Page 5) Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Polynesian Show & Live Entertainment reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Polynesian Show & Live Entertainment

Overall Rating

4.30 4.30 / 5

Reviews

2726 reviews
Post a review

Pretty neat!

Reviewed by: Nick, 2021/07/24

It was pretty nice, overall, nothing spectacular or anything, but it is about what we expected. They have a greeting when you board and do pictures and hula dancers. Everyone is super nice and cool. Then they will seat you at your table, as you are immediately presented with salad with cheese and crackers, with non alcoholic champagne. As soon as they shove off, you will do a toast. They will then start taking orders for drinks and then soon bring out your lobster (which is a FULL lobster!) There will be singing and entertainment the entire time, with dancers as they showcase each Polynesian island just like the Luaus do. They then bring out your steak, which is just a tiny sirloin steak and very raw/undercooked. So make sure you tell them a head of time to cook it to your liking. I didn’t do this and never eat rare streak, so it made me very sick later that night. Also, I noticed we only received two drink tickets not three. But the drinks are free (I think you can order more and just have to pay for it.) Then they will bring out your dessert after your meal. You are free to move around the boat and take pictures and videos as well through out the cruise. It goes by very fast and next thing you are back to the dock to debark. The sunset was very nice and we all took pictures on the top deck. At the very end, as it’s getting closer back to the dock, they sort of turn it into a dance-club style. Everyone is dancing to modern songs until you debark. Overall, it’s pretty cool and fun and the food was great! You will be very full too!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Shemika , 2021/07/23

I booked this dinner cruise for myself and my 10 year old. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and we enjoyed the live entertainment. My 10 year clapped, danced and participated from his seat when the audience was asked to join in during the entertainment. I would definitely recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good food and good entertainment

Reviewed by: Christina , 2021/07/17

The food came out in good timing intervals. Good food. Drinks were okay. I ended up switching to wine as the mixed drinks were not my favorite. I enjoyed the entertainment. Even with a Dramamine I was still a bit nauseous until we got out of the harbor but once on the ocean everything was fine. Beautiful sunset and great view of Waikiki.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lobster dinner cruise was lovely!

Reviewed by: Anne, 2021/07/16

It was beautiful, the dancing and the food were great and out waiter Ryan was the absolute best!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Cruise & Service!!!

Reviewed by: BAM, 2021/07/15

This was one of the best dinner cruises I've ever attended. The food was scrumptious and the entertainment was exhilarating. Also, we had one of the most professional and friendliest waitress. I can't forget to say the sunset was breathtaking.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Family Event

Reviewed by: Honolulu Headrick, 2021/07/01

There were 10 of us that had the opportunity to enjoy a fancy dinner on the waters off of Ohau. The age range of our party were from 2-72.

From the time we arrived and checked in we were treated courteously and made to feel welcomed! The music and dancing while we waited made the experience more exciting for my nephews (2,4, & 8 years old) and for my Brother and wife who have never been to Hawaii before. Once onboard we were greeted by the captain of the boat which thrilled them silly and kept my sister in law busy trying to get them to their seats.

We had the best waitress for our table! we always had something to drink and when we were undecided she was able to suggest drinks for the adults and kids. When the boys were unsure with dinner, our waitress brought more cheese and fruit. We never had to look for her she just knew and was always available.

We all enjoyed the dancing and even were invited to join in. My nephews danced their hearts out, along with my mom (the 72 year old) and my sister. The views from the top deck were specular and we got some great family pictures.
Defiantly an event we will remember!
Thank you to the staff aboard the Star of Honolulu! you were fantastic!

  • My SIL with her boys

  • my 4year old Nephew dancing his heart out

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding Experience⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewed by: Rox and Rain, 2021/06/22

It was indeed an outstanding experience doing this sunset dinner cruise with Star of Honolulu. We super enjoyed the 5-course dinner, the overflowing cocktails, the champagne and most of all the live music and cultural dances. You even made the journey more easy with your smooth pick up and drop off. All the staff were great as well! Special mention to Manager Rose for an excellent service⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ We will be booking with you again when we come back. Aloha and Mahalo❤️

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Torri Bailey, 2021/06/16

I had such an amazing time!!! This was one of my favorite parts of our trip. Money worth spending!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time and entertainment

Reviewed by: roger, 2021/06/11

I was skeptical at the beginning but going to the cruise was a great decision. I don’t regret it. Entertainment was great and the food was awesome. Beautiful view. I would recommend it to anyone coming to Hawaii for vacation

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Matt Haynes, 2021/05/16

The cruise itself, staff and entire experience was wonderful and the views were breathtaking at sunset.
Service and dancers were outstanding and enjoyable to watch. Food was not all that great but otherwise a great time and worth the expense to experience it. I would definitely recommend to anyone to do this dinner cruise but do not have high expectations with the food.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tired mom and dad

Reviewed by: Mr. & Mrs. Preciado , 2021/05/10

Refreshing and relaxing. Would highly recommend. Worth the price.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Romantic Anniversary Dinner cruise.

Reviewed by: T Chorn, 2020/03/29

We were overly impressed with the dinner cruise and had so much fun!!
It was nice to experience the dancing and music of several Polynesian islands. The sunset was amazing and the night view of Waikiki and Honolulu was pristine. So glad we decided to do this to celebrate our 37th anniversary!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth every penny.

Reviewed by: John bisby, 2020/03/13

You might be asking yourself if a sunset Cruise is worth it. I asked myself the same thing. I went with my wife and some family and had a great time. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The food was really good and had lots of options. The shows were very entertaining and some where quite funny thanks to the performers. Then the sunset was great. We went on a Wednesday and it was not many people. Felt almost like we had the entire ship to ourselves. Super fun experience overall.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Tyler's, 2020/02/25

Great time would do it again. The only thing I would change is some of the items on the menu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A nicely organized cruise

Reviewed by: Soumdita , 2020/02/09

The experience was great. We loved the view from the ceiling and the Luau dance. One thing that could have been done better is the food choice (given the culinary taste that different people have). We didn’t like the fish and chicken served. Overall it was good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Lori, 2020/02/03

Dinner great waitress very overwhelmed. Service so so. Entertainment great as well

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well done!

Reviewed by: Tom, 2020/01/27

Boarding and seating were accomplished efficiently, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our wheelchair bound family member was accommodated.

The buffet appetizer table was disappointing over all. The fruit, pineapple, cantaloupe, and honeydew melon, was almost tasteless. The cheeses were non-spectacular.

Our server was efficient, and he worked very hard to serve multiple tables. The entire wait staff is to be commended for their courtesy, hard work, and good service.

The entertainers were very enthusiastic and tried hard to please the guests. The jazz performances were the best part of the entertainment. The "wedding of Mr. and Mrs. Aloha" was very cheesy.

The drinks were good, and the salad, lobster, and steak were all better than I had expected. The food was quite tasty, and servings were plentiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Casual dinner and fireworks

Reviewed by: Ash, 2020/01/27

The overall experience was excellent, the people were friendly and the food was great, better than expected and they really fill you up with crab legs. Dislikes were bathroom locations being unclear and during fireworks people are everywhere to see the fireworks on one side of the boat and they smoke cigs in your face at the very top deck, gross.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Josh, 2020/01/26

Very convenient and pleasant cruise. Transportation was easy, staff was friendly, food was tasty, entertainment was entertaining. Very good date for a couple. Would reccomend to anyone looking for something to do for an evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fireworks Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Michael Gates, 2020/01/20

meal was very good, show was very good, tables for two were to close together.
We meat Japanese couple next to us that did not speak English
we talked all night with help of their phone translation app.
At the end of the night they were so happy someone talked to them, they invited
us to Japan to stay with them during the next Olympics

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun fun fun

Reviewed by: Frequent flier, 2020/01/18

Every detal covered.
Very friendly smooth sailing. Performers are multi talented and put heart into the shows.

Fun for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Sarojani , 2020/01/03

It was worth the money.
Loved the food and the performance
Just awesome

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: C.Bell, 2019/12/27

Our first Christmas Eve living in Hawaii and the Cruise and Service was outstanding. 7 course dinner was delicious and live entertainment was top shelf.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great night!

Reviewed by: Paul Ewen, 2019/12/22

Beautiful views of Honolulu at night from the ocean, lovely food, and great, friendly atmosphere from beginning to end.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A good time memorable adventure

Reviewed by: Bill, 2019/12/03

It was a great sunset (as almost all are in Hawaii) meeting some new friends and having some fun with a lively crew. Would recommend for family entertainment as well as enjoyable for 'just the two' of you. It was great to have the pre-boarding show and get to meet some of the crew/cast. The food was good and the crew took very good care of of all.

  • The girls joining in a dance around the deck.

  • Some om the pre-boarding show cast.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a wonderful anniversary evening for my husband and I, we enjoyed the whole cruise, wonderful music and great company.

Reviewed by: Alaskans, 2019/11/20

This cruise was a highlight of our trip. We spent our 34th anniversary with delicious food, wonderful music and great company. we had our own private table but had wonderful people sitting next to ours. The live music was relaxing and entertaining throughout the dinner. Our waitress was very courteous and helpful. We hope to spend another anniversary in the future on the Star of Honolulu!! Quyana - Mahalo - thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great excursion!

Reviewed by: The Garza’s, 2019/11/18

What an experience!! Great food, entertainment and I think we got the best server!! Darian was amazing! Would do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go with the 5 Star!

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/10/27

They say to shoot for the stars...so why not go for as many stars as you can? Now that I've been on the three star and the five star dining options, I can honestly say that the five star is worth the extra money. Both dining options were enjoyable and both exceeded my expectations. The quality of the food and service were excellent on both cruises, but I preferred the extra elegance of the five star. From the private welcome reception with the captain on the upper deck, to the live Jazz music, and the less crowded dining room, the five star was truly a luxurious experience.

  • A delicious and lovely vegan option

  • A salad so pretty I almost didn't want to eat it

  • Private reception and hula dance

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very elegant experience with great food and amazing live music

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2019/10/26

I would definitely recommend the Five Star package if you're having trouble deciding which package to choose from! It was such a nice evening filled with an amazing meal, lovely live music and a great view of the sunset. This is definitely more of an elegant feel compared to the Three Star package if you're looking for something a little more upscale. You really can't go wrong with either one though, both are very nice and the food was exceptional on both!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Three star. I'm not sure I'd go again. And certainly not at that price.

Reviewed by: Yawn, 2019/09/01

Two premium drinks per person. This includes iced tea. "Premium" iced tea? Is the premium that it comes with ice?
Adult beverages are stupidly expensive.

We were much farther from the fireworks than I had hoped.

They lived up the the letter of their advertisement. They don't go beyond that.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories