Hanauma Bay Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide & Waikiki Transportation reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hanauma Bay Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide & Waikiki Transportation

Overall Rating

4.91 4.91 / 5

Reviews

142 reviews
Post a review

Hanauma bay snorkeling

Reviewed by: Family from Spokane , 2024/06/15

Dan and his wife were great! We would do it again with them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

OK tour

Reviewed by: Friends snorkel tour, 2024/05/21

Good guides but didn't allow us any unsupervised snorkel time. Actual time in the water was about 1 hour and got us back to Waikiki much earlier than we needed.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent snorkeling experience

Reviewed by: Kendra Smith, 2024/04/26

This was an excellent experience from start to finish! Dan promptly picked us up from our hotel and took us to Hanauma Bay. He took care of collecting all of our gear needed for snorkeling and had wet suits to rent if needed. Dan gave great instructions/tips to the group on how to snorkel. Dan and his partner then took us throughout the bay to the best sites to see the tropical fish. He even took pictures for us! I highly recommend this tour! It is an experience we won’t forget!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you Kendra, you guys dud great!
Hope we see you again.
Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really great experience

Reviewed by: Fwood, 2024/04/12

Our tour guide Dan was extremely helpful and supportive when my husband struggled with snorkeling. He and his partner helped him and even swam with him to help him feel comfortable.
I appreciated knowing that we were in good hands and they made sure we were all safe while having a great time! Very knowledgeable, personable and helpful Guide. We had an amazing time and Checked snorkeling off our bucket list. It was an easy and fun way to experience this as we were picked up and dropped off from our hotel and everything we needed was supplied.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for the good review! You guys did great, hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Debi S., 2024/02/18

We had a wonderful time in Hanauma Bay with our awesome guide, who was knowledgeable and patient. Transportation was very convenient and comfortable. We would highly recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you guys! Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Yile, 2024/02/02

The couple are so nice! I wish I could have them as guide again if I come next time. I will refer them to my friends and families.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience for new snorklers

Reviewed by: Michele from WI, 2024/01/27

Dan did a great job working with our kids and giving them a great first experience.

Reply from activity provider

Hi, your kids were awesome! Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience by super professional Guides

Reviewed by: Daniela, 2024/01/22

Everything that was listed happened, they came to pick us up on time, the equipment was in perfect shape, the small training for beginners was clear and well done.
I went with my 7-year-old daughter, and both guides where all the time paying special attention to us, to see that were ok, taking special care of us. I felt very well looked after and secure. They know what they do and are very professional.
The experience is really amazing, we saw so many fishes and a turtle.
We both loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great snorkeling experience!

Reviewed by: Kristina, 2024/01/17

Dan and Chieko were phenomenal! My husband and I were first timers and both Dan and Chieko were kind and patient and very thorough in making it a great experience for us. We saw so many fish and even a sea turtle!! I highly recommend Blue Hawaii Divers. They are the best!!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you Kristina, glad you had a good time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The tour was fantastic as described for beginners snorkeling

Reviewed by: Am , 2023/12/22

The tour was fantastic as described for beginners snorkeling, the guide Dan was amazing he made sure we are safe and helped to see amazing fishes , it was good experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Time Snorkeling!!

Reviewed by: Melissa S, 2023/06/30

This trip was amazing! Dan was patient with my daughter and I not being swimmers and got us comfortable in the water. We had the best time seeing all the beautiful fish and are excited for the next chance we can snorkel! Thank you so much for a wonderful experience! Photo taken by Dan!

  • Photo: Dan

Reply from activity provider

Thank you guys, you did. Awesome! Hope we see you again. Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What we needed for the first time snorkeling

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2023/06/26

We had super time snorkeling at Huanama Bay.
Dan is excellent trainer, very helpful and supportive. He made sure we had a great time. Took lot of pictures and shared with us. This will be life time memories.
I will advise who wants to do snorkeling do it with Dan. Blue Divers

Reply from activity provider

Thank you guys, I'm glad you enjoyed. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding experience!!

Reviewed by: Roger and Susan, 2023/04/22

Dan and Chieko were great hosts and guides. Dan picked us up and we talked with him quite a bit. He was kind, knowledgeable, and down-to-earth. Chieko was energetic, caring, and knowledgeable. The whole process (pick up and drop off, fitting for flippers, trolley down to the beach, putting on wet suits (additional option), instructions on technique and guidelines, storage of valuables, etc) was smooth from start to finish. This was my partner’s first experience snorkeling; she felt safe and at ease with Dan’s and Chieko’s instructions and guidance. We spent some time in the shallows and then went to deeper parts of the bay. We saw lots of fish! Hanauma Bay is a very special place. Overall, this was an amazing experience that my partner and I highly recommend!!!

Reply from activity provider

Thanks Rodger, glad you guys enjoyed. We had a really good day for it. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing day!

Reviewed by: Mike and Peg, 2020/03/15

This was so fun! We were totally new to snorkeling and a bit intimidated!
Dan, our guide, was patient and kind. He encouraged us and told us we had all day if needed.
After 10 minutes or so, we felt confident and ready. We saw two turtles, a moray eel, a tuna “tornado”,
And more fish than you can imagine. We snorkeled til we were too tired to go on! We are hooked.
Thanks, Dan!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you guys,

You did great! We had a spectacular day! Hope we see you again. Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great snorkel experience!!

Reviewed by: Jim D, 2020/03/08

Dan was our instructor. Awesome!! Cyndi was a first-timer; in fact, can not swim. Dan taught her how to be comfortable in the water, took her hand, guided her around the Bay. She loved it, sparked us on to additional snorkel trips on this vacation. Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this excursion for all qualities of snorkelers.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks Jim, glad you had fun and did some more snorkeling. See you next time. Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding

Reviewed by: KTBP, 2020/03/02

Guides were great...clearly love what they do. Saw lots of beautiful fish. Hanauma Bay was beautiful. Go with the wetsuit if you tend to get cold easily.

Reply from activity provider

Hi, Thank you, glad you enjoyed! Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling at Hanauma Bay

Reviewed by: JMZ, 2020/02/24

Outstanding! Awesome instructors! Highly recommend using Blue Hawaii Divers.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks guys, you did great! Dan

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best snorkeling tour

Reviewed by: Natalie, 2020/01/31

Chieko is the best! We had the best snorkeling tour.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you Natalie! you guys did great! Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel Tour.

Reviewed by: Rick, 2020/01/29

It was a great experience. Saw lots of fish and a Sea Turtle.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks Rick, glad you had fun! Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience.. recommend for non swimmers and beginners

Reviewed by: Annie Paul, 2020/01/21

Dan was absolutely amazing! Me and my husband does not know swimming. So he helped the whole time practicing and then through the actual snorkeling. We are very happy and recommend this tour for all beginners and non swimmers

Reply from activity provider

Thank you guys, glad you enjoyed. You did great! Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect

Reviewed by: Abc, 2019/12/26

As a first time snorkelling experience this was great . I was apprehensive as no one in our group knew how to swim but dan was so Patient and helpful . When one in our group almost gave up in the water he encouraged and helped to see the amazing sea life hanauma bay offers . I would definitely recommend this to first time snorkellers .

Reply from activity provider

Thanks guys, you all did great! Hope we see you again. Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful snorkeling!

Reviewed by: MJ Park, 2019/12/16

Cheiko san was a wonderful tour guide for a first time snorkeler. She was experienced, frhendly and professional! It was wonderful to follow her and explore underwater world. Even though the weather was a bit windy and waves were high, we could still enjoy safe snorkeling with her.

Participants need to bring some extra cash for equipment rental, entrance fee and others.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you, you did great! Hope we see you again. Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Jonathan , 2019/12/12

Great instructor and great lesson! We enjoyed our time and will do this again when we return.

Reply from activity provider

You guys did great! Hope we see you again. Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed the adventure!

Reviewed by: Tim, 2019/11/19

Dan arrived early for pick up at our hotel entrance. =) My wife and I have very little to no snorkeling experience, and our swimming experience is very limited. However, Dan and Cheiko made our adventure possible, great for beginners. Dan simplified the instructions to make it easy, fun, and safe for all. Cheiko was excellent in ensuring safety for me as I needed a bit more help/guidance. Saw lots of fishes and would do this all over again.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you, Glad you guys enjoyed. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't miss out on this activity!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2019/11/18

I can't speak highly enough of Dan, he is so kind and patient! He made sure that everyone was completely comfortable in the water with the equipment before starting the tour. He was constantly checking to make sure that everyone was still doing well and took us to some spots further out that a lot of people that were snorkeling on their own weren't going to. I think we got to see a lot more than we would have if we just did it on our own so I highly recommend this tour! We got to see so many different kinds of fish and even a sea turtle! Dan was taking pictures with his GoPro and let us know that he posts them all online on his company's Facebook page and that way you are able to just keep what you want to. Him and his wife were both so sweet and you can tell they really love what they do!

Reply from activity provider

Thanks Ashton, you guys all did great! Your welcome back anytime. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling in Hanauma Bay is a can’t-miss experience

Reviewed by: Amber, 2019/11/09

We had a great time snorkeling in Hanauma Bay with Blue Hawaii Divers. I am not a great swimmer, but our guide helped make me feel comfortable. I felt at ease even when we were out in deeper parts of the bay (~20 ft, I’d guess). We saw so many fish. Snorkeling is a must-do experience, and I think paying for a guided tour is worth it for their expertise and tips. We compared several guided snorkel options before booking this one, and we found this one to be the best value.
Just some other info: we met the group at Hanauma Bay rather than getting picked up, and it was easy to find the meetup spot. Everyone wears an inflatable life vest. The guides had water and chips for everyone after. They also took pictures with a GoPro during our snorkel activity, which were made freely available on the company’s Facebook page.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks Amber, glad you guys had a good time. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I do not like the water!

Reviewed by: Jenny, Nathan & kids, 2019/08/11

This was a great experience. I do not like the water and get motion sick very easily. However, I could not visit Hawaii without giving snorkeling a try. Dan showed the kids (10 & 12) what to do and gave us time to practice. Seeing how uncomfortable I was, Dan stayed with me and literally held my hand the whole time. I still felt sick by the end from the motion, but the rest of the family did awesome and really enjoyed the experience. Double Dramamine for me next time.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Jenny, Double Dramamine is the ticket. You guys did great. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dan is so amazing..

Reviewed by: sumit, 2019/08/07

I probably never leave reviews but Dan's hospitality and wonderful experience makes first time snorkelers so easy anf fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bucket list experience for a beginner snorkeler!

Reviewed by: Dr. Chris, 2019/07/30

I had an awesome time snorkeling and would highly recommend the tour. I am not a strong swimmer and was somewhat anxious about the experience. To calm my fears, Cheiko held my hand for the majority of the tour which allowed me to relax and to challenge myself to let go and enjoy the moment. I felt safe and was able to accomplish a personal goal, especially since I love adventure. What a thrilling ride! My nephew accompanied me who had the time of his life as well!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you Chris, Glad you had a good time. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesomely experience!

Reviewed by: Chris Luna , 2019/06/15

What an awesome experience I got to share with my son for his 18th birthday. The guide's, Dan and his wife were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely worth the money. I would highly recommend.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you Chris, you guys did great. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories