Waikiki Starlight Luau Experience

Homeymoon

Reviewed by: Jeni Reich, 2018/01/07

Food, service, entertainment, timing, and organization were all outstanding!! Loved our first luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The show was ok, but the food was awful!

Reviewed by: Hind, 2017/12/28

The show dance wasn’t bad. But the food and the seats were awful. Very disappointing!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointed

Reviewed by: P & M, 2017/11/29

Performance was excellent, food was poor, we wouldn't go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good show!

Reviewed by: VScott, 2017/06/27

This was our first luau and we both enjoyed it.

Husband and I chose the Golden Circle package. We were given leis when we arrived, seated next to the stage, and were among the first to go up to the buffet.

The buffet was typical buffet foods with some Hawaiian additions. It was nie to taste new flavors but, the meats were overcooked and dry. Typical steam tray buffet. There were some nice vegetable options and the desserts were good. I don't recommend the poi. Try it somewere else.

The show takes the guests on a tour of the Polynesian islands through dance. The dancers play to all 3 sides of the seating so everyone gets a good show. Woo! The dancers were great. The musicians were great. The emcee was great. Yes, we enjoyed the show. I was mesmerized by the skill of the dancers.

My biggest complaint is the seating. We were very cramped at the tables. The chairs are uncushioned wood and tightly packed. It kinda reminded me of a wedding-type seating.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Starlight Luau

Reviewed by: Shazbailey, 2017/06/13

Amazing. Great entertainment. Food amazing. Really well done

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First timers on My birthday

Reviewed by: Christina Wyatt, 2017/02/20

The Luau was very nice, good food, exciting, and romantic. My husband and I really hate buffets because people like putting their hands directly into the food. Which is totally gross but all luaus are buffets. Even though it was against our norm friends advised us when going to Hawaii it was one thing we just had to do. We decided to try it even though we are super against buffets. I must say we were wrong and we were totally glad we went to this one. We reserved it on my birthday evening and it was really romantic. It was on a roof top so you could see the beach and sun setting, the food was really good, the staff, dancers, entertainment were great and kept our attention. Everyone was so friendly and staff was very attentive. It was the most exciting, fun, and romantic birthday I ever had. I must add not one person placed their dirty little paws in the food which was a big relief for us.

Thank you all for making it the most remarkable and memorable birthday ever.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: David, 2016/12/31

Amazing dancing, very good food and good drinks. Would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waiki Starlight Luau

Reviewed by: Sandi N., 2016/12/08

Everything was great - it even rained so we sort of had soupy food, but the entertainment was wonderful! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and met a couple of very nice people!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Delicious food and great entertainment!

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2016/11/29

My friends and I had a great time at the Waikiki Starlight Luau!
The location is very convenient and we could just walk from our our hotel. Once we arrived the check-in was fast and we had a friendly staff greeting us with a Hawaiian lei and a welcome drink, nothing better than start the night with a Mai Tai! The food was very delicious and I love the variety of the food, specially the salads. It's great that they have a station specially for the kids.
The show was wonderful, full of delightful performances. My favorite part was the fire knife dance and to learn more about the other Polynesian cultures like Tonga, New Zeland, Samoa and Tahiti.
I would for sure come back to the this luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Show & Excellent Food

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2016/11/06

As soon as we came upstairs to the luau, we were promptly met by the luau staff and directed to our table. On the way there, the dancers greeted us with leis and we received welcome Mai Tais. They have regular and virgin Mai Tais, which were good! Our drinks were never empty and the buffet line went smooth. Try the salad, chicken, and the poi - an excellent combination! The best dessert was the haupia and I also tried some bread pudding - both were very tasty. The show started with the MC singing a beautiful rendition of an American melody in Hawaiian verse. The dancers were excellent and the whole show is well worth seeing if you are in Waikiki.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Barb, 2016/08/29

Very nice Luau. Very entertaining. They provided activities for children. The food was very good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Luau

Reviewed by: judy, 2016/08/24

I would highly recommend this for all to see. We had the best time. The dancers are wonderful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Sheeva, 2016/07/26

We went and it was raining but we still had a great time! We were provided ponchos and everything worked out!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Luau

Reviewed by: Amy Dean, 2016/06/17

We had such a great time! The food was great and show was excellent! We would definitely recommend this to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show!

Reviewed by: Maureen, 2016/04/06

Food wasn't that great and wished it was on a beach, but the dancers were outstanding!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Maureen for your great compliments! I'll make sure to share them with the dancers. As far as the food goes, we will look to better it's quality for our valued guests.

Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good entertainment

Reviewed by: Vic, 2016/03/28

Went to my first luau and I have to say, it was a good experience. The staff are as friendly as can be and the performances were amazing. They are very much involved with the crowd making it a special experience and I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Food Buffett was also good, and my friends and I were approached with beautiful lays at the entrance and the best part was we all got 2 drink tickets with the packages we purchased online.





Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Average

Reviewed by: Mike, 2016/03/27

Ugly setting on a roof top, food was average. Performance was not the best.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Nunia T., 2016/03/27

I attended this luau with a friend that actually knew a lot of the workers. The food was so delicious and the greeters were so friendly! As for the show, Tihati really put on a great show! Great experience, I highly recommend this luau. The manager is also friendly and he walks around greeting everyone, I thought was really nice.


  • Fire Knife Dance (Samoan)


  • Starlight Luau

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WAIKIKI STARLIGHT LUAU AT HILTON HAWAIIAN VILLAGE

Reviewed by: MR AND MRS ROSS, 2016/01/22

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE, GREAT FOOD AND BEAUTIFUL SHOW. THE PRICE WAS ALSO VERY GOOD WE WERE ABLE TO SEE THE SHOW UP CLOSE. WOULD BOOK THRU VELTRA AGAIN.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing !!!

Reviewed by: George , 2016/01/03

The revue, the dinner, the ambience was electric!!! Everything was beyond our expectations!!!!
Truly a memorable experience !!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: susieq, 2015/10/15

Faboulous! I would recommend for families as well. Very professional; told a beautiful story; and food was 5 star.



  • Never seen before and it was Awesome!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau was enjoyable

Reviewed by: plomfs, 2015/09/14

Overall we had a good time at the Luau. I felt the food was pretty good with the exception of the fish not being cooked enough but the wife felt the food was lacking a fair bit. The show was very enjoyable and entertaining. Met some great folks at the table with us and overall really enjoyed the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic way to begin our vacation!

Reviewed by: Kent D, 2015/08/03

We were a group of 7 and attended this event on the night of our arrival. The food was really good for a mass serving and the show was fantastic. It was, in fact, wheelchair accessible and all the folks we cam into contact with couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating.

I read other comments downplaying the fact that we were on top of a parking garage but that didn't detract from our enjoyment one bit!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Jeff P, 2015/03/29

I was a little worried about attending a Luau on top of a parking garage. It turned out to not be a problem. They decorated the venue very nice and we were in the shade the whole time, which really helped. The food was wonderful, with a wide selection for everybody, even the kids. The acts were fantastic! I took a star away for the location not being by the ocean and the tight seating arrangement.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun on Christmas

Reviewed by: Mary, 2015/01/17

We went on Christmas Day and paid extra for better seating. We still had to wait in a really long line to get checked in. Food was good and the show was fun. I would recommend getting there earlier than what they tell you.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Show and Buffet

Reviewed by: D Rizzo - Canada, 2015/01/03

As expected and stated...can't ask for more from a tour operator. Show itself was not as good as Polynesian Village main stage show but buffet was 1000 times better and the Hilton show (as a buffet show) was far superior. You'll need to see the Poly Village to see the various cultural elements but save the luau for this one.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilton Hawaiian Village luau

Reviewed by: Jod, 2014/10/26

an exceptional show great seating lovely food everyone enjoyed highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilton Hawaiian Waikiki Starlight Luau.

Reviewed by: Sandra, Sydney , 2014/01/05

I was quiet disappointed with this luau. I have been to other Luau's on the islands and found this one to be "so-so" and not as well organised as the others I have attended. To be fair the Luau is usually held inside the Hilton in the Starlight room and as it was being renovated the Luau was held near the Lagoon. This was probably one of the best things as we got to see the sunset over the Lagoon and Waikiki. Apart from the fact that this was more expensive than other Luaus and did not include transport, the Mai Tai's that were included in the price tasted like pineapple juice. The dancers were excellent and the fire dancers were unbelievable. The main meal was good and there was plenty to choose from but the dessert was non existent. They had apparently run out or did not bother to restock the table. As you need to book for the Luau, I find it surprising (especially as the tables were half empty)that they did not cater for everyone. The staff at the time were too busy cleaning and packing up and ignored requests from a large number of guests about restocking the dessert table. Apart from the food issue, I feel the show was too short. It felt like they were rushing through all the dancing and we just seemed to be getting into the swing of things when they told us it was over. I would probably only recommend this Luau to people who do not have alot of time and do not want to spend the time travelling to one of the other Luau's on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Starlight luau

Reviewed by: Theresa, 2013/12/04

This luau was very entertaining and food was delicious. It was very convenient being right at our hotel. The only thing I wish was that we could have tasted the alcohol in the Mai tai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great night

Reviewed by: Shannon, 2013/06/06

My friend and I wanted to go to a luau, but didn't have much time, so this one located right in Waikiki was perfect! As we sat down, they came around with the complimentary Mai Tai (yummy!) and there was entertainment and live music as we relaxed.

The buffet was great, there was an assortment of food for everyone's tastes and my plate was huge by the time I got back to my table! The show was very entertaining and the fire knife dance at the end took our breaths away! You could feel the heat of the fire from the table. What a great way to end our day.



  • Mai tais!




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI