This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu Categories


Reviews by LisaV
Last review on 2018/06/06
# of Reviews: 27

Learned so much about Polynesia!

Posted on: 2018/06/06

When I first got tickets to the Polynesian Cultural Center, I was a little worried since we would be there all day. Would we find enough to do for 9 hours? Yes, yes we could, and one day wasn't even enough!

There were so many incredible activities and performances in all of the different villages, but my favorites had to be Samoa and Hawaii. The presenter for Samoa was not hilarious, but so entertaining, and quite the hottie too! :P I knew Hawaii would be great, how could it not be, but I was blown away by their performances.

We also visited Tahiti and New Zealand, but didn't have time for Fiji or Tonga unfortunately. Next visit! The canoe ride, and the canoe pageant were quite fun, and even the IMAX movie which we chose to see as a break from the walking, ended up being very good! You definitely don't want to miss it!

The food at the luau was so tasty, and I had a LOT of poke. So much poke. Like, pretty much all of the poke was in my belly by the end of dinner. And although I loved the show while we ate, the highlight was definitely the evening Breath of Life show. It was so interesting to see hula and other dances put to a story.

The day was long, but so worth it!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review


Even the rain couldn't dampen our evening!

Posted on: 2018/06/06

Although the night we went out on the dinner cruise was rather damp and rainy, the crew on-board the Majestic made sure that we still had an amazing night on the water.

The food was really delicious, and the buffet line was constantly refilled with fresh, hot food. Normally dinner cruises don't offer memorable dining (I mean you are going for the experience right?), but the Majestic not only offered incredible views of Waikiki and Diamond Head, but a really yummy dinner too. Lots of different options and I was absolutely loving the mahimahi. Yum yum!

After eating and a few cocktails, we went upstairs to relax in the lounge, and yes, more cocktails :P It is a vacation, don't judge! It was lovely just sitting and enjoying the live musician (a guitarist who also sang). Oh, and they even had a hula dancer do a few dances too! Total surprise, but a welcomed one.

Can't wait for our next visit so we can go again!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review




An authentic Polynesian evening in Kauai

Posted on: 2018/06/06

On our last night on the island, my friend and I went to the Smith's Luau, and it was one of our most memorable times on Kauai. It was not only informative, but entertaining as well. You can tell that this family owned and operative business is run with love and a true appreciation for Hawaiian culture.

The tram ride took us along the huge gardens, and was a great way to get a quick view of the area. I loved that they have a herd of goats! The babies were just so cute! It was also close to where they were doing the imu or underground oven ceremony. Picture time!

The food was plentiful and really tasty. I loved that they had entertainment (music and dancing) while we ate, and the only thing is that I would personally skip the fruit punch. It was just too sweet! But the food, man! I had two full plates and would have had more, but would have ended up rolling out of there.

Our night concluded with some fantastic performances, and although they weren't the most polished, they were filled with sincerity and a love of hula that can't be matched. You can tell that they truly enjoy being on that stage and it is just so moving. Really happy we went :)

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review







We totally rocked out at Rock-a-Hula!

Posted on: 2018/06/06

My friend and I had such a totally awesome night at Rock-a-Hula, and want to go see it again! We got the VIP dinner show, and it was fantastic. From beginning to end, we were treated like VIPs, and couldn't have asked for better service, food or entertainment.

The cocktail and appetizer reception before the theater doors opened was a great prelude to our evening, and their original mai tais were really yummy too. So many delicious things to nibble on that I had to be careful and not get too full before dinner! Oh and dinner, salad, steak, lobster and dessert...so.... tasty! Plus our server was so attentive and awesome :)

Our VIP seats go us close to the stage so we had an amazing view of the performance, and man was it awesome! Elvis, Michael Jackson and Katy Perry, all on one stage for a seriously rockin' evening. The woman who played Katy Perry was my favorite! Not only did she look and sound exactly like her, but she was the sweetest person too!

The fire knife dance was scary awesome, and the perfect topper to a great night. Perfect option if you just want a fun time in Waikiki!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review







Tons of fun for all ages!

Posted on: 2018/06/06

My friends and I wanted to have a nice evening out, and trying to find an evening activity that would also work with a four year old is often difficult, but this sunset sail was just totally perfect! The captain and crew were really attentive, and were great about making sure that everyone on board was cared for and comfortable.

There were a few other families on board, so the kids were able to hang out together on the nets while we adults kicked back and drank some yummy cocktails. Mimosas at sunset? It isn't just for brunch! :P Plus the views were amazing and being able to just enjoy the sounds of the ocean without the persistent drone of an engine is probably the best perk of being on a sailboat.

Would totally come back again and can't wait for our next visit!

Rating: star
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review




Second time just as fun as the first!

Posted on: 2017/10/24

Although this was my second time on this tour, it was my friend's first tubing experience and we both loved it just the same! It is such a relaxing and fun time, and the guides are simply wonderful. They are not only fountains of knowledge, but so very personable and helpful as well. Just being able to sit back and enjoy the scenery, the dark tunnels and the occasional "rapids" was some of the most fun we had on Kauai. Bring your GoPros and just sit back and float!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review




Amazing Off-Road Fun in Kauai!

Posted on: 2017/10/23

What an incredible experience this was! From the moment we checked in until we hopped out of our vehicles, the awesome guides and employees made this an adventure that I will remember forever! We were all given a thorough briefing on how to operate the vehicles and did a few test laps before heading out onto the open road. The ranch and the surrounding areas are so incredibly beautiful and there were just too many picture perfect opportunities for us. Since I don't drive, my friend was my chauffeur and it was definitely some rough off-roading sections that had us bouncing all over the place. We even got to see where Indiana Jones jumped into the river and flew off in the first movie! So neat! I seriously can't wait to go again on my next Kauai visit :)

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review






The Perfect Music of the Night!

Posted on: 2016/09/28

Phantom has been one of my favorite musicals for as long as I can remember, and seeing it live on Broadway is just simply magical. Everything from the ornate sets to the colorful costumes to the talented cast and of course the timeless music is just completely perfect. The current actress playing Christine Daae is Ali Ewoldt and the first Asian American to play the role! She was just incredible! Would definitely go back just to see her.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

A Perfect Night of Music in Waikiki

Posted on: 2016/06/08

Not wanting to go to another Polynesian show or luau, I decided to go to the Blue Note and it was a fantastic choice! My friend and I actually ended up going TWICE while we were there :D With an ever rotating line up of entertainers, no matter when you go, you are going to have an awesome time ^_^ The first night we went, we saw Don Tiki, this Jazz group with a great Tiki vibe, and Joe Robinson, a great guitarist, our second night. Drinks are really tasty and service was attentive, but not pushy.

I have been to the Blue Note in NYC, and this one in Hawaii definitely gives it a run for their money. If you want to have a chill evening with some great music, this is your spot. Take a break from the hula girls (yes, even though I am ONE :-P) and have an elegant night in Waikiki instead!

Rating: star
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review




Tasty All You Can Eat Crab!

Posted on: 2016/02/18

I love dinner cruises and have been on quite a few over the years, so I knew I had to go during this visit to Hawaii. We chose the One Star since we love crab and love AYCE crab even more!

Our waiter was very attentive and made sure to keep our plates full of crab, our glasses filled with drinks and would let us know when the sunset would be.

The show was fun, and the musicians are top notch! Although the weather did not cooperate, I will definitely go back again!

Rating: star
Attended as:Families
Activity Date: 2016/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review


Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |