Captain Bob's Kaneohe Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch with Free Transportation reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch with Free Transportation

Overall Rating

4.82 4.82 / 5

Reviews

529 reviews
Post a review

Capt. Bob's was AMAZING!!

Reviewed by: D. McCammack , 2024/02/09

The crew was awesome and very kind. They treated us like family and still gave us privacy to enjoy our trip to the Sandbar. I cannot say enough good things about the time we had. Great food, relaxing, adventurous, and fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain’s Bobs sandbar

Reviewed by: Maria , 2024/02/09

It was truly one of my favorite things this trip. The crew were so nice and pleasant. The weather was a bit windy and the sandbar wasn’t fully out even with all that the experience was one of my favorites.
The crew helped you out throughout the whole experience. One of the guides even helped me with my snorkel experience and guided me. It was one of my favorite things to do and would recommend this activity to anyone I know. Thank you to all the wonderful crew, I am sorry that I can’t remember all the names. And thank you to my guide that helped me with the snorkel experience you have no idea how grateful I am. Overall, one of the top activities to do.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience

Reviewed by: The Q's, 2024/01/20

The activities were great but the whole staff is awemazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such an Amazing Time!

Reviewed by: ChristinaSteach, 2024/01/18

I was set on a tour that stopped at just the Sandbar, my mom insisted we do a tour that went to 2 locations... She was right! The sandbar is awesome and I encourage people to get out and walk around while you're there, play volleyball (if you want) or just enjoy being on land while under about 2 feet of water! Its wild! A Puffer Fish greeted us! She was much bigger than what I thought puffer fish were. We had burgers and drinks and were off to our second location ... the reef!! On our way we saw a bunch of sea turtles! They were HUGE! Some swam right up close to the boat! It was incredible. It was after a mild storm so the water wasn't 100% clear but still fairly clear. There were tons of colorful fish swimming all around us. I took a few mins to swim around the whole reef! Which every time I popped my head up and saw I was further away from the boat was a little scary and exciting! It was such a fantastic adventure day! My mom loved it, my kids were a little afraid at first at the reef but came to love it too! The crew... let me not forget about the crew! They are absolutely amazing! Knowledgeable, friendly,... when my daughter started to cry (9 years old) they knew her name and kept encouraging her! It was the sweetest! My son thought the main guide/lifeguard was the coolest and just wanted to swim where ever he swam (7 years old). The captain on our boat that day was a lady and also super friendly! Highly recommend to all ages and all skill levels! (I had my cell phone with a water protected case - i highly recommend. I purchased mine before the trip from REI, they sold similar ones in the ABC stores in Hawaii.)

  • Ms Puff

  • Sea Turtle next to our boat

  • Part of the sandbar and a small island behind it

  • Snorkeling at the reef

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing day trip!

Reviewed by: Samantha , 2024/01/09

The sandbar trip was so fun. My husband and I had a great time. The crew is friendly, knowledgeable and the boat is clean. The lunch was great and we overall had an amazing time. We would definitely do this again and recommend to anyone either as a couples trip or as a family trip. I think it’s great for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great views with very friendly staff!

Reviewed by: Chi, 2023/12/29

We had a great time, the views were beautiful and the burger lunch was surprisingly delicious!

The staff were very friendly and provided great tips on what to explore around the area.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun! Well Worth the money!

Reviewed by: Jamie, 2023/12/19

So much fun. the bbq burgers were good. The 1st stop is not worth it to snorkel, not much to see, just enjoy the sandbar and the volleyball. the 2nd spot was good snorkeling b/c it was at a reef. Don't swim over top of it though. just around it. you can make it all the way around it with plenty of time to spare. It was very fun. The water was a little cold, but not too bad but thats probably because I went the week of Thanksgiving. They give you the gear you need, my suggestion is to fit the mask before you get down to the water. they give you full foot fins to use. The crew was super helpful and really nice. I definitely recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Fun Day Captain Bob’s Sandbar Boat Ride !!!

Reviewed by: marcy3017, 2023/12/11

Perfect pick up bus ride in AM just about 50ft from ilikai hotel , make sure you have copy print out voucher proof of purchase to show driver , bus ride about an hour ride to Kaneohe Bay , there were two boats , one Japanese speaking , boat ride wonderfully exhilarating around Kaneohe Bay to sandbar spot , perfect weather on sandbar volleyball play , grilled burgers with toppings and sides tasty with having second servings offered , kids and family members had a blast snorkeling at barrier reef spot lots of fish and sea life , boat ride back to dock saw many sea turtle’s swimming above water nature at its best !!! Staff and boat Captain , Fun , Funny , and HelpFul !!! Will recommend & do again in future

  • Perfect Day with Captain Bob’s Sandbar

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!!

Reviewed by: Venkata, 2023/11/29

We had great time at sandbar playing volleyball. Food was good. First time snorkeling but the whole crew was amazing and helped us. We saw lot of fishes, manta ray, turtles. Highly recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain bobs sandbar

Reviewed by: DM, 2023/11/01

The staff were the best! They were professional & knowledgeable. All of my questions were answered thoroughly. It was a memorable experience just being in this scenic, beautiful area. Even the BBQ was excellent. When I come back, I will do it all over again. NOTE: the bus driver, Richard, who shuttled us, kept us entertained.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely coming back

Reviewed by: Erika , 2023/10/05

This was the cherry on top to our visit. The whole staff was welcoming and very helpful. Next time we come to Waikiki, we will definitely be booking again.

  • Look at this view

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

New locals enjoying learning about our new home!

Reviewed by: Tina, 2023/10/01

This was the best tour I have done while living here on Oahu! We wanted to sit back, relax and enjoy the experience. The Crew was so friendly and helpful. I will be recommending this tour to all our future visitors! Additionally, the lunch was bomb!! Cheeseburgers using local beef and fresh vegetables. They are local, they support local and are the true definition of Aloha!
Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT trip!

Reviewed by: Shannon P, 2023/10/01

The crew on this boat is AMAZING! They will make you feel so welcome and right at home. Like you are traveling with old friends. We had a great time and saw a ton of beautiful fish around the reef and even more turtles. We had our one year old son with us and the crew could not have been better and more caring about us having the best possible experience. HIGHLY recommend this tour!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: De Ocampo Family, 2023/09/18

This is the second time going to Captain Bob’s Kaneohe Sandbar excursion. We went with friends last year and had such an amazing experience. We definitely had to take the kids to experience it. Kids had an amazing time playing volleyball and snorkeling around the reef. We even saw some turtles. Burgers were delish! The crew were professional and caring. While snorkeling my daughter was stung by two jellyfishes and the crew were so attentive to her. Major props to them. Definitely a 5 star!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Kelly M, 2023/09/17

We had a great time. The crew were friendly and fun, and they ensured everyone was enjoying the experience. We were lucky to see so many turtles on the sail out to the reef and then magically we saw one while snorkeling. I will never forget that experience! The reef was full of fish; one of the best snorkeling excursions we've done. The sandbar was beautiful too. I'm so glad we did this, and we highly recommend it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exciting snorkeling around the coral reef

Reviewed by: Tony_Himeji, 2023/09/15

The crews of the tour were very professional, helped us enjoy the snorkeling around the coral reef.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Lori G, 2023/09/09

This was the highlight of our island hopping experience!.. family of 6.. ages 9, 12, 17 and 21 and they all said this was the best part of our travel time in Oahu and the big island!.. looking forward to doing it again on our next visit!!! Directions were clear to meet at harbor, check in with ease and lunch was delicious!. Crew is so helpful and fun. Will recommend to anyone who visits.. family and friends including those fb groups for tips on travel here..

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sandbar.

Reviewed by: Roger, 2023/09/08

The crew and the team were awesome. The excursion was truly memorable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Amber , 2023/08/19

The trip was fun and the staff were great. They gave great information about everything we were doing and safety was very important to them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was so beautiful and our whole family had such a fun time!

Reviewed by: Pauleen, 2023/08/12

The crew was super nice and made us feel at home. Food and drinks were great and of course the views and activities were the highlights of the trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful & Fun

Reviewed by: JRyan, 2023/08/01

Incredible staff that made us feel welcomed and safe. I like the options to participate or just soak in the beautiful scenery going snorkeling or on the sandbar. Food was great also!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best experience we had

Reviewed by: Katie H , 2023/07/24

The shuttle is great
Food is really good
Staff is amazing

We had a great time
They need to add more beach activities
Kayaking etc

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Snorkeling Trip!

Reviewed by: Marina , 2023/07/17

We had such a great time on this snorkeling trip! It was very planned, the crew was polite, accommodating and very friendly and the lunch was delicious. Our whole experience was incredibly enjoyable. Word of advice to the future participants- listen carefully to the instructions before snorkeling and you’ll see a lot under the water. We saw many fish and a turtle. It was amazing!

  • Sandbar!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a 10/10 experience

Reviewed by: daniel torres , 2023/07/05

The crew was very nice and friendly, helpful and very attentive , tour it was very organized, and would do again . saw turtles and the coral reef was viewable wide selection of options while snorkeling . would recommend.

  • Sandbar

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really enjoyable excursion

Reviewed by: Bob, 2023/07/04

If you really want to have a fun day, then this tour is for you. And, family friendly! I've done it the last 2 years and am going to book again for next year. The crew: Captain Cheyenne, and crew members Julia, Yuki, Yukiko and Cody are the best. Very friendly, and GREAT personalities.
Walking on this sandbar is an experience. And they even set up a water volleyball game. The water is perfect and the bluest I've ever seen.
After the sandbar, they fire up the grill for a nice hamburger/cheeseburger lunch with all the fixins. And they have meatless burgers also.
After lunch there is snorkeling. Due to recent knee replacement surgery I was unable to participate last year, but was able to and had a great time this year.
After snorkeling, you go turtle watching. There were plenty, and some of them are HUGE.
My one big recommendation: Bring reef friendly sunscreen because the sun will fool you. It was a bit overcast this year,, but the sun still managed to get me.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Catrina, 2023/07/02

The whole experience was wonderful, the barbecue was great. Snorking was amazing, the crew was amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Day

Reviewed by: Chris, 2023/06/29

Everything was great. We saw turtles and enjoyed the reef. It was a little difficult to eat lunch on the boat as there were not really any good seats for it. But the burgers were delicious.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best part of the trip!!!

Reviewed by: Deanna Merry , 2023/06/24

Our family had an amazing time!! The crew was super friendly and fun!! The captain was great and the grill master the burgers were amazing!! Tyson was great answering our questions about the area.
Julia was funny and very informative about the area.
The drive over to the marina was absolutely amazing the view was incredible. I’ve never snorkeled before but felt super safe we saw sea turtles and all kinds of fish!! Would highly recommend this outing ️☀️ it was one of the highlights of our trip.
We thought it was really cool that some of our favorite movies were filmed around the area also.
Jurassic Park, Pirates of the Caribbean and 50 frost dates. Great memories were made for me and my kids thanks until next time Oahu. Mahalo

  • Hawaiian volleyball

  • Absolutely beautiful views

  • Coral

  • Sea turtles saw several

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely worth it

Reviewed by: Lane, 2023/06/17

Loved that I booked it for the family. We had a fun time snorkeling. Pick up from hotel was great, liked that the shuttle bus driver looked for us since we stood on the wrong bus stop. The crew was amazing and very friendly. The co-captain lady was the best. She took her time to show us how to use the snorkel, fit our life vest, gave us drinks. The captain was super friendly as well. The water was warm and clean. The boat was clean, restrooms to use and to change in were clean. Snorkels were clean and easy to use. Burgers was the best and we even had hot chocolate at the end of the swim. They took us to the shallow area first which was great, and then the deeper area, we saw coral reefs, lots of fish, and even sea turtles. It was amazing thing to see.
Only thing is, they didn’t have enough seats to sit outside, so we stayed inside during boat ride, and towards the end of the ride, everyone was cold so mostly everyone went inside, so we had to stand, which is ok, about 10 mins only. Overall, still a very awesome trip and would definitely go again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do on Oahu!

Reviewed by: Danielle Jones , 2023/06/14

This is the 2nd year in a row my family and I have booked this snorkel cruise. We loved it each time. We loved being in the middle of the ocean snorkeling and being on the sand bar. We felt safe each time and had a lot of fun. The staff was wonderful and the food was great as well. Anytime we come to Oahu, Captain Bobs is our go to!

  • Kiddos on the water

  • He was super excited

  • Family!

  • Awesome lunch on the boat- doesn’t get any better than this!

  • Sandbar with the husband!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories