BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure

Overall Rating

4.53 4.53 / 5

Reviews

216 reviews
Post a review

Great trip and team

Reviewed by: Darren, 2019/09/05

My fiancée and I had a great Oahu experience. The team on board made us very comfortable and explained each step with detail. They chose a great site to go in at and the personal attention when in the water was amazing. Hats off to the crew.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Experience and Super Fun! Crew was fantastic and would do this again!!!

Reviewed by: Myles G., 2019/09/02

Pick from driver was prompt and on time. Once we arrived, we were given very clear instructions once on the boat, all the staff and the captain was very friendly and once we were on our way, everything we needed to know was explained clearly.

The actual scooter came on another boat and we were told how to get in and out of it, and I have to say the experience was unlike anything I've ever done before! We were only about 10-12 feet down but it was so wonderful to be in the water and not having to worry about anything.

The divers were very very professional and attentive, very friendly and very knowledgeable, and once we were done with the scuba scooter experience, it was a nice relaxing time on the boat to either go snorkeling or just enjoy the beautiful scenery around us!

Highly recommended, the staff was absolutely great and the captain was "cherry"!

Will definitely do it again next time we are in Honolulu! Highly recommended!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The experience was amazing! Great fun!

Reviewed by: Kelsey and Ian , 2019/08/20

Me and my husband were on our honey moon and decided to do this! Such a blast! When you wait your turn you can snorkel, which I got to swim with a sea turtle! Then we got to go on the awesome scooters and you get to feed/touch the fish!
Also if you get sea sick or think you might take something before hand!
The staff was excellent! So nice and helpful! They all did an amazing job!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best!

Reviewed by: Scuff, 2019/07/27

This was one of the best activities I tried in Hawai’i.

The crew were friendly, helpful and always made time for you.
The trip out was fun too.

The Underwater Scooter was easy to navigate and the crew always helped if needed.
The video of the trip was worthwhile purchasing, as there is good clear footage.

The crew gave you bread to feed the fish from the boat and kept you entertained if you choose to not snorkel while waiting for the other people to take their turn on the Underwater Scooter

Highly recommended!

  • Front of the boat

  • The Crew

  • Feeding the fish from the boat

Reply from activity provider

So glad to hear you had a great time on our submarine scooters! We will be sure to let the crew know about your experience. Thank you for coming out with us and we hope to see you again in future!
Mahalo!
-BOB's Hawaii Adventure

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Missy W, 2019/05/31

My husband and I did this excursion together. He loves scuba diving, so he enjoyed it, but not as much as he does diving. I, on the other hand, get claustrophobic diving, so I LOVED this because I didn’t have to have anything touching my face/a mouthpiece. While under water, we saw tons of fish and sea turtles. In addition to scuba scootering, we got to snorkeling while we waited our turn for the scooters, so it was like two excursions in one. The staff were all great too!

  • Our scuba scooter location!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My trip

Reviewed by: Alex N,, 2018/08/13

It was Amazing and terrifying at the same time! I'd do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing adventure

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2018/05/06

Would definitely recommend this activity to do it was amazing the crew were fantastic

  • The fish come right up to you

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME TIME, AWESOME CREW

Reviewed by: Danielle Tattam, 2018/05/06

Incredible, awesome, different and the crew are OUTSTANDING!
My 2nd time, and I brought along 23 people with me and again it was GREAT. All our first timers LOVED it. It was rough seas from a severe storm the two previous days, which affected seeing the crater on the sea floor, but lots of fish were out to play. Saw quite a few turtles too.
All my guests said it was TERRIFIC and they had a ball!!
The crew are always smiling, helpful and FUN!!!
Thanks again guys!!!
Danielle Tattam

  • Lots of fish!!

  • Part of the Party Crew

  • First timer

  • Having a ball!!

  • The Jetsons!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Tanya H., 2018/04/10

The guys on the tour was so nice and made the little group feel connected. They were friendly and informative and the entire group had a great time. I would definitely book again with them!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the experience!

Reviewed by: Donna Sue Youngblood, 2018/03/17

The boat crew and divers were friendly, patient, and knowledgeable. We definitely want to do again and bring our whole family. Experiencing close encounters with sea turtles, sea stars, and numerous species of fish was thrilling. The crew has 7 scuba scooters with a diver to assist each scooter. The divers make sure each participant is safe, feels comfortable, and points out the aquatic life while also allowing independent discovery. While waiting your turn to scooter, we had a wonderful time snorkeling on our own. The waters are clear and beautiful and allow perfect visibility. For an extra fee you can get pictures and a video of your adventure. The diver captured some of my favorite vacation pictures!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome underwater fun.

Reviewed by: Trevor, 2018/03/10

Great adventure underwater fun. Crew were friendly and efficient . Everything supplied and even if you are not a very competent swimmer you could easily manage this activity as a fully qualified diver is in the water to assist at all times.
Ideal alternative way to get under the water if you are incapable of scuba diving. Would definitely do it again The music on the boat was from the 70's and 80's which made the trip even more enjoyable as it was what I grew up listening too

  • At one with nature

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great alternative to full scuba diving

Reviewed by: Lewis W, 2018/03/01

As a qualified PADI, I found this activity to be a great alternative to full on scuba diving. With the submarine scooter you are able to sit back and enjoy the amazing underwater world.

The Bobs team were very organised and made the whole experience enjoyable and welcoming. I would highly recommend this to those afraid of discovery scuba diving. The team also take great pictures and videos for you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing adventure in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Mitch23, 2017/12/11

The best experience ever! The crew were very professional and nice and I don’t swim but they were so kind in helping me and guiding me through this amazing experience! In addition they gave complimentary equipment that you can borrow to snorkel freely! If you want an amazing adventure, this is one of them!

  • Amazing adventure!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Sandra McCarthy, 2017/10/21

Our group of four "seniors" wanted to experience this unique water activity during our visit to Oahu. The underwater scooter adventure exceeded our expectations. The entire team from Bob's was very helpful to all of us onboard. They did a great job of communicating to not only those of us from the U.S. but were able to converse with the customers who were from Japan and needed communications in their native language.

We had been given appropriate safety briefings before heading out to the dive site. The outdoor temperature in mid October was in the mid 80s so not uncomfortable. The water temperature was a reasonable 75+ but we adapted to it as soon as we got into the water on the scooters.

The divers gave us appropriate underwater instructions to get us going and to set up the underwater photos for each person. We did have unusual trade winds that caused some bouncing and rolling in the boat but once in the water on the scooter or when snorkeling, it was mitigated. The water was clear and we had a variety of fish that swarmed around us as they were feeding on the food that the divers attached to the scooters. A unique feeling to have all of these colorful fish surrounding you in their environment.

We also had the opportunity to see a number of sea turtles both under water and coming to the surface. It would have been great to have had more time actually underwater but we only could accommodate 2 - 3 people underwater at one time. It probably would have been more enjoyable from the customer perspective with a few less onboard the boat.

Our group did take the opportunity to do some snorkeling after we completed our time on the underwater scooters. All in all a great time to remember and yes we did buy the photos especially for the video that was offered as well.

We have not been able to access our photos yet as we are still on vacation and will need to do so when we get home. Hopefully, they will be as delightful to watch as what we experienced

  • Ready for our underwater scooter adventures

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scooter adventure

Reviewed by: Sherwin, 2017/10/17

The crew were so professional and nice. They kept us all feel safe. Our kids had a blast! Definitely recommends.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pure Awesomeness!

Reviewed by: John, 2017/08/13

The highlight of our trip. The crew was amazing! The scooters and all the fish were amazing. Humming around the ocean with the family... once in a lifetime opportunity. Thanks everyone!

  • Super fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

memories!

Reviewed by: Bonnie , 2017/05/21

What a GREAT time! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great way to start my last day of vacation. Highly recommended to do!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: Lianne & Ron, 2017/05/13

Wauw, this was so nice, beautiful "dive" space on scooter, beautiful fish. My husband (non swimmer) even went with me and very proud of him that he did it :)

  • Happyyyyyy

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Gina, 2017/02/06

Such an incredible adventure! Definitely worth the money spent!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun!

Reviewed by: HI Convert, 2017/01/19

Had a great time! As others have said, lots of wait time but you can spend it sunning or snorkeling. We had read the other reviews and knew to take Dramamine. Many others had not and felt sick. We felt great and would recommend this activity. Bought the photo video combo. Great work - only disappointment was we were missing solo wife pics. Still a great value.

  • Rider in the water

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Grace & Bethany , 2016/11/13

Pick up from hotel was great! Scooter ride was really fun and you get up close to the fish!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome crew

Reviewed by: Lymarie, 2016/10/30

Great experience awesome photographer reasonable price !!!! It was fun tons of turtles and fish ..

  • Till I get my pics its a must do

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Tracey, 2016/10/22

Did bobs scooters was fantastic could have booked another day if we weren't leaving the next day great clear water

  • My son

  • My som

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Who said that only swimmers can go under the sea??

Reviewed by: Dilu Braga, 2016/09/30

First I was really afraid because I can barely float, I don't swimming if is not at the pool and going short distance. But I decided to have a new experience as a solo traveler in Hawaii as my first visit. The crew were just amazing, the lady at office received me with a big smile and was very friendly. The rest of the crew really made me feels good and my fears went away. When we got to the spot in the sea the first animal I saw was a turtle, and was an amazing feeling. While the crew organizing every scooter the only thing in my mind was "oh please I don't want to be the first one", after the captain told me I will be the next, I ended up being the third person going under. Words can not explain, you really need to go and have this experience where you can actually be close and touch animals under the sea.
I was lucky enough to see turtles, different kind of fish and even an octopus that got stuck on my big helmet for my pictures and video.
By the end of the day I got my photos and video, I've played my video and couldn't believe that the woman was me, they really did a good job, from the beginning to the end
I really recommend BOB's Adventure underwater scooter, specially if you don't swim at all, like me.


PS: I took the bus to get there from downtown, the commute was really easy and you will get so see more.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok experience

Reviewed by: Luis garcia, 2016/09/03

Workers there need better customer service the experience was amazing just the workers there could be more friendly. The driver was the only one with a great attitude.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Honeymoon Activity

Reviewed by: John, 2016/08/06

My wife and I wanted to do something other than snorkelling and this adventure gave us more than what we asked more, plus a lifetime of memories in the form of great photos and a video. Thank you BOB's aventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nothing like Snorkeling when a sea turtle just swims up to you!!

Reviewed by: Daniel Haquet, 2016/07/14

We did this as part of our anniversary week in Oahu and all I can say is if you are "thinking" of doing this, stop thinking and just DO IT! It's an experience you will never forget and the fact that we got to pet and swim along a sea turtle in the ocean is simply awesome!! The crew was amazing, the water was warm and it's something we'll never forget, the crew made this a very memorable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

bobs underwater scooter adventure

Reviewed by: dennis and chris, 2016/05/27

great time and great fun. one of the best things to do in hawaii. saw sea turtles and even was allowed to hold an octopus. the workers had our safety in mind the entire time. great fun. a must do on hawaii. thanks for the memories.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underwater spectacular

Reviewed by: Helena, 2016/04/30

This was one of the most amazing things I have ever done… it's a must bucket list item. It is like you are transported to another world and underwater world and I got to see fish, turtles, sting rays - just amazing - you won't regret it. Thanks to the whole team, they made is such a fun experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Truly an adventure

Reviewed by: Frank & Tara Connell, 2016/01/02

We spent two years researching our trip and when we saw this tour we were very intrigued. It was everything we had hoped for and more. The divers were friendly and accomodating we were never rushed. Fish and turtles are so close you can touch them great photo opportunities. Highly recommend

  • on the way to the dive

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories