This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian Dinner Show with Fire Knife Dancing

Smith Family Luau

Reviewed by: Uma, 2018/09/06

Amazing place, hospitality and food!! Enjoyed the spectacular show they had!! Great dancers and ambience!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good, but not the best

Reviewed by: Andy, 2018/09/05

The food was very good, and the show was good as well. My only real complaint is the time gap between events happening. We arrived and were treated to a tram tour of the botanical gardens, which is fabulous. After that we had approximately 40 minutes before the Imu ceremony where they pull the pig out of the oven. Although we further explored the gardens, there's only so many times you can admire a flower or tree. My wife and I decided to find seats (open seating for parties less than 5), and we choose poorly. The bar doesn't open until after the Imu ceremony, so we weren't able to enjoy a drink (other than water) while we waited. After the Imu ceremony, the band started playing music and the bar opened. Once the buffet started, we realized our poor choice of seats, as we were among the last tables to be signaled for the buffet. At least we had drinks by that time, but the waiting wears on you. The food was good, but once we were finished, there was only the music to listen to. Normally this is an opportunity to talk to the other guests, but the seating arrangement isn't conducive to starting a conversation with strangers.
After another 30 minutes or dead time or so, we moved from the dining area to the theater. The show was entertaining, with traditional dances and music, but it just didn't flow as a story for me. I felt like it was more of a documentary of Hawaiian dance. My wife and I were ready to go when it was over (even before).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a great time!

Reviewed by: TLS, 2018/09/03

Very nice and friendly staff. Great food and excellent show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice surprise

Reviewed by: Mikaela, 2018/08/29

My idea about a Luau was...some food and a little bit of Tahitian dancing on a hotel property...This is what we saw year after year walking on Kaanapali beach - Maui .

Smith Family Garden Luau IT IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT- worth attending. They are very well organized and offer you a unique experience!

1. You get greeted by a local girl and boy who are offering a lei and at this point you get a group picture taken- nice touch- no pressure to buy it,

2.They offer you a tour of the garden and after that you have time to wander by yourself- 50 min- until they do the pork ceremony.

3. You are invited to your table- parties 6 or more have assigned seats- very thoughtful. They have a neat system to invite you to get the food without overcrowding the area. BTW- plenty of good food and drinks.
4. During the meal they entertain you : a little bit of dancing and singing and they invite people from the crowd to teach them how to dance. It was really neat !!
4. After the meal you are invited to an outdoor theater for an 1 hour show. It was A REAL show...lights, music...put together very professional! Enough seats for everyone, you can seethe scene from every seat . At the entrance you can pick up your photos.


I think it is the only Luau worth attending :)


  • In the garden

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best luau ever!!!!

Reviewed by: Jessica Sturholm , 2018/08/04

Best luau ever! Food was amazing! Drinks were strong! ❤️


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An authentic Polynesian evening in Kauai

Reviewed by: Darcy, 2018/06/06

On our last night on the island, my friend and I went to the Smith's Luau, and it was one of our most memorable times on Kauai. It was not only informative, but entertaining as well. You can tell that this family owned and operative business is run with love and a true appreciation for Hawaiian culture.

The tram ride took us along the huge gardens, and was a great way to get a quick view of the area. I loved that they have a herd of goats! The babies were just so cute! It was also close to where they were doing the imu or underground oven ceremony. Picture time!

The food was plentiful and really tasty. I loved that they had entertainment (music and dancing) while we ate, and the only thing is that I would personally skip the fruit punch. It was just too sweet! But the food, man! I had two full plates and would have had more, but would have ended up rolling out of there.

Our night concluded with some fantastic performances, and although they weren't the most polished, they were filled with sincerity and a love of hula that can't be matched. You can tell that they truly enjoy being on that stage and it is just so moving. Really happy we went :)







Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best luau ever!

Reviewed by: Margot & Gene, 2018/04/30

The family owned luau was extremely well run from the warm greetings, the shell lei and pictures to a tour of the gardens, the ceremony of retrieving the pig and delicious dinner and drinks. We especially enjoyed the variety of the show. The dancers were suberb! We'd recommend this luau experience to everyone

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2018/02/12

Best luau I’ve been to! Very spacious and well organized! The food is delicious and everyone is very friendly! This was my second time and I’d do it again! Well worth the money!






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Educational and professional luau

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2018/01/07

The smith family runs a professional operation. Everything was well-timed. Tram through the gardens to the imu presentation was nice. Ability to walk through the gardens was nice as much as you want is nice. Imu (unearthing the cooked pig) was interesting. Food at dinner was good, though open air dining room was not was I would have expected. Show was in an amphitheater nearby and again not what I expected, but visibility was good for all. The show was very well done, the right length and I appreciated the educational sharing of different types of dance to immigrants from different countries. Very enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau on the island

Reviewed by: Pijones, 2017/12/21

Food is great, ground are amazing. This is more like a family than a production

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

SO great!

Reviewed by: Rick, 2017/11/25

Loved attending this with my family and friends. Have already recommended it to other people!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best show

Reviewed by: Ria Starr BC CDN, 2017/11/18

What a great night
A family run show and grounds
Well done
Really enjoyed the show and wowzers the meal
Outstanding
Gonna have to bump up my exercise program
This month
Mahalo
To many more

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome food and show!

Reviewed by: Angela C, 2017/11/04

We enjoyed the experience. The food was delicious! Everyone was so nice. My 3yr old enjoyed watching the show, it's very entertaining. Definitely worth going!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: J&S F, 2017/10/28

Beautiful location and great experience! Food was very good. Staff super friendly. The show was very good. Gardens were beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Family Garden Luau

Reviewed by: Sandra McCarthy, 2017/10/15

Beautiful location, great food and fantastic performances of Hawaiian culture! The entire evening was very well organized and the people so gracious and accommodating. We Loved it and recommend it highly!


  • Hulu dancerd


  • Beautiful scene in Fern grotto


  • Uncovering of Pig ceremony

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau

Reviewed by: Sue, 2017/10/08

We had a great day at Luau. It was loud in area while we eat maybe they don't need to

play and sing all the dinner time. Great food and drink.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smiths luau

Reviewed by: Cindi, 2017/10/05

Outstanding food helpful staff and the show was amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Fun

Reviewed by: Bruce Cariker, 2017/09/20

Very good for what it was billed as. Good food, great dancing, maybe a bit Disneyesque. The fire knife dancer was a bit into himself, milking the audience for extra applause for his displays of skill. Dinner and show were well run, smooth and essentially seamless. Dinner seating was very good. Seats at the show venue, while padded, became a bit hard and narrow after awhile. I suppose it's the tradeoff required to get that many people within a good viewing distance of the show. Worth seeing again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Gardens

Reviewed by: Julia, 2017/09/17

Great night. The hosts were warm and welcoming. I loved walking around the gardens.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Karen Ramlal, 2017/09/16

Amazing show thank you food was delicious
Keep up the good work

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Food!

Reviewed by: Daniel H, 2017/09/08

Attended with my wife on our honeymoon. My first Luau, and I loved it! Mr. Smith is a super chill dude, the food was great, and the show was awesome too!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2017/08/27

It was very busy. Good food but my gluten free meal was brought 20 minutes after I was full from the salads provided. However I ate the pork , chicken from the buffet style feast and food was well labelled so I had no reaction to the food I ate considering I am allergic to wheat. Very nice staff. Show was good. I wished there was more history and traditional dance wear. The high pitched whale noises the one lady made hurt my ears for every song. I wished the warrior dance was longer as I enjoyed the drums and seeing less women dancers hehe. The fire show was the best part. Thanks so much smith family!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Alexander, 2017/08/23

We attended the Smith Family Garden Luau for our 13th Wedding Anniversary. This experience was outstanding and would do it again and again. The food was amazing, the people were friendly, and the show was educational.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: droth88, 2017/07/15

My wife and I attended the Smith Family Luau after the cruise to the fern grotto. The entire experience was amazing. The Smith family themselves were welcoming and gracious, the staff was easy to talk to and helpful. The food was out of this world good, especially for a large buffet. Even a downpour couldn't stop us from having a fantastic time. I recommend the luau to everyone and anyone looking for a once in a lifetime experience.


  • Smith Family Luau

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wunderbar!

Reviewed by: Jake the film guy, 2017/06/15

Great food, amazing fire juggling, and HUGE grounds - perfect for families with kids who need to run around. Lots of animals (peacocks, goats, etc.) for the kids to see too.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau

Reviewed by: George, 2017/05/23

My wife and I both enjoyed the luau at Smiths. The grounds are beautiful and the facilities are well maintained. The friendly family service provided by the Smiths was first rate. The food at the luau was incredible and plentiful. Open bar lasted about 1 1/2 hours featuring "mai tais" and beer. The luau show had a very real feel to, not like a "Hollywood" production and was fantastic. They accepted the Veltra voucher without any question. Loved the experience. Thanks to the Smith family and Veltra.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Like many yet so different

Reviewed by: Chris P, 2017/05/20

Didn't expect the tropical garden setting. Didn't expect dinner with live music and then the show.
Pleasantly surprised at the subtle differences to others I've been too. Made me sit up and actually really take notice.
Thoroughly enjoyed everything and would recommend this Luau by far.


  • Curtain call


  • Fires setting the mood over the lake


  • Welcome :-)


  • Trying to be in the show?

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good

Reviewed by: Roxie, 2017/04/15

It was good
, but seemed better in years past
The dancing was nice pictures were a little bit to expensive

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful luau

Reviewed by: Lois jenken, 2017/03/25

Would highly recommend as the food was great and loved the music and the show

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

January Hawaii trip

Reviewed by: Neal Reader, 2017/02/27

Excellent faciltilies, food and service was great. Show after dinner was awesome.
Only complaing not enough time to explore the gardens before Luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |