This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Mana Kai Catamaran - Waikiki Snorkel with Turtles Morning Cruise

Swimming with turtles

Reviewed by: Jane, 2019/03/01

We had the best adventure. After seeing so many other cruises going out looking crowded and rushed we were a bit concerned.
Turned up at 8.30, check in process easy and efficient =)
Great weather, even better staff.
And best of all plenty of space for all on the catamaran. We were blessed with a small group.
Short cruise out and we were already spotting turtles.
All our equipment checked, help given if needed and off we went. 2 hours of watching dozens of green sea turtles in their natural environment. AMAZING!!
having Zac in the water with his trusty surf board gave everyone a great sense of ease.
On our tour was a gentleman who didn't feel to sure in the water but the boys went out of their way to get him an extra floatation buoy and stayed close til he felt more comfortable.
I would recommend Ruski (?) and Zac and the Mana Kai tour to anyone who asked.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic value tour

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/02/24

For a quick tour where you will more than likely run into several honu, the Mana Kai Catamaran morning snorkel is a great value. We not only ran into 5-6 large honu at the shell cleaning station, we also found a pod of spinner dolphins. The captain careful followed the dolphins at a safe distance, so we managed to snap some great pics.

Will definitely do again upon my next return!



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun trip!

Reviewed by: Judy, 2019/02/23

Trip was really fun. I was afraid of getting sea sick but the water was calm. I’ve been on many snorkel trips in Hawaii and Cabo San Lucas that take you out on a boat for 5 hours or so and provide lunch. Those I felt were way too long and you lose half the day. This one was only about 2.5 hours in the morning which was perfect. We had our 10 year old son with us and his attention span is short and he tires out after 30 minutes of snorkeling. Best part was we got on and off the boat at Waikiki Beach and did not have to drive to a harbor so we saved another hour or so. We saw lots of turtles right away and our son loved snorkeling with the turtles even though he was not a good swimmer. They provide life vests to everyone. I highly recommend going on this tour.



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok...but not the best experience.

Reviewed by: Hawaii visitor , 2019/02/13

The boat staff were very nice, but the weather before this activity wasn’t ideal, so that is part of why this review isn’t stellar. Also, the tour said that snorkelling equipment including fins was provided. Fins were not. They are actually very helpful for staying buyouant, especially in rougher waters like we had, so we were counting on them. The area was VERY busy, with many tour groups out there, so it wasn’t a very pleasant snorkelling experience - as you kept getting kicked in the face. I wouldn’t recommend this - find a nice spot and go on your own.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a lovely time

Reviewed by: DanGold, 2019/01/13

Great hosts, gorgeous weather and lovely location. We saw plenty of turtles and catamaran wasn't crowded which was nice. Our children used their own goggles which wasn't a problem, but if we didn't have them the provided snorkles would not have fit, but all in all a lovely time. Would recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of turtles!

Reviewed by: Ryan, 2018/12/30

My wife and I really enjoyed our trip. The boat was easy to get on and off and the snorkel destination is close by. We went at the end of December and there were at least 5 turtles swimming with us. Lots of fun for a quick and easy adventure. The views of waikiki on he way home were a plus!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I loved this experience! Saw so many turtles

Reviewed by: Krystal , 2018/12/21

Loved this experience! We saw so many turtles and fish and the water was crystal clear. Loved the net that you can sit on whilst the boat was driving The boat was perfect and so was the weather on the day we went out. 10/10. What a highlight to end our holiday. Would definitely do this again. Thanks so much for having us on board.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Family Activity

Reviewed by: Glenn, 2018/12/18

What a fantastic crew and experience. This was our first time using Mana Kai Catamaran and our first time snorkeling off Waikik and it won’t be the last. We had our two young girls with us and this was their first snorkeling in open ocean. The crew was so patient and understanding with us and helped us along through the whole experience. They stayed close to us and allowed them to rest on the surf board and really taught them how to look for turtles. We were able to see turtles and fish up close and it was amazing. After the snorkeling we went for a sailing experience and dolphins came right up to us and played with the boat. It was so fun and our daughters loved it so much. I would highly recommend this crew for snorkeling and we will use them again. Thank you guys so much.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: KJH, 2018/12/15

This was a great experience! There were a ton of turtles and fish. The boat folks were friendly and great. It’s an easy short little cruise out to the spot with good views back toward Diamond Head and the city. Thanks guys!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unbelievable! Swimming next to turtles in Open ocean

Reviewed by: Robert, 2018/11/14

Completely unbelievable! This one adventure started off with a 10-15 min ride on the catamaran out to turtle canyon. We then put on life vest and our masks to jump out. Since our swimming skills are like zilch, we were able to stay afloat by inflating our vest a bit. Johnny and our “lifeguard” took good care of us and made sure we were safe while we float around snorkeling. The view was breathtaking as we glance down and see miles down into the world below with huge sea turtles and colorful fishes and scuba divers around the coral reef. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience – fun and relaxing, plus TONS of turtles!

Reviewed by: Cooper, 2018/11/07

Really enjoyed the cruise and snorkel with the Mana Kai crew. Zach was awesome and very accommodating. He made sure we saw TONS of turtles, and that we felt comfortable and safe doing it.

I enjoyed how the cruise allowed us to bring our own food and drink, too :) We got to chill on the boat, in perfect vacation-relaxation-style, plus we got some input over how long we snorkeled vs. how long we sailed in the open ocean.

A great experience and I'd do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely Fabulous Adventure,!!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2018/10/11

This was a great price and filled with fun and adventure! The Captain and his mate were very professional. The crew also had a great eye for the animals in the water whether it was turtles or the extra bonus of the pod of dolphins that the young mate spotted, Our captain even ventured to the pod of dolphins for an add bonus! It was a great boat ride with a great crew. and we seen 12 different turtles he know the spot.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So worth it!

Reviewed by: Hannah, 2018/08/22

A short but beautiful sail to the reef, where we were greeted with half a dozen turtles, a ray and an eel. Stunning views of Waikiki and the crystal clear water on the catamaran. The crew was so amazing, eager to make it a good trip, and made the experience worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Ramon, 2018/08/14

The boat was easy to find right on the beach, the experience overall was great, the captain was nice as well as the crew.
I would definitely recommend this turtle snorkel to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories