Captain Bruce Kaneohe Sandbar Cruise with SUP, Guided Snorkel & Transportation reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Bruce Kaneohe Sandbar Cruise with SUP, Guided Snorkel & Transportation

Overall Rating

4.94 4.94 / 5

Reviews

124 reviews
Post a review

Awesome experience very friendly for beginners and kids

Reviewed by: Ying, 2024/06/14

That’s my best ever snorkeling experience with captain Bruce tour, our captain is captain Rowan, after I told him that my daughter and I don’t know how to swim and that’s our first time snorkeling. He helped us a lot. He guided us to the snorkeling area and helped us flow with the red banana. And all other two stuff guys are very helpful too. I very recommend this tour. Do not miss it lol!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day!

Reviewed by: Kim P, 2024/06/05

Everyone from the bus driver to the tour crew to the barge crew were fabulous!!! We saw sea turtles, snorkeled with the beautiful fish and went paddle boarding. What a great way to spend our day! Highly recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for choosing Captain Bruce and your fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear that you had an amazing day with us, and that everyone on the trip, from the bus driver to the barge crew, made your experience so enjoyable. We're so glad we could help you create those memories.

We appreciate your recommendation, and we hope to welcome you back on board again soon! A hui hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The experience is awesome!

Reviewed by: Jessie, 2024/05/25

The booking process was smooth and hassle-free. I appreciated the clear communication regarding what to expect, what to bring, and the safety measures in place.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for joining Captain Bruce, and the time for your review. We're thrilled to hear you had an awesome experience!

We appreciated you highlighting the booking process that it was as smooth as possible, and it's great to know our communication about what to expect was clear. Thank you for mentioning the safety measures we have in place - keeping everyone safe is a top priority for us. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Mahalo and A hui hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time, great crew!

Reviewed by: Chris A, 2024/04/27

Everything from the transportation from our hotel with our driver/tour guide Kaplan, to our cruise and adventure with Captain Jason and his crew were fantastic! They were knowledgeable about the reef and sandbar, and were clearly passionate about its care. Snorkeling was great, and they took great care of those that couldn't swim well or needed extra help with the equipment. The activities on the sandbar were fun, and the ability to chill on the boat and enjoy the provided snacks & beverages was nice as well. In the way back to our hotel, Kaplan stopped to let us get Malasadas at Leonard's! Highly recommended... 10 out of 10!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience from start to finish.

We are so happy to know Kaplan and Captain Jason were able to take great care of everyone in the group, both in and out of the water.
We're also happy to hear you enjoyed the activities on the sandbar and the snacks and beverages on board.
Mahalo for choosing Captain Bruce and for recommending us to others. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on board again soon! A hui hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well-thought out itinerary and extremely acommodating!

Reviewed by: Nicole C, 2024/04/24

What I LOVED:
- Available bins to store your items once on their boat [useful as a family member nearly dropped their phone overboard within seconds of sitting down]
- Included spam musubi and soft drinks
- PRESCRIPTION/Rx snorkeling gear [lifesaver as contacts are not an option while swimming and this is an amazing option that I never knew existed]
- Charismatic and protective crew [they keep the mood light and ensure you are well taken care of]

What I could change:
- Weather [though out of their control a lil extra sun wouldn't have hurt outside of a potentially bad sunburn]

Would I recommend this to others? Absolutely! I have already shared my positive experience with my extended family.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, thank you so much for choosing Captain Bruce and for taking the time to leave this fantastic review! Your feedback is very informational for us, especially as we work on adding more details about our amenities on the website for future guests. Definitely we will add the information that we have the prescription snorkeling masks for the guests! Again, Mahalo for your review, and we appreciate you recommending us to your extended family - that means a lot to us!
We hope to welcome you all back on board for another unforgettable Hawaiian experience soon!
A hui hou :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a great experience love everything of it.

Reviewed by: Monica Martínez , 2024/04/17

Loved the hole experience and the captain made it even better he went above and beyond to make this day great! He was very helpful the hole time very funny and explained everything very well.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha , thank you so much for choosing our tour and thank you for your 5 star superb review! Sounds like you had a really great time with our staff. Happy to hear that you got to enjoy the beautiful Kaneohe bay . Come back and visit us again . Mahalo !!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

10/10 experience

Reviewed by: Joseph, 2024/04/11

Had an amazing time with Captain Bruce on the Kaneohe sand bar cruise! From the get-go, Jeff, Josiah, and Karen were super kind and welcoming, making sure everyone on board felt at ease. They had snacks and drinks ready for us, which was a nice touch.

One of the highlights for me was definitely swimming with the turtles. It’s not every day you get to do that! And I’ve got to give a special shoutout to Karen. She was a real star, especially with my mom who's a bit uneasy in the water. Karen made sure she felt safe and enjoyed her snorkeling experience. Plus, the way she helped us retrieve my dad's forgotten sunglasses turned into a hilarious moment we all shared.

This trip is a must-do for families looking for a fun and memorable day out on the water. I’m already looking forward to my next trip with them. Absolutely a 10/10 recommendation!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Joseph, thank you so much for choosing Captain Bruce for your family trip, and for sharing this review! We appreciate your recognition of Jeff, Josiah, and Karen. Their attentiveness and welcoming demeanor are hallmarks of our exceptional crew, and we are grateful for their dedication to ensuring every guest feels comfortable and enjoys their time on the water. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to everyone, especially Karen!

Again, thank you so much for recommending our tour.
We look forward to welcoming you back aboard for another exceptional adventure in the future. A hui hou

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I love it

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/03/21

Captain Bruce demonstrated excellent professionalism throughout the activity, ensuring safety protocols were followed and providing clear instructions to participants. I really love it. Captain Bruce’s friendly demeanor and attentiveness to the needs of participants created a welcoming atmosphere, making everyone feel at ease during the activity.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for joining our tour and your fantastic review!
We're thrilled to hear that we made your experience enjoyable and safe. Our commitment to clear communication and safety protocols is something we take great pride in, and we're glad you appreciated it.

We are passionate about creating a welcoming environment for everyone on board, so we're happy to hear you feel at ease.

Mahalo for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon! A hui hou

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day!

Reviewed by: Steven, 2024/03/14

Great experience from pick up to a relaxing day at the beach enjoying Hawaii’s beautiful landscapes!!
Capt Bob and his crew were excellent.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We're so happy you joined our tour and took the time to leave a review.
We loved hearing that you had a relaxing day and enjoyed the beautiful Hawaiian scenery.
It means a lot to us that you mentioned both the sandbar tour and the pick-up service. We strive to make our guest's experience enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back to the bay again soon! Mahalo and A hui hou!

Captain Bruce Team

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing excursion & best crew ever!

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2024/03/01

We were so excited to go swim at the sandbar and are so glad we decided to take a boat. Excursion includes a ride to the sandbar with refreshments, crew-led snorkeling, and free time. Was nervous that I wasn't able to swim too well for the snorkeling portion but Jayson was awesome and floated me & three other people through the deep water. Great experience for folks of all ages and backgrounds!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for choosing Captain Bruce and sharing this fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear you had an amazing experience at the sandbar with our captain Jayson and crew, and also you felt comfortable during our tour. We would love to welcome you back on board and have a great time again soon! A hui hou :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had lots of fun! They were all really helpful and informative!

Reviewed by: Bonilla , 2024/01/15

We really enjoyed this trip! It was my husband birthday’

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for choosing our Kaneohe sandbar tour for your husband birthday. We are so happy to know that we could be a part of it. We hope that we can welcome you both on board again.
Happy belated birthday to your husband, and warmest wishes from all of us at Captain Bruce. Mahalo and A hui hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Lara, 2024/01/06

I wasn't sure what to expect but it was such a great time. Captain Z is awesome, Casey was knowledgeable and Jaime was a lot of fun to talk to. We were able to see turtles when snorkelling thanks to them telling us where to look. The water activities were fun and I got to Stand Up Paddleboard for a decent amount of time. We were supplied with plenty of snacks and drinks (hot and cold). Overall it was amazing and I would highly recommend.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, thank you very much for joining our tour and letting us know that you had a great experience with us. Marine life including turtles in Kaneohe Bay are very special for us. We are delighted that you spotted some of them while snorkeling! Thank you so much for giving us a five-stars, we hope to welcome you back aboard soon. A hui hou

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2024/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was awesome!

Reviewed by: KTA, 2023/12/06

No words can describe it.
It was a great experience

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for joining our tour and taking the time to review about our tour. We are so glad to know that you had a great experience with us. We hope to welcome you back on board again soon. A hui hou.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our favorite activity! Top notch!

Reviewed by: Jeff and Leah, 2023/11/11

Our experience with Captain Robin, Kay, and Sydney was absolutely amazing! Captain Bruce Kaneohe Sandbar Cruise is a must! My husband and I loved everything about the experience…friendly, knowledgeable, hands on staff who truly gave each of the participants support and care. This was my first time to snorkel and Captain Robin stayed by my side until I was ready to snorkel without any assistance. There was time to paddle-board and float. It was a wonderful experience and exceeded our expectations.
Leah and Jeff from Indiana, Mahalo

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for joining our tour, and for sharing your incredible experience with our captain and crew!
Your heartfelt words about your first snorkeling adventure with our captain and crew are truly heartwarming and it's a privilege to know that we exceeded your expectations.
Please join us again to rediscover the beauty of the Kaneohe Bay again. Mahalo and A hui hou

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The BEST CREW

Reviewed by: SMAB, 2023/11/11

The crew were THE BEST! They were all so lively, energetic, sweet, caring and considerate. One even individually assisted my Mom snorkeling and guided her til the end. I love this tour and will definitely be back 100%. Thank you guys for a wonderful time.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for joining our tour, and for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of our crew!
We are so happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful ocean excursion. To hear from our guest that they will definitely be back means a lot to us.
We would love to have you back on our tour again soon!

Thank you again for your kind words. A hui hou
Captain Bruce

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour!

Reviewed by: Ken , 2023/10/23

Highly recommend this tour! Awesome staff and best experience during our vacation in Oahu!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you so much for your feedback. Very pleased to hear the you had a great time at the sandbar. Mahalo for your support and looking forward to seeing you again !!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Taylor V, 2023/06/04

The team at Captain Bruce were very nice and accommodating and made it an overall really nice experience. This sandbar cruise was me and my boyfriend's favorite activity that we did during our visit. I liked that there was an option for transportation, so that made it easy to get to and from the destination without having to worry about directions and parking. Our driver was friendly as well and pointed out different local sights in different languages so that everyone could understand as well. There were many different groups of people and the crew made it comfortable for everybody to feel included. They provided drinks and snacks, and on the boat ride to the sandbar they gave some educational facts about the area and we saw turtles and other wildlife as well. When we got the the sandbar, there were plenty of paddleboards and floaties for us to use and we had more than enough time to enjoy the water. We got lots of pictures, had fun in the water and the views were great. I could tell that the others also had a fun time snorkeling too. On the way back, our driver even stopped for us to get some dessert as well. This would be an enjoyable experience for anybody, and I would definitely recommend it to my friends and family as well.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for this amazing review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Aloha...!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Bryanna , 2023/05/27

Great hosts and were really great about making sure that we could all see sea turtles :)

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for joining us. Please come again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent staffs and trip

Reviewed by: Daniel Liu, 2023/05/27

The staffs are very nice and professional. I booked the snorkeling + transportation package.

The driver Kaplan is so nice, he will introduce many hidden gem restaurants in Honolulu, and I tried the Yakitori restaurant right away after I finished the tour, the food is so good! Thanks to Kaplan.

For snorkeling, the staff will guide you when you are snorkeling all the time, for them safety is the priority. Also, they will provide some rice balls, energy bars, snacks, hot coffee, and fruits in the boat. You can always go by boat when you are tired.

Strongly recommendended!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your kind words and sharing your experience with the Capt. Bruce tour. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Aloha...!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome boat trip for the whole family

Reviewed by: Mina, 2023/05/11

This cruise was amazing, the whole crew were very nice and patient, the sandbar is incredible. I was traveling with my whole family: a toddler and elderly people and they all enjoyed it, fully recommend it!!

Reply from activity provider

We're very pleased to hear the whole family is having a great time at the sandbar. Thank you
so much for kind words and sharing your amazing experience with the Capt. Bruce tour.
Mahalo and Aloha...!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sandbar snorkel

Reviewed by: Tatyana , 2023/04/17

The trip was so much fun! The crew was amazing and there were so many things to do. I wasn’t going to snorkel but Captain Robin encouraged me, personally took me out to make sure I felt safe and comfortable and showed me multiple turtles! It was the most amazing experience! Thank you for an amazing time!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for joining us! We're pleased to hear your experienced with the Capt. Bruce tour. Aloha...!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Crew

Reviewed by: Lindsay, 2023/04/16

Even though we had some overcast we had a great time because of the amazing crew we had. The women were fun and knowledgeable. They guided you through every step amd were there to assist. We certainly will plan to go again.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of yours. We hope to see you again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Tour in Oahu- a must do!

Reviewed by: Alaskawayne, 2023/04/12

Wow! To start. They picked us up at our hotel to start. Then drive us to Kaneohe sandbar. Next a beautiful short boat ride to two barges loaded with sea toys. Beautiful shallow sandy beaches that are user friendly for small children to seniors. The reef snorkeling is easy, very well guided and watched in smaller groups. We swam with turtles. Captain Danny went out of his way to share local marine knowledge and make sure all got to see turtles. This was our second time- we also sent our daughter and grandchild. They immediately fell in love with the tour and friendly crew. They are like family to us now. We will always come and swim with the turtles only with Captain Bruce's Team.
We have tried others and this family prefers and highly recommends Captain Bruce's based on experience. I am a former diver for the Seattle Aquarium, researcher for Washington State Department of Fisheries, Rescue Diver, Assistant Dive Instructor Advanced Open Water and lastly Alaska Department of Fish and Game. Simply said "Captain Bruce's does it right". I send my grandkids there Thank you Captain Bruce's! We love you!!! My only request is that you start another tour a bit more advanced for experienced snorkelers.
Then sign up this family

  • On the way to Captain Bruce's

  • Gives you a hint of what the sandbar will be like. Same side of island

  • Otw to Captain Bruces

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and the compliments of yours.
We're very pleased to hear the whole family is having such a great time at the sandbar.
Your kind words are greatly appreciated and Mahalo for sharing your best experience with the Capt. Bruce tour. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Malika , 2023/04/01

This was a great experience. The Captain was very attentive (I didn’t know how to snorkel but he took the time to try and guide me) the staff was super helpful and informative. They provided snacks and coffee. The water was beautiful and we saw lots of turtles. I would highly recommend this tour you will love it.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the compliments!. A hui hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling Adventure

Reviewed by: MES, 2023/03/27

We had a great time and felt safe! The coffee was awesome!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for joining with Capt. Bruce tour. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great excursion!

Reviewed by: Donna J, 2023/03/13

The included transportation was excellent. On time and our driver gave us commentary on the scenic drive to the harbor. On the way back he stopped at
Leonard's Barkery and let us get donuts!
The snorkeling at the bay was excellent, we saw lots of fish and saw 3 turtles.
Afterward we had about an hour at the bay to use paddleboards and floaties.
I wish they had kayaks like some of the other companies.
Snacks included granola bars, apples, chips, and musubi.
A little pricey but enjoyable morning.

Reply from activity provider

On behalf of Capt. Bruce, we thank you so much for your support!
Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Mahalo and Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Awesome

Reviewed by: Rick Schaper, 2023/01/30

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The experience was wonderful, even though the day was not sunny and it was a little windy. The snorkeling was amazing, and we definitely saw a bunch of turtles! The boat ride was smooth, and the water was nice! Definitely recommend, it was totally worth it!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, thank you so much for your feedback.
We're happy to know you had great time and enjoyed snorkeling in Kaneohe Sandbar tour.
Our Staff are working so hard to exceed customer satisfaction.
Mahalo for the compliments. Please come back again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

You have to do it

Reviewed by: Yana, 2023/01/25

That’s probably one of my favorite things we have done in Oahu. Crew was awesome. Even if you don’t know how to snorkel they will make sure you are safe & get to enjoy snorkeling. We loved hanging out at the sandbar paddle boarding and playing ball. Saw plenty of fish and got to swim next to multiple turtles. Great experience!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, thank you so much for your feedback.
We're happy to know you had great time in Kaneohe Sandbar tour.
Mahalo for the compliments. Please come back again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experiences!

Reviewed by: Yang, 2023/01/11

I love the kid-friendly board, my children can enjoy snorkeling without swimming skill. Such a fun and amazing tour, wanna do it again!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your great review!
We're very glad to hear that whole family enjoyed tour.
We hope we can take you to the bay again.
Thank you very much, Ahuihou!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2022/12/25

I've done this tour year ago And I loved sandbar and had good memories with this tour .
So I brought my friend's couple to do this one. We did snorkeling and watched turtles and a lot of fishs! After that we enjoyed fun things including paddle , tube !
Chrystal and all ladies who help with us, team members all kind and professional!
Highly recommend

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for joining our tour and for your time for the review.
We are very happy that you and your friends had great time with us.
We hope you will come back to our tour again. A hui hou!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories