This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here


Reviews by Andy
Last review on 2018/09/05
# of Reviews: 4

Fantastic first time experience!

Posted on: 2018/09/05

My wife was excited because of the picture she took of the fields where Jurassic Park/World scenes were filmed on Kipu Ranch, oh and the zip-lining was fun too!
This was my first time zip lining, and it was a great experience. I picked the 3-line course, assuming that we would love it, but not committed to a full day experience. My wife had zip lined before, but it was on her bucket list to zip line in the jungle. Our guides Bruce and Skylar(?) were terrific.
No complaints at all, just be aware you will have to do a little hiking form one launch to the next, and you have to wait your turn depending on the size of the party. Ours was small enough (about 12) that the wait wasn't that bad.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2018/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Good, but not the best

Posted on: 2018/09/05

The food was very good, and the show was good as well. My only real complaint is the time gap between events happening. We arrived and were treated to a tram tour of the botanical gardens, which is fabulous. After that we had approximately 40 minutes before the Imu ceremony where they pull the pig out of the oven. Although we further explored the gardens, there's only so many times you can admire a flower or tree. My wife and I decided to find seats (open seating for parties less than 5), and we choose poorly. The bar doesn't open until after the Imu ceremony, so we weren't able to enjoy a drink (other than water) while we waited. After the Imu ceremony, the band started playing music and the bar opened. Once the buffet started, we realized our poor choice of seats, as we were among the last tables to be signaled for the buffet. At least we had drinks by that time, but the waiting wears on you. The food was good, but once we were finished, there was only the music to listen to. Normally this is an opportunity to talk to the other guests, but the seating arrangement isn't conducive to starting a conversation with strangers.
After another 30 minutes or dead time or so, we moved from the dining area to the theater. The show was entertaining, with traditional dances and music, but it just didn't flow as a story for me. I felt like it was more of a documentary of Hawaiian dance. My wife and I were ready to go when it was over (even before).

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2018/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Beautiful Scenery and fabulous crew!

Posted on: 2018/09/05

The upside: The beauty of the Napali coast is unbelievable! The crew on the catamaran was very friendly and attentive! Dinner was delicious(but see below)!

The downside: The prime seating on the catamaran is at the back where there are about 25 available seats, so if you aren't among the first 25 on the boat - you are either standing on the front deck (where you will get wet, guaranteed!) or inside the cabin (where you can't see anything and are more likely to get seasick)

My wife got seasick half-way through the trip despite a prescription anti-nausea patch (so if you are prone to motion sickness, expect it to happen). Because of this, both of us opted to have our meals boxed up for after the trip. If there had been available seating at the rear of the catamaran, I probably would have had my dinner on the boat where I could enjoy the scenery while I ate. Instead I opted to stay where I could enjoy the view instead of going into the cabin to sit while I ate or standing there holding my plate to enjoy the view.

Having said that, I can't say enough good things about the crew - I think every one of the crew stopped to check on my wife and me at least once and sometimes twice to make sure we were OK, so thanks to Captain Mike, Paul, Maddie, Lucy, and Hans! To Hans the chef I say we both enjoyed the dinner very much after we got back to our resort, (reheated in the microwave, ugh). I can only imagine how much better it would have been freshly served!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2018/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Best event on my Kauai trip!

Posted on: 2018/09/05

I enjoyed the whole experience immensely! The food was great and the entertainment was fantastic! What I loved the most was that there was constantly something going on, I was never bored waiting for the next tick of the clock to happen, unlike a different luau we went to later during our trip.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2018/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | | Next