Waipio Valley Shuttle - The Most Affordable Waipio Valley Sightseeing Tour reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Waipio Valley Shuttle - The Most Affordable Waipio Valley Sightseeing Tour

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

8 reviews
Post a review

My guide was born and raised in the valley!

Reviewed by: Bbbbbbb, 2020/03/07

Friendly, knowledgeable, flexible.
Try to sit on the right hand side on the way down!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An absolute must do!!

Reviewed by: Gabby, 2020/02/29

This tour was fantastic from start to finish - from the quaint shop you meet to get on the shuttle to the informative guide to the incredible views, we couldn’t recommend more. Kolehe aka Douglas was our fearless leader who drove us into Waipio Valley and was just the best! So much fun, tons of passion for the island and specific area, and the perfect sense of humor and charm. It was my first off-roading experience, and needless to say, I’m addicted :) Don’t miss out on this awesome tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend

Reviewed by: Brian and Marion , 2020/02/16

We had a great time on our tour. Our driver/guide Kaleo, who is from Waipio Valley was very informative and funny. Kaleo stopped to let us out so we could get a better view of Hiilawe waterfall. We also saw several wild horses up close The check-in at the gallery was easy and a great place to browse while waiting (we arrived early) We highly recommend this tour. We felt sorry for the people who decided to walk down because the walk back up is very steep.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour. Excellent value.

Reviewed by: Tim, 2020/02/06

This is a great way to see Waipio Valley. This was out first time, so it was a great introduction. Hector, our guide, was very knowledgeable, polite, and really helped make the tour great. We only had a short time to see Waipio Valley, and this was a perfect introduction. The value was great. We got to see a large portion of the valley, made several stops along the way along with some interpretive explanations, and saw a lot. I highly recommend this tour, either as one time to see Waipio Valley, or as an introduction before venturing out on your own.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Peak into a Hidden World

Reviewed by: SamE, 2020/02/04

A trip into Waipi’o Valley with Douglas as your guide is a time travel to another time. His family is of this place so Douglas understands and shares the insiders perspective, with the added bonus of having access to the valley past the “End of Country Road” sign. Also if you aren’t up for the knee pounding descent and lung busting climb in and out of the valley this is the way to go. Worth mentioning this tour does not go to the beach, It instead works it’s way toward the back of the valley. Definitely a worth while event.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Day

Reviewed by: Les, 2020/02/04

Awesome trip. The driver was very knowledgeable and kept us entertained. I would highly recommend booking the tour as you get the history along with the beautiful sights. We were given alfalfa to feed the wild horses as well as some fresh coconut to eat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Lynn S., 2020/02/03

This tour was fun and informative. Hele, our guide, took the time to explain the history of the valley, what grows there and who lives there. He was friendly and personable. We didn’t feel rushed and enjoyed it very much! We are so glad we did it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great local tour guide kept you entertained along the way while enjoying the breathtaking view of Waipio Valley. Well worthy of the money!

Reviewed by: David, 2019/12/30

We had a wonderful trip, thanks to our terrific tour guide, Gary! There is only one road down to the valley and up. It is narrow, wet, slippery, and so many sharp turns. Traffic were quite busy in both directions on the day of our trip. Gary apparently is very familiar with the road, and he knows where to stop and wait for the incoming traffic, and when to steer ahead. While maneuvering the shuttle smoothly on a very challenging road, he was busy talking to us about the valley’s history, stories, residents, etc. There are stories everywhere from a tree, a sign, a spring, to a pond. He surely made the trip interesting, even drawing the interest from my younger son who has been bored all the way prior to the tour. The valley scenes are definitely beautiful and breathtaking. You can find all different views with every turn of the road. We took millions of photos. Just be careful don’t drop your phone or camera out of the window. Overall we love the views, and we learned quite a lot from our knowledgeable guide, Gary. I think it is a well worthwhile experience that suits everyone who loves nature and story and who doesn’t have time or energy to go down and up the valley on foot.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories