Page 6) BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure

Overall Rating

4.52 4.52 / 5

Reviews

236 reviews
Post a review

July 14, 2011

Reviewed by: Steven Quade, 2011/07/16

This was the most memorable moment for us. The chance to go underwater for people that can not swim was great. The water was so clear and the fish and turtles just swim up to you. They were so colorful. They were eating out of our hands. The crew was great and they took very good photos. I would love to do this one again. Thanks

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique is the word

Reviewed by: Maj Juul, 2011/07/13

A very unique way to experience the ocean and its inhabitants. My boyfriend doesn't know how to swim and was quiet scared. But the staff was very helpful and he overcame his fears. There was also time for snorkling, which was great. A definitely must do. Recommendable for everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Adventure of a Lifetime

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/07/29

I attended with my two neices, who are very afraid of water. The BOB offered them the opportunity to experience the ocean and its inhabitants without knowing how to swim. They were truly overjoyed with their experience under water. We were all a bit concerned, at first, with the staff who didn't interact well with customers but once everyone experienced the BOB they began to interact more with customers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique Experience

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/07/10

This was a unique experience and is a great way to get underwater if you are afraid to scuba dive or want to try something other than skorkel.

The only downside was the service was a bit below par compared with some of the other services we were getting. They were not rude, but definitely not that friendly. They acted like they didn't want to be there and seemed to rush everything. The exception is the young man, who appears to be Hawaiian. He took interest and appeared to enjoy his job.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Snickerpoodle, 2010/06/21

You don't even get your hair wet, and fish swim right up to you and pick at the bread in your hand. You breathe normally. You can see them perfectly clearly and they come to you. This was really fun. Then you can snorkel around the boat while the other people take their turns, in couples, riding the little underwater scooters. Don't do this if you're prone to seasickness. But if you don't want the hassle of SCUBA, this is the best way to be underwater with the bright little fish.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very unique

Reviewed by: Sunny, 2010/06/04

For those who don't know scuba diving but yet wish to experience the life under the sea, need to do this. Very nice experience and enjoyed it. Try feeding the fish and you are surrounded by them ... various colors of fishes ... would recommend to those who wish to go underwater and don't know swimming like me. A bit discomfort to the ears at the beginning but gets fine soon. Good Instructors and the divers shall be with you throughout your stay in the water. Go for it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BOB was fun

Reviewed by: BigWillie, 2009/12/23

Overall my sister and I had a good time.

I was very disappointed with the cost of the photos. Even when the instructor tried to barter with me and cut the cost in half, it was still an outrageous price for a Cd that cost pennies to produce. If they were actual photos the price is still rediculous.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

TRULY AMAZING!!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Waters, 2009/12/04

Experience was TRULY AMAZING. I can't swim and have a phobia of being underwater in general but the BOB gave me the opportunity to sit on a scooter and enjoy the wonderful creation that exist under the Pacific Ocean. Price was very reasonable and the instructors were awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Mike E., 2009/11/12

Really neat experience! The view down below was awesome and the crew was helpful and fun. My only complaint was that it didn't last long enough - we could have stayed down all day!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our Trip !!!

Reviewed by: stanley kim, 2009/06/09

mM gf, sister and I went on the BOB after we saw how unique the pictures were on the website. We decided to give it a shot, and it was simply the hightlight of the trip ! The staff was friendly and they took amazing pictures of our whole group. They allowed us to stay longer than normal which was great and Donovan, the head honcho was a really relaxed guy and made us all feel at ease. YOU MUST GO !!!!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable

Reviewed by: Scott, 2009/04/08

The experience of a lifetime and the staff was first rate

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/01/26

We had an awesome time. We are not the strongest swimmers, so this was a great experience. Do this! It~s so much fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't Miss this Adventure

Reviewed by: First Visit to Hawaii, 2008/11/15

Could not have been happier with the experience. Incredible scuba like experience - even for the non-swimmers. This is a definate must do when you are in Honolulu area.

Wonderful guides manuevered us around, gave us fish food and then dozen of incredible fish ate right out of our hand - it was great.

Their shuttle picked us up at the Waikiki Sheraton, We watched a quick video, they explained what was going to happen and we all board a boat that took us out into a calm harbor. BOB is a Scooter with a bubble attached and was very very easy to get used to.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Ann, 2008/11/13

fantastic....loved it...beautiful, fun..amazing... everyone who sees my pictures...want to do this next time they are in Oahu.. Staff was soooo nice and fun..

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!!

Reviewed by: Hana, 2008/10/13

I can't swim, but the professional staffs make me feel very safe and I had an unique and wonderful experience underwater. I got to touch an Octopus!!!! Priceless!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

gorgeous

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/08/26

very very interesting, exciting experience.
i saw turtle under the see.
this is amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN FOR EVERYONE!!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/06/02

Bob was the best thing we did on the entire island! The staff was EXTREMELY friendly and made sure everyone had fun!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scooter Bob - Way to go...

Reviewed by: Rodgers Family, 2008/05/26

Spectacular way to view fish. Very relaxing & exciting at the same time. Felt very safe.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Cool

Reviewed by: Joshua, 2008/03/08

Since I am not a scuba diver and the most snorkeling I have done was in my pool I would have to say this was a great experience. I took my three children ages 17,16, and 13. They had a wonderful time. The staff was nice. Having the fish each out of our hands was awesome. We even saw a huge turtle. Either before or after you go in the BOB you can snorkel around the boat. This was cool too. I wish I could have taken my underwater camera but they take great pictures with their camera for you. Of course there is charge to get a disc of the photos. The one down side is when we got home we were given the wrong photos. So be sure to ask them to double check before you leave. They are sending me the right one in the mail. Still overall this is a great experience for those who can't scuba dive yet.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good underwater experience

Reviewed by: Danny Tsang - HK, 2008/03/02

We always want to try subra driving but never do it, BOB can sucess our underwater experience with comfortable environment, we really enjoy it even if my wife afraid with fishes. If luckly, you can also snokeling with turtle like us. We recommend to try it to have a first experience under the water if you can't swim.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our Experience at Bob's

Reviewed by: The Grant Family, 2008/01/07

Of all the activities we did while in Hawaii, this was by far the best. The staff was very courteous and did everything the possibly could to make sure you had a good time. The ages of our kids were 13-19 and they were a great age to be able to enjoy the beauty of the underwater. I would recommend this to everyone that is old enough to take and follow the directions of the staff.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Alberta, 2007/10/17

This was probably my favorite thing I did in Hawaii. I was scared at first and made them bring me up, but I tried again and had to close my eyes as I was being lowered in the water. It was awesome once you got under water and could see all the fish. We got to feed them bread. We even saw a huge sea turtle while we were under there. It was the most unique thing I had ever done and would love to do it again. It's definitely something everyone should try and do while they're there.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great experience

Reviewed by: bobby, 2007/10/08

This is great for people who have never scuba dived before. It is a great initial experience to being under the water. Had lots of fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BOB Adventure

Reviewed by: Aloha, 2007/05/31

BOB stands for Breathing Observation Bubble. Whoever invented this is such a genius. I really enjoy it because it gave me an underwater experience even though I don't really know how to swim and I don't even need to get my head wet. It's completely safe when you follow all the instruction correctly. It caused a bit of discomfort of pressure in the ears at first when it was decending. However, after you depressurized it, it's all good. This is an incredibly fun activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories