Battleships of World War II at Pearl Harbor Tour

Tribute

Reviewed by: Jan Goldberg, 2017/03/18

Beautiful, sacred place! Learned details we did not know. God Bless America! Let us never forget the price we pay for our freedom!



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Eric, 2016/08/04

Visiting the Arizona, Missouri and Punchbowl were breathtaking. Thank you so much for making this day possible. I will use you again to make tour plans.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Have to see

Reviewed by: PrisMay, 2016/05/06

No visit to Honolulu is complete without a visit to Pearl Harbour and this tour won't disappoint. Our guide was informative about the site and the places we saw along the way. We visited the USS Arizona first - the memorial was a solemn place. There was a museum there as well which was very informative. This tour didn't include the Bowfin which was also on the site. Or the audio tour We only had only 2 hours at this site which included the launch out to the memorial and back. It felt rushed and would have liked more time. We then went on the the USS Missouri where we had a guided tour and then left to explore by ourselves. We had more time at this site but really didn't need it. Food at both sites is poor - a hot dog is included in the tour but there's not much else. That's not the tour company's fault but I did expect more options at such a significant tourist site. If you don't like hot dogs bring your own lunch. Drinks and souvenirs were plentiful. We then drove through Punchbowl Cemetery and then made a stop in downtown Honolulu before going back to our hotels.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona and Missouri, Punch Bowl and City Tour

Reviewed by: mcfarabaugh, 2016/04/28

Our tour guide was great! She provided great direction and was very informed about the sites we would visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pearl Harbor

Reviewed by: John, 2016/02/13

The tour was very good everything was as described. The guide was fun and informative.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Mahalo for your review, and encourage you to share your experience on social media. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you decide to return to Hawaii, or have family and friends who are visiting us.

Mahalo,
Jason

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

5 stars

Reviewed by: April Rose, 2016/02/03

Simply Wonderful trip. Our host, Will , was great. Very informative.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. We encourage you to share your experience on social media. And, if there is anything we can help you with on a return visit to Hawaii, or your family and friends who would like to visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. Let them know Jason told you!

Mahalo,
Jason

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

5 Star Tour for a 5 Star WWII Battle Experience!

Reviewed by: Brando Quinn, 2016/01/25

My wife, daughter, son and I recently took the Battleships of World War II at Pear Harbor early morning tour and were thrilled we did. Our bus driver picked us up at our hotel and politely gave us some interesting commentary regarding Oahu places of interest along the route to Pearl Harbor. After we arrived he guided us to the entrance, had those guests who needed to secure their backpacks, purses or other belongings safely at the check bag center, and then led us through the entry points to pick up our tickets.

There are many attractions to see and we boarded the "Bowfin" Submarine, took a stroll through the Submariners Museum, then ate some delicious hot dogs (lunch included in price) and then boarded the harbor cruise boat manned by some very polite U.S. Navy Sailors and spent some quality time admiring the benevolence of the U.S. Arizona Memorial. After returning from this somber place, we boarded a bus to the U.S.S Missouri where the Treaty between Japan and the U.S. was signed. Our excellent guide had served aboard the USS Missouri during the Korean Conflict and we could tell he took pride in telling us some personal stories that blended with the events of World War II.

We then boarded our tour bus back to Waikiki, and our commentator pridefully took us to see the statue of King Kamehameha, The National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific high up in the hills, and continued to give us excellent commentary on the history of the Island and the history of the fascinating places we were seeing. before arriving back at our Waikiki Hotel.

Would I take this tour again: Absolutely! I rate this tour TWO Thumbs UP...Way UP!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. We encourage you to share your experience on social media. And, if there is anything we can help you with on a return visit to Hawaii, or your family and friends who would like to visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. Let them know Jason told you!

Mahalo,
Jason

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pearl Harbor tour

Reviewed by: Jeff and Barb, 2016/01/03

The memorial was very educational. And the feeling that was felt, was errie. I can usually feel presences, and there was quite a few that day!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. We encourage you to share your experience on social media. And, if there is anything we can help you with on a return visit to Hawaii, or your family and friends who would like to visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. Let them know Jason told you!

Mahalo,
Jason

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip to Arizona and Missouri

Reviewed by: Roger Nibler, 2015/12/11

Trip was good and cousin Kevin worked hard to entertain us. Felt comfortable with him. Trip to Hawaii-50 and cemetery was okay, but think another place might be better. I think the organization of the trip was good and very professionally conducted. I will use your tours when I return to Hawaii. I have been to Hawaii about 13 times. Love your islands.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the review, Roger! We're glad that you enjoyed yourself, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the islands :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Moving!

