Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

Overall Rating

4.76 4.76 / 5

Reviews

63 reviews
Post a review

Mauna Kea Tour was the best highlight of my 10-day Hawaii vacation

Reviewed by: Vadim, 2019/06/07

The tour to Mauna Kea summit was majestic, and we have to thank our tour guide/driver for that. Besides holding an astronomy degree and being very knowledgeable in answering our questions, he kept us amused about the stars we were watching through a telescope. Great company, very comfortable vehicles, knowledgeable and entertaining tour guides, five star trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: H Harrington , 2019/06/05

We saw the north star in the same sky with the southern cross. Had never seen the southern cross before. That was worth the trip. The great professional authoritative guides, wonderful telescopes and celestial education were all icing on the cake.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best

Reviewed by: dolls, 2019/05/24

Guide was informative and friendly. On time performance and tour went well beyond what I thought was included in the days activities. Great to look at the stars through the telescope and have explanation of the skies (for a novice like me). Ride up and back to the summit of Mauna Kea was bumpy at times and a little daunting but not nearly as difficult as some made it out to be. Elevation did not bother me.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A trip not to miss!

Reviewed by: Gordon, 2019/03/30

Our driver and tour guide was outstanding. We learned a great deal about volcanoes and stars.
There were so many highlights to this trip: excellent veggie lasagne, watched a beautiful sunset from above the clouds, and telescope star gazing. This was one of the highlights of our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: Irina, 2019/01/13

Mauna Kea star-gazing tour was a must on our recent trip to Hawai’i. Our tour guide, Jim, was very knowledgeable and made sure that everyone in our group had the best experience possible. Absolutely incredible views, unforgettable sunset above the clouds, gorgeous Milky Way!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour

Reviewed by: YiQ, 2018/11/28

Tour was great, view was amazing and our tour guide Arthur was very friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience with friendly and really experienced tour guides

Reviewed by: Thivya, 2018/11/18

Must do in Big Island!!! Amazing sunset and stargazing experience. Never experienced anyth like this before.

Tour guides were really experienced, friendly and we felt absolutely safe during the entire tour. If I were ever in Big Island, would definitely book the same tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour

Reviewed by: Jason, 2018/09/14

Our guide, Gordon, made sure the shuttle ride was comfortable and enjoyable. the stargazing and sunset views were amazing! It is well recommended to take this tour.

Lasagna was a bit salty for asian taste in my opinion. Browny, cookies and drinks were nice. Jumpers and gloves were provided but it was still cold, so it would be better if you brought more warm clothings.

One thing, i came on this tour with my wife (newly weds) but the seats were limited, so we had to sit separately :( it would be nice if there were seating plans or notice beforehand.

Nonetheless, i would take this tour again if I do ever come back to the big island!

  • I think this was venus.

  • <3

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: Steven, 2018/05/20

Tour actually worked out better than expected. The tour vans are nice and new, the guides are nice and knowledgeable. You go right to the telescope summit and watch the sunrise followed by a great star gazing experience.

The lasagna ain't great but bring snacks and you'll have a great time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Knowledgeable and interesting

Reviewed by: Marco and Nancy, 2018/05/11

The tour was very interesting and Arthur our tour guide was very knowledgeable of the region. He answered all of our questions about the local environment as well as the history of the Hawaiian people.

It was cold at the summit and a sweatshirt should be worn if you cannot handle the cold even with the atlantic parka and gloves that is supplied.

The stargazing spot was incredibly clear and we could see hundreds of stars. We were also able to spot Venus, Jupiter, and several star systems through the telescopes provided.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great change-up experience in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Greg, 2018/01/15

This trip was a really fun experience as a contrast to the normal beach and ocean explorations that a visit to Hawaii normally includes.
The guide was very informative and the trip was planned well. The van was very comfortable (big Mercedes).
Climbing above the clouds made it feel like we were going to another world. The sunset from the top amongst all the observatory domes was incredibly colorful and the photography was cool with the domes.
The second part when we went down the mountain and set up the telescopes was fun too. The guide had an excellent presentation and mastery of the topics.
I highly recommend-it was out of the ordinary and visually spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This Was The Highlight of Our Hawaii Trip

Reviewed by: Sop, 2018/01/09

Our guides were Arthur and Justin. Both are funny and knowledgeable. This tour surprised us in so many ways. It is crazy that you can go from beach weather to freezing winds in a matter of hours. The parkas definitely help. I would recommend some layers of clothes, jeans, and good shoes. Bring a scarf or beanie. For those who live in the country, you do not realize how fortunate you are to not have light pollution. The stars that we saw were amazing. Your eyes adjust and focus so well on all the bright twinkles because there's no surrounding light. It's hard to explain but you feel like a child who's just seen something new and cool. Light pollution is real. On a good night in the city, I can probably see maybe 10 stars. Here, the volume is overwhelming. The location of Hawaii lets you see a lot more. Not only do you see the stars, but you can see distant galaxies as well our own milky way. Primitive, primal, natural are some other ways to describe experience.

The sunset on Mauna Kea was also a fantastic experience. Arthur and Justin are safe and excellent drivers. You see rental cars driving up the volcano on unpaved roads when they shouldn't. It's better to have the experts take you to the summit.

We attended this tour January 3, 2018. This gave us the rare opportunity to see the wolf moon and all the stars. I never knew how much light the moon provided at night.

I would do this again and recommend it to anybody who visits the Big Island.

  • moon through the telescope

  • sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour~

Reviewed by: Yang, 2017/11/06

Its was a great tour as advertised, Pick up was on time. and Gordon is a good driver, friendly, take good cares of everyone. He and his buddy provided a great service for the entire tour. This is a great tour to take if you are just visiting big island for vacation. We were traveling light, dont want to prepare winter cloth. the tour provides what we need on the mountain. It was one of the best tour we took in big island. definitely will do again~~

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Experience of a Lifetime!

Reviewed by: Beachin' Besties, 2017/08/16

If you have to choose one paid activity/tour to do on the Big Island, my friends and I definitely recommend the Mauna Kea Summit and Stargazing tour! It was an experience of a lifetime! From the AMAZING views from sunset to stargazing to the amazing, informative and friendly staff, I would definitely do this tour again, if only for the views!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Shannon, 2017/07/26

We learned so much about the island volcanos on this tour. The views are amazing and star gazing is outstanding. Believe the advice to be prepared for the cold. It was 37 at the top (in July)! We were fortunate to see the glow of the lava from the volcano. Apparently an unusual occurance.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tiur to Mauna Kea was a highlight of my vacation

Reviewed by: Alex K., 2017/06/25

I had a star gazing tour to Mauna Kea and have to admit this was a real STAR of my 2-week travel across Big Island. Our tour guide Maka had deep extensive knowledge in geology, volcanology, astronomy, ethnography, history of Hawaii and was just a very nice guy and interesting interlocutor. Maka was so kind to call me about my precious photo filters I left behind in the tour bus ad help me get them back. Thank you, Maka!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Minnesota2017, 2017/02/18

I had a great time, over the clouds and under the stars. This is a must see in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing views and breathtaking!

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2017/02/05

From the top of Mauna Kea you truly see forever. However, be prepared! At these heights it is also breath taking... that is, there is less air up there!! The guides were great and prepared you for the trip in every way. The dinner was good and the star gazing after coming half way back down was amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I finally see the milky way!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: Trina Sung, 2016/08/13

Our guide is David and he was very kind and informative. He provided a lot of island guide and knowledge of astronomy and geography. Everything in the tour were just fine. We had all things we needed. I loved the parka very much. Without the parka and the gloves, I would be freezed at the height of 4000m. When I saw the milky way in the sky, I was very very touched. It's incredible!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unbelievable Adventure

Reviewed by: Andrew, 2016/08/06

Gordon, our Driver / Guide was very knowledgable of the Island and was a great guide of the cosmos. I will definitely be returning and have already shared some of the pictures i took, and people still dont believe how great the stars you can see with the naked eye. I couldn't believe how great it looked almost fake it was that Great of an experience. Thanks for the Dinner and Hot Drink selection at the end of our star gazing tour.

#Returning2017

Andrew.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: ris, 2016/06/02

Its a must go, when visiting Big Island. Sunset view is breathtaking.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great experience

Reviewed by: Peter Long, 2016/04/20

We went to the top, little lightheaded but no big deal. The stop at the lower altitude helps. Dinner was fun, just like going out camping, no frills, you get your portion and you eat it. Lasagna was actually very tasty, not overcooked, then back into the van( very comfortable), and up we go.

The summit was surreal, enveloped in the mist and clouds with large telescopes all around. We did not see the sunset because of the clouds. But it was still a great experience. We also had bad luck with star watching despite our driver's best efforts. At the end we were told that we will get a full refund minus our food ( $19). That was what convince me that the company stood behind its word. I plan to take the same trip as soon as I get back, and I will. I believe that given all the variables every trip is unique and worth taking. It was a great experience, we felt well taken care of and completely safe. Good job Veltra and our guide and driver Greg. Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Terrific evening on Mauna Kea

Reviewed by: Richard, 2016/04/13

My wife and I took this tour on April 7. The day was fairly cloudy with some showers so we were concerned we wouldn't enjoy the full experience. We were wrong.
Our guide Jim was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.
The tour itself was great, from the information delivered during the ride there, the amazing sunset at almost 14,000 feet and some terrific stargazing through their own telescope with excellent info to help you understand what you were looking at.
The food was ok, brownie excellent.
Overall we would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Lea summit tour

Reviewed by: Albertszeto , 2016/01/28

An extremely informative tour, friendly and knowledgeable tour guide. The tour bus is slightly crammed. A lifetime experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome and informative

Reviewed by: Lisette, 2016/01/25

Visiting Mauna Kea was the main reason for my trip to Hawai'i and it was worth it! Our guide was informative (I wish I could of recorded everything he said) and I learnt alot, not just about the mountain and the island but about astronomy and rock formations etc.
A long day but worth having a tour as it takes the stress out of driving at high-altitude and you learn more by having a guide who visits the area daily.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea and stargazing adventure

Reviewed by: Holly B., 2016/01/05

This was a fabulous excursion! Definitely a bucket-list must! Chris was so knowledgable and a wonderful guide. The entire experience was incredible. I was traveling solo and felt completely included the entire time. I recommend this excursion above all others. At the end we had our own private astronomy lesson and were able to use the tour's private telescopes. It just could not have been better!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding and Educational Tour

Reviewed by: Blake Bastedo, 2015/12/14

I must state that the tour we booked to visit Mauna Kea was the highlight of all our activities on the Big Island. Greg was outstanding in his knowledge of the area and the solar system. My wife and I learned many new things when it came to star systems and planets. Viewing the International Space Station when it came by was unbelievable. The evening was moon free and perfectly clear. The Sunset at the Summit was breathtaking and the effects of 40% less oxygen was quite noticeable. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting or planning to visit Hawaii. Keep up the great work and a big Aloha to Greg and Blake!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Omg one of the highlights of my life!

Reviewed by: Kristyn Taylor , 2015/12/11

What a fabulous tour led by Greg. Full credit to Greg, who was so engaging and informative, he really enriched the experience.
The tour was out of this world literally. The telescopes, scenery, sunset!! I loved that we didn't race off , after the sunset, but stayed as the colours deepened. We were the last tour to leave the sunset location.
The food was good! Lasagne and a very yummy brownie and later hot chocolate and biscotti whilst we star gazed through massive telescopes.
I was totally impressed with this tour. In fact raved about it so much when I got back to the hotel that my friend went the next day and also loved it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: Keith, 2015/10/17

Enjoyable tour hosted by knowledgable guides. Great chance to see above the clouds and beyond. Only downside was the meal -a vegetable lasagne with a dried out top from being heated to long.

  • Spectacular Sunset

  • Other Uses for the Summit

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stellar Adventure

Reviewed by: Andy, 2015/09/10

This was truly one of the more amazing ventures we have done. The guides were knowledgeable and professional. We learned about the various international observatories, saw a phenomenal sunset above the clouds at nearly 14,000 feet and then were treated to astrological viewing that was incredible. Just a spectacular evening.

The only negative comment I have is the seating in the vans, particular if you are 6' or taller is very tight. That said, it is still a very worthwhile adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands