Page 5) Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.27 4.27 / 5

Reviews

1636 reviews
Post a review

Great Sandbar Experience!

Reviewed by: MJJ, 2017/08/19

Great day at the sandbar, very nice crew, had a wonderful day at this cruise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wedding activities

Reviewed by: Sam , 2017/08/07

Our wedding party went as a group and all agreed it was the highlight of our trip. Highly recommend! Good lunch and great crew with phenomenal snorkeling. We swam with large sea turtles and it was amazing!

  • Lunch/ volleyball

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

captain Bobs Adventure

Reviewed by: Suzanne in Seattle, 2017/08/06

Good time had by all. Loved the turtles! Delicious cheeseburgers

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic day on the water

Reviewed by: Alex, 2017/08/01

This excursion was one to definitely be remembered! A fun day is in store from the moment you leave the marina. The crew is full of fun people that are always making sure their guests are having a great time. The sandbar stop was fun filled with Hawaiian volleyball with the crew and other guests onboard. The lunch that was served before the reef snorkel was also great. At the private reef we saw a monk seal and also a ton of turtles and fish. We would love to do this trip again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do!

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2017/07/30

We had an amazing time and got to see a rare monk seal while having lunch in the boat. Crew was extremely friendly and even shared some great tips on places to visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain bob snorkel

Reviewed by: Regan, 2017/07/20

I have joined the Captain Bob snorkel since the first time I went to Hawaii. It was so consistent every time. And this time we have a group of 11 people going and everyone has a good time even though the sandbar water level is a little bit high but the whole crew working on the boat are so sincere which makes a big difference on the atmosphere of the activity. Excellent

  • Group of families

  • Group of families

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome time!

Reviewed by: Fun!, 2017/07/18

Loved the trip, went back again 2 days later. Will do it again next time we visit the islands!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun times!

Reviewed by: Fun!, 2017/07/16

We enjoyed it so much, we came back 2 days later and enjoyed it again. We highly suggest it for anyone that visits the island. The Sandbar is a true hidden gem!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is NOT a non-smoking tour

Reviewed by: Chris, 2017/07/10

This is the second time I've taken this tour and it is a wonderful experience. However, be warned this is NOT a non-smoking tour which we only discovered this second time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

view is nice, experience was acceptable

Reviewed by: vivi chiou, 2017/06/30

There was one female crew was quite rude, it feels like she just needs a job to pay the bills.The food wasn't really pleasant either.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do!!

Reviewed by: KCY, 2017/06/20

This was absolutely one of the best things we did while here! The crew was amazing and very attentive. Awesome with our young kids and the food is perfect! We saw lots of fish and 2 turtles while snorkeling. We will definitely do this again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sandbar

Reviewed by: Turtle , 2017/06/17

This trip exceeded expectations. The sandbar and turtle viewing was great but the best part was the snorkeling. Probably the best snorkeling I've ever had. Lunch really hit the spot after some fun on the water. Would def do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip!

Reviewed by: Kerri S, 2017/06/16

Thank you Jenner and crew for a wonderful day! The sandbar is beautiful and snorkeling was the highlight of the day. This trip is something we will remember for years.

  • Beautiful Kaneohe Bay

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Sandbar

Reviewed by: Rommel, 2017/06/12

Excellent adventure, accomodating and friendly staffs.

  • My son enjoyed the sandbar tour, snorkelling and sea tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kama Aina fun!

Reviewed by: Mo & Family, 2017/06/07

Thanks to the whole crew for showing us a good time as well as our visiting guests! We look forward to doing it again! Mahalo & Cheers!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a fun experience

Reviewed by: Michael Wallace, 2017/05/21

Captain bobs snorkel tour was a lot of fun. You get taken out to a shallow water area at first, to play around with volleyball, taking water photos, and then they give you a barbecue lunch. Then we're taken into shallow waters further out, but along the way we are looking for large turtle citing a. We saw many large turtles. When we stopped again we were let into the shallow waters(3-4ft) to swim with small fish, and snorkel with a breather pipe, to see live coral, and small fish. The whole time a performer was singing, and playing ukelele on top the ship, a really fun time. I would recommend capt bobs for a fun afternoon!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Babe , 2017/05/19

Everyone was friendly! The sandbar was the best part. Family friendly and fun for anyone! The only bad was that we didn't see anything while snorkeling and the coral reefs were rough.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

18th Anniversary Trip to Hawaii Of Dr Perre Joven Famiky Dentistry

Reviewed by: Dr Pierre Joven , 2017/05/06

Fun day At Captain Bob's . Amazing experience to see the mantas and turtles . Good bbq lunch

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Family Experience

Reviewed by: Larry Jackman, 2017/03/21

Entire family had a wonderful experience. The crew was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Plenty of time to enjoy the Kaneohe Bay sandbar and snorkel around the coral reef. Saw sea turtles and hand fed fish at the reef. They spent time teaching people who had never snorkeled before. And they provided all sizes of equipment from kids to oversize adults. Simple lunch of cheeseburgers with all the fixings, chips, bbq beans and fruit was plenty. Price was as reasonable as any other tourist activity on the island but a lot more fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good but one thing

Reviewed by: Tyler, 2017/03/16

The trip was EXTREMELY fun but if i had to change one thing, it would have been to actually swim with the turtles instead if just seeing them. Other than that the food was fresh, crew was funny, and it really is worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2017/02/28

My sister and I did this activity and we had a blast. The team was amazing and made us feel welcome from the moment we got on the boat.
We will be doing this again for sure!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do!!

Reviewed by: jingjing, 2017/02/25

I highly recommend the sandbar adventure if you're in Oahu. We were picked up close to our hotel. The bus trip was very comfortable and the tour guide was informative and entertaining. The sandbar was amazing! We were able to walk around and they also set up a net for those who are interested in playing volleyball. We had hamburgers for lunch with chips and bbq beans. The snorkeling was also enjoyable. We were able to see and swim with the sea turtles and tropical fish along the protected coral reef. The staff was so laid back and organized. I highly suggest bringing swim shoes, towel and extra change of clothing. There is a bathroom in the pier. We love it so much we are planning to do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good staff

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2017/02/04

All was good, only thing that could improve is the lunch. Spend at least $10 per person on lunch

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent day on the water

Reviewed by: Cunneen, 2017/01/15

Our 2nd time on this trip with captain bobs and another excellent day

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Experience was Corny and Fun, oh yeah, the bus broke down.

Reviewed by: CATourist, 2017/01/09

Everything was exactly as promised. I booked this for myself, 46 yr old mom and my family of 4, kids ages 13, 11 and 9 and Hubby. I chose this tour based on the pick-up time from our hotel and the hot lunch. Other tours had earlier times and offered cold cuts. We took the tour from the Sheraton Waikiki.
The boat and snorkeling equipment were in good condition - the location was amazing and just like the brochure.
The hamburgers were satisfying - we were happy to eat them.
We saw about a dozen Sea Turtles - this made my kids very happy.
The reef snorkle was great for me - but felt short.
Staff was excellent, very helpful and congenial - one even played a guitar during lunch - keeping the ambiance light and loose. They managed boat safety and maneuvering well.
You do not need to have athletic ability- just know how to breath and float and you can enjoy it. The seas were extremely mild and I did not get sick or feel nauseous as I am prone to.

The bus did break down headed up Likelike hwy. The tour operators had a replacement bus on site in about 15 minutes so the inconvenience was minimal. They didn't exactly keep us well appraised of the situation but it was managed well- enough.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The most friendly snorkel adventure

Reviewed by: fcevallos, 2016/12/24

My wife and I went to this adventure hoping to have a great time and see some fish here and there while snorkeling but these guys got us a great tour and we saw a ton of fish near the coral reef where they took us. The staff is super friendly and fun plus. The food was right on point and we loved they even gave us some hot chocolate after the swim to warm us up a bit.
Jenner and the captain are super friendly, I would love to go back and see them again when I go back to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/11/26

The tour was great but just one thing; they don't have prescription boggles.

I was trying to buy or rent them,
but the website said there are a few of them and a person who called for a confirmation a day before the tour said the same thing, so I didn't bring them.
It turned out they don't carry them anymore.

That was kinda annoying.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rainy day

Reviewed by: M***bu, 2016/11/19

That day was a rainy day. We were very cold. So, a weather condition was too bad. A sea was a high water, not clean. We could not meet such a blue sea and white sands. The staffs were kindness and supportive. I don't recommend so much.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience, your feedback has been shared with the activity provider and we regret to hear that the weather was not great on the day of your tour. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you on your vacation, we hope your Hawaii vacation will still be a memory to remember to make you want to come back and visit us again.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkling tour

Reviewed by: Ginnie, 2016/11/07

The tour was great. Luch was awesome! The highlight would have to be the vollyball game everyone in our group had a blast!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just awesome

Reviewed by: Yong Joo Kang, 2016/11/01

It was the most exciting experience in my life. Everything was awesome - the sand bar, sea turtles, friendly staff, yummy hamburgers, above all, snorkeling in the sea. I will definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories