Page 3) Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Overall Rating

4.64 4.64 / 5

Reviews

247 reviews
Post a review

Smiths Tropical Pardise Garden Luau

Reviewed by: Frank, 2016/11/10

We attended the Smiths Luau and Show. The Luau and Show were very professionally organized. The Smiths have a family business and We would recommend their Luau and Show to anyone in the area. The food was very good, really liked the teriyaki beef and luau pork. The fire dancer at the nightly show was very good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Becky Ocampos , 2016/11/03

The food was fantastic, the grounds are gorgeous, and the show is absolutely mesmerizing! It was so cool to see all of the different influences that have contributed to the culture that is Hawaii. We cannot wait to come back and experience it again!

  • Some of the gorgeous landscape

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2016/10/23

The show is as wonderful and the food was great! It was an excellent Hawaiian experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Experience

Reviewed by: Gary & Elvia, 2016/10/22

The pre dinner, dinner and the organization of entertainment surpassed my expectations. The show was awesome as well, if anything I'd say put some padding for the stadium seating.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Luau

Reviewed by: Barbara , 2016/10/06

Had a fun time at the luau. Good food and good dance show. Recommend that you go !!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I'm hard to please as evidenced by4 stats not five

Reviewed by: J & D from NJ, 2016/09/25

But this luau food , organization and content was better than the Polynesian village luau on Oahu. Food was great and liquor was included with admission.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Garden Luau

Reviewed by: james, 2016/09/21

Excellent. The food was wonderful and the hosts were very friendly. The show was good, but the male performers were average. I certainly recommend it though.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice time!

Reviewed by: PATravelGal, 2016/09/21

The landscaped grounds were beautiful. The host was perfect and gracious! Loved the show, which was after the dinner and even the show during the dinner. Only disappointment was the dinner. Would have thought for the price that we had something other than instant mashed potatoes, mac & cheese, rice w/seafood, and a chicken wing (other than the pulled pork). Mai Tai's were quite watered down, which was a disappointment. Not that I would want more than 2 - maybe 3 small drinks but it would have been nice to taste it somewhat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Emy, 2016/09/02

Excellent! There were 12 of us in our group & we all enjoyed it . The food & entertainment were superb.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great food. Disappointing, inexperienced show!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2016/08/31

The food was excellent with lots of selections, but the show was not good. The dancers didnt know their moves or had trouble performing. Most of the dancers seemed like this was their first show and had little practice. I was along in a group of 7 and all of us noticed the poor quality of the show because it really stood out. I have been to this luau before and the show was average but this time it was disappointing. Not worth the price! The food was its only redemption, but there are a lot of places you can get good food for a better price.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and your experience with Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau. We are currently waiting to hear back from them in regards to any changes in the show. We will get back to you once we hear back from their management.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Richard, 2016/08/30

Beautiful garden and welcoming atmosphere. The staff was very welcoming and made our experience very pleasurable. The food and drinks were exquisite, enjoyed the beef teriyaki! They put on a great show at the end! Thank you and would love to visit again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Garden Luau

Reviewed by: Denise, 2016/08/22

Wonderful for entire family. Toddlers, Mom & Dad and Grandparents all loved the night. Helped us to have a real appreciation of Kauai, the people and their history.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Show

Reviewed by: Oskars, 2016/08/17

Show was amazin, national dances from lot of another cultures, like New Zealand, China etc..
After check in is a small train tour around Botanic garden with guid. Tour is around 15 min, guid show you all kind of trees what you can see in hawaii island.

  • Garden

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau 09 AUG 2016

Reviewed by: Rob & Steph, 2016/08/13

We brought 6 people to luau. I had been to Smith's Luau 3 times in the past, the others (my Fiancee, our daughters, and their friends) had not. My daughter had been to a couple of "real" Hawaiian family luaus in the past. I advised our group that this would not be like those, it would be a very structured and commercial setting with a really great Polynesian show at the end.

The Smith's are a wonderful family, very accommodating, welcoming, and freiendly beyond words. The tour, Imu ceremony, and food were as good as they had ever been in the past.

The thing that earned the Smith family only 3 stars on this visit was the quality of the performance at the end. I was looking forward to the male warrior portion of the show, but found that the current cast was lacking in stature and talent. With only 3 young men in the cast, two of whom were in the range of 100 to 130 pounds, the warrior aspect suffered dearly.

Hopefully the Smith family can rebuild this cast, or at least get a gym membership for the current cast members, and return the show to the quality that I had experienced in the past.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Deb, 2016/08/07

So happy to experience and learn about some of the culture as well as see more of the beautiful parts of the inner island. The food was fantastic and the show was amazing. So glad we took the time to experience this venue.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Luau

Reviewed by: Tpatton, 2016/07/12

This luau is a great luau. The food and entertainment were very good. It is a good family event.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Vacation of a Lifetime.

Reviewed by: Carl, 2016/07/02

My entire trip was wonderful but the Luau experience was extraordinary. The grounds itself are like being in paradise but the food was really good and so much of it. The entertainment however was amazing. I particularly enjoyed how the history of those who inhabit the islands was depicted. Anyone planning to visit the Hawaiian islands should definitely do this. I would certainly do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Luau

Reviewed by: Edith Armenta , 2016/06/18

My husband and I had an excellent time there.
We arrived and the staff was very friendly in directing us where to go. As we got into the tram, we were welcomed but a coupe peacocks flapping their feathers. The tour of the garden was very informative and fun. If you get there early you can walk around and take pictures. The food was delicious! There was a live band and taught us how to do the hula. And the show was very entertaining. We definitely recommend this luau. We love the fact that it is family owned.

  • The food was delicious!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Liked it so much we brought our kids to see it

Reviewed by: Dhpaul, 2016/05/16

We have gone to numerous luaus with mixed experiences. Sometimes great dancers but average food. Sometimes just a poor experience altogether. We went the the Smith family luau in 2011 when we took our parents for their 50th anniversary. We loved it. Great food with an outstanding setting.
This year we took our son, daughter in law and grandson to Kauai for a week. We decided to go to Smiths luau the night before leaving. If far exceeded expectations.
Come early to walk the garden grounds as they are spectacular. Our son has gone to luaus on Maui and Oahu as well as at Gaylords. He thought this one had it all. Great food a very well done show.
You too will come back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smiths Luau

Reviewed by: Philip Hales, 2016/05/09

After being driven around the Paradise Garden we were left to wander and take pictures until the rising out of the pit of the roasted pig - the Imu. The aroma was mouthwatering, and shortly thereafter we were led to the food area, and invited to take our seats. The food was brilliant and plentisome, I doubt many would have left not feeling truly sated.
After the feast, we walked to the theatre (shame that it rained, but it did not dampen our spirits) we were presented with a show of dancing from a range of Pacific countries. The dancers (in the rain) put on a brave face and gave us a great evening. Certainly recommend this to anyone thinking of visiting a Luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great luau

Reviewed by: EKBmom, 2016/04/10

We loved the luau. The food was great and the show, with all the history was wonderful. I highly recommend the Smith family luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Real Hawaian luau

Reviewed by: Della, 2016/04/02

Smith family makes you feel like ohana. Best luau on island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai's Best Luau

Reviewed by: Jerry Kraft, 2016/03/31

We had a wonderful time at the Smith Luau. The site is amazing and utterly beautiful; the connection to Kauai history is impressive and impeccable. We enjoyed visiting and getting to know the other people at our table, even though they were strangers. The food was fantastic, varied and perfectly prepared. We loved the fact that nothing felt rushed or skimpy. The presentation in the theater was exceptionally well performed and really captured the variety of island cultures that have created this Pacific paradise. There was absolutely nothing about this evening that I would have made any different.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very professional

Reviewed by: Penny, 2016/03/28

I've been to 3 others and this is the best and most professional we have been to. They are the most friendly and family like,very personal. Ready to go again. Everyone was awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great evening

Reviewed by: SHARON, 2016/03/19

Great evening, great people, great food, great show. Thank you! It was worth it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful gardens and show!

Reviewed by: Sam, 2016/03/14

Overall me and my wife had a great time at the Luau. The gardens were really nice to walk around in and see all the different types of plants and trees. The show was really nice, they showcased dances from the different cultures that make up Hawaii. The only thing that my wife didn't like was the food. I personally didn't think it was too bad. Definitely a good experience for anyone visiting the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau & Fern Grotto River Boat Tour Combo

Reviewed by: Linda T, 2016/03/02

Excellent! We enjoyed both river boat grotto tour & luau. Great Experience with good food and lively, talented entertainment. Family oriented! Friendly wonderful people!
Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very enjoyable; a must

Reviewed by: David, 2016/03/02

Very organized, professional and friendly. I am in a wheelchair and appreciated all the help from tram to buffet line - everything. We went on river cruise next day and it was awesome. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great food!

Reviewed by: Chrystal Rose, 2016/01/17

The food was delicious, the grounds were beautiful and the show was very enjoyable. We had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Good Luau

Reviewed by: Debz, 2015/12/21

It was a little daunting at first as this was a very rainy day in the area. Was thrilled to know that almost all of the time we would be covered. The place is in need of renovation, the chairs and other structures are in need of an overhaul, it's definitely 1970's 1980's looking. I have attended two luau's (not this one) in the past but this was the best one. It seems like a very good family and they are very attentive to taking care of everyone at the luau. The gardens are beautiful. I do think that telling everyone to be there at 4:30 and then sit around until 5:45 after a short tram tour thru the gardens is not a good use of time. The food was abundant and most was good. The drinks were not good at all. The Mai Tai was like iced tea and the other drink seemed like a glass of maraschino cherry juice. The show was excellent, very creative and spoke about the various cultural influences that make up Hawaii. It was a little cheesy but that is to be expected as it is a family event. There was definitely some excellent musical talent and singing during the luau and the dinner. I would recommend this luau to anyone. I love being at the beach at a luau but the weather is a factor and this was covered so it worked out great. The area where this luau is held is gorgeous

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]