Page 7) Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.27 4.27 / 5

Reviews

1636 reviews
Post a review

Vacation

Reviewed by: jsantos, 2015/08/24

It was a great excursion I will recommend to everyone , I will go again

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too overcrowded and dirty.

Reviewed by: Amorphita, 2015/08/16

Too many people snorkeling in the same area, the snorkeling spot was horrible, not too many tropical fish and the water was murky. Definitely not what they advertise. Bathrooms were old and dirty and the smell was pretty bad. On the other hand, sandbar was good and the staff was friendly but we would not recommend this snorkeling tour to anybody.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do in oahu

Reviewed by: Maggie, 2015/08/06

Friendly and entertaining staff, two stops at both the sandbar and the reef for snorkeling, a fun filled day with magnificent view

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thank you for a wonderful time!

Reviewed by: Masumi, 2015/07/30

Hi,

I had such an amazing time on their cruise!! First of all, the staff were all amazing. They were funny, welcoming, and most importantly, love their job! They really went out of their way to ensure that we had a fantastic time! And, the food was amazing! Maybe it's about eating on the boat after swimming, but regardless, it was really good!

This cruise also gives us ample time to really explore the area... it goes to sandbar, a place where green turtles gather, and finally an hour of snorkeling by the reef. They were all amazing experiences, and I would say that it is a MUST for anyone traveling to Hawaii!

Thank you, Captain Bob and his crew!

Masumi

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome first day in Oahu

Reviewed by: Corey, 2015/07/06

the sandbar was beautiful as well as the views of the mountains from the water. Our boys loved snorkeling and seeing the sea turtles.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended

Reviewed by: Unitopiafan, 2015/07/04

Great fun. Boat was great. Staff was great. The excursions were superb. So much fun. Will do it again definitely.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fantastic ~☆☆☆☆☆

Reviewed by: jinsung kim, 2015/06/23

It was an awesome trip to sandbar!The staffs were friendly and the lunch was delicious.I wish I can visit again.Thank you~

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time ever!!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2015/06/11

I can't stress enough about how fun this activity was! The sandbar was wayyyy too beautiful and the snorkeling was amazing! The bonus was the sea turtles we saw and the yummy lunch included. Highly highly HIGHLY recommend. Loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Bobs Kaneohe Bay Snorkel Cruise

Reviewed by: Wyatt M, 2015/06/01

This was AWESOME! Great day on the bay with a really fun crew. Volleyball on the sandbar, BBQ, music and then snorkeking on the reef - AFTER turtle watching! Cant say enough good things. Our second cruise with Captain Bobs - would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Tammy, 2015/05/31

Our entire family loved this day cruise. The crew on the boat were all very knowledgeable and the sandbar, turtle bay and reef were all some of the coolest sights we saw on Oahu. Hope you get Jenner on your boat, he's the best! He went out snorkeling on the reef with my husband and showed him all kinds of cool stuff!

  • On the sand bar

  • Us with Jenner :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

best tour in Hawaii

Reviewed by: agnes , 2015/05/03

This tour was fantastic. Our tour guide Jenner was an on board comedian who entertained us throughout the trip. The beach volleyball, practice snorkling, bbq lunch, beer, hot chocolate, wonderful staff and turtle watching was all incredible. We also got taken to a beautiful reef full of coral and coloured fish. Highly reccommended to anyone from non swimmers to couples to families with young children. Will definitely come here again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

lots of fun!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2015/04/12

Did together with my son and had a blast. Make sure you are one of the first into the ocean when you start the snorkeling since the sea turtles will be scared away once the crowd hits. Managed to be third in and took 4K video of a huge turtle on the GoPro.

https://youtu.be/Gubpl17N1dE

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for posting these photos and the link to the video! It is great that you were able to see a Hawaiian Honu (Green Sea Turtle) and the video is fantastic.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

VELTRA Support & Reservations

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rendezvous with turtle

Reviewed by: Namepom, 2015/04/11

Amazing experience. Not only the sandber was so beautiful, but also we ware snorkeling with some turtles along with edge of the coral reef like dream time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: CarolS, 2015/04/08

We had a fabulous time! The setting is largely responsible for this, but the people made it extra special. I liked that they had a separate English speaking catamaran. The staff on board were super friendly and very informative. Hamburgers were excellent. Ukelele entertainment was so nice and really added to the atmosphere. Thanks, Jenner! Sandbar was picturesque with the water oh, so warm! We saw LOTS of sea turtles. Snorkeling was great too. View of the coastline was amazing! Caution to the elderly: there is no air conditioning and bathrooms are difficult to access.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

乗るなら英語船に

Reviewed by: ネコママ, 2015/03/26

日本語ガイドがいる日本船と 英語のみの英語船とがありました。
私たち家族は英語船へ、母と友人は日本語船へ乗船。
日本人に人気のサンドバーだけあって 日本船は満員でした。
それに比べて英語船は (同じ大きさですが)ゆったりのんびり。
この差が大きく出たのは ランチ時です。
ずーっと並んでいる日本人を横目に ランチのお代わりをする英語船。
亀何匹見れた?って友人に聞いたら 3匹も見れたよ~ と返事。
そっちは何匹?と聞かれ 30匹以上見れた と返事するのが申し訳ない位。
日本人ガイドさんとは サンドバーに上陸したときに会えるので、
特に英語で困らなければ 英語船への乗船をお勧めします。
元々乗組員は全員英語 ジョークも英語ですので、わからない方にはわかりません。
シュノーケリングを楽しんで 亀を見るだけなら
英語がわからなくても大丈夫です。
ただ海の透明度は メキシコのカンクンなどに比べるとはるかに落ちますが、
こんなに一杯魚いるんだ~ と感激しました。
初シュノーケリングではまりました。 
(翌年はメキシコでシュノーケリングするくらいはまりました)

  • ランチはアメリカンなハンバーガー

  • 魚 さかな サカナ 魚え~

  • さんご礁とのコラボ

  • 亀さん2匹 見えますか?

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Jill, 2015/03/17

I couldn't recommend this tour more. It felt very local with funny local tour guides and a private reef to snorkel! Even saw four giant sea turtles while swimming! Thanks again and a hui hou! Aloha!

  • Life at the sandbar

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

second time

Reviewed by: yuka, 2015/03/17

this tour was my second time to experience!
the weather was not that good but
we had so much fun!we will visit again soon.

  • the sandbar

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour

Reviewed by: Vanessa Zhang, 2015/02/09

Totally exceed my expectation, fantastic! Good for take pictures and great for snorkel.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

MUST TO DO in OAHU

Reviewed by: RioQ, 2015/01/16

This tour was just unbelievable! We had so much fun playing beach volleyball on the sandbar, watching turtles, and best of all the snorkeling. Great snorkeling spot to see lots of fishes and beautiful corals. My niece got to see three turtles up close! The crews were really fun to hang out with.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great views!

Reviewed by: Suzanne, 2015/01/11

We enjoyed the blue water views and the warm hospitality of the crew. Great trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour

Reviewed by: HHyver, 2014/11/01

i went on the tour with my 2 and 4 year old kids and my mother, my sister, and aunt. I was little worried because our group age was ranging from 2-65 year old. But we all had a wonderful time and this became one of the best memories we have.
The tour was well organized and the boat is new and clean and lunch was pretty good. It could be little cold depending on the weather, but overall it was a great tour! I will definitely recommend it to my friends!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awsome crews, beautiful bay and lots of sea turtle!!

Reviewed by: Makiki, 2014/10/19

I attended this activities with my friend and it was one of my best memories in hawaii trip! I could see the beautiful sandbar, tropical fish and coral even if the weather was not so good. And especially the crews was just awsome! They are really cheerful, caring and enjoyed the time with us!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kaneohe sandbar

Reviewed by: J949, 2014/10/14

This was the best excursion we did this trip and look forward to doing it again next year and a great big thank you to the crew they were awesome

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice tour

Reviewed by: Guest, 2014/09/24

Good trip and fun crew, but had hoped for more fish while snorkeling.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

SO MUCH FUN

Reviewed by: Angie, 2014/08/04

What can I say except perfect-starting from the bus picking us up-Jenner was funny and made it like a tour of that part of the Island. The boat crew were all great-quick to help you, offer you stuff, teach you about the boat, the island and the tour. Lunch was great-sandbar was so cool-saw a couple jellies-did not play volleyball but loved watching it. Then we saw at least 10 sea turtles-and a manta-all to end up at the reef-saw a couple sea turtles while in the water and so many fish-it was amazing. I WILL do this again if we return to Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Bob's Snorkel

Reviewed by: Wyatt M, 2014/07/26

We had a GREAT time! Loved the volleyball on the sandbar, bbq on the boat and cruising across the bay watching the turtles. Snorkeling on the reef was awesome. The crew was awesome. Would do this again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel in Paradise ⛅️☀️

Reviewed by: Angel [reno,nv], 2014/07/15

My boyfriend and i really had fun snorkeling thou it's our first time doing it don't even know how to swim still we loved it..Staffs did a well done execellent job..We got to see lovely sea turtles & snorkel in d' ocean by d' reef (seen a lot of fishes) & a panoramic amazingly beautiful view of d' island..will definitely recommend this activities for everyone whose visiting Oahu..Enjoy!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Bob's Snorkel Cruise

Reviewed by: Bruce Diekow, 2014/07/13

We had a very good time. The weather was beautiful, the water and snorkeling was great. Captain Bob and his crew did an excellent job. Everything was great. Will recommend to any one going to Honolulu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sandbar

Reviewed by: Robin, 2014/06/28

Snorkeling on the reef was impressive saw turtles and an eel people were nice

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip was great

Reviewed by: Spudley, 2014/06/22

We really enjoyed visiting the sandbar and the coral reef--the coral was amazing and there were many tropical fish around, as well as several green turtles for those who got off the boat before everyone else. Turtle sightings around the area where they were supposed to be were somewhat disappointing. We were pleasantly surprised by the grilled cheeseburgers for lunch and unpleasantly surprised by having to pay for beers--for what we paid for the trip, a beer or two for free should have been provided

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories