Page 6) Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.27 4.27 / 5

Reviews

1636 reviews
Post a review

Captain bob's

Reviewed by: Jennifer Mortel, 2016/10/09

We actually were locals to the islands but live in the mainland now. Wanted to see the sandbar. It was a great tour. Everyone on the boat ⛵️ from captain Ashley to everyone in her boat was awesome and super nice and accomandating. Would recommend anyone for this tour got to snorkel see and the sandbar. Food was pretty good to.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth it but ...

Reviewed by: Sara , 2016/09/01

We had a great time and it's definitely worthwhile to check out the Sandbar. The water is just beautiful and great snorkelling too. Lunch was also very decent. We had hamburger and pineapples and tortilla chips on the side. The only thing that bothered us was that the Captain kept on assuming we are Japanese and that we don't speak English (given that there are a lot of Japanese tourists on the boat). He repeatedly tried to communicate with us in very broken Japanese. We look Asian, but we are Canadian and we don't understand Japanese. I always reply him in English but he keeps forgetting that we speak English. Maybe he thinks we all look the same. He loved making conversations in English with Caucasian guests, called out the non-Asian names on his list of guests, and ask them where they were from, whether they were celebrating an occasion, but made no effort to talk to us the same way. The translator, think his name was Freddie, initially assumed we were Japanese too but caught on right away that we are English speakers which was great. Other staff were very nice and helpful. Overall we did have a great time and I would recommend this, only the Captain frustrated us a little.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Bobs

Reviewed by: Justine, 2016/08/13

Fantastic day out with an amazingly fun and thoughtful crew. Beautiful scenery. Great burgers. Ocean fab. Guitar playing set the scene perfectly. Do yourself a favour and Get out for this great day, safe even if you are not a swimmer.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome first experience snorkeling!

Reviewed by: Linda , 2016/08/08

This was the absolute highlight of our trip! Thanks to the entire crew for making it such a fantastic experience for us newbies. We had kids and adults who had different comfort levels in the water and we were all able to enjoy this wonderful trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible place awesome trip a must do!!

Reviewed by: Janelle & Pam, 2016/07/31

Wow! I was blown away to see that sandbar! Volleyball was fun ! Everyone participated ! Lunch was excellent! Hawaiian music playing awesome sunshine making new friends relaxing swimming Wow! Loved the bbq! The crew were excellent knew their stuff! Antonio Bryan cuno ? The turtles were amazing to see so many! The snorkelling was amazing and so much fun! Loved the whole day! Movie facts near the end Gillian's island etc was awesome ! Will always do this trip and go with this company again and again ! Incredible day out on the bay Aloha !!

  • Sandbar swimming

  • Snorkelling

  • Cruising

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great day!

Reviewed by: Shannon, 2016/07/16

My friends and I had a fun and relaxing time on calt. Bobs snorkel cryise. The view was magical. The staff was top notch! I would definitley do this again when I come back to Hawaii. Thanks everyone for such A great time!
Shannon

  • Chillin and grillin!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an awesome trip!

Reviewed by: Steve F, 2016/07/09

My wife and I went on a Thursday and had a wonderful time. There were two boats, one for English speaking people and one for Japanese speaking. When we got to the sandbar they tied the boats together and we explored the sandbar. My wife and I practiced or snorkeling skills and checked out our equipment, walked around the sandbar, and then played water volleyball. To my surprise, not many people wanted to play so my wife and I joined in. Our team consisted of us and 3 from the Japanese boat while the other team was 2 of the guides and 3 Japanese people. We may not have spoken the same language but it did remind me that laughter is a language we all share and speak. When we got back on the boat, we enjoyed a cheeseburger in paradise and were serenaded by one of the guides. We then went looking for turtles on the way to reef (we saw 3). The reef was amazing and we saw a turtle and tons of fish. After snorkeling for about 30 minutes, it was time to head back. Our final treat was seeing the original Gilligan's Island on the way back to port. We have lasting memories and it was a great time.

  • Snorkeling practice at the sandbar.

  • Cheeseburger in paradise!

  • Fish on the reef.

  • Gilligan's Island

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun for all

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2016/07/08

Crew was fun and very encouraging to all that were new to snorkelling I was travelling on my own and I felt a part of the whole group. Loved seeing the turtles

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommend

Reviewed by: cueno, 2016/07/06

Great adventure! Loved the crew, the sandbar, the BBQ and the snorkel. Highly recommend for families.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Mr. Smith, 2016/07/04

Jenner was awesome really made the adventure fun!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day in the sun

Reviewed by: Jay K, 2016/06/13

Staff was excellent. They tended to all our needs with Aloha service. A must do trip when staying on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice sand bar

Reviewed by: tony, 2016/05/10

thank u so much. captain & staff. so nice & fun.
everything was good except bad weather (windy rain).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice!! Don't miss this one.

Reviewed by: MelB, 2016/04/29

SANDBAR: The sandbar was a surreal experience. It was beautiful to be finally here, but like the beautiful breasts of Italian marble, there is not much one can do with the simplicity of this place, except enjoy the view. I have never been so satisfied with so little to do, but so much to visually feel.

SNORKEL: Nice experience. More fish to see than Kailua Beach area, but less fish than Hanauma Bay.

BOAT and RIDE: Nice vessel. Clean. A little crowded, but I enjoyed the variety of different cultures, their languages and behavior.

Tour Staff: They were friendly, experienced, and kept us safe.

Overall Experience: Very positive and I would recommend this tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time ever!

Reviewed by: Ella C, 2016/04/05

This was my first time to Kaneohe bay sandbar, and I have great time with Captain Bob's cruise. Also, I have fun of trying snorkeling.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not What I Expected

Reviewed by: Howie, 2016/03/27

For the amount of money we paid my fiance and I were disappointed. The boat we took out was dirty and in my opinion not well maintained. We spent less than one hour actually "Snorkeling" and that is what I was hoping for the most. The crew was nice and helpful, but I think I would not recommend this to anyone for the amount of money they charge.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day!!

Reviewed by: Jon Brookins, 2016/03/22

Staff was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed the trip. Food was good for picnic food. It was a cold and windy day. The staff had hot chocolate, tea and coffee ready for everyone. The reef was not that great for snorkeling. Bland colors and not many fish. Watched Finding Nemo one too many times.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time, food and fun!

Reviewed by: Kelly Rush, 2016/02/20

We had a great time! We had everything explained to us very well numerous times. Very nice sand bar. Snorkeling was great! We were able to see many sea turtles. Great lunch. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Sea Turtle

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Hawaii Experience!

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2016/02/15

The staff on this cruise were very respectful and down to earth. They wanted to make sure you were comfortable at every moment. I would highly recommend this cruise to anyone, Any age. When we decide to visit Hawaii again in a few years this be on our to do list. I cant remember their names, But the man that played the guitar while we were on the sand bar was awesome. Def a people person with a big heart.

  • Myself holding soft white sand on the sand bar

  • Reef snorkeling

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Crew

Reviewed by: Suzanne and Ginger, 2016/02/07

Captain Bob experience was one of our highlights! We saw turtles , fish, snorkeled, good food, great crew. Will go again next year.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Christmas in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Cyndi, 2016/01/11

We spent Christmas in Hawaii and went on this excursion and absolutely loved it!!! The crew was fabulous and we would do this excursion again!!! The sandbar was soooo cool and playing volleyball on it was so fun fun!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time

Reviewed by: Monica, 2016/01/02

Had a blast. Staff were awesome and very friendly. Saw sea turtles and tons of fish and played water volley ball on the sand bar. Would do this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2015/12/20

I really enjoyed my time on the captain Bobs tour! I would definitely do it again and would recommend it to all my friends. It's a must do when visiting Hawaii! The company crew was awesome! Very friendly:) can't wait to go back!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awsome adventure

Reviewed by: Ross and Mona, 2015/11/29

We had a great time. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We had a few surprises such as the turtle watching and the snorkeling at the beautiful reef. The food was great and the hot cocoa and beverages were a plus. There was more people than we expected but overall we had a wonderful time. Thank you captain bobs gang ;)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good day

Reviewed by: Chuang Chien Jung, 2015/11/02

We had a wonderful day in our honeymoon! beautiful sea,amazing view,and nice people.I never think about this trip can be unbelievable!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Natsumi, 2015/10/07

I joined this activity with my husband and 2yrs old son.
We all spent really good time:)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun!

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2015/09/27

My friends and I had so much fun. The whole cruise was a great experience. The crew was super friendly. Our guide, Ryan, was great. He was very knowledgeable so we actually learned some things which was cool. Would have liked to spend a little more time on the sandbar but overall, would definitely recommend doing this!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

2nd timer

Reviewed by: Cottonsquares, 2015/09/25

My sister visited me so I had to take her here to show her the sandbar. She had a great experience swimming and snorkeling. Good food is a plus.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtles Galore!

Reviewed by: Cottonsquares, 2015/09/15

Saw many turtles of all sizes. There were 101 people registered for this trip when I went and 2 boats. Even though there were 101 people, the view + experience overlapped everything.
Negative part: Bathroom was very unclean so I did not use the restroom at all during the trip.
Tip: Bring hand sanitizer since it is 50 people to a boat with 1 bathroom that is questionable..
Overall: A must see.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

thanks for great experience

Reviewed by: rino, 2015/09/12

we spend really good time and experienced very lucky things. Thank you for your hospitality and great time!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience!

Reviewed by: Stacy , 2015/09/10

Such a fun experience!!! Jenner was our guide when we got picked up by the bus and he was a great guide all throughout. Antonio our captain was also friendly and just the whole experience was amazing all very friendly and try their best to welcome and guide you.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories