Kauai Backcountry Adventures Mountain Tubing Tour with Lunch reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kauai Backcountry Adventures Mountain Tubing Tour with Lunch

Overall Rating

4.88 4.88 / 5

Reviews

259 reviews
Post a review

Very Fun!

Reviewed by: Deb and Daughter, 2024/06/17

We really enjoyed this tour. We really appreciated Athens as our guide, he was upbeat, fun and informative! We even learned new things about the sugarcane industry as well as great local places to go after the tour. The tour was really fun and a unique thing to do in Kauai. Make sure you are comfortable with your back sitting in an innertube in the water and going through darkened tunnels in some narrow spaces with a group of people and then sometimes pushing off the wall of the tunnels with your feet and arms. We even had some really little kids about 6 years who enjoyed it. The water was shallow with very small rapids and it was fun and felt very safe at all times, they made sure to have multiple guides watching over us throughout. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Times in Kauai

Reviewed by: Paula, 2024/05/30

This was a great adventure - something we have wanted to do for quite a while. The entire experience was well run, very organized, and clear on expectations. Directions to the facility, instructions on what to bring, and the itinerary were specific and clear.

The ride up to the tubing location was fun and Chelsea made the ride interesting with her presentation of the history and landscape of the area and island. Her reverence for the locals was awesome.

The tubing experience itself was as adventure and fun! It was very relaxing. The few times when one might feel a little anxious, the guides were calming in explaining exactly what to do and what to expect.

Upon return, the fresh and homemade items for lunch was tasty and hit the spot after the adventure.

Excellent time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exhilarating Mountain Tubing Adventure in Lihue

Reviewed by: Ryan H. , 2024/05/24

The 3-Hour Lihue Mountain Tubing Adventure is an absolute must-do in Kauai! The friendly staff got us geared up quickly with helmets and headlamps before we headed up the mountain, where our guide shared intriguing island tales.

Entering the water on our personal tubes, we were immediately swept up by the gentle flow of the historic irrigation canals. The open-air sections offered stunning views of the lush mountains, and the excitement ramped up as we approached the tunnels. The darkness was exhilarating, and our headlamps revealed the fascinating contours of these subterranean passages.

Our guides were terrific, ensuring safety and adding to the fun with their engaging personalities. The adventure wrapped up with a delicious picnic, giving us a chance to chat about our shared experience. This mountain tubing adventure was the highlight of my Kauai visit – an unforgettable mix of natural beauty, history, and thrill.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super fun!

Reviewed by: MLee, 2024/05/11

We really enjoyed the tubing adventure. It was a fun way to spend an afternoon and cool off.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tubing fun!

Reviewed by: Nancy-Jill, 2024/05/07

My girlfriend and I had a blast! We will recommend to others visiting the beautiful island of Kauai! Thank you Tia. She was awesome. Very entertaining.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loads of fun!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/04/25

What a morning, more than you think when you think of river tubing, they have a great pathing set out on this traiL!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super fun activity

Reviewed by: Jenny, 2024/04/13

Really fun activity- my whole family loved it. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic people and a fantastic experience!

Reviewed by: Mike P. , 2024/03/10

Kanoe and the rest of the team were amazing: Very enthusiastic, very funny, and very informative! Plantation tubing is an experience I would definitely recommend to anyone who's visiting Kaua`i. Thank you so much for making our vacation trip so memorable!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: wallatom, 2024/02/11

We were reassured that the tour would be a "go" even though rain was threatening. The group was a bit hesitant but the trip went without a hitch, even when the skies opened up and we got dumped on. The tubing portion was great and a lot of fun for all. Kiersten was a great lead guide, and her team made sure that everyone was safe. Lunch was good, but dampened by the downpour. Overall, I believe that everyone in the group had a wonderful time. We highly recommend this adventure. Special kudos to Kiersten.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Backcounty Adventures Mountain Tubing Tour

Reviewed by: Miguel Huert, 2024/01/30

Excellent!! We like it so much. Only the drink that you gave is not good. But all was amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Part of the Trip!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/01/28

So Much Fun!!! Upspeed Lazy River with Adrenaline rushes!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The BEST!

Reviewed by: The Tooleys , 2023/12/17

Our entire family had an absolute blast, especially our (5) year old daughter. Pat our tour guide and everyone else that assisted along the way were exceptional, fun and made our experience so fun. Would highly recommend and hope to be back soon again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day with Back country Adventures

Reviewed by: Earl Stroud, 2023/11/18

We had an amazing time with back country adventures. Would do it again and recommend it anyone. More fun than we expected, great guides

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain tubing adventure

Reviewed by: D&J, 2023/10/22

Mason was an awesome tour guide and the whole experience was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tubing Adventure

Reviewed by: Kristy Burns, 2023/10/21

Everyone in my family had a great time. Fun staff and well organized business.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time!!

Reviewed by: Lisa L, 2023/10/13

Tour guides, Nala and Marissa were awesome!! Nice, relaxing fun time.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Inner tube Blast

Reviewed by: Mike and Barb , 2023/10/09

Seth and his crew were awesome. Very knowledgeable about the history of the island, It’s vegetation and wildlife.
A most return outing with Kauai Backcountry Adventures.
He expressed Safety was first. And his crew were very helpful in keeping us together. Lunch was great and plentiful. Great location and a ton of fun. Thanks Mike and Barb ‍♂️

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tubing adventure

Reviewed by: Sean Alferink , 2023/10/01

First and foremost very welcoming, definitely worth the price. My main tour guide Mason was the best ever as well as our safteys Megan and Ben. I was entertaining as can be. And the other people in my group were so nice. Great time would definitely recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2023/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Coloradogirl, 2023/10/01

It was fun and interesting! The employees are great and really added to the experience with their information and humor! We will definitely go back and will recommend to family, friends and anybody visiting Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bubu’s Amazing Tour

Reviewed by: Alexis, 2023/09/17

We booked the Tubing Tour as a part of our honeymoon, and had an amazing time. Our tour guide was Bubu, and she was knowledgeable and helpful about the history of Kaua’i as well as giving us helpful suggestions on where to go while we were here. The tour itself started with a bus ride through the Kaua’i scenery while Bubu entertained us with interesting facts and stories.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I did a lot of excursions on Kauai, and this is in my top 2

Reviewed by: BKST, 2023/09/17

I probably experienced this excursion in the one of the worst ways possible: it was overcast and rainy, it had torrential downpoured right when we arrived at the canal, I was just wearing a one-piece bathing suit (no shorts or sleeves), I'm a freeze baby, the tour guide wasn't too friendly (probably because he was called into work last minute), but despite all those things, I TRULY LOVE AND HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ACTIVITY! I was really nervous I would be cold, but I was comfortable the whole time. Just my butt touched the water unless my husband splashed me lol. The downpour didn't last long either and the majority of the ride was under tunnels. The ride was so much fun. Our tubes sort of acted like bumper cars as the water pushed us this a way and that a way. Not only was it a fun ride, the number 1 reason why I love this activity is because it isn't just a lazy river or crazy river manmade for the purpose of tourism. The canal and tunnels were made in the late 1800s for the sugar cane plantations (now defunct). (Tunnels are checked every year ensuring safe operation!) I think it is a great way to optimize a resource that no longer has its original purpose. Of the paid excursions I did in Kauai (boat tour, helicopter tour, hula show, spiderman/superman ziplining), this mountain tubing excursion is in my TOP 2 MUST DOs.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tubing Tour

Reviewed by: Deirdra, 2023/09/09

This is something that is different and fun! Very relaxing. Jules was a great guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain Tubing

Reviewed by: Jim, 2023/09/09

Our guide Mason was fantastic! Great ukulele! Interesting history of the Hawaiian Islands and how they became port or the US. Scenery was great. Tunnels were fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Brock, 2023/09/02

One of the highlights of our trip. Would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

SOOOO FUN

Reviewed by: K.A., 2023/08/25

Tubing was our favorite adventure. the drive out there was beautiful and our guide shared a lot of history and info about the island. Then the tubing was so fun. I thought i would be afraid of the caves but it was fun. Lots of spinning around and bumping into each other. The pictures turned out great.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Debra Cooper, 2023/08/18

This is a great experience. They have improved it a lot. It was better than when we did it in 2013. Our guide Jordan was very personable and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique, fun and exciting adventure

Reviewed by: Jeanne-Marie, 2023/08/03

Had a great time on this tubing trip with my 5 year old. Thought it would be more of a kids thing but it was really fun for the adults too. Beautiful scenery on the drive up and lots of interesting history. Tubing was exciting and tunnels were fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Everyone can participate

Reviewed by: Gladys , 2023/08/01

It was fun and everyone in the family can participate. Staff were so nice and informative especially our tour guide Mason. Ben and Natalie was great! Very knowledgeable of the passageways. Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I personally think it's a bit overrated

Reviewed by: Chuang, 2023/07/31

The tour guide (a Hawaiian teenage girl, very energetic) is super awesome and nice, the safety tour guides also works super hard. It's the tour itself that I gave this rating. The tube would keep spinning and spinning which made me dizzy and created minor headache. I really hope that there is a way to force the tube to alway look forward. Some sort of a "1-person" short floaty canoe or kayak would have made this tour much more enjoyable. Thanks!

  • relaxing but watch out for spinning

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super Fun Adventure

Reviewed by: Pam, 2023/07/21

The first time I went on this tour a friend booked and I wasn't sure about it. I had so much fun I took my daughter the next time we were here. This time I have recommended it to multiple friends who will be tubing with me for the third time! Great family fun!

  • Lights On

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Categories