Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

Overall Rating

4.25 4.25 / 5

Reviews

2602 reviews
Post a review

Decent

Reviewed by: Mia, 2021/12/01

The shuttle service was phenomenal. The food was decent 8/10. It was what we expected but not beyond expectation. The performance was good. The performers were enthusiastic.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing show and dinner

Reviewed by: Pmk, 2021/11/28

Amazing showing and dinner. We would definitely come back.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an entertaining evening

Reviewed by: Laura@HawaiianTravel, 2021/11/27

Took the Star of Honolulu dinner cruise with my sister to celebrate her birthday and we could not have asked for a more enjoyable evening. It was such fun with non-stop, great entertainment. You are well taken care of from start to finish. The entire crew and entertainers were top notch. The sunset and views of Waikiki from the ocean at night are so pretty - many fantastic photo ops. I would highly recommend this dinner cruise, you won't be disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Delicious Food!!!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2021/11/22

Went for our anniversary and it was the perfect evening. Some of the best crab I ever had, and the staff is full of light!! So many laughs and smiles on this cruise :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Shannah Mattox, 2021/11/17

Everything from start to finish was excellent!! We included transportation from our hotel to the cruise site also. Everything was clean from top to bottom. Customer service from our waitress was amazing. Karen was nothing short of amazing & she was super sweet. The food was good as well.

  • Dinner! All you can eat crab legs!!

  • Dessert

  • Mai Tai’s

  • The sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice but overrated

Reviewed by: Msjaide, 2021/11/13

I was expecting more.
The food was cold, specifically the lobster and not fully cooked. The clarified butter was also cold. Servers did not ask guests how they want their steak prepared. My steak was medium rare which I do not prefer.
The private table is much too small for so many pre-plated items on the table. Servers should be required to know the difference between red and white wine. Entertainment was awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super rush - bad service

Reviewed by: Disappointed, 2021/11/09

Dinner was ok, but the duration of the event was super short - We had the same Dinner Cruise 2 years ago and we had a great experience so we decided to do it again - big mistake! - It seems as the time for the event was cut short for at least 1 hour - We had to rush to eat our dessert and did not get a chance to drink the "cold" coffee" - The coffee got cold while waiting for the cream/sugar and for our other guests to get theirs since they run out of it. The Show (entertainment) was really downgraded as well comparing it with the last time.
Overall a "bad experience"

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best shows I have seen! Would definitely do this again!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2021/11/06

The crew and performers were amazing! The dinner its self was very good! Over all my favorite memory of our time in Waikiki! Dancing on a ship can be tricky tho! Lol

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Vacation experience

Reviewed by: Falawn , 2021/11/01

Dinner was good and the drinks and we just love the Hawaiian dancers and the entertainment they provided. Definitely a must do when visiting Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience!

Reviewed by: Okie4Sure, 2021/10/23

My Family and I didn’t really know what to expect with this cruise; we picked the deluxe lobster and steak dinner…. We were thoroughly impressed all the way with the deliciousness of the meal to the entertainment and the Polynesian culture dances! The service was impeccable, the people were very friendly and the cruise was beautiful especially the view of Diamondhead! I felt like the ship was in great condition and looked very nice too! I highly recommend!

  • Beautiful Ship!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome evening!!!

Reviewed by: Pete, Tina and fam, 2021/10/23

Excellent service, food and entertainment!!! I recommend this to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Another Ohana!, 2021/09/14

We celebrated my sisters 50th Anniversary on board. It was fantastic!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

She Said "Yes"!

Reviewed by: Annette, 2021/09/13

It was the last night of our Hawaii vacation and the cruise was beautiful! The food was very good and the sunset was just breathtaking! Our waiter, Denny, made sure we had everything we needed. He took care of all of his other tables with the same attentiveness. The performers were truly professional. And my daughter said "Yes" when her boyfriend asked her to marry him!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not made safe from Covid

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2021/09/08

The ship was very crowded, not 50% capacity as advertised, did not feel safe from Covid and left immediately after seeing how jam packed the ship was. We were led to believe that capacity had been reduced, there would be social distancing and there absolutely was none.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time!

Reviewed by: Ambra, 2021/09/06

We had a great time on this two hour cruise. Food portions weren’t huge but we’re delicious! Enjoyed the show and the music throughout. The package came with 2 drinks per person, and extra drinks were available for purchase. My only complaint would be the bus transportation - for some reason, our trip to the boat took forever…I think we were waiting on passengers that weren’t at the pick up spot, so this somewhat delayed our arrival. Otherwise-great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Memorable night for my in law’s anniversary celebration

Reviewed by: Sol, 2021/08/28

It was my in law’s anniversary and we took them and our kids to this Sunset cruise. A few of our party were easier to get motion sickness but since this cruise is massive enough so we all felt great throughout the cruise. The sunset sceneries with the Waikiki beach as the back drop was very romantic while we also get up close to Diamond Head for great pictures opportunities. The food was great and even the kids like it. The entertainment after dinner has a great celebration atmosphere with us standing and dancing a little bit at the end. We took home the photo package and it was worth it to capture the memorable night. The only item that I would suggest to improve is the wine selection on the red wine section. There are two complementary drinks per person with good value. We would surely go back for this again next time when we visit Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset

Reviewed by: LME, 2021/08/28

The crew was exceptionally friendly. The entertainment energetic.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wouldn't upgrade

Reviewed by: Tracy, 2021/08/26

Cold lobster. Waitress had to service too many people at once so getting drinks, etc took forever, and had to remind her a few times. Me and my mom both upgraded for photo and window seat, however they had the seats set up so that only one person was looking out the window and my back was to the window. We had tables with guests on both sides of us within 2 feet away. We were sandwiched in like sardines. So much for 6 ft covid rule. The champagne was not champagne but instead some non-alcoholic drink and they refused to give real champagne with alcohol. That was deceptive since I expected champagne plus 2 drink tickets for the upgraded tickets. Even though I paid an extra $30 for window seat and photo and my mom paid $30 for window seat and photo, they only gave us one photo, even though we live in different states. They argued about it when we asked for the other photo, and simply refused to give us each a photo. Consequently only one of us got the photo, so that was a rip off. I would not have upgraded since only one of us got a photo and one of us got to look out the window. I essentially threw my upgrade of $30 in the trash and got nothing for my money since I didn't get a photo and my back was to the window. They do not ask you how you want your steak cooked, so you get it however it comes. They do not provide doggie bags so what you can't eat goes in the trash. The mai tai was terrible, overly sweet. They closed the windows halfway through the cruise so it wasn't really like being on the ocean.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great dinner cruise!

Reviewed by: THav, 2021/08/24

Food was fabulous and so was the entertainment! Everything was professionally handled and guests were truly welcomed by the courteous staff. Couldn't be more pleased with this awesome dinner cruise!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Server Daniel was outstanding… food amazing

Reviewed by: Tom, 2021/08/23

Food was amazing … very good … but Server Daniel was outstanding… I recommend this activity…for sure good memories and beautiful pictures

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely AMAZING!!!

Reviewed by: James Tindol , 2021/08/21

The Star of Honolulu was just simply AMAZING!!! Our server Sabrina was extremely nice and attentive to all of our needs. The assistant manager Robert was very nice and helpful when we didn’t receive our bottle of wine that we ordered. He took care of it immediately and brought it to our table. It was closer to the end of the cruise so we ended up sharing the bottle with our neighbors at the next table. We ended up booking this dinner cruise over a luau since we heard such good things about the Star of Honolulu dinner cruise and I’m so glad we did. The dinner show was absolutely amazing and entertaining. I will definitely book this cruise again next year when we come go back to Hawaii. Thank you to all your staff and crew for making it an unforgettable evening

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Peaches, 2021/08/21

This cruise was very nice and will do it again.
The price was reasonable and the people were very friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner

Reviewed by: Stan and Sandi, 2021/08/20

We really enjoyed the cruise
The entertainment was fun the sunset was amazing
The service could have a little more attentive
Other than that it was enjoyable and very entertaining

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Parties separated

Reviewed by: Colorado, 2021/08/18

Yea, we were pretty upset because we were a party of 8 and paid the little extra to be by the window area. They split our party in 2 tables of 4 so we had to decide who sat with who. Then we got our food first and they were still waiting another 20 mnts. The service sucked from the server with some Spanish accent. Not attentive. We even asked her if we could move our tables together and she just acted dumb and didn't even go get a manager to help us out. I truly didn't enjoy being separated from my kids as we came together to spend our dinner together and we saw a big table in another area of the same floor and just don't understand why we couldn't have sat together or served food at the same time. We finished our meal about 30 minutes before they did because they had to keep waiting for the next course. I felt bad.
The Hawaiian dancers were nice but we were all so upset that we truly didn't have a good time. The food was okay for steak and lobster.
Where they take your picture is in front of some plain white wall. No scenery or background that was nicer.
I would choose another dinner cruise if I were you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by: S-C, 2021/08/15

Beautiful view. Wonderful show. Delicious food. Great hospitality.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show good food

Reviewed by: Alissa, 2021/08/14

My husband and I chose to book this as our date night while we were on vacation with our family while my MIL stayed at the hotel with the kids. We also purchased the shuttle with our tickets and we're staying at the Hilton Hawaiian Village...we almost, along with another couple missed the bus because the front desk at the hotel told us the "bus stop" was outside the hotel..and we were at the literal "bus stop" for The Bus, but we luckily called in enough time to realize it was in the tour group stand below the hotel (crisis averted). The bus was quick and getting onto the boat was quick and painless. They sat us right always and appitizer were at the tables waiting. Our server was prompt in taking drink orders and bringing food. Food was good! We were NOT expecting a full lobster lol and had to figure out what we were doing with it. We weren't quite sure about the show at first as the announcer was a little old/shaky but as it progressed the show was great. I especially appreciated that they had dancers at different parts of the dining room Floor so no matter where you sat you could see it. This was a racier show with a little more suggestive hip rolling than the Luau we attended earlier in our trip but we thought it was great! There was an amazing rainbow over Diamond head and the sunset was beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect for our last night in Oahu

Reviewed by: Rosario V., 2021/08/12

Excellent food, great entertainment, impeccable service from bus pick up to dinner up to drop off. I booked this dinner cruise in lieue of luau which was already sold out. I’m so glad that we did the sunset cruise instead. We had a great time and just perfect for our last night in Hawaii. Will definitely be back again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waiter had to many tables so we couldn’t even get a refill on water. Will not go again.

Reviewed by: Charles Martin , 2021/08/07

Waiter had to many tables couldn’t even get refill on water. Would not book again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We’ll put together.

Reviewed by: Big yo, 2021/08/04

This cruise was the best attraction since a luau was not available. The singing, the food and entertainment was great. I would do this cruise again in a hear beat.

  • Enjoying the entertainment.

  • Enjoying lobster.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun fun and more fun

Reviewed by: Mahalo, 2021/08/04

We enjoyed the crab and steak. The show was awesome and we all danced. We will come again next trip

  • Great memories

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories