This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Swim with Dolphins Ocean Fun Cruise - Snorkel, Kayak, SUP, Water Slide

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Tobi, 2018/07/21

It was an awesome experience. The crew was very friendly and nice. The bus was nice and new and comfortable. I however did get a little sea sick so I would recommend taking motion sickness pills to help. Also I would bring a towel

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Morning Dolphins and You Ocean Fun Cruise!

Reviewed by: Cathy, Pittsburgh, 2018/07/03

We had a great morning cruise with Dolphins and You. The local crew (certified life guards and professional entertainers!) were very friendly and full of energy. They explained everything in both English and Japanese since there were quite a large number of Japanese tourists on our 40 person tour. There was music and dancing on the way to the spinner dolphin site. We sat at the back of the boat and enjoyed the sun and sea air; thank goodness we had lots of sunscreen! I wear glasses and there were prescription masks on the boat so I could see everything clearly.

The crew-led Hawaiian chant and orchid offering when we entered the dolphin site brought us good luck. The crew went in the water with us and pointed out several pods of dolphins swimming right by. I wanted to stay with the dolphins longer, but we had another scheduled stop. At the snorkeling site, a sea turtle swam right under our group and there were lots of fish all around. The inflatable water slide, “surfboard” and kayak added to the fun. For lunch we had cheeseburgers on taro buns with bags of chips — very tasty. The crew sang and danced a couple of hulas on the way back; a perfect ending to a great morning!

We drove from our hotel, arrived at the Waianae Boat Harbor early, and were a little concerned when we didn’t see any signs for Dolphins and You. However, a bus with Dolphins and You on the side pulled into the parking lot right where they said to meet at the specified meeting time. Be sure to take Dramamine if you think you might get motion sickness. Several people on the cruise got sick, even though I didn’t think it was very rough. I took a Dramamine before we left on the Dolphins and You cruise and was fine (I had gotten sick on a previous snorkel trip to Molokini off of Maui). Definitely APPLY SUNSCREEN early and often...the sun is very strong on the water.


  • Spinner Dolphins


  • Yellow Tang and Partial Trigger Fish


  • Underwater at the snorkel site

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cathy, and mahalo for your 5-star review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your detailed and thoughtful review of our tour! And we're so glad that you appreciated the extra dose of Aloha that is unique to Dolphins and You :).
We could not agree more with your suggestions of Dramamine and sunscreen use. That's the best way to stay comfortable on the water. We also recommend reef-safe sunscreen (which we offer in our office in Waikiki) to protect both your skin AND Hawaii's fragile coral reefs! Thank you again for your review. Please come again some day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A morning on the *Swim with Dolphins Ocean Fun Cruise.*

Reviewed by: Bruce Randolph, 2018/06/30

We’ve been on snorkeling cruises in the past (some out of Waianae Boat Harbor) but never with this company. We visit Hawaii often (my wife was born and raised in the islands) we view island activities with a critical eye. This was a super dolphin/snorkel trip. The cruise is on a smaller boat, which has the advantage of offering a smaller group of people, a more intimate experience, and a little more adventurous ride - I like all three. Staff on these boats are there to 1. Offer safety 2. Offer service and 3. Offer fun and adventure. The Dolphin’s and You staff were excellent on all counts. I’ve seen the “fun” part on other boats get a little smarmy, but the staff on this boat really did a great job of encouraging people to participate and enjoy themselves without being overly “slick” or pushy. They also had some talented people who shared music I found enjoyable.
I take my own pictures with underwater stills and video. The videographer/photographer on the trip did a super job and was kind enough to show me some great shots while still attending to everyone on board. I wish I could say that about all the snorkeling/watching tours we’ve been on.
Overall I’d say this was a really good trip - for anyone - experienced or novice. Tips: If you have motion sickness, or aren’t sure if you have motion sickness, take dramamine. Do it. Take sunscreen - Use it. If you’re not familiar with photography (above and below water) leave your gear at home. Experience the trip and allow the professional the ship provides offer you some of the best shots you’ll ever see - most likely better images than you can take yourself. Fooling with gear and worrying about taking pictures, will detract from the memories you can make just being in the water and seeing the amazing things the crew will show you.
There are lifetime memories you can take away from a half-day trip like this. It might *seem* pricey to some, but I assure you that it is worth every cent and you’ll be ready for more.


  • Saw spinner dolphins, turtles and a wonderful variety of sealife

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Bruce! Thank you so much for your sincere 5-Star review.
We so appreciate you taking the time to offer this genuine feedback and to provide tips for other guests. We agree with your suggestions on all counts! Coming from a guest who has been on many tours and a photographer, this review means a lot. We invite you to come and try out our waterfall hike tour Nature and You or our circle-island tour Island and You on one of your trips back to the island, as well!
Mahalo and A Hui Hou Kākou!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Talisha Jackson , 2018/06/13

This was such an incredible experience. Within minutes of leaving the harbour, there were dolphins next to our boat. We got in the water, and the pods of dolphins were swimming around us the whole time we were in there. When we moved to the snorkeling spot, again there were dolphins swimming straight under us and turtles swimming along the surface. They had great water activities at the snorkel spot, such is the SUP and trampoline. The staff were having so much fun, which made all the guests have heaps of fun. If you needed anything, they were happy to help. This was a highlight of our whole trip. Would highly recommend.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Talisha,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! It's so good to hear that this was the best part of your vacation. That's when we know we hit the target! Mahalo for sharing your experience, and we hope to have you back on board again some day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Snorkel & Dolphin Cruise

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/05

I had a blast with Dolphins & You, the cruise was fantastic! The crew was fun, prompt, courteous, engaging and entertaining. We saw a lot of dolphins and they were swimming right next to us. What an amazing feeling it is to be so close to such lovely creatures.
The west side coast is so beautiful, the mountains and the ocean... every where you look you makes you want to take pictures! The snorkel part was also great and for lunch we had a delicious burger.
The boat is so much fun, when they stop on the second snorkel location you also have the chance to play with the water toys, they have water slide stand-up paddle and kayaks.
Even though it might seem like the west coast is far away from Waikiki, it's totally worth the trip. This tour has free pick-up from most of Waikiki hotels and the snorkel spots are much better than the ones in Waikiki. I highly recommend this dolphin cruise to everyone!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your 5-Star review! As we like to say, the West side is the BEST side! We absolutely agree that snorkeling is more beautiful and exciting on the West side of Oahu, and the views of the Waianae Mountain Range make it even more of a 360-degree experience. As you noted, transportation is complementary from 10 pick-up locations in Waikiki and Ko Olina. Thank you for recommending our tour, and we'd love to host you again some time! Please check out our other tours - Nature and You or Island and You - if you're still in the area.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Swim with Dolphins is Real!!!

Reviewed by: Ms. Ems, 2018/06/04

It was my day off and kids were at school so I figured, why not do a "me" just for a day! I invited my friend to join me since she happened to have the same day off. We booked the Morning Cruise at 7:00am since the water is usually warmer and calmer, and we decided to drive ourselves to the harbor. What's good is that there is a restaurant at the harbor where you can buy coffee or breakfast before heading out.

Upon check-in, we were already given our snorkeling equipments, and an option to rent their body suits, which we rented for $10 each. They asked us to sign the liability waiver, and I think' it's cool that they even take your instagram information so they can tag you photos (if you're in it) that they upload at the end of the tour.

The staff and crew are very funny and entertaining! As we were heading out to the ocean, they peformed Polynesian dancing, and playing ukulele. They also performed traditional Hawaiian prayer for our safety. As we were getting closer, we could already see the pod of dolphins, af the signal from the crew members, we jumped to the water and started to swim with these beautiful dolphins!!! I never swam with dolphins in the open water before and this was really exciting!! There were lootsss of them!!

We hopped back on to the boat for our next snorkeling location and that before jumping in the water again, we were given some activity options to take such as stand-up paddle boarding, canoe ride, water slide, and many more!! It was just an awesome experience!!
Their lunch burgers were delicious too which were served as we were headed back to the harbor. It was long day but it was all worth it!!

Oh by the way, make sure to take seasickness pills if you get nauseous easily!









Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ms. Ems,
Thank you so much for your 5-Star Review! We are so great you got some great pictures from your day off. And we appreciate you calling attention to the fact that our tours are open to locals and visitors alike! It's a great way to have a little 'staycation.' We're so glad you enjoyed all aspects of the tour. Mahalo for sharing your experience :).
We would like to note for outside readers that giving Instagram or other private profile information is entirely optional. Anyone who does not want to provide this information does not need to.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Victoria, 2018/05/21

I went with a group of friends and we had a blast! The staff was amazing and explained everything to us. They also reminded everyone of the importance of treating the animals with respect which made us very happy!


Reply from activity provider

Aloha Victoria,

Mahalo for your 5-star review! We're so happy you had a good time and appreciated our respect of the marine wildlife we encounter!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Glad I went

Reviewed by: ATJ, 2018/05/15

This tour was really awesome! The staff was extremely helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. They had so many children on the tour I was on and they handled everything very safely and professionally. This tour doesn't guarantee dolphin sightings but they found them very quickly and easily and were very diligent to be sure everyone had a chance to see them. The Dolphins were in groups of 3-5 and I saw them at least 5 times. It was excellent.
The reef they brought us to was awesome! tons of fish and I saw at least 4 turtles.
I would highly recommend this tour. There are many that just to dolphin sightings, not swimming. Or they only allow 2-4 people in at once so youre not in the water the whole time, but they took everyone at once and kept a tight knit group and had recommendations on how to not scare the dolphins away. It was great. I didn't do any of the water sports because the snorkeling was so good but others looked to be having fun.
Great staff!
Great dolphins!
Great snorkel spot!
Great entertainment on the way back!
Very safe but also flexible.
Check it out for sure. Best day in Hawaii.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for your 5-Star Review of Dolphins and You! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on the experience with others. It's fantastic that you were able to see the dolphins 5 times! They are very curious creatures. We hope this has been a memorable encounter for you, and we look forward to hosting you again if you are ever back in Hawaii :-).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding!!!

Reviewed by: Kim McMillian, 2017/12/29

This was a great experience. The staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful and friendly. I was having problems swimming in the choppy water and one of the girls stuck by me, made sure I was ok and also made sure I was able to see the dolphins.
My son and grandson loved seeing the turtles and the kayak.
Thank you for a wonderful time. We highly recommend this excursion with this company. They’re outstanding!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Crazy good day out

Reviewed by: Kewdogg, 2017/10/01

The crew were sensational with everyone.. it really made the day.. captain found us lots of dolphins and the conditions were awesome.. highly recommended well worth the money.. great day

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, thank you for the kind words!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous Day on the Water

Reviewed by: Holly - from MN, 2017/04/03

The trip was a lot of fun. The crew was great and fun to enteract with throughout the day. The only downside was the dolphins were not participating that day.

We did get to swim with the turtles and snorkle in beautiful waters. The crew was very energetic and the photo package was definately worth the money. I was happy to get the great shots of me and my son playing in the water. A big thanks to Melissa.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

最高でした

Reviewed by: マサル, 2017/01/13

4組のイルカが次々と現れて、ほぼ100頭ぐらいを近くから見れて最高でした。おまけに鯨や海亀も出てきて、感動。スタッフの人たちも一生懸命に場を盛り上げてくれて楽しい時間はあっという間に過ぎたしまいました。日本語を話せるスタッフもいて、ほっとしました。またハワイに行ったら、もう一度参加したいと思います。お勧めです。

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories