Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.27 4.27 / 5

Reviews

1636 reviews
Post a review

Awesome trip!

Reviewed by: Zaza, 2021/05/10

I love staffs. They are so nice and took good care of us. They even help you take a photo. Worth it!

  • Happy mode

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time!!

Reviewed by: Giselle, 2021/05/06

I had an amazing time with the Captain Bob crew! The sandbar was absolutely beautiful and views overall were incredible. Lunch was provided and actually very tasty! The crew was fun and added to the experience. I would definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must Do Tour!!!

Reviewed by: Shalon, 2021/05/03

This was hands down the best highlight our my trip!!! The staff Captain Iggy, Mike, Paul and Yuki were super sweet, accommodating, and helpful! I will definitely do it again! I recommend doing this 10 out of 10!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would do it again!

Reviewed by: Deb, 2021/04/12

Had a great time! Played volleyball on the sandbar for about an hour while the water was about 2.5 feet deep. Had a good hearty lunch with hamburgers, baked beans, pineapple, and a bag of chips. Boat then toured us over an area where sea turtles usually are. We saw well over 2 dozen, some were on the small side and some were massive in size. Boat moved over to the moon shaped reef where we snorkled for about an hour. Saw many tropical fish.
.Wear lots of sunblock and reapply.
Ample parking and easy to find.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommended by Mr. Aloha

Reviewed by: Make Maka, 2020/03/07

We had an amazing time! Great all around experience and the crew was professional and very informative as well as tremendously fun to be around. Do not hesitate to jump aboard.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour

Reviewed by: Doug Shuma, 2020/02/23

The crew was delightful. The boats were comfortable. The BBQ burger for lunch was a nice surprise. Time to practice snorkeling at the sandbar was perfect for my girlfriend. We saw a ton of turtles and then the snorkeling was fantastic!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Brandi Bommarito, 2020/01/25

The crew was amazing and so was the tour. We honestly wanted to pay to do it again. The sandbar was so awesome and snorkeling was so much fun. It was the best experience we had on the island. The hamburger were great and hit the spot. Thanks again to our wonderful crew. It is a memory my whole family will cherish forever

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: Elaine, 2020/01/18

The tour was cool and a nice memory !
Walking and playing beach volleyball in the middle of the ocean ! Also saw lots of seaturtles !! Awesome ! Nice tour !

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stop Reading Reviews

Reviewed by: Kent and Megan, 2019/12/14

You read the description of the tour first and now you want to make sure it's worth it.... Sandbar, volleyball, basic but tasty lunch (charcoal grill), turtle and manta spotting, and then snorkeling a coral reef. Is this something you want to do, surrounded by natural beauty?

Stop reading reviews and book the trip.

We did this tour on a rainy, windy day in 2018 and loved it! We came back and did it again in December 2019 and had a warm, sunny day and lucked out with really good visibility. The coral reef is just that; when you're underwater the live corals extend much beyond what you can see. It's not just a single live colony every once in a while like Hanauma. Where one huge colony/color/texture ends, others begin. That's what I wanted to see and this tour lets you get plenty of time in the water. The crew is always enthusiastic about the experience, has lots of fun themselves, and is highly attentive to passengers. We'll absolutely be back for a 3rd time.

Mahalo Captain Bob's crew!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun in the sun!

Reviewed by: Emily, 2019/08/30

Nice folks running the show, met a couple people who are now on my FB friends. Hubby was able to get another burger! Playing Volleyball out in the middle of the Ocean is quite an XP. Plus, we get to see Turtles swimming around. So overall, a success!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day trip for the whole family!

Reviewed by: from SF, CA, 2019/08/25

Our group of 3 adults and 3 kids (12 yrs, 10, 10) took this trip a few weeks back during our vacation. We were not in the hotel zone so drove ourselves to Kaneohe Marina. Quick boat trip out to the sand bar, then to find honu (sea turtles) and finally out to a reef for some amazing snorkeling. Lunch (surprisingly delicious) was in there somewhere. Our crew was great - super nice, friendly and knowledgeable. Enjoyed hearing about Kaneohe Bay and the surrounding area. The only improvement I'd ask for is a bit more time out at the sandbar - felt like we could have stayed longer but other than that, everyone had a great time. We visit Hawaii every summer and try to hit new spots and new activities each visit. Our group agreed that we'd do this trip again if we could. Have fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of My Trip!

Reviewed by: Emily , 2019/08/23

this was such a fun excursion! I really loved the sandbar experience. It was absolutely beautiful and I would definitely do this tour again with my family. We were able to take our 10 month old and she enjoyed it. We also brought her infant floatie and let her swim at the sandbar. The staff were so friendly and provided great customer service. We originally kept trying to book this tour but saw no availability until I checked the day before leaving for Hawaii and I was so happy we got confirmed to do the tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Traveling from NH, 2019/07/20

Captain Bob’s Trip was awesome!! Top notch! It started with a beautiful catamaran ride and really fun energetic exciting crew! These people made you feel very safe and welcome and ensured everyone was having an exceptional time!
The sand bar and volleyball were breathtakingly beautiful and so much fun! Whether you are a professional volleyball player or a 5 year old, it all seemed to work out just as it should and everyone had an amazing time!
The BBQ was delicious, drinks, bar, everything was perfect! Grilling off the side of a catamaran on a sandbar in Oahu! What more could you ask for!
Seeing the turtles was amazing and the snorkeling was fantastic as well! Plenty of really nice equipment, instruction, safety always a priority with this crew! I would recommend this excursion and experience 100%! Also- a nice tour bus picks you up at your hotel or close to it if you need a ride! Fantastic transportation. Very well run and organized! We met some really nice people on the excursion and the crew was the best! Enjoy!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Chrissy, 2019/06/30

This excursion was so much fun. The staff went out of their way to make our time great. The hamburgers were great and the alcoholic drinks were available for $5 which is a good price here. We saw Manta Rays which they said wasn’t so common and two giant turtles.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Do it!

Reviewed by: Jessica C, 2019/06/15

Beautiful and a lot of fun!! The staff was knowledgeable and very friendly. I loved seeing the sea turtles and feeding the fish on the snorkeling part of the excursion. Sandbar volleyball was fun! I LOVED this excursion!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely Amazing!

Reviewed by: Morgan, 2019/05/12

I can't say enough about this trip.

It was absolutely amazing, the crew went out of their way to make everyone happy. They even brought me a beer while I was standing on the sandbar, imagine that...

Take this trip, it is worth every dollar!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Sandbar & Snorkeling Tour! Loved everything about it!

Reviewed by: Karla M., 2019/03/01

Absolutely beautiful! Omg, I can't even describe this beauty. Breathtaking & amazing. Being able to enjoy this creation of nature was beyond beautiful. My boyfriend enjoyed it too but I was mesmerized. Worth every penny of our tour.
We did Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel Adventure & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour & it was excellent.
The crew was was just amazing. They were super nice, sweet, courteous.
Loved everything about this tour.

  • Sandbar!

  • Bootyful picture taken by BF at Sandbar!

  • Just loved every minute of it!

  • My love & I our way to the Sandbar. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very nice experience and awesome crew!

Reviewed by: Z Wu, 2019/01/11

It was really awesome experience due to the friendliness of the crew and the weather we had that day was just perfect. The burger that we were given for lunch was perhaps the best burger I've had on the sea. Definitely better than my expectations.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best kept secret on oahu

Reviewed by: STACY , 2018/12/23

We had done this excursion on our first trip last year. We had such an amazing time we decided to do it again
Upon our arrival at the marina our guide Jenner took excellent care of us but the best part was he remembered us from over a year ago the crew was exceptional we had a great lunch and saw lots of turtles. The snorkeling was fantastic
This is by far our favorite thing to do while on Oahu

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Outing

Reviewed by: Liz Li, 2018/12/01

An enjoyable trip and you will have plenty of time for each session of activity, including sandbar tour, snorkeling at private reef and burger lunch. It’s definitely worth for joining!

  • So much fun playing volleyball on sandbar !

  • We could see the big turtle !

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Times On The Boat

Reviewed by: MaanD, 2018/11/02

It was great taking this tour with our toddler. It was my second time to make it to Kaneohe SandBar. My first on Captain's Bobs boat. The Crew was great and even though your sharing the tour with everyone else on the boat It didn't feel cramp at all. It was great to share the experience with other guest.

The food was good too. Most of my friends and I went in for seconds for sure.

The Sandbar experience was great too, even though there were jellyfishes on the water the crew was very good about keeping us informed on where to not go so that we can prevent from getting stung by the jellyfishes.

While we were on the tour it rained but that's Hawaii for you. If anything it made the experience that much better:)

  • Relaxing at the back of the boat

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A highlight of our holiday!

Reviewed by: Ohana from Sydney, 2018/10/25

Our two families (4 adults and 3 kids under 10) would definitely recommend Captain Bobs sandbar cruise and it was a highlight of our holiday.
The team looked after us the entire time, from pick up to drop off. The entertainment, the scenic journey, the sandbar, volleyball, the turtles, the snorkelling, the bbq - gosh it was all amazing.
Thanks crew for the great time we had!
Mahalo!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling Adventure

Reviewed by: Marvin B., 2018/10/23

Every time I visit Hawaii, I always love to go Snorkeling and normally go to Hanauma Bay. This time we decided to try something different and was so glad we all went on Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel Adventure & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour. I enjoyed it so much that I will schedule it again next year. "Great job!" Captain Bob and crew, see you next year.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Juliet’s Last Splash on Captain Bob’s!

Reviewed by: Anna Fontanilla, 2018/10/02

The “booze cruise” as we called it(bachelorette party) definitely was amazing! The bride enjoyed it most(out of all the other activities we did that weekend) and that’s all that mattered. The boat crew were surprisingly interactive during our activities and even joined in our sandbar volleyball match. So much laughs and the scenery/water/weather was breath taking. Although we are from Maui and experience a lot of boating and time in the water, to the crew that worked September 29th, 2018(I didn’t get names) YOU ALL WERE FABULOUS!! Mahalo Mahalo Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Fumi, 2018/09/05

Super beautiful experience! I absolutely wanna participate this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The sandbar was the best place to play with my little son!

Reviewed by: kwack, 2018/09/04

It was the best time when we were in hawaii.
-we took a big bus at pick-up time.
-transfer to a boat. Access was easy with my little son.
-we had a wonderful time at the sandbar

The beach was excellent ; clean and quiet
Clew was also excellent ; kind and active
My little son had best play time in the water ; safe and fun

  • recommandable for little kids

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Staff, smooth ride and easy access to all equipment.

Reviewed by: Sean S, 2018/08/07

Mike and his staff we very nice and pleasant to be around as this was mine and my wife's first time snorkeling. The boat ride was comfortable, the sand bar was a fun expreience and was also a nice way to get comfortable using the equipment. Staff was very attentive while we were in the water and made sure everyone was safe. Would recommend this to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is Aloha life

Reviewed by: Robert, 2018/08/04

It was an excellent experience! The staff were outstanding and fun

  • It was an excellent experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable outing

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2018/08/04

We had always wanted to visit the Sandbar and snorkel in the Kaneohe area. Captain Bob's made it enjoyable . The crew was pleasant and the food was great. It was a relaxed atmosphere (meaning, not too regulated) so we could pretty much do whatever we wanted. There were lots of turtles and fish. The only drawback was that it was more crowded than I'd imagined it would be. Maybe it would be less busy when the keikis go back to school.

  • Snorkel companion

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing trip!

Reviewed by: Yoshiko, 2018/07/16

We had such a great time!
Such a friendly and amazing staffs!
We are so glad that we made our sand bar trip with captain bob.
I think his name is Mike, one of the staff, he even kindly gave us some information where we should visit in OAHU.
We were so amazed by their kind and warm welcome!!
Thank you so so much!

  • Friendly staff!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories