Page 5) Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Overall Rating

4.64 4.64 / 5

Reviews

247 reviews
Post a review

Luau

Reviewed by: redrobin, 2014/08/26

My thought was that a Luau was supposed to take place while eating the wonderful buffet food. At this Luau we sat down at long tables and did enjoy a delicious buffet. However, then we had to move to another location where they had bleacher seating, which was extremely uncomfortable. The show itself was just ok as it did not have a lot of spectacular associated with it. There was only one guy who did an act with fire. Most of it was just basic hula dancing and not what I would have expected. VERY uncomfortable seating and MEDIOCRE dancing. I would not recommend this Luau to any of my friends are family who may wish to visit Hawaii.

I was however pleased with Veltra tours and the professionalism and the call I received for verification of activities. Thank You.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Luau

Reviewed by: Kelley, 2014/08/20

Smith's Luau was awesome! We have already recommended it to some friends of ours who are going to Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau

Reviewed by: JimK, 2014/08/04

Smith's was wonderful. It exceeded our expectations!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau

Reviewed by: Jackie, 2014/08/04

The Luau was excellent. The food was one of the best meals we had on the island. The show was extremely excellent. The grounds that the Luau was on are beautiful. Best of all the price was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!

Reviewed by: Kristin M, 2014/07/27

Smith's Luau was fantastic. As we entered, we took the tram ride around the grounds, during which we heard an excellent overview of information. We then had enough time to wander back through and read placards or take pictures of the beautiful scenery. Hearing about the imo and the roasted pig was really informative. The food at the luau was DELICIOUS! Especially the kalua pig. Yum! The show was also very good. Overall, a fantastic night. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

vacationer

Reviewed by: Gladys Perry, 2014/07/22

I went to this Luau 27 years ago. I enjoyed it then and the updates and changes are incredible.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

smith's family luau in kauai

Reviewed by: R Flores, 2014/07/19

Actually seen something different from other luau's we been to in the past.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awsome grounds...great food....so so show...

Reviewed by: Raslco, 2014/07/12

We have attended luaus on other islands and the show at this luau was not impressive. The grounds were amazing , beautiful picture opportunities ....and the food was delicious!!! We were not impressed with the show. The seating was stadium seating which was extremely uncomfortable. The show was not interactive with audience......I believe the "host" was pre-recorded?

Again.....we've been to other islands and have been to much better.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good food

Reviewed by: jbradem, 2014/07/05

We had a great time. Food was great and they fed the entire group quickly. Pork was excellent. Show was good as well. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

exceptional...would do it again

Reviewed by: Tracey, 2014/07/04

the Smith family luau was so much fun. The food was delicious and entertainment exceptional. Would definitely recommend for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

best luau

Reviewed by: Bernie, 2014/06/30

This was such a nice experience, the family is very friendly. Food was excellent!!!!! The show gave a variety of cultures to the audience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great food

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2014/06/13


Overall I would say this event was a positive experience. The food was very good. The tour of the property was very enjoyable, this is a magnificent setting for a luau. In my opinion, the after dinner show, however, needs to be updated. I'm sure there are those who appreciate the cultural and artistic emphasis on which the show was based, however, from an entertainment perspective, this show fell considerably short of other luaus I have attended. Most of the music was very slow paced, some of it seemed to drag on forever. I expected a more fast paced performance, one which would ellicit more enthusiasm, more excitement within the audience. The slow paced, historic theme just didn't get it done for myself and the people with which I attended this event.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau

Reviewed by: Karen Berg, 2014/06/08

We thoroughly enjoyed the food, music and the dances. Friendly service. The fire dancer was awesome! I would recommend this Luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

smith tropical paradise

Reviewed by: marlene, 2014/05/31

It was everything we thought it would be. Just beautiful. Would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is a MUST on the island!

Reviewed by: Nina, 2014/05/29

The cruise was extremely relaxing and scenic. Seeing Fern Grotto was totally magical, it's unlike anything we'd ever seen before. The botanical gardens at Smith's are breathtaking, and the food at the Luau was to die for! We really enjoyed ourselves, and the show was the perfect ending to our Hawaiian Luau experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome

Reviewed by: carlie, 2014/05/27

we had an awesome time at the Smith's Luau, the food and the miti was great. I would defenitely do it again and highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith luau

Reviewed by: Breebree, 2014/03/10

Awesome luau! Probably one of he best I've seen on all the islands! Would definitely recommend this luau to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Family Luao!

Reviewed by: ZNmez, 2014/03/08

So much fun! You enter and receive a shell lei and then take a ride on a tour through the beautiful botanical gardens. We watched as they dug up the traditional kalua pig steamed beneath large banana leaves. The buffet was delicious! don't hold back on the fried rice!! All you can drink mai tai's too! The botanical gardens were even more enchanting as dusk set in and you can walk across bridges to small islands on the grounds. Through dinner we were entertained by the Smith Family singing island music and hula dancing. Also sang happy birthday and the wedding song to all those celebrating honey moons and birthdays! Afterwards we all headed to the outdoor theater to watch many different traditional island dances and songs. It was beautiful, including a fire show! Highly recommend the entire experience. Well worth the cost. WE even paid for the $20 picture that they took for us when we entered with some of the crew members. We have it hanging on our wall!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A very satisfied customer

Reviewed by: Becky Skvarek, 2014/03/01

We got married here 5/6/88. It was so beautiful then, and is now also. Everyone there was so nice, smiling, and so helpful. Our son wanted to propose to his girlfriend as a surprise during the Luau. We came ahead early to help prepare for this to happen. Everyone was so helpful in setting this up, and it went so perfectly and beautiful!! Other visitors there said it made them cry also. They made it very special. Thank you to them all for all their help and TLC. Thanks to Dee, Nancy, and the MC during the Luau. I can't remember his name......last name Smith. They were all wonderful. Becky and Dana

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: kim, 2014/01/27

Never having been to a luau before, I didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised by the grounds. It's really pretty and picturesque. The host is always smiling and makes you feel welcomed. With the food being delicious and great entertainment, it was an awesome evening. Worth spending the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau

Reviewed by: Jeremy Cowham, 2014/01/06

We had so much fun at the Luau and are going again this month when we get back on the island. It is a must to take advantage of the free pick up and drop off if you don't mind waiting a few extra minutes.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Pork Ever!!! <3

Reviewed by: Chere, 2013/12/28

My husband and I had a blast!!! The food, entertainment, drinks, and animals were all amazing!

  • Before they dig up the pig...

  • Luau

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

best food

Reviewed by: Calimom, 2013/12/05

Tour and food were spectacular! Our teen said the teriyaki beef was the best thing ever.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the length of the dancing show. The show is after the all you can eat buffet. Full bellies and tranquil music made us so sleepy! We had plans to go shoot pool afterwards, but scrapped those plans to sleep.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Luau

Reviewed by: Jen & John Sustachek, 2013/10/28

This is was an excellent night! Great food and plenty of it, great show too! We really enjoyed the music they played during dinner even allowing us to dance. The grounds are spectacular with all the trees and beautiful flowers!! Best luau we have ever been to

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau

Reviewed by: Cameron, 2013/08/30

Great food and great show. The Smith family really has this show down to a science. Very organized and don't worry, enough food for seconds. The dancers were excellent and as a real man, I appreciated the young women who had some girth.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mr.

Reviewed by: Yiliang Zou, 2013/08/23

Good experience at Hawaii. Can not miss it in your life! There is very good environments in the place. Everything is good taste there!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most impressive Luau in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Cinemabyte, 2013/08/07

I've been to other luau's on other islands, but none have been as organized with so much great food and free mai-tai drinks. The dining areas and the seating areas for the show are all covered to protect people from the possibility of rain. The landscape is gorgeous, with so many unique flowers, exotic trees, peacocks, chickens, and zebra doves running around everywhere.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Nina, 2013/07/09

It was a nice experience. Really enjoyed the food and the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: Rebekah, 2013/06/18

The garden is beautiful, food tasted great, and great service!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau

Reviewed by: Dave, 2013/06/13

The evening started with a tram tour around the gardens, time to walk and photograph the gardens, traditional Hawaiian meal (buffet style) followed by a presentation of the various hula styles influenced by the various people that came to the islands. All in all - recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]