This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Beginner Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide at Hanauma Bay

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

287 reviews
Post a review

Awesomely experience!

Reviewed by: Chris Luna , 2019/06/15

What an awesome experience I got to share with my son for his 18th birthday. The guide's, Dan and his wife were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely worth the money. I would highly recommend.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you Chris, you guys did great. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family beginner snorkelling tour

Reviewed by: AnuG , 2019/06/08

Cheiko was very patient with our beginner family of 2 adults and 2 young kids
We had a great time and she especially took care of my wife who is terrified of the water
I highly recommend this tour for all those who have never done snorkelling before- it’s very safe
Something you should never miss out

Reply from activity provider

Thanks guys I am glad you had fun. Hope we see you again. Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such an amazing time!!!!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2019/06/07

You should absolutely use this service!!! Amazing!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you guys, glad you enjoyed. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time for a first-timer

Reviewed by: Vicki L, 2019/05/18

First time in Hawaii and snorkeling for me; overall, it was a fun experience! Saw lots of colorful fishes and coral. The guide also made it easy to understand and use the equipment - and soon, everyone was snorkeling in no time. The group is small so you don't have to worry about there being too large of a crowd to be able to follow the guide. Great value and experience - highly recommended for anyone who is completely new to snorkeling and Hanauma Bay!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you Vicky, glad you had a good time. You did great. Hope your bus ride back wasn't bad. Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful morning

Reviewed by: Melody, 2019/04/28

Dan was an awesome guide. Once he picked us up he gave us lots of little facts about Honolulu in general as we drove out. He was also very knowledgeable in answering our questions.

I liked that it was such a small group and felt that we all got some one on one time with the instructor as we needed.

Overall it was an amazing day and an experience I’ll remember for the rest of my life.

Highly recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you Melody, you guys did great! Hope we see you guys again. (Maybe with a wetsuit) Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great snorkeling experience, even for my shy 6 year old!

Reviewed by: Roslyn, 2019/04/27

Our guides were really patient and very good at what they do. Not only do they make the whole gearing up and organizing details easy they taught my 6 year old daughter to snorkel and she actually did it! She is shy and was refusing for weeks, telling me she would not snorkel and I was quite prepared to sit on the beach with her but they wasted no time in teaching her directly 1 on 1 and getting her to put her face in the water while I got to snorkel close by. It was really great and she loved it, I loved it and the rest of the family did too. We saw beautiful fish and spent the time all pointing at things and saying "look" under water. A great day! Thank you so much!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you Roslyn, All you guys did great and your daughter did awesome! Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was good

Reviewed by: Irene, 2019/04/19

We were really looking for a beginner experience as most of us weren't strong swimmers. Half of us didn't finish the entire activity as we got easily tired and unfortunately didn't see any turtles. It was a good experience though and something worth doing/trying at least once.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience

Reviewed by: S.F., 2019/04/19

It took a while to get used to the snorkel but a good experience nonetheless.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect Conditions and great Guide team!

Reviewed by: Old Dude, 2019/04/04

It was a perfect day. Nice and Sunny, but not too hot. We saw 2 turtles and loads of fish. Guide Dan was very helpful for those in our group, who were true beginners or having trouble with their masks or other issues.
Would highly recommend them.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks guys, glad you had a good time, hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Marlene, 2019/03/02

We had so much fun! It was our first time and we cant wait to go back! Our instructor was so nice and he took his time and showed us everything. We seen lots of fish and a couple turtles

Reply from activity provider

Hi Marlene, glad you guys had a good time. Hope we see you again. Thanks, Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommend for first timers!

Reviewed by: Yiran, 2018/12/31

Dan's an experienced guide for us first timers. They provide rx lenses for masks. The weather was just perfect. But I was just too seasick to swim further to see more fish :(

Reply from activity provider

Hi guys, sorry about the seasick, I would recommend taking motion sickness medicine first next time. You did great.
Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginner snorkeling tour

Reviewed by: Gisela , 2018/11/26

Outstanding service... Dan and Chieko were amazing. As a non-swimmer they made the experience enjoyable. Very knowledgeable and down to earth people. Thank you!!!

Reply from activity provider

Thanks Gisela, you guys did great! Hope we see you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Breathtaking Experience at Hanauma Bay

Reviewed by: Josie D, 2018/11/11

What an awesome snorkeling experience from start to finish. Dan is not only friendly and experienced, he also made me feel calm and safe at all times. The hour guided snorkeling was breathtaking because of Dan’s knowledge of Hanauma Bay and the amazing photos he took for us. A priceless memory!

Reply from activity provider

Thanks Josie, you guys did great. It was a beautiful day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very helpful and professional

Reviewed by: Aussie, 2018/09/25

This was my first time snorkelling, so, although I love to swim, was a bit apprehensive about the mask and snorkel. Both guides were great. Pick up on time, lots of interesting information along the drive, friendly, professional and took care of safety. Explained everything well. I had difficulty with the breathing bit and they were very helpful and calming.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you, glad you had a good time. Hope we see you again.
Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Dee, 2018/08/05

We had Awesome time Snorkeling. The fish were beautiful and very colorful. Dan was very patient with me. He is a great instructor. Hawaii was absolutely Gorgeous!

Reply from activity provider

Hi guys, you did great. You hung in there and did not give up! Hope we see you again. Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Timers!

Reviewed by: Vanessa , 2018/08/05

The beginning snorkel was perfect for our family! We saw so many fish a sea turtle! We would do this again for sure. Our guides were attentive and made sure we we safe and not missing a thing. This was perfec for us since we were all 1st time snorkelers.

We can’t wait for the next time.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Vanessa, glad you guys enjoyed. You guys were great. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing day trip!

Reviewed by: Jaime, 2018/07/29

The husband and wife team were insightful, helpful, and made sure everyone was safe. They even picked us us and gave us a mini tour of the island sites as we drove. I would definitely recommend to anyone including families with children. They had an additional family with us with small children and they provided them with extra resources to be safe and have fun.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks guys, glad you enjoyed. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time

Reviewed by: Fatima , 2018/06/24

My daughters and I had a great time . Both Dan & his wife explained everything and were very patient. I would recommend to anyone . Would definitely book them again.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks Fatima, you guys all did great! Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience!

Reviewed by: elllop, 2018/06/21

My husband and I were first time snorkelers. Dan picked us up promptly from our hotel and we had a lovely drive to Hanauma Bay. Dan explained everything to us and was very professional. We snorkeled at our own pace, but Dan and his wife were always watching to make sure that everyone in our group was safe. We were lucky enough to see four turtles as well as other fish. All necessary gear was provided. I highly recommend this tour!

Reply from activity provider

Thanks guys, It was a great day! Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginners snorkel tour Hanauma Bay

Reviewed by: Melinda, 2018/06/03

It was such a great experience. Saw hundreds of beautiful fish. Our tour guide was excellent!!!.Dan is such a great person he made of excursion very enjoyable!

Reply from activity provider

Thanks Melinda, you guys all did great. Next time we'll use fins! Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Peegee, 2018/05/26

Dan and his wife were wonderful! They guided us for the entire snorkeling trip and Dan even gave us tips about other places when we traveled to and from the beach. Highly recommended!

Reply from activity provider

Thanks guys, you did great, hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Helen, 2018/05/26

Even better than I thought it would be! This was my first time snorkelling and I was a bit nervous, but our guides were very patient and helpful. They made me feel totally comfortable about the whole process. We saw so many fish, including whole schools of fish swimming just centimetres away from us, and even a sea turtle.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Helen, glad you had a good time. You did great! Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime

Reviewed by: Brittany, 2018/05/13

We did the snorkeling tour with Chieko and Dan and it was amazing. Their help and information was appreciated. My boyfriend was terrified of sinking and Dan explained it thoroughly which gave him the confidence he needed to do it. We saw sooo many out of this world fish it was like an acquarium, and even a turtle! We had plenty of time to explore the entire bay and you go plenty deep to see some amazing marine life. It was a once in a lifetime experience so thankyou Blue Hawaii Divers!

Reply from activity provider

Hi Brittany, you guys did great! Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience, and great instructors!

Reviewed by: S. Lai, 2018/04/28

It was me and my friend’s first time snorkeling and Dan was extremely patient. At first, I was uncomfortable with breathing under water, but Dan made sure that I relaxed myself and held on to me during the practices to ensure that I was comfortable. He took great photos for us and took us further down to see a lot of fishes and we even saw a turtle towards the end of the tour! I would highly recommend Blue Hawaii Divers to anyone who wishes to book a tour for snorkeling. It is not necessarily just for beginners, we swam in groups and there were people who have snorkeled before. On the way back to the hotel, Dan gives great suggestions on where to go, and he also gives great recommendations for food spots.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Sherry,
Glad you guys had a good time. Hope we see you again.
Dan

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friendly and well prepared guide-worked well with grown ups and kid

Reviewed by: CaliforniaFamily, 2018/04/06

Our guide was cheerful, efficient (this is important when getting novices into a wetsuit!), and informative. She asked us what we wanted to see, and when my daughter said turtles, she took us straight to two turtles after an introductory snorkel lesson. This was my second trip to Hawaii, and I was so glad I finally took a lesson. For the next week, I was able to finally relax, enjoy, and see a lot of interesting sea life. The snorkel at Haunama was spectacular also.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks guys, glad you enjoyed. Hope we see you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome snorkel tour

Reviewed by: Suja., 2018/04/01

We enjoyed the snorkel tour so very much! Our tour guide was Dan and he was very methodical through the whole process of making us comfortable in water and a short lesson for the boys. They had a whale of time snorkeling the Hanauma bay! Thank you!

Reply from activity provider

Hi guys, glad you enjoyed. Hope we see you again. Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time snorkeling!

Reviewed by: Ana, 2018/03/13

Dan was super friendly and informative. We had no trouble getting picked up and into the reserve. He ensured our comfort, safety and overall quelmed the anxieties of a first time snorkeler. He also carried a go pro which meant that my awesome first experience was documented. I’d absolutely recommend it as well as do it again.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Ana, glad you enjoyed. You guys did great, hope we see you again. Dan

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent beginner snorkel experience

Reviewed by: Janine, 2018/03/02

Punctual pick up from hotel. Dan, our guide friendly and informative. Small group of 6 and 2 guides was ideal. Very well organised with no waiting around and extra options like wetsuits available if required. Bonus was photos of our experience shared at no extra cost! A great morning!

Reply from activity provider

Hi Janine, glad you guys had fun. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun

Reviewed by: Catherine , 2018/02/18

Well planned tour. Excellent and friendly guide. Best of all it rained and we pretty much got the bay to ourselves. Would definitely recommend it and do it again.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Catherine, it was a fun day. Hope we see you again. Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Nick, 2018/02/17

Great trip. Well organized, all the equipment provided. Guide knew exactly where to find some rare animals. Pickup was from a hotel a quarter mile from where we were staying in Honolulu. Try to go at high tide if possible.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks guys, glad you enjoyed. Hope we see you again. Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories