Page 2) Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch with Free Transportation reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch with Free Transportation

Overall Rating

4.35 4.35 / 5

Reviews

1878 reviews
Post a review

SO SO FUN & FRIENDLY!

Reviewed by: Sandee, 2022/09/10

The crew was amazing! And took care of all of the customers even had a separate boat for Japanese speaking only, so thoughtful to think of them. It was so fun going out to the Sandbar, and also took us turtle watching and snorkeling! And the burger was so good after some fun in the sun! I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone looking for some good fun, good food, and good company. All of us customers had a great time playing water volleyball with each other in the Sandbar! If you’ve been thinking about doing this, just do it, it’ll be such a fun experience to include in your Hawai’i trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect for families!!

Reviewed by: Brenda S, 2022/09/10

My and my family/friends were a total of 16 people. Including a 3 month baby. We had a blast!! Perfect for big groups, would 100% recommend. My parents really enjoyed their time there. My brother who doesn't know how to swim enjoyed the sandbar!! This tour is literally perfect for all ages and lifestyles. Great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best group activity hangout

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2022/09/05

I booked this activity for 24 of my friends and family so that we could hang out and do something fun after my wedding. The whole day was so great! The crew members were fun and helpful! Everyone in my group enjoyed the day. When I got stung by a Man-O-War, which I was warned about, the crew helped me immediately and I still had the best time!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty relax

Reviewed by: Tyc, 2022/09/03

The view is amazing, and everyone should go in the volleyball game. It is fun!

  • Beautiful scenery

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Kim , 2022/09/01

Staff was friendly and was an amazing experience. We enjoyed every part of it. Recommend to take nausea medicine if you’re sensitive. 2 of us did get motion sick.

  • Corral reef snorkeling

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Apply Sunscreen

Reviewed by: Shirley , 2022/08/29

It is a lot of fun, but make sure you apply sunscreen to every inch of your body to avoid sunburn . Sunburn can be extremely uncomfortable

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We love the cheeseburger

Reviewed by: Mandy, 2022/08/27

Fun! The cheeseburger was the best.

kind of crowded when everyone is snorkeling

But overall it’s a great activity!

  • Sea turtle

  • Sandbar

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I’d do it again if I could!!

Reviewed by: Skyler Foto , 2022/08/20

The entire experience was wonderful, especially the captain and crew. The food and drinks were great as well. My only complaint is that I wish our time at the sandbar was longer! We spent a good while at the snorkeling reef, but I wish our time at the sandbar was equal in length. 10/10 recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a BLAST

Reviewed by: Mikey, 2022/08/19

Extremely courteous, helpful, kind associates!
Rapid fire emcee , energetic and history lessons given free of charge
Awesome music, Very, very tasty hamburger , family friendly atmosphere and overall joyous vibes abound the excursion

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and Amazing Adventure!

Reviewed by: A Moreno, 2022/08/19

A must do while in Oahu! Great friendly staff, loved the bbq hamburgers. Volleyball, snorkeling and turtle watching. My favorite thing to do every time I visit Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience

Reviewed by: Dani, 2022/08/18

My family and I really enjoyed this experience. It was something that could be enjoyed by everybody, those more adventurous or for those who wanted to “chill.” The sandbar they took us to was a beautiful place and the snorkeling location was awesome. We saw different fish and even had a surreal experience swimming by sea turtles. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Paola, 2022/08/14

Beautiful day with a super crew! Sandbar and snorkling are magic!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend!

Reviewed by: Becky , 2022/08/13

Highly recommend! We had such a great time hope to be back again

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very friendly staffs, awesome experience, will come back again when I’m in the island!

Reviewed by: Alex J, 2022/08/11

Friendly staffs, clean equipments, tasty lunch, excellent job guys!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great all inclusive snorkeling trip!

Reviewed by: Serah, 2022/08/07

This was one of the easiest excursions we did on Oahu. Transportation to/from Waikiki, funny/friendly/knowledgeable hosts, bbq lunch and drinks were great, and the snorkeling gear and other ocean fun gear was included for the family. Definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must-Do for Locals and Visitors!

Reviewed by: Czarina, 2022/08/05

Honestly, my expectations for this tour was not high. Reviews seemed mixed all around (i.e., Yelp, Google, etc.) and what I "really" wanted was the tour that had all the additional activities, i.e., banana boat, stand-up paddle board, but it was completely booked. However, the experience on this specific tour was sooooo much better that I anticipated. I booked the reservation for 17 (14 adults + 3 children), with most visiting from the East Coast mainland with even quite a handful of locals for which this was their first time to Sandbar, and they were more than accommodating to our large party. At first, I thought the time allocation was too short for each excursion (1. Sandbar (1-hr), 2. Turtle watching (15 min.); 3. Snorkeling (1-hr)), but it was perfect! Any longer and it would have felt drawn out. The lunch tasted better than I expected. Not too little and definitely not too much (otherwise the kids would have vomitted!). So don't be discouraged by it JUST being a BBQ burger -- you'll be pleasantly surprised. Drinks were available on board - non-alcoholic (free) and alcoholic ($5 each) and they had quite a variety so don't worry about being parched! The boat staff was super energetic and had a really cool vibe. They informed you ahead of time of all the do's and don'ts and was always available to answer any and all questions and concerns. And lastly, the Captain really made the trip memorable! He was a lot of fun and you just knew he loved his job. The weather was perfect, so that too, helped to make the day. Overall, it was a very memorable experience and I look forward to recommending this tour package to the rest of our family and friends, local and visiting.

  • Post-Tour

  • Pre-Tour

  • Snorkeling!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kaneohe sandbar tour was an Adventure. Thanks to Capt. Eggy and crew. It was an experience my family and I won't forget. Mahalo.

Reviewed by: Kaponoakoni22, 2022/08/05

Capt Bob's sandbar tour was awesome. Capt Eggy and crew were A+. The snorkeling around the mini pop up reef was the highlight of the day. Running around the sandbar was fun. Getting to see Honus along the way was spectacular. Lunch was good. Capt Eggy and crew were very accommodating to everyone's needs. Highly recommend taking this tour. It was worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice to do, could be better

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2022/07/30

Overall the tour was nice but there were a few things I wish I had known beforehand.

1 - I went in July & the sandbar water height was about at my bottom (I'm 5' tall). It wasn't good for any toddlers because they wouldn't be able to stand on the sand, so we had to carry our 2 1/2 year old the whole time. Current is a little strong for the toddler too. I was hoping it would be the time of year where the water was below knee deep so the toddler can enjoy.

2 - the only activity on the sandbar was volleyball, which I don't play. Other tours had other activities listed on their tour which I wish this tour had, especially for the price! It was a more expensive tour than others & had less activities than other tours I was researching. Other tours had live music. For the price, it should have more perks, The only good thing was that this was available last minute & they got us in which I appreciated.

3 - The food was good & the hot chocolate at the end of the snorkeling portion was great! However, like some reviews said, you could at least give us fresh pineapple vs canned. That was horrendous for this being Hawaii. Burger, beans & bag of chips was perfect!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Making family memories!

Reviewed by: C Webster, 2022/07/29

Absolutely enjoyed the excursion. I was able to book for a family of 7 only days in advance. Glad that worked out for us! The crew was professional, fun, and caring. I was a first time snorkeler and non swimmer. One of the crew members was kind to tote me around the reef to help ease my anxiety. I saw a majestic turtle and fish! The bbq burger lunch was superb! They stayed on schedule. No complaints whatsoever. I would absolutely recommend booking on Veltra.com for booking with Captain Bob’s snorkel tour! It was quick and convenient. You won’t be disappointed. It made for a memorable day! Thank you to the Captain Bob’s crew! You guys were amazing!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Cynthia Wang, 2022/07/23

Absolutely amazing experience. Crew was awesome. Boat ride was fun, views were stunning, lunch exceptional. Snorkelling gear was provided and they even had flippers for everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent snorkeling trip

Reviewed by: Tara, 2022/07/23

This was a very organized snorkeling trip. Only 5 captains are allowed to go to the sandbar. Stunning scenery in the sandbar. Our kids played volleyball and we drank beer! We got back on the boat and ate a delicious lunch of hamburgers. Then headed out to snorkel. On the way we saw several sea turtles. The snorkeling was along a coral reef and we saw many cool fish and another turtle. One of the workers took my 12 year old out and helped her snorkel. She was sacred to go out. That was very impressive! I would definitely recommend this company! Everyone had a great time!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun at sea

Reviewed by: Torres Family, 2022/07/13

I appreciated leaving on time from the harbor. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The ride
allowed us to see the beautiful Kaneohe Bay. We were given ample time on the soundbar which is breathtaking. Snorkeling was also a lot of fun and we see a number of turtles. The lunch and service was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain bob boat

Reviewed by: Taylor, 2022/07/11

Our trip was amazing, food was great!

They gave us everything we needed; we hope to book again. The sandbar was great to be able to play volleyball and then snorkel and sea the turtles. Best adventure by far!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day on the water!

Reviewed by: kp123, 2022/07/03

This was a great experience! We stayed in Waikiki and the pick-up and drop-off was amazing, especially at the end of the day since we were able to sleep on the shuttle home. Swimming around and playing volleyball on the sandbar was fun! The crew did a good job getting the passengers involved. After lunch we drove around and saw sea turtles before heading to the reef to snorkel. It was our first time snorkeling, but the crew was helpful making sure we were comfortable with the gear. We had a blast! Would definitely book this if you're looking to maximize your time with activities.

  • Kaneohe Bay Sandbar

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING!!!

Reviewed by: Vickie, 2022/07/01

This tour provided a number of firsts for me and my husband. It was our first time on a sandbar. Our first time turtle watching. Our first time snorkeling. Everything about this trip was fantastic. Would do it again in a heartbeat. Highly recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Carlos , 2022/07/01

Me gusto la actividad y disfrute mucho
% recomendada

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and casual.

Reviewed by: Teresa W. , 2022/06/30

Very relaxed environment, welcoming crew, and fun to be had by all ages. We snorkeled, played volleyball and had a great lunch, I would definitely do again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A total MUST!!!

Reviewed by: Roger, 2022/06/29

Second time and it always amazes me I will totally be back next year with my fam!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First snorkeling for my boys and girls

Reviewed by: Hyojin, 2022/06/29

My kids age ranging from 5-9 years and they loved it! Best lunch-cheeseburger ever. Time went by so fast when you are on the boat having fun, I’m glad I picked this one over the three hour one fyi. We will definitely be back!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An experience you don't want to miss!!!

Reviewed by: Brenda, 2022/06/25

The transportation to and from the place makes it such a smoother process! Everyone on the crew were really amazing and sweet! We had so much fun and it's definitely something everyone should do if it's their first time visiting. The only thing is that they don't have towels, so bring your own! Otherwise it was such a fun experience for the family!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories