Page 3) BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure

Overall Rating

4.52 4.52 / 5

Reviews

236 reviews
Post a review

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: C Hamblin, 2017/07/07

This was totally awesome and everyone should do it if they get the chance. It was so great because you have a chance to actually look around without worrying about snorkel equipment!!! For me that's a big deal. So much fun!! I highly recommend doing this.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lets you get up close with the fishes and turtles

Reviewed by: Cliff, 2017/07/06

Some were apprehensive about diving under the helmet to get into it but after that it's amazing as you get to see fishes and even turtles up close. You also get a fish food sponge to lure scads of fishes to you - just be careful to keep your fingers out of the way, or you may get a nibble! The safety divers guide your scooter and show you where to go (and some take video for sale later). The only possible discomfort may be if you don't equalize the pressure as you dive or ascend - this can be done several ways (such as swallowing or yawning - I couldn't get the "pinch nose and blow" method to work). Otherwise it's a blast. You also get to hang around a bit - on the boat or swimming or snorkeling - while the other groups are on the scooters.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

memories!

Reviewed by: Bonnie , 2017/05/21

What a GREAT time! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great way to start my last day of vacation. Highly recommended to do!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: Lianne & Ron, 2017/05/13

Wauw, this was so nice, beautiful "dive" space on scooter, beautiful fish. My husband (non swimmer) even went with me and very proud of him that he did it :)

  • Happyyyyyy

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Experience

Reviewed by: Phanesh, 2017/04/12

You are super close to the fishes under the water and you can see a lot of variety of them and I even saw 4 turtles from a close distance.
The staff are very friendly and gives you good guidance on every step of the activity.
The only drawback is the time underwater was only 15 minutes and when you are which flew by very quickly.

Note: You don't need to know how to swim to do this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do this !!!

Reviewed by: Brie & Kerri Hudson, 2017/04/11

I traveled to Hawaii with my aunty and this was on top of our to do list and it didnt dissapoint! We had a fantastic time and said when we go back we would definitely do it again! Beautiful ocean and lovely staff, we saw fish and turtles in their natural habitat....it was so serene thankyou to the friendly staff that ensures our safety and made sure we had a fantastic experience. Mohalo and Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Tonya, 2017/03/18

This was so fun. To top it off at the end we got to see 30+ dolphin.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Gina, 2017/02/06

Such an incredible adventure! Definitely worth the money spent!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing experience

Reviewed by: NJP, 2017/01/30

This is a must do in Honolulu! The service was great. They provided pick up and drop off service which really helped. Once you reach their office the staff explains the process in a very simplified way. On board the boat there were refreshments and the staff was very friendly :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun morning

Reviewed by: D & J, 2017/01/21

Was lots of fun - the divers/guides with us were great. Only negative was that it was a little choppy on the day and my husband ended up getting seasick while waiting for others to complete their turn. This though ended up a positive as it helped with bringing more fish closer to the boat! Next time we would be more prepared and take seasick tablets beforehand. Also I had tried scuba diving in the past and had problems "equalizing", thus could not move far from the diving platform. The underwater scooter experience has helped me overcome my previous fears of underwater adventures. An awesome time was had despite the seasickness.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun!

Reviewed by: HI Convert, 2017/01/19

Had a great time! As others have said, lots of wait time but you can spend it sunning or snorkeling. We had read the other reviews and knew to take Dramamine. Many others had not and felt sick. We felt great and would recommend this activity. Bought the photo video combo. Great work - only disappointment was we were missing solo wife pics. Still a great value.

  • Rider in the water

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Grace & Bethany , 2016/11/13

Pick up from hotel was great! Scooter ride was really fun and you get up close to the fish!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best

Reviewed by: Lymarie, 2016/11/01

The best adventure I had it was simply awesome ..

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome crew

Reviewed by: Lymarie, 2016/10/30

Great experience awesome photographer reasonable price !!!! It was fun tons of turtles and fish ..

  • Till I get my pics its a must do

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience....highlight of our Hawaiian trip!

Reviewed by: Momathan, 2016/10/22

This was so fun. The boat trip and scooter ride were made so great by the 3 divers and the captain. The treated us all so well ....my mother who is 86 accompanied us and she had a great time...her first trip to HI. I cannot express to you how much fun this was. Now we are reliving this with friends and family via the DVD and pictures. I am ready to go again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Tracey, 2016/10/22

Did bobs scooters was fantastic could have booked another day if we weren't leaving the next day great clear water

  • My son

  • My som

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Who said that only swimmers can go under the sea??

Reviewed by: Dilu Braga, 2016/09/30

First I was really afraid because I can barely float, I don't swimming if is not at the pool and going short distance. But I decided to have a new experience as a solo traveler in Hawaii as my first visit. The crew were just amazing, the lady at office received me with a big smile and was very friendly. The rest of the crew really made me feels good and my fears went away. When we got to the spot in the sea the first animal I saw was a turtle, and was an amazing feeling. While the crew organizing every scooter the only thing in my mind was "oh please I don't want to be the first one", after the captain told me I will be the next, I ended up being the third person going under. Words can not explain, you really need to go and have this experience where you can actually be close and touch animals under the sea.
I was lucky enough to see turtles, different kind of fish and even an octopus that got stuck on my big helmet for my pictures and video.
By the end of the day I got my photos and video, I've played my video and couldn't believe that the woman was me, they really did a good job, from the beginning to the end
I really recommend BOB's Adventure underwater scooter, specially if you don't swim at all, like me.


PS: I took the bus to get there from downtown, the commute was really easy and you will get so see more.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great expierence

Reviewed by: Jongmin Lee, 2016/09/20

I enjoyed this activity with my wife. I remember
fantastic views under the sea, there were beautiful fishes and turtle. We did snorkel during waiting for undersea bicycling. Thank you for giving us great memory.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jongmin,
We are glad to hear that you had a good time on our submarine scooters and enjoyed the beautiful fish and Hawaiian Sea Turtle. We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again in the future.. Mahalo and have a wonderful day!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok experience

Reviewed by: Luis garcia, 2016/09/03

Workers there need better customer service the experience was amazing just the workers there could be more friendly. The driver was the only one with a great attitude.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea sick

Reviewed by: Nancy , 2016/08/24

Everyone on the boat was sea sick and was vomiting the whole time. The sub scooter was fun, but there are lots of pressure. If you get claustrophobic or sea sick easily I don't recommend this active. We got to see a lot of fishes. The crew member on the other hand are no really nice.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Could be nice

Reviewed by: Rosemary, 2016/08/13

I think it would have been amazing... but will not know as we were not able to attend. I need to find a phone number to call to request a refund as I paid a lot of money for 6 of us.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha Rosemary,

Since your reservation was already rescheduled once and with the no show after being rescheduled, a full refund for the missed activity unfortunately would not be possible. Should you wish to contact us, our toll free number is 1-877-877-1222 (8:00 a.m.~6:00 p.m. HST).

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Honeymoon Activity

Reviewed by: John, 2016/08/06

My wife and I wanted to do something other than snorkelling and this adventure gave us more than what we asked more, plus a lifetime of memories in the form of great photos and a video. Thank you BOB's aventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

poorly organized program......wait too much time for 15 min riding

Reviewed by: Hugh , 2016/08/01

Even though I spent the whole morning for this activity, I just rode the underwater scooter for 15 min only. Furthermore, I couldn't even enjoy with my wife and son at the same time. So embarrassed and annoyed much. I admit the riding itself is exciting activity but their program was not that sophisticated. I was so much disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nothing like Snorkeling when a sea turtle just swims up to you!!

Reviewed by: Daniel Haquet, 2016/07/14

We did this as part of our anniversary week in Oahu and all I can say is if you are "thinking" of doing this, stop thinking and just DO IT! It's an experience you will never forget and the fact that we got to pet and swim along a sea turtle in the ocean is simply awesome!! The crew was amazing, the water was warm and it's something we'll never forget, the crew made this a very memorable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible

Reviewed by: Aprilwine, 2016/07/11

I'd do this again in a heartbeat. Worth every penny. Personal attention so that I got maximum experience as guides helped us see the turtles when they came around and did everything possible to draw the fish to us. You could tell the crew was experienced and competent.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: R. J. Ferguson, 2016/07/10

My nephew & I took this adventure and enjoyed it very much. My nephew said that he would like to do it again next time he goes to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Decent experience

Reviewed by: Kevin M., 2016/07/01

First of all crew was great! Our driver and diver Taylor went out of his way to be helpful .
The experience was average . Not much time on actual scooter. A lot of time sitting on boat then back at shop waiting to be driven back while the video and pictures we being pushed. Wouldn't do it again but not unhappy that I did it once.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour!

Reviewed by: Alice , 2016/06/20

First time to Hawaii I picked this tour. What an awesome experience. Friendly staff and pickup/drop off made it easy. Will do it again with the family.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

bobs underwater scooter adventure

Reviewed by: dennis and chris, 2016/05/27

great time and great fun. one of the best things to do in hawaii. saw sea turtles and even was allowed to hold an octopus. the workers had our safety in mind the entire time. great fun. a must do on hawaii. thanks for the memories.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underwater spectacular

Reviewed by: Helena, 2016/04/30

This was one of the most amazing things I have ever done… it's a must bucket list item. It is like you are transported to another world and underwater world and I got to see fish, turtles, sting rays - just amazing - you won't regret it. Thanks to the whole team, they made is such a fun experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories