This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Cruises, Sailing & Boat Tours in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.70 4.70 / 5

Reviews

4891 reviews

Voyage to Niihau & Na Pali Coast - Premier Snorkel Cruise by Holo Holo Charters

What a wonderful trip from beginning to end!

Reviewed by: Paul K., 2014/12/11

What a wonderful trip from beginning to end! This was an amazing excursion. It started off early in the morning but I was delighted to see a captain full of energy and passion for his career. Even though the winds caused concern for our safety up the Na Pali coast, he made sure to kick start the trip with high spirits as we sailed off the dock at sunrise. The water was very calm and we got the chance to meet the crew over breakfast and coffee before our first sighting of dolphins! For the entire trip – even when the waters got rough – the crew was always interested in talking to us and telling us stories about the island. You could tell that they really enjoyed connecting with everyone which made our experience that much better. Who wants to be on a boat where the crew only care about getting the job done? – No one! Thus, this was a refreshing surprise. After going up the Na Pali coast we made our way to Nihau and snorkeled off the boat. The lunch served included sandwiches, veggies with dip, pickles and pasta salad. Of course, who can forget the wine and beer served on our way back to port? Overall, this was a wonderful trip with great company and we will definitely recommend to our friends and family. The next time we travel to Kauai we plan on cruising with Holoholo at sunset. Thank you Holoholo!!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for choosing Holo Holo Charters! We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time and are more than happy to share our beautiful island scenery with all. Our customer are the best. Please feel free to leave a comment on TripAdvisor, Yelp and Facebook. Aloha and Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Cruise with Dinner & Cocktails by Holo Holo Charters

Amazing views and wonderful crew

Reviewed by: Tony & Bianca, 2014/09/27

I spent a consideral amount of time researching some of the different options for sight seeing tours of the Napali Coast and found this to have the best reviews and all of them were 100% accurate. My girlfriend and I had been very active on our trip to Kauai up to this point and looked to this as a relaxing evening which it was. The Caiptain (his name escapes me) was very funny throughout the trip making sure to update us when we were near items of interest and was also a very skilled navigator, at one point situating the stern of the boat under a waterfall for people who wanted to go under it.

The two deck hands (I am not sure the proper title) were very attentive to all of the guests aboard throughout the entire trip. I forget the gentelmens name that I spoke with but he stood with me for some time explaining to me much of the history of the Napali Coast as well as what it has been like growing up on the Island which made my experience even better. The crew does whatever it takes to make sure you have the best experience possible and my tip to you is to tip them accordingly, they do a great job and deserve it!

I highly recommend this to anyone interested in having an informative relaxing experience. Also, the food was very good and the crew made sure that you always had a drink in your hand.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Lava Ocean Boat Tour - Daytime, Sunrise & Sunset Active Lava Viewing

Just amazing. Once-in-a-lifetime Experience!

Reviewed by: George, 2018/06/11

This was by far the most amazing boat ride I ever had.

We met at the harbor well before the sunrise, and after the brief safety instruction, we boarded on this massive speed cruiser. We took off and went from 0 to the top speed in minutes in the pitch darkness (I swear the captain had a night vision), and it literally felt like we were on the secret 007 mission. The ride was wet and bumpy, and my arms got tired from holding on to the bar. Bring a rain poncho if you don't want to get wet from the ocean spray. If you are prone to the sea sickness, take a motion sickness pill prior to the ride.

After about 45min of riding, we started seeing a glow in the distance. As we got closer to the ocean entry point, the lave heat started warming our skin although we were at least 100 yard away from it. The captain scooped a sea water from where we were into a bucket, and went around the boat so we could put our hands in the bucket and feel the temperature. It's amazing how the lava could heat up so much ocean water around the entry point.

The ride back was peaceful and we enjoyed the nice view of the volcanic cliffs with a few caves along the way.

Overall, this was a great tour. Not too many people can say that you witnessed the creation of the newest land on the earth. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Super trip - cruise and snorkel

Reviewed by: Venky, 2017/08/01

The day was spent in a most enjoyable way.

We started on time and went to first snorkeling spot after about one hour cruise. Since we left at 700 am, (early in the morning) they gave us good breakfast. The water is blue and beautiful. We saw some flying fish while sailing which I got amazed. They have wings(?!), come out of water, fly for about three feet above the surface and go into water. It was amazing to see a fish with wings. They clearly flew and not just jump in and out of water.

The captain gave a 5 min lesson on snorkeling 101. It was full of very helpful tips and this greatly helped to snorkel without fear. The gears were provided. By the end of the day I became an expert. This is an example, how useful the people are to help you whatever you need in the trip.

The snorkeling part was very enjoyable and after about one hour, we were allowed to jump into the ocean from the second level of the cruise ship via a slide. That was so cool.

Next we went to a second place and we got to see lots of turtles. Some turtles came to top of water, so you can see them from the boat. We snorkeled and also jumped into water from the second level of cruise via slide for about one hour. It was fun. Lots of foods, drinks were given. We returned by 200 pm. What a day to spend.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Snorkel Cruise with Turtles Sightings Guaranteed!

Highly recommend! Beyond expectations!

Reviewed by: Matt & Melina, 2014/11/06

My fiancé and I booked this during our 6 day stay in Oahu. I cannot say enough good things about our experience. Jacob picked us up promptly from our hotel in Waikiki right on time and took us to the boat. The entire staff was very friendly and attentive right from the start and the entire way through. They instructed us on the ins and outs of snorkeling and made sure we were comfortable. We snorkeled and saw all the fish and sea turtles our hearts desired within a few feet. It was amazing! Barry hung out in the water with us the entire time indicating different sights and making sure all was safe. After a while we climbed aboard and David had prepared a delicious lunch of Mahi Mahi and chicken wraps, as well as macaroni salad and chips. The drinks were superb as well. After lunch, we set sail for the rest of the trip, viewing Waikiki and Diamond head as well as the rest of the island. The guys offered much advice on local eateries and activities, and answered any questions that we had with genuine interest. It isn't often that I post reviews, but these guys truly made our day, if not our trip. I've never felt so comfortable and impressed by any charter group before. BOOK THIS NOW! You honestly will not regret it. We are thinking about booking another trip with these guys before we leave.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Submarine Tour by Atlantis Adventure (from Hilton Pier)

First timers.

Reviewed by: Christina Wyatt, 2017/02/20

We loved everything. I am the biggest water and animal lover. The submarine was a great experience for us. Even though the reefs are all gone and they had boats, plans, and different materials placed as artificial reefs it just shows you how important our reefs are for sea life. It is a great learning experience to see the difference. How life is under water now after the way man has destroyed it and the ones who care enough to try to recover a small percent of what it would be if it had been left alone before people destroyed an environment for there own selfish reasons. Before booking I did read reviews of others who experienced the submarine tour before I decided to reserve our tour. Even though a lot of people stated they expected more and only gave it 1 and 2 stars I still decided to take the tour. I read Atlantis used partial of the proceeds to rebuild the reefs. If more people got together and helped rebuild what we all have destroyed then maybe there will be more fish and more variety everytime we come back. People should respect the homes of others, where animals live, and give to it instead of always taking. It was a great experience, it taught us to respect the beautiful nature in our world, to help rebuild, and stop destroying before there is nothing left to experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Cruise with Dinner & Cocktails by Holo Holo Charters

Our wonderful trip to the Na Pali Coast

Reviewed by: Bernadette & Patrick, 2014/11/17

We had the best trip you can get to the Napali Coast! The weather did it's best to blow away the clouds, but also made the sea rough so we got lots of fun in the waves and went wet in the front of the boat. After half an hour we were completely soaked and decided to go to the back were it is almost dry. There you also have a god view but it is rather bumpy than on the front of the boat. We had a nice and sunny view along the coastline of Kauai. Compared to our trips by helicopter and car the boat trip is the most relaxing way to see the coast and for us the most impressive. The height of the cliffs of Na Pali Coast is best seen from the bottom. From up in the air you'll get a great overview but you wouldn't see the whole scenery. The buffet on board was well organized and we had some delicious snacks on our tour. The crew took very good care of us all along the trip and offered very often to take pictures of us in the beautiful scenery. Nearby the harbor we made an additional stop to watch out for wales and turtles which are often seen on that place. Unfortunately we didn't find any turtle or wale but a lot of flying fish. The beautiful sunset with a glass of champagne was the right ending of a beautiful day on sea. MAHALO to Capt. Kelly and the crew Aaron, Jake and Max!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Holoholo Charters!

Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pride of Maui Molokini & Turtle Town Snorkeling Tour (from Maalaea Harbor)

Molokini Snorkel AWESOME!

Reviewed by: barbara schafer, 2014/12/03

The day started off well as a greeter showed us where to park. A quick walk to the boat where we filled out the waivers and were able to see the sun come up behind the island in the distance. We formed a line to board (very organized) and took a boarding picture.

Unfortunately the weather at Molokini was not favorable, so we went to two alternate stops. At the first we were able to see four sea turtles! (along with the associated tropical fish cleaning them). The second stop was closer to the rocks which was pretty awesome to watch the waves crash and the reef was much shallower. A few different fish were there as well.

There was a slide for the children and the adventurous adults. Lunch was served after the first stop. Hamburger, hot dog or chicken and some side items.

Throughout the day Ryan (the videographer) took excellent underwater shots and generally just had a very pleasing demeanor. He seemed to really love his job (who wouldn't, right?)

After the second stop the bar service opened and there were crew members walking around offering refills. Talk about service! As we rounded back to the harbor the wind and waves picked up but the captain still kept the boat stable.

It was a very enjoyable snorkeling experience and I would highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Body Glove Dinner Cruise - Kona Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Music

The most romantic and special event of a lifetime!

Reviewed by: Kimo Kameaalohalani , 2017/01/07

So I decided to propose on this particular cruise, and I couldn't have picked a more romantic, thoughtful, and special cruise to do it. I was so incredibly nervous, but the customer service rep was extremely communicative and responsive for my specific request. John, the captain of the vessel, was so knowledgable in the marine life, that my fiance and I asked if he had majored in Marine Biology in college. He had a lot of passion for the marine life and he spent a lot of time speaking with us. Also, the wait staff was beyond courteous, they took pictures of my engagement, and they made us feel so special with their champagne toast.

I also set-up an original song to sing for my fiance, and the musician onboard actually learned my song before-hand, and played it perfectly as I sang it in front of 40 strangers! His tunes really bring that cool, Hawaiian vibe, and the MC was great with her meticulous tour and crowd work. I couldn't have asked for a better sunset, a perfect location, and the greatest staff that I have probably ever encountered. That's saying a lot as I had been a musician on several international five-star cruise lines in the past. I would HIGHLY recommend this cruise to anyone looking for a special event with incredible food.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lahaina Whale Watch Cruise Excursions - Most Popular Whale Watch Tour in Maui

Amazing Whale Watching Experience!!

Reviewed by: Amber Walker, 2017/12/04

The crew on the tour were professional and courteous right from the start. We were all anxious to see whales and our boat got right out there and we started seeing whale spouts. The boat was always on top of where the whales were. Through out the entire ride, the captain was incredibly knowledgeable and answered all questions. The boat itself was well stocked and very clean. There were plenty of tabkrs inside and on top, as well as seats on the front and back. Everyone had a place to sit and could see the action from anywhere on the boat. The end of the tour was the most incredible. Two whales swam literally under the boat and came out in front of the bow. Seeing how big these amazing creatures were so close was a once in a life time experience. Both whales came up for air at the front of the boat. The whales seemed as curious about us as we were about them, and hung out around our boat for a good fifteen minutes. I highly recommend this tour and their company for an incredible whale watching tour!! The experience is excellent for couples and families with children of all ages. My one bit of advice would be to show up twenty five minutes before check in as it was very busy and took some time to find a parking spot.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu - Oahu's Best Whale Watch Cruise (from Aloha Tower)

Star of Honolulu Whale Watch Cruise

Reviewed by: Jenny, 2016/04/26

When I booked the Early Bird Whale Watch Cruise for the 15th April, it was my only opportunity to possibly see some whales. I knew it was the last day of the Star of Honolulu Whale Watch Cuises and I may not necessarily see any whales, and unfortunately we didn't. But that didn't stop me from having an absolutely wonderful time. There were not may 'tourists' on this cruise, probably because it was the end of the season, and we were allowed to wonder about the boat freely. The staff were very informative, and really made us all feel very welcome. I spent my time walking about the ship taking some wonderful photos and talking to other tourists and staff. It was a beautiful sunny day, though a bit windy. To be out on the water on such a beautiful day with some fantastic people was a joy. It was a disappointment we didn't see whales, but a gamble I took when booking. The company guarantees you will see whales, in the event that you dont, they give vouchers for a free cruise, valid for 12 months.
Next time I go to Oahu it will be in January, and I can redeem the free cruise voucher.
I would recommend the Star of Honolulu whale watch cruises, the ship is beautiful and clean, the staff are fantastic, and the scenery is beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

First snorkel- and I'm hooked!

Reviewed by: Mirza Mughal , 2016/04/27

I can't swim and was going for my wife. Thank god I went through with it. Off the back the tour was very well organized. 4 crew members including the captain and everyone knew their jobs well and communicated well with us. Very helpful. Very nice breakfast and catamaran sail to lanai island to start with. We saw whales while going to lanai! near lanai we saw a big pod of dolphins. Both times the captain was knowledgeable about steering the boat and showing us the best views. The Dolphins came very close to our boat too! (See attached picture)when we got to the snorkel site- the crew was very empathetic to my lack of swimming skills. They helped me very gently through the entire thing and encouraged me to go into the waters with floats etc. and I'm so glad they did. We snorkeled for an hour at lanai and I had so much fun. After that we sailed back to Lahaina beach while the crew made burgers and we snorkeled at the Lahaina harbor and then ate food. All in all 5 stars to the crew for being on top of everything and at the same time being jovial about it. Definitely recommend taking this day excursion for the views of Maui island and great snorkeling sites. I saw turtles at both sites- and I don't even know how to swim!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small-Group Ocean Rafting Sunset Cruise & Night Manta Ray Swim (from Keauhou)

Absolutely great choice

Reviewed by: David, 2018/03/14

This was better than I could imagine. After leaving the shore on a small boat (three crew and four passengers), we passed manta village and went south a bit more to see some historic land with wild goats on it and sat there while the sun set. We had a platter of sushi and grapes, which was delicious.

When the sun set, we went back up and joined the rest of the boats at manta village, and got into the water where we all held a surf board and had floaties under our stomachs. It was all very comfortable, besides the cold, which we had full or short sleeve wetsuits for. The surf board had a nice light on it which attracted plenty of plankton.

We saw two manta rays, Amanda, and I forget the name of the other one. Amanda actually brushed up against my wife twice! (Don't intentionally touch them as I've heard it's a $5000 fine).

After plenty of time in the water, and repeated visits by both manta rays, we headed back to the boat and had some ginger ale on the way back to the dock.

Overall wonderful experience!

Oh, if you're on your honeymoon, make sure your ring fits tightly enough not to fall off in the water! And insure it if it's valuable! Mine slipped off, but thankfully I didn't loose a bunch of money.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for letting us know about your Sunset/Manta Snorkeling tour with Kona Ocean Experience! We're pleased that you appreciated the small group atmosphere, and enjoyed the sushi and fruit platter. We appreciate you taking the time to write your descriptive review as this lets other folks know what they might expect when going out on our tour. We're especially glad to hear that you had wonderful experience and super close encounters with the mantas, while being mindfully careful not to touch them! Thank you for your warning to others to remove loose jewelry... and although not expensive it's still a "bummer" that you lost your wedding ring. Mahalo again for joining us aboard. Hope you might be able to return for another adventure with KOEX in the future! Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lahaina Whale Watch Cruise Excursions - Most Popular Whale Watch Tour in Maui

Whale Watching in Maui!

Reviewed by: Amber Walker, 2017/12/08

crew on the tour were professional and courteous right from the start. We were all anxious to see whales and our boat got right out there and we started seeing whale spouts. The boat was always on top of where the whales were. Through out the entire ride, the captain was incredibly knowledgeable and answered all questions. The boat itself was well stocked and very clean. There were plenty of tables inside and on top, as well as seats on the front and back. Everyone had a place to sit and could see the action from anywhere on the boat. The end of the tour was the most incredible. Two whales swam literally under the boat and came out in front of the bow. Seeing how big these amazing creatures were so close was a once in a life time experience. Both whales came up for air at the front of the boat. The whales seemed as curious about us as we were about them, and hung out around our boat for a good fifteen minutes. I highly recommend this tour and their company for an incredible whale watching tour!! The experience is excellent for couples and families with children of all ages. My one bit of advice would be to show up twenty five minutes before check in as it was very busy and took some time to find a parking spot.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu - Waikiki Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

Anniversary Spectacular!

Reviewed by: Team Thomas, 2018/01/29

My husband and I had a spectacular time on this 5 star dinner cruise. We've lived here for 11 years and this was our first time experiencing the elegance and absolute superb 5 star dinning experience the Star of Honolulu offers. From start to finish everything was spectacular. We were treated like VIP's. We were greeted and warmly escorted to the boat where we partook of some extremely delectable pupu's while being serenaded by a Polynesian dancer and ukulele player. We were also introduced to the Captain of the ship and was afforded a photo op with him. As the evening progressed the boat set sail and the 7 course meal did not disappoint. We ate until our belly's were super tight. Did I mention the majestic sunset we watched from our window seats? Simply amazing! We also enjoyed the top shelf drinks that were apart of the menu. But not to worry if you are not an alcohol drinker there are many non-alcohol drinks to choose from.
This dinner cruise truly exceeded our expectations and we would wholeheartedly recommend the 5 star experience especially for that very special occasion. Its the perfect way to celebrate. It's kid friendly too. Mahalo Star of Honolulu for a very memorable anniversary! #14yrs

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hula Kai Manta Ray Night Swim & Snorkeling Catamaran Cruise (from Keauhou Bay)

Awesome Experience!

Reviewed by: Dawn Weston, 2017/05/18

Me and my family attended this activity on 5/12/17 and it was everything and more! There was a total of 8 of us in my family that went. The boat was huge and there was not a lot of people so there was plenty of room to sit and wander. The crew was friendly and very informational! They answered all questions and did a good instructional of what to expect and what not to do. Once in the water they were so helpful especially for those snorkeling for the first time. They helped you every step of the way to make sure you were having the best time possible. They eased you and helped to calm your nerves. We saw three manta's during our time and it was amazing! A must do event that no one can miss. Once we were back on the boat there were a total of five manta's swimming around almost pleading us to come back in the water! Two of us got sea sick over the side of the boat and the crew was super nice about it and just said that we were feeding the fish! Hahahaha. I would highly recommend this snorkel swim and specifically with the Hula Kai. It seemed to be the better of what I could see once out on the bay. I can not thank the crew enough for such a wonderful experience for our family! Job well done!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Napali Coast Sightseeing & Snorkel Sail by Holo Holo Charters

MUST DO in Kauai!!

Reviewed by: Erika, 2014/12/12

We highly recommend this boat tour! First off, the crew was incredibly knowledgable about sailing, snorkeling, Hawaiian culture and history and they were beyond attentive to all of our needs on board. Our captain, Kelly, and her three crew members, Shakead, Max and Jay were a lot of fun throughout the day too. We had the opportunity to do some snorkeling, seeing sea turtles, spotted rays and an array of tropical fish - not to mention the school of dolphins that were close enough to touch! As we made our way to the NaPali coast, it was raining (something completely out of the control of our crew), but they still made the most of it. We saw the gorgeous coastline, while Kelly expertly navigated the seas. On our way back, the crew put up the sails and turned down the engines - it made for quite a relaxing way to travel back. Just before reaching port, we followed a few whales and did some whale watching. The crew was patient with everyone on board and made sure that if we wanted to stop to see the whales, we did! We appreciated their accommodating approach to our tour and it definitely was one of the highlights of our vacation at Kauai. Again, we highly recommend this activity!!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Holoholo Charters!

Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Whale Watching Cruise with Free Hotel Pick-up

Incredible experience!

Reviewed by: Stephen and Kelli, 2015/02/19

Wow!! We did the afternoon whale watch on February 12, 2015. First, we are so happy we booked this tour instead of one of the large cruise-like ships. Everything was fantastic and exceeded our expectations from the very start. Our crew (Jacob, Julia, David and Dave) were phenomenal! Each was outgoing, friendly and very knowledgeable. They made sure each person was attended to and were in constant contact with each other as well as the passengers. We were so fortunate to have perfect weather/sea conditions and only 7 passengers, including ourselves, for the cruise. Because of its size, the catamaran easily maneuvered to change course when we spotted whales, which was often! Not only did our crew point out sightings, but also explained why whales did certain things, their habits and shared past whale experiences. We even got to see a sea turtle when we were heading back to the marina. We were so happy we booked with this company. The cruise was intimate and fun and the drinks were great, too! If you want a top-notch, personal experience, book here!! Even if we hadn't been so lucky to see so many whales, the sailing experience with these great people would have been well worth it!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu - Waikiki Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

The Star of Honolulu Dinner Jazz Cruise.

Reviewed by: The Palmers. , 2017/11/27

My husband and I took the Star of Honolulu Dinner Jazz Cruise on 10/22/2017. This was one of the best meals I have ever had. You are treated as royalty as soon as you check in. On check in, we found out that this level of dinning (there are 3 levels) requires men to wear long pants. This was booked as a surprise gift for my husband and I totally forgot to have him pack pants. The staff was great and got my husband a pair of slacks that they keep on hand. We were escorted from the check in to the boat and then by another attendant to the ship were we took photos with the Captain. Then the luxury begins. We have complementary welcome about cocktails and 3 amazing appetizers. Our waiter Forrest escorted us to our table. The meal is 7 courses, but each is small so you are able to finish. Each dish was amazing. At desert you are offered a coffee and can include an addition of coffee liquor. They have premium spirits aboard and you get two free drink tickets in your package. There a constant flux in hula shows and then a jazz show. They were very good. I highly recommend the rainbow colored martini, yummy. The staff all went an extra mile to make this the best experience ever.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Do it again!!

Reviewed by: Oliver Holmes, 2015/07/13

My wife and I have taken two Hawaiian dinner cruises in the past. This was our first dinner sail. At first we were concerned about the size of the boat compared to the number of people waiting to board, but we quickly realized that there was room for everyone. If you are wanting a choreographed dinner show, this is not the activity for you. This was a fun, relaxing sunset/fireworks sail. The crew was very nice, and walked around to check on the guests to make sure they were doing alright and even gathered up the guests' garbage. This was appropriate for families, couples, and groups. The crew even cast out two fishing lines to see if they could catch anything during the evening and caught a fish on one of the lines. We drove from the North Shore to go on the dinner sail, and it was well worth the drive. Parking was convenient and reasonable. I would recommend arriving at least 15 minutes before check in to get a close parking spot. The only thing I would suggest would be to serve a dessert option without nuts, as some people do not like them or have nut allergies. I would definitely recommend this activity and would do it again on our next Hawaiian vacation!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ko Olina Island-Style Sunset Dinner Cruise & Snorkel Tour by Ocean Joy

The best sunset on Oahu!

Reviewed by: Lahn Bahn, 2015/10/13

This sail packs in so much in the perfect amount of time. Not only do you get to sail along the west coast of Oahu, but you get to visit a great snorkel spot, eat your fill of delicious food and guzzle down lots of drinks!

I have done a lot of regular dinner cruises in Hawaii and in other states, but this one is definitely the most unique and you totally get a great bang for your buck. Since you are on the west side, you are literally right there as the sun dips below the horizon, and with a steady stream of drinks and as much food as you can eat, there isn't anything better!!!

The drive is like 40 minutes from Waikiki, but the transportation was comfortable and on-time. Great option if you don't want to drive and definitely a "must do" if everyone in your party is planning on knocking back a few.

Be sure to bring some cash to buy the photos that they take of you. The photographer is fantastic and takes TONS of pictures throughout the cruise, both in and out of the water. They put it on a USB drive for you and that way you don't have to worry about snapping shots and can just focus on having fun ^_^

Best. Dinner. Snorkel. Sunset. Cruise. EVAR!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Swim with Wild Dolphins Cruise - Snorkel, Kayak, SUP, 20-Foot Water Slide

Great time!!!

Reviewed by: Jyl Dowd, 2019/04/17

The trip was fabulous! The crew is friendly, fun and knowledgeable. They keep you informed, entertained and fed (I liked the burger, chips and fruit). The equipment & boat were in excellent shape.

There isn't a lot of down time which I appreciated (activities/entertainment happening thru out the trip). Tyler was an amazing hula dancer! Make sure you bring cash to tip the crew, they work hard to show us tourists a great time!!

When we initially jumped in the water, we saw dolphins immediately! The second jump we saw more dolphins, a sting ray, and a sea turtle! (And fish, if course). It was amazing.

We didn't rent the wet suit and we were fine (mid April). We took Dramamine because of all the warnings in other reviews, so we had no motion sickness, but neither did anyone else. :)

My only advice would be that guests should be sure to sit under the covered area when the crew is making announcements. We were sitting at the very back of the boat (behind the speaker) and couldn't hear them at all. You'll also get a better view of the dancer.

Also, the slide was not available on our trip, so if that's important to you, you should double check?


  • Thanks for a great time!!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Amazing..!! Great experience

Reviewed by: Arminder , 2015/09/12

Went to maui for honeymoon and this was defiantly our highlight and we had a great time. This was my first time doing snorkeling and i don't even know how to swim so i was not comfortable initially but this staff helped me with everything, explained me how to snorkel safely and i had no issues. Staff was really nice and helpful. Food was also great as well. They served breakfast when we started in morning and then we had bbq lunch. After snorkeling for couple of hours, they started BBQ and we had fresh hot dogs, cheese burgers, chicken burger and much more. Savor a delicious and freshly prepared BBQ lunch featuring big juicy hamburgers, chicken breasts and plump hotdogs with all fixins was amazing. After lunch, drinks bar was open and we all had complementary drinks. I was not expecting this much fun but now i am glad that i did this activity. This is must do activity in Maui and every dollar is worth spending on this activity. The price was very affordable since everything is expensive in Hawaii this was relief. I would highly recommend to get this deal. The Lahaina curse company and her crew are family oriented and provided safe, fun adventure.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Swim with Wild Dolphins Cruise - Snorkel, Kayak, SUP, 20-Foot Water Slide

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Kibby Pearce, 2019/05/20

Swimming with wild dolphins was AMAZING! We struggled to find spinner dolphins early May 15, but Danielle and the entire crew were patient and determined to spot other types of dolphins. We found spotted dolphins, in deeper waters, which are faster but amazing to see in the wild. The crew including Yogi, Tyler, and a couple others helped our ship of 25 or so passengers stay safe and calm in the water knowing exactly what to do as the dolphins and wild life swam all around us. Making sure the swimmers and dolphins stayed safe was at the forefront of our dive. We relocated to another swim spot to see fish and turtles in shallow waters and we got to play on the slide and use paddle boards the crew provided us with. Jade, the photographer/ videographer, was amazing in capturing our time on the boat and in the water. This crew was fantastic and my fiancé and I would recommend this excursion 10/10 as a MUST DO. The feeling iI got seeing this animals in their natural environment, so willing to let us be close to them , is something I will never forget. We purchase the pictures from Dolphins and You and I can’t wait to get home to upload them!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holokai Catamaran - Waikiki Sunset Cocktail Sail with Open Bar

Our Second Time Back!

Reviewed by: Whit, 2016/03/18

June 2015 we did this sunset cruise and hands down said it was the best part of our trip. March 2016 we planned another trip back to Waikiki and this was the first thing we booked. When you check in for the cruise you will have your picture taken before you board, with Diamond Head in your background. You can buy it at the end of the cruise for $20 dollars. We now have bought 2 of these pictures which are now hanging up in our house because the quality is so great! The selection of drinks is great but oh my goodness you have to try the boat cocktail. Hands down one of my favorite drinks now and I craved that cocktail ever since our first cruise. But beware they have a punch and you will be feeling great on no time! Thanks to the crew for a awesome experience once again. You guys are awesome!! This last cruise was the best because it was windy enough to sail, we saw a blue whale and it was a perfect evening. Cocktail in hand! One thing that I also enjoy about this cruise is by the end of the cruise you've became friends with half the boat and had a amazing time while enjoying the view. Thanks again Holokai Crew until next time!

Cheers!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Snorkel Cruise with Turtles Sightings Guaranteed!

Awesome Day Snorkeling in Waikiki!

Reviewed by: Chrissy, 2014/08/21

My boyfriend and I came across this website while vacationing in Oahu. We were looking online for snorkeling tours, but most were out of our budget. When we came across this website we were excited that we had found a good deal. The process was super easy! All we did was input the date we wanted to go and purchased our tickets. When we arrived at the boat harbor we had no problem presenting our online confirmation and getting right on the boat. The crew on the boat were very hospitable and made sure we had a memorable experience. The snorkel spot was breathtaking! Especially vein so close to the endangered green sea turtles. We saw well over a dozen of them and sometimes they came rather close to us. After snorkeling for a little over an hour we hopped back on the boat and the crew served us lunch and drinks (including alcohol). There was no charge for anything on the boat, including the alcohol. We then went for a scenic sail around Diamond Head and relaxed out on the front of the catamaran. This was one of the best days of our vacation! We would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Oahu and looking for some great snorkeling!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Worth it!

Reviewed by: Brodri44, 2015/06/24

This trip is totally worth it! First of all they pick you up exactly at your assigned time and after the trip they are right there to pick you up! So everything is done in a timely manner. The driver was extremely friendly and helpful. After they picked us up from our hotel, they drove us to where the boat is. Where the staff was just wonderful. On the way to Lahaina they offered us some good breakfast and played some music. Unfortunately, on our way to the first snorkel spot the weather got really bad. Therefore we had to go to a completely different spot where the waters were calmer and the weather was nice and sunny. Other than that the whole experience was amazing. The first snorkel spot that they took us to was beautiful. Filled with reef and all kinds of fish. Then, while on the way to the next snorkel spot they cooked us some dinner. On the second snorkel spot we got to see turtles and sharks! It was a lot of fun. On the way back they give you a complementary beer or cocktail and dessert. They also provided us with snacks and all kinds of drinks. I would recommended this excursion to anybody. Had a blast!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach)

Awesome Day!

Reviewed by: Greg Raymer, 2016/11/06

I always wanted to check out the Turtle Canyon, and, on this particular trip, I was able to. My only complaint was that it was on the western edge of Waikiki Beach, which was somewhat inconvenient. In a perfect world, it would have been placed in the center of Waikiki's hotel row. I boarded the catamaran and was greeted by a very friendly and personable crew. Once on board, the staff gave us a safety briefing, then explained the protocol for snorkeling the area. Once we arrived at our destination, the captain dropped anchor and the group was off. It was not long before someone spotted some turtles. All of us watched in awe as we observed their underwater universe. We were in the water quite a while before the captain signaled us to come aboard. Then, we were treated to a magnificent sailing past Diamond Head and around Waikiki Beach. Between the snorkeling (an excellent exercise for me), the turtles and the sail, it was a perfect afternoon for me. I was back in time to go with my friend for evening entertainment. This is one of the top three activities you must do before you leave Hawaii. It is truly a magical day!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu - Waikiki Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

First timers.

Reviewed by: Christina Wyatt, 2017/02/20

It was our first activity as soon as we got off our flight. Even though we had jet lag after a 6 hour flight we had the time of my life. My husband and I have never done a dinner cruise before. He is scared of water and gets sea sick fast. From the time we stepped foot on the boat we were greeted, seated quickly, music and entertainment was great, and Marissa our waitress was superb; we loved her and the guitarist they both were totally cool. Everything they brought out was very flavorful, the lobster was succulent not rubbery, steak cooked perfectly, and dessert was delicious. The drinks were also very good especially the blue Hawaiian; it was perfecto. We did not think we would be able to eat everything they were putting in front of us but they gave us just enough time in between each course that made it easier. When it came for the dessert I was so full I didnt think I could eat another bite. We thought we would just take one bite. You know just to try it but as soon as we took one bite it was just too good we both ended up eating it all. At the end they had everyone dancing it was a very fun and delicious experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

We had a wonderful day!

Reviewed by: fummys, 2015/09/05

My husband and I joined this tour because we wanted to enjoy the sea of Maui. We stayed at Kapalua and so we had to get up very early and take a taxi to the nearest pick-up hotel. But it well deserved. They offered continental breakfast as soon as we were on board. It was good. Thanks to such a good weather, we enjoy boating on that day. In fact, it rained so heavily a couple of days ago that it was pretty difficult to find a good spot for snorkeling but the crew successfully did. The water was very clear, which was important for snorkeling. After we snorkeled, we returned to the boat to have a big BBQ lunch. It was also great. Enough good food and many kinds of drinks. On the way back to Maui, we saw a green turtle swimming. In addition, unexpectedly, we met a lot of dolphins! I have never seen so many dolphins before. They swam jumping and some of them came close to the boat. We were so excited. Then the crew brought us to another snorkeling spot near Lahaina Harbor before we got off the boat. The crew were all friendly and helpful. I would like to join this tour again with my children and grandchildren next time.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]