This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Luxury Volcano Circle of Fire & Waterfalls Helicopter Tour (from Hilo) [45 mins]

No Lava not even a spark

Reviewed by: PBoy, 2018/09/01

the website still says we can have a pretty good chance to see lava. After all this is the most active volcano in the World!. But wow there is nothing there. The remains are acres of black rocks and at the end is a black hole with some red in it that's not lava just red rocks. The whole thing is crumbling away. There is no lava here now. We can go see some on the ground for free. it's everywhere up on the saddle road


  • lava rock black and not glowing


  • lava rock pushing down trees and electric wires

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing view of lava field!

Reviewed by: kritter_foster, 2018/08/20

Although the lava is no longer very visible (it's crusted over, so you really only see the black lava crust, the steam from the fissures, and a little bit of lava glowing in one of the fissures), it was amazing to fly over it and learn the history of the area and the previous eruptions. The view from above makes you really appreciate how much territory has been affected. We couldn't see it spilling into the ocean anymore, either, but it was still really cool!

We didn't fly very close to the waterfall, and we were under the impression that we might see more than one, but the one we did see was very impressive from above.

Just being up in a helicopter, flying over this beautiful island and the surrounding ocean was fantastic and we loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime experience

Reviewed by: Diana T, 2018/07/18

When I booked this trip to Hawaii, I was not anticipating Kilauea to erupt actively. In fact when it came on the news that this volcano was spewing lava, I was ready to cancel this trip. However, Kilauea is on the Southeast end of the island and Waikoloa, where we were staying, was far from the volcanic activity. So, we not only kept our trip to big island of Hawaii but also added a helicopter ride to witness an active volcano, which is not something Californians can see on a regular basis, more of a once in a lifetime.

Our pilot, Scott, was great. He took the time to explain what we were seeing, took into consideration of Sophia’s, my 9yo daughter, wanting to see and learn more about this magnificent phenomenon (in fact it was the whole reason for booking this helicopter tour), and took into consideration in providing a smooth, fun, helicopter ride without missing out on being able to see what we need to enjoy the experience of viewing the natural activities of an active volcano. This tour was so worth it. Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Eco Star - Circle of Fire

Reviewed by: Heidi, 2018/06/30

The tour was excellent. The pilot was friendly, knowledgeable, and skilled. The flight was smooth and close enough to get a good look at things. The flight line staff were effective and efficient. The view of fissure 8 was incredible, a once in a lifetime opportunity. I would highly recommend this to anyone coming to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/27
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle of Fire tour

Reviewed by: Cromer70, 2018/06/30

Great experience! Great views of the erupting Kilauea volcano and spill of lava from fissure 8 into the ocean.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/27
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a treat!

Reviewed by: Jop, 2018/06/24

An amazing experience, friendly professional staff.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Father's Day 2018

Reviewed by: Allen Strong, 2018/06/20

Awesome experience!!!

Best Father's day present ever. The lava channel and fissure 8 eruption was priceless.

Recommend highly! Book it with Blue Hawiian.

Allen









Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/17
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible experience!

Reviewed by: K. Hammon, 2018/06/17

Incredible opportunity to see volcano. Very professional pilot. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour was amazing - but do not book through Veltra!

Reviewed by: mark, 2018/05/01

Had a beautiful helicopter tour through volcanoes and waterfalls, but it almost didn't happen because Veltra didn't give the right information to the company, resulting in us showing up at the airport and discovering our reservation didn't exist.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Better than I expected

Reviewed by: Jennifer Harriette , 2018/04/20

1st time in a helicopter. 1 more bucket list item checked off. The views were spectacular and we were very fortunate to have the weather & Mother Nature in general on our side that day. Our captain/pilot was great and very knowledgeable. He encouraged us to ask questions & answered them very well. I personally think the whole experience was worth every penny but then again, we were a party of 2. Either way, I would highly recommend Bule Hawaiian and this flight package in particular. Got to see everything they advertised. Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

For a smooth, quiet and relaxing flight over the Volcano fields - choose the Eco-Star!

Reviewed by: Craig M, 2018/04/16

For my first flight in a helicopter, wasn't sure what to expect... but wow what a smooth & quiet aircraft the Eco-Star is! The crew at Blue Hawaiian were courteous & professional and our Pilot Patrick was great - who was always checking to make sure everyone was comfortable during the trip and had ample opportunity to see & photograph each viewing site.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

excellent trip

Reviewed by: Hannah, 2018/03/24

The driver was friendly. We saw amazing lava flow and beautiful landscape.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano sky view

Reviewed by: Sunny , 2018/03/11

Wonderful life experience! Our pilot Scott (should be right name) Is experienced tour guide and very patiently answered my 5yrs old boy questions. Thank you



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time!! We enjoyed it so much!!

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2018/02/03

We loved our adventure!! Pat was a great pilot and tour guide! We had big smiles on our faces for the rest of the day! A can’t miss in Hilo! The staff and crew were so nice and helpful with my mom who needed extra help getting to and from the helicopter. We highly recommend this excursion

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/08
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Greg, 2017/11/13

Went on the tour with our pilot Carl, who was very knowledgeable and friendly and fun. Showed us many interesting sites and found glowing lava on one of the flows. It was really a great experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: kiwiuk, 2017/10/29

.......only spoilt by the lack of DVD afterwards. Apparently the inflight DVD recording didn't work - totally gutted, as this was an absolute one off for us from Down Under.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Felt like a kid again

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2017/10/07

This helicopter tour was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. Checking in was a breeze. The pilot (Karl I think) was great, really friendly and knowledgable and told us fascinating stories about the land. His mixed tape for the flight was a great accompaniment to the flight. Nothing can quite prepare you for how amazing it is to fly over a volcanoe crater spewing lava, I was truly awe struck and felt like a kid again! It really is the top experience I would recommend on the big island.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/17
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well orginized

Reviewed by: Pete Rommers, 2017/10/02

Well orginized, deliver what's promised and good informed en pleasant staff

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to experience the Volcanoes National Park!

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2017/09/27

Let me start saying one thing - Kilauea Volcano is one of the most active volcanoes on Earth and it's definitely a MUST SEE & DO if you are visiting Hawaii. I think everyone should explore the Volcanoes National Park as much as they can, and since I've hiked hiked the most popular sights before, this time I decided to get the bird's eye view from Kilauea.

From start to finish Blue Hawaiian Helicopters was very professional and delivered a great service. After the check-in we watched a video about safety and what to expect on the tour. Due to the weather conditions my original flight was cancelled, however I was able to reschedule to a later time. It was worthy the wait! The aircraft was modern, very comfortable, large windows and the pilot was excelled and very experienced. He not only made us feel safe, but also shared a lot of interest facts about Hawaiian geology and history.

We flew over dozens of waterfalls and over the most recent lava flows and it was crazy to see how close the lava got to some houses couple of years ago. The most incredible part thou was for sure seeing the lava flowing into the ocean and watching the bubbling lava lake inside the Pu'u 'O'o Crater (which you can only see if you are doing an air tour).

I will never stop sharing these incredible memories with everyone around me.
Thank you VELTRA & Blue Hawaiian Helicopters for the amazing experience. I highly recommend this tour, whether you are visiting the island just for a day or more, make sure to include a helicopter flight on your wish list.


  • Kilauea, the smiling volcano!


  • Lava flowing to the ocean


  • Where lave meets the see


  • Great helicopters!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT, GREAT, GREAT !!

Reviewed by: Rena, 2017/09/22

Everyone should do this at least once! You get to see all the volcano has to offer.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible, absolutely incredible!

Reviewed by: Terry from Texas, 2017/09/19

The Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour was easily the best event our group had while on the Big Island. Everyone loved it. BH uses very high quality helicopters and our pilot was well trained and very skilled. We all agreed that at no time did we feel unsafe. Our pilot was also very well informed and told us a lot of interesting things about the volcano and the Hilo side of the island. But, the views were the most memorable part of the trip. Don't forget your camera or you'll hate yourself.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible!!!

Reviewed by: Ken, 2017/09/19

I name of this tour says it all! Live lava flows and incredible waterfalls. Our pilot, Peter, was fantastic and informative. I highly recommend the store to everyone.


  • The Caldera

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a fantastic time!

Reviewed by: D&H, 2017/09/11

The trip was initially cancelled due to poor weather, but the Blue Hawaiian staff were all extraordinarily friendly and helpful, and rebooked us for later that day. The flight was gorgeous, and the pilot (Patrick) was both professional and very entertaining. I'd happily recommend it to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride

Reviewed by: Maggie, 2017/09/02

Really great ride. Beautiful scenery. Saw some lava and waterfalls but we were not very close to either. Worth the trip but don't expect to get close

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Redmond, 2017/08/30

Saw volcano with bubbling lava and lava glowing into the sea. Friendly and informative pilot. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Tour

Reviewed by: Simone, 2017/08/12

Would use Blue Hawaiian if visiting again on another island

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

High up

Reviewed by: Daryl Mitchell , 2017/08/05

Great ride in all aspects! Weather was excellent for viewing, even up at the crater.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: part, 2017/07/27

The pilot was very friendly, attentive and made sure we could get the best out of our tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Sakhom, 2017/07/25

It was a great experience with full explanation from the pilots along the way. We all did enjoy it. The only flip side was the video record from our helicopter which turned to be the old system on the disc and the quality was pretty bad, considering buying the better quality for the customers to buy later on. Not all of them have a good video camera.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Diane, 2017/07/25

Excellent views of volcanoe, & informativepot Scott.
No other way to get that perspective.
Kids loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories