we arrived at their location to check in for our Mountain Tubing Adventure at Kauai Backcountry Adventures. All through getting outfitted and the bus ride to the put in spot, it poured. Once we arrived and stored our belonging, as we about to get into the tubes, the heavens parted, the rain stopped and the sun came out. Staff is friendly and helpful. They do a good job of going over everything you need to know to enjoy and be safe along with what to expect. Their website also did a good job of preparing us for what to expect. We were 2 among 20 in our group and we were all laughing and enjoying the water, the ditch and the company. They take pictures along the way that you can later purchase. Everything about this tour from start to finish was awesome. It was too wet to picnic at the spot so they took us back to their warehouse which worked out great for us. Our guides, Johnny and Ryan were knowledgeable, professional and fun.
If you are looking for a unique thing to do on Kauai, this is it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Friends, 2019/10/05

We had a great time! Location was beautiful and guides were very fun!! The guides were able to give information about the island and culture. So many photo opportunities. Highly recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a neat tour!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2019/09/29

My friend and I had a blast on this tour! It was so cool getting to tube through the different tunnels and getting to see some of them by only the flashlight that's on the helmet that they give you. Our guides even had us turn off our lights for one so we went through it in the complete dark which was really cool! The sandwiches they provided were really good and we had two amazing guides that made it so much fun for everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome water tubing experience!!!!!

Reviewed by: Sabrina & Nikki, 2019/08/23

We completely enjoyed our water tubing experience! Beautiful location, awesome and informative guides (loved BooBoo and Brittany)!!! The water was warm and the tubing was so much fun.......We will book every time we go back to Kauai :)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The BEST!!

Reviewed by: Sherry, 2019/08/22

This team was awesome! The best experience EVER! I would do it again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rocking experience !

Reviewed by: Genevieve, 2019/08/19

Damien and Victor were the best guides !! So much fun. Worth it do not hesitate to book ! Part of the fee goes to the protection of these wonderfull lands which I am glad to be a part of.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Family Activity - great guides

Reviewed by: kAT, 2019/07/20

We had a great time on this tour! For our group of 18ish people we had three guides that were constantly working hard to make sure we were having a good time, and being safe. This is not white water rafting- this is a float tube trip. So if you are expecting rapids and fast action, this is not it. We read several negative reviews regarding cancellations due to rain. Yep. I get it. It sucks. But there are points where you are traveling in tunnels, and if it rained too much - you won’t fit in the tunnel. Rain = higher water. We read other reviews about being separated from your party- yep- it happens, but if you ask any of the guides, they will help you join your friends. Our family had a really nice time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Another great day

Reviewed by: Sherry, 2019/07/08

What a fun day. Everyone was so informative and made us feel welcome. Great for families. Great way to spend a day in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An awesome relaxing time...

Reviewed by: rongoetz, 2019/05/28

It was a very relaxing time....the guides we had were very knowledgeable with the history of the water canel and fun to float with...the after float lunch with had hit the spot...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Time

Reviewed by: Krystal, 2019/05/22

Our tour guides did an amazing job. Great sense of humor and made our adventure so much fun. Great with our youngest 2 and did a great job dealing with our 2 teen girls. Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Betty, 2019/05/07

This adventure was all that we read on-line....and more!! We came into Lihue on a cruise and chose to do the tubing adventure. Our guides, BJ and Poncho, made this experience even better....comical, informative, safe and most of all, fun!! Service while checking in was fast and friendly. During the ride up to the start of the tubing on the irrigation ditch, BJ provided insite into the history of the sugar plantation and creation of the ditch, pointed out areas of interest. We stopped for photo opp and then into the water on our tubes. This was a great experience, fun traveling through the tunnels and never felt unsafe. Our group loved this!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun experience!

Reviewed by: Tourists from Oregon, 2019/04/12

We enjoyed the adventure a lot! Tour members were excellent (personable, enthusiastic, informative and accommodating toward everyone of all ages having a fun time). Floating the tunnels is exciting and hearing history of canals is interesting glimpse of past island sugar cane industry elements.Nice lunch to re-energize afterwards.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Laura & Emma, 2019/04/09

My 5 year old and I did this adventure and had sooooo much fun!!! The tour guides were so nice especially to my daughter. They let her go up front and one made her a fishing pole out of a leaf during lunch. I would definitely do this again with my family. If you’re bringing a camera or GoPro make sure it has a tie on it to your wrist or clothing and a water proof case. We had the best time together!!! Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sooo Fun!!!

Reviewed by: Family Reunion, 2019/04/02

Would definitely do again!! I would recommend to anyone!! Good for all ages... we had ages 6-68 years old in our group...all had fun!! This is a must do while in Kauai! The guides tell you the history of the plantation and give you great recommendations for the rest of island!!

  • So fun!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time

Reviewed by: Ron Z, 2019/03/31

This was an amazing time. I would recommend to everyone. Very easy ride down a lazy river. A lot of the ride was through tunnels and with the provided head lamp it was great. Is a good time rain or shine.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing

Reviewed by: Catherine , 2019/03/15

Beautiful scenery! Guides were funny and knowledgeable. It was a relaxing float that was perfect for the tone of our trip. I would definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]