Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel Adventure & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel Adventure & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour

Overall Rating

4.26 4.26 / 5

Reviews

1625 reviews
Post a review

Great time, great fun, great crew.

Reviewed by: Captain Jerry, 2020/04/04

Great time, great fun, great crew. Nice boat for this trip and we enjoyed our time on water. Thanks for a great crew, and just a slow down time to enjoy Hawaii. I will do this trip again next time I'm here. Thanks again. Captain Jerry in Texas.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Choose Captain Bob's over it's competitors if you're hesitating! You won't regret it !

Reviewed by: Denise Wong, 2020/04/01

My my what can I say about Captain Bobs?! I have now gone on Captain Bobs Adventure 3 times now!! Everytime I have visited Hawaii, I have taken new friends and family to experience this amazing tour that is fun filled for all ages. The crew is exceptionally welcoming and entertaining and it is just one of the best experiences I've had in Hawaii.

You can either get picked up by their shuttle or drive yourself to the pickup spot and your day goes from about 10:30-3:00pm give or take. They continue the tour rain or shine so if the weather seems kind of gloomy, be sure to take a light rain coat! The first two times I went the weather was nice and sunny, however the last time I went there were scattered showers that were on and off throughout the whole tour. It did get a little chilly but once you're swimming in the water it's not so bad.

My favorite part of Captain Bobs is the Sandbar part where you get to play volleyball, stand in the middle of the ocean, and eat some delicious burgers, beans, and nachos after! You get to see a bunch of sea turtles swimming while on the way to the Snorkeling area and then you get to snorkel among the reef, Since it got kind of chilly after they even gave us hot chocolate/tea!

My recommendations are: bring sunglasses, towel, light rain jacket, water shoes, underwater phone case to take photos, snacks, and most of all, bring your A game to play volleyball!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/02/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and exciting experience!

Reviewed by: Wisconsin family , 2020/03/21

Thank you for a wonderful day, filled with great family memories! The staff was enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the area. The food was tasty! We enjoyed all the picturesque views from the sand bar. The snorkeling was safe. I was one of the last passengers in the water and I was still able to spot a great amount of marine life! Overall this activity was a family favorite!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Patrick from S.F. , 2020/03/08

Every aspect of the snorkel, Sandbar, volleyball, crew was amazing. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommended by Mr. Aloha

Reviewed by: Make Maka, 2020/03/07

We had an amazing time! Great all around experience and the crew was professional and very informative as well as tremendously fun to be around. Do not hesitate to jump aboard.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful adventures on the water!

Reviewed by: Dianne, 2020/02/27

The crew couldn’t have been more accommodating and fun! Lunch was delicious. Turtle spotting was fabulous. And the reef snorkel was an adventure to be remembered. Thanks for the memories!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Patty Smith, 2020/02/24

Had an amazing time. We had such a good time that we met them the next day to top the crew. We forgot cash.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour

Reviewed by: Doug Shuma, 2020/02/23

The crew was delightful. The boats were comfortable. The BBQ burger for lunch was a nice surprise. Time to practice snorkeling at the sandbar was perfect for my girlfriend. We saw a ton of turtles and then the snorkeling was fantastic!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Cew

Reviewed by: Timothy Hay, 2020/02/22

All crew are nice and friendly!!
It was a bit cold but lots of fun!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

If there is ONE snorkeling trip you do on Oahu, do this one!

Reviewed by: Vancouver Visitor, 2020/02/18

This is the 4th time our family has done this tour. It does not get old! Free pick up in Waikiki. Trip to the biggest sand bar in the world. Cheeseburger (or vegetarian!) lunch. Turtle watching. Snorkeling on private reef. Excellent hosting (with Jenner on the guitar). Great value. DO
IT!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Solid experience

Reviewed by: Kris, 2020/02/15

Food was ok but experience was great! Happy we chose to spend our day with this crew

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Brandi Bommarito, 2020/01/25

The crew was amazing and so was the tour. We honestly wanted to pay to do it again. The sandbar was so awesome and snorkeling was so much fun. It was the best experience we had on the island. The hamburger were great and hit the spot. Thanks again to our wonderful crew. It is a memory my whole family will cherish forever

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: Elaine, 2020/01/18

The tour was cool and a nice memory !
Walking and playing beach volleyball in the middle of the ocean ! Also saw lots of seaturtles !! Awesome ! Nice tour !

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Karla, 2019/12/27

Sandbar...not what we expected - but amazing!
Turtle watch...AMAZING!!!
Crew...SUPER AMAZING!
We would do this tour again and again any time we are in Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not worth the price...Good views, ok snorkeling. Sandbars was a let down. Not good for beginners and kids.

Reviewed by: prs, 2019/12/25

Views were great on the boat tour.
The sand bar activity was a total let down. Many of us were thinking they will start a volleyball game, but soon they were packing the net back! ?! There was basically nothing to do in the sand bar given that.

Then the turtle watching was fun. Then snorkeling was ok.
They do not help out beginners in any way. We asked them multiple times if one of them can come with us for helping out.. but no response.

Given the price, i would rate this ok overall..

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: M & M, 2019/12/15

We have been too the Island 6 times and decided to do this excursion. We had an awesome time. Mike was great and all staff very personable. Saw Mante Rays, turtles and lots of colorful fish. Our only complaint was that they should use better beef for the burgers. Over all we highly recommend this tour you will not be disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stop Reading Reviews

Reviewed by: Kent and Megan, 2019/12/14

You read the description of the tour first and now you want to make sure it's worth it.... Sandbar, volleyball, basic but tasty lunch (charcoal grill), turtle and manta spotting, and then snorkeling a coral reef. Is this something you want to do, surrounded by natural beauty?

Stop reading reviews and book the trip.

We did this tour on a rainy, windy day in 2018 and loved it! We came back and did it again in December 2019 and had a warm, sunny day and lucked out with really good visibility. The coral reef is just that; when you're underwater the live corals extend much beyond what you can see. It's not just a single live colony every once in a while like Hanauma. Where one huge colony/color/texture ends, others begin. That's what I wanted to see and this tour lets you get plenty of time in the water. The crew is always enthusiastic about the experience, has lots of fun themselves, and is highly attentive to passengers. We'll absolutely be back for a 3rd time.

Mahalo Captain Bob's crew!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good

Reviewed by: Eva, 2019/12/09

Due to the boat departing very late, the tide was a lot higher than what was expected to be. The staff were great however it all depends on the weather and if the boat is ready to leave on time. For the amount you pay, it's a pricy experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful

Reviewed by: Lisa , 2019/12/03

Outstanding Crew- excellent service...beautiful venue...fun packed day

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

exciting

Reviewed by: echizen, 2019/12/01

日本人のガイドのかたもいて、英語が苦手でも楽しく過ごせました。
サンドバーはとても美しく、バレーボールをみんなでやり、とても良い思い出ができました。

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/11/21

Excellent experience!!
Very beautiful place and our family really enjoy!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great crew and fun variety

Reviewed by: Steven, 2019/11/10

The whole crew was great and the variety of activities made this a great value. Snorkeling reef was a lot of fun. Even on a rainy day this is a great trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun in the sun!

Reviewed by: Emily, 2019/08/30

Nice folks running the show, met a couple people who are now on my FB friends. Hubby was able to get another burger! Playing Volleyball out in the middle of the Ocean is quite an XP. Plus, we get to see Turtles swimming around. So overall, a success!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day trip for the whole family!

Reviewed by: from SF, CA, 2019/08/25

Our group of 3 adults and 3 kids (12 yrs, 10, 10) took this trip a few weeks back during our vacation. We were not in the hotel zone so drove ourselves to Kaneohe Marina. Quick boat trip out to the sand bar, then to find honu (sea turtles) and finally out to a reef for some amazing snorkeling. Lunch (surprisingly delicious) was in there somewhere. Our crew was great - super nice, friendly and knowledgeable. Enjoyed hearing about Kaneohe Bay and the surrounding area. The only improvement I'd ask for is a bit more time out at the sandbar - felt like we could have stayed longer but other than that, everyone had a great time. We visit Hawaii every summer and try to hit new spots and new activities each visit. Our group agreed that we'd do this trip again if we could. Have fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of My Trip!

Reviewed by: Emily , 2019/08/23

this was such a fun excursion! I really loved the sandbar experience. It was absolutely beautiful and I would definitely do this tour again with my family. We were able to take our 10 month old and she enjoyed it. We also brought her infant floatie and let her swim at the sandbar. The staff were so friendly and provided great customer service. We originally kept trying to book this tour but saw no availability until I checked the day before leaving for Hawaii and I was so happy we got confirmed to do the tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best cruise tour on the island!

Reviewed by: Rese, 2019/08/13

This was the highlight of our family trip! Our 1 year old had a blast! The boat didn’t give me sea sickness so that’s a plus! They serve one of the best burgers I’ve had and they serve alcohol! From captain to the guy that was talking about safety and all the cool info he knew to the guy with the guitar... it was such a great experience! Will definitely come back when we come back to the island. Don’t hesitate and book your tickets! It’s worth every dollar!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a nice experience!!

Reviewed by: Quan, 2019/07/29

Fun, nice view from the sandbar, nice staffs, what a nice experience!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see the sandbar

Reviewed by: Steven, 2019/07/29

The boat ride to the sandbar and walking out on the sandbar was a great experience. Highly recommend it. Unfortunately, the weather could have been a little better as it rained for a bit. The crew were friendly and provided great commentary as to what to see and do as well as safety features. The snorkeling by the reef was another great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sandbar

Reviewed by: Darrin , 2019/07/20

Amazing location
Fantastic crew
Ohhhhhh and that water !!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Traveling from NH, 2019/07/20

Captain Bob’s Trip was awesome!! Top notch! It started with a beautiful catamaran ride and really fun energetic exciting crew! These people made you feel very safe and welcome and ensured everyone was having an exceptional time!
The sand bar and volleyball were breathtakingly beautiful and so much fun! Whether you are a professional volleyball player or a 5 year old, it all seemed to work out just as it should and everyone had an amazing time!
The BBQ was delicious, drinks, bar, everything was perfect! Grilling off the side of a catamaran on a sandbar in Oahu! What more could you ask for!
Seeing the turtles was amazing and the snorkeling was fantastic as well! Plenty of really nice equipment, instruction, safety always a priority with this crew! I would recommend this excursion and experience 100%! Also- a nice tour bus picks you up at your hotel or close to it if you need a ride! Fantastic transportation. Very well run and organized! We met some really nice people on the excursion and the crew was the best! Enjoy!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories