Oceanfront Royal Kona Luau with Open Bar - Voyagers of the Pacific Show reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oceanfront Royal Kona Luau with Open Bar - Voyagers of the Pacific Show

Overall Rating

4.61 4.61 / 5

Reviews

67 reviews
Post a review

A disappointment .

Reviewed by: Kathleen Hogg, 2024/02/25

Poor. It was supposed to run from 5pm until 8pm. It didn’t start until 5:30pm and ended at 7:10pm. Food was fair. Entertainment and service good. For what we paid, not worth it. I would not recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Natalie R. , 2024/02/04

Such an enjoyable experience!! Nearly all the food items were gluten free ( I have Celiac disease). The only suggestion I would make is to not put the gluten free dessert on the same plate as the glutinous items as there is chance of cross contamination. The wait staff were phenomenal. Our waiter Geno was on top of all our needs. The performers were out do this world and the musicians with equal talent. Loved the experience and encourage others to attend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Entertainment

Reviewed by: John, 2023/10/14

This was an outstanding dinner and show. Food was delicious and drinks were always being served. You never had to ask for drinks because there was always someone walking by with a tray full. The show was amazing and educational. The Dancers were incredible and the women were beautiful!
I highly recommend it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just ok.

Reviewed by: Lyndsey, 2023/10/13

I was expecting arts and crafts time for kids included lei making. We didn't get lei's but, rather a little shell necklace. We've been to the Old Lahina luau on Maui before and you get to see the pig roasting before it's taken to be carved. I was missing that element here. I also didn't expect plastic tables and chairs and plastic cups but rather wood tables and chairs and glasses. The ticket was very expensive for what you got experience wise. This seemed like a lot of corners were cut. Old Lahinha was much more elegant and authentic. Looking out on a big cruise ship wasn't lovely either. The sunset however was gorgeous and the pork and beef were really good.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau with wife and friends

Reviewed by: Will Cutrell, 2023/09/09

Great evening. Food was excellent and entertainment was even better. Loved the evening with my wife and friends! Venue was perfect with the scenic views.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun!!!

Reviewed by: Candy, 2023/08/12

We had a family of 10 with kids. They all had a great time. The dancers were beautiful. The kids especially liked the fire dancers. The food was great with a great variety. The bar service was fantastic. The only negative was the heat at that time of day. But other than that we had a blast! Would do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent show

Reviewed by: Devina, 2023/06/26

The show was very entertaining and food was amazing! I would have liked the host to speak a little louder. The tables at the back could barely hear him. Otherwise, great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great food & performance

Reviewed by: Deanna , 2023/04/20

Great food & performance. View of ocean nice. Validated parking. Food line went quick.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau with family

Reviewed by: Nick, 2023/02/18

Kids loved it! Highly recommend. Can't wait to come back :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved this Luau!!

Reviewed by: Grace, 2023/02/03

This was a very beautiful night! The luau experience was everything we were looking for. It felt like a true traditional experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A nice evening

Reviewed by: Kristen, 2022/12/15

Food was great especially the pork and salmon. Show was nice, small if you’ve been to some on the other islands. But overall a nice evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful show and atmosphere

Reviewed by: Traveler21, 2022/09/01

The Oceanfront Royal Kona Luau was so beautiful. I would definitely recommend for anyone wanting to see a beautiful sunset and a great performance. I absolutely loved the ambiance and the show. The food and food service was just ok and the event felt very touristy, so many people.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun luau show at the hotel

Reviewed by: Chris, 2022/06/16

This was a pretty fun show to attend. One thing I like a a luau is some of the history of the Hawaiian Islands and Polynesia and this show had some good dances going over the history and region. The house band was excellent and the host, while being kind of Vegas lounge singer-esque, hit a tone that was welcoming and fun. There was some audience participation and the event was generally a good time. The food and drinks we're a little less impressive and while they were as advertised and a typical luau fair, the quality was more of a banquet at a hotel style and the main reason for the 4 star over the 5 star. Fun luau, worth the purchase.

  • Fire Dancer at the luau

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Big Island Luau!

Reviewed by: Grace, 2022/06/15

This luau at Royal Kona was a truly wonderful experience! I would recommend it to anyone staying in the Kona area when coming to Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: April , 2022/05/06

Had seating for 5 and was awesome to get our photo taken so if we wanted, we could purchase after the show. It rained in the beginning for half an hour but they had ponchos for everyone. Finally the rain stopped and the music was cool. We got to eat and the show started. Loved everything about the host and how he explained everything like a story teller. My family enjoyed the food and the show. The luau was great and we left happy! Photos and memories! I recommend for sure. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun for the family!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/04/26

My kids had a blast seeing all the amazing dances and atmosphere!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau was great!

Reviewed by: Ali, 2022/04/17

We had a wonderful time at the luau. The food was great and drinks were yummy. The entertainment was just amazing. Very talented dancers, band and host was funny. The entire family had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great first luau experience

Reviewed by: Heather B, 2022/04/13

We had a great time at the Royal Kona Voyagers of the Pacific luau. The dancers and musicians were wonderful, the setting was stunning and the food was very filling. I would recommend planning on getting there a bit early as parking does get crowded and you do have to wait in line to check in, but the process was quick and very smooth.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Experience

Reviewed by: Selina, 2022/04/07

Had a fabulous experience at the Luau with my family. It was the first luau experience for my daughter and she enjoyed it. Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Kona Luau

Reviewed by: RAJ, 2022/03/21

Fabulous ocean backdrop. Very colourful performance and the fire show was awesome. Food was very good and catered for vegetarians as well. strongly recommended

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding

Reviewed by: Barbara florey, 2022/03/05

I would say best entertainment, very good dancers and the fire stick twirler was fantastic! It was long enough and not too long . It was perfect: the food was fine , not Grand but I just am a picky eater so I think it was fine. The show was awesome !!! Well done! The host of the show did a good job also : getting old so his voice wasn’t fantastic but who cares .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family fun

Reviewed by: Karen , 2022/03/02

Overall, this was a good experience for my family. We went with 3 kids and 6 adults including grandparents. The food was tasty, but not a lot of choices for picky eaters. The show was fun and the kids were thrilled by the fire dancer! Unfortunately, due to Covid restrictions, they did not have any pre-event activities to keep the kids engaged. My daughter really wanted to learn to hula dance as advertised, but they did not have it the night we went. I cannot fault them for taking Covid precautions. Again, overall, the whole family walked away from this happy and with good memories.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun show - great for family!

Reviewed by: ike1225, 2022/03/02

This was a fun experience for all! The food was good and the show was engaging and fun for the whole family. Great views of the ocean and the sunset as the evening went on. Would definitely recommend for others in the future!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect birthday celebration

Reviewed by: Ms Jones, 2022/01/20

All of my expectations were delivered. Everything I imagined the Luau would be or could be was beyond my dreams. The staff was wonderful, the waiters were attentive and friendly. There will definitely be a next time to the island. The acknowledgment of birthdays, anniversaries and honeymooners was a joy to see. I met one of the birthday girls and a newly married couple it was a pleasure to celebrate with them all. ALOHA!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Magda, 2021/12/23

Delicious buffet! Great MC and dancers! Loved the backdrop of the ocean.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2021/08/23

Overall, awesome experience! After reading reviews, I was super nervous about the validity of this site, especially considering that this site was able to get me tickets to a Luau that was sold out on all other sites. I called the venue to be reassured that this was a real site, and they confirmed it's validity! We showed up to the luau, had an amazing experience, and had 0 complications! Def. recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First luau for most of family.

Reviewed by: Bridget D, 2021/08/13

Beautiful setting facing ocean, Show was entertaining, staff was attentive, Food was plentiful and good but not outstanding. Mai tais were tasty but seemed watered down.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Kona Resort. Outstanding!!

Reviewed by: Nancy Monteleone, 2019/03/16

Outstanding performance!! Very entertaining and engaging!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Kona Resort Luau

Reviewed by: Todd, 2018/06/18

Overall, this was as a good luau experience. The show was excellent and the food was also excellent and plenty of variety. The setting is beautiful. The open bar was very good. There was not a lot of room, however, considering they were serving over 500 people (I overheard an organizer tell a waiter it was "515 people tonight"). The seating was a bit cramped. The ancillary activities (lei making for example) was fairly limited and not too well publicized. Those were the things that made our luau in Oahu truly special and yet we weren't able to take advantage of them since the supplies were limited.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Kona Luau

Reviewed by: Mike and Therese, 2018/04/02

Really enjoyed the Luau. Food was great. Entertainment was very good.
Recommend leaving early to go as there were delays due to road construction.(but not their issue)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/28
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories