Mauna Kea Summit Sunset & Stargazing Tour with Meal, Transportation & Guide reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Mauna Kea Summit Sunset & Stargazing Tour with Meal, Transportation & Guide

Overall Rating

4.90 4.90 / 5

Reviews

51 reviews
Post a review

Absolutely amazing!

Reviewed by: Phil, 2024/06/18

Francis was a really fun guide and took care of us really well, making sure we were all doing okay with the high elevation. Sunset was gorgeous, seeing the moon through an 80x telescope was really cool, watching the stars come out was great. If you have a choice, go during a new moon, we had about 70% moon and it created a lot of light pollution in the sky. The other guide (Tom?) was really good at pointing out all the main constellations, even naming some of them in various different languages since we had a mixed ethnic group. Very knowledgeable. Phenomenal, phenomenal tour.

  • Sunset above the clouds at 13,800 feet elevation

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience! Great tour guide!

Reviewed by: Harish , 2023/11/24

We had an amazing experience and time on this trip. Our tour guide, Stefan, was deeply knowledgeable, fun and friendly. The tour started on time and went out perfect. They provided mitts and coats which kept us warm along with hot chocolate. It was a great evening with no clouds. The views were unforgettable. Five stars, would book again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime!

Reviewed by: L in Az, 2023/11/22

This was on my bucket list. My guide was very informative. He took pictures, individual and group pictures of us during sunset and during the stargazing event. Be prepared to bounce around on the dirt road to the summit. Totally enjoyed the hot cocoa and BLT sandwich that was provided.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2023/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Mikey, 2023/11/04

The entire experience start to finish was amazing. Wes was our guide and driver and took the time to explain what to expect and educate all of us on the island and the history of Hawai’i! I would recommend this tour to anybody who would like to enjoy the beautiful Mauna Kea! Wes also took the time to take photos of us at sunset and stargazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Totally worth it!!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2023/05/06

We had a great time on this trip. Our tour guide, Stefan, was excellent! He was friendly and informative the entire time. Even though we took the tour on an overcast night, there was so much to see and the views were unforgettable. Five stars, would book again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a blast!

Reviewed by: AngelaPK, 2023/04/23

We had a blast! A very unique experience, especially if you enjoy sunsets, heights, and amazing views.

  • Beautiful sunset!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable Experience

Reviewed by: Jason, 2023/01/07

Bundle up and enjoy one of the most unique experiences in Hawaii. The tour ran in a very timely fashion starting with the pickup time and getting to all the sites on site. Our guide was very informative but didn't overwhelm us with information either. The view of the sunset and stargazing just speak for themselves. Nothing short of spectacular and definitely a worthwhile experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice trip but operational mistakes

Reviewed by: TravelCouple, 2022/11/24

It was nice and cold at the summit, but the provided clothes helped a lot. Guide was informative although not nice. The bus to the top is very old and has a poor seating arrangement of mostly rows of three, so couples will be separated. Additionally, if you are separated on the way up, the guide will specifically force you to be separated on the way down in order to preserve your initial seats.

I have an egg allergy and specifically requested egg free food, yet the sandwich I was provided had mayonnaise and I was left with no other options.

The summit was a nice tour but I would recommend a different company. The other buses we saw were much nicer.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth it!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/22

Gorgeous stars holy goodness!!!! It is cold but they have some bundling clothes

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thanfkul for this experience

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

Awesome evening all guided, pick up and drop off back near the hotel, very awesome tour

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stefan Was Amazing

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/10

Stefan waited after others had left, and got us the most amazing photos and memories. Thank you to Stefan for caring for the guests.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended!

Reviewed by: Laura Simmons, 2022/11/08

It was a fantastic tour! From the ease of meeting the guide at a local pick up point, the his knowledge of the islands, the geography, and of course the telescopes and sky, to the use of parkas, pants and gloves... it was a wonderful experience! We went on an almost full moon night so only the brightest of stars were visible, but we were still able to see Saturn and Jupiter through their telescopes. Dress warm... and have a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience, highly recommend.

Reviewed by: Jocelyn, 2022/11/07

Stefan was a great guide and we loved how he made a concerted effort to make sure that we got some amazing photos with the sunset and stars.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

beautiful clear night for magnificent sunset and breathtaking star gazing

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2022/10/25

Had a wonderful experience at the top of Mauna Kea watching the sunset, followed by star gazing at a private location.

Very accommodating, lots of pics taken for us and very informative about the dormant volcano as well as Hawaii and the observatories. Coats and mitts were available when the temp dropped with the sunset.

The choice was ours to make as to pics we wanted taken, where and when to have our dinner snack and what we wanted to see in the night sky.

A few improvements would be to have a more comfortable van. This van was not comfortable to ride in for the trip to the top and back. Additionally, the photography equipment and additional telescope equipment should be added and improved.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A stunning moment - a must have lifetime experience

Reviewed by: Faye, 2022/10/01

The guide is friendly and informative. He can speak fluent English and Japanese. He provided the needed equipment for the trip and took nice photos for us. We’ve had unique and amazing lifetime experience by standing on the top of the world (count elevation from the seabed) and watching the stunning sunset and moonrise. Unfortunately, the full moon was so bright and we couldn’t clearly see the Milky Way. Overall a must have one and I will recommend do it with a guide as first time as some unexpected situations could happen if you are not fully prepared.

Warning: some people might feel faint and uncomfortable or fall asleep due to elevation

  • Sunset

  • The shadow of the earth

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would recommend this tour!

Reviewed by: Dan Ohio, 2022/09/22

Awesome tour! Stephan was amazing. Very knowledgeable about the island, Mauna Kea and the stars. We would definitely recommend. Everything was as advertised and even more!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2022/08/31

Absolutely amazing, a once in a lifetime experience made easy through this tour group. Easy to accommodate our special pickup needs, kind and knowledgeable guide. It was a guided tour, but plenty of time to wander and explore on our own. The stars and cocoa were amazing and the photos were first class that we received!! Highly recommend!!!! This was my sister's favorite activity during our week long Hawaii stay!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing. : very well organized, Nice spot, Nice pictures, stars gazzing was incredible. Thé guide was so awesome!

Reviewed by: Catherine , 2022/08/22

Super condition. Great guide very helpful to get thé good pictures spot and take also excellent pictures with vis dedicated caméra.
Tour well organized with amazing star gazzing.
Flexibility for thé pick up localisation

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible tour

Reviewed by: Rainer , 2022/08/13

We have been extremely lucky with the weather and our guide Stephan. He made a fantastic job and created a memorable event for us. THANK YOU!!!!
The stargazing was unbelievable. We have never seen so many stars in the sky and Stephan explained all of them - ok, most of them .

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enchanting Evening!!

Reviewed by: Neena Samant , 2022/08/13

What an evening!
The whole experience from booking to drop off at was seamless. The guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic to share his knowledge. He also gave an idea of the Big Island’s topography.
The main attraction is worth the money and the time you will spend. We went in a clear day and the sunset was spectacular. The guide gave a fantastic guided tour of the telescopes, the sky, the stars and the constellations.
He patiently took pictures of all the tourists and I’m immediately airdropped them.
In all a must do trip. Big shout out to the guide.

  • Lovely Sundays!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awe Inspiring

Reviewed by: Adam, 2022/08/11

This was a great trip, seeing the views from 13,000 feet, watching the sunset above the clouds, and the star gazing with a knowledgeable guide, all made for an awesome trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manua Kea and star gazing

Reviewed by: Chris Fischer, 2022/07/26

Wes and his partner did an awesome job. Wes was very professional and gave alot of information about the tour and the history of Hawaii. His partner is an amazing photographer. I would highly recommend this tour company

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go see the telescopes

Reviewed by: Polly, 2022/05/29

Stefan is a cool guide and got us safely up and down Mauna Kea. It was very cold so I appreciated the ski pants as I came with my own gear and it wasn't enough. The night we ascended was very cloudy so unfortunately no stargazing for us but I mainly wanted to see the telescopes and that was otherworldly. Stefan gave some interesting facts about the telescopes that was appreciated and we got lucky to speak with one of the NASA scientists while up there. There was no rush and we were allotted plenty of time to take pictures and take breaks as the altitude will creep up on you. We were told we'd be refunded $100 for the cloudy skies and I received the refund a couple days later. The sandwich wasn't the best but it was appreciated while up there.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: LJLW, 2022/05/08

This was a fantastic tour to the Summit. Stephan, tour guide, was very knowledgeable and accommodating. He even took pics for us on his own camera to share with us. This is not to be missed when you are on the Big Island. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding!!

Reviewed by: Ibtihale , 2022/04/28

I had an incredible time discovering the beauty of Mauna Kea! Mr.Aoki and Wes were very nice and knowledgable. They made us feel so comfortable with the very warm jackets and their kind hospitality. I enjoyed seeing the stars ⭐️ and learning about the constellations and sipping on hot coco;) the best coco I’ve had♥️ Thank you!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Truly an out-of-this-world experience!

Reviewed by: Jaime, 2022/04/09

I’ll start off by saying our guide, Hiro, was excellent. From start to finish he showed that he was very knowledgeable about the subject at hand and proved to be very courteous towards everyone in the group. The veggie sandwiches that he brought along for us were surprisingly delicious.

The trip itself was amazing and truly a once in a lifetime experience. Naturally I was a little anxious at first considering the high altitude but our tour guide was sure to explain everything in detail and was very considerate. That helped ease my tension a bit.

The day that we left the weather proved to be in our favor and we managed to encapsulate all that this trip had set out to be from the start. The view from the summit was amazing and when we went down to s t a r g a z e once the sun fell the energy from the group was electric.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea summit

Reviewed by: RAJ, 2022/03/21

Great experience. Our tour guide Shoyo was amazing. The tour started and ended on time. It gets very cold at the summit and we were provided jackets and mittens. Hot cocoa and sandwiches were yum.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing views!

Reviewed by: Jill & Shane, 2022/03/10

Shawn was our tour guide and he was amazing! Knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, and fun. He makes sure everyone is safe and gets the most out of the experience. I would highly recommend this company, and will definitely request Shawn for our next trip to the summit. The guides from the other group with your company were awesome too! You guys have a great bunch of people working for you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well worth it and would do again!

Reviewed by: Grace , 2022/03/03

Shawn was the best tour guide! It seemed like the entire 8 hours passed in a flash. From pickup onward, Shawn made sure that all guests were comfortable each time and told entertaining and engaging stories the entire time. The drive up the summit was super smooth, and I loved all of the photos! The stargazing took place at a secluded and clear location just below the summit and was accompanied by a funny, expert discussion on how and where to find all of the stars. Finally, loved all of the local food recommendations and super excited to try as many as possible this time as well as in future trips. The highlight of my trip this year!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Sunset & Stargazing Tour - Amazing!!

Reviewed by: Jeremy, 2022/03/02

Not only did we go to the top of the mountain and see the observatories in a beautiful sunset, We also had an amazing stargazing tour with a very knowledgeable guide. I recommend this to her for anyone who's interested in the stars or a beautiful sunset. Go do it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories