Page 4) Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Overall Rating

4.64 4.64 / 5

Reviews

247 reviews
Post a review

Worth every penny spent!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2015/12/20

Loved learning about the culture and loved watching the shows. Got a lot for the money we paid. Loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau

Reviewed by: Kyla, 2015/12/06

AWESOME!!! Must do this! The dinner was great, and the show afterwards was even better!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful family business

Reviewed by: Anna, 2015/10/25

So glad I went beyond the ship to find this gem of a luau:)
Super friendly people, beautiful grounds, great food! Good value so glad I found them!

  • Yummy dinner

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau

Reviewed by: Glen Hayden, 2015/10/25

The food is great and the Mai Tais flow. What better way to end the day than food, drink, and a show!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

YUMMY!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: Ozzie, 2015/10/08

It goes without saying, the food was INCREDIBLE! An all you can eat buffet of delicious Hawaiian delicacies? Yes please, sign me up! The dances at the end was really great too. So awesome to get to know a little more about the island, its history and to see all those amazing performers move about the stage. My only suggestion would be to not eat all day and save yourself for this experience. There are so many varieties of food to partake, you're gonna need a completely empty stomach to have it all. Enjoy!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smiths Tropical Luau

Reviewed by: Carri Cheek, 2015/10/04

I attended this luau as a child and was even better than I remembered. Everyone we so nice the food we great. The show incredible, we loved every minute of the Luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great traditional Luau

Reviewed by: Marcia, 2015/09/19

Grounds are beautiful, food was great and the show is very impressive

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: Kim, 2015/09/10

This was a great time! Enjoyed the show, the garden, the food & the river tour. Learning more about the authenic cultures of the area sure was fun. THanks for everything!! One thing to note is that there were terrible mosquitos. Wear some bug spray!! :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Marilyn, 2015/08/20

They took pictures as you came into the grounds, I wish they had taken a few minutes to be sure everyone was in the picture and could be seen. The grounds are very pretty and well maintained, it was fun to ride thru the gardens and get info about the trees and flowers. The sitting was good, lots of people, lines at food tables went fast and plenty of food. Drinks were plentiful, service was good, very friendly family. Then when the bar/drink area closed, we were all sent to the luau dance area. It was very warm, with the smell of the gasoline/fuel for the fire dance. The dancers were ok, the whole luau was too long, I felt that several of the dances were very slow and long. The whole dance part could have been cut in half. The fire dancer was really good, as were the stick dancers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau

Reviewed by: Ann-Marie Ross, 2015/08/15

We had a great day and night. The gardens, grotto, and luau were all just amazing. Good food, great entertainment and very friendly and nice people. Would do it again in a heart beat. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time at Smiths

Reviewed by: John , 2015/07/22

I would do this again. Dinner and drinks where great. Show was very good. We had a great time, most memorable was all the peacocks running around. The staff was very friendly

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Way too many people. It was an organized mass production.

Reviewed by: Likes 8's, 2015/07/21

Way too many people. Not an intimate luau. Food satisfactory and show way too repetitive and long. Some of the acts could have been shorter. Lion dance not very authentic. Could have used some help on it to make it more professional.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What you came to Hawaii for

Reviewed by: Diane, 2015/07/13

Truly magical experience. Loved the Family feel, mixed with great props and settings. Loved Auntie too!

  • Auntie is the best

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

LUAU

Reviewed by: Jay Parker, 2015/07/04

I was not there but my frends was there.Jerry &Brenda .Jearel& Gail was there and they loved it very much.And though it wss the best one. And would give it top raiting. Thank You. Jay

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Jim, 2015/05/22

Fantastic! You could tell the employees love what they do and loved sharing their traditions with us. It was organized and the food was fabulous! The grounds were beautiful and the show was spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Eva, 2015/05/17

This was so much fun. The food was great. The dancing was fantastic. Great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good experience

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2015/04/15

The nature was amazing and the food was delicious! Such a fun time and atmosphere! The show at the end showed many cool dances and showcased all kinds of different cultures.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Combo Tour in Kauai

Reviewed by: Bud & Babe w/ guests, 2015/04/11

Pre-dinner boat trip was great and set the mood for the beautiful Smith acreage of garden, trees, animals and Culture.
The Luau dinner was the BEST we have ever had. A good variety of Hawaiian and American cuisine. The service was super organized and everyone was seated and eating with- in minutes.
After eating everyone walked about 100 yards to the outdoor theater and enjoyed dancing depicting several cultures as well as Hawaiian traditional dances and fire dance.
The four of us had a wonderful evening!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice show

Reviewed by: kablewhirl, 2015/04/05

This trip is very organized. We arrived at the grounds and were driven on a tram to the gardens (not sure why the tram, completely walkable). We were then left to wander the gardens for a half hour or so. The gardens are beautiful, the whole setting is lovely. The next event was the ceremony explaining how the pig is prepared and cooked, which was somewhat interesting. Next we were ushered into the dining area for cocktails and dinner. The pork was delicious, the rest basically typical buffet fare. Dinner felt like we were at a big wedding reception and didn't know anyone. If you like buffets and big feedings, you'll love this. Not our family's cup of tea. After dinner we walked to the theater for the show. The show was fine, the dancers were fine, it was entertaining. We didn't really know what to expect from a luau when we signed up and now that we've experienced it, we'll never feel a need to go back. Glad we saw the dancing but this is the one excursion we regret having spent our time and money on during our week in Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden luau/ & fern grotto boat tour

Reviewed by: Kathleen torres, 2015/03/24

We had a nice time on the river boat cruise and the luau was exceptional. We have been to at least 5 other luaus over the last several years and this was by far the best. The food was great. The entertainment was great and it was very well organized.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Tour.

Reviewed by: Emma, 2015/02/01

We usually choose to avoid the tours in favour of exploring on our own. However, on advice from friends who previously lived in Hawaii, a Luau is an experience not to be missed.
We chose the Fern Grotto River Boat Tour and Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau combination tour with pick up and drop off from our hotel. It proved to be a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon and evening.
The Fern Grotto, despite now missing a large number of ferns after the hurricane, is still a beautiful and tranquil spot to visit.
The highlight of this tour was definitely the Luau though. From start to finish, the service and quality of the show were seamless. The grounds are beautifully manicured and a photographer's delight. The food was delicious and ample in quantity; especially the pork. We were most impressed with how they managed to serve so many people in such an organised fashion. Everything was so very orderly and most visitors were invited to help themselves to second and third helpings. The Mai Tais and Punch were delicious and soft drinks were also readily available.
The show itself was very good and we were highly impressed with the quality of the performance.
Overall, a fabulous tour and highly recommended for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Hulala, 2014/12/09

The luau was held in a beautiful place and it was really fun to explore. Unfortunately, when the seating began we were asked to move multiple times because of reserved seating and it made the dinner portion of our evening very very annoying. Luckily, the entertainment after dinner was awesome.

  • Thier were a ton of really cool birds.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

must see

Reviewed by: TN traveler, 2014/12/04

I made this a part of my 2nd nights activities and had a wonderful time. I had shuttle service from hotel free to a gorgeous park. The food was excellent and drinks were very good. I had the Mai Tai and Hawaiian punch. Take a camera because the park is amazing. Smoking is near the bathroom , fyi :) this company has best ratings with trip advisor. I would love to see it again. Oh video camera because no flash photos. You need $20 to purchase the photo taken upon arrival. Have fun!

  • cheeze!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiin Tradition

Reviewed by: JDowdell, 2014/11/29

I've been to several luaus on different islands and Smiths is my favourite by far. Beautiful property to walk around. Buffet dinner is very organized and extremely filling not to mention the free Mai Tai's. Really nice show of Hawaiin style dance as opposed to the "Vegas" act I've seen at other Luaus. And if you are staying in Kapa'a, transportation is included. Definately a "must do " while you are visiting the beautiful island of Kauai

  • Beautiful grounds to walk around

  • Great buffet

  • Yummy food

  • Lovely show

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent luau

Reviewed by: Gordon Edmonton, 2014/11/17

This was an excellent luau. Very well organized and a great venue for the event. It was great for all ages. We had a 16 year old and two 80 year olds with us. All enjoyed emensly. Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Garden Luau is wonderful!

Reviewed by: Mary, 2014/11/17

We truly enjoyed the luau at Smith's Tropical Paradise! Beautiful gardens, many picture opportunities, great food, excellent show! I love the family atmosphere at this luau and the hospitality that is extended to everyone. The show teaches about the many different people who settled in the Hawaiian islands. We always recommend this luau when we meet other travelers. It is an enjoyable and well-paced evening of great food and entertainment!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Garden Luau

Reviewed by: Marsha, 2014/11/04

Great food and drinks. Show was really nice. However, I suggest not to go on a rainy day. Can't enjoy the beautiful grounds like I would have liked. Tables a little too close together, couldn't move or relax easy like a luau should be.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surprised!

Reviewed by: Just me, 2014/10/13

Short and sweet ... the tour of the grounds was lovely; the food and mai tai's were superior; but the dances needed some umph! That was a sad ending to an event that started great.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau & River Cruise

Reviewed by: Dean, 2014/10/05

A nice afternoon and evening with the cruise along the river to the waterfall with entertainment followed by a ride / walk thru the gardens, a good meal drinks and good entertainment. I enjoyed the evening Thankyou

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Participant

Reviewed by: Sharon Norris, 2014/10/05

I have attended this Luau and Show several times and highly recommend it to everyone! Even though it rained during the show this time, it was still very well done and the audience was very receptive of the dancing and entertainment! The food was wonderful, as always!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]