Waikiki's Most Affordable Turtle Snorkel Sail Tour - Mana Kai Catamaran reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waikiki's Most Affordable Turtle Snorkel Sail Tour - Mana Kai Catamaran

Overall Rating

4.64 4.64 / 5

Reviews

53 reviews
Post a review

1000/10 stars! Choose them for your snorkel adventure!

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2022/09/25

Such a fun and welcoming crew, nice boat and great experience! We Sat on the net at the front of the boat, highly recommend, super fun and exciting! The turtle post was awesome, it was at the feeding grounds so we saw tons of turtles. Lots of fish varieties. We were all beginners and instruction was super clear we jumped right in easily. Would definitley return to this company again when visiting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This tour is definitely worth doing!

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2022/09/24

I've been to Oahu many times. I brought my fiance this time since he's never been. I wanted him to try out snorkeling and see things other than fish, so the turtle tour was a perfect fit. Honestly the crew did a great job. Even the people we had on the boat with us doing the tour was a wonderful group. The only few downsides were: it rained. And I mean it poured! Not for very long and I'm sure the people in the water didn't notice it much, but I was sitting on the boat at the time and I was trying to cover our backpack and towels, since we would need them to dry off later, and it was coming down like pellets. But it didn't last more than 10-15 min and was more or less over. But the sky stayed dark making it hard to see through the already dark water. The turtles became less visible and it made our whole group decide to get out of the water and come back onto the boat to head back in. We were out there for a good amount of time but not the full time. The other problem we had was it got very crowded in the water looking at the turtles. 4 other boats full of passengers were doing other turtle tours as well. There was just a lot of people bumping into each other. I tried to stay away from most people and still saw a ton of turtles, but my fiance on the other hand had a harder time. It was also scary when I'd look up and not see him through all these other people. The last problem was that there were a few people who didn't know how to swim or snorkel. So it took a long time to explain how to use the snorkel equipment and pass out floaties. The positives were the boat was smooth sailing. Everyone was on time and nice. The turtles were wonderful. Hard to see them when they get super deep but they were big and beautiful and did not disappoint. Lots of fish to see too. The couple who run the boat are wonderful and so are there family who came and helped out as well. For the price I would definitely recommend this and probably do it again when we go back!

  • Sept 3rd 2022. It rained. Not for very long though.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love this tour

Reviewed by: Tyra, 2022/09/11

The sailing boat was very clean and was able to hold our group with 6 families. The Staffs were so nice and helpful.I spotted 2 turtles, one was very close to me, super exciting. Some of my friends even saw more with babies, we all had a very remarkable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

SO MANY TURTS!

Reviewed by: Tom C, 2022/08/26

The experience was brilliant from start to finish. When we first arrived, we were worried there was no clear booth for arrival, but THEN like Maui himself on the ocean, the catamaran came out of the waves and docked right on the beach! The friendly crew checked us in, told us to grab some snacks if we wanted and then got us onboard.

They said if we wanted a fun, but wet, ride, we should sit on the net at the front. We did, and got SOAKED by waves and it was so fun!

We got to turtle canyon and were given high quality snorkels and instructions. There were other groups there, only one of them were slightly annoying but there’s plenty of turtles to go around!

We saw more than 15 turtles, ranging from babies to grown ups. They got so close but don’t forget- don’t be a turtle toucher!!! They were so visible and it was a once in a lifetime experience. We are still in Waikiki and honestly considering doing it again!

Do not book ANY other turtle snorkel experience in Waikiki other than this one!!!

5 stars and a huge tip

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy and fun snorkel trip

Reviewed by: Paola, 2022/07/29

Super easy and fun. Short boat trip with essentials provided to jump in, snorkel, and see some turtles. Crew was friendly and accommodating. Bring your own snacks, towel and fins too (only snorkel, mask, and floaty provided). Snorkel spot was a bit crowded with other tours but seeing honus did not disappoint. We say 7-8 turtles at one point, Amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling with sea turtles

Reviewed by: Diana S., 2022/07/14

Great time! From the boat ride, to the snorkeling it was a great experience! We saw a couple of turtles, they even came up twice right next to us to get air. The wife was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle Snorkel Sail Tour

Reviewed by: Will, 2022/07/03

Mana Kai Catamaran sailing tour was awesome! We had a great experience seeing many sea turtles and fish in the ocean. The Captain and the snorkeling tour guides were very kind and helpful. I highly recommend this snorkeling tour to anyone who wants to see sea turtles.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It is affordable

Reviewed by: OCFD519JH, 2022/06/09

Like I said it is affordable. The kids running the boat we’re friendly an did the best they could. 22 people, some of which had not only never snorkeled, but were clearly uncomfortable in the water were too much for the crew to safely manage. I personally had to save a struggling passenger while the guy that was working the lifeguard shift was wrangling other dingdongs! Not the lifeguards fault he was just dealing with too many other folks and couldn’t get to the panicky woman fast enough. I don’t mind, I am a water rescue swimmer with my fire department but still… Her screaming for help couldn’t be heard over the clamoring of the other passengers on deck and the music playing onboard. When folks are in the water 100% attention to the swimmers is the only safe option and if you can’t hear them then the music needs to be off and eyes need to be on the swimmers. The operation was also billed as a sailing and snorkeling adventure with sailing being the key word for me. The wind was fine and other boats were sailing but our sails never went up. If you’re on a budget do it. but for 20-30 more you could do the same thing with a power boat, dolphins and turtles, food and water, and a photographer who would gladly sell you the images from the trip for a few extra dollars. In all honesty a confident swimmer could have reached turtle canyon in a easy half hour of swimming but that’s not for everyone.

For those of you who don’t swim, don’t feel comfortable in the water, or have small children that don’t swim. this is not how you spend your money. Endangering yourself or your family because “anyone can snorkel” in open water, when you’ve never done it before makes the trip that much less enjoyable for everyone including the crew. It is not their job to pay all their attention to you, and it becomes unsafe for everyone else.

Any chance to get in the water will always be awesome for me so like I said it is affordable. If it’s your best option yay!
Go for it!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible experience

Reviewed by: Mike Dirty, 2022/04/16

What an amazing experience we had swimming with turtles. Captain even took us out to see some whales before we hit turtle canyon. We had kids with us and it was perfect for them, wasn’t too long and they didn’t get bored. Crew was knowledgeable and very helpful. They had all the equipment on board and were even playing some tunes for us. 10/10 would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely get to swim with turtles incredible

Reviewed by: Rose , 2022/04/15

The catamaran was lovely great staff. The catamaran was clean and nice. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable. We were thrilled to swim with tons of turtles in the beautiful waters. Success! Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful tour

Reviewed by: Tammy koop, 2022/03/23

Friendly, relaxing and beautiful life memory and experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great price to snorkel with turtles

Reviewed by: Leif, 2022/03/07

Well run, quick, efficient, saw turtles. Good price.
What more could you want?

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Merideth, 2022/03/06

We had a great time. We saw so many dolphins swimming around the boat. I only saw one turtle but had a great time anyway!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great turtle sail!

Reviewed by: Josefina, 2022/02/27

We had a great time snorkelling with turtles with Mana Kai Catamaran, we saw around 6 of them! Friendly crew, easy to check in and find the boat. Recommended experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No frills catamaran sail in Waikiki, lots of Turtles

Reviewed by: Yes to Hawaii, 2022/01/17

With this cruise, we were provided with snorkels and snorkel vests. However, no fins are included. I'd recommend finding some fin rentals as it can be pretty exhausting to snorkel without them. Saw lots of turtles and fish! This catamaran is also a beach catamaran so the boat comes right up on the sand. It's right across from Duke's Statue (not to be confused with Duke's Waikiki restaurant). If you'd like a short activity in Waikiki to get out on the water, this is perfect! We did the AM cruise and visibility was perfect.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great crew and fun experience

Reviewed by: amy, 2021/12/30

Family of 5 had a great time. Crew was very nice and knowledgeable and made the experience even better. Beautiful turtles and fish.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A blast chill vibes

Reviewed by: Matt & mariel , 2021/11/03

At first it we questioned ourselves on where to meet (no signs whatsoever) but it was exactly where the instructions said- beachfront in front of Duke Statue. Otherwise instructions were all very clear & easy to follow. Guys on our boat were friendly and super relaxed- could bring anything on the boat in terms of food and drinks. Boat ride was beautiful. Was a clear day so we saw a lot of turtles- got to spend lots of time on the water. Chill vibes all throughout just the way we like it. Had a blast for first time snorkelers!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mana Kai Turtle Snorkel Tour

Reviewed by: Disappointed!!!, 2021/10/31

I would not recommend snorkeling with this company. The captain implied turtles would be all around us--we only saw a couple turtles after everyone was out of the water and only saw a few fish while snorkeling. Also, flotation devices were defective--they kept deflating while in the water. Lifeguard apologized for bad snorkeling spot and defective equipment. Save your money and don't snorkel here!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I did enjoy it but wouldn't do it again.

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2021/10/10

First they changed our tour from 8am to 2pm which I did not like because supposedly you can see more marine life in the early morning. We only got to see 1 turtle and few fish. Where they took us snorkeling wasn't too far from our departure place, when I was hoping it would be further to enjoy more of the ocean. I did enjoy the snorkeling and the tour but wouldn't do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: LoveHawaii, 2021/09/19

Very positive experience. Easy check in and staff was great. Family friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friendly staff, lots of turtles!

Reviewed by: Linda, 2021/09/09

Great value, crew was amazing! They helped call out where turtles were and even helped us get great go pro footage of a bunch of sea turtles! Boarding location was super convenient for us too!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle canyon snorkel tour

Reviewed by: Sheila, 2021/09/05

We had a great time. Staff was helpful and kind. Waves were choppy but didn't stop us from getting it done!
When you get to the Duke statue look for the rainbow umbrella on the beach. The catamaran is tied up in the water waiting for you. The sail was not up so didn't see the rainbow sail on the catamaran. Check in with the folks at the umbrella and wait patiently for the late comers. We had approx 25 people on our tour and it was just right. Not over crowded but not spacious either.
They took us out about 15 mins off Waikiki shore to a place called Turtle Canyon. There were several other boats and craft out there doing the same thing. But it did not interfere with us.
We saw plenty of fish and 1 turtle. Fun was had by all. For the price you can't beat this tour. I am a frequent visitor to Oahu and would bring more friends on this tour again. Coming back next year with a different group and will suggest it again for them. Great for beginners and intermediate snorkelers.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun snorkeling for the first time

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2021/08/30

2nd time being in hawaii and haven’t gone snorkeling until now. The experience was very exciting especially seeing the fishes and sea turtles. The life guards and the kids were very helpful ! Such a fun couple of hours spent at waikiki beach. I decided to buy my own snorkel gear for sanitary reasons. I want to try it again some time when i get the opportunity too.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mana Kai Turtle Snorkel

Reviewed by: Liz , 2021/08/26

Our family enjoyed the boat ride. It was about 15 min away. The staff was wonderful. I was able to see only two turtles and some fish. That was very cool. The current was a bit strong at times. Glad the staff helped me with their surf boards.
My three kids ages: 4,5,8, had a hard time swimming because the current was a bit strong so they were only in the water for about 5 minutes. The goggles & snorkel equipment were too big for the toddlers. Next time we will pack ours. We did pack the vests for the kids but they do have some available.
They did see some turtles over the surface. Great weather. We did the 2 pm tour. Make sure to pack some nausea medicine, some folks felt very sick.
We liked being able to bring our own food & drinks.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easygoing snorkle fun

Reviewed by: Kerin M, 2021/08/19

Such a great time. The crew are fun and laid back. The trip is perfectly timed. Just a short trip, with fun waves and splashes, out to see a fun array of fish and get nose to nose with several turtles! Ideal for experienced snorkelers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle snorkeling

Reviewed by: Elizabeth Brindley, 2021/08/14

This was perfect for when we had family visit. Two hours of fun, and we saw so many turtles. Definitely a memorable experience.

  • We took this with our underwater camera

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel

Reviewed by: Rodney, 2021/06/26

The boat and the ride was fun. The current in the water was a little strong so it was hard to go snorkeling. The kids really struggled and so did the majority of the adults. Most of the kids held on to a rope or to the boat itself. Would have been nicer in calmer waters. The cost was on the low end. So for the boat ride we enjoyed ourselves

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mana Kai

Reviewed by: Richey/Espino clan, 2021/05/24

Great crew great sail our family scattered our moms (Grammie) ashes with a great ceremony and a wonderful and private area. After we went to an area for snorkeling this was a great way to end our day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip!

Reviewed by: Erinn B, 2021/04/30

The crew were amazing! They not only showed us where to find all the turtles while we snorkeled (saw about 5/6 different turtles surfacing a million times right next to us), they followed a pod of dolphins for a while so we could get a good view and watch them in their element. We drove around the water for a bit before going back as well so you can snack and drink after snorkeling. The weather was amazing and we were the only boat out there (did the 8AM tour) for majority of the time so had all the ocean to ourselves! Some people didn’t/couldn’t snorkel but they hanged out on the Net of the Catamaran with their drinks and still had a great time napping and drinking lol.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

10/10

Reviewed by: Bailey, 2021/04/12

10/10 amazing. The best time we have had in Honolulu, crew knew what to do and say to us. Great job guys this was gorgeous and breathtaking

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories