Page 4) Jurassic Valley Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour Adventure [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Jurassic Valley Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour Adventure [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.68 4.68 / 5

Reviews

220 reviews
Post a review

excellent ATV tour

Reviewed by: Ken, 2015/04/18

ATV tour was great fun with spectacular views. In previous years we have done the horseback riding tour and the Pinzgauer 4wd tours which were also very good.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible location, slow pace

Reviewed by: Jorge, 2015/04/11

My wife & I love to do ATV tours every place we go on vacation, so needless to say, Hawaii was a must. The Kualoa Ranch is an incredibly beautiful location where many movies (although mostly subpar) have been filmed, and our guide was very knowledgeable & friendly, so no complaints there.

However, compared to other similar tours we've done, this one was much slower. At the beginning, they warn that it's a 12mph tour, and that's probably an accurate average. The ATVs aren't very powerful, so you'll be lucky if you even reach 20mph going down hill.

It started pouring on our tour, and we were ready with rain jackets, but if not, the instructor will provide clear plastic ponchos. This may be miserable to some, but it actually made it more fun and genuine for us, as we got to ride through puddles & mud in the pouring jungle.

In conclusion, I understand the goal is to make this a safe experience, and that everyone varies in terms of ATV skills, but maybe there should be should be a couple of level options (maybe 1-hour tours = easy, 2-hour tours = moderate?). I would consider my wife & I as average drivers, so by no means am I asking for a daredevil & speedy experience, but a little more pace would have gone a long way. Otherwise, this tour is a no-brainer experience, as it's one of the most beautiful places we've been.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very beautiful

Reviewed by: michelle, 2015/04/01

This activity was very fun and interesting. We were able to see the beauty of the inner island of oahu. The guide was very interactive and informative about the history and events that occurred at Kualoa Ranch.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

See Kualoa Ranch on ATV!

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2015/03/19

We took the 2 hour tour and it was AWESOME! I have to admit I was nervous about flipping and crashing considering I do not know how to drive. It was a lot easier than I thought to maneuver the ATV and became comfortable enough to enjoy the beautiful valley! The guide was friendly and easy-going, and made sure to follow the speed of the group. I am glad he was patient with me. We enjoyed the view of both valley and ocean and learned that there are some epic stories to be told about this place. You will definitely get a Native Hawaiian history lesson on this tour. I highly recommend the ATV tour, especially the 2 hour one. We got to feed and pet the pretty horses afterward, and wanted to go on the horseback ride too!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great fun

Reviewed by: Dr Donna, 2015/03/14

Beautiful ride, lots of fun, highly recommend. My guide was wonderful and helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Jenniffer roces , 2015/03/13

Great experience. The people who work there was amazing friendly and care about your safety. They said that we don't go fast, to me that was fast and fun. If that was fast imagine real atv is more fast. The scenery was amazing beautiful. I think out of all the things to do koala ranch this is the best activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Activity in ALL of Oahu!!

Reviewed by: Erin & Jessee - GA, 2014/12/16

Best activity we could have ever imagined! Originally we did this because it was an activity my nephew and his wife had not done yet. They are stationed in Oahu and they do the same activities with all family that visits. Well, this was new for all and just the most fun. It rained during the trip and at first we thought that would ruin it, but it actually made it even more fun. My advice...spend the money and splurge on the two hour tour and pray for rain. Invest in a rain jacket though (we bought ours from them because we weren't prepared) and it will be the most breathtaking fun adventure ever!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of the bunch!

Reviewed by: michele, 2014/08/07

This tour was the highlight of the trip! Marshall, our guide, was so informative and he kept making sure I was doing ok. Our ages ranged from 17 to 67 and yes, I'm the 67 yr. old. He showed so much interest in making this such a fun experience as well as a learning experience. Thanks to the Kualoa Ranch for having someone like him to make sure us novice ATV riders had the best time ever. I would do this again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

one of the most interesting activity in hawaii

Reviewed by: blessed, 2014/08/04

we attended ATV ride. This is our third time.
at this time, my mother in law and father in law and 2 other family did the activity.
And I and my 2.5 yrs old girl planed to wait their riding.
However, a step, whose name was Sarah, invite us to her jeep.
the jeep for the dropped out.
So we could go along with our family.
I really thank to her invitation.

when we finised the journey, I represenst my gratuity to her, but she said no thank, It her pleasure.
I think that she has consciousness of master.

thanks to sarah

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I expected more

Reviewed by: May, 2014/05/26

The instruction was quick and they send you off on your own on a very quick test course. Ive never rode ATVs before and was very nervous but after a while I got used to it. We rode in a line there were 6 of us total including in the guide. I was starting to get tired (it was 85 degrees out) and hands were feeling sore I kept wondering when we were going to stop for a break. We eventually did and the views were breathtaking. The guide let us take some pictures. I was expecting the guide to stop at certain locations and tell us which movies were filmed where, but he barely talked. He just said "Yeah 50 first dates was filmed on the other side of this mountain, so was Jurassic Park.." I already knew that before this "tour" so I didn't learn anything new :( Overall the ride was fun I just expected more.

Tip: They offer you shower caps before you put on the helmet and please do get it!! The helmets smell so bad.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/05/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great experience with awesome views!

Reviewed by: mike pilla, 2014/03/02

My friend found this recommendation on trip advisor and it really was such a great experience. From start to finish they picked us up promptly, got us checked in at the ranch, gave a quick lesson guide, and off we went and I do love an active tour on atvs! Nice tour guides and staff. Would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ATV Adventure

Reviewed by: Jimbob, 2014/02/15

My 17-year-old grandson and his girlfriend rode the ATV's and very much enjoyed it. I felt the equipment could have been in better maintained condition as well as the helmet selection was a bit limited. I would also suggest that the ranch consider offering the side-by-side UTV's as an alternative as they drive more like a car for those who might not be comfortable on an ATV and can carry a second passenger.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ATV Tour with Steve

Reviewed by: Annina, 2014/01/30

We had a really good time on the ATV Tour with Steve. Sadly it was rainy but it was very cool! We had a great time on the 2 hour tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Activity I did in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Kasumi, 2013/12/12

I was a bit iffy about doing tour since the max speed was 5-8, but we had the best tour guide that let us go max speed and go off roading. We got to see so much of the movie sets and the place was so beautiful and memorizing I never wanted to leave. You definitely need the 2 hour tour, any shorter you will regret for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ATV tours aka; a terrible vacation experience

Reviewed by: Beer, 2013/11/14

I have only reviewed one thing in my life, Space Jam the movie in 1997. I hated it.
But now I have to break my vow to never review again by reviewing this ATV tour.
Whilst Space Jam the movie had some redeemable qualities; the ATV tour did not.
Once we arrived at the ranch (aka mud farm) we observed gangs of roving cats strutting around, intimidating us into purchasing horrible scented soaps from the ugly women at the gift shop.
The actual ride itself was comparable to the holocaust and I refuse to remember the details as I'm not ready to accept that it actually happened. The dude took us to where the hit comedy "you, me and Dupree" was filmed, I think it was the part where they stood in a vacant field and nothing happened. The only thing the dude in charge watched more than the road ahead, was his watch. I think he even said he hated one of us under his breath. His only rules were that no one was allowed to have fun and that we we had to go back to his shack on the ranch to watch Skrek 2. We politely declined his offer.
The only good thing was the view; just like when Michael Jordan scored in the final seconds of Space Jam, thus saving the earth from the invading basketball aliens (?).
After the trip I drove home with the Space Jam theme song playing through the radio.
May god have mercy on us all.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Favorite Activity

Reviewed by: Kelly Houston, 2013/09/11

I was in Hawaii a full week and did many things whilst we were there, but the ATV trip at Kualoa was my favorite. When I come back to Hawaii, I will definitely do it again. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys adventure and beauty.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Ride Tour/2 Hour Ride

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2013/08/10

Amazing ride.. Would definitely go again!! Thank You Sarah for a wonderful time...first time on an ATV- easy to maneuver. Beautiful countryside to explore. Well worth the $ spent! Teenage boys had a blast too!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ATV ride

Reviewed by: Peter, 2013/08/08

Best activity in Hawaii. Kualoa valley was incredibly beautiful. The 2 hour ride was absolutely worth it. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent experience.

Reviewed by: kevin gaines, 2013/08/04

This was an awesome and excellent experience and our ride guide Kaui was wonderful! She took out pictures whenever us the riders wanted out pictures took at photo sites. The 2hr ride is much more hands on and allows you to see the property a lot better than the 1 hour ride. I had such fun and I recommend this event to all would might be curious about this ATV ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience! Definitely recommend

Reviewed by: Highly recommend , 2013/04/29

While in Hawaii for vacation, I bought my boyfriend the 2 hour ATV ride for his birthday. It was the first time I has done anything like it and both he and I had a great time! I wasn't sure what to expect from the tour, however was told my family friends that the tour was very fun. I would highly recommend the tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Adventure!! Do not miss this.

Reviewed by: Mike Kies, 2013/04/23

The staff was incredibly professional, knowledgeable, safe and most importantly fun! We had the best experience with them. If they weren't already booked we would be going back again. I cant wait to do it again! We will be back. We have been on several ATV tours in other destinations and countries. This was the best!! Awesome value for the money!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Ms. Jamie, 2012/10/23

A great tour through the beautiful valley to numerous movie & TV sites, you even get to go into a real WWII bunker! My first time on an ATV was easy enough and probably one of the most gorgeous places to learn.

Took this tour with a couple of friends and we had a blast! Riding up and down hills and through mud puddles all surrounded by the amazing scenery is definitely something every visitor to Oahu should do. Our guide was great & we all had a blast! Defintely gets dusty & muddy so I would recommend long pants and possibly a scarf or something to cover your face, mine was absolutely covered by the end of the 2 hours.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and site full

Reviewed by: Richard Baker, 2012/07/17

This was worth the 2 hrs and really fun. Got to see beautiful views and movie sites while having fun riding ATVs. Guide was really good and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Participant

Reviewed by: Beau Homan, 2012/06/27

This was an awesome experience in a beautiful setting.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

TRULY AMAZING!!

Reviewed by: Cheryl Moore, 2012/05/11

We took the 2 hour ATV ride and it was an experience of a lifetime. The views were amazing. The guide was great! It is an experience that I would recommend to everyone visiting the Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/02/13

Natalie was a great tour guide. This was a great way to see an Hawaiian ranch. Beautiful photo opportunities! I was a bit hesitant about this trip, being a novice on an ATV, but they are very easy to operate and also quite fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: JulieR, 2012/01/10

Totally enjoyed the ride! My husband was skeptical at first but Was totally impressed. Best views on the island and so cool to see the movie sets. Would recommend it to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Medicine Hat, Alberta, 2011/10/17

This was our first time and we loved it! The views were spectacular, it was fun, and was an overall good time. Be prepared to get down and dusty though if you are at the back of the ATV line up! Thanks Michael for the tour, we really enjoyed it!

Bob and Vicki

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Walking in Godzillas foodstep

Reviewed by: Maj Juul, 2011/07/13

We took the two hour tour around the amazingly beautiful valley. The tour was in a pleasant pace, yet spicet up with some mud and water. We saw scenes from different movies and shows, ex Godzilla and Lost. Worth doing to fully take in the beauty of the valley and experience the old scenes.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love it, done is twice!

Reviewed by: Dallas, TX, 2010/10/11

The first time that we did the ATVs, we did it for the one hour time; however, we soon discovered that was not long enough. The next time we came to Oahu, we did the two hour ride. Longer, and more fun! Will do it again next time we visit!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories