Hilton Rooftop Waikiki Starlight Luau with Fire Dancers, Hula Show & Dinner reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

To participate in any of our on island activities, all travelers arriving to Hawaii must complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine, and the most up-to-date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Hilton Rooftop Waikiki Starlight Luau with Fire Dancers, Hula Show & Dinner

Overall Rating

4.08 4.08 / 5

Reviews

280 reviews
Post a review

Experience Polynesian culture right in Waikiki

Reviewed by: Jacky Daniels, 2020/02/21

This luau displayed music, dancing, and chants from cultures all over Polynesia, not just Hawaii. This luau was very engaging and was a great time with friends. One welcome mai tai was included in our package and additional drinks were available for purchase. The food was great, my favorites was the kalua pig and malasada dessert.

The view from the luau was beautiful, we were able to see the sunset from the rooftop at Hilton Hawaiian Village. Parking was validated so even if you are not within walking distance of the hotel it is not a problem to park there.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great location, food and show!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2020/02/21

Such a convenient location for anyone that is staying in Waikiki! The food was amazing and they had a nice variety to choose from. I have been to a couple different ones so far and this one ranks high on my list for the food! The entertainment was great and I loved the fire knife dancers, they put on a great show.  The MC made sure to keep everyone involved throughout the show and overall we had a great time. I would highly recommend, especially for anyone that is staying in Waikiki that doesn't want to drive too far out to attend a Luau.  

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Five Star Luau in Heart of Waikiki

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2020/02/20

This luau is in a perfect location for anyone staying in Waikiki. If you don't want a long drive to and from your luau, book this one because it's walking distance from most hotels in Waikiki.

Another great thing about this luau is the food. Of all the luau I've attended, this is only the second one to offer a dish with tofu. Any luau that has good vegetarian/vegan options rates very high in my book. My friends were also very pleased with the meat selection.

The entertainment was enjoyable and impressive. I especially enjoyed the fire knife dancing. I also enjoyed how each of the dance routines represented a different Polynesian island. So you get to learn a little about the culture and history of the island nations that populated Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Opportunity to Experience Hawaiian Culture

Reviewed by: Rlal, 2020/02/04

This event provided insight into a variety of cultural dancing all in one sitting. It was incredible to hear the stories and rich history of the people today and in the past. The MC engaged the audience. The buffet was a great spread for people with food preferences and allergies. It provided great value for the money spent. Only wish was having the opportunity to experience this outdoors. It would have been much more of an experience.

  • Photo Opportunity Following the Event

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Starlight Luau

Reviewed by: Rick, 2020/01/29

It was great. The dancing was awesome and the food was great. One of the best Luau's I've been to.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing show and delicious food!

Reviewed by: jonnyspark, 2020/01/27

We were greeted on arrival with some traditional Hawaiian Lei's and a photo with two of the show stars. We had a free drink on arrival and then sat down to get ready for the show. The people on the table were chatty and friendly. We were lucky to be the first table up for the buffet which was incredible, so much choice of food! The show started and was absolutely amazing, ending with a fire show! The rooftop view whilst the sun was going down was perfect and typical Hawaiian paradise. Absolutely loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Entertaining Luai!

Reviewed by: Jim and Louise, 2020/01/18

Warm Welcome
Delicious buffet
Exciting entertainment of traditions of Polynesia

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Judi, 2019/08/07

It took a while for the usher to find our seat which seems to me that they didn't have assigned seats. I suggest getting assigned seats so this kind of incident will not happen again.

The actual shows were pretty short. It would be nice to extend it a little

  • With my four nieces

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent time

Reviewed by: Melly810, 2019/06/07

Excellent food and entertainment. The show was outstanding and the buffet style was great to be able to try several new foods

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for choosing The Waikiki Starlight Luau on your stay. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed our luau. Hope to see you again soon! :) ALOHA

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

starlight luau. awesome

Reviewed by: michael, 2019/01/12

this show was amazing. very friendly and welcoming. the food was excellent! we loved everything about it especially the fire dance. we highly recommended it. if we come back we will definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great night

Reviewed by: Kevin Connolly, 2018/09/19

What a great night to finish off our trip to Waikiki, the show was very entertaining showcasing various cultures from the South Pacific and the food was great, a good mix of traditional and exotic, compere for the evening was excellent.

  • Luau finale

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great night out

Reviewed by: J.V, 2018/06/14

Food was wonderful and show was even better! VELTRA supplied all details before hand making it an easy going night for us! Also great if planning a family night and service was amazing

Reply from activity provider

Aloha JV,

Thank you for being our guest!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stare light luau

Reviewed by: Larry, 2018/04/11

Loved the show. Very talented performers will definitely recommend to friends

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Homeymoon

Reviewed by: Jeni Reich, 2018/01/07

Food, service, entertainment, timing, and organization were all outstanding!! Loved our first luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The show was ok, but the food was awful!

Reviewed by: Hind, 2017/12/28

The show dance wasn’t bad. But the food and the seats were awful. Very disappointing!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointed

Reviewed by: P & M, 2017/11/29

Performance was excellent, food was poor, we wouldn't go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good show!

Reviewed by: VScott, 2017/06/27

This was our first luau and we both enjoyed it.

Husband and I chose the Golden Circle package. We were given leis when we arrived, seated next to the stage, and were among the first to go up to the buffet.

The buffet was typical buffet foods with some Hawaiian additions. It was nie to taste new flavors but, the meats were overcooked and dry. Typical steam tray buffet. There were some nice vegetable options and the desserts were good. I don't recommend the poi. Try it somewere else.

The show takes the guests on a tour of the Polynesian islands through dance. The dancers play to all 3 sides of the seating so everyone gets a good show. Woo! The dancers were great. The musicians were great. The emcee was great. Yes, we enjoyed the show. I was mesmerized by the skill of the dancers.

My biggest complaint is the seating. We were very cramped at the tables. The chairs are uncushioned wood and tightly packed. It kinda reminded me of a wedding-type seating.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Starlight Luau

Reviewed by: Shazbailey, 2017/06/13

Amazing. Great entertainment. Food amazing. Really well done

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First timers on My birthday

Reviewed by: Christina Wyatt, 2017/02/20

The Luau was very nice, good food, exciting, and romantic. My husband and I really hate buffets because people like putting their hands directly into the food. Which is totally gross but all luaus are buffets. Even though it was against our norm friends advised us when going to Hawaii it was one thing we just had to do. We decided to try it even though we are super against buffets. I must say we were wrong and we were totally glad we went to this one. We reserved it on my birthday evening and it was really romantic. It was on a roof top so you could see the beach and sun setting, the food was really good, the staff, dancers, entertainment were great and kept our attention. Everyone was so friendly and staff was very attentive. It was the most exciting, fun, and romantic birthday I ever had. I must add not one person placed their dirty little paws in the food which was a big relief for us.

Thank you all for making it the most remarkable and memorable birthday ever.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: David, 2016/12/31

Amazing dancing, very good food and good drinks. Would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waiki Starlight Luau

Reviewed by: Sandi N., 2016/12/08

Everything was great - it even rained so we sort of had soupy food, but the entertainment was wonderful! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and met a couple of very nice people!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Delicious food and great entertainment!

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2016/11/29

My friends and I had a great time at the Waikiki Starlight Luau!
The location is very convenient and we could just walk from our our hotel. Once we arrived the check-in was fast and we had a friendly staff greeting us with a Hawaiian lei and a welcome drink, nothing better than start the night with a Mai Tai! The food was very delicious and I love the variety of the food, specially the salads. It's great that they have a station specially for the kids.
The show was wonderful, full of delightful performances. My favorite part was the fire knife dance and to learn more about the other Polynesian cultures like Tonga, New Zeland, Samoa and Tahiti.
I would for sure come back to the this luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Show & Excellent Food

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2016/11/06

As soon as we came upstairs to the luau, we were promptly met by the luau staff and directed to our table. On the way there, the dancers greeted us with leis and we received welcome Mai Tais. They have regular and virgin Mai Tais, which were good! Our drinks were never empty and the buffet line went smooth. Try the salad, chicken, and the poi - an excellent combination! The best dessert was the haupia and I also tried some bread pudding - both were very tasty. The show started with the MC singing a beautiful rendition of an American melody in Hawaiian verse. The dancers were excellent and the whole show is well worth seeing if you are in Waikiki.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Barb, 2016/08/29

Very nice Luau. Very entertaining. They provided activities for children. The food was very good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Luau

Reviewed by: judy, 2016/08/24

I would highly recommend this for all to see. We had the best time. The dancers are wonderful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Sheeva, 2016/07/26

We went and it was raining but we still had a great time! We were provided ponchos and everything worked out!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Luau

Reviewed by: Amy Dean, 2016/06/17

We had such a great time! The food was great and show was excellent! We would definitely recommend this to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show!

Reviewed by: Maureen, 2016/04/06

Food wasn't that great and wished it was on a beach, but the dancers were outstanding!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Maureen for your great compliments! I'll make sure to share them with the dancers. As far as the food goes, we will look to better it's quality for our valued guests.

Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good entertainment

Reviewed by: Vic, 2016/03/28

Went to my first luau and I have to say, it was a good experience. The staff are as friendly as can be and the performances were amazing. They are very much involved with the crowd making it a special experience and I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Food Buffett was also good, and my friends and I were approached with beautiful lays at the entrance and the best part was we all got 2 drink tickets with the packages we purchased online.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Average

Reviewed by: Mike, 2016/03/27

Ugly setting on a roof top, food was average. Performance was not the best.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories