Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Overall Rating

4.18 4.18 / 5

Reviews

216 reviews
Post a review

Great time!!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2021/11/14

This was our very first time in Hawaii, and of course our first luau. The show was great, the food was good, and so were the drinks! It was a beautiful evening and very well done, and completely safe! I highly recommend this luau whether it’s your first or you are a seasoned professional!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show, tasty food, friendly staff

Reviewed by: eburatto, 2021/10/20

This was our first luau experience and it did not disappoint! We were all very pleased with the friendliness of the staff, the beautiful location, the delicious food, and the spectacular show. It was really entertaining!
Just one thing I found odd was that the Mai Tais felt "virgin". I am a very light drinker, and I get tipsy with 2 glasses of wine, but I had 5 Mai Tais and I was completely sober... weird. They were delicious though! That's why I had 5 :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good food, and I loved the production.

Reviewed by: Terri Zimmerman, 2021/10/16

Good venue and parking was easy to find. Plentiful food with a lot of variety and a beautiful view with the water. I especially liked the production showcasing the different island cultures.we brought family with us that had never exp Hawaii or a luau so was especially nice to share that experience in a positgive light.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze luau

Reviewed by: Becky, 2021/09/25

The islander Breeze Luau was everything we expected and more. The staff went above and beyond to make sure that Covid restrictions were in place and the experience was not compromised. Each party had their own table that was 6 feet apart. The food was fantastic and fresh! The drinks were good as well! And the star of the show was the music, dancers and the master of ceremonies! They all really put their aloha into the show! Thank you for a great experience.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not what I expected

Reviewed by: GnC, 2021/09/21

I give the music snd dancing all the credit. It was a wonderful show. My impression of the food was it was just ok. Maybe we just don’t like Hawaiian
Food but thanks for trying. The deserts were soggy and lacked flavor. For the total experience, this was way over priced and disappointing.I don’t think I would recommend this luau to my friends due to the food.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

family fun

Reviewed by: Lina, 2021/09/12

We decided on this luau -from many- because they were family friendly and the other reviews. They were right, we had a blast. The staff were so accommodating to my daughter (1.5yo). She loved the show and even tried to Hula. We were also celebrating my moms 77th birthday and she loved it too. The best buffet of hawaii's essential plates and desserts too. I would definitely would go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So great!

Reviewed by: SB , 2021/09/07

Loved it and felt safe.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Impressed

Reviewed by: Stacey D, 2021/08/25

My husband and I took our 15yr old son. We enjoyed the food, good portions and several options were available. The show was fascinating, and the performers were enjoying themselves which made the show even better. Would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful event with beautiful people

Reviewed by: Stefanie Doty, 2021/08/07

This was an event booking for my family. My 4 year old and 14 year old both equally enjoyed it. My for year old loved learning the hula. Food was plentiful and the story told was wonderful. All of the staff were efficient and super sweet.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Honeymoon Experience!

Reviewed by: Summerlover71, 2021/08/03

We loved all the cultural dances and the food was amazing! Great experience on our honeymoon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Jesse , 2021/07/30

I so wanna go again. Very fun and entertaining.
Love the food and music and dancing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed our anniversary at the Island Breeze Luau!

Reviewed by: Danielle , 2021/07/10

Show itself was pretty good. Food was just ok. Happy there was a kids food table. Disappointed there was a small desert selection

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good luau show!

Reviewed by: Marlin, 2021/05/26

The luau was good, we enjoyed the show. Food was okay, could have been better. Limited vegetarian options, desserts and alcoholic beverages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well done show, good food

Reviewed by: jpimsler, 2021/05/22

On the specific date we went it rained, so that's a lost star that's in no way their fault! If we had wanted to leave and not stay in the rain they would have given us a refund or moved the tickets to a different date.

The show as very educational and the dancing was great! Our one year old was in a trance! Such awesome culture across the Pacific islands. The food was really good and big portions/as much as you want since it's a buffet. Before you leave check out the Hawaiian/Polynesian exhibit inside the hotel.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: JulieG, 2021/05/18

It was a grand finale to our trip. Really enjoyed the dancers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2021/05/18

Fantastic show!!! Excellent food!! Would go again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not worth the $$

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2021/05/08

I was very disappointed that we spent so much money for what was supposed to be a great experience for my kids’ first luau. The luau was moved indoors due to a weather warning but it was not even close to being the same experience. I understand that potential bad weather cannot be predicted but they should have given us the option to reschedule or cancel. NOT WORTH THE MONEY.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overpriced for what you get

Reviewed by: Linz, 2021/04/30

Never got the lei they said was included. Drinks and food were not the best. Would of rather of done the Sheraton luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun for the family!

Reviewed by: Carli M. , 2021/04/29

We had a wonderful time at this luau. Our 4 year old enjoyed it and we all loved the food and drinks. Would recommend this luau to anyone searching for a family friendly luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Luau Experience!

Reviewed by: Anais , 2021/04/15

Our party of 4 had a fantastic Luau experience as 1st timers. Even with the COVID restrictions in place, they did an excellent job. Amazing food, amazing story telling and even more fantastic dances. Get your tickets before they sell out!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun luau!

Reviewed by: Hannah, 2021/03/17

The Island Breeze luau was in a beautiful location next to the ocean and the dancers and musicians were excellent. The food was good and it was a fun atmosphere. They did a good job with everything with the COVID restrictions they had to follow.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My kids LOVED this show!

Reviewed by: Lval , 2021/03/16

As a parent of 7 year old twins, who seeks out kid friendly activities, I’m so grateful I chose this show. This was their first show since COVID. They offered a selection of kid friendly food which I appreciated. The rest of the food was amazing and the drinks were delicious! Now to the entertainment. This group of performers were so enthusiastic that the captured my kids attention the whole time. The story they told was beautiful. My kids were doing their best to follow the dancers moves and the waitstaff were so kind to compliment them. The fire dancer at the end got a standing ovation! From the music and performers to the food and staff, they all exceeded any expectations! Well done!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding luau

Reviewed by: Amanda Mrozek, 2019/03/28

The food was great and so was the entertainment. This luau was highly recommended to us by a bunch of people after we booked it so it was good to know we made a good choice and they were right.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tourist magnet

Reviewed by: Maria Christiansen, 2018/10/19

Good, but to many tourists. I was hoping for a more native experience instead of a hotel.. I wanted to see the luau dance more then having to eat and drink

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mediocre

Reviewed by: YOPPI, 2018/07/21

I was hoping to see more polynesian dance as well as more dancers with a big stage, not listening to songs sang by a middle age man.
My husband and i landed on the day we participated in this and hadn't eaten a real food for 12 hours or more and were starving. Even under the condition, we didn't think food was great. Didn't go for another plate.
I've been to luau once in kuai island a few years ago. That one is a lot greater than this. If you've been to luau before, I would not recommend this.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau at the King Kamehameha

Reviewed by: Just27, 2018/06/22

I've been to various luaus, and this was the best. Really. My three-generation family ranges in age from 3 y/o to 70, and everyone had a great time. The 7 y/o was truly amazed by everything, which was delightful. The event was well organized, informative, and vastly entertaining. The food and beverages we're very good, high quality, and plentiful. No dishes ran out, and the selection was excellent. The arrival of the King and his court was fun. We enjoyed the extra touches, like the Hawaiians tattoos, and hula lesson. The dancers were excellent and engaging; we especially enjoyed those involving fire! I would definitely recommend this luau. I don't think there were any bad seats, and the view was glorious.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great dinner and show

Reviewed by: Tom, 2018/04/27

Food was great...nice variety. Small cast did an excellent job with a demanding variety of dances from wide variety of island cultures. We enjoyed it a lot!

  • Great show, great seats.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We stayed at Hilton but came to the Courtyard Marriot to see the Luau.

Reviewed by: Lvklysnatour , 2018/04/08

We all had a great time. My kids mentioned that it was a good ending to our trip with food and activities.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful luau experience

Reviewed by: Margo Tritt, 2018/02/13

This was a wonderful end very enlightening and historical luau.
This show was beautiful and colorful!
We appreciate the wonderful choices of foods and the special choice for my husband's vegetarian meal.
The locale was extra good next to the temple,ocean and the historical exhibits in the hotel.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your kind words! We are so pleased that your husband enjoyed the menu as well and that you both returned home with special memories of your visit to Hawaiʻi.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Erin, 2017/10/11

Wonderful luau!! Would highly recommend!! Came here with my brother who was visiting and we had a blast. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands