Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Overall Rating

4.64 4.64 / 5

Reviews

246 reviews
Post a review

Beautiful experience

Reviewed by: Irene M, 2019/11/09

We were originally not going to attend a luau but decided last minute to do so as this was recommended by locals as a must do experience. The family and staff were wonderful, absolutely loved talking to the Aunties. The food was good with a variety to choose from. The show incorporated different dances representing the different backgrounds in Hawaiian culture in addition to the Polynesian beginnings. The gardens were beautiful. Definitely recommend this luau as you get not just food and a show but a chance to walk through the gardens with a tram tour to start and also to talk to the friendly staff. They all have such wonderful stories and experiences to share!

  • Too much food to choose from but must have the kalua pork!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous Luau on Kauai

Reviewed by: Kim in PA , 2019/11/09

Our only opportunity for a Luau was on Kauai when our ship overnighted. This was an excellent choice. Optional transportation from cruise ship, be prepared for long lines, was a great add on. You arrive in plenty of time to explore all the gardens with time to spare before the Imu Ceremony. Lots of time to find a seat in the pavilion before your table is invited to the buffet line. After you are done eating, make your way to the theater to get a good seat for the show. It's a good show, but goes on a bit too long. Make your way back to the parking lot to board your bus for the short ride back to the cruise terminal.

  • Chicken run wild on Kauai

  • Peacock at Smith Family Luau

  • Gardens at Smith Family Gardens

  • Flowers at Smith Family Gardens

  • Gardens at Smith Family Gardens

  • View from the dinner pavillion Smith Family Luau

  • Gardens at Smith Family Gardens

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great night full of delicious food and a fun show

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2019/09/25

The gardens here are so beautiful and I loved getting the time to be able to walk around at our own pace after taking the tram around before the events started. Getting to see the Imu ceremony was one of the best parts to me, it was very neat to be able to see how they cook the pig! The food was delicious and they had a nice variety to choose from and the fire knife portion of the show was amazing! We had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau!

Reviewed by: MikeC, 2019/09/08

This was our third time attending the Smith Luau.
The whole venue/event is first class starting with the tour of the beautiful grounds and gardens.
That is followed by the ceremony of removing the pig from the cooking pit and the history surrounding that.
After a short break, its time for the luau buffet which has incredible salads, pork, chicken, etc... and an open bar with a nice selection of drinks available and their mai tais, of course.
During the buffet, there is live entertainment on a stage for all to see. If you're lucky, Kameka Smith will be there and he is very entertaining and has a pretty darn good voice.
After the buffet, everyone walks to an outdoor stage and is treated to an hour plus long theatrical production featuring fire, drummers, dancers, live music and a historical narration of the origins and history surrounding Hawaii. The show alone is worth going for, but throw in the gardens, the delicious food, constant entertainment and its the BEST.

PS - Don't forget to say hello to Auntie Cecilia. She met Elvis 4 times!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Luau

Reviewed by: Judy, 2019/09/01

The entire evening was so great because we had time to relax on the beautiful grounds and take pictures before dinner. The dinner was first class with so much food. The employees were so attentive and spoke to us often. The entertainment is of course very professional. This is a treasure to have these traditions kept alive. Thank you so much. We were sad when it ended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Dee, 2019/08/25

The food was delicious but very little time to eat! We were seated in a table where we were the last to be fed which was ok but thought they would give us more time to eat & drink. The garden is beautiful and enjoyable! The Smith's Luau was a great choice.
The Show was great too!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Bethany Matlock, 2019/08/11

This was such a great time!! Awesome food!! Awesome show!!! Just an all around perfect time. We will for sure come again and recommend to everyone we know. The family is very hospitable and professional. Thank you for letting us be a part of your family. Mahalo!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun had by all!

Reviewed by: Virginia / Missouri, 2019/08/04

Greeted with Aloha and smiles.
We have been many times to this luau. We enjoy it every time. Food is good, and if you don’t get full it’s your fault. Plenty of alcohol too. Every thing included in price. You learn a little history at the show.
The Smith family is very attentive. They are the definition of Aloha!

  • Show following dinner.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Natalia, 2019/08/04

Beautiful property, wonderful food, and a very entertaining show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great time!

Reviewed by: Rebecca J, 2019/07/28

Our family of four had a great time! Everyone was friendly and helpful. The event lasted 4 hours from start to finish, and is the best luau that we have been to so far. We would definitely go back!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau ever!

Reviewed by: Karen, 2019/07/21

The grounds are amazing at the Smith Family luau! The food are delicious and the after dinner show is awesome, the best luau ever!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing show

Reviewed by: Ted/Ginger Williams, 2019/07/19

Love the food and show. Was disappointed with the garden areas..

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Luau

Reviewed by: Tom & Sharron, 2019/07/13

This was a return trip and we were not disappointed. The Smith family does a great job on their property, the food is AWESOME, and the entertainment is first class. I would highly recommend you try them out!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overall very good experience

Reviewed by: Keawalani , 2019/07/06

Nicely organized and fun filled event. Just performance isn’t that high level. Dancers were ok but not really professional level of dancers. Food was good. And overall experience was very good.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Family Garden Luau with a Toddler

Reviewed by: Patty, 2019/05/09

This was a good experience all the way around! Ordering tickets was easy through Veltra. Check in was seamless.
The 10 min tram ride around the beautiful grounds was just long enough to give an overview of the area but not so long that a 3 year old would get bored. They allowed time before dinner to walk around and get the wiggles out. The food was good and they even marked the gluten free dishes. There was another break before the show to run around and use the restrooms (even had a golf cart to transport there & back). The acts were exciting enough, and short enough to keep the toddler entertained and the fire dancer was great! Only drawbacks: cell service almost non-existent (hard to connect with late arrivers), lots of waiting to get in because of the photo line-maybe do it after tram ride).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Family Fun

Reviewed by: Nevin, 2019/04/07

The Smiths family luau was very well organized. They took care of all the guest and made you feel very welcomed. The food was very delicious and the show was very well done with incredible dancing and special effects. You not only go there to have a good time, but you learn the history of the island and all it has to offer. I would rate this as a Superior experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau Experience

Reviewed by: Noble, 2019/03/04

Our whole party of six was pleasantly surprised by the Smith's Family Garden Luau. We have been to other luaus and this rates as the best so far. The grounds are beautiful! The food and service was excellent! The staff were very friendly. The dinner entertainment was nice and the after dinner show was very good and informative of Hawaiian cultural history.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Karri, 2019/02/23

This was my first trip to Hawaii and my first Luau. The Smith family did an amazing job. The food was delicious and the show was outstanding. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Show was wonderful!

Reviewed by: T. G., 2019/01/22

The grounds of the Smith Family Luau are beautiful, kept up well. The unearthing of the pig was a great experience. The food, well, it was okay, nothing special. The mai tai's were a funny brown color, not sure what juice was in it. The best part was the show. The music and dancers were amazing! So happy we were able to see it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's family luau

Reviewed by: Peggy , 2018/12/03

We had a fantastic time at the luau. Delicious food and a fabulous show. This is a must do on Kauai. The gardens are also beautiful and includes a guided tram ride thru them. Great service. Loved the transportation to the luau and home.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

More tribal and fire dancing

Reviewed by: Karen , 2018/10/25

The food and staff were excellent. Would like to have seen more of tribal danciing like the Tahiti dance with the drums and the fire danceing .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Family Luau

Reviewed by: Uma, 2018/09/06

Amazing place, hospitality and food!! Enjoyed the spectacular show they had!! Great dancers and ambience!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good, but not the best

Reviewed by: Andy, 2018/09/05

The food was very good, and the show was good as well. My only real complaint is the time gap between events happening. We arrived and were treated to a tram tour of the botanical gardens, which is fabulous. After that we had approximately 40 minutes before the Imu ceremony where they pull the pig out of the oven. Although we further explored the gardens, there's only so many times you can admire a flower or tree. My wife and I decided to find seats (open seating for parties less than 5), and we choose poorly. The bar doesn't open until after the Imu ceremony, so we weren't able to enjoy a drink (other than water) while we waited. After the Imu ceremony, the band started playing music and the bar opened. Once the buffet started, we realized our poor choice of seats, as we were among the last tables to be signaled for the buffet. At least we had drinks by that time, but the waiting wears on you. The food was good, but once we were finished, there was only the music to listen to. Normally this is an opportunity to talk to the other guests, but the seating arrangement isn't conducive to starting a conversation with strangers.
After another 30 minutes or dead time or so, we moved from the dining area to the theater. The show was entertaining, with traditional dances and music, but it just didn't flow as a story for me. I felt like it was more of a documentary of Hawaiian dance. My wife and I were ready to go when it was over (even before).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a great time!

Reviewed by: TLS, 2018/09/03

Very nice and friendly staff. Great food and excellent show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice surprise

Reviewed by: Mikaela, 2018/08/29

My idea about a Luau was...some food and a little bit of Tahitian dancing on a hotel property...This is what we saw year after year walking on Kaanapali beach - Maui .

Smith Family Garden Luau IT IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT- worth attending. They are very well organized and offer you a unique experience!

1. You get greeted by a local girl and boy who are offering a lei and at this point you get a group picture taken- nice touch- no pressure to buy it,

2.They offer you a tour of the garden and after that you have time to wander by yourself- 50 min- until they do the pork ceremony.

3. You are invited to your table- parties 6 or more have assigned seats- very thoughtful. They have a neat system to invite you to get the food without overcrowding the area. BTW- plenty of good food and drinks.
4. During the meal they entertain you : a little bit of dancing and singing and they invite people from the crowd to teach them how to dance. It was really neat !!
4. After the meal you are invited to an outdoor theater for an 1 hour show. It was A REAL show...lights, music...put together very professional! Enough seats for everyone, you can seethe scene from every seat . At the entrance you can pick up your photos.


I think it is the only Luau worth attending :)

  • In the garden

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best luau ever!!!!

Reviewed by: Jessica Sturholm , 2018/08/04

Best luau ever! Food was amazing! Drinks were strong! ❤️

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An authentic Polynesian evening in Kauai

Reviewed by: Darcy, 2018/06/06

On our last night on the island, my friend and I went to the Smith's Luau, and it was one of our most memorable times on Kauai. It was not only informative, but entertaining as well. You can tell that this family owned and operative business is run with love and a true appreciation for Hawaiian culture.

The tram ride took us along the huge gardens, and was a great way to get a quick view of the area. I loved that they have a herd of goats! The babies were just so cute! It was also close to where they were doing the imu or underground oven ceremony. Picture time!

The food was plentiful and really tasty. I loved that they had entertainment (music and dancing) while we ate, and the only thing is that I would personally skip the fruit punch. It was just too sweet! But the food, man! I had two full plates and would have had more, but would have ended up rolling out of there.

Our night concluded with some fantastic performances, and although they weren't the most polished, they were filled with sincerity and a love of hula that can't be matched. You can tell that they truly enjoy being on that stage and it is just so moving. Really happy we went :)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best luau ever!

Reviewed by: Margot & Gene, 2018/04/30

The family owned luau was extremely well run from the warm greetings, the shell lei and pictures to a tour of the gardens, the ceremony of retrieving the pig and delicious dinner and drinks. We especially enjoyed the variety of the show. The dancers were suberb! We'd recommend this luau experience to everyone

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2018/02/12

Best luau I’ve been to! Very spacious and well organized! The food is delicious and everyone is very friendly! This was my second time and I’d do it again! Well worth the money!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Educational and professional luau

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2018/01/07

The smith family runs a professional operation. Everything was well-timed. Tram through the gardens to the imu presentation was nice. Ability to walk through the gardens was nice as much as you want is nice. Imu (unearthing the cooked pig) was interesting. Food at dinner was good, though open air dining room was not was I would have expected. Show was in an amphitheater nearby and again not what I expected, but visibility was good for all. The show was very well done, the right length and I appreciated the educational sharing of different types of dance to immigrants from different countries. Very enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]