This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure

Staff was friendly!

Reviewed by: Rebecca , 2018/11/02

I had a good time and the staff was really friendly. The pictures and videos they take of you are cool but a bit on the pricey side, especially because we are from Canada and it’s more expensive than USD. They provided us with chips and water which was ok but I give them a 5 star because of how nice they were. Overall it was fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't miss this

Reviewed by: Kevin Connolly, 2018/09/18

What a fab trip we had with Bobs underwater scooters, lots of fish to see and an added bonus of sea turtles, very well organised and a great experienced crew.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My trip

Reviewed by: Alex N,, 2018/08/13

It was Amazing and terrifying at the same time! I'd do it again.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do activity!

Reviewed by: Heather M., 2018/08/01

This was one of my favorite activities on my vacation. The entire team was very nice and made sure we understood what we were doing and had a good time. I really enjoyed being able to be underwater to see the fish and sea turtles without having to learn to scuba dive or deal with snorkel gear below the surface of the water. The pictures and video from the activity were also very well done and a good price.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Time!

Reviewed by: Marcus Langston, 2018/06/04

The entire experience was amazing. The crew was friendly, the scooters themselves were fun, and the divers that stayed next to each scooter did such a great job showing the sights and making it fun. Easily a highlight of our trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a lot of fun

Reviewed by: marcia, 2018/05/08

I would recommend this adventure our photographer was amazing he got a school of dolphins too.There was an octopus right with my husband and the photographer there and turtles.Lots of beautiful fish.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing adventure

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2018/05/06

Would definitely recommend this activity to do it was amazing the crew were fantastic


  • The fish come right up to you

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME TIME, AWESOME CREW

Reviewed by: Danielle Tattam, 2018/05/06

Incredible, awesome, different and the crew are OUTSTANDING!
My 2nd time, and I brought along 23 people with me and again it was GREAT. All our first timers LOVED it. It was rough seas from a severe storm the two previous days, which affected seeing the crater on the sea floor, but lots of fish were out to play. Saw quite a few turtles too.
All my guests said it was TERRIFIC and they had a ball!!
The crew are always smiling, helpful and FUN!!!
Thanks again guys!!!
Danielle Tattam


  • Lots of fish!!


  • Part of the Party Crew


  • First timer


  • Having a ball!!


  • The Jetsons!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unbelievable experience

Reviewed by: Max, 2018/05/06

Absolutely fantastic experience. The guys that looked after us were fabulous. Would easily do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This experience is absolutely over the top!

Reviewed by: RIch/Kim, 2018/05/06

For someone that has never snorkeled or dove before, this was amazing and makes me want to get my diving certification! It was so easy, the crew was great and I just don't have enough words to describe how awesome it was. We saw squid, turtles and loads of colorful fish! I would do this over and over again!

Thanks Taylor for a great day and super photos and videos!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scooter

Reviewed by: Derek, 2018/04/26

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Also let us snorkel while we waited. A++

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Tanya H., 2018/04/10

The guys on the tour was so nice and made the little group feel connected. They were friendly and informative and the entire group had a great time. I would definitely book again with them!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A fantastic experience ... but

Reviewed by: MerlinsEgo, 2018/04/06

First, allow me to emphasize just how professional and engaged the divers, driver and the captain was on this experience. Seriously these guys were fantastic .. they were always attentive, showed understanding and you felt in very capable hands the whole time. This aspect was important to my wife as she had some very serious apprehensions about doing this ..but being a dutiful husband I badgered her until she agreed :-) .. took a few weeks.

The pre-trip meeting answered any questions we had and explained the workings of the submersible in terms of engaging the motor .. but nothing in regards to steering the vessel which i thought interesting.

We had a big group of approx 20 people so we just all fitted on the small boat. The seas were a little rough so a few people got a little woozy but nothing too bad.

My wife and I were one of the first to try out the scooters and the process to get in them was simple and effective .. no diving underwater to get in them .. this was a relief to my wife. We were in the water almost immediately and already could see fish in the distance. So we were very excited !

Here is where i was a little disappointed .. we had been trained to use foot pedals to engage the motor for the propellor but mine seemed to be a much older model and had the button on the steering column. No big deal i guess except i had an underwater camera with me and hence could not use it while the motor was engaged, which is approx 80% of the time. Consequently i was unable to take many photos .. disappointed.
I now understood why we were not taught the steering of the submersible ..you don't steer it ..there is a diver that holds onto 2 of the vessels the whole time and steers it. This was disappointing as i had no control on where to go.

In summary this was a FANTASTIC experience and again i want to emphasize how good the divers and crew were .. BUT it felt more like an amusement park ride than what the marketing suggests.

Thanks guys

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the experience!

Reviewed by: Donna Sue Youngblood, 2018/03/17

The boat crew and divers were friendly, patient, and knowledgeable. We definitely want to do again and bring our whole family. Experiencing close encounters with sea turtles, sea stars, and numerous species of fish was thrilling. The crew has 7 scuba scooters with a diver to assist each scooter. The divers make sure each participant is safe, feels comfortable, and points out the aquatic life while also allowing independent discovery. While waiting your turn to scooter, we had a wonderful time snorkeling on our own. The waters are clear and beautiful and allow perfect visibility. For an extra fee you can get pictures and a video of your adventure. The diver captured some of my favorite vacation pictures!





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome underwater fun.

Reviewed by: Trevor, 2018/03/10

Great adventure underwater fun. Crew were friendly and efficient . Everything supplied and even if you are not a very competent swimmer you could easily manage this activity as a fully qualified diver is in the water to assist at all times.
Ideal alternative way to get under the water if you are incapable of scuba diving. Would definitely do it again The music on the boat was from the 70's and 80's which made the trip even more enjoyable as it was what I grew up listening too


  • At one with nature

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great alternative to full scuba diving

Reviewed by: Lewis W, 2018/03/01

As a qualified PADI, I found this activity to be a great alternative to full on scuba diving. With the submarine scooter you are able to sit back and enjoy the amazing underwater world.

The Bobs team were very organised and made the whole experience enjoyable and welcoming. I would highly recommend this to those afraid of discovery scuba diving. The team also take great pictures and videos for you.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I'm glad I have done it

Reviewed by: Jindriska , 2018/01/17

Originally I was very scared as I don't like to put my head under the water. I signed up just because my grown up daughter wanted to try that. I was a bit out of breath at the beginning as I dived in to the helmet, but soon as I calmed down, it was incredible. I was even able to touch the gorgeous big turtle. But I was able to have this great experience only thanks to my assigned diver, who directed me so well. So thank you ever so much xx

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bobs Underwater Scooter

Reviewed by: Anony, 2017/12/26

Divers friendly but little instruction or guidance given. Lot of waiting around and too many people on boat for number of scooters and divers, reduce sizes for more enjoyable experience. Also suggest providing one digital photo in price of ticket at least as waste if going to effort of taking them if not emailing to parties. Expect to wait around both at office, on shuttle and boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing adventure in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Mitch23, 2017/12/11

The best experience ever! The crew were very professional and nice and I don’t swim but they were so kind in helping me and guiding me through this amazing experience! In addition they gave complimentary equipment that you can borrow to snorkel freely! If you want an amazing adventure, this is one of them!


  • Amazing adventure!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Donna , 2017/11/14

What a great crew, we had so much fun and the crew was just fabulous, can't say enough about them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun

Reviewed by: M. Maddon, 2017/10/27

Had a ton of fun at Bobs underwater scooter adventure. The crew was funny and friendly and made the trip safe and memorable. I would recommend this to anyone coming to Oahu who loves tropical fish. I got to hold a giant sea star while the guide took my picture. It was awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Sandra McCarthy, 2017/10/21

Our group of four "seniors" wanted to experience this unique water activity during our visit to Oahu. The underwater scooter adventure exceeded our expectations. The entire team from Bob's was very helpful to all of us onboard. They did a great job of communicating to not only those of us from the U.S. but were able to converse with the customers who were from Japan and needed communications in their native language.

We had been given appropriate safety briefings before heading out to the dive site. The outdoor temperature in mid October was in the mid 80s so not uncomfortable. The water temperature was a reasonable 75+ but we adapted to it as soon as we got into the water on the scooters.

The divers gave us appropriate underwater instructions to get us going and to set up the underwater photos for each person. We did have unusual trade winds that caused some bouncing and rolling in the boat but once in the water on the scooter or when snorkeling, it was mitigated. The water was clear and we had a variety of fish that swarmed around us as they were feeding on the food that the divers attached to the scooters. A unique feeling to have all of these colorful fish surrounding you in their environment.

We also had the opportunity to see a number of sea turtles both under water and coming to the surface. It would have been great to have had more time actually underwater but we only could accommodate 2 - 3 people underwater at one time. It probably would have been more enjoyable from the customer perspective with a few less onboard the boat.

Our group did take the opportunity to do some snorkeling after we completed our time on the underwater scooters. All in all a great time to remember and yes we did buy the photos especially for the video that was offered as well.

We have not been able to access our photos yet as we are still on vacation and will need to do so when we get home. Hopefully, they will be as delightful to watch as what we experienced


  • Ready for our underwater scooter adventures

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scooter adventure

Reviewed by: Sherwin, 2017/10/17

The crew were so professional and nice. They kept us all feel safe. Our kids had a blast! Definitely recommends.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Caryq, 2017/10/09

Staff attentive and superbly caring, trained. Lots of fish, sea turtles right in front of you. Will repeat next time for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Trip

Reviewed by: Dona, 2017/09/25

It was my first time to try this & I really enjoyed it, the beach we went, fishes, turtle :). Guides were so supportive, kind, heroes :) Thank you all

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

32 feet below and 3 turtles later

Reviewed by: Sandy Jamison, 2017/09/17

Our adventure began with introductions of the captain and his awesome crew. They made sure we knew all the safety procedures and explained all of the gear. We arrived to the spot and the crew jumped into their gear and were ready to go. We had time before our turn so we went snorkeling. The water was so clear! I spotted a turtle right away. We finished snorkeling and then saw another turtle on top of the water. Now it was our turn to go below on the snooba scooter. Each scooter was assigned their own diver. My diver communicated with me the whole time. When it came time to dive, he made sure I knew how to clear the pressure in my ears. Then we shook a metal mesh bag with bread balls in it and it was like we had rung a dinner bell for the fish! They flocked to us and nibbled the bread and sometimes your fingers! It was breathtaking and so exciting! I couldn't stop smiling! The photographer got some wonderful shots of us and the price was so reasonable. As our adventure came to an end, we were heading to the surface when a juvenile turtle came swimming by. I would highly recommend this adventure to everyone. Definitely one not to be missed!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Fun Day

Reviewed by: Running Girl, 2017/08/28

Very well organized. The crew are fantastic and although we were a little nervous about doing the activity - we needn't have been the crew are there with you every step of the way. The water is so blue you can see all the way to the bottom. Have recommended this to heaps of our friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pure Awesomeness!

Reviewed by: John, 2017/08/13

The highlight of our trip. The crew was amazing! The scooters and all the fish were amazing. Humming around the ocean with the family... once in a lifetime opportunity. Thanks everyone!


  • Super fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Exprience

Reviewed by: thelostkey, 2017/07/29

Although we had been snorkeling before this underwater scooter adventure was very unique. It was so much fun we plan to do this again. We have already recommended this to all our friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique experience

Reviewed by: Max, 2017/07/24

Taken on a boat in an incredible blue Pacific ocean bay, after a few minutes the crew makes you feel like chilling with humor and smiles. Then time for the scooter, they make sure you'll see the Marine life from up close, and while you're on the boat, they provide gear to scuba dive with the people in the scooters, food and drinks on the bridge, and pictures at the end. A must do!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

Oahu Categories