Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

Overall Rating

4.25 4.25 / 5

Reviews

2556 reviews
Post a review

Romantic Anniversary Dinner cruise.

Reviewed by: T Chorn, 2020/03/29

We were overly impressed with the dinner cruise and had so much fun!!
It was nice to experience the dancing and music of several Polynesian islands. The sunset was amazing and the night view of Waikiki and Honolulu was pristine. So glad we decided to do this to celebrate our 37th anniversary!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth every penny.

Reviewed by: John bisby, 2020/03/13

You might be asking yourself if a sunset Cruise is worth it. I asked myself the same thing. I went with my wife and some family and had a great time. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The food was really good and had lots of options. The shows were very entertaining and some where quite funny thanks to the performers. Then the sunset was great. We went on a Wednesday and it was not many people. Felt almost like we had the entire ship to ourselves. Super fun experience overall.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Save Your Money, Pass om This!

Reviewed by: Bob, 2020/02/25

Didn't realize that there were different experiences for different groups on the same ship, I was under the impression that you would eat in a large dining room, like on a cruise ship, and then view a show. That was not the case for us, although it was for some. My wife and I arrived early and were shuttled to the lower bow of the ship... a smaller room with about 20 tables. The room was old and dirty. There was a sole guitar player, prior to eating, The food was fairly good... but the show that followed, performed by two amateurs and two waitresses, was painful to watch. On top of that, many of the diners got seasick. The rest of the ship has private parties and different shows. The whole experience was not what we expected and was quite disappointing to us and others around us... we all couldn't wait to get off the ship. A waste of $200+... save your money, or go to a Luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Tyler's, 2020/02/25

Great time would do it again. The only thing I would change is some of the items on the menu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't waste your money

Reviewed by: anetmarise, 2020/02/21

It was my friend's 60th birthday and really hoped someone one give her a little special attention. No one cared or made any attempt to personalize her experience. Do not waste your money.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A nicely organized cruise

Reviewed by: Soumdita , 2020/02/09

The experience was great. We loved the view from the ceiling and the Luau dance. One thing that could have been done better is the food choice (given the culinary taste that different people have). We didn’t like the fish and chicken served. Overall it was good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Lori, 2020/02/03

Dinner great waitress very overwhelmed. Service so so. Entertainment great as well

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well done!

Reviewed by: Tom, 2020/01/27

Boarding and seating were accomplished efficiently, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our wheelchair bound family member was accommodated.

The buffet appetizer table was disappointing over all. The fruit, pineapple, cantaloupe, and honeydew melon, was almost tasteless. The cheeses were non-spectacular.

Our server was efficient, and he worked very hard to serve multiple tables. The entire wait staff is to be commended for their courtesy, hard work, and good service.

The entertainers were very enthusiastic and tried hard to please the guests. The jazz performances were the best part of the entertainment. The "wedding of Mr. and Mrs. Aloha" was very cheesy.

The drinks were good, and the salad, lobster, and steak were all better than I had expected. The food was quite tasty, and servings were plentiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fireworks sunset cruise

Reviewed by: Cheryl Hansen, 2020/01/27

The guy next to me found a cockroach in his salad still alive and walking.
The next table the guy was totally drunk. Puking off side of boat and couldn’t stand up. I brought it to attention of server she just shrugged her shoulders snd kept serving him. It was a hugh distraction for me and couldn’t enjoy myself.
To be honest, I really want a refund. The only thing I enjoyed were the dancers.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Casual dinner and fireworks

Reviewed by: Ash, 2020/01/27

The overall experience was excellent, the people were friendly and the food was great, better than expected and they really fill you up with crab legs. Dislikes were bathroom locations being unclear and during fireworks people are everywhere to see the fireworks on one side of the boat and they smoke cigs in your face at the very top deck, gross.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Josh, 2020/01/26

Very convenient and pleasant cruise. Transportation was easy, staff was friendly, food was tasty, entertainment was entertaining. Very good date for a couple. Would reccomend to anyone looking for something to do for an evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fireworks Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Michael Gates, 2020/01/20

meal was very good, show was very good, tables for two were to close together.
We meat Japanese couple next to us that did not speak English
we talked all night with help of their phone translation app.
At the end of the night they were so happy someone talked to them, they invited
us to Japan to stay with them during the next Olympics

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun fun fun

Reviewed by: Frequent flier, 2020/01/18

Every detal covered.
Very friendly smooth sailing. Performers are multi talented and put heart into the shows.

Fun for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Sarojani , 2020/01/03

It was worth the money.
Loved the food and the performance
Just awesome

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: C.Bell, 2019/12/27

Our first Christmas Eve living in Hawaii and the Cruise and Service was outstanding. 7 course dinner was delicious and live entertainment was top shelf.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So rough they turned back.

Reviewed by: Former kamaaina, 2019/12/24

Food, pretty good. Waitress excellent, turned around rather quickly due to gale winds and waves. Spent most of cruise in an industrial harbor since it was too rough. So as far as a “dinner cruise”, we prolly could have just stayed tied up at the dock and saved gas. Same view.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great night!

Reviewed by: Paul Ewen, 2019/12/22

Beautiful views of Honolulu at night from the ocean, lovely food, and great, friendly atmosphere from beginning to end.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A good time memorable adventure

Reviewed by: Bill, 2019/12/03

It was a great sunset (as almost all are in Hawaii) meeting some new friends and having some fun with a lively crew. Would recommend for family entertainment as well as enjoyable for 'just the two' of you. It was great to have the pre-boarding show and get to meet some of the crew/cast. The food was good and the crew took very good care of of all.

  • The girls joining in a dance around the deck.

  • Some om the pre-boarding show cast.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a wonderful anniversary evening for my husband and I, we enjoyed the whole cruise, wonderful music and great company.

Reviewed by: Alaskans, 2019/11/20

This cruise was a highlight of our trip. We spent our 34th anniversary with delicious food, wonderful music and great company. we had our own private table but had wonderful people sitting next to ours. The live music was relaxing and entertaining throughout the dinner. Our waitress was very courteous and helpful. We hope to spend another anniversary in the future on the Star of Honolulu!! Quyana - Mahalo - thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great excursion!

Reviewed by: The Garza’s, 2019/11/18

What an experience!! Great food, entertainment and I think we got the best server!! Darian was amazing! Would do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outdated Boat, Overworked Staff, and Gross Food

Reviewed by: Tiffany, 2019/11/11

We had high expectations for this sunset dinner cruise, but unfortunately the Star Of Honolulu didn’t live up to any of them. First, the decor inside the boat is outdated. It looks like something from a senior ball in the 90s. When you get on board, you’re assigned a table. Luckily we had paid extra for our own table and were squished in the middle like a bunch of other people. There aren’t enough wait staff, so they’re constantly running around nonstop. The company should easily double their wait staff at bare minimum. Getting a drink turned out to be a pain and we were waiting 20-30 minutes every time for another drink. Want water? Good luck, it’s going to take a while. And the mai tais have guava in them and are gross. When you arrive your salad is sitting out on the table. A few large pieces of lettuce covered in some yellow dressing. No one ever told us what it was. Normally it would have been disappointing, but it was honestly the best food of the evening. Apparently they lead with their strength, which happens to be a pathetic salad. You can go out on the side and get some cheese and crackers between courses, but they go quick because everyone is hungry. We were looking forward to the lobster the most, but it was filled inside with eggs and honestly disgusting. The steak is smothered in a gravy and the mashed potatoes are partially died navy blue (why? Not necessary)! They were both disgusting And the potatoes were so dry I wondered if they were made from flakes. We weren’t even allowed to order our meat cooked. We were told by our waitress, “Medium rare will be good tonight for you, right?” And the dessert was so gross. It was a mango tapioca on sponge cake. Together, the texture was like bland baby food, only I’d never give it to my daughter. They have two pretty good Hawaiian guys for most of the trip, but then a drunk jazz guy and a lady came down and the music was shot. And during the fireworks, the boat was listing from so many people.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wouldn't go again

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2019/11/09

Expensive. Crowded. Tiny tables for 'private' couple. Which was crammed right next to another table. The fireworks were a whole five minutes long. Nothing extravagant. Food was delicious however.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go with the 5 Star!

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/10/27

They say to shoot for the stars...so why not go for as many stars as you can? Now that I've been on the three star and the five star dining options, I can honestly say that the five star is worth the extra money. Both dining options were enjoyable and both exceeded my expectations. The quality of the food and service were excellent on both cruises, but I preferred the extra elegance of the five star. From the private welcome reception with the captain on the upper deck, to the live Jazz music, and the less crowded dining room, the five star was truly a luxurious experience.

  • A delicious and lovely vegan option

  • A salad so pretty I almost didn't want to eat it

  • Private reception and hula dance

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very elegant experience with great food and amazing live music

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2019/10/26

I would definitely recommend the Five Star package if you're having trouble deciding which package to choose from! It was such a nice evening filled with an amazing meal, lovely live music and a great view of the sunset. This is definitely more of an elegant feel compared to the Three Star package if you're looking for something a little more upscale. You really can't go wrong with either one though, both are very nice and the food was exceptional on both!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Three star. I'm not sure I'd go again. And certainly not at that price.

Reviewed by: Yawn, 2019/09/01

Two premium drinks per person. This includes iced tea. "Premium" iced tea? Is the premium that it comes with ice?
Adult beverages are stupidly expensive.

We were much farther from the fireworks than I had hoped.

They lived up the the letter of their advertisement. They don't go beyond that.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfectly Elegant Evening

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/08/31

I highly recommend this dinner cruise! This cruise is unique in that it’s a formal dinner, a sunset cruise, and a luau all wrapped up into one delicious and entertaining evening. I’m vegan and always skeptical of trying vegan options, but this dinner far exceeded my expectations. The jazz band did not disappoint either. Good music goes a long way in my book, so I can easily say the saxophonist was actually my favorite part of the evening. The band happened to play one of my favorite songs and it made my day, the icing on the cake.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show!

Reviewed by: Tina, 2019/08/27

Very entertaining show; we had a great time! Wonderful dancers!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect night

Reviewed by: Kevin , 2019/08/23

It was a perfect night on the ocean as it was my wife’s Birthday so I decided to take her on the dinner cruise every thing was perfect , from the Lady and crew who picked us up from the hotel to the cruise staff ,food was great service was great and entertainment was fantastic I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a great night out

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: P & K Taylor, 2019/07/15

Staff were very welcoming from the very start of the cruise and the night just got better. Great food and fantastic entertainment. The staff couldn’t do enough for you. Would totally recommend to everyone. Wonderful way to celebrate my birthday.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice evening

Reviewed by: Carol, 2019/07/07

The sunset was gorgeous and service very good. Food was fine, entertainment ok.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories