Page 6) Polynesian Cultural Center Full-Day Pass with Luau Dinner & Night Show reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Polynesian Cultural Center Full-Day Pass with Luau Dinner & Night Show

Overall Rating

4.61 4.61 / 5

Reviews

316 reviews
Post a review

If you're a first timer, this is a must!

Reviewed by: BGC, 2013/07/11

We had a wonderful time. If you wanted to have plain good time knowing the Polynecian culture this is a must! You will be spending most of your day in a ALL IN ONE package,from activities, education, culture, music, language. I don't know about other people but there is nothing to complain about the Luau and this place, the food was good,the show was great, the evening show was spectacular! For those who expect to get drunk and expect a Las Vegas type of show, please do your self a favor go somewhere else, BUT if you wanted to have a clean entertainment and wholesome environment for you and your family and appreciate custumes,culture, pretty and handsome islanders don't think twice of going here. Several reviewers expect a Las Vegas show and almost bear all, I'm a Islander I find those reviews very insulting to the culture of our people, this is a paradise Island, so please leave your mind set behind before coming here. PCC does the best to preserve the culture and their ancestry.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not very authentic except for HA

Reviewed by: Nicky, 2013/06/27

Terrible food at the luau. Not very authentic in terms of food or staff. Was like a discount Disneyland but with not very convincing landscaping. A total tourist trap in terms of knock off "artisan" items and souvenirs. However the show HA was amazing. If I ever went back, would only go for the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center

Reviewed by: Mary Mabes, 2013/06/24

It was a great learning experience to see all the different cultures.
We had a great time and I highly recommend it its worth the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best day in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Steve Salisbury, 2013/04/21

Booked an "Ambassador Package" as it seemed to offer a comprehensive itinerary and very glad we did as it took care of all the planning necessary to view the centre in a day.
The prime rib and seafood buffet was as good as expected considering the amount of guests it was catering for. The different cultural villages provided a good mix of information and humour as not to overload visitors brains. Guest involvement in traditional customs such as weaving and drumming was fun.
The "Ha" show was excellent, keeping the audience fully focused and entertained.
I would recommend the travel inclusive package from Waikiki. Smooth bus operation and after a full day, an opportunity to relax after the event. The guide on the outward journey was entertaining and informative.
What really made this a day to remember was our centre guide "Tori". Through all our years travelling the world, she was beyond doubt the most friendly, informative and caring person we have ever encountered in this role.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Long day..bad experience

Reviewed by: LDJ, 2013/04/13

The concept of buffet here is not the same....food is limited, the buffet is one trip only...so no seconds. The activity concludes with a nice show that lasts 1.5 hrs really late at night, after a long day. Would definetely not recommend, just a tourist trap sponsored by the Latter Day saints church

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great !

Reviewed by: California fisherman, 2013/04/12

Veltra gave the cheap price, we took a tour guide that helped covering most of the place at Polynesia cultural center

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique Experience

Reviewed by: Sheryl Janssen, 2013/02/23

We were greeted by our guide who made sure we were in time for all of the activities. She would have us leave a little early to get to shows that were especially popular so we could get good seats. When it was time for dinner, we opted for the prime dining instead of the luau, so I cannot comment on the luau. After dinner we had a few minutes before going to the show. The show was a fabulous way to end the evening. It was a history of Hawaii that sort of reminded me of the Broadway play, "The Lion King". I would definitely take guests who had never been to the Polynesian Culture Center. I doubt that my husband and I would go again unless we wanted to try the luau. Not because it wasn't enjoyable, but because we have already experienced it. About the staff: they were wonderful! Our guides were so protective over us that it was hard to get away from the group to buy a soda! There is no alcohol served here which suited us fine. If you can't get through an afternoon and evening

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jermaine - the Main Main

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/02/03

Jermaine (the "Main Man") was awesome! He made the experience so enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Educational & Entertaining

Reviewed by: Dirk, 2013/01/28

One of the sites that I will never miss out on visiting during my frequent visits to Oahu is the Polynesian Cultural Center. This is an amazing place to spend a day if you are interested in learning more about the history and culture of Polynesia in a enjoyable and entertaining way. I strongly recommend that you spend the extra money and take advantage of the full day Ambassador Package. It is certainly well worth the extra cost! With it you will spend the entire day on a small group tour given by a knowledgeable guide who will take you to all the different villages where you will learn the history and culture of that particular Island from individuals who actually grew up on those Islands. Following a full day of touring the villages, you will eat a large meal. Here, with the Ambassadors Package, you have the choice of eating at the Luau or the Prime Rib/Seafood dinner. If you have or are planning to attend another Luau while you are visiting the Islands, I would opt for th

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A showery day at PCC

Reviewed by: Islander77, 2013/01/08

We upgraded to the full day, rather than sticking to the late entry. We wanted to have more time to check out the presentations etc. The presentations were interesting and well done. They came over as authentic rather than cheesy or Disneyesque. The staff were excellent all 'round. There were showers passing through, but it didn't take away from our day, as there were plenty of buildings/huts to head into, and showers don't seem to last too long in this part of the world. The entertainment and food at the Luau was good. It did take a long time to get to the lining up and eating part, but there were a lot of people. It would have been better if they started processing the tables through the buffet right after the unveiling of the pig, and we could just watch the entertainment as we went, instead of largely sitting for nearly an hour before anyone started lining up. The HA show was amazing, and I would recommend it too anyone going to Oahu. Overall an opportunity to learn about

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW!

Reviewed by: Andy G, 2012/12/28

After Pearl Harbor, the most exciting, educational and enjoyable site of our initial trip to Hawaii. Will do again and again each time we visit the Islands.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Food

Reviewed by: lori, 2012/12/03

Did not like the Luau food at all! Very thankful that they had great ice cream at the concession before the show

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/11/27

We had a very good time at the polynisian cultural center. Had an opportunity to understand about the different cultures in the polynesian islands.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/11/09

Good

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My personal review

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/11/01

What an amazing experience!!!! I will be back :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Educational

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/31

I have been here before, so this was my second visit. Just as amazing as the first time I was there. The students who run the programs are so friendly and knowledgeable. The day is very busy, but so much fun. Definitely worth having the tour guide. The center is kept spotless and all of the shows are enjoyable. The best place to visit to learn about the culture you are visiting. Would visit here every time I am on the island. Great trip! Luau is fun and upbeat. The night show is the best!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Alii Luau Polynesian Cultural Exp

Reviewed by: Visitor from Kentucky, 2012/10/26

This was a full day. Prepare to be exhausted by the end of it. BUT it was well worth it. We paid the extra to use our guide for the day (cousin Cissy) which for sure was the best plan since we would not have seen half of the exhibits and demonstrations that he took us to had we gone it alone. Well worth the extra expense. Cousin Cissy was the best guide - he was totally passionate for his culture and very knowledgeable. He genuinely cared that we saw the best of his people. A perfect day out which ended with an amazing show - a must to see. Our only compaint was the food - it was disappointing and bland. But plenty of it so we did not go hungry.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Creepy nice

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/18

Everyone was nice almost to the creepy extreme if you are from NY or Chicago. Big BYU influence may have been the reason for the overly dressed female workers. Very child friendly environment. Would defiantly take a young family there.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Culture Center

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/17

The Polynesian Culture Center was a great experience. The representations of the countries were great. The canoe ride, the canoe parade, and the activities were very well done. Our guides, Hannah and Saydie were awesome. They really made our tour special, and were very informative. The HA fire show was amazing !

The only thing that was disappointing was the dinner. There wasn't much of a variety. I went back for seconds and there was barely any food left, and no fruit. It seemed that we were rushed throught dinner. I was very disappointed in what I thought would be an "authentic" luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

PPC Ambassador tour

Reviewed by: B&B, 2012/09/22

Were entertained by Walter on the road to the Center. Before arriving Walter "strongly" encouraged everyone to purchase the lunch buffet for an additional $15 The buffet was nothing spectacular.

As an "ambassador package group" we were herded around by Elvis. We started out as the first group but somehow ended by late for all the demonstrations. Elvis was in such a rush to get us in place that he provided very little in the way of cultural information. Supposedly the Ambassador group see only the "highlights". The Canoe pageant costumes were first class but the boats looked "tired". Somoa action was well done and very funny. Drumming show in Tonga really energized the audience.

The Luau dinner food was nothing to write home about.

The Pacific show was outstanding but could eliminate the pineapple delight - too much - too messy for such a large audience,,,left trash everywhere in theatre. At a minimum you should end intermission with going through the aisles with tr

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good People and Prompt Service

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/09/05

The customer rep contacted me for reminder over a phone a day before our planned trip. Since I did not have printed paper of confirmation Hawaiian Activities faxed our confirmation to ticket desk and tickets were ready for us at cultural center desk. The seats for Ha Breath show were at center and had a good show coverage.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty cool visit.

Reviewed by: Pratik, 2012/09/01

Everyone says that PCC is the #1 place to go when you're on Oahu, but I don't get it.

Yes, there are a lot of things to do there but it's mostly walking around and looking at different artifacts and recreations. It wasn't a big deal to me, especially since most people file all that information under M for "meh" after they leave the place.

One thing that really rubbed me the wrong way was that they kept pushing their $5 "Island Deelite" ice cream bowls on everyone, but only after forcing people to sit in 90-degree weather with no shade.

There wasn't enough of a gap in between lunch and dinner for me... you can't give people a buffet lunch and then expect them to dive into a buffet dinner less than five hours later, with Island Deelite ice cream in between of course. The after-dinner show was pretty good, but kind of cliche for me and had more of the "meh" factor from before.

The main thing that rubs me the wrong way is that the PCC is run by a church, so they don't really co

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

2nd Time Around

Reviewed by: Wanda K, 2012/08/08

This is the second year in a row that we attended the Polynesian Cultural Center and the Alii Luau. The show is great and the food is probably the best we have had at a Luau. This is probably because the focus is on doing everything possible so that the guest is entertained with a wonderful show and feed all the delicious food you want to eat instead of trying to get you to spend your money on alcohol and then getting you to act foolish like they do at many of the other luaus on Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Items that need improvement.

Reviewed by: Pat, 2012/07/27

Overall, the show and activities were really good. However, we feel that there could have been some improvements in other areas.

First, the people who paid extra to sit next to the stage had to climb a great many steps which had no hand rails, to reach the food, drinks and to use the restrooms. There should be an area for the food and drinks to be closer for those people seated near the stage who paid more money for their tickets.

Secondly, after the first time that the our server came to help me with our order, she returned to see if we needed more food, but did not return after that to see if we wanted any dessert or coffee. The dessert and coffee were on another section of the upper level.

Third, since I was in a wheelchair, when the show started, I was wheeled in through the back of the stage to my seat. My wife was told that she could not come with me or exit the way I came in, causing a big problem at the end of the show. She was told to go to the customer relations des

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do at least once PCC!

Reviewed by: Richard Baker, 2012/07/17

Took the family for the full day package. It was fun and interesting to see the different dances and learn about the different cultures. The food was really good and the show was excellent. Everyone should go at least once and you may need to go back to see what you missed the first time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

guide was useless

Reviewed by: just got back, 2012/06/15

Make sure you are aware of everything that goes on. Do not take the half day or late entry. You miss out on all the activities. Don't let the guided tour fool you. The rude drive told bad jokes, gave no information, then turned you loose on the cultural center. Did not explain that certain shows were playing at certain times. we were lucky to catch one of them.

Better to book on the island.

The show itself breath of Ha was great, and the food was suprisingly guite good.

If you want to experience everything go for the whole day and drive there.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/14

I took my Granddaughter and we both had a great time. She loved the show at the end, but did not like the luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great activity

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/05/31

My wife and I visited the Polynesian Cultural Center for the first time and enjoyed it immensely. The "Ha, Breath of Life" show was as spectacular as we were told and read about. Our kudo's to our escort Summer. She did a very commendable job.

The Engs

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great value!

Reviewed by: Aimee, 2012/03/31

Great value for a great price. The only negative is that you definitely need more than ~1 hour to get an adequate feeling of the entire Center. This is a great package if you're just looking for a luau (buffet style with entertainment) and an excellent evening show. Will definitely go back for an entire day trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Traveling with a toddler

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/25

Late entry was perfect for our 3 year old. She was well rested and was able to enjoy the luau and Ha! Too bad we didn't have enough time for shopping and site seeing around the center. Maybe next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories