Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel [Open Now] reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.14 4.14 / 5

Reviews

205 reviews
Post a review

Enjoyed our anniversary at the Island Breeze Luau!

Reviewed by: Danielle , 2021/07/10

Show itself was pretty good. Food was just ok. Happy there was a kids food table. Disappointed there was a small desert selection

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good luau show!

Reviewed by: Marlin, 2021/05/26

The luau was good, we enjoyed the show. Food was okay, could have been better. Limited vegetarian options, desserts and alcoholic beverages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well done show, good food

Reviewed by: jpimsler, 2021/05/22

On the specific date we went it rained, so that's a lost star that's in no way their fault! If we had wanted to leave and not stay in the rain they would have given us a refund or moved the tickets to a different date.

The show as very educational and the dancing was great! Our one year old was in a trance! Such awesome culture across the Pacific islands. The food was really good and big portions/as much as you want since it's a buffet. Before you leave check out the Hawaiian/Polynesian exhibit inside the hotel.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: JulieG, 2021/05/18

It was a grand finale to our trip. Really enjoyed the dancers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2021/05/18

Fantastic show!!! Excellent food!! Would go again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not worth the $$

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2021/05/08

I was very disappointed that we spent so much money for what was supposed to be a great experience for my kids’ first luau. The luau was moved indoors due to a weather warning but it was not even close to being the same experience. I understand that potential bad weather cannot be predicted but they should have given us the option to reschedule or cancel. NOT WORTH THE MONEY.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overpriced for what you get

Reviewed by: Linz, 2021/04/30

Never got the lei they said was included. Drinks and food were not the best. Would of rather of done the Sheraton luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun for the family!

Reviewed by: Carli M. , 2021/04/29

We had a wonderful time at this luau. Our 4 year old enjoyed it and we all loved the food and drinks. Would recommend this luau to anyone searching for a family friendly luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Luau Experience!

Reviewed by: Anais , 2021/04/15

Our party of 4 had a fantastic Luau experience as 1st timers. Even with the COVID restrictions in place, they did an excellent job. Amazing food, amazing story telling and even more fantastic dances. Get your tickets before they sell out!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun luau!

Reviewed by: Hannah, 2021/03/17

The Island Breeze luau was in a beautiful location next to the ocean and the dancers and musicians were excellent. The food was good and it was a fun atmosphere. They did a good job with everything with the COVID restrictions they had to follow.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My kids LOVED this show!

Reviewed by: Lval , 2021/03/16

As a parent of 7 year old twins, who seeks out kid friendly activities, I’m so grateful I chose this show. This was their first show since COVID. They offered a selection of kid friendly food which I appreciated. The rest of the food was amazing and the drinks were delicious! Now to the entertainment. This group of performers were so enthusiastic that the captured my kids attention the whole time. The story they told was beautiful. My kids were doing their best to follow the dancers moves and the waitstaff were so kind to compliment them. The fire dancer at the end got a standing ovation! From the music and performers to the food and staff, they all exceeded any expectations! Well done!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding luau

Reviewed by: Amanda Mrozek, 2019/03/28

The food was great and so was the entertainment. This luau was highly recommended to us by a bunch of people after we booked it so it was good to know we made a good choice and they were right.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tourist magnet

Reviewed by: Maria Christiansen, 2018/10/19

Good, but to many tourists. I was hoping for a more native experience instead of a hotel.. I wanted to see the luau dance more then having to eat and drink

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mediocre

Reviewed by: YOPPI, 2018/07/21

I was hoping to see more polynesian dance as well as more dancers with a big stage, not listening to songs sang by a middle age man.
My husband and i landed on the day we participated in this and hadn't eaten a real food for 12 hours or more and were starving. Even under the condition, we didn't think food was great. Didn't go for another plate.
I've been to luau once in kuai island a few years ago. That one is a lot greater than this. If you've been to luau before, I would not recommend this.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau at the King Kamehameha

Reviewed by: Just27, 2018/06/22

I've been to various luaus, and this was the best. Really. My three-generation family ranges in age from 3 y/o to 70, and everyone had a great time. The 7 y/o was truly amazed by everything, which was delightful. The event was well organized, informative, and vastly entertaining. The food and beverages we're very good, high quality, and plentiful. No dishes ran out, and the selection was excellent. The arrival of the King and his court was fun. We enjoyed the extra touches, like the Hawaiians tattoos, and hula lesson. The dancers were excellent and engaging; we especially enjoyed those involving fire! I would definitely recommend this luau. I don't think there were any bad seats, and the view was glorious.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great dinner and show

Reviewed by: Tom, 2018/04/27

Food was great...nice variety. Small cast did an excellent job with a demanding variety of dances from wide variety of island cultures. We enjoyed it a lot!

  • Great show, great seats.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We stayed at Hilton but came to the Courtyard Marriot to see the Luau.

Reviewed by: Lvklysnatour , 2018/04/08

We all had a great time. My kids mentioned that it was a good ending to our trip with food and activities.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful luau experience

Reviewed by: Margo Tritt, 2018/02/13

This was a wonderful end very enlightening and historical luau.
This show was beautiful and colorful!
We appreciate the wonderful choices of foods and the special choice for my husband's vegetarian meal.
The locale was extra good next to the temple,ocean and the historical exhibits in the hotel.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your kind words! We are so pleased that your husband enjoyed the menu as well and that you both returned home with special memories of your visit to Hawaiʻi.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Erin, 2017/10/11

Wonderful luau!! Would highly recommend!! Came here with my brother who was visiting and we had a blast. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Luau

Reviewed by: Craig Dombrowski , 2017/10/10

We liked it very much. The narratot, the history, the various outfits, the sincerity of all who performed. And yes, the food was good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Evening

Reviewed by: Karen from MO, 2017/09/24

We enjoyed the Island Breeze Luau. We were seated with a great group of people and enjoyed talking with them.. The show was very well done. The fire dancer at the end was especially good. The food was very good and had a lot of choices on the buffet.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A little dated but nice to have at the hotel we were staying at

Reviewed by: C Mangino, 2017/09/22

After having attended a Smith luau in Kauai, this paled by comparison. We paid about $100 per person, and that seemed a little pricey. The food was good, the entertainment was ok. But nothing to write home about. One plus was that it was at the hotel we were staying at. Do NOT pay to upgrade your seat - unless you're late to the party, you'll get a good seat and can see the entire show without issue.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Luau - Awesome food, friendly service

Reviewed by: Frank, 2017/09/03

I've done 3 or 4 luaus in my day. This was the best. The service was top notch. I had one of the attendees watch my infant son while we went for food. My 4 year old daughter danced up a storm while watching the professional dancers and the other patrons where kind beyond belief.

Could not have gotten a better experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Tom & Faith, 2017/07/01

My wife was hesitant to attend but did so as it was something I wanted to do. Afterwards she stated how much fun she had. The food was great and she loved the show.
Great job.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mediocre

Reviewed by: North Carolina, 2017/05/26

Not very authentic.... they used a band, dress looked store bought & sang some songs in English. The one on Maui used only a drum and / or a ukulele with traditional Hawaiian dress & language.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not spectacular

Reviewed by: Bill, 2017/05/24

There was no waiter service for drinks and the food was so so. Few performers compared to others I have attended . Did not compare to luaus on Maui or or one at the outrigger several years ago.

The best part was the fire dancer. He did a great job .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: Kay, 2017/03/10

We come to this Luau every year! We have a timeshare so this year was our 7th time to the big island and the 4th time to this show. We tried shows in other places but came back to this one because the food is the best, the setting is right on the water, and the show is most entertaining. Everyone makes it fun from the host who takes tickets and encourages a lei purchase, the photographer, the announcer for the show, the musicians, the artists who go through many costume changes and the wait staff. We recommend this show to anyone who asks. Thank you all for your committed and talented time. See you next year!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your kind words! We love to hear from our ʻohana who come back to visit us year after year. i will pass on your comments to our team - they will appreciate the time you took to share your experience and will love hearing how much you enjoy coming back to see us. A hui hou - We look forward to your next visit!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2017/02/25

I am a local and have to say this is the best luau on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Cathy, 2016/08/21

The entertainment was amazing, and the food was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best on the Big Island

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2016/07/17

We have been coming here for quite a while and have attended more luaus than I can count. The island breeze luau is the best. What makes this one great is the history of the island that is part of the program. Plus the buffet is the best one around. And just like in real estate, LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!!!!!!
We recently moved here so a luau is always on the agenda when friends come. We still get as excited now as the first one we ever saw.
Aloha

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you back at the Island Breeze luʻau again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands