BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure

32 feet below and 3 turtles later

Reviewed by: Sandy Jamison, 2017/09/17

Our adventure began with introductions of the captain and his awesome crew. They made sure we knew all the safety procedures and explained all of the gear. We arrived to the spot and the crew jumped into their gear and were ready to go. We had time before our turn so we went snorkeling. The water was so clear! I spotted a turtle right away. We finished snorkeling and then saw another turtle on top of the water. Now it was our turn to go below on the snooba scooter. Each scooter was assigned their own diver. My diver communicated with me the whole time. When it came time to dive, he made sure I knew how to clear the pressure in my ears. Then we shook a metal mesh bag with bread balls in it and it was like we had rung a dinner bell for the fish! They flocked to us and nibbled the bread and sometimes your fingers! It was breathtaking and so exciting! I couldn't stop smiling! The photographer got some wonderful shots of us and the price was so reasonable. As our adventure came to an end, we were heading to the surface when a juvenile turtle came swimming by. I would highly recommend this adventure to everyone. Definitely one not to be missed!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Fun Day

Reviewed by: Running Girl, 2017/08/28

Very well organized. The crew are fantastic and although we were a little nervous about doing the activity - we needn't have been the crew are there with you every step of the way. The water is so blue you can see all the way to the bottom. Have recommended this to heaps of our friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pure Awesomeness!

Reviewed by: John, 2017/08/13

The highlight of our trip. The crew was amazing! The scooters and all the fish were amazing. Humming around the ocean with the family... once in a lifetime opportunity. Thanks everyone!


  • Super fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Exprience

Reviewed by: thelostkey, 2017/07/29

Although we had been snorkeling before this underwater scooter adventure was very unique. It was so much fun we plan to do this again. We have already recommended this to all our friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique experience

Reviewed by: Max, 2017/07/24

Taken on a boat in an incredible blue Pacific ocean bay, after a few minutes the crew makes you feel like chilling with humor and smiles. Then time for the scooter, they make sure you'll see the Marine life from up close, and while you're on the boat, they provide gear to scuba dive with the people in the scooters, food and drinks on the bridge, and pictures at the end. A must do!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Feeding fish underwater in Pacific Ocean!!

Reviewed by: Chris, 2017/07/16

Great underwater activity, especially for beginners in scuba diving. Extremely easy to do it, extremely awesome while doing it. For experienced guys to scuba diving, this might be boring. For the rest of us this is very cool!! The staff is taking photos of you while being underwater for keeping and sharing these memories forever. Scuba diving is a must to do thing in Hawaii!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

They didn't pick up us.

Reviewed by: abcd, 2017/07/11

We reserved shuttle service. We were waiting at the pick up point from 10min before the pickup time. We couldn't find the shuttle. We were waiting and I called to the office 10min later of pick up time. They said that they yelled out my name, but I didn't hear. They just left. Why not calling to me?
So, I took a taxi to get there with my money. BOB tour was canceld, because of lack of people. So, we joined to another group.
Totally lack of responsibility. I don't trust that they yelled out my name at the pickup point.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: C Hamblin, 2017/07/07

This was totally awesome and everyone should do it if they get the chance. It was so great because you have a chance to actually look around without worrying about snorkel equipment!!! For me that's a big deal. So much fun!! I highly recommend doing this.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lets you get up close with the fishes and turtles

Reviewed by: Cliff, 2017/07/06

Some were apprehensive about diving under the helmet to get into it but after that it's amazing as you get to see fishes and even turtles up close. You also get a fish food sponge to lure scads of fishes to you - just be careful to keep your fingers out of the way, or you may get a nibble! The safety divers guide your scooter and show you where to go (and some take video for sale later). The only possible discomfort may be if you don't equalize the pressure as you dive or ascend - this can be done several ways (such as swallowing or yawning - I couldn't get the "pinch nose and blow" method to work). Otherwise it's a blast. You also get to hang around a bit - on the boat or swimming or snorkeling - while the other groups are on the scooters.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

memories!

Reviewed by: Bonnie , 2017/05/21

What a GREAT time! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great way to start my last day of vacation. Highly recommended to do!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: Lianne & Ron, 2017/05/13

Wauw, this was so nice, beautiful "dive" space on scooter, beautiful fish. My husband (non swimmer) even went with me and very proud of him that he did it :)


  • Happyyyyyy

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Experience

Reviewed by: Phanesh, 2017/04/12

You are super close to the fishes under the water and you can see a lot of variety of them and I even saw 4 turtles from a close distance.
The staff are very friendly and gives you good guidance on every step of the activity.
The only drawback is the time underwater was only 15 minutes and when you are which flew by very quickly.

Note: You don't need to know how to swim to do this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do this !!!

Reviewed by: Brie & Kerri Hudson, 2017/04/11

I traveled to Hawaii with my aunty and this was on top of our to do list and it didnt dissapoint! We had a fantastic time and said when we go back we would definitely do it again! Beautiful ocean and lovely staff, we saw fish and turtles in their natural habitat....it was so serene thankyou to the friendly staff that ensures our safety and made sure we had a fantastic experience. Mohalo and Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Tonya, 2017/03/18

This was so fun. To top it off at the end we got to see 30+ dolphin.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Gina, 2017/02/06

Such an incredible adventure! Definitely worth the money spent!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing experience

Reviewed by: NJP, 2017/01/30

This is a must do in Honolulu! The service was great. They provided pick up and drop off service which really helped. Once you reach their office the staff explains the process in a very simplified way. On board the boat there were refreshments and the staff was very friendly :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun morning

Reviewed by: D & J, 2017/01/21

Was lots of fun - the divers/guides with us were great. Only negative was that it was a little choppy on the day and my husband ended up getting seasick while waiting for others to complete their turn. This though ended up a positive as it helped with bringing more fish closer to the boat! Next time we would be more prepared and take seasick tablets beforehand. Also I had tried scuba diving in the past and had problems "equalizing", thus could not move far from the diving platform. The underwater scooter experience has helped me overcome my previous fears of underwater adventures. An awesome time was had despite the seasickness.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun!

Reviewed by: HI Convert, 2017/01/19

Had a great time! As others have said, lots of wait time but you can spend it sunning or snorkeling. We had read the other reviews and knew to take Dramamine. Many others had not and felt sick. We felt great and would recommend this activity. Bought the photo video combo. Great work - only disappointment was we were missing solo wife pics. Still a great value.


  • Rider in the water

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Grace & Bethany , 2016/11/13

Pick up from hotel was great! Scooter ride was really fun and you get up close to the fish!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best

Reviewed by: Lymarie, 2016/11/01

The best adventure I had it was simply awesome ..

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome crew

Reviewed by: Lymarie, 2016/10/30

Great experience awesome photographer reasonable price !!!! It was fun tons of turtles and fish ..


  • Till I get my pics its a must do

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience....highlight of our Hawaiian trip!

Reviewed by: Momathan, 2016/10/22

This was so fun. The boat trip and scooter ride were made so great by the 3 divers and the captain. The treated us all so well ....my mother who is 86 accompanied us and she had a great time...her first trip to HI. I cannot express to you how much fun this was. Now we are reliving this with friends and family via the DVD and pictures. I am ready to go again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Tracey, 2016/10/22

Did bobs scooters was fantastic could have booked another day if we weren't leaving the next day great clear water


  • My son


  • My som

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Who said that only swimmers can go under the sea??

Reviewed by: Dilu Braga, 2016/09/30

First I was really afraid because I can barely float, I don't swimming if is not at the pool and going short distance. But I decided to have a new experience as a solo traveler in Hawaii as my first visit. The crew were just amazing, the lady at office received me with a big smile and was very friendly. The rest of the crew really made me feels good and my fears went away. When we got to the spot in the sea the first animal I saw was a turtle, and was an amazing feeling. While the crew organizing every scooter the only thing in my mind was "oh please I don't want to be the first one", after the captain told me I will be the next, I ended up being the third person going under. Words can not explain, you really need to go and have this experience where you can actually be close and touch animals under the sea.
I was lucky enough to see turtles, different kind of fish and even an octopus that got stuck on my big helmet for my pictures and video.
By the end of the day I got my photos and video, I've played my video and couldn't believe that the woman was me, they really did a good job, from the beginning to the end
I really recommend BOB's Adventure underwater scooter, specially if you don't swim at all, like me.


PS: I took the bus to get there from downtown, the commute was really easy and you will get so see more.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great expierence

Reviewed by: Jongmin Lee, 2016/09/20

I enjoyed this activity with my wife. I remember
fantastic views under the sea, there were beautiful fishes and turtle. We did snorkel during waiting for undersea bicycling. Thank you for giving us great memory.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jongmin,
We are glad to hear that you had a good time on our submarine scooters and enjoyed the beautiful fish and Hawaiian Sea Turtle. We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again in the future.. Mahalo and have a wonderful day!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok experience

Reviewed by: Luis garcia, 2016/09/03

Workers there need better customer service the experience was amazing just the workers there could be more friendly. The driver was the only one with a great attitude.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea sick

Reviewed by: Nancy , 2016/08/24

Everyone on the boat was sea sick and was vomiting the whole time. The sub scooter was fun, but there are lots of pressure. If you get claustrophobic or sea sick easily I don't recommend this active. We got to see a lot of fishes. The crew member on the other hand are no really nice.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Could be nice

Reviewed by: Rosemary, 2016/08/13

I think it would have been amazing... but will not know as we were not able to attend. I need to find a phone number to call to request a refund as I paid a lot of money for 6 of us.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha Rosemary,

Since your reservation was already rescheduled once and with the no show after being rescheduled, a full refund for the missed activity unfortunately would not be possible. Should you wish to contact us, our toll free number is 1-877-877-1222 (8:00 a.m.~6:00 p.m. HST).

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Honeymoon Activity

Reviewed by: John, 2016/08/06

My wife and I wanted to do something other than snorkelling and this adventure gave us more than what we asked more, plus a lifetime of memories in the form of great photos and a video. Thank you BOB's aventure.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

poorly organized program......wait too much time for 15 min riding

Reviewed by: Hugh , 2016/08/01

Even though I spent the whole morning for this activity, I just rode the underwater scooter for 15 min only. Furthermore, I couldn't even enjoy with my wife and son at the same time. So embarrassed and annoyed much. I admit the riding itself is exciting activity but their program was not that sophisticated. I was so much disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI