Captain Bruce Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & Turtle Watching Tour [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Captain Bruce Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & Turtle Watching Tour [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.94 4.94 / 5

Reviews

31 reviews
Post a review

amazing family experience

Reviewed by: Claudia S., 2021/07/19

This was a great experience, the staff is great and friendly!! had a wonderful time with the family out on the sandbar, caught some great pictures and videos of sea turtles.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time at Kaneohe sandbar

Reviewed by: Jenny, 2021/07/18

I had a great time visiting the Kaneohe sandbar with the Captain Bruce crew. They were very welcoming and provided guidance and supervision during the trip to make sure everyone was safe. I was able to see many turtles and beautiful corals while also enjoying the paddle board provided by the crew. I highly recommend this trip for anyone looking to spend a great morning (or afternoon) to enjoy some of the best nature in Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great for beginners!

Reviewed by: Cecilla (Cece) , 2021/07/15

Such a fantastic experience for someone whose never been snorkeling before. Great for beginners and family friendly! Rain comes and goes but the sandbar and the ocean was still warm and beautiful. I would like to thanks Trevor for helping me overcome my fear of the ocean overall. Lol. Without him I wouldn’t have gone beyond the sandbar. You rock!! I had the pleasure of seeing turtles, small colorful fishes, and of course the beautiful reef. Thank you Captain Bruce for such a great hospitality. I will definitely come back with a group of families in the near future!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do if you're visitting Oahu

Reviewed by: Kat, 2021/07/14

I've been to Oahu many times and had always wanted to go to the sandbar but didn't get the chance to until now.
I booked the morning tour on July 8th of this year, and boy it was a beautiful day. It was cloudy the day I arrived in Oahu so I was worried about the weather.
Captain Bruce had 2 boats full of tourists out that day. We didn't meet Captain Bruce. Instead we got Captain Robin and his assistant Irvin.
Both men were so nice and helpful. They let you go off on your own, but at the same time, kept an eye on you from a distance, to make sure you don't hurt yourself or get in trouble when you're out in the water.
There were lots of watersports to do, all provided free of charge. Chips and non-alcoholic beverages were also provided free of charge.
I had a wonderful time.
The views were stunning anywhere you look. I want to go back there again. I will pick them again. Their price is cheaper compared to the others, and the staffs are awesome friendly people.
It bothered me that many people left without tipping the crew. That was not cool.

  • crystal clear water

  • water toys to use free of charge

  • I spotted a sea turtle

  • Stunning view

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very great trip!

Reviewed by: Ross, 2021/07/11

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Both staff members even went above and beyond to make sure everyone on the tour was comfortable and safe when in the water and snorkeling.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to end our trip!

Reviewed by: m Faulkner, 2021/07/11

We booked this somewhat last minute, trying to find a way to spend our final day on Oahu before our late evening flight - and we’re so glad we did! The crew was terrific - friendly, funny, and safety-conscious. The sandbar was a cool experience with clear water. The tour company provides plenty of floats and paddle boards to occupy everyone, and the snorkel portion of the visit was terrific! We saw plenty of turtles and fish, and it wasn’t terribly crowded. Definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Ride to the Sandbar

Reviewed by: MBTSANG, 2021/07/10

- Everything was great everyone had a good time.

- We enjoyed the options, it was more of a free time at the sand bar situation. If you don't want to snorkel, they leave you at the boat. But, you'll still have access to the SUP and floaties to play at the sand bar. I spent some extra time with the SUP and tossed a football around with some other guys. You can walk around the sandbar and take more pictures. Someone is always around to make sure everything is ok.

- wife went snorkeling, they kindly ask about your swimming abilities and if you're a weaker swimmer they'll keep an eye on you. I also noticed they proactively hover around families with kids incase they needed help.
Everyone felt safe and comfortable the entire time.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just book it!

Reviewed by: Cassidy , 2021/06/28

This was one of the top experiences we had while in Hawaii. Crew was awesome and the sandbar was just amazing. Huge plus that it was so organized and there was so many amenities (floaters, snorkel gear, snacks and drinks too). They sent out a list of things to remember to bring which is super helpful as well. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best!

Reviewed by: Allie, 2021/06/19

that was an awesome tour ! The crew are very nice and helpful! I was very sacred of the ocean and Jason, our tour guide helped me get the best experience ever by assisting me with snorkeling and being by my side all the time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Janine, 2021/06/12

My family and I had such a great time. The staff were fun, knowledgeable, and friendly. We saw lots of sea turtles and fish while snorkeling. So many fun memories were made.

  • Sand bar

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a wonderful way to spend a day!

Reviewed by: Lesley, 2021/06/10

Crew and staff of Cap'n Bruce's were amazing and welcoming, making everyone from kids to adults feel safe and comfortable, was so fun! The sandbar is exceptional and shouldn't be missed. I was surprised at how uncrowded it was. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: Blanca, 2021/06/05

My Family and me enjoy the sand bar tour , they treatbus like family , they teach my husbund how to do paddleing board , help my son snorkle. We love it definitely caming back..

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend activity!

Reviewed by: Minh, 2021/06/05

We heard about this activity through an acquaintance, so I looked into it. I have been on Oahu 8+ times and have never done this activity. Highly recommend this activity as it was easy check in at the dock. The ride to sandbar itself was a quick ride on the boat. Staff were very friendly and you are able to bring your own alcoholic drinks onto the sandbar. Enjoyed our time snorkeling and hanging out in the sandbar itself. Very unique experience!

  • Very shallow area and clear water

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Tnl, 2021/06/05

Will do it again. Too many great things: safe, standing paddle, snorkeling, turtles, ….

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling review

Reviewed by: MIA, 2021/06/05

The crew was great. The website said to bring snacks and drinks which we did but they had some on the boat for all which was a plus. The water was high tide and not so clear. We were hoping. the coral and water would be much clearer. Not captains fault. The only thing thing that we did not like was the boat did not have flippers. Snorkeling gear should have flippers. You can get around better. We did see some turtles even though the water was murky.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great time !

Reviewed by: Tee , 2021/06/01

The crew was so awesome and really made sure everyone was comfortable and was having fun !

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good for everyone

Reviewed by: Amelia, 2021/05/27

Seniors, couples, solo travelers, even kids --- would like this tours to experience the sandbar and snorkeling (turtles and school of fish... love it!!!) The company even brought floaties and paddle boards for you to use for free!!! My mom got scared of the snorkeling part so she didn't do it but she still enjoyed the boat ride and the sandbar! It was a nice experience for the rest of my family and I... we saw many tortoises and swam with them. I recommend trying Captain Bruce Tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our vacay!

Reviewed by: Loren Tangco , 2021/05/24

Jason and Trevor are awesome!!! Can’t wait to book them again next time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sandbar was really cool!

Reviewed by: Monica, 2021/05/23

Jason and Alan were very friendly and knowledgeable. Jason took me out to snorkel and I saw fish, coral, and turtles. The sandbar was really cool and neat. I recommend Captain Bruce.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Claudia , 2021/05/22

We had a great time. The crew was exceptionally friendly. The boat was clean and they offered drinks and snacks.
I can’t say enough on the crew members they were very accommodating and made our trip extremely fun
The views were incredible. Snorkeling on the barrier reef was a one of a kind experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was worth it!!

Reviewed by: Quincy, 2021/05/22

We loved every second of this tour. Finding the boat was easy. Staff was so nice and friendly. The whole experience is one we won’t forget!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Elaina, 2021/05/17

Great tour. Absolutely breathtaking out there. Thank you Captain Bruce

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do!!!

Reviewed by: Lucky , 2021/04/29

A must do!!! The crew was awesome! We did not expect the snorkelling was gonna be that awesome. Got to see some sea turtles too.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, thank you so much for your feed back. We hope to see you soon again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kaneohe Bay

Reviewed by: Anastasia , 2021/04/28

I had a nice time, but I did not see a lot of turtles or beautiful fish , just 2 turtles.. The water was nice.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for you review. I'm sorry you didn't get to see much. Perhaps you'll see more on your next visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing. Best trip we had

Reviewed by: Alexander Rose , 2021/04/22

The crew was fun and easy going. One of the crew men urged us to do the snorkeling and it was one of the best decisions we made. While on the sand bar 3' of water) we saw a small fish that hung around our family the entire time. It was the coolest thing to experience. Then my 7 year old and I went to the reef to snorkel and saw several large sea turtle just a few feet away. It was awesome.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo Alexander Rose for taking the time to write your feed back, your input is greatly appreciated. We look forward to see you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sandbar, snorkel and turtle swim

Reviewed by: AJ , 2021/04/07

We saw plenty of sea turtles along the reef. The water was a bit cold, especially with the wind, but overall would recommend it. They provide small snacks and drinks. Also provide snorkel gear and two SUP boards.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, Thank you so much for having us. We look forward to see you again in the near future. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle watching

Reviewed by: Tani, 2021/04/04

This was a great excursion and would love to recommend to anyone

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you so much for the 5 star. We look forward to see you again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing service!!

Reviewed by: Mele otukolo, 2021/04/01

Thank you to crystal & alen for such an amazing time out in sea. Their service is amazing & we are already planning another family adventure again with you folks. Hopefully Allen & Crystal works that day again.
Crystal was very patient with our party of 11. Allen was so awesome working with the rest of the group on the boat. They both made everyone feel welcomed and safe, that enabled us all to enjoy our day.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, thank you so much for the 5 star review. We look forward to see you again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kanahoe sandbar experience

Reviewed by: Al M, 2021/03/28

The trip was awesome and memorable. Captain Allan and Ervin made everyone feel safe during the whole sandbar adventure.

We enjoyed walking on the sandbar and swimming near the edge and finding turtles amongst the coral reefs

I would definitely recommend getting Captain Bruce sandbar adventure

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, Thank you so much for joining our tour. We look forward to see your friends and your family to join us again in the future. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Diego , 2021/03/13

We had such an amazing time. All the staff were very helpful, attentive, and made the trip so much more fun. I will definitely do it again when back in Hawaii.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you so much for the wonderful comments of our staff. Our staff are professionally well trained. We look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories