This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu Categories


Reviews by Dirk
Last review on 2016/01/09
# of Reviews: 21

Great Service

Posted on: 2016/01/09

Just as I have used Platinum to take me from the airport to my hotel, I also have used them for years to return me to the airport following my stay in Paradise. And, as always, their car is always on time with an extremely professional driver and newer clean car. You cannot ask for anything more! Your ride to the airport is hassle free without having to make many stops to pick up other passengers at various hotels around Waikiki in a van or bus. It's a great service that I will continue to use each time I visit the Islands.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Enjoyable evening

Posted on: 2016/01/02

Over the years, I have attended most of the luaus offered to visitors to Oahu. This was one of the better ones that I have seen. The food was your typical luau offering but the show was exceptional! I would say that if you are a "senior", you may find that the grounds are very uneven, hilly and can be very slippery if it's wet like it was the evening that I attended. This can make it difficult to walk around to the various locations that you want to see. They recommend that you bring a light jacket and I strongly recommend that you do so. It gets chilly on the mountain and you'll need it. All in all, a great evening with a beautiful view of the city below and an excellent show.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Great flight

Posted on: 2016/01/02

I have flown with Blue Hawaiian on the other Islands and have always found the experience to be excellent. This time was no exception. It was a beautiful clear day and our pilot, Kristi (sp), was extremely good at narrating the tour of the Island as she flew and was also very funny. The only disappointment that I had was that the video recorder on the helicopter was broken so I wasn't able to purchase a DVD of our flight. Had I known this before we took off, I would have taken many more pictures. My fault for not asking!

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Excellent value

Posted on: 2015/12/24

Using the Passport is a great way to visit all four areas at your own pace. Spend an entire day taking your time to truly appreciate each site without a tour company rushing you along to "stay on schedule "! The audio tour is included so you will learn everything that a tour guide can tell you. Simply rent a car, take a cab or take The Bus to get there and enjoy your day. You should plan on being there early as the center gets extremely busier as the day goes along.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Great day

Posted on: 2015/12/21

Spending a day at the PCC is always a highlight of my visits to The Islands! Although it is a long day, it is an entertaining and extremely educational day. I strongly recommend that you take advantage of the Ambassador package since you will have a guide for the entire day and can enjoy either the luau or the prime rib dinner prior to the evening show. I did the luau this year and really enjoyed it. The night show is awesome!

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Highly recommend

Posted on: 2015/12/18

I have been using Platinum Limousine Service for many years. It is so very nice to have a clean car and courteous driver waiting for you to take you to your hotel after a very long day of flying. Although it may cost more than the shuttle services, it is well worth the added expense when you want to begin your stay in Paradise!

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Great Show

Posted on: 2013/01/28

I have attended this magic show often and it never stops to amaze me. Having done the entire dinner and show several times before, I opted to only do the show this time and, thus, cannot comment on the dinner. Concerning the show itself, it is one of the best and most entertaining shows in Waikiki and well worth an evening of your time. Don't miss it!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Educational & Entertaining

Posted on: 2013/01/28

One of the sites that I will never miss out on visiting during my frequent visits to Oahu is the Polynesian Cultural Center. This is an amazing place to spend a day if you are interested in learning more about the history and culture of Polynesia in a enjoyable and entertaining way. I strongly recommend that you spend the extra money and take advantage of the full day Ambassador Package. It is certainly well worth the extra cost! With it you will spend the entire day on a small group tour given by a knowledgeable guide who will take you to all the different villages where you will learn the history and culture of that particular Island from individuals who actually grew up on those Islands. Following a full day of touring the villages, you will eat a large meal. Here, with the Ambassadors Package, you have the choice of eating at the Luau or the Prime Rib/Seafood dinner. If you have or are planning to attend another Luau while you are visiting the Islands, I would opt for th

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Excellent but long day

Posted on: 2013/01/24

Although I have been coming to the Islands for many years, this is the first time that I have taken this particular tour. It was definitely a good choice! I was able to see and learn new things about the island. Our driver/guide Joey was wonderful. He was so knowledgeable and entertaining which really made the day worthwhile. It is a very long day and our bus load of seventeen were all tired by the end of the day. Visitors considering this tour should understand that the day does entail a lot of not too strenuous walking and getting on and off the mini-bus in order to see everything. Those who have difficulty walking or those with very young children may find this long day to be a bit too much

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Great Value

Posted on: 2013/01/22

If you are interested in learning in-depth the attach on Pearl Harbor, the role that subs played in the war, the expanded use of aircraft during the war and the final surrender that took place on the USS Missouri then making use of the new passport that's being offered is for you. I spent an entire day taking advantage of the audio tours that are part of the passport package and was able to do all these things at my own pace. Admission to the sub, the Aviation Museum, the USS Missouri and the shuttle ride to Ford Island as well as the audio guide equipment are all included plus, if you prefer, you can have a guided tour of the Missouri instead of the audio. Of course there is no admission charge to visit the Arizona Memorial but you will get an audio guide device to tour the museum and the park area. The bottom line is that this passport offer is awesome if you have the time and are a WWII history buff.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |