Page 6) Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Overall Rating

4.64 4.64 / 5

Reviews

247 reviews
Post a review

GREAT!

Reviewed by: Sixto, 2013/06/07

Great time, great fun, great entertainment and great food.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: gomezdouglas, 2013/05/20

The food was great. One of the few places that offers authentic island food still. The performances were cool...offers a good quick history lesson. The grounds are pretty...peacocks were really cool...you can stand very close to them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Happy went booked this!

Reviewed by: Michael, 2013/02/26

we had 6 adults and an 11/mo old. Prompt shuttle pick up and drop off from our hotel. the Luau was great...friendly service, all you can eat food and drink (beer, mixed drinks) beautiful grounds and an entertaining post dinner show. I would def recomend this to anyone wanting to experience an Hawaiian luau

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So cool!

Reviewed by: Drew Climer, 2013/02/01

This was a great experience. The Smith's Paradise offer some great photo opportunities, great food, excellent cocktails, and some great entertainment. Very awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

( THE LUAU )

Reviewed by: Dave Woehrman, 2012/11/11

Arriving on the island of kauai with so many things planned was so exciting but the garden tour before the luau and touring the grounds was fantastic. Everthing about the whole show was very exciting from the necklace greeting all the way to the spectacular fire dance at the end of the show. My family and I found this adventure to be one of our favrorites while on our stay on Kauai.
The staff along with all the people in the show were just great it was plain to see that the ALOHA spirit was alive and well.
The food was unbeatable the colorfull costumes and the show priceless !! Smith's tropical paradise luau is best discribed as the Big Kahuna. If your planning a trip to Kauai put this at the top of your list of things to do
Mahalo Smith's tropical paradise

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honeymoon luau

Reviewed by: jcaruthers, 2012/11/05

This was a fantastic first timer luau experience. You get so much for your money with this luau! You get to spend time roaming the grounds which are a lovely tropical garden paradise. We got some lovely pictures and were able to have some alone time while attending the luau.

The one disappointment for us being that it was our honeymoon, was that it was a very large crowd and didn't have a very intimate feel. We would have liked to experience a luau where we were a small group and get to have more of an interactive experience with the hosts than you can have with that large a crowd.

The food wasn't my favorite but it was good. The service was wonderful and the host (commentator) was wonderful at describing what was going to happen and entertaining for our meal. The show was fantastic and very worth the wait.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Time

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/12

We had a great time. We would definitely recommend this to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience

Reviewed by: Donna, 2012/10/11

Our family had never been to Hawaii before and a friend at work suggested the Luau at the Smith Planatation and we were so excited. We had a really great time and the staff are so friendly. I would definitely go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great luau

Reviewed by: David and Donna Kirk, 2012/09/11

Great food, beautiful area and great enternainment

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smiths Tropical Paradise Luau Kauai

Reviewed by: Peggy - World Traveler, 2012/08/11

This was amazing !!!
The Smith family really know how to put on a show!

Pros: Great food, awesome gardens, great fun time, plenty of time to have fun and take pictures. Easy fun experience. Great for ANYONE! Lots of peacocks to take photos with. Great staff. The after show was AMAZING cultural world tour far beyond my experiences at othe Luau's. It could easily compete with a Lav Vegas show!! You have to see to believe! Iwon't share more to avoid giving too much away. Smith's is one of the best Luau in Kauai. Even my teenager had a ball ! She was grinning ear to ear. PRICELESS!

Con: Its a really BIG CROWD becauses they seat so many, there's lots of people you eat with etc but not overwhelming. Just alot.

What to take with you. SunGlasses, mosquito spray, camera of course, easy dress (Where something comfy, pretty or fun). Hawaii dress or whatever. Its easy and nice.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/08/06

This was our first vacation to Hawaii. The Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau was our first luau (and let me say the only luau we will ever go to). This place is amazing. The greeting with the shell lei's by the staff in their outfits felt very welcoming. The tram ride around the grounds was short, but very sweet. The food was excellent and authentic. The music during dinner was fun and entertaining, BUT the music and dancing during the luau ceremony was awesome! I went out and bought a book on the Fire Goddess Pele because of it. Would suggest this to anyone!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lauau

Reviewed by: Fran, 2012/07/24

The Fern Grotto and the Tropical Paradise Luau was excellent.
No short cutting

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good but not Great

Reviewed by: Richard A. Vals, 2012/07/06

First it's a beautiful place. They start you off by giving you a tram ride which is a speed contest among the drivers. They tell you about the plants in super speed mode. Your head is going so quickly from left to right by the time the ride is over you can't remember a plant or tree.
They say there is plenty of food but don't sit in the middle because by the time you get in line your picking the bottom of the bowls unless you want Poi which there is a plentiful supply. The show was good but you had better bring a pair of binoculars because for the majority of it you see it across a lake. Occasionally the performers were in front of you but not often enough. Felt weird is the word for it. Were used to having the performers a lot closer then what they give you.
For paying top dollar for the Best on Kauai I preferred the one with the railroad.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai's great luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/15

This was a good experience for us with all the flora, fana and great entertainment. The Smith family reals goes all out to make you feel welcome. The food was enlighting with all the Hawaiian specialties. I tried them all. Overall the activity was very pleasurable and I would recommend it to everyone who goes to Kauai. Aloha!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Family Luau

Reviewed by: spoonerock, 2012/01/13

Beautiful setting, great food & entertainment. Be sure to big your camera. Service was excellent!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just okay

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/01/04

The food was really good but the show seemed to drag on. I have been to other shows and this one only compared moderately.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luai

Reviewed by: sherry, 2011/12/26

I would highly recommend this to everyone of all ages! The staff was very nice, pleasent,and funny. The dinner was excellent! and the entertainment was just awesome! It was put together very nicely, I especially liked the way they did the one table at a time. avoided a rush to the tables, there was plenty of food to go around so no one had to miss out on everything. I even tried poi for the first time! The pork, OMG it is one of the best tasting pig I have ever had in my life! melted in your mouth! Everything was great. I can guarantee if I'm lucky enough to go back to Kauai I will do that again! I don't have any pictures developed yet or I would show them. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/09/03

We enjoyed this luau a lot. We've been to several luaus on Oahu, but the ground where this luau sits is just so pretty. They have a tram that goes around the property, and we even fed peacocks that roam around freely. We even saw a local wedding that was taking place.

The foods were really good, and we definitely enjoyed their open bar. We had 3, 4 of their mai tai drinks, and they made it just perfect. Foods were great so were the entertainment during the show.

Although we enjoyed the show, I thought they could improve it a little more. It was cool to see dances from non-Polynesian countries such as Japan, China and Philippines, but they could add more story line to the whole show instead of presenting it like a mix-plate. The fire knife dance was pretty good, and everyone was in awe.

All in all, I highly recommend this luau if you go to Kauai. You will have a good time for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

smiths luau

Reviewed by: roman, 2011/07/30

the garden tour was beautiful. the food ws very tasty. the drinks were more than ample. the show was very very interesting. i had goosepimples watching the show. highly recommend. staff was above and beyond.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau - Kauai

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/19

Great event, can't miss it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

smiths luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/26

This luau exceeded our expectations. There was a tour of the grounds with tons of wildlife and gardens. The dinner was delicious and the entertainment was great. Don't show up tired like we did its a really exciting place that everyone can enjoy.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

MS

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/14

I felt the grounds were lacking a bit. Kauai is much more beautiful than this tropical paradise. Been to another luau few years back and much better than this. The dancers were fabulous but felt some of the show lacked authenticity, sorta felt like everyone else was tired of it all.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

smiths luau was great

Reviewed by: donna, 2011/05/06

this was second luau i have attended . This by far was more enjoyable than the other one attended. Grounds are unique and family were very pleasant and very organized. The show was beautiful. would recommend without hesitation

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The amazing Smith Luau

Reviewed by: Roxanne Ziola, 2011/02/15

This was really a great Luau, in our group there were some that had seen some and others that haven't seen them at all, and we all agreed that this was the best time, even though it rained!!
Such friendly, happy people, and fun for all age groups (30-63). We brought our group pic home and hung it up on the wall, a truly good time!
Thank you Smith's Tropical Paridise Luau!! We will be back some time soon, we all hope.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Family Luau

Reviewed by: Karen S, 2011/02/15

We had a great time! The boat ride to the Fern Grotto was very enjoyable. The food and entertainment was good and enjoyed by all of us. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful

Reviewed by: connie, 2011/02/15

We have been to luau's on 3 islands and found this one the best ever. From the plantation tour to the food to the entertainment - it was all wonderful. We are so happy we decided to give it a try.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A fun time but slower pace

Reviewed by: Mike B, 2011/02/08

We had fun at the Smith Family luau, the food was good the show was good but we are faster paced people and this was a slower paced activity. It would be good for families and older couples.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN NIGHT

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/01/04

This was a great event. You really felt like you were at someones home.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not dissapointed at all!!

Reviewed by: Blest12, 2010/10/14

I chose Smith's Tropical Luau because I had read some previous reviews and one reviewer stated they had been to a different luau every night and Smith's was the best. I was a passenger on the NCL Pride of America and the reviews for that luau were not good and I hate nasty food. So I chose Smith's for myself and my party and let me tell you, we were not dissapointed. First of all and probably the best thing was it was not as expensive as the other luau, next the food was great everything was very good (except the purple sweet potato, it was too dry and tasteless). The staff was great, they kept coming around asking if everything was okay. Also, there was a large crowd there, maybe 500 people maybe more, but everything ran smooth and efficiently. When we arrived we were escorted to a tram that took us for a narrated tour of the plantation and it was beautiful. Then we went into the large lanai to be seated for eating. Some went to watch the roasted pig taken out of the place whe

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mr. Clay Ory

Reviewed by: Mr. Clay Ory, 2010/08/05

We had a very good time and everyone was very polite.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]