Hawaii Manta Ray Sunset & Night Time Snorkel Experience from Kona - Iruka reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hawaii Manta Ray Sunset & Night Time Snorkel Experience from Kona - Iruka

Overall Rating

4.86 4.86 / 5

Reviews

76 reviews
Post a review

Spectacular snorkeling experience!

Reviewed by: Kirk, 2024/06/03

We attended the 9pm experience and it was absolutely worth every cent as well as the late hour. We were completely surrounded by manta rays, there were at least a dozen feeding within inches of the group. There were bottlenose dolphin hunting at the edges of the lighted area and we were even visited by a small shark. Everything a Hawaiian night snorkel should be!

The guides were professional and knowledgeable and truly provided an outstanding experience.

I would recommend a light jacket for the 20 minute boat ride to and from the dive sight if you get cold easily. I was in swim trunks and a long sleeve rash guard and I was fine, but my wife was a bit chilly on the trip back.

We would 100% do this experience again!

Reply from activity provider

ALOHA Kirk! Thank you for sharing your kind words, experience. We're so glad hear you have met dolphin and small shark during Manta ray snorkel as well. We looking forward welcoming you back when yo come to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a must!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/04/01

great evening swimming with these giant gorgeous creatures, we got lucky with the abundance who came around to play!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kara! Thank you so much for joining our Manta snorkel tour! We are happy to hear that you had a great time swimming with the manta rays. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exhilarating Night Adventure Watching Manta Ray Under Your Feet

Reviewed by: LarryC, 2024/02/28

Are ready to try an adventure that is unique? Water activities are great but what about doing something at night, in the water and mysteriously fun? You must do this! A night time viewing of majestic Manta Rey fish! Oh boy, so fun. The day came, I drove down to the facility early (good thing I did, I got lost) and introduced myself to the host. Maybe her name was Iruka, but a very friendly girl greeted me and accommodated any questions I had. She offered a wetsuit fins and mask/snorkel combo however, I bought and brought my own (because I know what it means for things not to fit right). We took off on time with about 13-15 people out into the abyss. Light was shimmering off the water as the sun was setting down. Very beautiful to see it on a boat. We took a short ride to the spot where other boats were anchored and the crew pulled out a square like raft. It had special lights in the middle to draw fish and Manta Ray. The special lights draw the plankton towards the light and the fish eat it right away.

Everyone slowly dropped ourselves over the side and crew members helped us swim to the floating raft. We had to hold a small rope handle and given floating noodles to place under our feet to make everyone horizontal. This is to keep our feet from kicking underneath the raft and scaring the fish. This also kept everyone relaxed, well until we started seeing strange fish.

So much fun! The ride back was scary fun. Traveling through the dark without any lights but the moon illuminating on the water in front of us Wow! This is something you'll never forget. Highly Recommended.

Video https://youtu.be/t4VJHokd3DI

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Larry!
Thank you so much for joining our manta ray tour on the big island of Hawai'i! We are happy to hear that you had a great time with our awesome crew and in the water with the manta rays! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! Your videos and pictures are amazing to see. Come back soon, mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2024/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome once-in-a-lifetime experience

Reviewed by: Veronica, 2024/02/25

My family did the sunset cruise and it was amazing! We got to watch the sunset in the water and got to see dolphins and look for whales before heading to the snorkeling spot. I have kids ages 12 and 9. While my 9 year old struggled a bit with the snorkel, my 12 year old had no problems at all. The crew was super fun and engaging, dancing to music and generally infecting the crowd with their great attitude. Snacks and drinks were provided as well as hot chocolate afterward. They also took videos for us and were happy to airdrop them to anyone that wanted them. I would definitely recommend this experience and this company!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Veronica!
Thank you for joining our manta ray tour and for sharing your amazing experience. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had a great time on our boat and snorkeling with the manta rays. We hope you come back soon for more fun, mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

pretty good experience

Reviewed by: joe pang , 2024/01/18

wonderful and first experience of my life. i 'll want to there again soon, this is my dream.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Joe! Thank you so much for joining our Manta Ray tour. We are so happy that you had a great time and that is was a dream come true. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME EXPERIENCE!!!!

Reviewed by: Mary H, 2023/10/31

We attended on Monday October 16. The 4 guys did such a fantastic job making it fun for all of us. It was a unique and exciting experience. I can not say enough good things about it. I highly recommend it and would even go so far as to say it is a MUST DO on the Big Island!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Mary! We are so happy that you enjoyed our Manta Ray tour. Thank you so much for joining us. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing guides, lots of mantas and fish, beautiful scenery, and fun learning experience.

Reviewed by: E & C Flores-Montoya, 2023/10/27

My husband and I booked this tour for our honeymoon on the island. It was truly amazing to see the many fish and mantas in their natural habitat! I was that person who forgot their motion sickness meds. If you get motion sick/sea sick definitely take them so you can enjoy the whole experience without feeling queasy. If you come from colder climates you may not need wet suits. My husband and I didnt get them as we come from a cold climate and did fine temperature wise. The captain and his crew, Diego, were very knowledgeable and friendly. They also helped out a bunch when I wasn't feeling well. Would recommend this tour to anyone!

  • Not my best image but I don't want to give away all the fun!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for joining our Manta Ray tour and for choosing Iruka! It makes us so happy to hear that our guests are loving their experience. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An absolutely unforgettable time!

Reviewed by: Kristen, 2023/10/21

We are SO glad we booked this tour with Iruka; we had an absolutely incredible time with tour guides Trevor, Diego and Tamaya (so sorry if I'm misspelling your names or missing anyone) who were so knowledgable and accommodating. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to the Big Island; a bunch of the rays got so close to us, we felt super safe and loved the hot chocolate afterwards!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kristen! Thank you so much for joining our Manta Ray tour and for sharing about your experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back soon! Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome!

Reviewed by: Stefanie Säuberlich, 2023/10/10

We always felt safe. The support was great. We were there with our 2 sons (4 and 11 years old). Everything worked great and everyone was very attentive. We were able to enjoy it completely as a family. Seeing the manta rays was an unforgettable experience.
Highly recommended!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Stefanie! Thank you so much for choosing Iruka and for sharing about your exciting experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time on our Manta Ray tour. We hope to see you again in the future! Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

10/10, would recommend. Manta rays are a must see!

Reviewed by: Maggy, 2023/09/18

This was such a breathtaking experience! Trevor and Diego were excellent captain and crew, with a great sense of humor too. They ensured I felt safe which was huge because I had never snorkeled before. I would recommend this company to anyone who asks, they provide everything you need including prescription goggles which was an amazing surprise. Diego also gave us manta ray facts as we were snorkeling and we loved it. The night began with a sunset boat ride, leading into the manta ray snorkel, and then a quick boat ride back to the harbor with snacks and hot cocoa. I will never forget this experience.

  • Manta rays come right up to you and flip around to eat. So so cool.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Maggy! We are so happy that you had fun on our Manta Ray tour. Thank you so much for joining us. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Evening

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/09/18

We were happy we got to see some mantas, it was so fun to have a night experience!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kara! Thank you for choosing Iruka and for sharing your positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time on our tour. We hope to see you again in the future! Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Epic Experience!

Reviewed by: Alex, 2023/09/02

The boat crew went out of their way to make sure each and every one of us was taken care of and having a good time. The mantas were surreal. This is something everyone needs to experience!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Alex! Thank you so much for joining our tour and for sharing about your experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back soon! Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun evening

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/08/13

We got lucky and got a few mantas so the night was worth it!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kara! We are so happy you were able to experience the magic of snorkeling with Manta Rays! Thank you for joining our tour, we hope you come back soon. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Sreedhar, 2023/08/05

- crew was very helpful
- had a good evening boat ride with sunset view
- crew explained the instructions clearly
- great experience watching manta rays up close
- crew helped my kids getting into and out of water

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Sreedhar! Thank you for choosing Iruka and for sharing your positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time on our tour. We hope to see you again in the future! Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

10/10 would do it again!

Reviewed by: Diane, 2023/07/30

This was a great experience for my family I clouding kids as young as 8. Bryce, Joe, Diego, and Tamae were so kind to the guests and very knowledgeable about the manta rays. We got a bonus of seeing a dolphin on our way to the snorkel site as well as a beautiful sunset. Mahalo!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Diane! We are so happy that you had fun on our Manta Ray tour and were lucky enough to see dolphins! Thank you so much for joining us. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Memorable Experience

Reviewed by: Belinda, 2023/07/18

Arriving shortly before 6:30 p.m., we were greeted with welcoming smiles and thank-yous for choosing them.

During the 30-minute boat ride to the manta ray sighting, the crew offered us snacks and beverages. Captain ?Louie? showed us a beautiful sunset while waiting to "anchor" until another boat saw a manta ray (we liked it that he wanted to give us the best chance of seeing manta rays). I was feeling a little seasick by then. Once the boat stopped, the crew gave us helpful instructions.

As we jumped into the water, the staff provided help to any who needed guidance to the lighted raft. Not being the best swimmer, I was one who Tamae kindly guided.

Minutes after setup, we saw our first of 6-7 manta rays for the evening. The manta rays were amazing, even though they chose to stay close to the bottom of the ocean that evening!

During the experience, the raft kept bumping my head and shifting my mask (another in my party had the same experience, so the crew should try to avoid giving the corner spot of the raft to anyone), so I had to hold onto the raft rope with one hand and prevent the raft from bumping my head with the other. The combination of the boat ride and the raft bumping caused my motion sickness to literally erupt. Diego and Tamae compassionately led me toward the boat. Diego comforted me, saying not to worry, at least one person each trip became ill. Because I started feeling better, I was able to return to the raft for the last 10 minutes.

Climbing up the ladder into the boat wasn't the easiest thing to do, but both the captain and crew were there to help.

The ride back was breezy but not too cold with a towel wrapped around our shoulders. I'm also glad there was a small bucket for me to use with my motion sickness.

The entire crew was fantastic, helping us all to experience watching the manta rays! Tamae also offered free actual video footage of our adventure.

Thanks for our memorable experience!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Belinda! Thank you so much for choosing Iruka and for sharing your positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time on our Manta Ray tour and with our amazing crew. We apologize for any discomfort you felt from the sea sickness. We are so happy to hear that you still were able to have a good time. We hope to see you again in the future! Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Evening

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/07/01

Really good water conditions, we got to see a good amount of the rays and the experience was breathtaking!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kara! We are thrilled to hear of your amazing experience on our manta ray tour. We hope you come again soon! Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Happy snorkeler, 2023/06/26

The tour was wonderful , the crew engaging, helpful, humorous, and knowledgeable , the equipment was fine, thoughtful snacks/drinks provided, and of course then there were the rays.it was a dreamlike experience.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We are so happy to hear that you had such an amazing time on our Manta Ray tour. We love to hear about our guest's positive experiences. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best family excursion!

Reviewed by: Molly L, 2023/06/25

MUST DO-Our family comes to Hawaii every summer and this is by far the most magical experience we've ever had on an excursion!!! There were four manta rays swimming around us-truly awe inspiring! Our kids are 16, 14, and 10...ALL LOVED IT and said it was the highlight of our trip! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Molly! Thank you for joining our tour and leaving such positive feedback! We are so glad that your family enjoyed your time with the manta rays. We hope to see you again in the future! Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saw lots of incredible Manta Rays!

Reviewed by: Brian Van Wie, 2023/04/29

Diego, Trevor, and Tamae were incredible! They were fun and upbeat and super helpful. We got in the water and we say more than a half dozen different manta rays swimming around right beneath us! It was an experience we’ll never forget!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Brian! We thank you for choosing Iruka and leaving such kind feedback! We hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

SO MANY MANTAS

Reviewed by: Big Bertha, 2023/04/23

This trip was great. Outstanding crew constantly catering to our every need and ensuring the best experience. Captain Trevor, first mate Diego and Joe and everyone else were so accommodating to all. Would love to come back and visit the mantas again!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We are so happy to hear that you had such a fantastic time on our Manta Ray tour. We thank you for choosing Iruka and leaving such positive feedback. Come back soon! Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Top 5 Experience of my life

Reviewed by: hq66, 2023/04/20

One of the top 5 experiences of my life! A must do on the big island. Captains Trevor and Diego were helpful. Storm was coming in so water was choppy. Climbing out of the water was the hardest part.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We are so thrilled that you had such a great time on our Manta Ray tour! Thank you so much for choosing Iruka Hawaii Dolphin. We hope we have a chance to welcome you back on our boat soon. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible, not to be missed, experience!!!

Reviewed by: JLC, 2023/04/17

This was such a great adventure! The crew was super nice, friendly, knowledgeable and gave us all the important information ahead of time. I am glad we rented wetsuits (the long sleeve, short legs version - $10), because the amount of time we stay in the water and specially at sunset, made it for a very cold attraction.
Nonetheless, we saw at least 4 manta rays, they were swimming around and under us for the entire time and it was such an incredible experience!!!
When we got back to the boat, we were treated to some really yummy hot chocolate.
Tamae, one of our guides, also had some pictures and videos that she shared with us!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for joining our sunset Manta Ray tour. We are so glad you had a great time and were able to see the mantas. We hope you have a chance to come back soon for more fun. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime experience..I'd enjoy again and again!

Reviewed by: reneec, 2023/04/01

The crew made the cruise fun and enjoyable for people of all ages.

Snacks were included, but you may not want to est if you get seasick easily.

As part of the experience, they even took some pictures during so we could just enjoy the experience ourselves.


Note: If it's the right season, you may even be able to see other wildlife on the Sunset cruise like we did!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you for joining our manta ray tour. We appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that you had a great time. Come back soon, Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not good

Reviewed by: Shawn, 2023/02/26

We could not see any and also the ride was so bumpy

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Shawn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We extend our deepest apologies for the experience you had on our tour. We would like to hear more details about it. Could you email us at info@hawaiidolphin.com and elaborate further? We would like to rectify this situation. Thank you.

Best,
Iruka Hawai‘i ‘Ohana

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lifelong memories made

Reviewed by: Spittstop, 2023/02/25

My 10 yo daughter and I did this excursion during a recent trip to the Big Island. It was an incredible and highly memorable evening and I feel privileged to have been able to do this.

We saw humpback whales and dolphins en route to the Manta Ray swim spot, and that made the excursion worthwhile, even before we'd seen the rays.

The crew were knowledgeable and fun and although the activity requires you to jump into the ocean at night without any light, I always felt safe and confident that the crew was looking after us. Having my daughter with me made that essential.

We floated for about 15 mins before we saw the rays, but when we did it was really breathtaking. We had around 30 mins or so floating before we got back on the boat for the ride back to port.

The crew took videos and photos and shared them with us which was a really lovely touch.

Wetsuits were a must as it does get cold. For those with younger children, there was a larger float that they could sit on safely, but older children were able to float in the water alongside adults.

I really couldn't recommend this highly enough. Maybe leave an extra 15 mins to find the dock as we struggled a little as there are quite a few trips leaving from the same marina at similar times.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for choosing Iruka Hawaii Dolphin for your Manta Ray snorkel adventure. We are so happy that you and your daughter had such a great experience with us. We hope to see you soon, mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

LIFE CHANGING

Reviewed by: Nikki Clark, 2023/01/31

First of all, WOW. From beginning to end, this experience was one for the record books.
For $10 this crew sets you up with a wet suit (recommended), and then a snorkel set at no additional charge. Once we boarded, we were met with a warm welcome, and a good belly laugh. Excellent staff! They were informative, safe, and most importantly, knew how to have fun!
During the boat ride we were met with bottle nose dolphins and a humpback whale sighting! The dolphins were curious and playful, and swam all around our boat! I may or may not have shed a tear of joy. It was seriously rad.
Once we got to our destination they gave us a noodle for floating, and set up a large, square floatation device for everyone to hold onto while we watched the mana rays. They are huge! They’re giant, friendly, and bring their appetite for plankton. You’ll also see tons of fish while you snorkel.
After our time was up, and we boarded, they passed out cups of hot chocolate.
The entire experience as a whole was one we will never forget. YOU HAVE TO DO THIS while you’re here!
Thank you so much for the experience of a lifetime! Keep up the good work, guys! Mahalo

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Nikki,

Thank you for the amazing comments about our team, we're glad your group felt safe and satisfied! We do offer a repeater discount of 20% off, so please keep us in mind for future travel plans.

Mahalo,
Iruka Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/01/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime experience

Reviewed by: David Letendre, 2023/01/23

We went out to sea under the setting sun.
Everything was perfect.
Lots of huge manta rays came close. Sometimes up to few feet away!!
The crew; Diego and Ryan were pampering us and taking care of our every needs.
Would recommend them anytime without a doubt.

-David L

Reply from activity provider

Aloha David,

Thank you for the positive comments about our team, we're glad your group felt safe and satisfied! We do offer a repeater discount of 20% off, so please keep us in mind for future travel plans.

Mahalo,
Iruka Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: S Lawrence , 2023/01/07

We had an awesome time viewing the Manta Rays. We were able to see the spinner dolphins in the sunset as well. The staff was great and very accommodating. Definitely worth the trip to the big island!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you for joining our manta ray tour in Kona! We are happy to hear that you were able to see so much wildlife. Thank you for choosing Iruka Hawaii Dolphin. Come back soon. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great night excurssion

Reviewed by: jhutch1368, 2023/01/06

Night snorkel with manta rays was recommended to me by a coworker who lived on Kona. We booked this for our vacation based on her recommendation. We brought our ‘kids’ ages 30, 16, 13. I think it would be hard for younger kids. In fact, one child I’d say about 6 sat on a float the entire time. Swimming in ocean at night even with a wetsuit (a MUST), a noodle, and holding on to a raft is trying even for an adult. That being said, it was so cool! We were fortunate to see many manta rays! I wish I could’ve taken pictures. It was plenty long enough time. Any longer would’ve been too much. We had perfect weather and the light of the full moon. The crew was awesome and fun. You could tell they loved their job and were friends. Shout out to the girl on our crew named Ryan, who took extra care and patience helping my 30 year old daughter swim back to boat.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

We are so happy the crew was able to provide a memorable experience for your family members, and all returning customers receive a 20% repeater discount. We hope to see you again!

Mahalo,
Team Iruka Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories