This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise


Attended as (Families with Young Children) Reviews

Wish I knew,...

Reviewed by: Floppygdog, 2018/12/20

This was the perfect APP to discover Hawaii. I had so many other ways to look at the land and it was confusing or overwhelming. Once I used this app, it narrowed down the activities and put them all ONE ONE APP for me to see.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Rebecca , 2018/05/04

Had a great day exploring the Kualoa Ranch.
The Raptor tour was so much fun and an enjoyable way to experience the ranch. The kids had a great time.
The buffet lunch was disappointing with little choice.
The jungle expedition tour was also a great tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Nasons, 2016/09/19

Definitely recommend... the ATV ride was awesome as was the Horseback riding!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun. Beautiful views.

Reviewed by: San Francisco Mom, 2014/11/03

I traveled with my 10yr old daughter alone for the 1st time to spend some quality time. I found Kualoa because I did a search on horseback riding. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The grounds were gorgeous and we enjoyed walking around, going to the petting zoo area, visiting the horses, the gift shop etc.

We did the all day excursion. My favorite was the movie tour because the scenic views. My daughter's favorite was the Jungle Excursion. This tour is NOT for the faint of heart or recommended for the very young or the older crowd. Im not sure if our driver drove like a mad man through the mountains because it would add to the thrill but my daughter enjoyed it while I didnt enjoy being thrown around as much.

*Oh - although not one of our drivers asked for a tip and the there was no mention about tipping I couldn't help but feel strange when all of our guides looked disappointed when we thanked them at the end of each tour. In retrospect I think they were hoping for a tip? Please help us silly tourists out by letting us know at the beginning that "tipping is appreciated but not expected."

All in all it was a great day and Kualoa was the highlight of our trip. I would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/10/28
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family time

Reviewed by: Kendall, 2013/04/05

My wife, 11 month old daughter, and I visited Kualoa Ranch with the Day Pass last week, and we had a blast. Due to some traffic, we arrived to the Ranch late, and were only able to go on the Movie Sites and Ranch Tour and the Ancient Fishing Grounds and Garden Tour. Both had excellent guides: the perfect mix of humorous and informative. I especially had fun on the Movie Sites tour with Cowboy (he said his name, being a Hawaiian one, would be too hard to remember), the information is part history, part Hawaiian culture, and part movies. Plus, it’s always fun to see places you recognize from the big screen in real life. My daughter really likes dinosaurs, so I’m looking forward to showing her the Gallimimus stampede scene from Jurassic Park, which is one of the stops on the tour. The Ranch store also sells beef from the cows on the Ranch. We decided to purchase some steaks for dinner that night, and they were fabulous. I will be visiting again so we can enjoy more of the Ranch.


  • A beautiful view of Kaneohe Bay


  • The Movie Tour takes you through the valleys of Kualoa Ranch


  • A bunker at the top of the mountain, used in LOST, Pearl Harbor, etc.


  • The views were absolutely gorgeous


  • The Fishing pond boat tour


  • Apparently archaeologists made this Moai to test how they may have been made on Easter Island/Rapa Nui


  • Green as far as you can see


  • One of Godzilla's footprints


  • Chinaman's Hat


  • Luckily, no Gallimimus stampede while we were there

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome times ahead for you!

Reviewed by: Wong-Lew Clan, 2012/08/01

This visit to Kualoa Ranch was to be the highlight of our trip. It didn't fail. All 7 of us absolutely enjoyed the varied activities. We had as young as 11 all the way up to 76 years old attending the ranch all on the same day. There was something for everyone. We each had our favorite. We would do this again. A very pleasant day ahead for you!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/16

We had yet to visit the Ranch on our previous trips and thought it would be a nice new thing to do. We did the half day morning experience - did the Movie tour and Jungle tour. Lots of driving around but wonderful to see all the movie sites and the jungle rainforest. The Jungle tour was a bit bumpy but worth vistas! If you love adventure I would reccomend these but if you don't want to get bumped around and have the constant smell of diesal than I would choose some more of the sedate activities like the swimming in the ponds etc. Would loved to have tried horseback riding but we have a 6 year old and you have to be 10+

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie Sites and Jungle Tour

Reviewed by: MO Girls, 2012/06/12

We had a wonderful time on both the Movie Sites and Jungle tour. The ranch is absolutely beautiful. The meal that came with the tours was really delicious, although my teenage daughters didn't care for the food choices much. However, there is a really nice cafeteria also available so they had something to eat there. I would recommend this for anyone. It was a refreshing change from craziness of Honolulu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a Ranch full of history!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/26

Got to see a lot of good sites from the movies that they filmed at the ranch. Even got to see a hillside that looks like 2 gorillas kissing (see the picture!)

The ancient pond was beautiful and peaceful, and the mountain range view from the pond is downright gorgeous. Dinner was very tasty. I would definitely come back to do this again!!





Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family Day at Kualoa Ranch!

Reviewed by: Ms Rosie, 2011/06/21

We had an amazing day at Kualoa Ranch! I live on O'ahu and I would always drive pass the ranch, so this was my first time EVER to experience Kualoa Ranch.

We did the Movie Sites and Ranch Tour, and got to go inside a huge bunker where Pearl Harbor/ Lost/ Tears of the Sun was filmed. Drove around to a spot where Jurassic Park was filmed, seen Godzillas footprint and other various movie sites. The best part about this tour was being able to go into Ka'a'awa valley, the scenery IS BEAUTIFUL!!!

2nd tour we did was the Jungle Expedition, hold on tight because this is seriously a bumpy ride! We drove up some massive steep hills to get to a lookout for an awesome scenery.. my kids loved it, only downside is..the tourguide did not give us any narrative tour or point out much stuffs. However, my sons did all the talking..they pointed out to other people on the jeep what the Kukui Nut Tree was, Mountain Apples, and other plants.Beautiful views of Mokoli'i Island (Chinaman Hat).

Lunch







Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"FULL Day" of Great Fun!

Reviewed by: TheHills, 2011/05/28

I read the reviews and took the advice of a few people to do the full day. OMG! I'm glad we did! I went in with a plan (b/c of what I read on this site) know what 4 activities you want to do but remember to do the ATV and Horseback in the afternoon because you get very dirty (esp from ATV) and need to shower. We did the movie tour (fantastic) and the ocean voyage (amazing) first and then had a very GOOD & TASTY lunch and then the afternoon adventure (atv & horseback) that was so much fun that you don't want to leave the ranch! Hint: You will buy the pictures because ALL of them are PICTURE PERFECT! Mahalo to the staff at Kualoa Ranch and Hawaii Activites! IT WAS THE BEST MEMORY!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Value

Reviewed by: Fusionone41, 2011/01/26

We bought the half day package. With this we went on the jungle expedition and the movies sites. Both had very good narration and were well worth the money. The lunch was also very good. I would highly recommend this to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Secret Island

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/07/08

The view was very beautiful and it was a good activity if you're a first time kayaker but not a great beach for simple swimming or laying out.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Tour

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2009/12/02

Be aware that you sign up for activities after you arrive, you are not guaranteed your first choice of activities. We originally wanted to do the Movie Sites Tour and Ocean Voyaging, but the sea was too rough for the boat trip and we ended up doing the Jungle Tour instead. Both activities were fun and the guides were entertaining. The lunch was buffet style with plenty of good food. When it was time to leave it was oddly disorganized, people standing around trying to figure out which bus to leave on. This was in contrast to the rest of the day which was over-organized due to the large number of people on the tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

DIFFERENT KIND OF FUN

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/07/17

This was different than most activities in Hawaii. It was nice to do something other than snorkeling or swimming of luaus.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

atv-ing was great

Reviewed by: the ancasters, 2009/01/07

we as a family range from 16 to 48 in age. this was a great day for all of us. the jungle ex was ok but i do have to say our guide for that was excellent her name was turtle. she made it as interesting and funny as she could. the site was limited to what she could work with. it was more of a nature leason with a very energetic teacher. she was delightful, the ATV- ing was awsome. once the guide knew we were experinece riders, he took us on more advanced terrain through steams and jungles. it was so much fun. we would do it again in a minute. maybe not the jungle one

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ATV AND JUNGLE

Reviewed by: the ancasters, 2009/01/07

this adventure was great. the jungle ride was ok but the atv riding was great. once the guide knew we were experienced in riding, he took us off road and on challenging paths. we went through streams and jungle like terrain. he also stopped and showed us sites used for filming. it was one of our best activities on the island. and the staff and food was the great. thanks we would do it again

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: LizFerguson, 2008/11/13

My family and I had a great time at the Kualoa Ranch! It is very beautiful. We chose the half-day package. Half of us chose horseback riding tours while the rest did ATV tours. Both got rave reviews from us all. Next, we went on the Katamarran and had a blast! Highly recommended. The horses on the horseback riding tour are very well-trained in addition to being absolutely beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch

Reviewed by: WWW, 2008/08/22

The ride we took was fine although the horses were a bit tatty and perhaps not so well groomed and the movie location tour was good their tour guides were excellent. Food was not that good though and as for the transport getting there and back!!! MAKE YOUR OWN WAY! I do not speak Japanese, nor do I appreciate being grouped together with other non Japanese people who are then separated and treated as an after thought by the transportation people. On the way back (after a two hour wait, presumably to get us to buy merchandise in the ranch store), we were left standing around not knowing what bus to get while the Japanese group were politely escorted to the nearest one and driven back. This is not the only time we experienced this behaviour by the transportation people and it ruined our tours.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/04/06

Our family enjoyed the day very much and the staff was great

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not what you expect

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/12/11

WE choose to do a half-day out of this event. That was plenty. I had hoped to see more when we went on the ride showing us where different films were made. I have a great imagination, but it took all that and then some to see where the films were actually done.

As for the pond and garden tour...well, we rode in a little boat for a short while, never seeing a fish and then drove a little while looking at some fruit and some flowers. I was hoping for more.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch

Reviewed by: Henrichsens, 2007/08/28

I have to say, we were very excited about this day. We had a full day planned of riding horses, jungle exploration, and the secret island. Others in our group planned on the ocean canoe and fish pond tour. When we arrived and were orientated we were told that several of these tours were not available that day and we would have to choose other tours. There were no other tours we could do or wanted to do. We ended up rescheduling our day for a half day and did the horse back riding and jungle exploration. The ranch was very commercialized. Horseback riding was on a trail in a straight line with no lookout points or anything...a little boring, but relaxing. The jungle exploration was great! I highly recommend. I also have complaints about the sign up process. When you get there you get in long lines to sign up for what you want to do, like a cattle call. If you don't get to sign up for what you want...too bad you are stuck there and must do something else. I would recommend t

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Half Day of Great Fun

Reviewed by: Mike Sahli, 2007/07/12

We did the 4 wheelers and the sea trip. The staff was just great. Very fun and informative. Great time for family's with teens.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories