Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Polynesian Show & Live Entertainment reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Polynesian Show & Live Entertainment

Overall Rating

4.71 4.71 / 5

Reviews

534 reviews
Post a review

Fun!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/06/13

The food was really delicious, and we made some sweet vacation friends at the table we sat at!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu sunset buffet cruise

Reviewed by: Anica, 2024/05/29

Enjoyed the cruise and seeing Waikīkī from the sea
The buffet dinner was quite nice
The show was okay but not great.
It wasn’t really a show. It was dancers spread over the one deck. The dancers themselves were good but wasn’t a show. The waiters had to dance but most were not great. Armondo was good.
The lady singing was terrible.
The waiters service was good.
The Mai Tai’s were good.
Everyone was friendly.
If I did cruise again would do the deck 3 menu and show.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: BJ, 2024/05/26

Everything was great really had a good time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!’!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best birthday present!!

Reviewed by: Karen Magill, 2024/05/23

The best birthday present my husband has ever received we would happily do this cruise again and have highly recommended it to all of our friends and family who are still in Hawaii for our Sons wedding.
The experience was fantastic the staff were fantastic at their job. The show was an absolute awesome experience
The food was delicious, my husband was very shocked at the variety and was enjoying it that much he wanted more. Only downside was feeling overly cramped in small seating space, besides that if we ever get back to Hawaii we would book this every day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best dinner cruise in Honolulu

Reviewed by: Brandy Gillim, 2024/05/19

This dinner cruise was so much fun. The food was great. The staff was nice, funny, and accommodating to our needs.

  • Very fun

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

OK Experience

Reviewed by: Julie C., 2024/05/13

There were six of us for the Deluxe 3-Star selection. My daughter-in-law got motion sick from the swaying of the boat, so I suggest taking Dramamine before boarding.

The "champagne" toast was non-alcoholic. Food was ok but not worth the price to upgrade. Drinks were not very good. Music during the cruise was too loud and mostly show-tunes, not Hawaiian songs.

Michael - our server - was quite good. Dancers and singers were enthusiastic. Views were lovely.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: Melissa B. , 2024/05/09

Very highly recommended. Wonderful experience. Delicious food. Friendly staff!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/05/07
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: DKS, 2024/05/07

Food and service were great! Watching the sunset out on the water was amazing. Easy Uber ride to/from our hotel in Waikiki. Would definitely recommend and do again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great night out

Reviewed by: Kevin & Edna, 2024/05/07

The whole night was fun and a memorable experience. The food was good, entertainment was excellent and staff very courteous and accommodating.
We would highly recommend this Sunset Dinner Cruise on a Friday night to see the fireworks.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset dinner cruise.

Reviewed by: NV, 2024/05/06

Highlight was the Polynesian show. Food was ok, deserts were good. Complimentary drinks were average. Purchased drinks were pricey. Overall, did not get to see much of a sunset by being busy with the food and the show. It felt more like sitting in a restaurant since the boat was moving slow and sturdy unless you come out to grab the food.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Jshrdson, 2024/04/30

We had the best time with the Star of Honolulu. The captain was very welcoming, and the staff was first rate. Our restaurant wait person Tina, was very prompt in meeting our needs. She was friendly and efficient. The entertainment was excellent, and the food was tasty and plentiful. We sat next to a couple of other travelers and thoroughly enjoyed our conversation. I would recommend this cruise to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

34 yr Anniversary Sunset Dinner Cruise, WOW!

Reviewed by: Roxanne Chastain , 2024/04/28

Very customer focused from check-in through the dinner service & when we debarked. Food was very tasty & plentiful! Would do it again especially on a Fri night when the Hilton Hotel had a wonderful fireworks display.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu sunset dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Raul , 2024/04/28

Excellent service food was great the staff super friendly the show was amazing my whole family and I had excellent time I will give 5 ⭐️ to veltra and the star of Honolulu for the amazing night see you soon

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must try!

Reviewed by: MV, 2024/04/23

Great fun for the whole family! Older kids enjoy this too.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Relaxing Evening

Reviewed by: Robert Benedetto, 2024/04/12

If you want to take a break from the walking, shopping, and hotel hustle and bustle around Waikiki I suggest a sunset dinner cruise on the Star of Honolulu.

The five star experience on the top deck Nova Room is a relaxing evening filled with well-made bar drinks, superior cuisine, piano and mood music, and sparkling views of coastal O'ahu.

The Nova Room experience is a step above the normal pricing for the cruise, but is a good value for all you receive.

I especially enjoyed the time to talk and relax with my wife, to enjoy the coastal scenery, and to savor the various courses of the dinner as described in the promotional materials.

The service was excellent throughout the evening and the whole experience exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend the Nova Room experience on the forth deck of the Star of Honolulu.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty Scenary

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/04/01

Delish dinner with great view points out your window the whole night!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely cruise with wonderful sunset and waikiki beach view!

Reviewed by: Jim & Susan, 2024/03/30

This was a fun island activity and a romantic dinner for two. Other passengers also looked to be having a great time. The best part of the cruise was the opportunity to see the waikiki beach from the water. The weather cooperated and we also had a beautiful sunset. All of the food was picture perfect and tasty but smaller portions than I expected and it was certainly the smallest maine lobster I have ever seen. The upstairs on the ship was set up like a very nice restaurant, white tablecloths and the wait staff were in black suits - very fancy. The wait staff was polite and as professional as could be but as far as I could tell there was only one waiter for the entire top section this made getting drinks a bit slow. The jazz music was mostly just piano and was too loud for the room the piano had a microphone set up and it seems like it could have been turned down a notch. I shouldn't have to strain to hear the person I'm eating with who it just across the table, the couple next to us made the same comment about the volume. The singer on the other hand was wonderful and had a beautiful voice. My expectation was there would be some mellow jazz playing while we were eating, I suppose the singer had to provide some entertainment on one of the other decks while the piano played upstairs. All in all an okay experience but the photo ads and descriptions are playing it up a bit. Again best part of the voyage was the view.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Sunset!

Reviewed by: Matthew, 2024/03/28

Our evening on the Star of Honolulu was an excellent experience! Ample parking was easy and accessible with 2 lots within walking distance. The check-in process was a breeze, make sure your voucher is ready. Waiting to board we were entertained with local dancers and music. Time to board! We were sorted by class and our trip to the top deck was a nice elevator ride up. We were seated at a nice intimate table with large window perfect for viewing. First on the table was a charcuterie board with tasty cheeses, meats and fruit. Don’t forget the champagne! As the cruise got underway were able to chat with the guests seated next to us. The dancers and singers provided more entertainment as we departed. The music throughout the night was relaxing.

On our journey to view the sunset in front of Diamon Head we encountered some whales! A happy surprise. The lobster course was delicious. We were treated to a sorbet course in the middle of our dining experience which was tasty. The food was flavorful and appetizing. Delicious! During the trip you are able to take many great pictures and they even have a photographer on standby.

The sunset was amazing as well as the views from the Waikiki area. The journey home was more intimate and with the lowered light and live jazz music. Dancing is also encouraged. The cheesecake dessert did not disappoint. The journey was full of memories and was the perfect end to an amazing time in Hawaii. Overall this cruise is very recommended to anyone looking for memories, delicious food and a wonderful evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Celebration Evening

Reviewed by: R&C, 2024/03/16

Beautful sunset view from the top deck; great food and entertainment. The best part by far was the Jazz Ensemble! At the end, the cast and servers did an amazing ‘hula hula’ version of YMCA. The group loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2024/03/15

The upper deck was great for taking pictures. We started off with a charcuterie board that had tasty cheeses and fruit. The second course included lobster over a beet salad with a nice puree. My only reservation was the meat which was overcooked in my opinion, but to be fair, I'm sure many people prefer a medium-well filet. Taking pictures in between courses was a huge plus and didn't make us feel confined to the table. Overall, I would recommend this cruise to anyone looking for a good time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok experience

Reviewed by: Samuel, 2024/03/07

Nice environment and friendly staff. Show was brief and nothing like it has been advertised for. Food in multiple varieties but so crowded and needs to be more organized

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner cruise ship

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2024/02/23

It was interesting to say, enjoyed the environment and the food. Was with my girlfriend and she loved it. Was at a table on the edge to the starboard side. What topped it all was doing it on the night of the fireworks! Would do again.

  • Arriving to go o the boat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magical Experience

Reviewed by: Sasha, 2024/02/20

What an amazing time! We got picked up a minute away from our hotel and the bus driver even shared some Oahu history during the ride! We opted for the five star dinner and it was incredible. We felt like VIPs! Incredible food, the BEST steak I have ever had and delicious champagne. Live Jazz music on our deck and stunning views. Definitely going to do it again next time we visit! I recommend bringing a jacket as it can get pretty windy on the outside deck and indoors is air-conditioned.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Dinner Cruise in Paradise

Reviewed by: Honeymooners , 2024/02/18

Hello everybody,

Let me share our experience (honeymooners) on the 5 Stars Course of that Dinner Cruise with you.

In terms of hospitality, starting from the pick-up crew, to the captains and waitress (many thanks to lovely Jordan), it was just great.

We had an super easy pick up with a bus, where everyone received a sticker depending on the course they’ve booked and then took around 15-30 minutes to get the harbor.

Everyone had a warm welcome with local dance and music in front of the boat while boarding. Once we have taken our seats, we were welcomed with nice champagne and some cheese and ham plate with crackers.

In terms of the food in that day, it was simply amazing and tasty. ESPECIALLY the served meat. Whoever cooked that: genius!

Anyhow, besides food and drinks we got the chance to explore the boat between the food breaks. We had an amazing view on Waikiki/Diamond Head/other boats, even though it was cloudy. It was still very enjoyable. And also we had the great luck to see whales! That was the cherry on top.

Well, besides all of that going on, we had live entertainment (pianist, some Saxophon and some singer - all just awesome). They’ll also take a picture of you, so for 30$ you can purchase them.
In the end, everyone with some special occasion was asked to dance in the middle of the room, which was pretty romantic.


Overall, it was really worth it.

Minus points for:
- photo only available as data file for another 20$ (why?!)
- pretty chilly inside the boat (but guess this depends on the season)


Overall, just great! Would love to board once more in the future.
Thanks everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Solid

Reviewed by: BC, 2024/02/09

The event began on time with a glass of champagne. I must admit that the food was better than expected. The staff waited to serve each course until we were at the table, as we often went out to take air between courses and take pictures. Would recommend to anyone looking for a short dinner cruise with romantic/relaxing ambiance.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/02/08
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

NOVA FIVE STAR, MORE LIKE TEN STARS!

Reviewed by: TravelGoddess , 2024/02/09

[Reviewed by HawaiiActivities.com Staff]

Nova Five Star package should be renamed to, 'Ten Star.' The reason being this package was over the top elegant, professional, and accommodating. Each table had their own charcuterie board, which was perfect snack to get the evening started.

The meal was served in an order that was so unique. I had never had sorbet in the middle of a meal, and I'm still dreaming of the texture and flavor. The presentation/ quality of food was very impressive. Each course amazed me more and more!

The music throughout the meal was so relaxing, and set the mood for a delightful evening. If you are looking for an intimate evening with your loved one, this is the package for you!

Mahalo to SOH for going the extra mile to create a magical space!

  • Lobster Plate

  • Cheesecake

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ambiance and delicious meal!

Reviewed by: Ms.Ems, 2024/02/09

[Reviewed by HawaiiActivities.com Staff]

We did the dinner cruise with the Nova Five Star on the 4th deck of the boat and it was a treat and we really had a great time. Their table set up at the Super Nova Room was so beautiful, clean, so organized, and elegant! We had our own private table seating next to the window and we enjoyed the night view even without having to explore the boat.

We thoroughly enjoyed the delicious dinner. The steak was exceptionally tender, and the fresh fruit sorbet was our favorite. The servers provided excellent service as well, and the entertainment complemented the rainy weather, creating a more relaxing atmosphere.

Anyone looking for a romantic celebration on Valentine's Day, Anniversary, or any special occasion, the NOVA Five Star aboard the Star of Honolulu is an ideal choice.

For those seeking for a smaller crowd and more privacy, I would recommend booking the Nova Five Star cruise on Thursdays as it is not as busy as on the weekends.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/01/28

Delish food, fun times and gorgeous views! Worth it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun cruise

Reviewed by: Joe Moore, 2024/01/20

Food and service was good. Views were outstanding. Nice entertainment.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Missed the Boat

Reviewed by: Mystery Karr, 2024/01/07

Sadly due to traffic I missed the boat by a minute I had checked how long it would take to get there when planning my leave time and I was quoted 45 every time when I was staying only 25 miles away however traffic was crazy and it ended up being an hour and a half drive we pulled into parking at exactly 1745 and the boat was pulling out as I was running to it. Gave a rating of Good because the boat left exactly on time and if I had been on board that would have been great

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories