Page 7) Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Overall Rating

4.64 4.64 / 5

Reviews

247 reviews
Post a review

Aloha Hospitality!

Reviewed by: Dyana Hagan, 2010/07/24

Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau takes place on the family's 36 acre tropical paradise. Beforehand, guests are invited to stroll the gardens, see the lagoons, and pet the peacocks or can be driven around the grounds via tram with commentary on the variety of trees, flowers, and other vegetation.

Conch shells are blown, and the ceremonies commence with the uncovering of the pig, known as the "Imu Ceremony." A huge buffet with delicious shredded pork, salads, rice, breads, fruit, desserts and open full bar follow as you listen to native island songs performed by the Smith family.

An elaborate after dinner show follows at sunset in the open air theater. Hula dancers, fire dancers, and others display native island dances from as far away as New Zealand and China for your enjoyment.

Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau is not to be missed! It is a way to sample true island culture complete with the welcoming Hawaiian spirit that makes Kauai so unique!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

MUST SEE FOR ALL!!!

Reviewed by: LivnLife & LovnIt!, 2010/06/30

This was mine, my kids & their Godmother's first trip to the Hawaiian Islands. I must say from conversations I had while visiting, it was the right decision to make this the first island to visit. I figured we would break up our vacation by going to the Luau on Wednesday (did the cruise on Tuesday, loved it as well). This was the best decision, because this was the best part of our vacation. I felt like I had the Hawaiin experience after the tour, the emu, feast and luau. MAGNIFICENT!!!. I can't imagine why this event is only showing an overall 3.xxx rating. I would like to give it a 10 if I could.

Mahalo to the Smith Family for such an entertaining experience! I'll be back, someday, somehow...

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smiths

Reviewed by: linda, 2010/06/21

Smith's gave you a great time and great food. The show after
dinner was great and educational. We had a great time as the whole family enjoyed it. Thanks Smiths

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Family Luau

Reviewed by: Val B., 2010/06/17

This is by far the BEST luau on the island of Kauai! The grounds are gorgeous and immaculate! The food is fantastic and displayed beautifully. The show is wonderful. The family and staff make you feel like ohana! Great evening with multigenerations and fun had by all!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Luau was wonderful

Reviewed by: Sharen, 2010/06/17

We have visited most of the Hawaian islands and attended many Luau's, but this one was the best by far. The grounds were awsome, the food & drinks were incredable and the entertainment was the best. We loved the covered eating area and show. It rained several times while we were there and never got wet.
Another thing we liked was the trams that took you from the check in on a nice tour of the gardens then even took you back to the parking lot after the show when it was dark.
IT WAS THE BEST!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Luau

Reviewed by: Dana, 2010/03/23

I would highly recommend this event to all. Go early and get a chance to walk the gardens. They are beautiful and I took great pictures of my family within the gardens. Food at the Luau was excellent and the show was outstanding. I was amazed at how many of the guest were return visitors. The Smith family do own a piece of paradise.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great luau!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/03/17

We had a great time I highly recommend this experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Enjoyable

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/02/11

Very enjoyable. We recommend it to everyone. The meal was one of the best we had on the island and we ate some very nice meals!! The entertainment was great as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The BEST LUAU we've ever been...

Reviewed by: Chris & Wan, 2009/12/09

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this event - it wasn't only a Luau, but you learned of the culture, flora, and food. The food was OUTSTANDING! The hosts gave a thorough description of the foods, and how to eat them. The pig was very juicy, and salted to perfection. And even though the Poi was bland (as it should be), it had a distinctive and very interesting taste that perked our senses. The free mai-tais didn't hurt either! : )

The show ran a bit longer than we expected, but after a few drinks, it may have just seemed longer. The quality of dance, special effects, and entertainment was high, and the fire dude rocked the house (one of the best we've seen).

Mahalo Smith's!
Chris & Wan

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/11/20

Spectacular setting! I've been to many luaus before and this one has the best scenery. Well organized and excellent food! I was slightly disappointed in the show as it was lower energy than others I've attended. I didn't like the way they captured ALL the cultures (Chinese, Japanese, Phillipines) as I felt it brought the energy of the entire show down and removed itself from being "Hawaiian". Over all though - we had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau

Reviewed by: Bill from Niles IL, 2009/11/11

We have been to many luaus on all the islands and this is one of the best. The food was plentiful and very enjoyable. The host and his father 2nd and 3rd generation we very informative and available to every one. They worked the tables and made sure everyone felt at home.

The entertainment during dinner was continuious. We even had a couple get engaged after the hula class. Very sweet.The bar service was fast and the special drinks well prepared.

The entertainment was very professional and varied dances form the different pacific islands. The special effects were just great.

Would we go back. In a heart beat.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/10/19

We attended two different evening Laua's on the island, but the SMITH'S was the best!!!

We really enjoyed ourselves from start to finish!

A Great Cap to our trip!

THANKS!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a Great Luau!

Reviewed by: Tom and Lori, 2009/10/02

We could not pass up the opportunity to tell you Thank You for this Great experience! The group of people who put on this Luau need a giant pat on the back or better yet a big hug. They really put on a great show and it is clear they have fun doing it. Please tell them Thank you. By the way... we really adored the little pregnant hula girl. Aloha.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/07/29

Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: David, 2009/07/21

This was the best luau we attended the whole trip. Very hospitable. The grounds were beautiful and the food and service were great. The show was very professional and very entertaining. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Family Luau

Reviewed by: sara926, 2009/07/14

The Smith Family employees and family members were all VERY friendly and hospitable. The food was very average, but the show was unique to other luau shows I have seen in the past. The grounds were very beautiful and I loved how they took us on the tram to show us around and then let us wonder at our leisure to get a closer look at everything.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/06/26

We took my sister to this Luau because this was her first visit to a Hawaiian Island not because we enjoyed our past experience at a Luau. The Smiths did a fantastic job! The setting, the food, the presentation were all wonderful. I would do this again. It truly felt like we were at the Smiths dinner table enjoying a meal with them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

smith tropical luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/06/20

Not really what i had expected. I found it to be rather boring. Would have really liked to see more of the Men dances than there was. Didn't really care for all the other country style dances was really looking for more of a Hawaiian, Polnysian style luau. The fire dance was cool. Think kids would find this show rather boring. The plantation was really really pretty i would recommend that you tour that.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: So Cal Beaches, 2009/06/10

Food was excellent and the show was anything but ordinary.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Daniel & Christine, 2009/06/02

Very lush and beautiful grounds, plus the food and open bar. Yes, open bar! And the dancers are freakin' hot, both ladies and men!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good time

Reviewed by: Vistor, 2009/05/22

We had a good time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Evening

Reviewed by: John Osheka, 2009/05/19

This was really a great experience. My wife and I got to enjoy the flavor of the Island in a relaxed island setting. The food and entertainment were great and the staff made every effort to make us feel welcome. A must do activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A very long night

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/04/07

Arrived a bit before 4:30. Staff was quite rude that we were so early.
Also, everything was dragged out..far too long. Entertainment was too late for our granddaughter to enjoy as she fell asleep.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Everyone Had A Great Time

Reviewed by: H Baxter, 2009/02/24

We highly recommend this luau - the whole family from age 7 to age 75 enjoyed it. The food was awesome, the gardens were beautiful and the dancing was amazing. I love that this is a family run business, and you can tell that they all really invest their time and care into every detail. Even grandpa Smith was out in the food line making sure the buffet was tidy and fresh. I was really impressed by the quality of the dancers! Some might say, though, that this is a bit on the "schmaltzy" side - it might not have the cosmopolitan feel of some of the other luaus, I certainly wouldn't say it was a romantic or upscale sort of thing - but I liked the old-time feel of it. Also, don't rush to get there, we arrived at the very beginning and took the tram ride through the gardens - then waited about an hour for the entertainment and refreshments to start.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau & Fern Grotto Tour

Reviewed by: Betty Kaszula, 2009/02/14

The Smith's Luau is the best on Kauai. They have lovely grounds to tour, the emu ceremony is great. We have been to this before and I would recommend it to everyone. The tour up the river to the Fern Grotto was great. The people running these tours are well versed in the history and knowledge they share with guests. They make everyone feel special!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely the BEST Luau anywhere!

Reviewed by: Perscon, 2009/02/10

I've lived in Hawaii and returned for many occasions, and Smith's Luau is absolutely the BEST Luau on any island at any price! The setting is absolutely gorgeous, the staff was very friendly and outgoing, the food was absolutely the best and there was plenty of it! Open mai-tai bar was a great value, dinner entertainment was fun but not overwhelming and the show afterward was a great Luau value. The thing that impressed me the most was Mr Smith, the owner, was available, visible and active in every part of the evening, from un-earthing the pig to singing and entertaining at dinner. I would HIGHLY recommend this event for anyone who visits Kauai - you WON'T be disappointed!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

worth doing

Reviewed by: genie, 2009/01/06

This is actually the 3rd or 4th time we have attended a Smith's Luau. We always take newcomers here. They all expect a Luau. It is the best one on Kauai and we would strongly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smiths Family Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/01/05

Exceeded all my expectations. The whole group enjoyed it. The food and staff were excellent and the entertainment was even better! Definitely recommended for all!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau-Wow!

Reviewed by: S. Denning, 2008/11/22

Beast luau i've been to, reconmend getting there early to walk through the incredible gardens after the short tour. The staff is top notch, the food is incredible and the intertainment is worth every penny. I would recomend this to anyone and everyone going to Kaua'i.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Terrific

Reviewed by: Mary, 2008/11/15

We loved the tram ride, beautiful grounds with peacocks and more, the great food at the luau, friendly people, a wonderful show! The covered pavilions made it pleasant! It was nice to have our picture taken and available for purchase. We liked having the luau in one place and the show in another. Wear mosquito repellent!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]