Luxury Volcano Circle of Fire & Waterfalls Helicopter Tour (from Hilo) [45 mins]

Awesome time!! We enjoyed it so much!!

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2018/02/03

We loved our adventure!! Pat was a great pilot and tour guide! We had big smiles on our faces for the rest of the day! A can’t miss in Hilo! The staff and crew were so nice and helpful with my mom who needed extra help getting to and from the helicopter. We highly recommend this excursion

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Greg, 2017/11/13

Went on the tour with our pilot Carl, who was very knowledgeable and friendly and fun. Showed us many interesting sites and found glowing lava on one of the flows. It was really a great experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: kiwiuk, 2017/10/29

.......only spoilt by the lack of DVD afterwards. Apparently the inflight DVD recording didn't work - totally gutted, as this was an absolute one off for us from Down Under.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Felt like a kid again

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2017/10/07

This helicopter tour was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. Checking in was a breeze. The pilot (Karl I think) was great, really friendly and knowledgable and told us fascinating stories about the land. His mixed tape for the flight was a great accompaniment to the flight. Nothing can quite prepare you for how amazing it is to fly over a volcanoe crater spewing lava, I was truly awe struck and felt like a kid again! It really is the top experience I would recommend on the big island.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well orginized

Reviewed by: Pete Rommers, 2017/10/02

Well orginized, deliver what's promised and good informed en pleasant staff

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to experience the Volcanoes National Park!

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2017/09/27

Let me start saying one thing - Kilauea Volcano is one of the most active volcanoes on Earth and it's definitely a MUST SEE & DO if you are visiting Hawaii. I think everyone should explore the Volcanoes National Park as much as they can, and since I've hiked hiked the most popular sights before, this time I decided to get the bird's eye view from Kilauea.

From start to finish Blue Hawaiian Helicopters was very professional and delivered a great service. After the check-in we watched a video about safety and what to expect on the tour. Due to the weather conditions my original flight was cancelled, however I was able to reschedule to a later time. It was worthy the wait! The aircraft was modern, very comfortable, large windows and the pilot was excelled and very experienced. He not only made us feel safe, but also shared a lot of interest facts about Hawaiian geology and history.

We flew over dozens of waterfalls and over the most recent lava flows and it was crazy to see how close the lava got to some houses couple of years ago. The most incredible part thou was for sure seeing the lava flowing into the ocean and watching the bubbling lava lake inside the Pu'u 'O'o Crater (which you can only see if you are doing an air tour).

I will never stop sharing these incredible memories with everyone around me.
Thank you VELTRA & Blue Hawaiian Helicopters for the amazing experience. I highly recommend this tour, whether you are visiting the island just for a day or more, make sure to include a helicopter flight on your wish list.


  • Kilauea, the smiling volcano!


  • Lava flowing to the ocean


  • Where lave meets the see


  • Great helicopters!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT, GREAT, GREAT !!

Reviewed by: Rena, 2017/09/22

Everyone should do this at least once! You get to see all the volcano has to offer.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible, absolutely incredible!

Reviewed by: Terry from Texas, 2017/09/19

The Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour was easily the best event our group had while on the Big Island. Everyone loved it. BH uses very high quality helicopters and our pilot was well trained and very skilled. We all agreed that at no time did we feel unsafe. Our pilot was also very well informed and told us a lot of interesting things about the volcano and the Hilo side of the island. But, the views were the most memorable part of the trip. Don't forget your camera or you'll hate yourself.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible!!!

Reviewed by: Ken, 2017/09/19

I name of this tour says it all! Live lava flows and incredible waterfalls. Our pilot, Peter, was fantastic and informative. I highly recommend the store to everyone.


  • The Caldera

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a fantastic time!

Reviewed by: D&H, 2017/09/11

The trip was initially cancelled due to poor weather, but the Blue Hawaiian staff were all extraordinarily friendly and helpful, and rebooked us for later that day. The flight was gorgeous, and the pilot (Patrick) was both professional and very entertaining. I'd happily recommend it to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride

Reviewed by: Maggie, 2017/09/02

Really great ride. Beautiful scenery. Saw some lava and waterfalls but we were not very close to either. Worth the trip but don't expect to get close

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Redmond, 2017/08/30

Saw volcano with bubbling lava and lava glowing into the sea. Friendly and informative pilot. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Tour

Reviewed by: Simone, 2017/08/12

Would use Blue Hawaiian if visiting again on another island

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

High up

Reviewed by: Daryl Mitchell , 2017/08/05

Great ride in all aspects! Weather was excellent for viewing, even up at the crater.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: part, 2017/07/27

The pilot was very friendly, attentive and made sure we could get the best out of our tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Sakhom, 2017/07/25

It was a great experience with full explanation from the pilots along the way. We all did enjoy it. The only flip side was the video record from our helicopter which turned to be the old system on the disc and the quality was pretty bad, considering buying the better quality for the customers to buy later on. Not all of them have a good video camera.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Diane, 2017/07/25

Excellent views of volcanoe, & informativepot Scott.
No other way to get that perspective.
Kids loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano and waterfall trip from Hilo

Reviewed by: Jim...aka Dad, 2017/07/17

Be ready for good music, family fun and good jokes...leave the Dad jokes back home!


  • Aloha...Holden's

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Started out rough, but was a fun time

Reviewed by: Dotman, 2017/07/17

We arrived at the appointed time for check in after making the 2 hour drive from the opposite side of the island. We were greeted nicely, had a short conversation, then found out the booking agent sent the email with the requested date/time, but the booking agent actually booked us for the following day.

After a few minutes, the tour company resolved the oversight by calling in the standby pilot, upgraded us to the bigger helicopter (to fly with only us), and would provide us with a free copy of the flight video. The only issue was it would be an hour later than our scheduled time. This gave us time to eat lunch at the airport before our new check in time, so no worries.

The flight was fun, great photo opportunities of the volcano areas/lava tubes, and very interesting facts from the seasoned pilot. I would use this company again despite the scheduling error.


  • In flight


  • At the check in desk

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: Deana, 2017/07/16

I was scared for my life, but it was amazing!!! Our pilot Eli was awesome!!! Highly recommend it!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Volcano shots

Reviewed by: Michele, 2017/07/10

The views of the volcanoes were amazing! I was a bit disappointed in the waterfalls though. We didn't get as close as it appears in the pictures!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip

Reviewed by: David, 2017/07/04

Seeing the lava in the cauldron coupled with the lava flow hitting the water and the massive lava fields was amazing. Throw in the waterfalls and it was an unforgettable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and educational

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2017/06/08

I brought my daughter and granddaughter to visit my parents who live in Hawaii. My parents had never done the helicopter tour and it exceeded our expectations. Our pilot was also a biologist and gave us lots of information about the island. The kids (teenagers) couldn't stop smiling. We had four generations in that helicopter and all of us loved the experience. Highly recommended.


  • Just landed and can't stop smiling!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lisa, the Circle of Fire is one of the "hottest" tours we have right now! Great to hear that your family was able to experience it and to see what formed the archipelago of the Hawaiian Islands. Hawaii Island is the youngest of all the major islands; we hope you have a chance to visit her older siblings and see what they have to offer from the sky!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous helicopter ride

Reviewed by: Marg from Australia , 2017/05/22

We travelled from Australia with our friends and took a helicopter tour of the volcano. The trip was amazing !! The pilot was informative and very knowledgeable. He had some great jokes and made us feel very safe. I would really recommend this trip to anyone.


Reply from activity provider

Aloha Marg, Thank you for making the long trip out to visit Hawaii! So great to hear that you had such a memorable experience. Great selfie by the way!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Karl Bement, 2017/05/21

Low clouds, poor visability, the tours we have taken in Maui and Honolulu were much better there se szw more waterfalls and coast line

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!!!

Reviewed by: Curtis & Laura, 2017/04/13

Pilot was an excellent "stick" and well informed. Catered to our ooohh and ahhhhs. One of best experiences ever.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved our flight with Coleen

Reviewed by: Lori, 2017/04/09

Really great flight with amazing views of the volcano. Coleen was a superb pilot and great guide. We got some terrific views of the caldera and where the flow meets the sea. Well worth the money- a once in a lifetime experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava flow

Reviewed by: Duane, 2017/02/19

Hard to beat the pictures you can get from the air on this trip.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Views!!!

Reviewed by: Jamie, 2017/01/26

We are so happy we chose this helicopter tour. We got close for pictures and selfies and our pilot was entertaining!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano only

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/12/24

We thought this would be a island tour. Yes we wanted to see the volcano that we wanted to see more too. We saw very little other than the volcano.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI