Waipio Shuttle - An Exceptional Sightseeing Tour of Waipio Valley [Open Now] reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Waipio Shuttle - An Exceptional Sightseeing Tour of Waipio Valley [Open Now]

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

12 reviews
Post a review

Magnificent views of the valley

Reviewed by: Jen P, 2021/04/10

My family really enjoyed this excursion and it was one of the highlights of our trip! We learned about this sacred ground and were able to capture amazing photos along the way! Hawaii’s largest waterfall, wild horses coming up to our van, and great family pictures were taken. Our driver, Daniel, was focused on our safety including following Covid safety protocols. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tremendous experience and a lot of fun to boot.

Reviewed by: Mark Dyre, 2021/01/07

The guide was very informative and showed us all of the unique characteristics of the valley. Would take the tour again and it was a lot of fun for all eight of us.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience - highly recommend!

Reviewed by: Mel Lee, 2020/12/30

What an awesome experience that was well worth every penny. Kaleo was a authentic, personable, and knowledgeable tour guide, who was born and raised in the valley. He shared not only the history of the sacred valley, but also stories of his childhood and information on the local wildlife. The tour met at the art gallery, where there are restrooms and parking (and yummy ice cream). From there everyone gets in a van as Kaleo drives the group down to the back of the valley, an area off limits to the general public. The views are incredible from the top to the bottom and back.

  • Double rainbow outside the art gallery

  • Everyone had masks in the van with the windows open

Reply from activity provider

Thank for your 5 star review. The windows on the van have been removed for a richer experience. Mahalo Gary

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don’t miss this tour of Waipio!

Reviewed by: Marcia from Alaska , 2020/11/14

I have brought my exchange students to the Big Island for 3 years and this was my first tour of Waipio. Kaleho our tour guy, being a life long local in the valley was filled with information about the history, biology and legends of this incredibly beautiful valley. So many stories and a safe comfortable tour. There is no glass in the windows in the 4 wheel drive passenger van so lots of airflow in the van. And he keeps a row empty between passengers. Everyone wears masks and sanitizes.
Also the store where you meet up has amazing art, books, music and incredible ice cream!

  • Lots of Taro fields taking advantage of the massive water flow here

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My guide was born and raised in the valley!

Reviewed by: Bbbbbbb, 2020/03/07

Friendly, knowledgeable, flexible.
Try to sit on the right hand side on the way down!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An absolute must do!!

Reviewed by: Gabby, 2020/02/29

This tour was fantastic from start to finish - from the quaint shop you meet to get on the shuttle to the informative guide to the incredible views, we couldn’t recommend more. Kolehe aka Douglas was our fearless leader who drove us into Waipio Valley and was just the best! So much fun, tons of passion for the island and specific area, and the perfect sense of humor and charm. It was my first off-roading experience, and needless to say, I’m addicted :) Don’t miss out on this awesome tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend

Reviewed by: Brian and Marion , 2020/02/16

We had a great time on our tour. Our driver/guide Kaleo, who is from Waipio Valley was very informative and funny. Kaleo stopped to let us out so we could get a better view of Hiilawe waterfall. We also saw several wild horses up close The check-in at the gallery was easy and a great place to browse while waiting (we arrived early) We highly recommend this tour. We felt sorry for the people who decided to walk down because the walk back up is very steep.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour. Excellent value.

Reviewed by: Tim, 2020/02/06

This is a great way to see Waipio Valley. This was out first time, so it was a great introduction. Hector, our guide, was very knowledgeable, polite, and really helped make the tour great. We only had a short time to see Waipio Valley, and this was a perfect introduction. The value was great. We got to see a large portion of the valley, made several stops along the way along with some interpretive explanations, and saw a lot. I highly recommend this tour, either as one time to see Waipio Valley, or as an introduction before venturing out on your own.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Peak into a Hidden World

Reviewed by: SamE, 2020/02/04

A trip into Waipi’o Valley with Douglas as your guide is a time travel to another time. His family is of this place so Douglas understands and shares the insiders perspective, with the added bonus of having access to the valley past the “End of Country Road” sign. Also if you aren’t up for the knee pounding descent and lung busting climb in and out of the valley this is the way to go. Worth mentioning this tour does not go to the beach, It instead works it’s way toward the back of the valley. Definitely a worth while event.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Day

Reviewed by: Les, 2020/02/04

Awesome trip. The driver was very knowledgeable and kept us entertained. I would highly recommend booking the tour as you get the history along with the beautiful sights. We were given alfalfa to feed the wild horses as well as some fresh coconut to eat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Lynn S., 2020/02/03

This tour was fun and informative. Hele, our guide, took the time to explain the history of the valley, what grows there and who lives there. He was friendly and personable. We didn’t feel rushed and enjoyed it very much! We are so glad we did it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great local tour guide kept you entertained along the way while enjoying the breathtaking view of Waipio Valley. Well worthy of the money!

Reviewed by: David, 2019/12/30

We had a wonderful trip, thanks to our terrific tour guide, Gary! There is only one road down to the valley and up. It is narrow, wet, slippery, and so many sharp turns. Traffic were quite busy in both directions on the day of our trip. Gary apparently is very familiar with the road, and he knows where to stop and wait for the incoming traffic, and when to steer ahead. While maneuvering the shuttle smoothly on a very challenging road, he was busy talking to us about the valley’s history, stories, residents, etc. There are stories everywhere from a tree, a sign, a spring, to a pond. He surely made the trip interesting, even drawing the interest from my younger son who has been bored all the way prior to the tour. The valley scenes are definitely beautiful and breathtaking. You can find all different views with every turn of the road. We took millions of photos. Just be careful don’t drop your phone or camera out of the window. Overall we love the views, and we learned quite a lot from our knowledgeable guide, Gary. I think it is a well worthwhile experience that suits everyone who loves nature and story and who doesn’t have time or energy to go down and up the valley on foot.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands