Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Overall Rating

4.64 4.64 / 5

Reviews

247 reviews
Post a review

Fun Kauai Luau

Reviewed by: DrJPaulWede, 2019/12/01

My wife and I had a fun and entertaining experience at the Smith Family Luau. Transportation by bus was prompt from the Nawiliwili cruise pier. We were greeted with shell leis and had a quick tram tour of the gardens. My wife absolutely loved taking photos of the gardens flora. After the tram ride we watched the roasted pig be unearthed from the underground cooking pit. Then we went to the large pavilion where pre-dinner cocktails were served. I saw the crowd and said to myself “oh brother”, but the bartenders had a system set up that made the lines move quickly and getting drinks was no problem. We we called up by tables for the buffet, which also moved quickly, and the authentic Hawaiian fare was delicious! During this time we were entertained with Hawaiian music and dance. After the delicious food and drink, we walked over to the amphitheater to view the evening dance entertainment. As it was well after dark, the stage was lit and had a live band playing most of the dance numbers. We were treated to native Hawaiian, Tahitian, Philippine, Japanese, and Maori dances. After the show, we made our way to the buses and back to the pier. The entire experience took about 4 hours.

Recommendations include wearing bug spray, especially for the outdoor show, and if you would like a leisurely, extensive tour of the gardens, get there before 5 o’clock, to beat the crowds and the sunset.

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Veltra. When we got to the site, the operators mistakenly charged us for transportation, which had already been paid in the original purchase. As we were a “captive audience” at the time, I went ahead and paid it again, and would sort it out later. The next day, I received an email from Veltra stating that they caught the error, and would refund the amount to my credit card. A few days later, I received the credited amount. I didn’t have to lift a finger. Now that’s proactive customer service!

  • Tahitian dance

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful experience

Reviewed by: Irene M, 2019/11/09

We were originally not going to attend a luau but decided last minute to do so as this was recommended by locals as a must do experience. The family and staff were wonderful, absolutely loved talking to the Aunties. The food was good with a variety to choose from. The show incorporated different dances representing the different backgrounds in Hawaiian culture in addition to the Polynesian beginnings. The gardens were beautiful. Definitely recommend this luau as you get not just food and a show but a chance to walk through the gardens with a tram tour to start and also to talk to the friendly staff. They all have such wonderful stories and experiences to share!

  • Too much food to choose from but must have the kalua pork!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous Luau on Kauai

Reviewed by: Kim in PA , 2019/11/09

Our only opportunity for a Luau was on Kauai when our ship overnighted. This was an excellent choice. Optional transportation from cruise ship, be prepared for long lines, was a great add on. You arrive in plenty of time to explore all the gardens with time to spare before the Imu Ceremony. Lots of time to find a seat in the pavilion before your table is invited to the buffet line. After you are done eating, make your way to the theater to get a good seat for the show. It's a good show, but goes on a bit too long. Make your way back to the parking lot to board your bus for the short ride back to the cruise terminal.

  • Chicken run wild on Kauai

  • Peacock at Smith Family Luau

  • Gardens at Smith Family Gardens

  • Flowers at Smith Family Gardens

  • Gardens at Smith Family Gardens

  • View from the dinner pavillion Smith Family Luau

  • Gardens at Smith Family Gardens

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Dee, 2019/08/25

The food was delicious but very little time to eat! We were seated in a table where we were the last to be fed which was ok but thought they would give us more time to eat & drink. The garden is beautiful and enjoyable! The Smith's Luau was a great choice.
The Show was great too!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun had by all!

Reviewed by: Virginia / Missouri, 2019/08/04

Greeted with Aloha and smiles.
We have been many times to this luau. We enjoy it every time. Food is good, and if you don’t get full it’s your fault. Plenty of alcohol too. Every thing included in price. You learn a little history at the show.
The Smith family is very attentive. They are the definition of Aloha!

  • Show following dinner.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Natalia, 2019/08/04

Beautiful property, wonderful food, and a very entertaining show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overall very good experience

Reviewed by: Keawalani , 2019/07/06

Nicely organized and fun filled event. Just performance isn’t that high level. Dancers were ok but not really professional level of dancers. Food was good. And overall experience was very good.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau Experience

Reviewed by: Noble, 2019/03/04

Our whole party of six was pleasantly surprised by the Smith's Family Garden Luau. We have been to other luaus and this rates as the best so far. The grounds are beautiful! The food and service was excellent! The staff were very friendly. The dinner entertainment was nice and the after dinner show was very good and informative of Hawaiian cultural history.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice surprise

Reviewed by: Mikaela, 2018/08/29

My idea about a Luau was...some food and a little bit of Tahitian dancing on a hotel property...This is what we saw year after year walking on Kaanapali beach - Maui .

Smith Family Garden Luau IT IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT- worth attending. They are very well organized and offer you a unique experience!

1. You get greeted by a local girl and boy who are offering a lei and at this point you get a group picture taken- nice touch- no pressure to buy it,

2.They offer you a tour of the garden and after that you have time to wander by yourself- 50 min- until they do the pork ceremony.

3. You are invited to your table- parties 6 or more have assigned seats- very thoughtful. They have a neat system to invite you to get the food without overcrowding the area. BTW- plenty of good food and drinks.
4. During the meal they entertain you : a little bit of dancing and singing and they invite people from the crowd to teach them how to dance. It was really neat !!
4. After the meal you are invited to an outdoor theater for an 1 hour show. It was A REAL show...lights, music...put together very professional! Enough seats for everyone, you can seethe scene from every seat . At the entrance you can pick up your photos.


I think it is the only Luau worth attending :)

  • In the garden

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best luau ever!!!!

Reviewed by: Jessica Sturholm , 2018/08/04

Best luau ever! Food was amazing! Drinks were strong! ❤️

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An authentic Polynesian evening in Kauai

Reviewed by: Darcy, 2018/06/06

On our last night on the island, my friend and I went to the Smith's Luau, and it was one of our most memorable times on Kauai. It was not only informative, but entertaining as well. You can tell that this family owned and operative business is run with love and a true appreciation for Hawaiian culture.

The tram ride took us along the huge gardens, and was a great way to get a quick view of the area. I loved that they have a herd of goats! The babies were just so cute! It was also close to where they were doing the imu or underground oven ceremony. Picture time!

The food was plentiful and really tasty. I loved that they had entertainment (music and dancing) while we ate, and the only thing is that I would personally skip the fruit punch. It was just too sweet! But the food, man! I had two full plates and would have had more, but would have ended up rolling out of there.

Our night concluded with some fantastic performances, and although they weren't the most polished, they were filled with sincerity and a love of hula that can't be matched. You can tell that they truly enjoy being on that stage and it is just so moving. Really happy we went :)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2018/02/12

Best luau I’ve been to! Very spacious and well organized! The food is delicious and everyone is very friendly! This was my second time and I’d do it again! Well worth the money!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Family Garden Luau

Reviewed by: Sandra McCarthy, 2017/10/15

Beautiful location, great food and fantastic performances of Hawaiian culture! The entire evening was very well organized and the people so gracious and accommodating. We Loved it and recommend it highly!

  • Hulu dancerd

  • Beautiful scene in Fern grotto

  • Uncovering of Pig ceremony

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: droth88, 2017/07/15

My wife and I attended the Smith Family Luau after the cruise to the fern grotto. The entire experience was amazing. The Smith family themselves were welcoming and gracious, the staff was easy to talk to and helpful. The food was out of this world good, especially for a large buffet. Even a downpour couldn't stop us from having a fantastic time. I recommend the luau to everyone and anyone looking for a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Smith Family Luau

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Like many yet so different

Reviewed by: Chris P, 2017/05/20

Didn't expect the tropical garden setting. Didn't expect dinner with live music and then the show.
Pleasantly surprised at the subtle differences to others I've been too. Made me sit up and actually really take notice.
Thoroughly enjoyed everything and would recommend this Luau by far.

  • Curtain call

  • Fires setting the mood over the lake

  • Welcome :-)

  • Trying to be in the show?

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Property

Reviewed by: Randi Ellenbest, 2017/01/14

We went to this luau with our two adult daughters. It was such a beautiful place to explore! We were able to walk around and take pictures. The dinner was good and nicely displayed. There was a little of something for everyone to like. The show was very good and entertaining. It got a little hard to sit for that long on the forward slanted seating though. I would recommend for a fun night.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great time at Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau!

Reviewed by: Sherri & Tom Boehm, 2016/12/10

Smith's is a must to visit when on Kaua'i!!! Beautiful gardens and people who make you feel like extended family! A wonderful time!!

  • Dinner is cooking!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is a must do!

Reviewed by: J & J, 2016/11/13

Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau was an amazing experience. The grounds are amazing. There are many different types of Bamboo, Trees, flowers, and birds. The food is beyond delicious and the pork from the imu is mouth watering. The Luau is very colorful, long, and full of history. Loved the fire dancers. The entire family enjoyed their time here.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smiths Tropical Pardise Garden Luau

Reviewed by: Frank, 2016/11/10

We attended the Smiths Luau and Show. The Luau and Show were very professionally organized. The Smiths have a family business and We would recommend their Luau and Show to anyone in the area. The food was very good, really liked the teriyaki beef and luau pork. The fire dancer at the nightly show was very good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Becky Ocampos , 2016/11/03

The food was fantastic, the grounds are gorgeous, and the show is absolutely mesmerizing! It was so cool to see all of the different influences that have contributed to the culture that is Hawaii. We cannot wait to come back and experience it again!

  • Some of the gorgeous landscape

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Show

Reviewed by: Oskars, 2016/08/17

Show was amazin, national dances from lot of another cultures, like New Zealand, China etc..
After check in is a small train tour around Botanic garden with guid. Tour is around 15 min, guid show you all kind of trees what you can see in hawaii island.

  • Garden

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Luau

Reviewed by: Edith Armenta , 2016/06/18

My husband and I had an excellent time there.
We arrived and the staff was very friendly in directing us where to go. As we got into the tram, we were welcomed but a coupe peacocks flapping their feathers. The tour of the garden was very informative and fun. If you get there early you can walk around and take pictures. The food was delicious! There was a live band and taught us how to do the hula. And the show was very entertaining. We definitely recommend this luau. We love the fact that it is family owned.

  • The food was delicious!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai's Best Luau

Reviewed by: Jerry Kraft, 2016/03/31

We had a wonderful time at the Smith Luau. The site is amazing and utterly beautiful; the connection to Kauai history is impressive and impeccable. We enjoyed visiting and getting to know the other people at our table, even though they were strangers. The food was fantastic, varied and perfectly prepared. We loved the fact that nothing felt rushed or skimpy. The presentation in the theater was exceptionally well performed and really captured the variety of island cultures that have created this Pacific paradise. There was absolutely nothing about this evening that I would have made any different.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful gardens and show!

Reviewed by: Sam, 2016/03/14

Overall me and my wife had a great time at the Luau. The gardens were really nice to walk around in and see all the different types of plants and trees. The show was really nice, they showcased dances from the different cultures that make up Hawaii. The only thing that my wife didn't like was the food. I personally didn't think it was too bad. Definitely a good experience for anyone visiting the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful family business

Reviewed by: Anna, 2015/10/25

So glad I went beyond the ship to find this gem of a luau:)
Super friendly people, beautiful grounds, great food! Good value so glad I found them!

  • Yummy dinner

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau

Reviewed by: Glen Hayden, 2015/10/25

The food is great and the Mai Tais flow. What better way to end the day than food, drink, and a show!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What you came to Hawaii for

Reviewed by: Diane, 2015/07/13

Truly magical experience. Loved the Family feel, mixed with great props and settings. Loved Auntie too!

  • Auntie is the best

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Jim, 2015/05/22

Fantastic! You could tell the employees love what they do and loved sharing their traditions with us. It was organized and the food was fabulous! The grounds were beautiful and the show was spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Hulala, 2014/12/09

The luau was held in a beautiful place and it was really fun to explore. Unfortunately, when the seating began we were asked to move multiple times because of reserved seating and it made the dinner portion of our evening very very annoying. Luckily, the entertainment after dinner was awesome.

  • Thier were a ton of really cool birds.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

must see

Reviewed by: TN traveler, 2014/12/04

I made this a part of my 2nd nights activities and had a wonderful time. I had shuttle service from hotel free to a gorgeous park. The food was excellent and drinks were very good. I had the Mai Tai and Hawaiian punch. Take a camera because the park is amazing. Smoking is near the bathroom , fyi :) this company has best ratings with trip advisor. I would love to see it again. Oh video camera because no flash photos. You need $20 to purchase the photo taken upon arrival. Have fun!

  • cheeze!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]