Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel with Open Bar reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel with Open Bar

Overall Rating

4.21 4.21 / 5

Reviews

224 reviews
Post a review

Cold food

Reviewed by: John, 2022/10/24

The food was cold and the buffet was almost emty. The show was ok. It was saved bye the firegay.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Something to scratch off your tourist list

Reviewed by: HawaiianEnvy, 2022/08/27

This was a nice event to scratch off a tourist’s list. Great performances tied to Hawaiian and Polynesian culture. Food was good. Had options for kiddos.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience!

Reviewed by: Lily S, 2022/08/22

The Luau is great! Many food options and authentic Hawaiian food too!! The show was very informative and exciting to watch during the Luau. We enjoyed it very much!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not great experience and services

Reviewed by: Thuan Nguyen, 2022/07/16

The experience is not very good, arrived at the event about 15 minutes early than starting time at 5:00 pm and was told that we are early and should comeback about 5:30 pm or so. When asking and show the stated time on the reservation, then it is blame that the company who doing the reservation making a mistake which does make sense.

When they finally come out to a long line of people waiting to get process then they are busy up sell the premier seating to customers who willing to pay extra to be seating first.

The food is barely eatable and not a whole lot of choice. The music and show is average in my opinion since I have go to other show at different island.

Overall I would never comeback again and you you save your money and looking for others venues.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

interactive

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2022/06/11

We enjoyed the luau, the food and the program. This is our second luau and by far, it was the more enjoyable one. The food was good and the entertainment was captivating. The program was surprisingly interactive which made it even more enjoyable. My 12 yr olds appreciated that there were foods they could identify (mac n cheese, chicken nuggets) after trying the poi, lomi and poke.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Luau

Reviewed by: Bob, 2022/04/23

The show was enjoyable and the actors interacted with the audience. The luau food was very good and had a great variety.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Timers vs. Veteran Luau

Reviewed by: Cynthia Haynes, 2022/03/20

For those of us who had been to previous luaus this experience was amazing. The attention to history and story telling was very interesting. The costumes, dances and national history was educational as well as entertaining. (Especially the fire dancer!) Some of our friends had never been to a luau before and also thought it was wonderful. The food was presented beautifully and delicious. (The drinks were excellent too!) We even tried the poi because this was the first time it had ever been explained to us how to eat it and with what food combination. The location was easy to find and parking was ample. The staff were all friendly and knowledgeable. It was a great experience for our group of six and would highly recommend this event.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun First Night on the Island

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2022/03/08

Going to the luau was a great way to kick off our trip to Hawaii learning about the history and culture, traditions and customs. Staff were attentive, meal was varied to allow for local cuisine and picky eaters in the group ( who knew Chick nuggets and Mac was customary but a fan fav for the kids!). Banana bread delicious. The show entertaining and ambiance pretty overlooking the water.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family fun!!

Reviewed by: Big Island trip 2022, 2022/03/05

This was a fantastic Luau! Not my first one, I enjoyed the everything about it. The live musicians, singers, actors/dancers were all top notch. Very informative and exciting. The food was decent too, lots of choices.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Majestic Oceanfront Celebration

Reviewed by: Vhurteau, 2021/12/18

Excellent pageantry and making educational entertainment fun for the whole family that includes history of the various South Pacific tribes together with an excellent orchestra, singing and an outstanding master of ceremonies. The buffet food was fine but you go here to enjoy a majestic recreation of Hawaiian tradition!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kids still loved it

Reviewed by: Trust, 2021/12/11

Not what I expected based on my previous luaus on other islands. I missed the pulling the lig from the ground, the games before hand, dance together. I can only blame Covid

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau was disappointing

Reviewed by: Maria, 2021/12/04

Due to the possibility of rain the show was rushed. The performers did not stay long enough for pictures. The hula lesson was not done.

The only thing that was good is the location of our table. So close to the stage. Loving it. The location of check was mislead and very unorganized

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2021/11/14

This was our very first time in Hawaii, and of course our first luau. The show was great, the food was good, and so were the drinks! It was a beautiful evening and very well done, and completely safe! I highly recommend this luau whether it’s your first or you are a seasoned professional!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show, tasty food, friendly staff

Reviewed by: eburatto, 2021/10/20

This was our first luau experience and it did not disappoint! We were all very pleased with the friendliness of the staff, the beautiful location, the delicious food, and the spectacular show. It was really entertaining!
Just one thing I found odd was that the Mai Tais felt "virgin". I am a very light drinker, and I get tipsy with 2 glasses of wine, but I had 5 Mai Tais and I was completely sober... weird. They were delicious though! That's why I had 5 :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good food, and I loved the production.

Reviewed by: Terri Zimmerman, 2021/10/16

Good venue and parking was easy to find. Plentiful food with a lot of variety and a beautiful view with the water. I especially liked the production showcasing the different island cultures.we brought family with us that had never exp Hawaii or a luau so was especially nice to share that experience in a positgive light.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze luau

Reviewed by: Becky, 2021/09/25

The islander Breeze Luau was everything we expected and more. The staff went above and beyond to make sure that Covid restrictions were in place and the experience was not compromised. Each party had their own table that was 6 feet apart. The food was fantastic and fresh! The drinks were good as well! And the star of the show was the music, dancers and the master of ceremonies! They all really put their aloha into the show! Thank you for a great experience.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not what I expected

Reviewed by: GnC, 2021/09/21

I give the music snd dancing all the credit. It was a wonderful show. My impression of the food was it was just ok. Maybe we just don’t like Hawaiian
Food but thanks for trying. The deserts were soggy and lacked flavor. For the total experience, this was way over priced and disappointing.I don’t think I would recommend this luau to my friends due to the food.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

family fun

Reviewed by: Lina, 2021/09/12

We decided on this luau -from many- because they were family friendly and the other reviews. They were right, we had a blast. The staff were so accommodating to my daughter (1.5yo). She loved the show and even tried to Hula. We were also celebrating my moms 77th birthday and she loved it too. The best buffet of hawaii's essential plates and desserts too. I would definitely would go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So great!

Reviewed by: SB , 2021/09/07

Loved it and felt safe.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Impressed

Reviewed by: Stacey D, 2021/08/25

My husband and I took our 15yr old son. We enjoyed the food, good portions and several options were available. The show was fascinating, and the performers were enjoying themselves which made the show even better. Would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful event with beautiful people

Reviewed by: Stefanie Doty, 2021/08/07

This was an event booking for my family. My 4 year old and 14 year old both equally enjoyed it. My for year old loved learning the hula. Food was plentiful and the story told was wonderful. All of the staff were efficient and super sweet.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Honeymoon Experience!

Reviewed by: Summerlover71, 2021/08/03

We loved all the cultural dances and the food was amazing! Great experience on our honeymoon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Jesse , 2021/07/30

I so wanna go again. Very fun and entertaining.
Love the food and music and dancing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed our anniversary at the Island Breeze Luau!

Reviewed by: Danielle , 2021/07/10

Show itself was pretty good. Food was just ok. Happy there was a kids food table. Disappointed there was a small desert selection

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good luau show!

Reviewed by: Marlin, 2021/05/26

The luau was good, we enjoyed the show. Food was okay, could have been better. Limited vegetarian options, desserts and alcoholic beverages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well done show, good food

Reviewed by: jpimsler, 2021/05/22

On the specific date we went it rained, so that's a lost star that's in no way their fault! If we had wanted to leave and not stay in the rain they would have given us a refund or moved the tickets to a different date.

The show as very educational and the dancing was great! Our one year old was in a trance! Such awesome culture across the Pacific islands. The food was really good and big portions/as much as you want since it's a buffet. Before you leave check out the Hawaiian/Polynesian exhibit inside the hotel.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: JulieG, 2021/05/18

It was a grand finale to our trip. Really enjoyed the dancers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2021/05/18

Fantastic show!!! Excellent food!! Would go again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overpriced for what you get

Reviewed by: Linz, 2021/04/30

Never got the lei they said was included. Drinks and food were not the best. Would of rather of done the Sheraton luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun for the family!

Reviewed by: Carli M. , 2021/04/29

We had a wonderful time at this luau. Our 4 year old enjoyed it and we all loved the food and drinks. Would recommend this luau to anyone searching for a family friendly luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories