This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Tanya H., 2018/04/10

The guys on the tour was so nice and made the little group feel connected. They were friendly and informative and the entire group had a great time. I would definitely book again with them!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A fantastic experience ... but

Reviewed by: MerlinsEgo, 2018/04/06

First, allow me to emphasize just how professional and engaged the divers, driver and the captain was on this experience. Seriously these guys were fantastic .. they were always attentive, showed understanding and you felt in very capable hands the whole time. This aspect was important to my wife as she had some very serious apprehensions about doing this ..but being a dutiful husband I badgered her until she agreed :-) .. took a few weeks.

The pre-trip meeting answered any questions we had and explained the workings of the submersible in terms of engaging the motor .. but nothing in regards to steering the vessel which i thought interesting.

We had a big group of approx 20 people so we just all fitted on the small boat. The seas were a little rough so a few people got a little woozy but nothing too bad.

My wife and I were one of the first to try out the scooters and the process to get in them was simple and effective .. no diving underwater to get in them .. this was a relief to my wife. We were in the water almost immediately and already could see fish in the distance. So we were very excited !

Here is where i was a little disappointed .. we had been trained to use foot pedals to engage the motor for the propellor but mine seemed to be a much older model and had the button on the steering column. No big deal i guess except i had an underwater camera with me and hence could not use it while the motor was engaged, which is approx 80% of the time. Consequently i was unable to take many photos .. disappointed.
I now understood why we were not taught the steering of the submersible ..you don't steer it ..there is a diver that holds onto 2 of the vessels the whole time and steers it. This was disappointing as i had no control on where to go.

In summary this was a FANTASTIC experience and again i want to emphasize how good the divers and crew were .. BUT it felt more like an amusement park ride than what the marketing suggests.

Thanks guys

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the experience!

Reviewed by: Donna Sue Youngblood, 2018/03/17

The boat crew and divers were friendly, patient, and knowledgeable. We definitely want to do again and bring our whole family. Experiencing close encounters with sea turtles, sea stars, and numerous species of fish was thrilling. The crew has 7 scuba scooters with a diver to assist each scooter. The divers make sure each participant is safe, feels comfortable, and points out the aquatic life while also allowing independent discovery. While waiting your turn to scooter, we had a wonderful time snorkeling on our own. The waters are clear and beautiful and allow perfect visibility. For an extra fee you can get pictures and a video of your adventure. The diver captured some of my favorite vacation pictures!





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome underwater fun.

Reviewed by: Trevor, 2018/03/10

Great adventure underwater fun. Crew were friendly and efficient . Everything supplied and even if you are not a very competent swimmer you could easily manage this activity as a fully qualified diver is in the water to assist at all times.
Ideal alternative way to get under the water if you are incapable of scuba diving. Would definitely do it again The music on the boat was from the 70's and 80's which made the trip even more enjoyable as it was what I grew up listening too


  • At one with nature

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great alternative to full scuba diving

Reviewed by: Lewis W, 2018/03/01

As a qualified PADI, I found this activity to be a great alternative to full on scuba diving. With the submarine scooter you are able to sit back and enjoy the amazing underwater world.

The Bobs team were very organised and made the whole experience enjoyable and welcoming. I would highly recommend this to those afraid of discovery scuba diving. The team also take great pictures and videos for you.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I'm glad I have done it

Reviewed by: Jindriska , 2018/01/17

Originally I was very scared as I don't like to put my head under the water. I signed up just because my grown up daughter wanted to try that. I was a bit out of breath at the beginning as I dived in to the helmet, but soon as I calmed down, it was incredible. I was even able to touch the gorgeous big turtle. But I was able to have this great experience only thanks to my assigned diver, who directed me so well. So thank you ever so much xx

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bobs Underwater Scooter

Reviewed by: Anony, 2017/12/26

Divers friendly but little instruction or guidance given. Lot of waiting around and too many people on boat for number of scooters and divers, reduce sizes for more enjoyable experience. Also suggest providing one digital photo in price of ticket at least as waste if going to effort of taking them if not emailing to parties. Expect to wait around both at office, on shuttle and boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing adventure in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Mitch23, 2017/12/11

The best experience ever! The crew were very professional and nice and I don’t swim but they were so kind in helping me and guiding me through this amazing experience! In addition they gave complimentary equipment that you can borrow to snorkel freely! If you want an amazing adventure, this is one of them!


  • Amazing adventure!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Donna , 2017/11/14

What a great crew, we had so much fun and the crew was just fabulous, can't say enough about them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun

Reviewed by: M. Maddon, 2017/10/27

Had a ton of fun at Bobs underwater scooter adventure. The crew was funny and friendly and made the trip safe and memorable. I would recommend this to anyone coming to Oahu who loves tropical fish. I got to hold a giant sea star while the guide took my picture. It was awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Sandra McCarthy, 2017/10/21

Our group of four "seniors" wanted to experience this unique water activity during our visit to Oahu. The underwater scooter adventure exceeded our expectations. The entire team from Bob's was very helpful to all of us onboard. They did a great job of communicating to not only those of us from the U.S. but were able to converse with the customers who were from Japan and needed communications in their native language.

We had been given appropriate safety briefings before heading out to the dive site. The outdoor temperature in mid October was in the mid 80s so not uncomfortable. The water temperature was a reasonable 75+ but we adapted to it as soon as we got into the water on the scooters.

The divers gave us appropriate underwater instructions to get us going and to set up the underwater photos for each person. We did have unusual trade winds that caused some bouncing and rolling in the boat but once in the water on the scooter or when snorkeling, it was mitigated. The water was clear and we had a variety of fish that swarmed around us as they were feeding on the food that the divers attached to the scooters. A unique feeling to have all of these colorful fish surrounding you in their environment.

We also had the opportunity to see a number of sea turtles both under water and coming to the surface. It would have been great to have had more time actually underwater but we only could accommodate 2 - 3 people underwater at one time. It probably would have been more enjoyable from the customer perspective with a few less onboard the boat.

Our group did take the opportunity to do some snorkeling after we completed our time on the underwater scooters. All in all a great time to remember and yes we did buy the photos especially for the video that was offered as well.

We have not been able to access our photos yet as we are still on vacation and will need to do so when we get home. Hopefully, they will be as delightful to watch as what we experienced


  • Ready for our underwater scooter adventures

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scooter adventure

Reviewed by: Sherwin, 2017/10/17

The crew were so professional and nice. They kept us all feel safe. Our kids had a blast! Definitely recommends.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Caryq, 2017/10/09

Staff attentive and superbly caring, trained. Lots of fish, sea turtles right in front of you. Will repeat next time for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Trip

Reviewed by: Dona, 2017/09/25

It was my first time to try this & I really enjoyed it, the beach we went, fishes, turtle :). Guides were so supportive, kind, heroes :) Thank you all

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

32 feet below and 3 turtles later

Reviewed by: Sandy Jamison, 2017/09/17

Our adventure began with introductions of the captain and his awesome crew. They made sure we knew all the safety procedures and explained all of the gear. We arrived to the spot and the crew jumped into their gear and were ready to go. We had time before our turn so we went snorkeling. The water was so clear! I spotted a turtle right away. We finished snorkeling and then saw another turtle on top of the water. Now it was our turn to go below on the snooba scooter. Each scooter was assigned their own diver. My diver communicated with me the whole time. When it came time to dive, he made sure I knew how to clear the pressure in my ears. Then we shook a metal mesh bag with bread balls in it and it was like we had rung a dinner bell for the fish! They flocked to us and nibbled the bread and sometimes your fingers! It was breathtaking and so exciting! I couldn't stop smiling! The photographer got some wonderful shots of us and the price was so reasonable. As our adventure came to an end, we were heading to the surface when a juvenile turtle came swimming by. I would highly recommend this adventure to everyone. Definitely one not to be missed!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Fun Day

Reviewed by: Running Girl, 2017/08/28

Very well organized. The crew are fantastic and although we were a little nervous about doing the activity - we needn't have been the crew are there with you every step of the way. The water is so blue you can see all the way to the bottom. Have recommended this to heaps of our friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pure Awesomeness!

Reviewed by: John, 2017/08/13

The highlight of our trip. The crew was amazing! The scooters and all the fish were amazing. Humming around the ocean with the family... once in a lifetime opportunity. Thanks everyone!


  • Super fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Exprience

Reviewed by: thelostkey, 2017/07/29

Although we had been snorkeling before this underwater scooter adventure was very unique. It was so much fun we plan to do this again. We have already recommended this to all our friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique experience

Reviewed by: Max, 2017/07/24

Taken on a boat in an incredible blue Pacific ocean bay, after a few minutes the crew makes you feel like chilling with humor and smiles. Then time for the scooter, they make sure you'll see the Marine life from up close, and while you're on the boat, they provide gear to scuba dive with the people in the scooters, food and drinks on the bridge, and pictures at the end. A must do!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Feeding fish underwater in Pacific Ocean!!

Reviewed by: Chris, 2017/07/16

Great underwater activity, especially for beginners in scuba diving. Extremely easy to do it, extremely awesome while doing it. For experienced guys to scuba diving, this might be boring. For the rest of us this is very cool!! The staff is taking photos of you while being underwater for keeping and sharing these memories forever. Scuba diving is a must to do thing in Hawaii!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

They didn't pick up us.

Reviewed by: abcd, 2017/07/11

We reserved shuttle service. We were waiting at the pick up point from 10min before the pickup time. We couldn't find the shuttle. We were waiting and I called to the office 10min later of pick up time. They said that they yelled out my name, but I didn't hear. They just left. Why not calling to me?
So, I took a taxi to get there with my money. BOB tour was canceld, because of lack of people. So, we joined to another group.
Totally lack of responsibility. I don't trust that they yelled out my name at the pickup point.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: C Hamblin, 2017/07/07

This was totally awesome and everyone should do it if they get the chance. It was so great because you have a chance to actually look around without worrying about snorkel equipment!!! For me that's a big deal. So much fun!! I highly recommend doing this.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lets you get up close with the fishes and turtles

Reviewed by: Cliff, 2017/07/06

Some were apprehensive about diving under the helmet to get into it but after that it's amazing as you get to see fishes and even turtles up close. You also get a fish food sponge to lure scads of fishes to you - just be careful to keep your fingers out of the way, or you may get a nibble! The safety divers guide your scooter and show you where to go (and some take video for sale later). The only possible discomfort may be if you don't equalize the pressure as you dive or ascend - this can be done several ways (such as swallowing or yawning - I couldn't get the "pinch nose and blow" method to work). Otherwise it's a blast. You also get to hang around a bit - on the boat or swimming or snorkeling - while the other groups are on the scooters.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

memories!

Reviewed by: Bonnie , 2017/05/21

What a GREAT time! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great way to start my last day of vacation. Highly recommended to do!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: Lianne & Ron, 2017/05/13

Wauw, this was so nice, beautiful "dive" space on scooter, beautiful fish. My husband (non swimmer) even went with me and very proud of him that he did it :)


  • Happyyyyyy

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Experience

Reviewed by: Phanesh, 2017/04/12

You are super close to the fishes under the water and you can see a lot of variety of them and I even saw 4 turtles from a close distance.
The staff are very friendly and gives you good guidance on every step of the activity.
The only drawback is the time underwater was only 15 minutes and when you are which flew by very quickly.

Note: You don't need to know how to swim to do this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do this !!!

Reviewed by: Brie & Kerri Hudson, 2017/04/11

I traveled to Hawaii with my aunty and this was on top of our to do list and it didnt dissapoint! We had a fantastic time and said when we go back we would definitely do it again! Beautiful ocean and lovely staff, we saw fish and turtles in their natural habitat....it was so serene thankyou to the friendly staff that ensures our safety and made sure we had a fantastic experience. Mohalo and Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Tonya, 2017/03/18

This was so fun. To top it off at the end we got to see 30+ dolphin.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Gina, 2017/02/06

Such an incredible adventure! Definitely worth the money spent!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing experience

Reviewed by: NJP, 2017/01/30

This is a must do in Honolulu! The service was great. They provided pick up and drop off service which really helped. Once you reach their office the staff explains the process in a very simplified way. On board the boat there were refreshments and the staff was very friendly :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

Oahu Categories