This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Zipline Adventures in Big Island

Overall Rating

4.76 4.76 / 5

Reviews

84 reviews

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

An amazing waterfall and a day of fun!

Reviewed by: Alyssa, 2014/12/22

We had a great time zip lining! This was my second time zip lining (first time in Sonoma) and my husband's first time. Our amazing guides Brian and Nainoa helped make our day memorable and zip lining easy for everyone. One recommendation for anyone prone to mosquito bites: bring mosquito gel or something for your exposed arms/legs! I sprayed two layers of OFF on my legs and came out of the first two lines with about 14 bites on my legs. The company provides OFF spray for you to use before you head up the bumpy road to the first line, but it doesn't quite work. I recommend wearing pants/long sleeve clothes that breathes as well as using bug spray as it is very humid there. If you bring your smart phone, I'd recommend bringing something to wrap around your wrist. If you have a regular camera, you can strap it around your neck or wrist. They have water to drink as you go through the course, so no need to bring a bottle along.

The course has seven lines for you to travel on, with the first two being very beginner friendly through the banana trees. As you progress throughout the zip lines, they get longer and the terrain clears up a bit. The guides find wild fruit that is growing on the course and pick it for you to eat. We had apple bananas, two types of guava (one pink and one small, sweet yellow guava), tomatoes, and a sip of white ginger flower nectar. The last two lines are by far the best. Second to last, you travel over the river before the waterfall and is the last line where you can practice your "steering". The last line you just let gravity take you down as you take a nice long ride, with an amazing view of the waterfall, to the end of the course. When you reach the bottom of the line, they have more fresh fruit and sugar cane all cut up, ready to enjoy! We would definitely go back!

One thing is the equipment can get a little smelly. Not sure how much it gets wiped down (my harness smelled sour and helmet left me sweating brown stuff).

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour

Amazing adventurous experience viewing much of the Big Island treasures!

Reviewed by: Swillem40, 2018/11/18

What an amazing experience!!  Not only are you able to see the beauty in a fun adventurous manner but there is time and places to capture pictures in between some of the ziplines. The views are stunning and you’ll see waterfalls, rainforest, the ocean and so much more. The staff does a great job of getting everyone to open up and have a great time. They take the time to give you tips on how to do things so you get the most out of your experience. You are sure to laugh the entire time! It was great to also see so many kids on our tour who had an amazing time!
There is a little store before you start where you can get some things like souvenirs, treats, and bug spray.  If you go on a rainy day I would note you could get some mud onto yourself but it is minimal. It may also be helpful to consider the equipment when dressing.  Many on our tour thought it would be cooler because of the rain to start but the equipment keeps you a bit warm so many had rain coats they didn’t want. They do have some video and picture packages you are able to purchase of your tour and I recommend waiting to purchase these extras until the end of your tour to see if you like them.  If you go with the GoPro camera option then you will want that ahead of time.

  • All strapped up and ready to go!

  • Awesome bridge you enjoy walking!

  • Beautiful view back on what you just went over.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

Great experience, great group of people (Eco)

Reviewed by: Robert, 2015/03/20

The zipline trip was a lot of fun. The views were great. Zipping over or past a couple of waterfalls was cool.
We happened to be there when the owners/bosses were out trying some new things. They took time to talk to us and genuinely solicited feedback that would make this and other tours more enjoyable. They were as friendly and personable as our excellent guides, Tim and Nainoa, jumping in to take photos, check on us to make sure we were having a good time, and to provide local information. Sure, they want more business, but also wanted to make sure we had enough fun that we would be repeat business as well. I'm sold. I highly recommend this zip for anyone looking to have some fun and excitement, see some cool scenery, and chat with a couple of locals.
If you go in realizing this is not constant action, you will enjoy this trip. Remember, it does take time to clip and unclip a group of people, one by one. But, take this time to talk to the guides and other members of the group, and those wait times pass by quickly...plus, you can get some fun stories or facts from the guides. Several of the stops have great views, as well.
Maholo

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour

This is THE zipline tour you want!!

Reviewed by: Christina, 2018/12/13

If you're planning on ziplining, or have any remote interest in it, do this tour it's so worth it! I had never been ziplining before, and I'm glad this was my first experience. It was a decently long excursion and had 9 separate lines which all offered unique and breathtaking views. Each line felt different, and our guides even taught us how to do tricks like going upside down. You start with tandem lines so you're going with a buddy, plus the guides are great at keeping everyone calm. Our zipline guides Scot, Ian, Maccai (sorry for any misspelling) really kept the party going. Literally, they brought radios with them and danced with us. Honestly they were as entertaining as the ziplining. They even prepared some fresh guava and citrus for us (which tasted AMAZING). We asked them for some local grub recommendations which were all great. Overall amazing experience!

As an aside, the property is so beautiful that alone is worth the money- take some time to walk around and stroll through the gardens after your tour. I also bought the video from them at the end, totally worth. Thanks for keeping us safe and showing us a fantastic time guys!

  • View of the ocean from a line

  • View of the Eucalyptus Forest

  • Overlooking the river

  • Us dancing with our zipline guide (from the video)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

EPIC WAY TO SEE THE JUNGLES AND WATERFALLS OF HAWAII!

Reviewed by: Billy Satterfield, 2014/11/22

My wife and I did a Zipline in Kauai last year and quickly fell in love with the activity. When we went to the Big Island this year we decided to give it another try and see if it was still as thrilling. You take a 15 minute ride through a farm area on your way to the first zipline and the staff gives you information on the plants in the area; both native and non-native to Hawaii. The opening ziplines they take you on are all about helping you feel comfortable for an activity that most participants haven't experienced before. While hanging from a cable may seem scary to some, we quickly felt safe and confident from the start given the equipment and staff's help. Each zipline is longer and better than the previous one and the last two ziplines are nothing short of sensational and worth the price of admission on their own. For a great experience and an opportunity to see a vantage point of Hawaii and its spectacular waterfalls rarely seen, this series of ziplines is a can't miss!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

Great value and views along this zipline

Reviewed by: Corly, 2018/04/14

Overall, very satisfied with the value of this trip. I have ziplined in Mexico and in Belize City, and this trip was very comparable in terms of value, excitement, and thrill.

The Hawaii zipline consisted of 7 lines, the first few were relatively short. Although short, breathtaking views. The last three were much longer, more scenic, and best of all, amazing view of a BEAUTIFUL waterfall! The day I went was very gloomy and did have some slight visibility issues due to fog, but the experience was amazing.

This was more expensive than my foreign ziplines, but as I mentioned, it was a great value for the experience relative to the other ziplines I have done.

Thinking back on what I could have paid for other Big Island adventures, no regrets on this trip and would ABSOLUTELY do this one again.

Lastly, the staff were great! Very expeditious, always safety first, and very friendly.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala 9-line Zipline Treetop Canopy Adventure

The canopy zipline rocked!

Reviewed by: K.L.M., 2016/07/26

My entire family had a blast zip lining through the tree canopies! Chris and Cassie were our guides and they were hospitable, informative and patient. It was our first time zip lining in such an environment-hundreds of feet in the air and we felt completely comfortable and confident in their hands. They provided us with water and snacks midway and at the conclusion of our adventure, including freshly picked bananas! They shared knowledge about the vegetation and geographical landmarks, as well as, insight into local eateries! Not only did we enjoy the various zip lines, but there were also suspension bridges and a final rappel to the ground. You also get to ride in a really cool armory jeep of some sort as you travel to and from the excursion. It surpassed our expectations and we were so glad to have chosen that adventure during our travels on The Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

EPIC WAY TO SEE THE JUNGLES AND WATERFALLS OF HAWAII!

Reviewed by: Billy Satterfield, 2014/11/23

My wife and I had ziplined once before on Kauai and found it to be an incredible way to see parts of the island you would never get to see otherwise and at a killer perspective. We thought it would be tough to beat our first experience but decided that ziplining over Kolekole waterfalls would be worth a shot; and boy was it! The tour starts with an informative 15 minute drive before embarking on the first zipline. They start you off easy so that you can get a feel for ziplining since it will be a first time experience for many participants. They lines get better and better each run and then the final two lines are nothing short of stunning and worth the price of admission by themselves. The staff and setting were both fantastic and this adventure became one of our most memorable experiences on Hawaii and our best ziplining yet! A must do!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

Skyline Eco Adventure was Awesome

Reviewed by: Eric, 2014/12/14

We had a great time doing this zip line.... The guides Tim and Nainoa were great... not just for the zip line but for all the extra knowledge they shared with us about the surrounding area. The first couple zips got you warmed up for the rest of them... the last one was awesome and the view of the falls was just amazing... we got lots of great pictures and really enjoyed this zipline... we have been on zip lines in New Zealand and Costa Rica and this one was really nicely set up... and was very beautiful and well maintained with neat flowers and plants to see along the way.... Highly recommend this to all who want to try a zip line and this is a great way to see some amazing sceenery and the fresh fruit after wards was just what we needed... Tks Guys for a great time

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour

Fun time for all ages

Reviewed by: Happy in Hawaii, 2018/08/14

My 7 year old was a bit worried. He's definitely afraid of heights and it took a bit of convincing to get him to even agree to try. Standing on a 65 foot platform ready to zip while dangling 150+ feet over a waterfall and rock river was a bit daunting but once we started there was no turning back. He wanted to do the course again but it was time to head back to Kona. The rest of us all had a blast as well (a 13 year old and 2 old fuddy-duddy parents :-)

The guides know how to have fun and make sure everyone is being safe. They were all really great.

And if you are driving from Kona take a few extra minutes to stop on the way. There are some amazing sights along the way that are very picture worthy.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Zipline Through Paradise - 8-line Zip Adventure over Honolii River & Waterfalls

Love it

Reviewed by: A.N., 2019/01/17

The driver was really funny (I believe his name was Eddie) and was full of fun facts about the Big Island. The guides were very helpful, they never made anyone (regardless of experience level) feel bad about being nervous. They were really encouraging and understanding of people's nerves. The views are amazing and totally worth it. If you are nervous about zip lining I implore you to try doing it with Zipline Through Paradise as they are, in my opinion, the best on the Big Island!

(By the way if you ever feel super uncomfortable at any time and don't want to finish the zipline course they can accommodate you which was really reassuring for those who were super nervous)

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

Hilo zip line adventure

Reviewed by: Aaron H. , 2014/11/28

Very, very enjoyable experience!

Our tour guides Gabe and Nainoa were not only very personable and welcoming; they were also very knowledgeable about Hawaiian history/facts/culture and accommodating to ALL group members that varied in age (10-50's), and experience. Both were great entertainers and made the experience much more fun!

I would HIGHLY recommend this tour for anyone who has either never zip lined before or has had experience. ESPECIALLY with these two gentlemen if possible. Each line is better than the last and provides awesome scenery and opportunities for great photos.

If you have the chance/time DO THIS TOUR!!!

Thanks Gabe and Nainoa!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Kurtis Pratt, 2014/12/16

Absolutely fantastic experience. I would totally recommend this. Tim and Nainoa were great, they made everyone feel at ease and were really personable. The ziplines were wicked and the views were awesome. Both Tim and Nainoa provided a lot of interesting facts and information about Hawaii's history, climate, geography and botany during the tours. With seven lines, each successively bigger, you get to experience the thrill of gliding through the air at incredible speeds. The last one is the best, as you zip along a line for a km and could reach 50 miles an hour (if you weigh a little bit ;)). But as I said, it's awesome. Totally recommend this experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

DO IT!

Reviewed by: Melissa, 2015/05/22

This was sooooo awesome! It was my first zipline. The company was very professional and courteous. The guides had samples of local foods in the area for us to try. They helped me with my GOPro (even though I had not rented it from them) and took still pictures for me. By the way, if you don't have a GoPro, rent it from them! It mounts right to the helmet and It is so worth it to have the video! The zips start out with a small practice line and build up to the big one. The whole tour wasn't too long or too short and the final zip was a lifetime adventure with a beautiful water fall in front of me on the way down! Just do this!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

awesome experience

Reviewed by: Sarah Pearson, 2014/12/03

This was our first time zip lining and we were both a little nervous! We ended up having a blast! The 2 zip line guides were so much fun to be with. They made us feel safe and made sure we were having fun. They knew all about the environment around us. We were able to try apple bananas right from the trees. They were delicious! We liked that the course started out low to the ground and gradually became longer and higher. The view from the last 2 lines were amazing! The waterfalls were beautiful. It is the best way to see the falls. We would definitely recommend the zip lining from skyline adventures to our friends.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

Amazing

Reviewed by: Anita, 2015/03/28

I wanted to do something exciting for my partners birthday this year. I found this searching the net and thought it would be an awesome experience for both of us whilst on our first holiday together and it was all that and more. The team were super friendly, professional and helpful, making this an unforgettable experience. I would highly recommend this to anyone venturing to the Big Island. Exciting, slightly frightening (sometimes you have to do things that scare you a little...) and a great way to take in all the beautiful surrounding of Hawaii. Hilo was truly beautiful, even if it was a little damp.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ハワイ島 コハラジップライン9本+吊り橋渡り 滝つぼ遊び付きもあり!<英語インストラクター>

Let's try!!

Reviewed by: じゅんちゃん, 2018/07/16

英語に不安があったので、事前に同意書を送ってもらい、記入して持参しました。日本人は私たちのみ、ガイドもオール英語でしたが、指示はわかりましたし、英語が苦手な方もアクティビティが好きならどうにかなります。一緒に参加した方たちとも仲良くなりましたよ。ツアー終了後はディズニーランドのアトラクションのように写真販売もあって、今、後悔していることがあるとすれば、その写真を買わなかったことです。

  • ワイヤーに繋がっているので絶対に落ちません

  • 終了後に見える景色 森の中からもこんな空と海が見えます

  • 超気持ちいいーーっ!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala 9-line Zipline Treetop Canopy Adventure

THE BEST ZIPLINE EVENT ON THE BIG ISLAND

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2013/12/26

So many things make this the best zip line on the big island including NINE zips, the last one a tandem AND over 1100 ft long but the absolute best part was the tour guides Kalei and Kalani. In fact, Kalani was our ATV tour guide 4 years ago when we were last there. They made this a very fun adventure and encouraged my hubby who was fearful of heights; even he loved it, after the first one! Truly amazing scenery and very fun, patient, and experienced guides. Safety was definitely a priority for them but made our adventure extra special. Thank you Kalei and Kalani!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

Amazing, amazing, amazing!

Reviewed by: Dawn Weston, 2017/05/19

We had a total of 8 in our group, and did this tour on 5/9/17. The guides were very helpful and did a god job in making you feel comfortable on the lines especially for us first timers. The views were undescribable. Make sure to really just enjoy the ride and not fuss too much with your camera or phone because you will miss all the beautiful scenery. It can take away from the experience. You get to see a lot of banana trees and even try some right off the tree. It was by far one of the best things we did while visiting. A must do activity!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala 9-line Zipline Treetop Canopy Adventure

Kohala Zipline

Reviewed by: Jessica C, 2011/10/10

My husband and I spent a lot of money on activities to do while we were on the Big Island, and the zipline was worth every single penny!!!!! Our guides were nothing short of amazing! They knew so much about the history and it was amazing how much they did know and pointed things out to us! We had the best experience and I would highly recommend ziplining and using Kohala zipline Canopy Adventure! Our instructors, Matt and Ashley, let us have fun and also taught us to be safe. I can not say this enough.....best time of my life!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala 9-line Zipline Treetop Canopy Adventure

EXCELLENT!!!!!

Reviewed by: Kim & Steve, 2011/11/06

My husband and I loved this zipline adventure. We loved Hawaii but this just made the trip perfect. I had never done it before (my husband had) and to be honest I will a little bit scared but as soon as we started I had so much fun. Our guides were amazing. So fun, friendly and careful. We participated along with a family of 5 (3 children and their parents). They had so much fun too! I HIGHLY recommend everyone try this. The lines are safe, the views are spectacular and it will really make your vacation special!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour

Lovely experience

Reviewed by: Erica , 2018/12/29

Super friendly staff and we had a wonderful time! Would recommend to anyone and everyone and would definitely go back when I have the chance! Despite the fact that it was raining the day we went (which actually made the experience more exhilarating, as the rain made us go even faster than normal) , the views were still incredible. The staff was patient and their energy made the experience more fun for everyone. By the end of the zipline I was ready to do it all over again!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala 9-line Zipline Treetop Canopy Adventure

THE BEST PART OF OUR VISIT!

Reviewed by: Jillian & Matthew, 2012/05/06

This was by far our favorite part of visiting Hawaii for the first time. It was a total rush but we also felt completely safe with our extremely competent guides, Mattie and Jeramiah. Highly recommended. We have a slight fear of heights but the guides made us feel completely comfortable and we had so much fun!
If you're going to zip line in Hawaii, definitely use this company! Thanks again for an amazing experience, Kohala Zipline!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala 9-line Zipline Treetop Canopy Adventure

Terrific

Reviewed by: KL from NJ, 2018/07/30

We were lucky as the weather was cool and cloudy, but did not rain. Our guides were terrific. We had our "safety" talks and felt very comfortable with the safety harness and double clips used. Our party had ziplined before in Colorado and Costa Rica, so we had comparisons. Our guides were entertaining, knowledgeable and very patient. We did see wildlife - a hawk and of course, the mongoose. We did not want it to end.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala 9-line Zipline Treetop Canopy Adventure

Awesome zip line experience!

Reviewed by: Bwp97, 2016/05/25

Had a great time! Learned a lot about the environment and other tidbits along the way to and during the zip line. The safety lecture was very thorough. Brett and Rogan were very informative, friendly, knowledgeable, and funny throughout the day. We took a couple of our friend's young teenagers and we all had a great time. Would definitely do it again when we visit again. Thanks for an awesome day Brett and Rogan!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Ramya, 2014/12/19

This was our first time zip-lining and we were little nervous. We ended up having a blast! The 2 zip line guides were so much fun. They knew all about the environment around us. We were able to try apple bananas right from the trees. They were delicious!The view from the last 2 lines were amazing. It is the best way to see the falls. We would definitely recommend the zip lining from skyline adventures.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

So much fun, not scary at all!

Reviewed by: Christy, 2014/10/26

My husband and I are both slightly scared of heights, but this was just amazeballs! Wasn't scary at all (maybe the van ride out, a bit...). It's like sitting in a swing. Had a good time with our group, and got to taste some fresh bananas, ginger nectar, and sugar cane on the farmland we were traversing. Great fun, wish we could have done more than 7 lines, though,

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

World Botanical Gardens 8-line Zipline Canopy Adventure

FUN! FUN! FUN!

Reviewed by: Kay, 2014/10/16

ALOHA!
Ipo and Chad were very fun as well as very careful with our safety. They were a great team. Pointed out lots of tips to make it comfortable and fun and how to get the best speed, best view and even zip and take photos!
AWESOME!
I felt like I had made friends while on the Big Island:) That's how warm and friendly they are:)
MAHALO!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

World Botanical Gardens 8-line Zipline Canopy Adventure

Most fun I had on the Big Island!

Reviewed by: Tammy and Family, 2010/06/25

I am so happy that we found this tour since it was by far the best experience me and my family had while on vacation on the Big Island. The zipline experience itself was amazing, but to be able to see such a beautiful garden as well just took it over the top.

Totally recommend this tour and can't wait to go back to Hawaii and do this again!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

Best Zipline and Crew

Reviewed by: Cameron, 2016/01/06

First time zip-lining with my 10 year old daughter. Cant imagine a better zip line tour not only in Hawaii but in the US. You finish strong with an incredible 3,000+ foot zip line ride that goes over a waterfall and canyon. The crew is great too. Very professional, courteous. My 10 year old daughter thought this was awesome and so did I.

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo Cameron for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciated the positive feedback and will share with the Akaka Falls staff on what a wonderful job they do for us there. We are certainly glad you had a wonderful experience! Please spread the word along and tell your friends to come and visit us too!

Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Hawaiian Islands