Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour

Overall Rating

4.31 4.31 / 5

Reviews

1745 reviews
Post a review

Great time!

Reviewed by: Allison , 2021/12/01

The ladies in the boat were great!! Great lunch and snorkeling

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Bob’s is awesome and must do!!

Reviewed by: Sura, 2021/11/26

Captain Bob’s is awesome and must do. Kids enjoyed snorkeling and Sand bar. The staff was excellent. Surely recommend this tour to all.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

2nd time

Reviewed by: RMC, 2021/11/20

Kaneohe Bay is on my favorite side of Oahu. What a view! Plus the opportunity to stand out in the middle of the Bay and look at that view, makes it all the more sweeter. Glad Captain Bob's can get you there, feed you and they allow plenty of swimming/snorkeling time. See ya next year!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT EXPEDIENCE!

Reviewed by: Dianna, 2021/11/17

The staff are very friendly and accommodating! We had a very good time! Though the weather was cloudy and almost like raining, the staff made the experience perfect for everyone. The lunch is simple (they served burgers) yet delicious!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfection worth every Dollar.

Reviewed by: Marvin , 2021/11/17

Hands down one of the best experiences in Hawaii. v
The entire crew and captain were very professional and extremely knowledgeable. I will definitely be recommending this adventure to all my friends and family!!!

  • Amazon views!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much FUN

Reviewed by: Holly, 2021/11/15

This tour was so much fun! We got to see so many neat fish and turtles, chill on the sandbar, boat activities were fun, yummy lunch, and great hosts. I would love to do this again one day!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Crew!

Reviewed by: Bo Jackson, 2021/11/10

Really enjoyed our day with the Captain Bob crew! Fun, engaging and professional.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!!!!!!

Reviewed by: William, 2021/11/08

One of the most amazing trips I’ve had in my life and I have to kick it off to the deck hands and Mike For making this an unforgettable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Day

Reviewed by: Kara, 2021/11/08

Lunch was delicious and the crew spread nothing but the best of aloha. The boat is extremely clean and equip with fun things to do!! We saw amazing turtles and the sandbar just had the most crystal clear waters.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best excursion we ever had.

Reviewed by: Jenica, 2021/11/05

I don't know where to start, the staff, the boat, the experience were all amazing and so much fun!

We got lucky with weather and it was a perfect hot day out (also it's October so it's not scorching out)
Staff is experienced, fun & down to earth. They've been running the boat for a long time and train the younger staff themselves & they're very friendly.
They also have a lot of knowledge about the whole island but just the boat.

We went straight to the Sandbar on crystal blue water which there's lots of deck space to watch. We had the sandbar all to ourselves, set up a net and because our cruise ended up having less people and all adults, we all easily fit in and played a few games together in the middle of the ocean, honestly how much better and dreamlike can it get. We had a blast while others if not playing walked around the sandbar and enjoyed the amazing views.

Had a much needed lunch complete with some wine & enjoyed the sun.

We then went turtle searching and saw quite a few hanging out and breaching, but honestly having time to just enjoy the breeze and take in the views was great. Again, weather dependant but on a good day, boat is sturdy, hardly any rocking, nobody even looked remotely sick.

Then the snorkeling is on a pop up reef, so you can swim around the entire thing. Again, weather dependant but for us, crystal clear waters, some colourful fish, a nice lap in the water.
100% take the fresh water once or twice rinse after the snorkeling it'll make the rest of your boat time feel much more comfortable!
They served hot chocolate after and it warmed our bodies back up.

We all finished snorkeling rather early so instead of cutting our excursion short, they took us on a scenic route and gave us more sights and time on the boat.

Take this cruise if you're into some vball and snorkelling, those things alone & you'll love this!!

  • Sandbar vball net going up

  • Sandbar vball net up

  • Views

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Nice and Clean Boat, Best Food and Best Crew

Reviewed by: Dohn Salvador, 2021/11/01

What else can you ask for: Very Nice and Clean Boat, Best Food and Best Crew. First time in a sand bar and snorkeling with lots of turtles is really worth it.
Come and try them out. If you want to see lots of turtles then you need to join them.

You will love them and I will definitely join them again on my next trip to Hawaii.

Dohn, Melissa and Mimi Salvador - from San Francisco

  • Kaneohe Sandbar Turtles

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Favorite Activity of the Trip!

Reviewed by: Anita W, 2021/11/01

Our favorite activity! The crew was outstanding and took very great care in all participants! Definitely take advantage of it all - the volleyball, the turtle watching and the snorkeling!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Matasa, 2021/10/28

This was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had on a vacation. It was priced right, just the right amount of time, super amazing staff/guides, and the best value all around. The boat ride is peaceful and quick. The sandbar was amazing and gives you enough time to meet others or practice your snorkeling skills. Seeing the turtles was so exciting and plentiful. The actual snorkeling was really the highlight. It was absolutely beautiful. If you visiting Honolulu this is a must-do activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It's great

Reviewed by: Luke, 2021/10/23

Perfect time. Sandbar was amazing. It was just super fun and relaxing. Snorkeling area was great too. A good amount of space to cover. Even some locals talk about this sandbar being a unique place.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip

Reviewed by: TB12, 2021/10/16

The staff was very friendly, burgers were delicious… would recommend to anyone visiting Oahu for a few days.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: NicolePhillips, 2021/10/04

So much fun an great service! The food was really good too!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not able to attend

Reviewed by: CMG, 2021/10/02

We were not able to attend, one in our group was ill. Unfortunately, no alternate dates were offered so we lost our money. We were fortunate that some of the other excursions we booked were willing to accommodate changes.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Andrew , 2021/09/29

We had a wonderful experience at Captain Bob’s Sandbar Cruise. The entire staff was very friendly and made sure everyone had a good time. The guy who gave everyone instructions (forgot his name) was very friendly and hilarious to listen to. We got to play on the sand bar for an adequate amount of time, had some burgers, saw some sea turtles, snorkeled, and saw a huge coral reef. Overall a very memorable and fun part of our trip. My only regret was because so much was included I forgot to bring my wallet so I couldn’t tip them! Maybe next time. Thanks for the wonder memories!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended

Reviewed by: Mae , 2021/09/22

I highly recommend this tour, felt very family oriented and chill. The staff on board were super friendly. The tour goes to three destinations, first the sandbar, then turtle watching, and snorkeling. Each stop was the perfect amount of time. I would definitely do this again if I had the chance.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great trip

Reviewed by: Yuehan, 2021/09/22

We had a great time. The crew member are helpful and friendly. The boat is clean and well maintained.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Armstrong , 2021/09/22

We had a great time, and the crew was awesome! Sandbar and snorkeling was very cool!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time, great location to snorkel.

Reviewed by: Joe V, 2021/09/21

We had the best time on the Captain Bob snorkel tour. The sand bar they took us to was awesome to just hang out and get acclimatted to everything. The food was good and the actual snorkel location was pretty great. All the equipment was sanitized and if you wanted you could use your own stuff or buy a set from them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect Sandbar Tour!

Reviewed by: Alex, 2021/09/19

I'm so glad we took this tour. It was one of the most fun and memorable moments of our Hawaii trip.
Sandbar was amazingly beautiful, the crew was friendly and fun, lunch was simple but delicious, and several sea turtles welcomed us... I can't think of anything bad about this tour because everything was perfect!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So fun!

Reviewed by: Samantha R, 2021/09/18

We had such an amazing time! We brought our 6 month old baby and still had a blast! The tour was so fun and the guides were amazing. I’d 100% recommend this to anyone

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

All Female crew was AMAZING!!!

Reviewed by: Krys C , 2021/09/18

So happy we chose Captain Bob’s sandbar and snorkel Tour … the crew, the views, the experience… it was all AMAZING!! The crew was very attentive and when we went out to snorkel, the water was a little choppy, they made sure to come over and help anyone that looked like they needed even a little bit of help! The water volleyball at the sandbar was also super fun!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour

Reviewed by: Gabby, 2021/09/13

Recommend it! The staff is amazing and the tour is overall awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day

Reviewed by: CLM, 2021/09/09

We had a fantastic day with Capt. Bob's crew. The boat was clean and well kept and it wasn't crowded. The staff was great in taking care of us and feeding us. All around a great trip. Will definitely book with them again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience all around - even with COVID-restrictions

Reviewed by: Ivona , 2021/09/07

We did a quick Hawaii trip from Dallas over the Labor Day weekend 2021 and only had 4 days, so our time for excursions was limited, however we are so glad we decided to do Captain Bob's Kanehoe Sandbar excursion.
The crew was super friendly and helpful, the boat ride was fun, with beautiful views throughout and the sandbar was an absolute highlight. The burgers & beer were good. During the snorkeling part we got lucky and see not only a ton of turtles (one swam right underneath us while we were snorkeling), but also a group of manta rays and of course tons of colorful fish.
Money very well spent for the value and experience received. If I could change anything at all, I would maybe spend a little more time at the sandbar itself and less time snorkeling, but that's just a personal preference - again, the tour was great. It could also be fun to offer this experience on certain days for adults only.

  • View of our boat from the Sandbar

  • Cool burger set up on the boat

  • Turtle sighting

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING EXPERIENCE

Reviewed by: jennifer, 2021/09/06

The people were so friendly and funny and made the whole day amazing! 10/10

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great crew

Reviewed by: Kel, 2021/09/05

Such a fun experience and with an awesome crew it was definitely a high light of the vacay.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories