Mana Kai Turtle Snorkel Sail - Waikiki's Most Affordable Snorkel Tour reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Mana Kai Turtle Snorkel Sail - Waikiki's Most Affordable Snorkel Tour

Overall Rating

4.62 4.62 / 5

Reviews

37 reviews
Post a review

A blast chill vibes

Reviewed by: Matt & mariel , 2021/11/03

At first it we questioned ourselves on where to meet (no signs whatsoever) but it was exactly where the instructions said- beachfront in front of Duke Statue. Otherwise instructions were all very clear & easy to follow. Guys on our boat were friendly and super relaxed- could bring anything on the boat in terms of food and drinks. Boat ride was beautiful. Was a clear day so we saw a lot of turtles- got to spend lots of time on the water. Chill vibes all throughout just the way we like it. Had a blast for first time snorkelers!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mana Kai Turtle Snorkel Tour

Reviewed by: Disappointed!!!, 2021/10/31

I would not recommend snorkeling with this company. The captain implied turtles would be all around us--we only saw a couple turtles after everyone was out of the water and only saw a few fish while snorkeling. Also, flotation devices were defective--they kept deflating while in the water. Lifeguard apologized for bad snorkeling spot and defective equipment. Save your money and don't snorkel here!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I did enjoy it but wouldn't do it again.

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2021/10/10

First they changed our tour from 8am to 2pm which I did not like because supposedly you can see more marine life in the early morning. We only got to see 1 turtle and few fish. Where they took us snorkeling wasn't too far from our departure place, when I was hoping it would be further to enjoy more of the ocean. I did enjoy the snorkeling and the tour but wouldn't do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: LoveHawaii, 2021/09/19

Very positive experience. Easy check in and staff was great. Family friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friendly staff, lots of turtles!

Reviewed by: Linda, 2021/09/09

Great value, crew was amazing! They helped call out where turtles were and even helped us get great go pro footage of a bunch of sea turtles! Boarding location was super convenient for us too!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle canyon snorkel tour

Reviewed by: Sheila, 2021/09/05

We had a great time. Staff was helpful and kind. Waves were choppy but didn't stop us from getting it done!
When you get to the Duke statue look for the rainbow umbrella on the beach. The catamaran is tied up in the water waiting for you. The sail was not up so didn't see the rainbow sail on the catamaran. Check in with the folks at the umbrella and wait patiently for the late comers. We had approx 25 people on our tour and it was just right. Not over crowded but not spacious either.
They took us out about 15 mins off Waikiki shore to a place called Turtle Canyon. There were several other boats and craft out there doing the same thing. But it did not interfere with us.
We saw plenty of fish and 1 turtle. Fun was had by all. For the price you can't beat this tour. I am a frequent visitor to Oahu and would bring more friends on this tour again. Coming back next year with a different group and will suggest it again for them. Great for beginners and intermediate snorkelers.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun snorkeling for the first time

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2021/08/30

2nd time being in hawaii and haven’t gone snorkeling until now. The experience was very exciting especially seeing the fishes and sea turtles. The life guards and the kids were very helpful ! Such a fun couple of hours spent at waikiki beach. I decided to buy my own snorkel gear for sanitary reasons. I want to try it again some time when i get the opportunity too.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mana Kai Turtle Snorkel

Reviewed by: Liz , 2021/08/26

Our family enjoyed the boat ride. It was about 15 min away. The staff was wonderful. I was able to see only two turtles and some fish. That was very cool. The current was a bit strong at times. Glad the staff helped me with their surf boards.
My three kids ages: 4,5,8, had a hard time swimming because the current was a bit strong so they were only in the water for about 5 minutes. The goggles & snorkel equipment were too big for the toddlers. Next time we will pack ours. We did pack the vests for the kids but they do have some available.
They did see some turtles over the surface. Great weather. We did the 2 pm tour. Make sure to pack some nausea medicine, some folks felt very sick.
We liked being able to bring our own food & drinks.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easygoing snorkle fun

Reviewed by: Kerin M, 2021/08/19

Such a great time. The crew are fun and laid back. The trip is perfectly timed. Just a short trip, with fun waves and splashes, out to see a fun array of fish and get nose to nose with several turtles! Ideal for experienced snorkelers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle snorkeling

Reviewed by: Elizabeth Brindley, 2021/08/14

This was perfect for when we had family visit. Two hours of fun, and we saw so many turtles. Definitely a memorable experience.

  • We took this with our underwater camera

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel

Reviewed by: Rodney, 2021/06/26

The boat and the ride was fun. The current in the water was a little strong so it was hard to go snorkeling. The kids really struggled and so did the majority of the adults. Most of the kids held on to a rope or to the boat itself. Would have been nicer in calmer waters. The cost was on the low end. So for the boat ride we enjoyed ourselves

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mana Kai

Reviewed by: Richey/Espino clan, 2021/05/24

Great crew great sail our family scattered our moms (Grammie) ashes with a great ceremony and a wonderful and private area. After we went to an area for snorkeling this was a great way to end our day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip!

Reviewed by: Erinn B, 2021/04/30

The crew were amazing! They not only showed us where to find all the turtles while we snorkeled (saw about 5/6 different turtles surfacing a million times right next to us), they followed a pod of dolphins for a while so we could get a good view and watch them in their element. We drove around the water for a bit before going back as well so you can snack and drink after snorkeling. The weather was amazing and we were the only boat out there (did the 8AM tour) for majority of the time so had all the ocean to ourselves! Some people didn’t/couldn’t snorkel but they hanged out on the Net of the Catamaran with their drinks and still had a great time napping and drinking lol.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

10/10

Reviewed by: Bailey, 2021/04/12

10/10 amazing. The best time we have had in Honolulu, crew knew what to do and say to us. Great job guys this was gorgeous and breathtaking

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Experience

Reviewed by: Susie, 2021/03/30

Would definitely recommend this experience. Because of COVID, our group of 13 were the only people on the boat and once everyone was done snorkeling, they took us out to sail by Diamond Head. So even though I didn't get in the water, I enjoyed the time spent sailing. The rest of the group that went snorkeling, said it was amazing - wish I would have gone snorkeling. Maybe next time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Affordable and a great experience

Reviewed by: Lindsey, 2021/03/06

We were able to jump right off the boat and see turtles. You can’t beat the price and the staff was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Break from the Crowds at Waikiki

Reviewed by: Ohio Couple, 2020/12/10

Captain Woody and Jacob were very knowledgeable, engaging and personal. We wanted to snorkel for 1 -2 hours and did not need drinks and food, just a couple of relaxing hours in the water and sitting. This was very affordable and low key. The turtles did not disappoint us as we followed and observed several along with a multitude of fish.

The trip does not include flippers so we rented 2 pairs for 10.00 total from the Waikiki Dive Shop on Nahua St., a short walk away.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

.

Reviewed by: ..., 2020/12/09

Great view & vibes‍♂️. The trip was great. Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Something fun and different! We saw about 5 turtles at the canyon and several on the ride out there. Recommend; the crew was so nice and easy going! My kids had a blast. Thank you Mana Kai!

Reviewed by: Kate, 2020/02/18

We had a great time on the tour. The boat was easy to find. We signed a waiver and picked a spot to sit until it was time to leave. The crew were friendly and told us where to sit if we want a splash (my kids did) and where to stay dry. They even kept our bag somewhere safe from the waves. My kids loved laying on the net and riding out to turtle canyon. We were one of the first boats out there. They went over some simple instructions and handed out snorkeling equipment. I liked the life vests they used-it was an aqua lung type instead of a basic life jacket so you could choose how much air to have. I had brought a life jacket for my toddler and 5yr old, but they also had life vests for some other kids on our tour.

I had a 10, 5, and 22mo old with me. The crew was helpful handing out stuff and trying to find a mask to fit my 5yr old. She is actually a pretty good snorkel-er but unfortunately it was hard finding a mask and snorkel that fit her. They kept filling with water. I wish I had known and I would have brought hers. If you have a set you like-my tip is to bring it. They did not provide fins either which was ok but I can get my kids and I around easier with fins. The masks and snorkels were pretty basic. Mine fogged up every couple minutes but luckily I am experienced and can clear it. That’s the only draw-back about the trip is I would have rather had our own stuff that we have properly cleaned and fit better. It’s February and kind of a windy/rainy day but it was still warm enough to be comfortable In the water. There were lots of waves and the water was cloudy so it was difficult to see. Soon there were tons of boats and people. We mostly interacted with Matt. He was out in the water life guarding. He helped us find the turtles and was so nice letting my kids hold onto his surfboard when needed. He even helped me carry my middle daughter to the beach since I had my hands full. Thank you! He definitely made the tour great!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience!

Reviewed by: The Gilbert Family, 2020/02/08

We want to thank Mani Kai for a wonderful time! Not only did we see turtles and plenty of fish, but we saw pods of spinner dolphins and whales as well. The views of the Island from the ocean are beautiful. You will enjoy about 1.5 hours of snorkeling. We brought our own snacks and beverages. The captain and his mate were extremely attentive to the needs of the group. We really enjoyed ourselves. This is a must do for couples or Families with older children. This experience was of great value. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must Do When in Waikiki

Reviewed by: Kerry, 2019/06/08

We thought that as this tour was so cheap it would be substandard. Wrong!!
This tour was exactly what we paid for. To snorkel with the green sea turtles and that's what we did. We were able to take our own food and drinks onboarding (the paperwork said there would be ice and cooler bags, but that wasnt the case) which didnt bother us too much. Brewster and Max made sure we saw and swam with the turtles and had plenty of opportunities for photos. After pur snorkeling, they took us for a sail in the catamaran for 2p minutes before taking us back to sure. It was a fabulous day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best Saturday morning!

Reviewed by: M. Anderson, 2019/05/28

A short trip to the offshore destination means you get to spend most of the tour time in the water with the amazing fish and turtles! We even saw dolphins! Riding on the front of the catamaran was also a highlight.

Fantastic crew - very friendly and terrific with kids! Our daughter was a bit hesitant about going in the water so one of the crew let her ride on the lifeguard surfboard and she still got to enjoy the whole experience.

Highly recommended if you’re looking for a couple of hours’ snorkeling experience with great views and sensational Hawaiian sea-life!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our amazing Mana Kai catamaran cruise.

Reviewed by: Teresa T., 2019/05/12

We really enjoyed the crew, they were all so helpful and funny, we saw at least 50 spinner dolphins and many turtles, it was the best boat trip I've taken in Hawaii and I have been on a few. I would suggest you bring your own drinks and snacks especially if you are bringing kids. It was a lot of fun and I would go again for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Swimming with turtles

Reviewed by: Jane, 2019/03/01

We had the best adventure. After seeing so many other cruises going out looking crowded and rushed we were a bit concerned.
Turned up at 8.30, check in process easy and efficient =)
Great weather, even better staff.
And best of all plenty of space for all on the catamaran. We were blessed with a small group.
Short cruise out and we were already spotting turtles.
All our equipment checked, help given if needed and off we went. 2 hours of watching dozens of green sea turtles in their natural environment. AMAZING!!
having Zac in the water with his trusty surf board gave everyone a great sense of ease.
On our tour was a gentleman who didn't feel to sure in the water but the boys went out of their way to get him an extra floatation buoy and stayed close til he felt more comfortable.
I would recommend Ruski (?) and Zac and the Mana Kai tour to anyone who asked.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic value tour

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/02/24

For a quick tour where you will more than likely run into several honu, the Mana Kai Catamaran morning snorkel is a great value. We not only ran into 5-6 large honu at the shell cleaning station, we also found a pod of spinner dolphins. The captain careful followed the dolphins at a safe distance, so we managed to snap some great pics.

Will definitely do again upon my next return!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun trip!

Reviewed by: Judy, 2019/02/23

Trip was really fun. I was afraid of getting sea sick but the water was calm. I’ve been on many snorkel trips in Hawaii and Cabo San Lucas that take you out on a boat for 5 hours or so and provide lunch. Those I felt were way too long and you lose half the day. This one was only about 2.5 hours in the morning which was perfect. We had our 10 year old son with us and his attention span is short and he tires out after 30 minutes of snorkeling. Best part was we got on and off the boat at Waikiki Beach and did not have to drive to a harbor so we saved another hour or so. We saw lots of turtles right away and our son loved snorkeling with the turtles even though he was not a good swimmer. They provide life vests to everyone. I highly recommend going on this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok...but not the best experience.

Reviewed by: Hawaii visitor , 2019/02/13

The boat staff were very nice, but the weather before this activity wasn’t ideal, so that is part of why this review isn’t stellar. Also, the tour said that snorkelling equipment including fins was provided. Fins were not. They are actually very helpful for staying buyouant, especially in rougher waters like we had, so we were counting on them. The area was VERY busy, with many tour groups out there, so it wasn’t a very pleasant snorkelling experience - as you kept getting kicked in the face. I wouldn’t recommend this - find a nice spot and go on your own.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a lovely time

Reviewed by: DanGold, 2019/01/13

Great hosts, gorgeous weather and lovely location. We saw plenty of turtles and catamaran wasn't crowded which was nice. Our children used their own goggles which wasn't a problem, but if we didn't have them the provided snorkles would not have fit, but all in all a lovely time. Would recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of turtles!

Reviewed by: Ryan, 2018/12/30

My wife and I really enjoyed our trip. The boat was easy to get on and off and the snorkel destination is close by. We went at the end of December and there were at least 5 turtles swimming with us. Lots of fun for a quick and easy adventure. The views of waikiki on he way home were a plus!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I loved this experience! Saw so many turtles

Reviewed by: Krystal , 2018/12/21

Loved this experience! We saw so many turtles and fish and the water was crystal clear. Loved the net that you can sit on whilst the boat was driving The boat was perfect and so was the weather on the day we went out. 10/10. What a highlight to end our holiday. Would definitely do this again. Thanks so much for having us on board.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories