This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure

Overall Rating

4.52 4.52 / 5

Reviews

208 reviews
Post a review

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Sammie , 2019/07/23

This was such a fun experience to share with my wife. This was our honeymoon and we really loved the fact that they took great pics of us on the underwater scooters while feeding the fish. Even after our ~20min turn was over, we still had an hour to snorkel and swim around which was amazing! I’ve never been so close to sea turtles in my life!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply a magnificent experience!!

Reviewed by: JacqualyneNichols, 2019/07/17

I was invited to a wedding in Honolulu and the bride and I were looking at a few activities for us to do while there. I saw the video for the BOB and we immediately wanted to do it. We made reservation for the 4 of us. I’m not a swimmer and haven’t been since high school. The staff was so professional and caring. I love their motto of “we treat everyone as non swimmers...” Their patience is great with all participants. Very knowledgeable about their equipment, their staff and the environment. Each staff played their part in our safety and the for the fish and turtles! And the fact they not only take pictures, they give you memorable videos. This was an Amazing experience that we’ve encountered and we’re telling everyone in Chicago about it!! Thank you for sharing this experience! Saturday, July 13, 2019 8:30 am

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Steve, 2019/06/07

Great crew, fantastic weather, awesome marine life all and all fantastic trip

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review! We are so glad to hear you had a great time and will be sure to let our crew know. We hope to see you again in the future!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Shelly, 2019/06/06

This is a must do adventure, and well worth the price. I was impressed and pleasantly surprised at the 1-to-1 ratio of divers to BOBs in the water. They really make sure everyone is comfortable in the BOBs and are doing okay throughout the dive. The 1 hour of free time is basically during the time others are in the BOBs. They provide snorkeling equipment if you want to hop in the water during that time. We had a gray and windy day, so it was quite cool on the boat during the off time. So if your weather is not the best, consider bringing a windbreaker.

Reply from activity provider

So glad to hear you had such a great time! We will be sure to let our crew know about your experience. Thank you again for coming out with us! We appreciate all referrals and especially your review! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Missy W, 2019/05/31

My husband and I did this excursion together. He loves scuba diving, so he enjoyed it, but not as much as he does diving. I, on the other hand, get claustrophobic diving, so I LOVED this because I didn’t have to have anything touching my face/a mouthpiece. While under water, we saw tons of fish and sea turtles. In addition to scuba scootering, we got to snorkeling while we waited our turn for the scooters, so it was like two excursions in one. The staff were all great too!

  • Our scuba scooter location!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Phenomenal experience with the scooters!

Reviewed by: Gertie G., 2019/05/13

This experience was one I have no regrets booking. The divers and guides were wonderful. You always felt safe and were never left alone because you have your own personal diver with you at all times. But you feel at peace and just immerse yourself with the wonders of life underwater. They provide you with all the equipment you need even snorkel gear for your free time! Would highly recommend this activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bobs underwater scooter

Reviewed by: Narendran, 2019/05/10

The crew was very friendly and they provided all the instructions when we are on board. They provided snacks and water. For each scooter they had their own person to guide them. We had a very good time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a great time!

Reviewed by: Angel, 2019/03/09

Professional and friendly customer service and crew. Amazing experience and terrific option for anyone that wants to see life under the sea without having to do all the work of snorkeling or scuba diving. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Trevor, 2019/01/17

This is a great experience if you do not enjoy snorkeling this is the experience for you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not even close to what is advertised

Reviewed by: Oz-visitors, 2019/01/04

We were very disappointed with this tour as it's nothing like the video on their ad. First of all the vessels are mechanically disabled so you don't get to operate them; instead you get pushed around by divers. Also the video shows several people in the water at the same time which is also not true. They only had 3 bubbles taking groups of 3 down at a time and when you have 25 people on the tour, you end up spending most of the day waiting around for them to finish. They did offer some fins and snorkels but there weren't nearly enough of them to accomodate everyone that were waiting. I wouldn't recommend this tour, you can find cheaper boat or snorkeling tours for a fraction of the coast. It was kind of like renting a bike where you're not allowed to use the pedals or the handles and someone just pushes you around instead.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Susie , 2018/12/29

It was a fantastic adventure. The staff was friendly and professional and the trip was awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time!

Reviewed by: Heather , 2018/12/13

We had such a awesome time and got to see turtles and the local fish. Will definitely recommend this to any friends that go to Oahu as something to do!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Staff was friendly!

Reviewed by: Rebecca , 2018/11/02

I had a good time and the staff was really friendly. The pictures and videos they take of you are cool but a bit on the pricey side, especially because we are from Canada and it’s more expensive than USD. They provided us with chips and water which was ok but I give them a 5 star because of how nice they were. Overall it was fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't miss this

Reviewed by: Kevin Connolly, 2018/09/18

What a fab trip we had with Bobs underwater scooters, lots of fish to see and an added bonus of sea turtles, very well organised and a great experienced crew.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My trip

Reviewed by: Alex N,, 2018/08/13

It was Amazing and terrifying at the same time! I'd do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do activity!

Reviewed by: Heather M., 2018/08/01

This was one of my favorite activities on my vacation. The entire team was very nice and made sure we understood what we were doing and had a good time. I really enjoyed being able to be underwater to see the fish and sea turtles without having to learn to scuba dive or deal with snorkel gear below the surface of the water. The pictures and video from the activity were also very well done and a good price.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Time!

Reviewed by: Marcus Langston, 2018/06/04

The entire experience was amazing. The crew was friendly, the scooters themselves were fun, and the divers that stayed next to each scooter did such a great job showing the sights and making it fun. Easily a highlight of our trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a lot of fun

Reviewed by: marcia, 2018/05/08

I would recommend this adventure our photographer was amazing he got a school of dolphins too.There was an octopus right with my husband and the photographer there and turtles.Lots of beautiful fish.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing adventure

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2018/05/06

Would definitely recommend this activity to do it was amazing the crew were fantastic

  • The fish come right up to you

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME TIME, AWESOME CREW

Reviewed by: Danielle Tattam, 2018/05/06

Incredible, awesome, different and the crew are OUTSTANDING!
My 2nd time, and I brought along 23 people with me and again it was GREAT. All our first timers LOVED it. It was rough seas from a severe storm the two previous days, which affected seeing the crater on the sea floor, but lots of fish were out to play. Saw quite a few turtles too.
All my guests said it was TERRIFIC and they had a ball!!
The crew are always smiling, helpful and FUN!!!
Thanks again guys!!!
Danielle Tattam

  • Lots of fish!!

  • Part of the Party Crew

  • First timer

  • Having a ball!!

  • The Jetsons!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unbelievable experience

Reviewed by: Max, 2018/05/06

Absolutely fantastic experience. The guys that looked after us were fabulous. Would easily do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This experience is absolutely over the top!

Reviewed by: RIch/Kim, 2018/05/06

For someone that has never snorkeled or dove before, this was amazing and makes me want to get my diving certification! It was so easy, the crew was great and I just don't have enough words to describe how awesome it was. We saw squid, turtles and loads of colorful fish! I would do this over and over again!

Thanks Taylor for a great day and super photos and videos!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scooter

Reviewed by: Derek, 2018/04/26

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Also let us snorkel while we waited. A++

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Tanya H., 2018/04/10

The guys on the tour was so nice and made the little group feel connected. They were friendly and informative and the entire group had a great time. I would definitely book again with them!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A fantastic experience ... but

Reviewed by: MerlinsEgo, 2018/04/06

First, allow me to emphasize just how professional and engaged the divers, driver and the captain was on this experience. Seriously these guys were fantastic .. they were always attentive, showed understanding and you felt in very capable hands the whole time. This aspect was important to my wife as she had some very serious apprehensions about doing this ..but being a dutiful husband I badgered her until she agreed :-) .. took a few weeks.

The pre-trip meeting answered any questions we had and explained the workings of the submersible in terms of engaging the motor .. but nothing in regards to steering the vessel which i thought interesting.

We had a big group of approx 20 people so we just all fitted on the small boat. The seas were a little rough so a few people got a little woozy but nothing too bad.

My wife and I were one of the first to try out the scooters and the process to get in them was simple and effective .. no diving underwater to get in them .. this was a relief to my wife. We were in the water almost immediately and already could see fish in the distance. So we were very excited !

Here is where i was a little disappointed .. we had been trained to use foot pedals to engage the motor for the propellor but mine seemed to be a much older model and had the button on the steering column. No big deal i guess except i had an underwater camera with me and hence could not use it while the motor was engaged, which is approx 80% of the time. Consequently i was unable to take many photos .. disappointed.
I now understood why we were not taught the steering of the submersible ..you don't steer it ..there is a diver that holds onto 2 of the vessels the whole time and steers it. This was disappointing as i had no control on where to go.

In summary this was a FANTASTIC experience and again i want to emphasize how good the divers and crew were .. BUT it felt more like an amusement park ride than what the marketing suggests.

Thanks guys

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the experience!

Reviewed by: Donna Sue Youngblood, 2018/03/17

The boat crew and divers were friendly, patient, and knowledgeable. We definitely want to do again and bring our whole family. Experiencing close encounters with sea turtles, sea stars, and numerous species of fish was thrilling. The crew has 7 scuba scooters with a diver to assist each scooter. The divers make sure each participant is safe, feels comfortable, and points out the aquatic life while also allowing independent discovery. While waiting your turn to scooter, we had a wonderful time snorkeling on our own. The waters are clear and beautiful and allow perfect visibility. For an extra fee you can get pictures and a video of your adventure. The diver captured some of my favorite vacation pictures!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome underwater fun.

Reviewed by: Trevor, 2018/03/10

Great adventure underwater fun. Crew were friendly and efficient . Everything supplied and even if you are not a very competent swimmer you could easily manage this activity as a fully qualified diver is in the water to assist at all times.
Ideal alternative way to get under the water if you are incapable of scuba diving. Would definitely do it again The music on the boat was from the 70's and 80's which made the trip even more enjoyable as it was what I grew up listening too

  • At one with nature

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great alternative to full scuba diving

Reviewed by: Lewis W, 2018/03/01

As a qualified PADI, I found this activity to be a great alternative to full on scuba diving. With the submarine scooter you are able to sit back and enjoy the amazing underwater world.

The Bobs team were very organised and made the whole experience enjoyable and welcoming. I would highly recommend this to those afraid of discovery scuba diving. The team also take great pictures and videos for you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I'm glad I have done it

Reviewed by: Jindriska , 2018/01/17

Originally I was very scared as I don't like to put my head under the water. I signed up just because my grown up daughter wanted to try that. I was a bit out of breath at the beginning as I dived in to the helmet, but soon as I calmed down, it was incredible. I was even able to touch the gorgeous big turtle. But I was able to have this great experience only thanks to my assigned diver, who directed me so well. So thank you ever so much xx

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bobs Underwater Scooter

Reviewed by: Anony, 2017/12/26

Divers friendly but little instruction or guidance given. Lot of waiting around and too many people on boat for number of scooters and divers, reduce sizes for more enjoyable experience. Also suggest providing one digital photo in price of ticket at least as waste if going to effort of taking them if not emailing to parties. Expect to wait around both at office, on shuttle and boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories