Simon's activity reviews | Book tours, activities & fun things to do on HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu Categories


Reviews by Simon
Last review on 2015/12/26
# of Reviews: 5

Had a lot of fun

Posted on: 2015/12/26

We made our own fun. I had to drive, so no alcool for me, but the gf got drunk with their delicious cocktail and champagne. It was friday, so we stayed on the waikiki beach waiting in line for the beach restaurant ShoreBird, watching the fireworks and coming inside to grill our own fosh afterward. It was a great night. I recommend going on a friday. We wanted to go to Chinatown after, for the first friday of the month (they have a celebration) but we got lost, and it was too late. But the sunset sail itself was great. Not many seats, so we just sat on the floor.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2015/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Commercial

Posted on: 2015/12/26

It was beautiful, fun, exhaustive, but very commercial. I truly wanted to know more about the history of the first Hawaiian, but I was let down on that expectation. The dancers, the show at the end, the luau, the many islands with their respective activities were very interresting and beautiful, though. It's worth it, but dont expect it to replace the viewing of a good documentary. Also, the fact that this olace is ran by Mormons is extremely apparent through many not so subtle references in history plaques, or the simple fact that there was no alcool at the Luau. Still a solid activity, and it was worth it. We had the full day package (110, I think).

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2015/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Reconstitution of a marriage ceremony, we took pictures with the actors.

  • Luau intertainment

  • Floating display of the different polynesian cultures


Had fun

Posted on: 2015/12/26

Instructors knew their gig, we had a blast, even my gf who is afraid of heights thought it was not scary (at 500 feet).

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2015/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Girlfriend loved it

Posted on: 2015/12/14

Soooo slow, but was well suited to beginners. Pricey but gorgeous. The instructor was very knowlegeable of the films shot in the valley. Pleasant, but I wanted to gallop and could not.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2015/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Long wait and rough staff, but good instructors.

Posted on: 2015/12/14

Me and my GF were skydiving for the 1rst time. We had reserved and had we not called before just to make sure, we would have drove 1h30 at 6AM for no reason, before it was cancelled due to bad weather. So call in advance.
We went the next day, arrived at 9h45 AM, but had to wait until 1h40 PM before actually jumping. The beach was close, but being called before the dive was apparently not an option. We were not instructed to do anything, no one explained any delay. We are just told to wait in a room (having to guess that we must fill a form and see a video, and without any other directive than staying withing hearing distance of the place, are simply called on the intercom 15 min before the flight. Despite a board almost forcing us to tip, we were very tempted not to tip them, and would not have, if it was not for the instructors, who were friendly and professional. The jump itself was an amazing experience, and it boost my rating. However, my instructor did NOT show me the barometer just before the jump. In fact, I saw the barometer about 40 sec before the jump and it was 11k feet. We were supposed to be at least 14k (because we payed for the Ultimate), but the full price was conditional to the height, which was advertised to be shown to us before the jump, but it was not the case. So this with the short free fall lead me to believe we payed too much, but without proof on both sides, I wont press my issue.
Still, I loved jumping, and controlling the parachute. I suggest asking to readjust the straps if they hurt your legs when the parachute deploys.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2015/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | | Next