(All Reviews) Waimea Valley (North Shore Sights & Tours), Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Waimea Valley in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.92 4.92 / 5

Reviews

52 reviews

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley - Polynesian Experience & Free Ticket to Waimea Falls

Fantastic Luau with perks

Reviewed by: cawesome , 2019/07/09

The luau itself was amazing. My family and I enjoyed participating in the pre show activities while learning about true polynesian culture and traditions. It's a smaller luau with only about 200 guests but with the smaller number of patrons you really get to interact and learn from everyone involved.
The host for the activities, Uncle Bob, has a great sense of humor as do the men that do the "cooking" and food prep demonstrations. These men are no joke, they even climbed up the coconut trees. They teach you about a traditional tribe welcoming and uses the guests to act as the tribes while explaining the rituals associated with welcoming guests to their community.
Not a huge selection of foods to sample but everything there was delicious. Kalua pork, teriyaki chicken, macaroni salad, green salad with macadamia nuts, rice, rolls, chantilly cake from Teds Bakery and a coconut type of jello dessert.
The family band that played music during dinner was Amazing. Those kids can really sing! The dancing was very traditional, not just girls in coconut bras and hula skirts, but real polynesian dancing showcasing dances from a variety of the polynesian islands. I was a VIP guest and we were right at eye level with the stage but it looked like most people would have quite a good view of the stage. We also got to go to the buffet first and got great souvenirs. My husband and I got hand fans, my son got a wooden Maui-type hook necklace and my daughter got a wood beaded bracelet that said Hawaii with hibiscus flowers printed on it. After dinner and show on your way out you were able to speak more with the staff and dancers and take pictures with them.
If it was your birthday we all sang happy birthday and you got an extra piece of cake, if it was your anniversary or honeymoon they brought you onstage for a slow dance and gave you a nut lei.
All this plus you get entry into the Waimea valley where you can swim in a waterfall and see beautiful trees and foliage!

  • Fire dancers

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley - Polynesian Experience & Free Ticket to Waimea Falls

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley (Add to your Bucket list)

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/04

I had a amazing time with Toa Luau, food, drinks & show are great. It's a very family oriented luau and the location is beautiful. The good thing about being far from Waikiki, is that you can skip the crowds from the other shows and get a more personal experience.

I really enjoyed the pre-luau activities, they let us be part of dinner preparation and we learned how to make some traditional Polynesian dishes. They let us peel taro, green banana, they showed us how make flower leis & how to use palm leafs to make headbands, baskets and hats. We played Polynesian games and had the chance to play some musical instruments too. Kids and adults were having so much fun! I believe this is the only luau where you can experience a Kava Cerimony, one of the most iconic cultural traditions in Fiji.

I've been to other luaus before, but this one felt different. I didn't feel as a tourist. The staff makes you feel like you are part of their family and that they are inviting you for a real party at their home, so it made the evening really special.
Another good thing is that it includes admission to Waimea Valley. We arrived earlier and were able to enjoy the botanical garden and of course, swim at the most famous waterfall on Oahu. There are changing rooms available at the park so you can get ready for the luau.

I recommend this luau for everyone who is looking for a real luau experience and wants to learn more about the beautiful Hawaiian & Polynesian culture. Absolutely loved it!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley - Polynesian Experience & Free Ticket to Waimea Falls

Honeymoon Heaven

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2019/05/26

This was our first time in Oahu and first time at a Luau. Highly recommend Toa
Luau. We arrived a few hours early since ticket includes admission to the Waimea Valley Gardens and Falls. Bring swimsuits and take a dip into the waterfalls at the end of the valley! We walked back to the Luau in time for the fun activities and 'pre-Luau' events includes crafts. We attended as a couple but this would be wonderful for families. The Luau then began with an amazing show complete with dancing and fire! Cousin Billy our host was entertaining and hospitable--the entire experience has a 'family' welcoming vibe. The food was good with a variety of choices. Because we were on our honeymoon Cousin Bill called up all the anniversaries/honeymoon couples for a special gift and blessing which was so special to us. We would definitely return this time with our family! Great job Toa Luau we'll be back!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley - Polynesian Experience & Free Ticket to Waimea Falls

Worth it!

Reviewed by: NVP, 2019/07/05

The Toa Luau was a great first luau for our family (30 to 60 year olds). Waimea Valley itself is beautiful; definitely come at least 2 hours early to be able to walk to the waterfall and enjoy the scenery. The pre-luau activities like weaving grass head bands, husking coconuts etc were fun. The show itself was fantastic too - they performed authentic ceremonies and dances from different Polynesian islands. The host was hilarious! Only slight downside was the food was only mediocre. We are all vegetarian and our main entree was bland quinoa; but we were happy there was even a vegetarian option (you have to request ahead of time though). Overall this luau is definitely worth it and we will recommend it to all of our family and friends!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley - Polynesian Experience & Free Ticket to Waimea Falls

Toa Luau is incredible!

Reviewed by: Keith M, 2018/07/26

Here we have a small group of nice folks pouring their soul into this wonderful luau. Imagine all this happing within the beautiful confines of Waimea Valley! Great food, great entertainment and one heck of a value. Toa Luau is centered around the traditional Samoan luau ways and pays respect to Hawaii and all the islands of Polynesia. My party of six adults chose the Silver package and were delighted with our seating position to the show. The food was amazing. Do yourself a favor... leave the other touristy luaus to the tourists and experience what these lovely folks work so hard to share. Well done Toa Luau!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full-day Majestic Oahu Circle Island Tour with Guide (from Ko Olina Resorts)

Hawaii Bound travel team

Reviewed by: Jill, 2018/03/11

We had such a good time. There was 7 of us in our group. Some of us had been to Oahu before and some had not. We wanted to take a smaller, more personal tour. So we could all be TOGETHER and learn some of the history of the islands while seeing all the sights.
Our driver was insightful, and fun. He answered all of our inquiries with so much knowledge.
Everyone of us enjoyed the whole tour. It was nice to be able to talk, visit, take pictures and not have to worry about driving and finding the way ourselves.
We didn't feel rushed... got to see everything at each stop.
Mahalo for a wonderful day...

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Jill,

Thank you for choosing E Noa Tours! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,
Lauren
Branding Strategic Manager
lhillhouse@enoa.com

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Good way to see the North Shore of Oahu and get out of Waikiki!

Reviewed by: Karen, 2019/08/26

This was our first time in Hawaii so we wanted to see as much of Oahu as we could and this tour was a great way to do it. Our driver/tour guide/waiter Steve was excellent; filling us in with fun facts about Waikiki and the places we passed along the way, recommendations for activities and places to eat and restroom breaks along the way! Highlights were the chilli garlic shrimp lunch and the green sea turtle we saw sun-baking on the beach and the ones bobbing up and down in the sea! We would highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see the North Shore and get out of Waikiki.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Awesome Falls

Reviewed by: Kelly, 2019/03/30

When we first got on our tour and the guide introduced himself I didn't hold out much hope of learning anything from someone who said they had only lived in Hawaii for 3 years but Steve turned out to be a fountain of knowledge. He made the day an extremely enjoyable one, so much information given and funny too. he should also release his soundtrack to the Circle Tour, he had a song for every stop it was awesome! My only criticism would be too many beach photo stops not enough time at Waimea Waterfall and Dole Plantation.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu North Shore Private Tour - One day Hawaii Excursion

Great experience, thank you Yolanda!

Reviewed by: Teresa, 2019/03/06

It was our first time traveling with an infant and I'm grateful that we had Yolanda as our tour guide. She was kind, patient, and was prepated for the trip. We didn't feel rush and she ALWAYS assist me in opening the car door and talks to my little one. She knows every corner of Oahu and was very informative and takes great photos. She even went above and beyond in assisting us find the closest ATM. I will definitely request her next time we come visit. Thank you Yolanda!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore and East Oahu Scenic Photo Tours (from Waikiki)

Wonderful time learning how to use my camera and taking an in-depth tour of Hawaii's ancient culture, plants and wildlife.

Reviewed by: Amy, 2018/03/07

This is a great tour for anyone who wants to learn how to use their camera better (even smartphone cameras!). I didn't feel rushed and because of our slower pace, our guide was able to delve deeper into explaining about the history and culture of each spot. Each shot became an opportunity to learn, which I really appreciated.
I'd recommend this tour for anyone who loves beautiful views and exploration at a slower pace. A camera is not necessary to enjoy yourself!

  • Waimea falls on a rainy day!

Comments from activity operators

What a great shot Amy! Thank you for joining one of our tours. We hope to take you to more amazing locations around the island next time you are in the islands. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Great Oahu Tour

Reviewed by: LJB, 2015/03/20

This Circle Island tour was terrific. Our guide, Dai Mar, was very knowledgeable about Oahu, the islands in general, and the places we visited. We saw the North Shore and spent time at the Banzai Pipeline, we visited Waimea Falls after a nice stroll/hike with lots of info about the area and the flora/fauna, we ate at Fumi's Shrimp Truck, and we stopped at a Macadamia farm/shop. It was fun, relaxed, and I learned a lot, plus the views were fantastic!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you for the great review. We are so happy we got to share these fantastic places on our island with you. We take great pride in the wonderfeul personalities and extensive knowledge of our guides. Your great review and kind words are always satisfying to hear. We hope you had a great time in Hawaii and come visit our paradise again soon.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Oahu Nature Tours

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley - Polynesian Experience & Free Ticket to Waimea Falls

The perfect luau

Reviewed by: Ontreal, 2018/12/22

Everything was great from the time of arrival. We arrived a few hours early to visit the waterfall and botanical garden. Simply beautiful and peaceful. That landed us in time for the luau and we got upgraded to VIP! Warning VIP you may be asked to be part of the show but it’s all fun and games and a great hands on learning experience. Food was buffet style and also amazingly delicious. All in all a great day at a great price.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Circle island tour

Reviewed by: Thomas Oster, 2018/10/20

We enjoyed our circle island tour in Oct. this was a special occasion for us and our second trip to Oahu. We wanted to see more of the island this time and choose this tour because it had so many stops and was a full day trip. Our driver was very informative & very knowledgeable. We enjoyed all our stops and had the best day!!! The lunch at Fumis was fantastic! I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

A Must Do Tour

Reviewed by: Eric, 2015/10/18

This was one of the most enjoyable and informative tours I have been on, Tiffany was an excellent and knowledgeable host this tour offers more than the tour description indicates and includes detailed interesting natural fauna information. I can highly recomend this very enjoyable tour and is excellent value for money the shrimp meal was enjoyable. Well done Tiffany for making our day day an enjoyable one.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Eric,

Thank you for your great review, and awesome praise of Tiffany. We will be sure to let her know how much you appreciated her tour. We are thrilled you had a great day, and got an amazing experience with her knowledge and information. That is the Oahu Nature Tour Difference. We hope you join us on another one of our adventures the next time you are in Oahu.

Mahalo,

Oahu Nature Tours

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Outstanding Tour

Reviewed by: Jano , 2018/03/11

Tori enhanced the tour with her energy and knowledge! The stop at Fumi’s was my favorite. There just happened to be several hula dancers and a musician that sang for a couple that got engaged. The shrimp was ono! The ube popsicle, too! Waimea Falls was also a treat. There was even a Farmers Market with local fruit and food. Gotta try the ice cream bananas. So good!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu North Shore Private Tour - One day Hawaii Excursion

Best tour yet!

Reviewed by: Ed, Jing @ Simin, 2019/02/27

Tour guide was kind, considerate and provided us with a unique tour experience.
She was attentive to our needs, friendly, knowledgable and gave us a fun, exciting time. She provided us with special sites, special photos, and secret views. Would like to tour with her again. Thank you Yolanda for giving us such a memorable tour!!

  • Wow, what a view. Get Yolanda to take you!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Doing the North Shore Circle

Reviewed by: AJ - Melbourne, 2014/11/17

Had Justin as the guide. Very very good - he made the trip!
Think he managed to talk the entire day(!) and added a lot of interesting and useful information throughout. Wife wanted to try the Shrimp Trucks, so that was her highlight, I wanted to see the large surf, so all-in-all, satisfied all our wants. Highly recommended.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha AJ,

Thank you so much for the great review. Justin and all our guides are the best in Oahu, and we are so glad you got to experience the North Shore guided by his passion and knowledge. I will pass your kind words on to him. Our guides love hearing that they were able to share the aloha spirit with our guests, and show visitors to our island a great time.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Oahu Nature Tours Management

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Tour and guide were exceptional

Reviewed by: Luis, 2018/05/03

We had a great experience. I went with my girlfriend, mom, and grandmother.
The tour gave us a good idea of the places we'd like to visit the next few days. Our tour guide, I think he name was Paul, was kind, knowledgeable, helpful, funny, and provided good advice for activities we could do the next few days.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Oahu Ultimate Circle Island Tour

Reviewed by: Guy, 2019/05/31

Great tour to do if you are not familiar with Oahu. Our driver, tour guide, lunch server etc. was outstanding. Very informative and patient. I highly recommend Oahu Nature Tour. Our tour guide was Monique in case you have a choice. We attended this tour on 28 May 2019. Lunch was included at Fumi's Shrimp Shack

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley - Polynesian Experience & Free Ticket to Waimea Falls

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/09/05

We had a wonderful time! Not the typical luau where you basically eat, then watch a show. It’s very interactive, we are able to do things. Staff were so friendly and it really felt like a big family celebration. Highly recommended! Plus the free admission to the fall was breathtaking

  • The gathering

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo for the wonderful review! We at Toa Luau are doing our very best to make sure the experience is fun and memorable, and we are glad to have been able to share this with you! Your Toa Luau ohana wishes to see you again on your next visit. :-)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Very Informative & enjoyable

Reviewed by: Sue from Sydney, 2018/10/28

Driver Levent was right on time for pick up .The tour was amazing & very informative . The knowledge Levent had was incredible . the sights we saw were good & lunch delicious . Highly recommend this tour for 1st timers to Oahu or returnees to the island.My daughter & I had a great time .

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

circle island waterfalls and shrimp tour

Reviewed by: Karel May 2015, 2015/06/21

The trip around the island was great I would highly recommend Veltra tours. The trip was made even better by our guide Bethany who was an endless wealth of knowledge, we did this trip2 years ago with another company and I can honestly say that we learnt 10 times more with your tour.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Karel,

We are so happy you had a great time. Our goal is conservation through education, So anytime we can share our enthusiasm and knowledge of our beautiful island we consider that a great success! We appreciate you taking the time to share your review here and hope we can take you on another adventure during your next visit to Oahu.

Mahalo,

Oahu Nature Tours Management

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Tour guide very knowledgeable

Reviewed by: Lucinda, 2019/05/03

Our tour guide and bus driver were both very knowledgeable and were easy to understand. We were given ample time at each stop to be able to see sights and take pictures. Lunch was very tasty. This is definitely one tour that I would recommend to friends and family.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Oahu Island tour! Great day!

Reviewed by: Anonymous , 2016/11/12

This was a very informative and fun day. Mandy was our guide and driver for the day. She was very knowledgeable and kept the day upbeat. We had time to stop to sea the turtles and actually got to see a large one on the beach! Great tour and the lunch was delicious!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full-day Majestic Oahu Circle Island Tour with Guide (from Ko Olina Resorts)

Beautiful tour

Reviewed by: Sam, 2017/06/04

From breathtaking Hanauma Bay to the Byodo Temple and Pali Lookout, this tour was captivating. Our driver/guide was excellent. Both of our tours by Enoa were outstanding. Pickups and tours were on time. Very reasonable fees! Highly recommend Ventura!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Great tour

Reviewed by: B Smith, 2016/10/18

We had a great time on this tour. Dirk, the driver/tour guide gave us a lot of info. The tour was exactly as advertised plus we got to see some turtles at an extra stop. Lunch was Excellent. We would definitely do this again. Awesome! !!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

Siteseeing

Reviewed by: Sssnrhnd, 2018/06/10

This is a wonderful excursion i would not recommend it for small children due to the time frame of the tour cause it is a long tour buf well worth it our tour gudie was knowledgeable and friendly and was on time. the food was excellent.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

That's what I call a tour!!

Reviewed by: Connie , 2017/07/23

I absolutely loved this tour! Our tour guide Justin was amazing! He was extremely knowledgeable and passionate. It was fun, interesting and I enjoyed all the stops we went to, especially sunset beach. I highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Circle Island Tour & Waimea Waterfalls with Famous Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp

One of the best yours I have ever taken!

Reviewed by: Melanie, 2013/07/20

The tour guide was the most personable, knowledgable tour guides I have ever had. She took the time to explain where we were, what was special about it and answered any and all questions. Would definitely use their services again!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you so much for the good review.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2013/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley - Polynesian Experience & Free Ticket to Waimea Falls

Best Luau Ever

Reviewed by: Jess , 2018/08/16

We’ve been to many Luaus over the years but this one was the best ever. It was personal, informative, and super entertaining. Definitely recommend to others. Each guest felt involved without big crowds and big lines.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories