BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure

Overall Rating

4.52 4.52 / 5

Reviews

239 reviews
Post a review

Different experience

Reviewed by: Andres, 2020/02/20

It´s quite a unique and different experience. I don´t know if all of these scooters are like this but mine didn´t move much. You could turn but not move forward so that was disappointing.

I saw mostly sardines, a couple of pretty fish and two small sea turtles at the bottom (but you had to be looking hard for them). The fun thing is that they have a food thing attached to each scooter so you squeeze it and the fish (mostly sardines) come right in front of your face.

The crew was really helpful and nice. They gave me some sea sickness oil but I think they should offer it to everyone since four of us threw up.

Overall it was an OK experience but I wouldn´t do it again like I´ve done snorkeling multiple times.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our Oahu trip

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2020/02/01

Our group of 9 all agree this was the best excursion we had in Oahu. The staff took great care of us, and the scooters were a lot of fun. We saw so many turtles!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not a great experience

Reviewed by: Mimi, 2020/01/03

We had really high expectations, looking at the pictures and reading some of the reviews. Unfortunately, it did not turn out anything like we had expected.
The whole thing took over 6 hours, from the time we were picked up and dropped back. Mind you the actual underwater scooter experience was just 10 minutes of these 6 hours.
We were made to wait on the boat for about 3 hours and obviously lot of people got sea sick.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cannot wait to return to do it again!

Reviewed by: Shannon, Lara, Luke, 2019/12/30

The captain and crew were fantastic. They made sure everyone had a great experience. Being underwater on the scooter was a little piece of heaven as I do not swim. I got to see the beauty of the ocean. The view of crater and fish etc. Were a work of art. I will return the next time I visit and every time after that!!!!! Bring a smile, towel, and sunscreen.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Shannon! We are so glad to hear you had a great time on our boat and scooters! We will be sure to let our crew know about your experience. Thank you for coming out with us and we hope to see you again in the future! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Jules, 2019/12/21

Fabulous experience - I would highly recommend this to everyone. Well organised, helpful staff, who went out of their way to make it an amazing experience for all. Plenty of time to snorkel when it wasn't your turn to ride on the underwater scooter. We saw turtles and lots of different types of fish. The photographer took great photos and a video, which you can pay to download later if you want to. A perfect day and I loved every minute of it.
One tip - take a sweatshirt. The weather wasn't great the day we went. Whilst the sea was warm, we were provided with wet suit tops so we were fine during the activity but we were a bit cold when we got out of the water, during the pack up and the boat ride back to shore.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a blast

Reviewed by: Dassh, 2019/12/17

I loved every bit of it. If your going to Hawaii u must do this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most unique experience ever

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2019/12/13

My son had a phenomenal time and can’t wait to go again. I have issues snorkeling but I was hopeful I wouldn’t have issues with this. Let’s just say I am extremely thankful that I did it once and that the staff was so very patient and helpful with people like me (who have water issues). I can’t say enough about how great the people are who work this tour and everyone should do it (at least once)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underwater scooter is a must

Reviewed by: Mary, 2019/12/09

Absolutely the best part of our trip. The crew was awesome. The pictures and video were an added bonus. Will definitely do again! What an experience!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Steph B., 2019/12/05

Crew was amazing! Thoughtful, understanding & patient.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Swimming with the fishies

Reviewed by: Shaun, 2019/12/03

I had a great time. I got to see dolphins, turtles and got to feed some colorful fish.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip and team

Reviewed by: Darren, 2019/09/05

My fiancée and I had a great Oahu experience. The team on board made us very comfortable and explained each step with detail. They chose a great site to go in at and the personal attention when in the water was amazing. Hats off to the crew.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Experience and Super Fun! Crew was fantastic and would do this again!!!

Reviewed by: Myles G., 2019/09/02

Pick from driver was prompt and on time. Once we arrived, we were given very clear instructions once on the boat, all the staff and the captain was very friendly and once we were on our way, everything we needed to know was explained clearly.

The actual scooter came on another boat and we were told how to get in and out of it, and I have to say the experience was unlike anything I've ever done before! We were only about 10-12 feet down but it was so wonderful to be in the water and not having to worry about anything.

The divers were very very professional and attentive, very friendly and very knowledgeable, and once we were done with the scuba scooter experience, it was a nice relaxing time on the boat to either go snorkeling or just enjoy the beautiful scenery around us!

Highly recommended, the staff was absolutely great and the captain was "cherry"!

Will definitely do it again next time we are in Honolulu! Highly recommended!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Different experience

Reviewed by: Yaz, 2019/08/30

I had se opportunity to get really close to the fishes and turtles I just would like to see corals. Also the scootter was too noisy when moving other than that everything was perfect.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The experience was amazing! Great fun!

Reviewed by: Kelsey and Ian , 2019/08/20

Me and my husband were on our honey moon and decided to do this! Such a blast! When you wait your turn you can snorkel, which I got to swim with a sea turtle! Then we got to go on the awesome scooters and you get to feed/touch the fish!
Also if you get sea sick or think you might take something before hand!
The staff was excellent! So nice and helpful! They all did an amazing job!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must in Waikiki!

Reviewed by: Kim, 2019/08/13

My 10 year old absolutely loved this excursion! Being face to face with the underwater life was amazing. Would highly suggest for families. When not underwater you have the option to snorkel and chill along the boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best!

Reviewed by: Scuff, 2019/07/27

This was one of the best activities I tried in Hawai’i.

The crew were friendly, helpful and always made time for you.
The trip out was fun too.

The Underwater Scooter was easy to navigate and the crew always helped if needed.
The video of the trip was worthwhile purchasing, as there is good clear footage.

The crew gave you bread to feed the fish from the boat and kept you entertained if you choose to not snorkel while waiting for the other people to take their turn on the Underwater Scooter

Highly recommended!

  • Front of the boat

  • The Crew

  • Feeding the fish from the boat

Reply from activity provider

So glad to hear you had a great time on our submarine scooters! We will be sure to let the crew know about your experience. Thank you for coming out with us and we hope to see you again in future!
Mahalo!
-BOB's Hawaii Adventure

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Sammie , 2019/07/23

This was such a fun experience to share with my wife. This was our honeymoon and we really loved the fact that they took great pics of us on the underwater scooters while feeding the fish. Even after our ~20min turn was over, we still had an hour to snorkel and swim around which was amazing! I’ve never been so close to sea turtles in my life!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply a magnificent experience!!

Reviewed by: JacqualyneNichols, 2019/07/17

I was invited to a wedding in Honolulu and the bride and I were looking at a few activities for us to do while there. I saw the video for the BOB and we immediately wanted to do it. We made reservation for the 4 of us. I’m not a swimmer and haven’t been since high school. The staff was so professional and caring. I love their motto of “we treat everyone as non swimmers...” Their patience is great with all participants. Very knowledgeable about their equipment, their staff and the environment. Each staff played their part in our safety and the for the fish and turtles! And the fact they not only take pictures, they give you memorable videos. This was an Amazing experience that we’ve encountered and we’re telling everyone in Chicago about it!! Thank you for sharing this experience! Saturday, July 13, 2019 8:30 am

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Steve, 2019/06/07

Great crew, fantastic weather, awesome marine life all and all fantastic trip

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review! We are so glad to hear you had a great time and will be sure to let our crew know. We hope to see you again in the future!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Shelly, 2019/06/06

This is a must do adventure, and well worth the price. I was impressed and pleasantly surprised at the 1-to-1 ratio of divers to BOBs in the water. They really make sure everyone is comfortable in the BOBs and are doing okay throughout the dive. The 1 hour of free time is basically during the time others are in the BOBs. They provide snorkeling equipment if you want to hop in the water during that time. We had a gray and windy day, so it was quite cool on the boat during the off time. So if your weather is not the best, consider bringing a windbreaker.

Reply from activity provider

So glad to hear you had such a great time! We will be sure to let our crew know about your experience. Thank you again for coming out with us! We appreciate all referrals and especially your review! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Missy W, 2019/05/31

My husband and I did this excursion together. He loves scuba diving, so he enjoyed it, but not as much as he does diving. I, on the other hand, get claustrophobic diving, so I LOVED this because I didn’t have to have anything touching my face/a mouthpiece. While under water, we saw tons of fish and sea turtles. In addition to scuba scootering, we got to snorkeling while we waited our turn for the scooters, so it was like two excursions in one. The staff were all great too!

  • Our scuba scooter location!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Phenomenal experience with the scooters!

Reviewed by: Gertie G., 2019/05/13

This experience was one I have no regrets booking. The divers and guides were wonderful. You always felt safe and were never left alone because you have your own personal diver with you at all times. But you feel at peace and just immerse yourself with the wonders of life underwater. They provide you with all the equipment you need even snorkel gear for your free time! Would highly recommend this activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bobs underwater scooter

Reviewed by: Narendran, 2019/05/10

The crew was very friendly and they provided all the instructions when we are on board. They provided snacks and water. For each scooter they had their own person to guide them. We had a very good time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a great time!

Reviewed by: Angel, 2019/03/09

Professional and friendly customer service and crew. Amazing experience and terrific option for anyone that wants to see life under the sea without having to do all the work of snorkeling or scuba diving. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Trevor, 2019/01/17

This is a great experience if you do not enjoy snorkeling this is the experience for you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not even close to what is advertised

Reviewed by: Oz-visitors, 2019/01/04

We were very disappointed with this tour as it's nothing like the video on their ad. First of all the vessels are mechanically disabled so you don't get to operate them; instead you get pushed around by divers. Also the video shows several people in the water at the same time which is also not true. They only had 3 bubbles taking groups of 3 down at a time and when you have 25 people on the tour, you end up spending most of the day waiting around for them to finish. They did offer some fins and snorkels but there weren't nearly enough of them to accomodate everyone that were waiting. I wouldn't recommend this tour, you can find cheaper boat or snorkeling tours for a fraction of the coast. It was kind of like renting a bike where you're not allowed to use the pedals or the handles and someone just pushes you around instead.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Susie , 2018/12/29

It was a fantastic adventure. The staff was friendly and professional and the trip was awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time!

Reviewed by: Heather , 2018/12/13

We had such a awesome time and got to see turtles and the local fish. Will definitely recommend this to any friends that go to Oahu as something to do!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Staff was friendly!

Reviewed by: Rebecca , 2018/11/02

I had a good time and the staff was really friendly. The pictures and videos they take of you are cool but a bit on the pricey side, especially because we are from Canada and it’s more expensive than USD. They provided us with chips and water which was ok but I give them a 5 star because of how nice they were. Overall it was fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't miss this

Reviewed by: Kevin Connolly, 2018/09/18

What a fab trip we had with Bobs underwater scooters, lots of fish to see and an added bonus of sea turtles, very well organised and a great experienced crew.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories