Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Overall Rating

4.71 4.71 / 5

Reviews

292 reviews
Post a review

Great family fun

Reviewed by: Lori B, 2024/06/20

Food was fantastic
Show was entertaining
Gardens were spectacular

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Family Friendly Luau

Reviewed by: LaRisa Replogle, 2024/06/18

We absolutely loved the Smith Family Luau and the show! Upon arrival we were greeted with warm smiles and small shell leis, took a Family photo and hopped on a shuttle for a tour of the grounds. After the shuttle ride was over we were able to walk about the property, feed the birds, and enjoy the gorgeous grounds. The emu Ceremony was wonderful. We especially liked the stories and history told by the host of the Laua and the Polynesian & Fire Dance after the dinner. The dances being performed over the water made it new and exciting for our family. We will definitely be back if we ever get the chance to visit Kauai again. Mahalo.

  • The family photo, minus the two workers on either side.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Show!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/04/25

Authentic experience, the crew really goes extra to explain hawaiian histories!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great luau! A little late for jet lagged kids

Reviewed by: KW, 2024/04/05

Great luau! A little late for our 3 and 5 year old (no dinner, just the show). But they slept on the benches with our jackets and we were able to enjoy the show. Next time, I would plan this later in the trip than our 2nd night so the kids could have enjoyed it more. Jet lag was tough on the little ones!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

“Ohana”

Reviewed by: San Francisco , 2024/03/02

The Smith family really made you feel like “Ohana”. They were very welcoming and embraced and welcomed each and every guest with a pooka lai; photo, tram tour, exhibition on how pig was prepared and cooking process; unlimited buffet style meal with authentic cultural entrees, desserts and “poi”; and evening entertainment.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was ok

Reviewed by: B Denney, 2024/02/21

When I think of a Luau, I think of the movie with Adam Sandlin, Jennifer Aniston, and Nicole Kidman in Just Go With It - in Maui.

The Luau we attended here was different than my expectations. The arboretum on the property was beautiful and full of a variety of plants, trees, animals, and some sea life.

The buffet style food approach was ok, but nothing exceptional unfortunately.

After dinner, there was a show to reflect the Hawaiian history and culture through dance, which culminated in a one-man fire stick show.

Again, all okay. Probably the coolest thing to me was the fact that it's a family business of more than 5 generations. Hats off to them!

  • Cooking a pig underground

  • Cooking a pig underground 2

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai’s Got Talent

Reviewed by: Tempest535, 2024/02/02

Perfect experience! Enjoyed ourselves and learned a few things!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is a Kauai "Must See"!

Reviewed by: judi, 2023/11/19

There are several luaus that take place on the island of Kauai and I am not familiar with the others. Having said that, this show blew me away! I was not expecting such a beautiful, dramatic, outdoor setting, so many different types of dances, and a wonderful history of Hawaiian culture! My mother and I opted for the "show only" experience since we are not big carnivores. The check-in and tram ride were super efficient and helped to set the scene for the big show. As soon as the show started, I knew we'd made the right choice to see the Smith's Family Garden Luau. If you want an amazing experience for a very reasonable price, book this luau when you are in Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely the best Luau in the island

Reviewed by: camila and manny, 2023/10/25

The food, the show, the decoration, the stuff… everything on point

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a great production!

Reviewed by: Mary M, 2023/10/24

The uncovering of the pig was very interesting, and it tasted so very delicious, as well as everything else. The Smith family kept everyone well entertained. I would definitely see it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely Top-Notch Experience and Loving Staff

Reviewed by: Cameron Immesoete, 2023/09/23

I've been fortunate to attend somewhere between 10 and 12 different Lu'aus, mostly in O'ahu, Kaua'i, Maui, and Hawai'i. Our experience at Smith's was superior for the following reasons:

1. Atmosphere and ambience: the Garden is absolutely beautiful, and few lu'aus have an ambience like this. Another good one for this to be fair is the Polynesian Cultural Center Lu'au.
2. Authenticity: the Polynesian & Fire Show, and other traditions (like pulling the pig from the earth) encompassed in the lu'au, were top-notch and very well-executed.
3. The Food & Drinks: a greater variety, quantity, and quality of food & drinks were offered here versus any other lu'au I've attended. There were two times as many food choices, and thanks to the buffet style, you can feast on them all.
4. The Staff: the staff here is so genuinely kind. My fiancee and I biked a few miles over to this lu'au and we had to bike back in the dark. Our hostess ran to her car and gave us some headlamps! It was so kind of her. We're really grateful for the Smith Family team.

Thank you all very much. I highly, highly, highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do in Kauai!!

Reviewed by: Sabra , 2023/09/21

This luau is informing and very exciting! They talk a lot about the past of Kauai and ancestral history. Price point at only $25 (without dinner) is absolutely great, especially for families with little ones. Handicap seating is available. Main seating area is at a slant so if you want to sit towards the bottom (closer) come early. My 1 year old even loved it and was clapping. Attire is Hawaiian style and it’s wonderful to see all the cool outfits. Bathrooms are close by and water is provided. I felt it ran a bit short this time compared to last year but it was still super amazing and would 100% go again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent 10 out of 10

Reviewed by: Etcheverry , 2023/08/04

So good highly recommend great food, amazing show, loved it all!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great cultural experience

Reviewed by: Angie, 2023/07/13

Beautiful venue, dancing, music, and storytelling. All the performers were very talented. We enjoyed the show - it was a great way to spend our last evening in Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best all around

Reviewed by: Kimberly Tan , 2023/07/07

We have been to several luaus on different islands. The total experience here from start to finish was excellent. The grounds are beautiful with a lot of great photo opportunities and the food was surprisingly delicious! The drinks were tasty and they kept them coming. The show was not only entertaining with traditional components but had a flare of different cultures that really added to the experience! Absolutely a must when choosing which luau to attend. I was worried when the price was significantly more affordable but wow was I ever so happy with my choice. Would definitely recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exciting Show

Reviewed by: Gage, 2023/05/25

Staff did a wonderful job. Beautiful lush garden setting. Tram and set up was wonderful. Just paid for the show -- best deal on the island. Seemed like a few dancers at different parts of the show forgot what they were doing. It was actually kind of laughable. Other than that, all-in-all it was a good time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our trip

Reviewed by: JAV, 2023/05/24

This was my first luau and I was impressed! We had a very nice cruise to the fern grotto first which seamlessly ended right before the luau entrance time began. The location from the dock to the entrance was also very close by. The whole evening was seamlessly organized. We had a time to get there, get cocktails, watch the unearthing of the pig, then get the buffet. They let people know when to go to the buffet so it wasn’t a swarm. Love the limited open bar as well! People also were handing out drinks on trays so the bar line wasn’t an issue. I am vegetarian and since I specified ahead of time they gave a separate plate as well for me. The plate seems to be suitable for vegans as well. I was so full! I like the high chair for my toddler because it has a good table for him that was also removable. There is also an orchid garden and other gardens to walk or take a tram around to see. The show was also spectacular. Great transitions and dancing! Mahalo for a great night!

  • Vegetarian special plate

  • Stadium seating

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great and affordable show for a family of 5.

Reviewed by: Pilar, 2023/05/21

Our family booked the show only option and we had a wonderful time!
The performance was really colorful and the live music was a plus. The place is really pretty and well kept. All the people there were really nice! I highly recommend the experience. (We didn't do the whole Luau since we are vegan and we figured the meal experience wasn't for us)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith’s Luau

Reviewed by: Janine V., 2023/05/17

A beautiful property and well organized event. Everyone was friendly, the food was delicious and the show was spectacular! You can’t visit Kauai without attending Smith’s Tropical Paradise.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2023/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well put together production!

Reviewed by: Gary & Becky, 2023/05/08

Great location for a Luau. On the beach, cultural events, beautiful sunset, good food, talented performers. Great show!

  • Great ending to the day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Ana, 2023/04/02

Good show, just make sure you take bug spray, mosquitoes out in force.
Wonderful Performers, we all had fun and would go again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!!

Reviewed by: Mcdaniel, 2023/03/29

Amazing dinner and company thanks for the amazing entertainment

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great food, great show!

Reviewed by: kmarquez, 2023/03/07

The food was probably the best on the island! I 100% recommend this luau! The venue itself is gorgeous and they let you wander around until the event starts so definitely get there a little early, it's worthwhile! The show itself was great as well.

Don't miss out, definitely a must when in Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

True family atmosphere

Reviewed by: A visitors dream, 2023/03/04

The tour of the property was phenomenal! Such a warm and engaging family. The food was top notch and the show was beautiful. Highly recommend Smiths Family Luau!! My husband and I truly enjoyed the experience!

  • Even the peacock was proud

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful property, Excellent Food. Show Is Lacking.

Reviewed by: Yuchen, 2023/02/23

Really fun Luau!

GLOWS:
- Beautiful property. Got to see a peacock open its tail -Lots of great picture spots on the property.
- The food was delicious!! I finally got to try all the traditional Hawaiian food in one place. Things that I didn't get to order in the restaurants, I got here. And it was All You Can Eat which is always amazing. There was no shortage of food for sure. Since they gave you a ton of time (I think an hour?) to eat, you can take your time and go back for 2nd's or 3rd's. (All you can drink drinks but I don't drink alcohol so I enjoyed their juices which were great too!).
- Pig Ceremony!! I got to see them dig out the pig and see the whole thing. It felt special as Mr. Smith explained all that was happening.
- Good singing and hula dancing! Get on the stage and shake your booty!!
- Fire dancer in the show was great!
- This is a family run operation and we were told there were 3 generations on the property!! Keep it up!
- I appreciated the shout outs for all the celebrations that everyone was doing. From Birthdays to Anniversaries and everything in between. One big party!

GROWS:
- Honestly, a Luau is part food and part show and the show was really just lacking. There was no spirit in the performers. I'm not sure if they were bored/tired of doing it night after night or what but I felt almost bad for them(mainly the ladies). The crew was small so they had to do a lot of different dances with the same performers, there was no energy or spirit in any of the dances. Favorite part was definitely the Fire dancer - he was fantastic. The guys also carried a lot more energy than the ladies. I do appreciate the way they tried to incorporate different cultural dances into the show but they all started to look the same after one or two dances. I would've left halfway through the show if it weren't for the fire dancer at the end.

  • Fire dancer!

  • All the foods!

  • THE PIG!

  • The stage for the show

  • Pig ceremony

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful evening!

Reviewed by: Joanne P, 2023/01/14

Everything about this experience was perfect! The grounds are so beautiful. The food was very good and plentiful, as were the drinks! The show was great and I like that it was presented separately from dinner in their amphitheater. Everyone was very welcoming in the true spirit of Aloha!
Over the years, I have attended several luaus in Hawaii, at different venues on 3 of the islands and the Smith Family Luau on Kauai was by far the best!! I’m so glad that when I was researching which luau to choose that I chose them! My husband, our son, our daughter and her fiancé, and I want to extend a huge mahalo to the Smith Family for a wonderful evening!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Above and beyond expectations.

Reviewed by: Jason V, 2022/12/21

The Smith Family are true Hawaiians. Reasonably priced and gave their all. Best family experience of our trip. Mahalo Smith Family for a memorable experience. A must when coming to Kauai

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

colorful, lively, exciting show

Reviewed by: Ellen, 2022/09/28

We saw the show only and loved it! The dancing was exciting and engaging. the costumes were beautiful. The fire show at the end was worth waiting for! We sat in the front row. All the seats have a great view and are very comfortable in an outdoor theatre shielded by a roof. If you get to the parking lot before sunset, you will see thousands of parrots searching for the ideal tree to sleep in and making lots of noise with their murmurations. If there is road work on the main highway, try to park closer to the Marina where the barge leaves or you might get stuck waiting 20 minutes with 200 other cars until the road crew reopens the road.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Showcase of cultural diversity with positive role models on an amazing property

Reviewed by: mromines, 2022/09/19

Smith's Garden facilities were very nice and the atmosphere was wonderful. The show was different than Luau's I have seen before.

This show was a showcase of dance routines representing the different migrant groups that arrived in Hawaii. It was a show that my tween most prefered and really enjoyed. Smith's keeps in line with providing an authentic array of cast members, which makes Hawaiian preformances stand ahead from those on the mainland. You will see dancers of all ages and women of all sizes represented. It is not only important for young ones to see a variety of people represented but watching people who don't look like a barbie blowing everyone out of the water is in itself a wonderful experience.

Personally, I like Kalamaku's cohesive Tahitian migration/myth story better. Kalamaku also has a larger male presence which performs at a higher level, which I felt more appealing. That being said, I think Smith's was the right choice for bringing my kid and I appreciate that each show is original. I definitely recommend Smith's luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tropical Garden show

Reviewed by: North Idahoans, 2022/09/10

Enjoyed all the performances and the historical/cultural commentary as well. Also enjoyed how the fire dancer interacted with the audience. Beautiful setting surrounding the stage with the fire latterns and ponds. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Categories