This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Island Breeze Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel (Kailua-Kona)

Tourist magnet

Reviewed by: Maria Christiansen, 2018/10/19

Good, but to many tourists. I was hoping for a more native experience instead of a hotel.. I wanted to see the luau dance more then having to eat and drink

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mediocre

Reviewed by: YOPPI, 2018/07/21

I was hoping to see more polynesian dance as well as more dancers with a big stage, not listening to songs sang by a middle age man.
My husband and i landed on the day we participated in this and hadn't eaten a real food for 12 hours or more and were starving. Even under the condition, we didn't think food was great. Didn't go for another plate.
I've been to luau once in kuai island a few years ago. That one is a lot greater than this. If you've been to luau before, I would not recommend this.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau at the King Kamehameha

Reviewed by: Just27, 2018/06/22

I've been to various luaus, and this was the best. Really. My three-generation family ranges in age from 3 y/o to 70, and everyone had a great time. The 7 y/o was truly amazed by everything, which was delightful. The event was well organized, informative, and vastly entertaining. The food and beverages we're very good, high quality, and plentiful. No dishes ran out, and the selection was excellent. The arrival of the King and his court was fun. We enjoyed the extra touches, like the Hawaiians tattoos, and hula lesson. The dancers were excellent and engaging; we especially enjoyed those involving fire! I would definitely recommend this luau. I don't think there were any bad seats, and the view was glorious.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great dinner and show

Reviewed by: Tom, 2018/04/27

Food was great...nice variety. Small cast did an excellent job with a demanding variety of dances from wide variety of island cultures. We enjoyed it a lot!


  • Great show, great seats.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We stayed at Hilton but came to the Courtyard Marriot to see the Luau.

Reviewed by: Lvklysnatour , 2018/04/08

We all had a great time. My kids mentioned that it was a good ending to our trip with food and activities.



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful luau experience

Reviewed by: Margo Tritt, 2018/02/13

This was a wonderful end very enlightening and historical luau.
This show was beautiful and colorful!
We appreciate the wonderful choices of foods and the special choice for my husband's vegetarian meal.
The locale was extra good next to the temple,ocean and the historical exhibits in the hotel.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your kind words! We are so pleased that your husband enjoyed the menu as well and that you both returned home with special memories of your visit to Hawaiʻi.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Erin, 2017/10/11

Wonderful luau!! Would highly recommend!! Came here with my brother who was visiting and we had a blast. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Luau

Reviewed by: Craig Dombrowski , 2017/10/10

We liked it very much. The narratot, the history, the various outfits, the sincerity of all who performed. And yes, the food was good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Evening

Reviewed by: Karen from MO, 2017/09/24

We enjoyed the Island Breeze Luau. We were seated with a great group of people and enjoyed talking with them.. The show was very well done. The fire dancer at the end was especially good. The food was very good and had a lot of choices on the buffet.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A little dated but nice to have at the hotel we were staying at

Reviewed by: C Mangino, 2017/09/22

After having attended a Smith luau in Kauai, this paled by comparison. We paid about $100 per person, and that seemed a little pricey. The food was good, the entertainment was ok. But nothing to write home about. One plus was that it was at the hotel we were staying at. Do NOT pay to upgrade your seat - unless you're late to the party, you'll get a good seat and can see the entire show without issue.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Luau - Awesome food, friendly service

Reviewed by: Frank, 2017/09/03

I've done 3 or 4 luaus in my day. This was the best. The service was top notch. I had one of the attendees watch my infant son while we went for food. My 4 year old daughter danced up a storm while watching the professional dancers and the other patrons where kind beyond belief.

Could not have gotten a better experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Tom & Faith, 2017/07/01

My wife was hesitant to attend but did so as it was something I wanted to do. Afterwards she stated how much fun she had. The food was great and she loved the show.
Great job.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mediocre

Reviewed by: North Carolina, 2017/05/26

Not very authentic.... they used a band, dress looked store bought & sang some songs in English. The one on Maui used only a drum and / or a ukulele with traditional Hawaiian dress & language.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not spectacular

Reviewed by: Bill, 2017/05/24

There was no waiter service for drinks and the food was so so. Few performers compared to others I have attended . Did not compare to luaus on Maui or or one at the outrigger several years ago.

The best part was the fire dancer. He did a great job .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: Kay, 2017/03/10

We come to this Luau every year! We have a timeshare so this year was our 7th time to the big island and the 4th time to this show. We tried shows in other places but came back to this one because the food is the best, the setting is right on the water, and the show is most entertaining. Everyone makes it fun from the host who takes tickets and encourages a lei purchase, the photographer, the announcer for the show, the musicians, the artists who go through many costume changes and the wait staff. We recommend this show to anyone who asks. Thank you all for your committed and talented time. See you next year!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your kind words! We love to hear from our ʻohana who come back to visit us year after year. i will pass on your comments to our team - they will appreciate the time you took to share your experience and will love hearing how much you enjoy coming back to see us. A hui hou - We look forward to your next visit!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2017/02/25

I am a local and have to say this is the best luau on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Cathy, 2016/08/21

The entertainment was amazing, and the food was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best on the Big Island

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2016/07/17

We have been coming here for quite a while and have attended more luaus than I can count. The island breeze luau is the best. What makes this one great is the history of the island that is part of the program. Plus the buffet is the best one around. And just like in real estate, LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!!!!!!
We recently moved here so a luau is always on the agenda when friends come. We still get as excited now as the first one we ever saw.
Aloha


Reply from activity provider

Mahalo! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you back at the Island Breeze luʻau again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pigs ears in my sons Luau food

Reviewed by: sad mom, 2016/07/04

Went to the Luau thinking it would be great to share with my family - 6 of us went to Hawaii to celebrate 2 graduations - one Grad School, one High School. This was our final outing we did before going home. Not anything like what I attended on an other island 30 years ago (honeymoon) Overcrowded, felt like a cramped gross picnic, . There was no room for any personal space. Food awful and not really hot or cold. It was buffet style -which is fine - but there were no sanitary measures taken - sneeze guards etc - people reusing plates if they wanted more of anything. Coffee tasted like old weak grinds - you would think in Kona the coffee would be great like it was everywhere else. The staff was really nice - the entertainment that we did stay for was nice - However- we left after dinner because my son literally was served part of a pigs ear (the cartilage - he has a Masters in secondary education and teaches bio). I swear I almost threw up right then and there - really ???????? How about a little more attention to quality - I'm guessing if the health department was there that night they would have shut down the Luau. We left because it felt so gross. - a sad way to end a beautiful vacation.

Update- Although we didn't say anything at the time Veltra read my review and contacted the hotel on our behalf. They refunded 50% of our bill. Very much appreciated - we can't wait to give it another try when we go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Reviewed by: SusanShull, 2016/03/21

We enjoyed the entertainment. There were a lot of people in attendance which made this a little difficult to see especially when people were standing and crowded around. We would have preferred a venue with a smaller attendance. Food was good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island breezes luau

Reviewed by: Hugh , 2016/03/13

Excellent show would highly recommend this to others

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: John Jablowski, Jr., 2016/01/03

Very nice set up. We were late so they reset a table for us. Program was nice. Would have liked more interaction with audience participation. Food was plentiful and very good. Liquor could have been more upscale. Bartender and staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful setting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun entertainment & nice location

Reviewed by: Lisa P., 2016/01/03

My husband & I bought four tickets to see the Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel on the Big Island for ourselves & our friends from Germany. The entertainment was a delight & there was a tremendous variety of food & also mai tais available included in the price. Though I'm not a big drinker, the punch bowls of mai tais were taken away pretty quickly after dinner was served. I would rather have alcohol with my meal than before, but if you're a cocktail before kind of person, you'll be fine. The locale was very serene in the evening with the glimmer of the island lights from the mountain side reflecting from the ocean. Overall, a very nice & worthwhile evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow!!

Reviewed by: Miked, 2015/09/17

First luau and a great one to attend. The performers were fantastic and the food was outstanding! Due to weather this one was held indoors and the show was great even in the closed in area.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: Tracy, 2015/04/17

Food was tasty but not hot enough. Mai Tai drinks were excellent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time for all ages

Reviewed by: Daloise Family, 2015/04/08

We enjoyed both the show and the food. We have been before but it was the first time for our daughter and granddaughter and they had a wonderful time. We all ate well and enjoyed it very much

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!

Reviewed by: TAS from NM, 2015/04/03

I can't say enough good things about this Luau!
The food was good. The entertainment was outstanding!
The setting was great!
A real come backer!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too preachy

Reviewed by: Nondenominational, 2015/03/30

All of the expected stuff was included -- pig roasted in the ground, band with ukes and drums, procession, hula, fire dancer. Would have enjoyed some soft newer hawaiian music maybe before the show started or at the end -- popular songs from the 20th century.

An older woman in a white mumu spent about 45 minutes preaching, 5 min between each act, about elders and family stuff, stopped just short of asking guests to visit the LDS. Got very tired of her. The description on the web should at the minimum have said "by mariott". If it was there, I missed it. If I had known this, I would have chosen a different luau.

Food was edible to very good, depending. Fish dry and hard, pork very good. Poi surprisingly good. Open bar was basically mai tai punch and bud light or bud. At the price, would have expected better beer. Food service staff very nice and helpful.

After paying about $120 a head, insulting to ask for $5 for parking. That should have been in the description, but I didn't see it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun for the family

Reviewed by: clark family wa., 2014/12/03

My wife and I came to the luau with our 4 children ages 18, 16, 14, and 8. We all enjoyed the activities before the meal. The food was great and lots of it. And the entertainment was informative, interesting, and very lively. If you have never done it, I recommend doing it at least once. I would go back for the food alone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time for kids and adults

Reviewed by: Trishspirit, 2014/08/08

I attended the luau as a reluctant adult. I booked the luau so that my 12 year old goddaughter would see Pacific Island dances and experience some Hawaiian and South Pacific culture. It was way beyond my expectations! Of course it is touristy, but it is also a good overview of Pacific culture, dance, music and food. I also liked the light-heartedness of the event and it was super educational for my goddaughter. The food was much better than I expected and the activities were fun for both my 12 year old and myself. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Hawaiian Islands