Reviewed by: Mary W., Salem, OR, 2015/12/08

Our tour guide was beyond the standard tour guide. He was very respectful regarding the events that happened 74 years ago. He was entertaining - while respectful - and so courteous with the passengers. We will remember this trip for a long time. We hope to come take the tour again.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the review, Mary! Our tour guides are the pride of Discover Hawaii Tours, and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your Pearl Harbor tour. See you next time :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pearl Harbor Tour

Reviewed by: Michael Girard, 2015/11/22

Our guide was excellent. Our only disappointment was that we had limited time at the memorial ground site. When we were dropped off, we had a specific time to catch the boat going to the memorial. The time for the memorial was fine. It was the time to walk the grounds and go through the buildings and watch videos. From the time enteringing the grounds, we had 30 minutes to walk the grounds, then catch the boat and once we got back from the memorial site, we had about 20 minutes to eat our lunch, then walk 1/4 mile to catch the bus to take us to the USS Missouri.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the review, Michael! We value your feedback and look forward to improving our guests' tour experience :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour just ok, included lunch not as described

Reviewed by: disappointed, 2015/10/16

We had an informative driver and enjoyed his commentary. Overall, the tour was rushed from site to site. We spent the first 45 minutes in the van while they drove around to pick up others from hotels. If you are the type to want to read the plaques and such, probably ought to do this on your own. We would not book again.

I received several emails asking about lunch preferences after booking this with a selection of bbq chicken or turkey sandwich each time. I had a box lunch in mind. What we received was a coupon for 1 free hot dog which we barely were able to use as the hot dog stand was attempting to close when we walked up. They ended up staying open because our entire bus (20ish people) were all showing up.


EDIT - Received a refund on a portion of the tour from the operator for the lunch. We did not ask for or expect this but it was appreciated. Wanted to make sure they received acknowledgement for the good will gesture.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review, and we apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. We genuinely appreciate your feedback and look forward to improving our tours to ensure guest satisfaction.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

one time visit

Reviewed by: april, 2015/09/14

The location is a must visit for one time in the life time and that's it. The whole day package deal is not bad just don't expect anything else but a hot dog with no drink.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review, April! We are always aiming to improve our guest's experience, and your feedback is genuinely appreciated :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Touching experience, and an excellent tour guide!

Reviewed by: Justin Daniels, 2015/05/24

Words can't explain Pearl Harbor, as it's a must see when in Hawaii, especially for those who have an interest in history and patriotism. While Pearl Harbor is accessible with this tour, the tour is worth it, because you get transportation from the many hotels in Waikiki, and you get to see much more, including some site seeing of historical spots in Honolulu and Waikiki. Our tour guide was "Cousin Shannon" and he has educational, as well as super friendly and pleasant, and made it worth the tour. Seeing the USS Arizona Memorial was the highlight, and something we will never forget.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the Battleships Tour

Reviewed by: Carol from WI, 2015/05/03

From the start of the trip to the conclusion, our tour guide kept telling us more history of the battleships and of the island. It was an emotional day at the USS Arizona and very solemn but wouldn't miss it. The USS Missouri is huge and a very good history lesson as well. Our guide kept us informed on where we had to be for pickup/drop off and she was spot on. We had a good group and highly recommend this tour

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great experience for young and old.

Reviewed by: Glenn (NZ), 2015/04/22

I took my 2 sons and son in law on this tour and they were absolutely amased with everything they saw and heard, from the movie about what happened on that faitful day, to the Arizona memorial and the tour of the Missouri.We even had time to go through the USS Bowfin. Cousin Kev was a brilliant tour guide, from his in depth knowlege about Pearl Harbour and the surrounding areas, to his wit and general friendliness that he portrayed towards everyone on the bus. A tour well worth taking!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not worth the money

Reviewed by: FL visitor, 2015/04/14

We purchased this because it was advertised as including pickup at area hotels, only to discover after booking our hotel which was close to airport and Pearl Harbor, that it didn't include our hotel. We had to pay $40 cab fare to get to closest pickup. It also said snacks and lunch were included. Snack was a granola bar and lunch was a hot dog. Not much of Missouri to see and if you've seen a ship before this is nothing new. As the Arizona tour is free, this tour was a waste of money.

Reply from activity provider

We are very sorry about the confusion surrounding your pick-up for the Pearl Harbor Tour, and please note that we have refunded your credit card $40 to cover the taxi fee. We hope you had a memorable visit to our islands and hope to assist you in the future.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

VELTRA - HawaiiActivities Support Team

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Emotional and moving tour

Reviewed by: Paula, 2015/04/13

Everyone should visit Pearl Harbor and this was a great journey

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona Missouri trip.

Reviewed by: Kim, 2015/04/07

We had a great trip and my kids learned a lot and really enjoyed it. The bus drive, guide, Queen Christine was great and made the ride fun and educational.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Battleships of World War II at Pearl Harbor & Mighty MO

Reviewed by: Long family, Utah , 2015/03/17

What an amazing and wonderful time our family had with your company. Our tour of USS Arizona (Pearl Harbor and the Battle Ship Missouri (Mighty MO) was an added adventure which it should be a “Must see” as well. Our Tour Guide MS Kanoelani was an absolute amazing person and very personable as well. She told us about how the war was started, gave “word for word” President Roosevelt speech when war was declared and history about Hawaii. She was really amazing and knew everyone on the bus by their first name and recognized each person. There were 22 people and she knew us all in just a matter of minutes after being picked up from the cruise ship. MS Kanoelani I was serious and even threw in some jokes which was fun for all. We knew we picked an excellent tour and received a very good qualified guide a bonus! We would highly recommend your company and the outstanding job they do. If all your other guides are as good as ours was, your tour is worth every penny spent. Mahalo, Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do

Reviewed by: Harrymcl, 2015/02/15

If your in hawaii Pearl Harbour is a must and doing it with these guys is the way to go. Our tour guide was awesome. She was very knowledgeable and made the trip a lot of fun. They organise everything for you and make the whole experience so easy. Also I would recommend buying the audio tour at the memorial. It makes the experience so much richer.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mr

Reviewed by: Tom, 2014/12/06

Very good day. Had exceptional tour guide - Kevin.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona Memorial, USS Missouri, and select city highlights

Reviewed by: Sharon & Gary Thomas, 2014/12/01

This was the highlight of our visit to Waikiki.
The Arizona memorial was at once emotional and humbling.
The USS Missouri was awe inspiring. And the City highlights and brief history was cultural and thought provoking.
Our guide was amazing, he made us all feel as if we were just one big family, and I'll be recommending the tour to other travellers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pearl Harbor 1/2 day

Reviewed by: Debi F, 2014/11/27

It was a perfect tour. Will was an amazing guide. While getting us from place to place he gave us so much history of the islands. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona

Reviewed by: Marsha, 2014/11/04

Arizona has a beautiful memorial, but no one to tell some interesting facts. Sometimes I do not want to read. I enjoyed the tour guides on the Missouri more and enjoyed walking through the ship.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very moving

Reviewed by: Mike, 2014/11/01

It was like going back in time. Loving history it was a real treat to be able to walk on the Missouri and the Arizona Memorial is quite moving. Our tour guide added a lot of local flavor and we saw much more than the ships. This is a definite stop for everyone going to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Stephen, Australia, 2014/10/11

What a great day out. Pearl Harbour was at the top of our list of things to do on our first visit to Hawaii. We chose to go with Veltra becsuse of the competitive price and good reviews from friends of ours who recommended Veltra. From the time they picked us up you could feel a good day was to be had. Our guide Uncle Paulo was excellent. He showed a great deal of knowledge and empathy for the monument. He regaled us with storys from the era as well. The story of his history and his Japanese father's involvement in the 442 Regimental Combat Brigade that went to Europe to fight for the allies was worth the price, itself. We would highly recommend this trip on your next visit to Hawaii. I know we will. Thanks to Uncle Paulo for your inciteful and moving commentary on the day. Your father would be proud.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very sobering experience. Not to be missed

Reviewed by: Candice, 2014/09/28

Wonderful tour. Very educational, sobering, but beautiful. Would recommend to every American that visits Hawaii. Can go on your own, but recommend the tour. Guides are friendly and educated. Worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pearl Harbour our highlight.

Reviewed by: Carly, 2014/08/25

Loved our tour guide. He called himself Junior. Pearl Harbour was the highlight of our trip. Such history and an inspirational place. Loved every bit of it.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona Memorial & USS Misssouri guided tour PearlHarbour

Reviewed by: Casina , 2014/08/21

Wonderful tour, highly recommend this one & our tour guide Joey very friendly man,. well worth the money . Had a great day

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI