Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Polynesian Show & Live Entertainment reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Polynesian Show & Live Entertainment

Overall Rating

4.71 4.71 / 5

Reviews

513 reviews
Post a review

Dinner cruise ship

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2024/02/23

It was interesting to say, enjoyed the environment and the food. Was with my girlfriend and she loved it. Was at a table on the edge to the starboard side. What topped it all was doing it on the night of the fireworks! Would do again.

  • Arriving to go o the boat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magical Experience

Reviewed by: Sasha, 2024/02/20

What an amazing time! We got picked up a minute away from our hotel and the bus driver even shared some Oahu history during the ride! We opted for the five star dinner and it was incredible. We felt like VIPs! Incredible food, the BEST steak I have ever had and delicious champagne. Live Jazz music on our deck and stunning views. Definitely going to do it again next time we visit! I recommend bringing a jacket as it can get pretty windy on the outside deck and indoors is air-conditioned.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Dinner Cruise in Paradise

Reviewed by: Honeymooners , 2024/02/18

Hello everybody,

Let me share our experience (honeymooners) on the 5 Stars Course of that Dinner Cruise with you.

In terms of hospitality, starting from the pick-up crew, to the captains and waitress (many thanks to lovely Jordan), it was just great.

We had an super easy pick up with a bus, where everyone received a sticker depending on the course they’ve booked and then took around 15-30 minutes to get the harbor.

Everyone had a warm welcome with local dance and music in front of the boat while boarding. Once we have taken our seats, we were welcomed with nice champagne and some cheese and ham plate with crackers.

In terms of the food in that day, it was simply amazing and tasty. ESPECIALLY the served meat. Whoever cooked that: genius!

Anyhow, besides food and drinks we got the chance to explore the boat between the food breaks. We had an amazing view on Waikiki/Diamond Head/other boats, even though it was cloudy. It was still very enjoyable. And also we had the great luck to see whales! That was the cherry on top.

Well, besides all of that going on, we had live entertainment (pianist, some Saxophon and some singer - all just awesome). They’ll also take a picture of you, so for 30$ you can purchase them.
In the end, everyone with some special occasion was asked to dance in the middle of the room, which was pretty romantic.


Overall, it was really worth it.

Minus points for:
- photo only available as data file for another 20$ (why?!)
- pretty chilly inside the boat (but guess this depends on the season)


Overall, just great! Would love to board once more in the future.
Thanks everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

NOVA FIVE STAR, MORE LIKE TEN STARS!

Reviewed by: TravelGoddess , 2024/02/09

[Reviewed by HawaiiActivities.com Staff]

Nova Five Star package should be renamed to, 'Ten Star.' The reason being this package was over the top elegant, professional, and accommodating. Each table had their own charcuterie board, which was perfect snack to get the evening started.

The meal was served in an order that was so unique. I had never had sorbet in the middle of a meal, and I'm still dreaming of the texture and flavor. The presentation/ quality of food was very impressive. Each course amazed me more and more!

The music throughout the meal was so relaxing, and set the mood for a delightful evening. If you are looking for an intimate evening with your loved one, this is the package for you!

Mahalo to SOH for going the extra mile to create a magical space!

  • Lobster Plate

  • Cheesecake

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun cruise

Reviewed by: Joe Moore, 2024/01/20

Food and service was good. Views were outstanding. Nice entertainment.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pacific Star Buffet Package

Reviewed by: TravelGoddess , 2023/12/22

{Reviewed by HawaiiActivities.com Staff}

On 12/19/23 I went on Star of Honolulu, and participated in the Pacific Star Buffet Package. Finding the boat was easy due to it's large size. Walking up we were greeted by real hula dancers, that really set the vibe for the evening. Upon boarding the ship there was staff along the way that assisted in finding your section.

The ship is very large in size, and was so much fun to explore. The top deck was my favorite part, but definitely bring a sweater it can get a bit chilly! I recommend visiting the top deck as the sun is setting for your perfect kodak moment on the water, and once again when it gets' dark to see the beautiful city lights, and view of Diamond Head Crater.

The severs were very studious, and genuine when checking on our table. The buffet line went very quickly, hardly a wait at all! The food was delicious, with many options for all dietary needs. Being mainly plant based I was impressed by all the plant based sides, my favorite was the tofu salad! They even have a vegan patty upon request.

The show, and production was very engaging for the whole family. If you are traveling with a large group including children, I recommend the Pacific Star package there is something for everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding everyone needs to do this little cruise.

Reviewed by: Robert Riggin, 2023/11/25

Professional , courteous clean and food was great experience of a life time. really really good. Entertainment and everything above and beyond approach.

  • Beautiful day!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu

Reviewed by: Juan Alvarado , 2023/10/22

The perfect sunset cruise! Beautiful view of Honolulu. Great buffet and great crew. Great live music and Luau performance. Nice experience to share with family and friends.
Dinner food was superb also, you get a free drink (Mai Tai) on the house.
The top deck is a great spot for pictures and videos of sunset and Waikiki Beach.
We had such a Great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A night to remember

Reviewed by: California Dreaming , 2023/10/12

We almost didn't make it but they held for us....by the skin of our teeth and the evening was just a blast after that. The food was good, the entertainment was funny and got the audience engaged. The views were spectacular. Had a lot of fun

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner Cruise and Fireworks

Reviewed by: VC, 2023/09/22

The views you get from the Cruise are amazing, however some of the staff came off rude when trying to guide passengers on what direction to go, our dinner had a lot of people getting seasick.

  • Waikiki view from Cruise

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The BEST dinner menu

Reviewed by: Yes to Hawaii, 2023/08/25

Absolutely LOVED this dinner menu. We opted for the Friday Fireworks cruise with window seating. And it was worth it! I had done the other menus before (Buffet, Casual, & Deluxe) so I was looking forward to try out the fine dining menu.

The only not-so-great thing was the time it took for us to get any beverages. Our waiter passed us every time. We waited and waited - everyone else around us was being served. Finally, we flagged someone down but even they also took a long time so we had to flag a 2nd person.

The food was so delicious. Would definitely recommend the menu! This options also comes with premium drink tickets. We had mocktails which were delicious.

  • So delicious

  • Great presentation

  • Yummy dessert, the perfect amount of sweet

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sorry but not good.

Reviewed by: Richard , 2023/05/22

Ride to the ship was ok. Getting onboard was good. Overall food on deck 2, roast beef menu was subpar. Not good enough to want seconds. Wife and I felt this excursion was way too long. Especially being on the water got boring and we love the water. Sorry but the entertainment was that exiting. We were just counting down the minutes to get off the ship. The staff was nice and accommodating but the overall feeling of wanting to stay on the ship died off after the first hour on board.

  • Sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

25th Anniversary Celebration

Reviewed by: Andrew Kaylor, 2023/05/20

Outstanding food and drink along with spectacular views of Waikiki at sunset. Service was great and the show was very upbeat and both entertaining and educational. Would do this dinner cruise on future visits. Easy to book, our bus driver was on time and educated us about different places along the way to the ship.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Five star ⭐️

Reviewed by: Edwin , 2023/05/20

Food was Great, music and entertainment was lots of fun!

  • The ship

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii trip

Reviewed by: Mr. & Mrs. Romero, 2023/05/13

We really enjoyed our dinner cruise. The food was delicious, service was great, live performance entertainment was amazing, and the view was spectacular!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruise into Happiness with the Star of Honolulu

Reviewed by: RickC, 2023/05/13

Aloha World
We thoroughly enjoyed our Night Cruise into Happiness last night with the Star of Honolulu crew and amazing entertainment
We did this cruise 41 years ago and it was just amazing then and spectacular now! The steak and lobster with the attentive crew made for a flawless experience! The main singer carried your spirit to the best times. We also loved the smooth jazz music Finally the Hawaiian dancers made us feel like true Ohana ❤️
Mahalo for another superb evening

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME!

Reviewed by: Rashika, 2023/04/30

This is definitely to be done again! Was an amazing experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEST CRUISE

Reviewed by: Robert, 2023/04/01

Went here last year during the firework show 10/10

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such an amazing time!

Reviewed by: Telisse Stanfield , 2023/03/25

My only complaint was that I couldn't see the sunset and the show at the same time. But it was so wonderful and relaxing. The food was great. The entertainment was amazing. The view was breathtaking.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The crew and staff was amazing as well as the food. We had a fabulous time. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating

Reviewed by: Julie Naasko, 2023/03/12

The staff and crew were amazing as well as the foood. The entertainment

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience and must do!

Reviewed by: Jose and Claudia. , 2023/02/02

We celebrated the night before our marriage on this event. We were a large group of 27. They accommodated us and sat us all together. The entertainment and the food were excellent. The servers kept everything flowing and joyful. Very organized and fun. I really enjoyed the dancers and singers. They performed in front of us and had them all over so everyone could enjoy them. The only bummer was that I specifically chose to go on the Friday sunset cruise for the firework show. However, it didn’t happen due to the winds. I was very sad. Other than that, I thought it was a fabulous experience.

  • Family

  • My new wife

  • Friends and family

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Anniversary Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Glen Green , 2023/01/28

My wife and I enjoyed ourselves on the Sunset Dinner cruise. Have a fabulous time. Enjoyed the sunset and show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would do it again!

Reviewed by: Jinanne, 2023/01/22

This was a lovely experience. The jazz singer was incredibly fun and talented. The food was excellent. The servers (Collin and Rob) were incredibly kind and attentive. The sunset was stunning. Finally, the Polynesian show was lovely and a great way to end the night. I would come again.

  • Our view of the sunset!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

コスパ最高

Reviewed by: ぴーぴん, 2023/01/21

サンセットを逃さないちょうど良い時間、完璧なタイミングで運ばれてくるお料理、楽しいショータイム、このお値段で盛りだくさんの納得の内容でした。
特にカニが美味しかったですし、全体の量も十分でした。
デッキからはワイキキの夕景や空港から飛び立つ飛行機が見えてとても綺麗です。
ただ、満席だった場合は隣の人と肩や肘がぶつかるくらいの距離感で仕切りのアクリル板などは無いので、そういうのが気になる方はご注意を。

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience!

Reviewed by: Ernesto , 2023/01/14

What a great & wonderful experience. This was our first time to do this type of event and we were blown away. Staff and crew were so professional and courteous! My expectations were definitely exceeded! I will return to the Star of Honolulu and next time we are bringing my daughter and her boyfriend. Food was prepared and cooked to perfection! Entertainment was excellent, I can’t wait to experience this again! Thanks to all involved to make this a success!!

  • Steak cooked to perfection.

  • Captain of the Star. ⭐️

  • Excellent entertainment!

  • Fireworks were awesome!

  • Beautiful photo and binder courtesy of the Star.

  • Lobster cooked to perfection.

  • Wonderful desserts!

  • Clean and comfortable coach bus .

  • Coach bus was comfortable and clean. Driver was courteous and informative.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!!!

Reviewed by: Phil, 2022/12/28

At the dockside check-in they were very helpful. I just showed my confirmation email and she gave us out boarding passes. The dockside hula show was good. They had 2 musicians playing and 3 dancers, it wasn't Cirque Du Soleil but if thats what your expecting go to Las Vegas!!

I loved the meal. The purple bread (made with Ube) was good, it tasted like the Kings Hawaiian Rolls! The steaks are cooked medium rare, which I enjoy but was too under cooked for my wife. Even since she didnt eat her steak she still was full with the Crab and Chicken. The ice cream was delicious. The Mai Tai's were on point.

Our server was perfect. Very attentive to our needs, conversational without being annoying. Extremely gracious and appreciative.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience aboard the dinner cruise!

Reviewed by: Ezekiel Bracamonte , 2022/12/24

Amazing experience from start to finish. The food was great, the views were breathtaking and the entertainment was fun! The pictures were a delight and our neighbors at the next table were nice. Overall, a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great food.

Reviewed by: Christine , 2022/11/29

So much fun . Easy to book and get on the boat. Such a nice staff. Would go again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would definitely recommend

Reviewed by: Penny Perez , 2022/11/05

This sunset cruise was an awesome way to end our vacation. The fireworks, food, entertainment and service was phenomenal. Ryan was our server and was so kind and service on point. Can't wait to return

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: TSW & KLH, 2022/10/29

Had a lovely evening with my fiancé, brother, and his wife. The food was excellent, and the sunset view was gorgeous at the top deck. The live shows were also very enjoyable. An overall wonderful experience that will never be forgotten.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories