Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

Overall Rating

4.25 4.25 / 5

Reviews

2379 reviews
Post a review

A good time memorable adventure

Reviewed by: Bill, 2019/12/03

It was a great sunset (as almost all are in Hawaii) meeting some new friends and having some fun with a lively crew. Would recommend for family entertainment as well as enjoyable for 'just the two' of you. It was great to have the pre-boarding show and get to meet some of the crew/cast. The food was good and the crew took very good care of of all.

  • The girls joining in a dance around the deck.

  • Some om the pre-boarding show cast.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a wonderful anniversary evening for my husband and I, we enjoyed the whole cruise, wonderful music and great company.

Reviewed by: Alaskans, 2019/11/20

This cruise was a highlight of our trip. We spent our 34th anniversary with delicious food, wonderful music and great company. we had our own private table but had wonderful people sitting next to ours. The live music was relaxing and entertaining throughout the dinner. Our waitress was very courteous and helpful. We hope to spend another anniversary in the future on the Star of Honolulu!! Quyana - Mahalo - thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great excursion!

Reviewed by: The Garza’s, 2019/11/18

What an experience!! Great food, entertainment and I think we got the best server!! Darian was amazing! Would do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outdated Boat, Overworked Staff, and Gross Food

Reviewed by: Tiffany, 2019/11/11

We had high expectations for this sunset dinner cruise, but unfortunately the Star Of Honolulu didn’t live up to any of them. First, the decor inside the boat is outdated. It looks like something from a senior ball in the 90s. When you get on board, you’re assigned a table. Luckily we had paid extra for our own table and were squished in the middle like a bunch of other people. There aren’t enough wait staff, so they’re constantly running around nonstop. The company should easily double their wait staff at bare minimum. Getting a drink turned out to be a pain and we were waiting 20-30 minutes every time for another drink. Want water? Good luck, it’s going to take a while. And the mai tais have guava in them and are gross. When you arrive your salad is sitting out on the table. A few large pieces of lettuce covered in some yellow dressing. No one ever told us what it was. Normally it would have been disappointing, but it was honestly the best food of the evening. Apparently they lead with their strength, which happens to be a pathetic salad. You can go out on the side and get some cheese and crackers between courses, but they go quick because everyone is hungry. We were looking forward to the lobster the most, but it was filled inside with eggs and honestly disgusting. The steak is smothered in a gravy and the mashed potatoes are partially died navy blue (why? Not necessary)! They were both disgusting And the potatoes were so dry I wondered if they were made from flakes. We weren’t even allowed to order our meat cooked. We were told by our waitress, “Medium rare will be good tonight for you, right?” And the dessert was so gross. It was a mango tapioca on sponge cake. Together, the texture was like bland baby food, only I’d never give it to my daughter. They have two pretty good Hawaiian guys for most of the trip, but then a drunk jazz guy and a lady came down and the music was shot. And during the fireworks, the boat was listing from so many people.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wouldn't go again

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2019/11/09

Expensive. Crowded. Tiny tables for 'private' couple. Which was crammed right next to another table. The fireworks were a whole five minutes long. Nothing extravagant. Food was delicious however.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go with the 5 Star!

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/10/27

They say to shoot for the stars...so why not go for as many stars as you can? Now that I've been on the three star and the five star dining options, I can honestly say that the five star is worth the extra money. Both dining options were enjoyable and both exceeded my expectations. The quality of the food and service were excellent on both cruises, but I preferred the extra elegance of the five star. From the private welcome reception with the captain on the upper deck, to the live Jazz music, and the less crowded dining room, the five star was truly a luxurious experience.

  • A delicious and lovely vegan option

  • A salad so pretty I almost didn't want to eat it

  • Private reception and hula dance

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very elegant experience with great food and amazing live music

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2019/10/26

I would definitely recommend the Five Star package if you're having trouble deciding which package to choose from! It was such a nice evening filled with an amazing meal, lovely live music and a great view of the sunset. This is definitely more of an elegant feel compared to the Three Star package if you're looking for something a little more upscale. You really can't go wrong with either one though, both are very nice and the food was exceptional on both!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Three star. I'm not sure I'd go again. And certainly not at that price.

Reviewed by: Yawn, 2019/09/01

Two premium drinks per person. This includes iced tea. "Premium" iced tea? Is the premium that it comes with ice?
Adult beverages are stupidly expensive.

We were much farther from the fireworks than I had hoped.

They lived up the the letter of their advertisement. They don't go beyond that.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfectly Elegant Evening

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/08/31

I highly recommend this dinner cruise! This cruise is unique in that it’s a formal dinner, a sunset cruise, and a luau all wrapped up into one delicious and entertaining evening. I’m vegan and always skeptical of trying vegan options, but this dinner far exceeded my expectations. The jazz band did not disappoint either. Good music goes a long way in my book, so I can easily say the saxophonist was actually my favorite part of the evening. The band happened to play one of my favorite songs and it made my day, the icing on the cake.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show!

Reviewed by: Tina, 2019/08/27

Very entertaining show; we had a great time! Wonderful dancers!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect night

Reviewed by: Kevin , 2019/08/23

It was a perfect night on the ocean as it was my wife’s Birthday so I decided to take her on the dinner cruise every thing was perfect , from the Lady and crew who picked us up from the hotel to the cruise staff ,food was great service was great and entertainment was fantastic I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a great night out

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: P & K Taylor, 2019/07/15

Staff were very welcoming from the very start of the cruise and the night just got better. Great food and fantastic entertainment. The staff couldn’t do enough for you. Would totally recommend to everyone. Wonderful way to celebrate my birthday.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice evening

Reviewed by: Carol, 2019/07/07

The sunset was gorgeous and service very good. Food was fine, entertainment ok.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Catherine Yu, 2019/07/02

This was an amazing experience! I went with a group of friends and we all loved the environment of the cruise ship. The food was pretty amazing and the live jazz performance was very enjoyable. My favorite was definitely the Polynesian live dance performance. This 30-minute performance was the highlight of the night. The dancers wouldn't just perform, they would interact with the audience by giving high fives, springing peace signs at unexpected times and made our corner of the ship laugh the entire time. If you get seasick easily, I would recommend taking some kind of precaution/medication (the servers were able to provide some medication, too) since a few of my friends did start feeling queasy for a little bit and had to spend some time on the lower deck. However, don't let motion sickness keep you from the cruise! It was still altogether wonderful time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great food! Great entertainment! Great scenery! Great service!

Reviewed by: Ortiz Family, 2019/06/20

The sunset dinner was truly a great experience. Everything was very well organized. We were served champagne to begin with and helped ourselves to fresh cheese, crackers and fruit trays. And those were left out for everyone the entire trip, which is beneficial when you have kids who might not like the whole dinner but still want to eat something. The entire dinner was fresh and tasty, and plentiful. Beverages were refilled as necessary but there weren't a lot of soda options. The sunset was beautiful. You just have to keep watch for the ideal time to take pictures of your experience. The entertainment was great, with music and dancers. Great experience overall!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Entertained beyond expectation

Reviewed by: Phind, 2019/06/19

Meal was so wonderful! Even the veggie hamburger provided us was wonderful!
The dancers were so amazing! And entertaining! Entertained to well past docking!
If I had a suggestion it would be for the website to further explain, or make it easier to order the veggie burger.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Will WORTH the MONEY

Reviewed by: Satisfied Guests , 2019/06/04

The food was exceptional especially considering the number of people being served. The staff was polite and very accommodating. The young entertainers interacted with the crowd and performed in their traditional attire. We came back to the port with a bang, singing and dancing. I would definitely recommend this cruise. My only disappointment was that the harbor/tower area used to be filled with shops. It was our last night on the island and it would have been nice to purchase those last minute sovereigns. Now it’s just empty with a few eateries.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent sunset dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Laurie Torchia, 2019/05/30

This was a GREAT sunset cruise - food was good, drinks were good (and they did not even make you give in your drink tickets so not trying to get more out of you) and the show was good.

Just one thing to improve upon:
1. Seating took way too long. You know who is coming so you should have assigned seating and it should be really quick - not making people stand in stairwell for 20 minutes just to get seated

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect 25th Wedding Anniversary Celebration!

Reviewed by: Mark & Selena Chino, 2019/05/23

The Star of Honolulu sunset cruise, was awesome! My husband surprised me with the dinner cruise to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Once on board, we met and had a picture taken with the Captain. We visited with some of the staff, they were fascinated that we were American Indians. Once the cruise set off, appetizers were served and it was the beginning of the amazing 7 course dinner. Each course was better than the previous dish served. The serving staff were fantastic, took care of any needs or questions we had. The entertainment was extraordinary, from the piano player, Hawaiian dancers to the beautiful singer at the end. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would recommend this to anyone who wants to do something very special for any occasion.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic from beginning to end

Reviewed by: Beth, 2019/05/22

From the moment that we first interacted with staff at the shuttle bus pick-up, the whole package was seamless. Staff made the bus ride and boarding so easy that we just had to be swept along and enjoy the experience. The management on the boat was also superb, but kept personal. The Friday night fireworks just completed a beautiful night.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience and well organized show

Reviewed by: Gino, 2019/05/06

Food service was somewhat quick, but understandable and good. Drinks did take some time and got confusing but the wait staff remembered and was very organized. Bartender could have used more help or another bartender to handle the people capacity. Overall great service and wonderful show!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely a 5-star, money well spent experience at the premium top deck!

Reviewed by: Katie Cheong, 2019/05/05

Definitely a 5-star, money well spent experience at the premium top deck! From the service, music, accomodations, food to the beautiful sights!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good food

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2019/04/14

The food was very good. You get about 30 mins between the food and show to go to the top and see the sunset. Good spot for pictures. Then you come back down for dessert and a show, the show was okay. After that they have dancing you dont have to participate if you do not want to. You can pay for additional drinks.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good dining experience and good view of Waikiki

Reviewed by: Charles, 2019/03/23

The boat was a little bit too crowded, but the dinner experience and the view of Waikiki were great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruise of a lifetime

Reviewed by: Scott, 2019/03/02

We loved it. They were very nice to us on board. Thank you again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: PennyD, 2019/02/27

We booked the sunset dinner cruise as a last minute activity for the final day of our trip. We booked the buffet tickets and made our own way to and from the venue. What a fantastic time! The food was great with a good selection, the live music and entertainment was fun and engaging, and the sunset views were spectacular. This was an excellent way to round off our trip and we would do it again in a heartbeat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not so good for causal dinner one

Reviewed by: Harish, 2019/02/25

They put us in small cabin in 1 st floor and it was not expected.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Five Star was Perfect! Will be back for sure!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/02/22

Worth it! I was always skeptical about going on dinner cruises and did not know what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised. To start off, the crew really does go above and beyond to ensure a perfect experience. You start the evening off with a Bellini toast and some delicious appetizers on the top, back deck where there is a ukulele player and a hula dancer. From there they take your party to your table on the inside top deck of the ship. Throughout the course of 7 course dinner, which was amazing, there are musicians playing. The music was perfect for dinner. Not too loud but made for a very enjoyable, entertaining evening. I would recommend the 5-star dinner for couples more than families with children. While it is enjoyable for the whole family, the ambiance make for an exceptionally romantic and memorable evening in Hawaii with that special someone.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful cruise!

Reviewed by: Melissa , 2019/02/20

First time I went on a boat, first time eating lobster, first time in Hawaii! Everything was perfect from A to Z!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Jt & lt., 2019/02/14

We enjoyed the Dinner cruise very much.The food and entertainment were great.Right from the transport pick up everything very well organised.It was a beautiful evening and lovely to see Waikiki from the oceon,I also saw a Whale jump right out of the water for the first time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories