Island Breeze Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel (Kailua-Kona)

Mediocre

Reviewed by: North Carolina, 2017/05/26

Not very authentic.... they used a band, dress looked store bought & sang some songs in English. The one on Maui used only a drum and / or a ukulele with traditional Hawaiian dress & language.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not spectacular

Reviewed by: Bill, 2017/05/24

There was no waiter service for drinks and the food was so so. Few performers compared to others I have attended . Did not compare to luaus on Maui or or one at the outrigger several years ago.

The best part was the fire dancer. He did a great job .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: Kay, 2017/03/10

We come to this Luau every year! We have a timeshare so this year was our 7th time to the big island and the 4th time to this show. We tried shows in other places but came back to this one because the food is the best, the setting is right on the water, and the show is most entertaining. Everyone makes it fun from the host who takes tickets and encourages a lei purchase, the photographer, the announcer for the show, the musicians, the artists who go through many costume changes and the wait staff. We recommend this show to anyone who asks. Thank you all for your committed and talented time. See you next year!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your kind words! We love to hear from our ʻohana who come back to visit us year after year. i will pass on your comments to our team - they will appreciate the time you took to share your experience and will love hearing how much you enjoy coming back to see us. A hui hou - We look forward to your next visit!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2017/02/25

I am a local and have to say this is the best luau on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Cathy, 2016/08/21

The entertainment was amazing, and the food was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best on the Big Island

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2016/07/17

We have been coming here for quite a while and have attended more luaus than I can count. The island breeze luau is the best. What makes this one great is the history of the island that is part of the program. Plus the buffet is the best one around. And just like in real estate, LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!!!!!!
We recently moved here so a luau is always on the agenda when friends come. We still get as excited now as the first one we ever saw.
Aloha


Reply from activity provider

Mahalo! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you back at the Island Breeze luʻau again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pigs ears in my sons Luau food

Reviewed by: sad mom, 2016/07/04

Went to the Luau thinking it would be great to share with my family - 6 of us went to Hawaii to celebrate 2 graduations - one Grad School, one High School. This was our final outing we did before going home. Not anything like what I attended on an other island 30 years ago (honeymoon) Overcrowded, felt like a cramped gross picnic, . There was no room for any personal space. Food awful and not really hot or cold. It was buffet style -which is fine - but there were no sanitary measures taken - sneeze guards etc - people reusing plates if they wanted more of anything. Coffee tasted like old weak grinds - you would think in Kona the coffee would be great like it was everywhere else. The staff was really nice - the entertainment that we did stay for was nice - However- we left after dinner because my son literally was served part of a pigs ear (the cartilage - he has a Masters in secondary education and teaches bio). I swear I almost threw up right then and there - really ???????? How about a little more attention to quality - I'm guessing if the health department was there that night they would have shut down the Luau. We left because it felt so gross. - a sad way to end a beautiful vacation.

Update- Although we didn't say anything at the time Veltra read my review and contacted the hotel on our behalf. They refunded 50% of our bill. Very much appreciated - we can't wait to give it another try when we go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Reviewed by: SusanShull, 2016/03/21

We enjoyed the entertainment. There were a lot of people in attendance which made this a little difficult to see especially when people were standing and crowded around. We would have preferred a venue with a smaller attendance. Food was good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island breezes luau

Reviewed by: Hugh , 2016/03/13

Excellent show would highly recommend this to others

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: John Jablowski, Jr., 2016/01/03

Very nice set up. We were late so they reset a table for us. Program was nice. Would have liked more interaction with audience participation. Food was plentiful and very good. Liquor could have been more upscale. Bartender and staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful setting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |

Hawaii, Big Island Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI