Captain Bruce Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & Turtle Watching Tour reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Captain Bruce Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & Turtle Watching Tour

Overall Rating

4.90 4.90 / 5

Reviews

49 reviews
Post a review

Very good experience!

Reviewed by: Bruce, 2021/11/24

The staffs are nice, snorkling is a lot of fun! They offer water, hot chocolate and tea. Also if you want to flush the salt away they provide clean water. The scenary is so nice!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for joining with the Capt. Bruce tour. A Hui Hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth every penny!!

Reviewed by: Steve, 2021/11/08

I would rather get this trip than limited tour Hanauma bay snorkeling, i know it s pricier than Capt Bruise tour, but the service they provide you and any accommodation is just worth it so much. Capt Batman (That s what he preferred to be called) and Robin was very kind enough to provide assisted snorkeling tour to those were afraid to see the reef. Amazing guys! You will see their heart so passionate for customers!

Reply from activity provider

Hi Steve, thank you so much for taking the time to write these wonderful review of yours. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again.
Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Crew

Reviewed by: Millicent Marquez, 2021/11/06

From shuttle service to tour, everyone was awesome! Our driver, Sky, to Franky and Captain of the boat, Zi and her crew, they were all great!

The best experience is when Zi was able to convince my partner to go snorkeling by the reef. She guided her with the paddling board and this is her first experience swimming in the deep blue sea!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo kindly for the compliments. On behalf of Cpt. Bruce, we thank you so much for this amazing review.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family vacation

Reviewed by: JAM, 2021/10/22

Came with a large party which consisted of small children. My little ones cried A LOT during the boat ride and I felt really bad, but the two gentlemen working were more than understanding. They provided free drinks, chips and snorkels for everyone and we were also able to bring our own. The tour itself was amazing! The Hawaiian ocean is breathtaking. We definitely want to return when our little ones are a bit older and hopefully they won’t cry next time around!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha JAM, Breathtaking ended! Thank you so much for joining us and shared your experience with us. Hopefully next time will be more relaxing

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best.Day.Ever

Reviewed by: Mommy_AT, 2021/10/11

Such a memorable experience for my family. The captain and his assistants were friendly and very knowledgeable about the island and the living creatures in and around it. I love how thoughtful the business is - simple things like plastic bins under the seats to make sure our things are kept dry, the drinks and snacks provided aboard, and the cleanliness in and around the boat. Loved every minute of our time there!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, Thank you so much for having us and sharing your memorable experience with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful afternoon.

Reviewed by: Ronin, 2021/10/02

Our captain was knowledgeable and very helpful. The water was perfect just a little choppy. She guided us to snorkeling area and we also saw turtles. Loved it

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ronin, on behalf of Capt. Bruce, we would like to thank you for this amazing review. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth It

Reviewed by: Gary, 2021/09/16

We booked this one instead of the self kayaking to the Sandbar, and it was definitely worth it. If you want the relaxing and chill experience, and have fun, book this one. Our captain/crew was super nice and great. They take you to the sandbar, which is super beautiful, and you hangout there for about 1-2 hours, they provide you with boards and water equipments so you don't have to bring your own. The snorkeling was pretty cool too, didn't see any turtles though but still beautiful and great experience.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Gary! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best vacation activity I did during my vacation

Reviewed by: LAuago, 2021/09/05

Captain Bruce’s turtle snorkel tour was the best activity I’ve ever done in O’ahu. They were also really nice and fun! The sandbar was awesome and I saw turtles, fish, coral , and other marine life. They provided refreshments and light snacks like chips, fruit. I would do this again. And please wear reef safe sunscreen to help protect the coral and ocean animals.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much! It's so kind of you. We look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friendly crew

Reviewed by: jonathan, 2021/08/30

friendly crew
clean boat
plenty of storage and snacks
hot chocolate was nice for kids

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for the compliments.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really unique, beautiful experience

Reviewed by: Carlos, 2021/08/29

Our preference was to go at low tide and we had a blast. During snorkeling we even got to see some turtles. I believe we saw 4 individual tuetles.

The big surprise was the level of customer service. We were the only passengers with young kids and the staff was very accommodating to us. They were engaging to all the passengers but I was so impressed how they engaged my youngest (age 5) who can be a handful. If you have never gone to the sand bar the decision has to be to experience it as soon as possible. If you are deciding which company to take you out there, I recommend captain Bruce. It's clean, there are snacks, coffee, tea, a restroom, tons of water toys, and it's good for groups, couples and families.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Carlos, on behalf of Capt. Bruce, we thank you so much for your support! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Mahalo kindly.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle snorkeling

Reviewed by: Shay, 2021/08/21

We did not see any turtles. Kinda wish my money was more worth it for that reason.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Shay, we're very sorry for not being able to see

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommended trip!

Reviewed by: lucidbutterfly, 2021/08/21

Book early, fun trip! This was recommended to me by a coworker who visited a month before my family. Glad I took her advice, loved it! We were upgraded to a private boat and loved our guide. He took us to the regular spot as well as a more private spot. We got lucky and saw many honu both big and small. It also helped that the weather was perfect. Definitely will do this trip again next time we’re at this island.

Reply from activity provider

Wow! what a good Upgrade

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent experience!

Reviewed by: Lilo, 2021/08/08

The Captain and the helper were very energetic and explained everything in detail. I had a fear from water depth and was scared to go to snorkeling with my kids. Jason , one of the captain’s helpers guided us and helped do the snorkeling all the way. A big thank you to him, the captain and the female helper. It was a great experience!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo! Thank you so much for your kind words. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing experience

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2021/08/06

My daughter (age 8) and I had an amazing time at the Kaneohe sandbar. We saw baby sharks and several turtles while snorkeling! The amount of time we spent there was perfect. The crew did an excellent job. I highly recommend this experience!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you so much for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you and your daughter are having a great time at the sandbar. Mahalo for your support!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great day out at the sandbar

Reviewed by: Beatrix, 2021/08/06

Never play at the sandbar before and this was SUPER FUN! the crew was fun yet professional. Perfect length of time to be at the sandbar. As for the snorkeling, it was good, but we got kicked non stop from the people in front of us, LOL. Not the crew's fault obviously. Just a note to self for next time, will give myself some space from the people in front of me. Just a suggestion, not sure it is feasible or not... adding slide will be better. But all in all, it was a great time and thank you for doing what you are doing!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, thank you very much for your support! We look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the time & money!

Reviewed by: Kait & Sean, 2021/08/02

We took the morning tour and we got a lot of time to snorkel and hung out with 3 sea turtles (with a safe distance away of course!). I appreciate how our local staff emphasized the importance of keeping safe the reef & the animals who call the ocean home. We got access to paddle boards and delicious coffee! Thanks again for a great time!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo Kait & Sean! We look forward to see you back again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Sandbar but waves dependent on weather

Reviewed by: Mitch, 2021/07/28

We went out on a cloudy morning accompanied by showers. The waves were choppy too. The sandbar was beautiful despite the weather, didn’t see any turtles on the sandbar but my daughter and husband who went with the snorkeling group saw turtles by the reef. The current was stronger there though but Kevin, the tour guide made sure everyone was safe. There was not enough paddle boards nor floaties for everyone on board and some groups hugged theirs till the end. We shared our paddle board with another couple. Trevor was okay but he tended to give attention to certain groups whereas Kevin was the one whom I have noticed that was attentive to everyone.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Mitch, we're very sorry for the disappointment for not being able to see the turtles. Mostly they are in the reef area, sometimes it can be seen around the boat. Hopefully on your next visit, you'll see more turtles

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely worth it

Reviewed by: Lindsey , 2021/07/27

We had a great time on the snorkel trip! The crew was very friendly and helpful and the setup (paddle birds, floaties, etc) was great. We were skeptical at first that we would see any turtles, but one came right up to the boat and swam around with us while we were swimming and then we saw several more on the snorkel trip around the reef. Highly recommend this activity!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo Lindsey. We look forward to see you in the near future.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing family experience

Reviewed by: Claudia S., 2021/07/19

This was a great experience, the staff is great and friendly!! had a wonderful time with the family out on the sandbar, caught some great pictures and videos of sea turtles.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Claudia, thank you so much for your feedback. Glad to hear the whole family is having a great time at the sandbar.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time at Kaneohe sandbar

Reviewed by: Jenny, 2021/07/18

I had a great time visiting the Kaneohe sandbar with the Captain Bruce crew. They were very welcoming and provided guidance and supervision during the trip to make sure everyone was safe. I was able to see many turtles and beautiful corals while also enjoying the paddle board provided by the crew. I highly recommend this trip for anyone looking to spend a great morning (or afternoon) to enjoy some of the best nature in Oahu.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jenny, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review regarding our Capt. and crew. Mahalo for the compliments!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great for beginners!

Reviewed by: Cecilla (Cece) , 2021/07/15

Such a fantastic experience for someone whose never been snorkeling before. Great for beginners and family friendly! Rain comes and goes but the sandbar and the ocean was still warm and beautiful. I would like to thanks Trevor for helping me overcome my fear of the ocean overall. Lol. Without him I wouldn’t have gone beyond the sandbar. You rock!! I had the pleasure of seeing turtles, small colorful fishes, and of course the beautiful reef. Thank you Captain Bruce for such a great hospitality. I will definitely come back with a group of families in the near future!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cece, we're so happy for you. I'm glad you overcome your fear.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do if you're visitting Oahu

Reviewed by: Kat, 2021/07/14

I've been to Oahu many times and had always wanted to go to the sandbar but didn't get the chance to until now.
I booked the morning tour on July 8th of this year, and boy it was a beautiful day. It was cloudy the day I arrived in Oahu so I was worried about the weather.
Captain Bruce had 2 boats full of tourists out that day. We didn't meet Captain Bruce. Instead we got Captain Robin and his assistant Irvin.
Both men were so nice and helpful. They let you go off on your own, but at the same time, kept an eye on you from a distance, to make sure you don't hurt yourself or get in trouble when you're out in the water.
There were lots of watersports to do, all provided free of charge. Chips and non-alcoholic beverages were also provided free of charge.
I had a wonderful time.
The views were stunning anywhere you look. I want to go back there again. I will pick them again. Their price is cheaper compared to the others, and the staffs are awesome friendly people.
It bothered me that many people left without tipping the crew. That was not cool.

  • crystal clear water

  • water toys to use free of charge

  • I spotted a sea turtle

  • Stunning view

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kat, Thank you very much for the compliments. We're hopping to see you back again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very great trip!

Reviewed by: Ross, 2021/07/11

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Both staff members even went above and beyond to make sure everyone on the tour was comfortable and safe when in the water and snorkeling.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo Ross for your kind words. Your feedback is greatly appreciated...!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to end our trip!

Reviewed by: m Faulkner, 2021/07/11

We booked this somewhat last minute, trying to find a way to spend our final day on Oahu before our late evening flight - and we’re so glad we did! The crew was terrific - friendly, funny, and safety-conscious. The sandbar was a cool experience with clear water. The tour company provides plenty of floats and paddle boards to occupy everyone, and the snorkel portion of the visit was terrific! We saw plenty of turtles and fish, and it wasn’t terribly crowded. Definitely recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Faulkner! We're so glad you're able to squeeze us in to join us on your last day at the sandbar. Thank you very much for choosing Capt. Bruce Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Ride to the Sandbar

Reviewed by: MBTSANG, 2021/07/10

- Everything was great everyone had a good time.

- We enjoyed the options, it was more of a free time at the sand bar situation. If you don't want to snorkel, they leave you at the boat. But, you'll still have access to the SUP and floaties to play at the sand bar. I spent some extra time with the SUP and tossed a football around with some other guys. You can walk around the sandbar and take more pictures. Someone is always around to make sure everything is ok.

- wife went snorkeling, they kindly ask about your swimming abilities and if you're a weaker swimmer they'll keep an eye on you. I also noticed they proactively hover around families with kids incase they needed help.
Everyone felt safe and comfortable the entire time.



Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just book it!

Reviewed by: Cassidy , 2021/06/28

This was one of the top experiences we had while in Hawaii. Crew was awesome and the sandbar was just amazing. Huge plus that it was so organized and there was so many amenities (floaters, snorkel gear, snacks and drinks too). They sent out a list of things to remember to bring which is super helpful as well. Highly recommend.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cassidy, Thank you very much for the compliments.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best!

Reviewed by: Allie, 2021/06/19

that was an awesome tour ! The crew are very nice and helpful! I was very sacred of the ocean and Jason, our tour guide helped me get the best experience ever by assisting me with snorkeling and being by my side all the time.

Reply from activity provider

Hats down to Capt. Jason. Always the best! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Janine, 2021/06/12

My family and I had such a great time. The staff were fun, knowledgeable, and friendly. We saw lots of sea turtles and fish while snorkeling. So many fun memories were made.

  • Sand bar

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for your feedback! Hoping to see you folks again in the near future.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a wonderful way to spend a day!

Reviewed by: Lesley, 2021/06/10

Crew and staff of Cap'n Bruce's were amazing and welcoming, making everyone from kids to adults feel safe and comfortable, was so fun! The sandbar is exceptional and shouldn't be missed. I was surprised at how uncrowded it was. Highly recommended.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lesley, these are such a great photos of sandbar! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of yours. We hope to see you again and Mahalo for choosing Captain Bruce tour

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: Blanca, 2021/06/05

My Family and me enjoy the sand bar tour , they treatbus like family , they teach my husbund how to do paddleing board , help my son snorkle. We love it definitely caming back..

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Blanca Family, thank you so much for choosing Captain Bruce tour! We are very pleased to hear the whole family had a great time at the sandbar. Mahalo for your great review and we decently look forward to having your family again onboard!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories