Hawaii Nautical Whale Watching Cruise from Waikoloa [Dec - Mar] reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hawaii Nautical Whale Watching Cruise from Waikoloa [Dec - Mar]

Overall Rating

4.40 4.40 / 5

Reviews

5 reviews
Post a review

So nice to be on the water

Reviewed by: Shauna, 2022/04/30

This is a wonderful catamaran! We didn't see any whales this trip but I love being on the ocean so I didn't care. As a bonus if there are not any whales you can go back for another trip. I recommend this to anyone going to The Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too much paperwork, for just a little boat ride.

Reviewed by: Meggen, 2022/03/20

I could not believe all the questions and declarations I had to fill out for this boat ride. Only online, no way to ask questions did I see and a legal interrogation like I was applying for the FBI. Then we are told the boat will not be what we signed up for but a small craft where everyone stays seated in rows. I also do not understand why we had to drop our shoes in a bucket after being told in the paperwork the kind of shoes we needed to bring to be on the boat, I do want to say the people that worked on the boat were cheerful, professional and helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching near hilton for the masses

Reviewed by: Aki, 2022/02/21

Overall it's an must do cruise to go out on the ocean on a Catamaran near the Waikoloa area.

We saw whales from far off as it was afternoon and the bigger ship is not attractive to the whales.

We would do the morning trip on the powerboat with fewer people or go for the sunset cruise.There is not much info provided during the cruise so it's lacking the fun in whale watching as it can be boring if nothing happens.

It would also be better if there was a spotter pointing to the breaches as it happens very quickly and multiple people spotting can be confusing.

After you get on board you are mostly left on your own and the boat only goes less than half a mile out.

We saw more whales from the shore than on the boat but it was good to get out on the ocean with this cruise.

  • View from catamaran cruise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This was an experience of a lifetime.

Reviewed by: Mike Miller, 2022/02/18

Our family’s first experience whale watching was truly impressive. The crew was professional with information and safety. They did not leave out the fun and had a nice variety of refreshments. We did take the 1:30 pm tour and saw many whales.
The confirmation email as to directions to find them was not so great. They are not in front of the Lava Lava restaurant ( which kept us circling for 10 mins) they are to the right of iLava Lava down along the beach 100 yards aprox, is 2 palm trees on the beach w/ small orange sign to check in. You should notice the platoon boat and catamaran out in the water awaiting for you.
Have extra cash available for tip they are worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience with Hawaii Nautical

Reviewed by: Irina, 2021/12/20

We saw two whales during our trip! We went on a tour in December, when the whale watching season just started, yet we were lucky to encounter two whales. The tour departed from Waikaloa, which was a bit of a drive from our place in Kona. However, it is supposed to be a better area for spotting whales. Overall, we had a very pleasant experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories