KIlauea Volcano Helicopter Tour - Blue Hawaiian Circle of Fire Flight from Hilo reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

KIlauea Volcano Helicopter Tour - Blue Hawaiian Circle of Fire Flight from Hilo

Overall Rating

4.70 4.70 / 5

Reviews

234 reviews
Post a review

Awesome Day

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

Our pilot was really nice, however it was cloudy that day, which is not anyones fault, but bummer!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kara,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your tour. Thank you for flying with us.

Mahalo,
Blue Hawaiian

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see the volcano

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

really awesome to go over the eye, esp with active lava

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kara,

Thank you for your comments. That tour is a great way to see Kilauea.

Mahalo,
Blue Hawaiian

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience All Around

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/10/04

The team throughout was extremely knowledgeable about the areas we were flying over! The views were incredible throughout, from cliffs and waterfalls and all throughout the volcano. Highly recommend this trip!.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing 360 degrees volcano views

Reviewed by: Vivi, 2022/07/09

Helicopter tour was great and love the personalized video. 50 minutes tour was not enough.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing ride, excellent and enjoyable pilot and guide!

Reviewed by: John L., 2022/05/03

The team was professional, friendly and competent. Toshi, our pilot, was extremely knowledgeable about the areas we flew over and provided some incredible views of the canyons, cliffs and waterfalls along the journey. We were able to spend ample time viewing and enjoying the highlights. Toshi was very knowledgeable about a wide range of topics related to the areas we flew over. Highly recommend this trip for anyone considering it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful views

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/03/21

Everyone says to do a helicopter tour in Big Island and they were not wrong!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

excellent experience for those with disabilities.

Reviewed by: Joline, 2022/02/28

Incredible experience. Was concerned about the cost but definitely well worth it. They went above and beyond to make the to her accessible for my daughter who has cerebral palsy and challenges walking. The pilot was phenomenal with his knowledge base and engaging us in answering questions. Doing the early morning tour was also great as we did not have a whole lot of clouds and the weather was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular experience

Reviewed by: Mary, 2022/02/12

It was an awesome experience & beautiful views of natures.Hoping to flight again with our kids to enjoy the beauty of Big Island Hawaii.Thanks to our pilot Shane for the smooth & excellent flight.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice ride but watch the front seat upgrade.

Reviewed by: Mike, 2022/02/12

No doubt the ride itself was amazing! We were able to see a ton of the Big Island and our pilot was great.

However, the interaction at the desk was a little shady. When we arrived we had four in our party plus another passenger who was also assigned to our group. As we checked in the receptionist asked if we wanted to upgrade as the two front seats were still available. First off, that seems strange since there are only four seats across the back - obviously someone in a group of five would need a front seat. The problem came when one in my group wanted to upgrade to the front. They charged the full amount for both front seats. Then the receptionist pulled the single passenger to the side, giving her a "free" upgrade to the other front seat... great for her! If it would have been explained that the full price for both seats would be charged then another from my group would have taken the other front rather than give it away. I understand they have to distribute weight, etc. but the way it was handled was less than desirable. It's unfortunate that a shady sales experience soured an otherwise great day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best thing ever !!! Worth every penny!!!! Highly recommend

Reviewed by: Barbara florey, 2022/02/11

I would highly recommend this experience for everyone ! I learned so much about Hawaii and got to see the volcano with the red lava down in it . The amazing north coast , waterfalls watching whales from up there. Best thing ever . Very good pilot and guide! Friendly helpful !! Beautiful views you can only get from a helicopter

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Ride !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: Jon, 2022/01/01

The trip was simply fantastic .
We enjoyed the the sites very much.
When we come back to Hawaii, we will do the trip again.
It was a great ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour and great people!

Reviewed by: Art Goldberg, 2021/10/02

The coastal tour was perfect. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. Marco our pilot made everyone very comfortable and was a great tour guide and pilot. I highly recommend Blue Hawaiian Helicopters!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Pat from Houston, 2021/09/17

Pilot, Kai, was knowledgeable, friendly and great. Learned a lot!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A different experience

Reviewed by: BigIslandEye, 2021/09/01

A lot of people will complain about this tour if they don’t see lava and that’s on them. If you need to see lava, do your research and book appropriately. I’m frustrated that we couldn’t see lava shooting into the sky but we saw a perspective that not many others will ever see. I would have booked a waterfalls or other tour but it was a great family experience and the pilot Wesley was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Phenomenal!

Reviewed by: Kasandra, 2021/08/16

Toshi was PHENOMENAL! He was very engaging and made us feel so comfortable. You could tell he has such a warm spirit. The flight itself was nothing short of amazing, and I actually cried while flying through the valley because of how beautiful it is, later to find out Toshi made the playlist and it hit perfectly. There are no scenic roads to take you to where this helicopter goes, the helicopter ride is the only way to see these parts of Hawaii 1,000% worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Big Island Spectacular Circle Island Helicopter Flight - July

Reviewed by: S. Rowland, 2021/07/15

Great pilot and staff - very warm and made us feel comfortable for our first helicopter ride. Loved all the sites, learning about the Island and seeing the transitions of the landscapes - so beautiful. We would definitely recommend Blue Hawaiian!

A couple thoughts:
- Can you add another bathroom to have the lines more manageable?
- You mentioned in the notes it can get chilly on the helicopter (thus I thought there might be open windows!). In fact I found it a little too warm. I relaxed and got comfortable, but found that info slightly misleading.

Thanks,
S. Rowland

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beyond our Expectations!!

Reviewed by: Brenda, 2020/02/08

What a thrill it was to fly over the various lava fields and craters on this lovely island. The pilot was very informative and told us stories about some of the people who were affected by these lava flows. He also explained what had happened in the past and what is happening now to the changing landscape as we viewed from above. A highlight of our trip for sure!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sensational ride with knowledgeable pilot

Reviewed by: Roderick & Debra, 2020/01/27

From the moment we took off to the theme song of Hawaii 50 (one of my highlights), this ride was sensational. From the front row, we soared over volcano craters, lava flows, waterfalls and macadamia nut farms. To miss out on seeing Big Island from the air in a helicopter is to miss out big time. Save money in every way you can before your holiday to include this in your Hawaiian itinerary. Sara our pilot was super friendly and very knowledgeable about everything we saw below us and very keen to answer all our questions. Although I wondered if the ride would be scary, it was not at all. We sat in comfortable chairs, safely buckled up, and soared through the sky as if on a magic carpet. This helicopter ride was one of the best activities I've ever done in my life and I will never forget it. Thank you to everyone who worked to make this a wonderful experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Professionally done, great experience

Reviewed by: PKV, 2020/01/02

The overall experience was very good. This is our first Helicopter ride and it turned out to be an excellent one. Though we did not get to see real fire ( no active lava in Hawaii now), we could see the steaming volcano at close up. The pilot Steve was very good, answering all our queries with patience. The narrative was good throughout the trip. Overall 50 minutes was worth the money. I paid additional $100 for copilot seat which was on higher side. This is one reason why I rated 4-star and not 5-star.

  • Hilo from Helicopter

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breathtaking

Reviewed by: Denise, 2020/01/01

What an amazing experience! It was so interesting to learn about the volcano, the island and all the beautiful landscapes. It made me want to learn more about it all. Our pilot was very professional and fun. He had a plethora of knowledge about the island and we felt very safe in his hands. It was a fabulous tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommend it!

Reviewed by: Kyle, 2019/12/26

Speechless experience and an amazing way to see the coast.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great helicopter ride

Reviewed by: CHERYL , 2019/11/23

This was a great helicopter ride over volcanoes, waterfalls, and the rain forest. The staff treated us great, including safety procedures. I can say I was nervous. However, the staff was assuring to me along with making sure all of us were safely seated. I highly recommend this excursion. It was a great day. Love, love, loved it. I would do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good trip day!

Reviewed by: Jo Bear, 2019/11/12

Fun, exciting ride...fascinating volcanic sites and amazing number of waterfalls!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well worth it!

Reviewed by: April, 2019/08/22

We were told repeatedly that the helicopter tour was a must do on the big island and that Blue Hawaiian was top notch. They absolutely are! Friendly, helpful staff and top of the line equipment and a spotless facility! Thank you for calming a nervous first timer!! It was amazing and so worth the cost!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Volcano tour from Hilo

Reviewed by: Keri, 2019/08/14

Sarah was the Most informative pilot ever out of our 6 helicopter experiences in Hawaii. The views of the craters at Volcano National Park we’re amazing and the number and size of the waterfalls at the end was unexpected and spectacular. All in 45 minutes! We drove the saddle road from Waikoloa for an hour and forty minutes to take the helicopter out of Hilo for a much lower cost than from the Kona side.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Top highlight

Reviewed by: Eva, 2019/07/04

Professionals at work!
Booked the eco star helicopter and had a grwat quiet flight with very good views from the back window and middle seat.
Weather was good so we had a clear view.
The pilot expained everything well and I felt safe at all time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Couldn't have time it better!

Reviewed by: Pamela, 2019/06/02

My niece and I where visiting the Big Island during a very active period for Fissure 8 and our experience of an 'so up close you could feel it' was amazing!

The tour and the crew where fantastic and we really experienced what Mother Nature was throwing at the Big Island during that time. Was a once in a lifetime experience and one I highly recommend.

  • Fissure 8!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala Mountains, Cliffs & Waterfalls Air Tour

Reviewed by: Paul Rae, 2019/04/09

Had a fabulous time and definitely worth the expense to see parts of the Island you simply can't see otherwise.

Pilot and support staff were all very friendly and professional... A must do if you are on the Big Island or any other Island where they offer their services.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No Lava not even a spark

Reviewed by: PBoy, 2018/09/01

the website still says we can have a pretty good chance to see lava. After all this is the most active volcano in the World!. But wow there is nothing there. The remains are acres of black rocks and at the end is a black hole with some red in it that's not lava just red rocks. The whole thing is crumbling away. There is no lava here now. We can go see some on the ground for free. it's everywhere up on the saddle road

  • lava rock black and not glowing

  • lava rock pushing down trees and electric wires

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing view of lava field!

Reviewed by: kritter_foster, 2018/08/20

Although the lava is no longer very visible (it's crusted over, so you really only see the black lava crust, the steam from the fissures, and a little bit of lava glowing in one of the fissures), it was amazing to fly over it and learn the history of the area and the previous eruptions. The view from above makes you really appreciate how much territory has been affected. We couldn't see it spilling into the ocean anymore, either, but it was still really cool!

We didn't fly very close to the waterfall, and we were under the impression that we might see more than one, but the one we did see was very impressive from above.

Just being up in a helicopter, flying over this beautiful island and the surrounding ocean was fantastic and we loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories