Page 5) BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure

Overall Rating

4.52 4.52 / 5

Reviews

236 reviews
Post a review

Under Water Scooter

Reviewed by: Phil Campbell, 2014/06/25

Nice time and wonderful people from start to finish.
Unique and fun experience evan for seniors such as myself. My older brother and I had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/06/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointed

Reviewed by: May, 2014/05/27

You get a quick instruction on how to get in and get out of the scooter, and they teach you important hand signals. I don't know how to swim and never been underwater so I was extremely nervous. But everyone gets their own instructor so if you're freaking out, they're right there to help you. These guys were nice and never push you past your own comfort zone. I actually freaked out going underwater so my instructor brought me back up for a minute, let me calm down and tried it again. I got to see fish and even a few sea turtles swim by it was awesome!

My main complaint is that the guy taking pictures didn't catch any of this. He didn't take pictures until AFTER the fish swam by. So majority of my pictures that I paid $45 for are just of me in the water with no fish in it. What a waste!!

Now this is a warning for those of you who get motion sickness: I took Dramamine an hour before going out to sea and let me tell you that didn't work. While waiting for other people to have their turn, the boat was moving like crazy and I got seasick. Two other people actually got sick as well.

Overall this was a fun activity and I like that they let you snorkel while waiting for others to have their turn. However, I don't recommend this activity if you are prone to motion sickness.

Tip: Bring your own underwater camera!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/05/24
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My First Hawaiian Adventure Underwater

Reviewed by: Will, 2014/05/11

I usually don't do reviews because there wasn't enough "wow" or it's special, but not worth my time to "write" about it: This activity is exceptionally the case for shouting about. Think about how in the world could you go underwater, be AMONG fish, not learn the intricacies of diving, not wear heavy equipment on your back (even if weight is not an issue underwater), or hold your breath for an extended period of time, and still be able to wear your personal prescription glasses. This is a great activity to partake in especially for those curious about underwater activities.
When you get underwater on these vehicles, a personal diver will be assigned to you to make certain that you're doing OK and to mitigate any problems that may arise---even if you decide to cancel the activity. The hosts were all professional and serious about instructing the group on what to expect while in the water, and I felt comfortable and appreciatead their attention to safety. We rode out to the edge of this bay in the south eastern part of Oahu and proceeded with the adventure in the BOBs plus snorkeling around the boat that brought us out there. One of the divers had a camera to take pictures while we were underwater so there will be pictorial memories to look back at and thoughts about what to do in the future to optimize my excursions beneath the ocean. This activity is great!I was underwater for the very first time in my life, and I'm back to write about how great a time I had! If diving is not for you, try this for your shorter "bucket" list!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/05
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fantastic

Reviewed by: mimi, 2014/05/02

We had such an awesome time under the water and we could wear our glasses so we could really see the fish clearly!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely Fantastic

Reviewed by: Heather, 2014/04/17

What a fantastic time my daughter and I had snuba diving, all three guys were just great and so informative, this was the best part of our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/04/14
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Milehi57

Reviewed by: Marvel, 2014/04/16

I was nervous at first but the staff made it easy to get into the BOB. The divers were excellent and guided me at first and then sent me on my way. I've done other excursions and saw more fish and turtles on this trip. The pictures turned out very professional. I have told my daughter and her fiancé to definitely do this next month on their visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/12
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BOB trip march 2014

Reviewed by: cheryl, 2014/04/12

The best kick ass time in Hawaii, the divers were very attentive. Seeing the ocean from underneath is awesome for this non-swimmer.Younger kids could enjoy this. Bring cash for the pictures as credit cards not accepted.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Alic85, 2014/01/05

Fantastic experience, was great for me because i cant swim but have always wanted to see deep under water! Saw some amazing fish! Loved the free time snorkelling after the bobs! Got really close to a beautiful turtle! Staff were very friendly and helpful!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/09
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun

Reviewed by: namie, 2014/01/02

It was fun with an F. Everyone was super nice and efficient. The only draw back was that they told me we would be back in waikiki by 1230..1 but we didn't get back til 130. We were rushed to our next event.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/30
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underwater Scooter Adventure

Reviewed by: Stacey Franklin, 2013/12/30

Excellent Experience even thought I couldn't enjoy it due to pressure in my ears. However I heard it was an excellent experience from my husband.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/09
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dont miss it ! Amazing!

Reviewed by: Hussein, 2013/11/25

My favorite experience while in Hawaii. You get a boat ride, amazing scenery, great staff, its fun, and you also snorkel. They also take lots of pics for you ! Highly recommended. Dont miss out!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/11/22
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not as advertised

Reviewed by: allenk, 2013/10/29

I had to give this a 3 star rating to get it to post. My earlier one star rating wouldn't post and my comments were sent to the tour operator for comment. Each issue that I raised the company flat out lied about. As indicated in a prior review, it was disappointing that the scooters had to be moved around by the divers, they are not in working order to be moved under their own power. It looked like they were broken or missing engine parts. I loved the concept, the crew was fantastic and I would have said it was OK, but given that the event is not as advertised and that Bob's Underwater Scooter Adventure management flat out lied I would then question the safety of the event. False advertising. One star.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bobs underwater scooters

Reviewed by: Lori, 2013/09/25

Had a good time. Dissapointed that the scooter had to be moved around with a diver assisting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/21
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome activity

Reviewed by: Kyle, 2013/09/20

I took a couple of my students out there and it was amazing. The entire crew were professional and patient. It was the first time for some of the participants and some of them couldn't swim, but the divers were with us the entire time during the B.O.B. and assisting us while we snorkeled. If you get a chance, you have to check these guys out.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/09/17
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great water experience

Reviewed by: carlisle hall, 2013/08/18

Great experience. I was a nervous at first, but when I was under the water, I had a wonder experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/07/27
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

bobs a winner

Reviewed by: Paul, 2013/07/30

Very professionally run organisation don't get put off by the safety demo it is very easy and super enjoyable, would definetly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/26
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two thumbs up

Reviewed by: Abby, 2013/07/28

It was soo much fun! My sister and i enjoyed it.. Twas really unforgettable experience..

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/07/25
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Jungmin Kim, 2013/07/23

Fun & exciting experience under the sea in safe.
Greatest activity !!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/07/19
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

NICE

Reviewed by: malek, 2013/06/22

I like it, it is amazing
You should try it
You well like it also

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/19
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BOB

Reviewed by: Molly S, 2013/05/13

It was well worth the money. The crew was great and friendly. Got a disc of about 30 photos for $30. Would do again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/13
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bob's underwater scooter

Reviewed by: lima, 2013/05/09

Great experience over all. Great staff. Nice photos to take home. Highly recomended

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/04
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Darin

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/12/08

Can't wait to go back to do it again. The family loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Neato~!

Reviewed by: Greatest Auntie ever~!, 2012/10/11

I wanted to surprise my teenage nieces, so I decided to take them on those neat underwater scooters, and they had a blast. They are 15 years old and I thought they would be bored but they were not. They were so excited!!! The scooters were pretty easy to get used to, and my nieces had an easy time in the water.

They especially liked the idea that your hair doesn't get wet while in the bubble. We didn't see any big reef formations or turtles, but we did see a lot of small fish. I would recommend taking some motion sickness pills before boarding though, it did get a little rocky out there on the boat.

Staff was very friendly and attentive towards us, my nieces thought the crew were very good looking and wanted me to point this out. My nieces were hungry afterwards and this activity is in a very good location. A lot of places in walking distance to get some lunch since we all worked up an appetite. OH AND FREE PARKING if you opt to drive out instead of taking their transportatio

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: Hope C Caton, 2012/06/13

The most unique and different type of experience I have ever encountered. So easy to participate, no special skills or training required made it really easy to enjoy oneself. Completely forgot that I wasn't breathing with an air tank...loved the huge views I had with the Bubble Head. Would definitely do this again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

bob

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/02

The crew was excellent. They encouraged without pushing past your comfort zone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mrs.

Reviewed by: Donna Rudolph, 2011/12/31

This was a great experience. My husband and I enjoyed the activity and the knowledgeable staff.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BOB's Underwater Adventure

Reviewed by: Wanda and Keith, 2011/11/24

This was our first experience with "BOB" and it was amazing! Especially for me as I'm a bit paranoid with being underwater and don't like water in my face and can't even handle snorkeling. I was afraid I wouldn't be able to handle it but after the initial nervousness of being submerged, I was able to see all the wonderful sites of colorful fish and sea turtles and my hair didn't even get wet!!! It was amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BOB's

Reviewed by: R. Sharpe, 2011/10/12

This was one of the best activities one could imagine to do..well worth the cost..everyone enjoyed themselves...we could snorkle or use the "BOB"...staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. A must do activity for everyone...even a novice can do it...for all ages. My friend who isn't a great swimmer and never snorkled before enjoyed himself immensly...excellent !!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful, but short, experience

Reviewed by: Lars D, 2011/09/26

I'm not comfortable with normal scuba gear, so this was a good way to be able to get under the water and see the marine life off Hawaii.

The scooters were not fast, but that is due to safety.

Everyone gets a diver that looks after them and can go under with their partner/friend. I always felt I was in good hands.

The experience lasted 20 minutes, which is not much. But to allow several people to go down without using several days, one doesn't have a choice. One would always want more time with something that is enjoyable.

A bit pricey, but safety costs, and the value was everything considered, not bad.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BOB Adventure

Reviewed by: T Hammond, 2011/07/30

I would recommend this to anyone who has not tried scuba diving. My friend and I had a good time and the staff made us feel at ease.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories